DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 6th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8-9, 10 and 21 have been amended. Claims 1-21 are now pending in the application. The previous 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claim 9 is withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Comments
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210059506 A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Hijihara (US 20170238787 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses
An articulating medical device (endoscope 1, FIG. 1) comprising:
an articulating elongate member (insertion section 2, FIG. 1) extending in a longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 2);
at least one rotatable member (two pulleys 21, FIG. 2) coupled to the articulating elongate member (depicted in FIG. 2),
the at least one rotatable member including:
a first lateral disc and a second lateral disc laterally arranged relative to the longitudinal direction of the articulating elongate member (FIG. 2, par. 53 disclose respective side surfaces of pulleys);
an arcuate track (circular columnar recessed portion 24, FIG. 16) formed as an opening within a laterally extending surface of at least one of the first lateral disc or the second lateral disc (FIG. 16, par. 53 disclose wire fixing structure formed on side surface of pulley) and extending for a partial rotation about a center axis of rotation of the at least one rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 16); and
at least one clamp (wire fixing structure 30, FIG. 2) captured along the arcuate track (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner); and
at least one articulation cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 2),
fastened to the at least one clamp (depicted in FIG. 16);
wherein the at least one articulation cable extends from the at least one rotatable member, into the articulating elongate member (depicted in FIG. 2);
wherein the at least one articulation cable is configured to extend along a first lateral periphery of the at least one rotatable member and within a channel (cutout portion 27, FIG. 16) formed in the at least one rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 2-4, 16).
However, Wang does not disclose clamp translatable along the arcuate track; wherein the at least one clamp translates within the arcuate track based on tension in the at least one articulation cable.
Hijihara teaches an analogous articulating medical device (endoscope 1, FIG. 1) comprising an insertion portion (2, i.e. articulating elongate member, FIG. 1) and a grasping operation portion (3, FIG. 1) having a pulley (60, i.e. rotatable member, FIG. 6) provided therein, which operates the insertion portion [FIGS. 1-2, 6; 0079]. The pulley (60) comprising a rotating body accommodating portion (61, i.e. arcuate track, FIG. 6) with a rotation adjusting member (70, i.e. clamp, FIG. 6) turn able within, i.e. along, the inside of the track (61) [FIG. 6, 0079-0080]. Moreover, bending wires (8u + 8d, i.e. articulation cable, FIG. 6) are provided attached to the clamp (70), wherein, tension of the wires is directly connected to the rotation of the clamp [0107].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Wang with the rotatable clamp of Hijihara in order to provide the clamp with the ability to wind bending wires through its rotation and allow for more fine-tuned adjustment of the winding amount of the bending wires such that the tension applied to the bending wires can be regulated [Hijihara - 0101, 0106].
Regarding Claim 2, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Wang further discloses
wherein the at least one rotatable member is a circular or eccentric reel (depicted in FIGS. 2-4).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Wang further discloses
further comprising at least one user manipulable control knob (bending lever 13, FIG. 1) coupled with the at least one rotatable member to rotate the at least one rotatable member bidirectionally about the center axis of rotation and of the at least one rotatable member (FIG. 2, par. 42 discloses bending lever performs bending operations in the upward and downward directions of the bending portion).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Wang further discloses
wherein the at least one articulation cable is coupled to control one of vertical movement of the articulating elongate member or horizontal movement of the articulating elongate member (par. 51 discloses vertical bending of bending portion via bending wires).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Wang further discloses
wherein the at least one clamp is one of a threaded barrel-shaped member or a wire-crimp barrel-shaped member having an insertion pathway (through hole portion 36, FIG. 8) for receiving the at least one articulation cable (depicted in FIG. 8).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Wang further discloses
wherein:
the at least one clamp is a two-part clamp having an upper cylindrical member and a lower cylindrical member (depicted in FIG. 16); and
the at least one clamp articulation cable is positioned within a pathway (through hole portion 36, FIG. 8) between the upper cylindrical member and the lower cylindrical member (depicted in FIG. 8, 16).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Wang further discloses
wherein at least a portion of the at least one clamp extends past the surface of the first lateral disc or the second lateral disc and the surface (bolt 41) surrounding a perimeter of the arcuate track (depicted in FIG. 3-4, FIG. 16 depicts recessed portion being a space that accepts/ engages the fixing structure, based on FIG. 3-4, the bolt will protrude out from the recessed portion).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Hijihara further teaches
wherein the at least one clamp is rotatable within the arcuate track (FIG. 6, par. 80 discloses rotation adjusting member is turn able within rotating body accommodating portion);
wherein the at least one clamp is translatable between a first arcuate position within the arcuate track and a second arcuate position within the arcuate track (par. 80 discloses rotation adjusting member is turn able within rotating body accommodating portion, i.e. between a first position and a second position).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 7, and Wang further discloses
wherein the arcuate track is within a disc of the at least one rotatable member (FIG. 2, par. 53 disclose respective side surfaces of pulleys) and
the at least one rotatable member further includes:
the at least one clamp is captured by the surface and within the arcuate track of at least one of the first lateral disc and the second lateral disc (depicted in FIG. 16).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang discloses
A method (par. 97 discloses various applications and various stages of invention, i.e. method) of controlling longitudinally extending cables (bending wires 25, FIG. 2) within an endoscopic device (endoscope 1, FIG. 1), the method comprising:
transferring rotation from at least one control body (bending lever 13, FIG. 1) to at least one laterally arranged rotatable body (two pulleys 21, FIG. 2) relative to the longitudinally extending cables (par. 50-51 disclose bending operation initiated by bending lever to cause two pulleys to rotate which causes bending wires to be towed or slackened to carry out bending operation),
the laterally arranged rotatable body is coupled with the at least one control body (depicted in FIG. 2), the at least one rotatable body including:
a channel (cutout portion 27, FIG. 16) formed around a circumferential periphery of the at least one rotatable body (depicted in FIG. 16);
at least one fastener (wire fixing structure 30, FIG. 2) disposed within an arcuate track in the at least one laterally arranged rotatable body (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner);
wherein the at least one laterally arranged rotatable body includes a surface (FIG. 2, par. 53 disclose respective side surfaces of pulleys) forming a perimeter of an opening of the arcuate track and the at least one translatable and rotatable fastener is received within the arcuate track (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner, i.e. translatable); and
at least one cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 2),
coupled to the at least one fastener (depicted in FIG. 16), that at least partially circumvents the at least one rotatable body within the channel (FIG. 2, par. 57 discloses bending wire is engaged and wound around the outer peripheral portion of the pulley along the cutout portion of the pulley);
moving the at least one cable coupled to the at least one fastener to modulate tension in a proximal end of the at least one cable (par. 59, 68 disclose pulling of bending wire to control tension generated at one side/ one portion of the bending wire in order to prevent slackening); and
moving an articulating member (insertion section 2, FIG. 1) of the endoscopic device at a distal end of the at least one cable (par. 51 discloses bending of bending portion via bending wires).
However, Wang does not disclose translatable and rotatable fastener; transferring rotation from the at least one rotatable body to the at least one fastener, translating the at least one fastener along the arcuate track.
Hijihara teaches an analogous method for an articulating medical device (endoscope 1, FIG. 1) comprising an insertion portion (2, i.e. articulating elongate member, FIG. 1) and a grasping operation portion (3, FIG. 1) having a pulley (60, i.e. rotatable member, FIG. 6) provided therein, which operates the insertion portion [FIGS. 1-2, 6; 0079, 0090]. The pulley (60) comprising a rotating body accommodating portion (61, i.e. arcuate track, FIG. 6) with a rotation adjusting member (70, i.e. clamp, FIG. 6) turn able within, i.e. along, the inside of the track (61) [FIG. 6, 0079-0080]. Moreover, bending wires (8u + 8d, i.e. articulation cable, FIG. 6) are provided attached to the clamp (70), wherein, tension of the wires is directly connected to the rotation of the clamp, i.e. rotation is transferred between the pulley and clamps [0107].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Wang with the rotatable clamp of Hijihara in order to provide the clamp with the ability to wind bending wires through its rotation and allow for more fine-tuned adjustment of the winding amount of the bending wires such that the tension applied to the bending wires can be regulated [Hijihara - 0101, 0106].
Regarding Claim 18, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 17, and Wang further discloses
wherein modulating tension moves the articulating member one of horizontally or vertically (par. 51 discloses vertical bending of bending portion via bending wires; par. 59, 68 disclose pulling of bending wire to control tension generated at one side/ one portion of the bending wire in order to prevent slackening).
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210059506 A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Hijihara (US 20170238787 A1) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (WO 2021130850 A1, using US 20220313063 Al as an English equivalent, hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 19, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 17, and Wang further discloses
rotating a first control body (bending lever 13, FIG. 1) external to a handle (grasping portion 10, FIG. 1).
However, Wang does not disclose rotating a second control body.
Suzuki teaches (FIG. 9,10) an analogous articulating medical device (endoscope 1) comprising a first control body (15) external to a second control body (19) external to a handle (operation portion 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Wang with the control knobs of Suzuki in order to provide a system that is capable of carrying out horizontal and vertical bending operations with separate knobs that articulate the device independently of one another [Suzuki - 0045].
Regarding Claim 20, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, and further in view of Suzuki, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 19, and Wang further discloses
rotating the first control body to transfer rotation to a first rotatable body (par. 50 discloses pulleys rotate about shaft with a rotary operation of the bending lever);
However, Wang does not disclose rotating the second control body to transfer rotation to a second rotatable body.
Suzuki further teaches rotating the second control body (15/19) to transfer rotation to a second rotatable body (31/51; par. 74 and par. 102 disclose the two pulleys share the same configurations and modifications despite the different bending planes).
Regarding Claim 21, Wang, as previously modified by Hijihara, and further in view of Suzuki discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 17, and Wang further discloses
wherein rotating the at least one control body further includes:
rotating a first control body (bending lever 13, FIG. 1) external to a handle (grasping portion 10, FIG. 1, par. 50 discloses rotary operation of the bending lever);
wherein the handle houses the first control body (depicted in FIG. 1-2);
transferring rotation from the first control body to a first rotational body (par. 50 discloses pulleys rotate about shaft with a rotary operation of the bending lever);
moving at least one of a first cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 16) coupled to the first fastener or a second cable coupled to the second fastener (par. 59, 68 disclose pulling of bending wire); and
moving at least one of a third cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 16) coupled to the third fastener or a fourth cable coupled to the fourth fastener (par. 59, 68 disclose pulling of bending wire);
wherein moving the at least one of the first or second cable causes the endoscopic device to move horizontally and moving the at least one of the third or fourth cable causes the endoscopic device to move vertically (FIG. 2, par. 42 discloses bending lever performs bending operations in the upward and downward directions of the bending portion via bending wires, par. 34 discloses bending direction of bending portion not limited to two directions and can be leftward and rightward directions, i.e. horizontal bending).
However, Wang does not disclose translating at least one of a first fastener or a second fastener between a first position along the arcuate track of the first rotational body and a second position along the arcuate track of the first rotational body; translating at least one of a third fastener or a fourth fastener between a first position along the arcuate track of the second rotational body and a second position along the arcuate track of the second rotational body.
Hijihara further teaches translating at least one of a first fastener (rotation adjusting member 70, FIG. 6) or a second fastener between a first position along the arcuate track of the first rotational body and a second position along the arcuate track of the first rotational body (par. 80 discloses rotation adjusting member is turn able within rotating body accommodating portion, i.e. between a first position and a second position);
translating at least one of a third fastener (rotation adjusting member 70, FIG. 6) or a fourth fastener between a first position along the arcuate track of the second rotational body and a second position along the arcuate track of the second rotational body (par. 80 discloses rotation adjusting member is turn able within rotating body accommodating portion, i.e. between a first position and a second position).
However, Wang, as modified by Hijihara, does not disclose rotating a second control body external to the handle; wherein the handle houses the second control body; transferring rotation from the second control body to a second rotational body.
Suzuki teaches an analogous method (FIG. 6) wherein rotating the at least one control body further includes:
rotating (par. 60 discloses bending operation is performed on the bending operation knob) a first control body (15) external to a handle (3);
wherein the handle houses the first control body (depicted in FIG. 1):
rotating (par. 60 discloses bending operation is performed on the bending operation knob) a second control body (19) external to the handle (3);
wherein the handle houses the second control body (depicted in FIG. 1);
transferring rotation (par. 45 discloses pulley rotates in conjunction with operation of the bending operation knob) from the first control body (15) to a first rotational body (31);
transferring rotation (par.74 and par.102 disclose the two pulleys share the same configurations and modifications despite the different bending planes) from the second control body (19) to a second rotational body (51);
translating (par. 72 discloses the spiral springs are engaged with the protruding portions) at least one of a first fastener (36U) or a second fastener (36D) along the arcuate track (31b) of the first rotational body (31);
translating (par. 72 discloses the spiral springs are engaged with the protruding portions) at least one of a third fastener (56L) or a fourth fastener (56R) along the arcuate track (51b) of the second rotational body (51);
moving (par. 44 discloses that angle wires are pulled) at least one of a first cable (25U) coupled to the first fastener (36U) or a second cable (25D) coupled to the second fastener (36D); and
moving (par. 44 discloses that angle wires are pulled) at least one of a third cable (25L) coupled to the third fastener (56L) or a fourth cable (25R) coupled to the fourth fastener (56R);
wherein moving (par. 102 discloses the configurations and modifications described can be combined) the at least one of the first or second cable causes the endoscopic device to move horizontally and moving the at least one of the third or fourth cable causes the endoscopic device to move vertically (par. 102 discloses the configurations and modifications described can be combined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Wang with the control body of Suzuki in order to provide a system that is capable of carrying out horizontal and vertical bending operations with separate knobs that articulate the device independently of one another [Suzuki - 0045], and the additional fasteners in each disc allow for more efficient bending in each direction by dedicating each fastener to a respective direction (i.e. left, right, up, down), naturally this applies to the dedicated articulation cable for each fastener and thereby each direction as well [Suzuki - 0062].
Claim(s) 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210059506 A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Suzuki et al. (WO 2021130850 A1, using US 20220313063 Al as an English equivalent, hereinafter Suzuki), and further in view of Kaneko (US 20130012781 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang discloses
A device (operation section 3, FIG. 1) for controlling movement of an endoscopic component (endoscope 1, FIG. 1), the device comprising:
a handle (grasping portion 10, FIG. 1) having a handle body extending in a longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 1),
the handle including an external first rotatable control mechanism (bending lever 13, FIG. 1);
a reel (two pulleys 21, FIG. 2), within the handle body (depicted in FIG. 2), wherein the reel includes:
an independently rotatable first disc (first pulley 21, FIG. 2) arranged laterally relative to the longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 2),
the independently rotatable first disc including a first partial rotation arcuate track (circular columnar recessed portion 24, FIG. 16) formed within a surface of the independently rotatable first disc and extending about a center axis of rotation of the independently rotatable first disc (depicted in FIG. 16) and
a first channel (cutout portion 27, FIG. 16) along at least a portion of a circumference of the independently rotatable first disc (depicted in FIG. 16),
wherein the independently rotatable first disc is coupled with the external first rotatable control mechanism (depicted in FIG. 2);
an independently rotatable second disc (second pulley 21, FIG. 2) arranged laterally relative to the longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 2),
the independently rotatable second disc including a second partial rotation arcuate track (circular columnar recessed portion 24, FIG. 16) formed within a surface of the independently rotatable second disc and extending about a center axis of rotation of the independently rotatable second disc (depicted in FIG. 16) and
a second (cutout portion 27, FIG. 16) along at least a portion of a circumference of the second disc (depicted in FIG. 16),
first fastener (wire fixing structure 30, FIG. 2) captured within a first opening of the partial rotation arcuate track (depicted in FIG. 16); and
third fastener (wire fixing structure 30, FIG. 2) captured within a second opening of the partial rotation arcuate track (depicted in FIG. 16);
a first articulation cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 2) coupled to the first fastener and at least partially circumventing the first independently rotatable disc within the first channel and extending from the handle including along a lateral periphery of the device relative to the longitudinal axis (depicted in FIG. 2, 16);
a third articulation cable (bending wires 25, FIG. 2) coupled to a third fastener and at least partially circumventing the independently rotatable second disc within the second channel and extending from the handle along the lateral periphery relative to the longitudinal axis (depicted in FIG. 2, 16); and
However, Wang does not disclose an external second rotatable control mechanism; wherein the independently rotatable second disc is coupled with the external second rotatable control mechanism; second fastener captured within a first opening of the partial rotation arcuate track; and fourth fastener captured within a second opening of the partial rotation arcuate track; and second and fourth articulation cables.
Suzuki teaches (FIG. 12) an analogous reel (FIG. 3, Pulley Unit 30) of an endoscopic device (FIG. 1, Operation Portion 3), which also consists of a case (10, i.e. handle) housing the reel (30). The reel (30) having two independently rotatable discs (FIG. 12, up-down bending pulley 31)/ right-left bending pulley 51) each having their own external rotatable control mechanism (bending knobs 15/19). Moreover, the discs (31/51) each include a partial rotation arcuate track (Protruding Portion 31b/ 51b) which allow for the capture and translation of a first (36U) and second (36D) fastener in track (31b), and a third (56L) and fourth (56R) fastener in track (51b); each fastener having an articulation cable (FIG. 3,7, Angle Wire 25U, 25D, 25L, 25R) coupled to it and circumventing a respective disc (31/51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Wang with the reel of Suzuki in order to provide a system that is capable of carrying out horizontal and vertical bending operations with separate knobs that articulate the device independently of one another [0045], and the additional fasteners in each disc allow for more efficient bending in each direction by dedicating each fastener to a respective direction (i.e. left, right, up, down), naturally this applies to the dedicated articulation cable for each fastener and thereby each direction as well [Suzuki - 0062].
However, Wang, as modified by Suzuki, does not disclose each of the first and second fasteners are configured to be translatable between a first position within the first opening of the first partial rotation arcuate track a second position within the first opening of the first partial rotation arcuate track; and each of the third and fourth fasteners are configured to be translatable between a first position within the second opening of the second partial rotation arcuate track and a second position within the second opening of the second partial rotation arcuate track;
Kaneko teaches an analogous articulating medical device (endoscope 1, FIG. 1) comprising an elongated insertion portion (2, i.e. articulating elongate member, FIG. 1) and an operation portion (3, FIG. 1) having a vertical bending operation lever (11, i.e. first rotatable control mechanism, FIG. 1) and a lateral bending operation lever (12, i.e. second rotatable control mechanism, FIG. 1) each provided with a respective bending portion operation mechanism section (10A/ 10B, FIG. 5) each having a pulley (16, i.e. rotatable member, FIG. 6) provided therein, which operates the insertion portion [FIGS. 1-6; 0055-0059]. The bending portion operation mechanism sections (10A/ 10B) each have a support panel (14, FIG. 6) which comprises a ring-shaped circumferential groove (14g, i.e. partial rotation arcuate track, FIG. 6) wherein a pair of stopper frames (17, FIG. 6) are placed so as to move in the circumferential groove, i.e. between a first position and a second position [0090-0091]. Fixing screws (9b, i.e. clamps, FIG. 6) are inserted in the stopper frames and are movable with the stopper frames within the circumferential groove [0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Wang with the rotatable clamp of Kaneko in order to provide clamps that can regulate rotation amount of the rotatable control mechanism, as well as, freely regulate and set stopping/ rotating positions within the track [Kaneko - 0092].
Regarding Claim 11, Wang in view of Suzuki teaches all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Wang further discloses wherein the first independently rotatable disc includes
a first channel (FIG. 2, par. 57 discloses bending wire is engaged and wound around an outer peripheral portion, i.e. channel of the pulley along the cutout portion of the pulley) between first and second lateral discs (FIG. 16, par. 53 disclose wire fixing structure formed on side surface of pulley) and
the second independently rotatable disc includes a second channel (FIG. 2, par. 57 discloses bending wire is engaged and wound around an outer peripheral portion, i.e. channel of the pulley along the cutout portion of the pulley) between third and fourth lateral discs (FIG. 16, par. 53 disclose wire fixing structure formed on side surface of pulley).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang as previously modified by Suzuki, and further in view of Kaneko, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Wang further discloses
wherein one or more of the fasteners are barrel-shaped (depicted in FIG. 16).
Regarding Claim 13, Wang as previously modified by Suzuki, and further in view of Kaneko, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Wang further discloses
wherein one or more of the fasteners are rotatable within the arcuate track (FIG. 16, par. 96 disclose fixing member may be mounted, i.e. captured, in the recessed portion in an engaging manner, i.e. rotatable).
Regarding Claim 14, Wang as previously modified by Suzuki, and further in view of Kaneko, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Suzuki further teaches
wherein at least one of the first (25U), second (25D), third (25L) or fourth (25R) cable is coupled to one of the fasteners (36U, D, L, R) by at least one of clamping, crimping, heat staking, soldering, or welding (par. 49 and 82 disclose the angle wires are inserted into the wire insertion holes and fixed to the spiral spring by welding).
Regarding Claim 15, Wang as previously modified by Suzuki, and further in view of Kaneko, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Wang further discloses
wherein the first rotatable control mechanism is coupled with the first disc to rotate the first disc to control movement of the endoscopic component in a horizontal direction (FIG. 2, par. 42 discloses bending lever performs bending operations in the upward and downward directions of the bending portion, par. 34 discloses bending direction of bending portion not limited to two directions and can be leftward and rightward directions, i.e. horizontal bending).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang as previously modified by Suzuki, and further in view of Kaneko, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, and Suzuki further teaches
wherein the second rotatable control mechanism (15/19) is coupled with the second disc (31/51) to control movement of the endoscopic component in a vertical direction (par. 34 discloses up-down bending operation knob performs vertical bend operation for bending portion; par. 102 discloses the configurations and modifications described can be combined).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795