DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-10 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. As of the date of this communication, no Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been filed with this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Claim 5, line 2, “ventilating plate” should read “a ventilating plate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN204596758U to Hu.
A) As per Claim 1, Hu teaches a laminar flow device (Hu: Figure 4), comprising:
a housing defining a cavity (Hu: Figure 4, Items 1-2 cavity below top Item 3); at least one air inlet (Hu: Figure 4, Item 23), positioned within the housing;
at least one diffusion device (Hu: Figure 4, top Item 3), connected with the at least one air inlet and positioned within the cavity; and
at least one uniform flow structure (Hu: Figure 4, bottom Item 3), positioned within the bottom of the cavity;
wherein the at least one diffusion device comprises at least one diffusion frame (Hu: Figure 4, Item 3) and at least one connecting space portion (Hu: Figure 4, Item 31), and the at least one connecting space portion is connected with the cavity.
B) As per Claim 2, Hu teaches that the housing is defined as a top cover (Hu: Figure 4, Item 1), a partition (Hu: Figure 4, middle Item 3) and an outer shell (Hu: Figure 4, Items 2 & 4).
C) As per Claim 3, Hu teaches that the at least one diffusion frame having a hollow portion (Hu: Figure 4, Item 31).
D) As per Claim 4, Hu teaches that the at least one connecting space portion having an opening portion (Hu: Figure 4, Item 31).
E) As per Claim 5, Hu teaches that the uniform flow structure is ventilating plate (Hu: bottom Item 3), a porous plate, or a filter material layer.
F) As per Claim 7, Hu teaches that the outer shell comprises two supporting members (Hu: Figure 4, Items 4) and a connecting member (Hu: Figure 4, Item 2); wherein the connecting member is between the two supporting members.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of US Patent Publication Number 2020/0118810 A1 to Hu, hereafter referred to as Hu[810].
A) As per Claim 6, Hu teaches all the limitations except that the uniform flow structure has irregular boundary.
However, Hu[810] teaches the uniform flow structure has irregular boundary (Hu[810]: Figure 5, Item 42; Paragraph 0023).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Hu by having an irregular boundary, as taught by Hu[810], with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hu with these aforementioned teachings of Hu[810] with the motivation of providing more surface area for adhesive to bond and connect the pieces.
B) As per Claim 10, Hu teaches all the limitations except that the outer shell and the partition respectively have at least one second concave portion.
However, Hu[810] teaches the outer shell and the partition respectively have at least one second concave portion (Hu[810]: Figure 5, Item 42; Paragraph 0023).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Hu by having an irregular boundary, as taught by Hu[810], with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hu with these aforementioned teachings of Hu[810] with the motivation of providing more surface area for adhesive to bond and connect the pieces.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of TWM520194 to Hu, hereafter referred to as Hu[194].
A) As per Claim 8, Hu teaches all the limitations except that the top cover has at least one convex portion.
However, Hu[194] teaches the top cover has at least one convex portion (Hu[194]: Figure 6, Item 35).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Hu by having a convex portion, as taught by Hu[194], with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hu with these aforementioned teachings of Hu[194] with the motivation of providing more surface area for adhesive to bond and connect the pieces.
B) As per Claim 9, Hu in view of Hu[194] teaches that the partition and the outer shell respectively have at least one first concave portion which is aligned with the at least one convex portion (Hu[194]: Figure 4, Item 37; Figure 6, Item 35).
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762