DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 16, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2019-175830 A, of which a complete copy of the Japanese document with a machine translation was provided with the Information Disclosure Statement dated October 14, 2022.
Regarding independent claim 1 and claim 2, JP ‘830 discloses a positive electrode material of a lithium ion secondary battery (see abstract; and pages 1-5 of translation), in which the positive electrode material includes the following components:
a positive electrode active material;
a solid electrolyte; and
a coating material for coating the positive electrode active material,
wherein the coating material is denoted by composition formula (1): LiaAbXc
in which each of a, b, and c is a positive real number, A is at least one selected from the group consisting of N, P, and S (in this instance, consisting of P), and X consists of both O and F (in the form of Li2PO3F and LiPO2F2 – see the last full paragraph on page 4 of translation).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, JP ‘830 discloses that the coating material contains a POxFy group, wherein the coating material contains Li, P, O, and F (see the last full paragraph on page 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 9, JP ‘830 discloses that the coating material includes LiPO2F2 (see the last full paragraph on page 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 16, JP ‘830 discloses that the positive electrode active material contains a lithium-containing transition metal oxide (see abstract and the last full paragraph on page 4 of translation).
Regarding claim 17, JP ‘830 discloses a lithium-ion battery that includes a positive electrode containing the positive electrode active material according to claim 1, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte layer disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (see abstract and the last full paragraph on page 4 of translation).
Regarding new claim 21, JP ‘830 discloses that the coating material includes Li2PO3F and LiPO2F2 (see the last full paragraph on page 4 of translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 10-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019-175830 A.
Regarding claims 3-5, JP ‘830 discloses the coating material LiaAbXc (including Li2PO3F and LiPO2F2) of the positive electrode material of independent claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that the coating material contains a SOxFy group (claim 3), contains Li, N, S, O, and F (claim 4), and contains Li, S, O, and F (claim 5). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modification of the coating material disclosed by JP ‘830 would be readily selected to be within similar groups/periods of elements within the periodic table, in which similar/related elements within the periodic table to be substituted within the coating material LiaAbXc would be obvious to try since it would include a limited number of predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation for success, such that the elements of chemical compounds within the coating material would be readily modified by routine experimentation to optimize performance of the battery by improving high temperature cycle life (see the 1st full paragraph on page 2 of translation). With regard to the types of materials that are suitable for use, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 10-12, JP ‘830 discloses the positive electrode material of independent claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that a ratio of a mass of the coating material to a total mass of the positive electrode active material and the coating material is greater than 0% by mass and is less than or equal to 10% by mass (claim 10), less than or equal to 5% by mass (claim 11), and less than or equal to 3% by mass (claim 12). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selection of the ranges of % by mass to be within the claimed ranges would be readily adjusted by routine experimentation to optimize performance of the battery by improving high temperature cycle life (see the 1st full paragraph on page 2 of translation). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claim 13, although JP ‘830 discloses the positive electrode material of independent claim 1, JP ‘830 does not explicitly disclose that a peak is present in the range of 685 ± 7 eV in an XPS spectrum of the coating material measured using an Al Kα ray. However, since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that all of the components of claim 1 are present (including composition formula LiaAbXc that includes Li2PO3F and LiPO2F2 – see the last full paragraph on page 4 of translation), that a peak present in the range of 685 ± 7 eV in an XPS spectrum of the coating material measured using an Al Kα ray would inherently be present since a peak corresponding to a coating material of Li2PO3F and LiPO2F2 would be within the claimed range. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claim 14, although JP ‘830 discloses the positive electrode material of independent claim 1, JP ‘830 does not explicitly disclose that a layer thickness of the coating material is greater than or equal to 1 nm and is less than or equal to 100 nm. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selection of a value in the range of the layer thickness of the coating material to be within the claimed range would be readily adjusted by routine experimentation to optimize performance of the battery by improving high temperature cycle life (see the 1st full paragraph on page 2 of translation). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claims 15 and 18, although JP ‘830 discloses the positive electrode material of independent claim 1 and the battery of claim 17, JP ‘830 does not explicitly disclose that the solid electrolyte comprising an electrolyte layer contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a halide solid electrolyte (claim 15), an oxyhalide solid electrolyte (claim 15), and a sulfide solid electrolyte (claims 15 and 18). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modification of the solid electrolyte comprising an electrolyte layer disclosed by JP ‘830 would be readily selected to be within similar groups/periods of elements (including a halide, S, and O) within the periodic table, in which similar/related elements within the periodic table to be substituted within the solid electrolyte of the electrolyte layer would be obvious to try since it would include a limited number of predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation for success, such that the elements of chemical compounds within the solid electrolyte of the electrolyte layer would be readily modified by routine experimentation to optimize performance of the battery by improving high temperature cycle life (see paragraph [0004]).
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicants’ amendment received by the USPTO on November 17, 2025. Also, an Information Disclosure Statement dated November 4, 2025 has been considered and initialed, and a copy is provided with this Office Action. The amendments overcome the prior objection to the specification and the prior 35 USC 112(b) rejections. Although the amendments to independent claim 1 overcome the prior 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 103 rejections in view of CN 107910500 A, a newly provided reference (JP 2019-175830 A) is now applied in new 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 103 rejections. The applicants have cancelled claim 8, and have added new claim 21. Claims 19 and 20 remain withdrawn from consideration as drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-7, 9-18, and 21 are currently under consideration in the application.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-18, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes a new reference to JP 2019-175830 A (in the above 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 103 rejections), and thus does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicants' amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 January 10, 2026