DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 2nd, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6-7, 10, 17 and 18 have been amended. Claims 1-21 are now pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed October 1st, 2025. The previous 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claim 6-7 and 17 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitations of “a first lateral disc” of “a second lateral disc” are redundant since they were already introduced in independent claim 1, which claim 9 ultimately depends on, so there is no need to reintroduce this feature unless a distinction is meant to be made between the lateral discs of claims 1 and 9, nonetheless, the examiner recommends amending claim 9 to better reflect the intended structure of the invention, whether it be by following antecedent precedence from claim 1 or renaming the features in claim 9 to distinguish them from the features in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20210059506 A1, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses
An articulating medical device (endoscope 1, FIG. 1) comprising:
an articulating elongate member (insertion section 2, FIG. 1) extending in a longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 2);
at least one rotatable member (two pulleys 21, FIG. 2) coupled to the articulating elongate member (depicted in FIG. 2), the at least one rotatable member including:
a first lateral disc and a second lateral disc laterally arranged relative to the longitudinal direction of the articulating elongate member (FIG. 2, par. 53 disclose respective side surfaces of pulleys);
an arcuate track (circular columnar recessed portion 24, FIG. 16) formed as an opening within a laterally extending surface of at least one of the first lateral disc or the second lateral disc (FIG. 16, par. 53 disclose wire fixing structure formed on side surface of pulley) and extending for a partial rotation about a center axis of rotation of the at least one rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 16); and
at least one clamp (wire fixing structure 30, FIG. 2) captured and translatable within the arcuate track (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner, i.e. translatable); and
at least one articulation cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 2), fastened to the at least one clamp;
wherein the at least one articulation cable extends from the at least one rotatable member, into the articulating elongate member (depicted in FIG. 2);
wherein the at least one articulation cable is configured to extend along a first lateral periphery of the at least one rotatable member and within a channel (cutout portion 27, FIG. 16) formed in the at least one rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 2-4, 16);
wherein the at least one clamp translates within the arcuate track based on tension in the at least one articulation cable (FIG. 15, par. 69 discloses turning of fixing member with tension in relation to bending wire).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1 wherein the at least one rotatable member is a circular or eccentric reel (depicted in FIG. 2-4).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1 further comprising at least one user manipulable control knob (bending lever 13, FIG. 1) coupled with the at least one rotatable member to rotate the at least one rotatable member bidirectionally about the center axis of rotation and of the at least one rotatable member (FIG. 2, par. 42 discloses bending lever performs bending operations in the upward and downward directions of the bending portion).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1 wherein the at least one articulation cable is coupled to control one of vertical movement of the articulating elongate member or horizontal movement of the articulating elongate member (par. 51 discloses vertical bending of bending portion via bending wires).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1 wherein the at least one clamp is one of a threaded barrel-shaped member or a wire-crimp barrel-shaped member having an insertion pathway (through hole portion 36, FIG. 8) for receiving the at least one articulation cable (depicted in FIG. 8).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1 wherein:
the at least one clamp is a two-part clamp having an upper cylindrical member and a lower cylindrical member (depicted in FIG. 16); and
the at least one clamp articulation cable is positioned within a pathway (through hole portion 36, FIG. 8) between the upper cylindrical member and the lower cylindrical member (depicted in FIG. 8, 16).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1 wherein at least a portion of the at least one clamp extends past the surface of the first lateral disc or the second lateral disc and the surface (bolt 41) surrounding a perimeter of the arcuate track (depicted in FIG. 3-4, FIG. 16 depicts recessed portion being a space that accepts/ engages the fixing structure, based on FIG. 3-4, the bolt will protrude out from the recessed portion).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1 wherein the at least one clamp is rotatable within the arcuate track (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner, i.e. rotatable).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 7 wherein the arcuate track is within a disc of the at least one rotatable member (FIG. 2, par. 53 disclose respective side surfaces of pulleys) and the at least one rotatable member further includes:
a first lateral disc (FIG. 16, par. 53 disclose wire fixing structure formed on side surface of pulley);
a second lateral disc (FIG. 16, par. 53 disclose wire fixing structure formed on side surface of pulley); and
the at least one clamp is captured within the arcuate track by at least one of the first lateral disc and the second lateral disc (depicted in FIG. 16).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang discloses
A method (par. 97 discloses various applications and various stages of invention, i.e. method) of controlling longitudinally extending cables (bending wires 25, FIG. 2) within an endoscopic device (endoscope 1, FIG. 1), the method comprising:
transferring rotation from at least one control body (bending lever 13, FIG. 1) to at least one laterally arranged rotatable body (two pulleys 21, FIG. 2) relative to the longitudinally extending cables (par. 50-51 disclose bending operation initiated by bending lever to cause two pulleys to rotate which causes bending wires to be towed or slackened to carry out bending operation),
the laterally arranged rotatable body is coupled with the at least one control body (depicted in FIG. 2), the at least one rotatable body including:
a channel (cutout portion 27, FIG. 16) formed around a circumferential periphery of the at least one rotatable body (depicted in FIG. 16);
at least one translatable and rotatable fastener (wire fixing structure 30, FIG. 2) disposed within an arcuate track in the at least one laterally arranged rotatable body (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner, i.e. translatable);
wherein the at least one laterally arranged rotatable body includes a surface (FIG. 2, par. 53 disclose respective side surfaces of pulleys) forming a perimeter of an opening of the arcuate track and the at least one translatable and rotatable fastener is received within the arcuate track (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner, i.e. translatable); and
at least one cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 2), coupled to the at least one fastener (depicted in FIG. 16), that at least partially circumvents the at least one rotatable body within the channel (FIG. 2, par. 57 discloses bending wire is engaged and wound around the outer peripheral portion of the pulley along the cutout portion of the pulley);
transferring rotation from the at least one rotatable body to the at least one fastener (FIG. 15, par. 69 discloses turning of fixing member with tension in relation to bending wire);
translating the at least one fastener along the arcuate track (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner, i.e. translatable);
moving the at least one cable coupled to the at least one fastener to modulate tension in a proximal end of the at least one cable (par. 59, 68 disclose pulling of bending wire to control tension generated at one side/ one portion of the bending wire in order to prevent slackening); and
moving an articulating member (insertion section 2, FIG. 1) of the endoscopic device at a distal end of the at least one cable (par. 51 discloses bending of bending portion via bending wires).
Regarding Claim 18, Wang discloses
The method of claim 17 wherein modulating tension moves the articulating member one of horizontally or vertically (par. 51 discloses vertical bending of bending portion via bending wires; par. 59, 68 disclose pulling of bending wire to control tension generated at one side/ one portion of the bending wire in order to prevent slackening).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-16, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210059506 A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Suzuki et al. (WO 2021130850 A1, using US 20220313063 Al as an English equivalent, hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang discloses
A device (operation section 3, FIG. 1) for controlling movement of an endoscopic component (endoscope 1, FIG. 1), the device comprising:
a handle (grasping portion 10, FIG. 1) having a handle body extending in a longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 1),
the handle including an external first rotatable control mechanism (bending lever 13, FIG. 1);
a reel (two pulleys 21, FIG. 2), within the handle body (depicted in FIG. 2), wherein the reel includes:
an independently rotatable first disc (first pulley 21, FIG. 2) arranged laterally relative to the longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 2),
the independently rotatable first disc including a first partial rotation arcuate track (circular columnar recessed portion 24, FIG. 16) formed within a surface of the independently rotatable first disc and extending about a center axis of rotation of the independently rotatable first disc (depicted in FIG. 16) and
a first channel (cutout portion 27, FIG. 16) along at least a portion of a circumference of the independently rotatable first disc (depicted in FIG. 16),
wherein the independently rotatable first disc is coupled with the external first rotatable control mechanism (depicted in FIG. 2);
an independently rotatable second disc (second pulley 21, FIG. 2) arranged laterally relative to the longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 2),
the independently rotatable second disc including a second partial rotation arcuate track (circular columnar recessed portion 24, FIG. 16) formed within a surface of the independently rotatable second disc and extending about a center axis of rotation of the independently rotatable second disc (depicted in FIG. 16) and
a second (cutout portion 27, FIG. 16) along at least a portion of a circumference of the second disc (depicted in FIG. 16),
first fastener (wire fixing structure 30, FIG. 2) captured and translatable within a first opening of the first partial rotation arcuate track (depicted in FIG. 16); and
third fastener (wire fixing structure 30, FIG. 2) captured and translatable within a second opening of the second partial rotation arcuate track (depicted in FIG. 16);
a first articulation cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 2) coupled to the first fastener and at least partially circumventing the first independently rotatable disc within the first channel and extending from the handle including along a lateral periphery of the device relative to the longitudinal axis (depicted in FIG. 2, 16);
a third articulation cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 2) coupled to a third fastener and at least partially circumventing the independently rotatable second disc within the second channel and extending from the handle along the lateral periphery relative to the longitudinal axis (depicted in FIG. 2, 16); and
However, Wang does not disclose an external second rotatable control mechanism; wherein the independently rotatable second disc is coupled with the external second rotatable control mechanism; second and fourth fasteners; and second and fourth articulation cables.
Suzuki teaches (FIG. 12) an analogous reel (FIG. 3, Pulley Unit 30) of an endoscopic device (FIG. 1, Operation Portion 3), which also consists of a case (10, i.e. handle) housing the reel (30). The reel (30) having two independently rotatable discs (FIG. 12, up-down bending pulley 31)/ right-left bending pulley 51) each having their own external rotatable control mechanism (bending knobs 15/19). Moreover, the discs (31/51) each include a partial rotation arcuate track (Protruding Portion 31b/ 51b) which allow for the capture and translation of a first (36U) and second (36D) fastener in track (31b), and a third (56L) and fourth (56R) fastener in track (51b); each fastener having an articulation cable (FIG. 3,7, Angle Wire 25U, 25D, 25L, 25R) coupled to it and circumventing a respective disc (31/51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Wang with the reel of Suzuki in order to provide a system that is capable of carrying out horizontal and vertical bending operations with separate knobs that articulate the device independently of one another [0045], and the additional fasteners in each disc allow for more efficient bending in each direction by dedicating each fastener to a respective direction (i.e. left, right, up, down), naturally this applies to the dedicated articulation cable for each fastener and thereby each direction as well [Suzuki - 0062].
Regarding Claim 11, Wang in view of Suzuki teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Wang further discloses wherein the first independently rotatable disc includes
a first channel (FIG. 2, par. 57 discloses bending wire is engaged and wound around an outer peripheral portion, i.e. channel of the pulley along the cutout portion of the pulley) between first and second lateral discs (FIG. 16, par. 53 disclose wire fixing structure formed on side surface of pulley) and
the second independently rotatable disc includes a second channel (FIG. 2, par. 57 discloses bending wire is engaged and wound around an outer peripheral portion, i.e. channel of the pulley along the cutout portion of the pulley) between third and fourth lateral discs (FIG. 16, par. 53 disclose wire fixing structure formed on side surface of pulley).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang in view of Suzuki teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Wang further discloses wherein one or more of the fasteners are barrel-shaped (depicted in FIG. 16).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang in view of Suzuki teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Wang further discloses wherein one or more of the fasteners are rotatable within the arcuate track (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner, i.e. rotatable).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang in view of Suzuki teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Suzuki further teaches wherein at least one of the first (25U), second (25D), third (25L) or fourth (25R) cable is coupled to one of the fasteners (36U, D, L, R) by at least one of clamping, crimping, heat staking, soldering, or welding (par. 49 and 82 disclose the angle wires are inserted into the wire insertion holes and fixed to the spiral spring by welding).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang in view of Suzuki teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Wang further discloses wherein the first rotatable control mechanism is coupled with the first disc to rotate the first disc to control movement of the endoscopic component in a horizontal direction (FIG. 2, par. 42 discloses bending lever performs bending operations in the upward and downward directions of the bending portion, par. 34 discloses bending direction of bending portion not limited to two directions and can be leftward and rightward directions, i.e. horizontal bending).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang in view of Suzuki teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Suzuki further teaches wherein the second rotatable control mechanism (15/19) is coupled with the second disc (31/51) to control movement of the endoscopic component in a vertical direction (par. 34 discloses up-down bending operation knob performs vertical bend operation for bending portion; par. 102 discloses the configurations and modifications described can be combined).
Regarding Claim 19, Wang discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 17, and Wang further discloses rotating a first control body (bending lever 13, FIG. 1) external to a handle (grasping portion 10, FIG. 1).
However, Wang does not disclose rotating a second control body.
Suzuki teaches (FIG. 9,10) an analogous articulating medical device (endoscope 1) comprising a first control body (15) external to a second control body (19) external to a handle (operation portion 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Wang with the control knobs of Suzuki in order to provide a system that is capable of carrying out horizontal and vertical bending operations with separate knobs that articulate the device independently of one another [Suzuki - 0045].
Regarding Claim 20, Wang in view of Suzuki teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 19, and Wang further discloses rotating the first control body to transfer rotation to a first rotatable body (par. 50 discloses pulleys rotate about shaft with a rotary operation of the bending lever);
However, Wang does not disclose rotating the second control body to transfer rotation to a second rotatable body.
Suzuki further teaches rotating (par.74 and par.102 disclose the two pulleys share the same configurations and modifications despite the different bending planes) the second control body (15/19) to transfer rotation to a second rotatable body (31/51).
Regarding Claim 21, Wang discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 17, and Wang further discloses wherein rotating the at least one control body further includes:
rotating a first control body (bending lever 13, FIG. 1) external to a handle (grasping portion 10, FIG. 1, par. 50 discloses rotary operation of the bending lever);
wherein the handle houses the first control body (depicted in FIG. 1-2);
transferring rotation from the first control body to a first rotational body (par. 50 discloses pulleys rotate about shaft with a rotary operation of the bending lever);
translating at least one of a first fastener (wire fixing structure 30, FIG. 2) or a second fastener along the arcuate track of the first rotational body (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner, i.e. translatable);
translating at least one of a third fastener (wire fixing structure 30, FIG. 2) or a fourth fastener along the arcuate track of the second rotational body (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner, i.e. translatable);
moving at least one of a first cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 16) coupled to the first fastener or a second cable coupled to the second fastener (par. 59, 68 disclose pulling of bending wire); and
moving at least one of a third cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 16) coupled to the third fastener or a fourth cable coupled to the fourth fastener (par. 59, 68 disclose pulling of bending wire);
wherein moving the at least one of the first or second cable causes the endoscopic device to move horizontally and moving the at least one of the third or fourth cable causes the endoscopic device to move vertically (FIG. 2, par. 42 discloses bending lever performs bending operations in the upward and downward directions of the bending portion via bending wires, par. 34 discloses bending direction of bending portion not limited to two directions and can be leftward and rightward directions, i.e. horizontal bending).
However, Wang does not disclose rotating a second control body external to the handle;
wherein the handle houses the second control body; transferring rotation from the second control body to a second rotational body.
Suzuki teaches an analogous method (FIG. 6) wherein rotating the at least one control body further includes:
rotating (par. 60 discloses bending operation is performed on the bending operation knob) a first control body (15) external to a handle (3);
wherein the handle houses the first control body (depicted in FIG. 1):
rotating (par. 60 discloses bending operation is performed on the bending operation knob) a second control body (19) external to the handle (3);
wherein the handle houses the second control body (depicted in FIG. 1);
transferring rotation (par. 45 discloses pulley rotates in conjunction with operation of the bending operation knob) from the first control body (15) to a first rotational body (31);
transferring rotation (par.74 and par.102 disclose the two pulleys share the same configurations and modifications despite the different bending planes) from the second control body (19) to a second rotational body (51);
translating (par. 72 discloses the spiral springs are engaged with the protruding portions) at least one of a first fastener (36U) or a second fastener (36D) along the arcuate track (31b) of the first rotational body (31);
translating (par. 72 discloses the spiral springs are engaged with the protruding portions) at least one of a third fastener (56L) or a fourth fastener (56R) along the arcuate track (51b) of the second rotational body (51);
moving (par. 44 discloses that angle wires are pulled) at least one of a first cable (25U) coupled to the first fastener (36U) or a second cable (25D) coupled to the second fastener (36D); and
moving (par. 44 discloses that angle wires are pulled) at least one of a third cable (25L) coupled to the third fastener (56L) or a fourth cable (25R) coupled to the fourth fastener (56R);
wherein moving (par. 102 discloses the configurations and modifications described can be combined) the at least one of the first or second cable causes the endoscopic device to move horizontally and moving the at least one of the third or fourth cable causes the endoscopic device to move vertically (par. 102 discloses the configurations and modifications described can be combined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Wang with the control body of Suzuki in order to provide a system that is capable of carrying out horizontal and vertical bending operations with separate knobs that articulate the device independently of one another [Suzuki - 0045], and the additional fasteners in each disc allow for more efficient bending in each direction by dedicating each fastener to a respective direction (i.e. left, right, up, down), naturally this applies to the dedicated articulation cable for each fastener and thereby each direction as well [Suzuki - 0062].
Conclusion
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795