DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asai JP H07279987 A in view of Gordon US 4125028 A. (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding independent claim 14, Asai discloses [a torque transmission device comprising:
an input disc 1 extending in a plane perpendicular to a central input axis,] (Fig. 6-7; Page 2, lines 2-5)
[an output disc 3 extending in a plane perpendicular to a central output axis,] (Fig. 6-7; Page 2, lines 2-5)
[an intermediate disc 2 positioned between the input disc and the output disc and extending in a plane perpendicular to an intermediate central axis,] (Fig. 6-7; Page 2, lines 2-5)
[a first pair of links 4a, 4b coupled by a first side to the input disc and by a second side, opposite to the first side, to the intermediate disc,] (Fig. 6-7; Page 2, lines 21-23)
[a second pair of links 4c, 4d coupled by a first side to the intermediate disc and by a second side, opposite to the first side, to the output disc,] (Fig. 6-7; Col. 5, line 23-26)
[the links of the first and second pair 140 are positioned diametrically opposite each other relative to the intermediate central axis.] (Fig. 8; As shown in Fig. 8, Asai illustrates wherein the links of the first and second pair 4a-4c are positioned diametrically opposite each other relative to the intermediate central axis.)
[the two pairs of links being aligned in two respective directions perpendicular to each other so as to allow torque transmission even when the central input axis and the central output axis are not coaxial.] (Fig. 6-8; As shown in Fig. 6-8, Asai illustrates wherein the first pair 4a, 4b and the second pair 4c, 4d of links being aligned it two respective directions perpendicular to each other.)
in which [the input disc comprises two transmission pins 5 extending parallel to the central input axis] (Fig. 6-8; As shown in Fig. 6-8, Asai illustrates the transmission pins 5 extending parallel to the central axis of the input disc 1.) and [received in two respective first holes A1, B1 associated with a first end of the respective links of the first pair 4a, 4b,] (Fig. 6-8; As shown in Fig. 6-7, Asai illustrates two respective holes A1, B1 associated with a first end of the respective links of the first pair 4a, 4b.) [the intermediate disc comprising two first transmission pins 5 extending parallel to the intermediate central axis of the intermediate disc,] (Fig. 6-7; As shown in Fig. 6-7, Asai illustrates the transmission pins 5 of the intermediate disc 2 extending parallel to the central axis of the intermediate disc.) [positioned on a first face of the intermediate disc and received in two respective second holes A2, B2 associated with a second end of the respective links of the first pair,] (Fig. 6-8; As shown in Fig. 6-8, Asai illustrates transmission pins 5 positioned on a first face of the intermediate disc and received in two respective second holes A2, B2 associated with a second end of the respective links 4a, 4b of the first pair.) and [two second transmission pins 5 extending parallel to the intermediate central axis of the intermediate disc,] (Fig. 6-8; As shown in Fig. 6-8, Asai illustrates two second transmission pins 5 extending parallel to the intermediate central axis of the intermediate disc.) [positioned on a second face of the intermediate disc and received in two respective first holes associated C1, D1 with the first side of the respective links of the second pair 4c, 4d,] (Fig. 6-8; As shown in Fig. 6-8, Asai illustrates the second transmission pins 5 being positioned on a second face of the intermediate disc 2 and received in two respective first holes C1, D1 associated with the first side of the respective links of the second pair 4c, 4d.) [the output disc comprising two transmission pins 5 extending parallel to the central output axis] (Fig. 6-8; As shown in Fig. 6-8, Asai illustrates the transmission pins 5 of the output disc 3 extending parallel to the central axis of the output disc.) and [received in two respective second holes C2, D2 associated with the second side of the respective links of the second pair.] (Fig. 6-8; As shown in Fig. 6-8, Asai illustrates the two transmission pins 5 being received in two respective second holes C2, D2 associated with the second side of the respective links of the second pair.)
Asai does not disclose in which the first and second transmission pins of the intermediate disc are positioned so that the links of the first and second pairs work in tension in a first torque transmission direction and in compression in a second torque transmission direction, opposite to the first torque transmission direction.
Gordon teaches a similar torque transmission device, including [disks, links, and transmission pins] (Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 21-40) , similar to those of Asai, as discussed above.
Gordon further teaches [in which the first and second transmission pins of the intermediate disc are positioned so that the links of the first and second pairs work in tension in a first torque transmission direction and in compression in a second torque transmission direction, opposite to the first torque transmission direction.] (Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the link arrangement of Gordon with the torque transmission device of Asai with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved balance and symmetry in torque transfer, thus reducing localized stresses on the intermediate disc and enhancing stability of the transmission.
Regarding claim 15, Asai, as modified, already discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including in which [the links of the first pair 4a, 4b are rotatably mounted with respect to the transmission pins 5 of the input disc 1 and with respect to the first transmission pins 5 of the intermediate disc 2,] (Fig. 6-8 of Asai; Page 2, lines 24-31 of Asai) and [the links of the second pair 4c, 4d are rotatably mounted with respect to the second transmission pins 5 of the intermediate disc 2 and with respect to the transmission pins 5 of the output disc 3.] (Fig. 6-8 of Asai; Page 2, lines 24-31 of Asai)
Claim 16-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asai in view of Gordon and further in view of Sand US 20210123480 A1.
Regarding claim 16, Asai, as modified, does not disclose in which the links are standard chain links.
Sand teaches in which [the links are standard chain links.] (Fig. 2B; Paragraph 0026; Sand discloses that the linkages 153 of the linkage assembly 151 may be a plurality of chain links.); [in which the links are positioned in the thickness formed by the collar of the intermediate disc.] (Fig. 1 of Sand; As shown in Fig. 1, Sand illustrates the links 153 being coupled to attachment points 113 that protrude from the surface formed from the collar 125.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the standard chain links of Sand with the torque transmission device of Asai, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a cost effective and readily available linkage solution that facilitates torque transmission while maintaining durability and ease of assembly, thus simplifying manufacturing and reducing production costs without compromising functionality.
Regarding claim 17, Asai, as modified, further teaches [the intermediate disc 2.] (Fig. 1 and 6-7 of Asai; Page 2, lines 2-5 of Asai)
Asai, as modified, does not disclose a collar extending axially on either side of the centre of the intermediate disc so as to form a T-shaped cross-section in order to prevent said intermediate disc from becoming out-of-round when the torque transmission device is under load.
Sand teaches [a collar 125 extending axially on either side of the centre of the intermediate disc so as to form a T-shaped cross-section in order to prevent said disc from becoming out-of-round when the torque transmission device is under load.] (Fig. 2 & 2A; Paragraph 0031; As shown in Fig. 2 & 2A, Sand illustrates a collar 125 extending axially on either side of the centre of the intermediate disc so as to form a T-shaped cross-section, which can prevent the disc 111 from becoming out-of-round when the torque transmission device is under load.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the collar of Sand with the intermediate disc of Asai, as modified with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for enhanced structural stability by preventing the intermediate disc from becoming out-of-round under load, thus improving torque transmission efficiency and durability.
Regarding claim 18, Asai, as modified, above already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including the link positioning recited in the rejection of claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 19, Asai, as modified, further teaches [in which the transmission pins 5 are protruding relative to the links 4a-4d.] (Fig. 6-8 of Asai; As shown in Fig. 5, Asai illustrates in which the transmission pins 5 are protruding relative to the links 4a-4d.)
Asai, as modified, does not disclose recesses made in the input disc, the intermediate disc and the output disc facing the transmission pins associated with an adjacent disc to allow the transmission pins to protrude.
Sand teaches [recesses 121, 141 made in the input disc and the output disc facing the transmission pins associated with an adjacent disc to allow the transmission pins to protrude.] (Fig. 4; Paragraph 0029)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the recesses of Sand with the torque transmission device of Asai, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for proper accommodation of the protruding transmission pins, ensuring secure engagement between the discs while maintaining efficient torque transmission and reducing wear, thus improving overall durability.
However, Asai, as modified above, does not explicitly teach recesses in the intermediate disc. However, according to MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (B) (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)), the mere duplication of known elements does not confer patentability unless it produces a new and unexpected result. In this case, Sand already discloses recesses on the input and output discs. The extension of the configuration to include recesses on the intermediate discs of Asai would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art, as it simply replicates an existing arrangement with introducing an unexpected benefit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the intermediate disc of Asai to include recesses, as taught by Sand, to facilitate proper clearance and assembly of torque-transmitting components, without yielding an unexpected result, as it merely duplicates the function of the existing recesses on the input and output discs.
Claims 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asai in view of Gordon and further in view of Jean-Pierre FR 3091516 A1. (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the present Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding claim 20, Asai, as modified, does not disclose an electric power assistance device, comprising:
an electric motor comprising an output shaft and configured to be mounted about a central axle,
a reducer configured to be mounted about the central axle,
a free wheel configured to be mounted about the central axle,
the torque transmission device, configured to be mounted about the central axle,
the reducer, the free wheel and the torque transmission device forming a torque transmission line between the output shaft of the electric motor and an output spindle of the electric power assistance device.
Jean-Pierre teaches [an electric power assistance device, comprising:
an electric motor 3 comprising an output shaft 31 and configured to be mounted about a central axle X,] (Fig. 15; Page 19, Paragraph 0134; As shown in Fig. 15, Jean-Pierre illustrates the electric motor being mounted about a central axis X.)
[a reducer 5 configured to be mounted about the central axle,] (Fig. 15; Page 19, Paragraph 0134; As shown in Fig. 15, Jean-Pierre illustrates the reducer 5 being mounted about a central axis X.)
[a free wheel configured to be mounted about the central axle,] (Fig. 15; Page 19, Paragraph 0134; As shown in Fig. 15, Jean-Pierre illustrates the free wheel 6 being mounted about a central axis X.)
[The torque transmission device, configured to be mounted about the central axle,] (Fig. 15; Page 19, Paragraph 0134; As shown in Fig. 15, Jean-Pierre illustrates the torque transmission device being mounted about a central axis X.)
[the reducer 2, the free wheel and the torque transmission device forming a torque transmission line X between the output shaft of the electric motor and an output spindle 4 of the electric power assistance device.] (As shown in Fig. 15, Jean-Pierre illustrates the reducer 5, free wheel 6, and torque transmission device being forming a shared torque transmission line X between the output shaft of the electric motor and an output spindle of the electric power assistance device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the electric power assistance device of Jean-Pierre with the torque transmission device of Asai, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a compact, efficient, and well-aligned power transmission system that ensures effective torque delivery along a shared central axle, thus reducing misalignment issues and improving mechanical efficiency.
Regarding claim 21, Asai, as modified above, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [in which the reducer comprises an input configured to be rotatably coupled to the output shaft of the electric motor] (Page 13, lines 11-12 of Jean-Pierre) and [an output configured to be rotatably coupled to the input disc of the torque transmission device.] (Page 13, lines 12-13 of Jean-Pierre)
Regarding claim 22, Asai, as modified above, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [in which the free wheel 6 comprises an input configured to be rotatably coupled to the output disc of the torque transmission device and an output configured to be rotatably coupled to the output spindle of the electric power assistance device.] (Page 7, lines 16-19 of Jean-Pierre; Jean-Pierre discloses a free wheel system that includes an input and output. The input is configured to receive torque from a preceding component, which corresponds to the output disc of the torque transmission device. Likewise, the free wheel has an output that transmits torque to a subsequent component, which corresponds to the output spindle. In a general bicycle drivetrain with an electric assist system, the torque transmission device delivers power from the motor to the freewheel, which then selectively transfers that power to the output spindle, allowing torque to be applied when engaged and disengaging when coasting.)
Regarding claim 23, Asai, as modified above, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [in which the electric power assistance device is a cycle and the central crank axle of the cycle is held in position by a single pair of bearings 313, 314 positioned between a frame of the cycle and the central crank axle.] (Fig. 13 of Jean-Pierre; As shown in Fig. 13, Jean-Pierre illustrates a single pair of bearings 313, 314 positioned between a frame of the cycle and the central crank axle.)
Regarding claim 24, Asai, as modified above, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [in which the electric motor, the reducer, the torque transmission device and the free wheel are configured to be positioned adjacent to each other along the central crank axle.] (Fig. 15 of Jean-Pierre; A shown in Fig. 15, Jean-Pierre illustrates the electric motor 3, the reducer 5, the freewheel 6, and the torque transmission device being positioned adjacent to each other along the central crank axle.)
Regarding claim 25, Asai, as modified above, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [a cycle comprising: a frame, a central crank axle rotatably mounted on the frame, and the electric power assistance device.] (Fig. 14 of Jean-Pierre; Page 9, Paragraph 0062 of Jean-Pierre; Jean-Pierre discloses a cycle frame with a bottom bracket 2 that serves as an integral part of the frame, connecting the down tube 13, seat tube, and rear legs 14. Additionally, Jean-Pierre discloses a crank shaft axle 4 positioned with the bottom bracket, which indicates that the central crank axle is rotatably mounted on the frame.)
Regarding claim 26, Asai, as modified above, already discloses all of the claimed limitations, including [in which the electric motor and the reducer are mounted on the frame independently of the central crank axle.] (Fig. 2 of Jean-Pierre; Page 9, Paragraph 0062 of Jean-Pierre; Jean-Pierre discloses a bottom bracket 2 that is an integral part of the frame and a housing 21 within the bottom bracket that contains the electric motor 3 and the reducer 5. Since the motor and reducer are mounted within the frame’s bottom bracket housing and not directly dependent on or attached to the crank axle for structural support, they are mounted on the frame independently of the central crank axle.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 14 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Asai JP H07279987 A.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Schmidt US 3258988 A – comprises a steering column mechanism for automobiles, or other vehicles; and in particular, the invention provides for an improved steering mechanism having an articulated steering shaft with separate portions of the shaft coupled together but offset relative to one another. The shaft portions are coupled by an improved torque transmitting mechanism which permits smooth and reliable rotary movements of the shaft portions, while at the same time, permitting relative adjustment of the offset relationship of the shafts.
- Hayslett US 10059399 B2 – comprises a gear set that may have a first gear, a second gear that may be engaged with the first gear and a third gear. The third gear may be held from rotation and may be engaged with the second gear. A carrier may carry the second gear for rotation. A crank may be continuously connected with the carrier to provide input thereto. A torque measurement device may be connected to the third gear.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611