DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purkayastha et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0116840 (hereinafter Purkayastha), in view of Da Silva et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0098611 (hereinafter Da Silva), further in view of Kim et al., WO 2021075844 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Purkayastha discloses a method performed by a master node (MN) supporting a dual connectivity operation in a wireless communication system (disclosed is a method performed by a master node (MN) supporting dual connectivity, according to [0102], Fig. 7), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a target secondary node (SN), an SN addition request message for a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) change (CPC) including information on a plurality of candidate target PSCells (the MN transmits, to a target secondary node (T-SN), an SN Addition Request message that comprises a list of candidate target PSCells, as part of a conditional PSCell change procedure, according to [0102], [0107], Fig. 7 [step 720]);
receiving, from the target SN, an SN addition request acknowledge message including information on a target PSCell for the CPC which is selected from the plurality of candidate target PSCells (the MN receives, from the T-SN, an SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, comprising information on a target PSCell configuration, according to [0109], Fig. 7 [step 730]);
receiving, from the terminal, an RRC reconfiguration complete message transmitted in case that the CPC execution condition is satisfied (the MN receives, from a UE, an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message in a case wherein the condition for conditional PSCell addition has been satisfied, according to [0118]-[0119], Fig. 7 [steps 750 and 755]); and
transmitting, to a target SN, an SN reconfiguration complete message (the MN transmits, to the T-SN, an SN Reconfiguration Complete message, according to [0120], Fig. 7 [step 760]).
Purkayastha does not expressly disclose that the SN addition request message includes information on a plurality of candidate target PSCells suggested by the MN and information on measurement results for the plurality of candidate target PSCells, whereby a target PSCell is selected based on the information on the measurement results, nor transmitting, to a terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC and measurement configuration information, wherein the conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC includes information for CPC execution condition, the information for CPC execution condition being indicated as a measurement identifier (ID), wherein the measurement configuration information includes information on a measurement object and information on a report configuration, the information on the measurement object and the information on the report configuration corresponding to the measurement ID, wherein the information on the report configuration includes event information corresponding to the CPC execution condition, and wherein the event information includes an event indicating that a measurement result for the target PSCell is greater than a threshold.
Da Silva discloses that the SN addition request message includes information on a plurality of candidate target PSCells suggested by the MN and information on measurement results for the plurality of candidate target PSCells (an MN sends an SN addition request to a T-SN, whereby said SN addition request includes information for candidate PSCells and a CG-Config inter-node RRC container that includes measurement results, according to [0204]),
whereby a target PSCell is selected based on the information on the measurement results (the T-SN selects a set of candidate cells out of the candidate cells provided in the SN Addition Request using the CG-Config information, according to [0032], [0205]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Purkayastha with Da Silva such that the SN addition request message includes information on a plurality of candidate target PSCells suggested by the MN and information on measurement results for the plurality of candidate target PSCells.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate measurement gap coordination between a UE, MN, and SN (Da Silva: [0160]-[0162]).
Neither Purkayastha nor Da Silva expressly discloses transmitting, to a terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC and measurement configuration information, wherein the conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC includes information for CPC execution condition, the information for CPC execution condition being indicated as a measurement identifier (ID), wherein the measurement configuration information includes information on a measurement object and information on a report configuration, the information on the measurement object and the information on the report configuration corresponding to the measurement ID, wherein the information on the report configuration includes event information corresponding to the CPC execution condition, and wherein the event information includes an event indicating that a measurement result for the target PSCell is greater than a threshold.
Kim discloses transmitting, to a terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC and measurement configuration information (a source cell transmits, to a UE, a conditional reconfiguration as part of an RRC reconfiguration, comprising configuration information for performing measurements, as part of a conditional PSCell change procedure, according to [172]-[173], [182]),
wherein the conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC includes information for CPC execution condition, the information for CPC execution condition being indicated as a measurement identifier (ID) (the conditional reconfiguration comprises a mobility condition, that in turn comprises a measurement ID, according to [172]-[173]),
wherein the measurement configuration information includes information on a measurement object and information on a report configuration, the information on the measurement object and the information on the report configuration corresponding to the measurement ID (the configuration information comprises information on a measurement objection and information on a report configuration that are associated with the measurement ID, according to [173]),
wherein the information on the report configuration includes event information corresponding to the CPC execution condition (the report configuration comprises a condition for a measurement result on a measurement object to satisfy, according to [173]), and
wherein the event information includes an event indicating that a measurement result for the target PSCell is greater than a threshold (a measurement result for a cell must be better than a threshold in order for a report condition associated with an event to be satisfied, according to [155], [158], [163]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Purkayastha as modified by Da Silva with Kim by transmitting, to a terminal, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC and measurement configuration information, wherein the conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC includes information for CPC execution condition, the information for CPC execution condition being indicated as a measurement identifier (ID), wherein the measurement configuration information includes information on a measurement object and information on a report configuration, the information on the measurement object and the information on the report configuration corresponding to the measurement ID, wherein the information on the report configuration includes event information corresponding to the CPC execution condition, and wherein the event information includes an event indicating that a measurement result for the target PSCell is greater than a threshold.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve measurement handling efficiency when performing conditional PSCell additions and changes (Kim: [0017]).
Regarding claim 6, Purkayastha discloses a method performed by a terminal supporting a dual connectivity in a wireless communication system (disclosed is a method performed by a UE supporting dual connectivity, according to [0102], Fig. 7), the method comprising:
transmitting, to the MN, an RRC reconfiguration complete message in case that the CPC execution condition is satisfied (the UE transmits, to an MN, an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message in a case wherein the condition for conditional PSCell addition has been satisfied, according to [0118]-[0119], Fig. 7 [steps 750 and 755]).
Purkayastha does not expressly disclose receiving, from a master node (MN), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration information for a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) change (CPC) from a current PSCell to a target PSCell of a target secondary node (SN) and measurement configuration information, wherein the target PSCell is selected by the target SN from a plurality of candidate target PSCells suggested by the MN, based on information on measurement results for the plurality of candidate target PSCells, wherein information on the plurality of candidate target PSCells and the information on the measurement results are provided from the MN to the target SN, wherein the conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC includes information for CPC execution condition, the information for CPC execution condition being indicated as a measurement identifier (ID), wherein the measurement configuration information includes information on a measurement object and information on a report configuration, the information on the measurement object and the information on the report configuration corresponding to the measurement ID, wherein the information on the report configuration includes event information corresponding to the CPC execution condition, and wherein the event information includes an event indicating that a measurement result for the target PSCell is greater than a threshold; performing a measurement for the target PSCell to determine whether the CPC execution condition is satisfied, based on the RRC reconfiguration message.
Da Silva discloses that the target PSCell is selected by the target SN from a plurality of candidate target PSCells suggested by the MN, based on information on measurement results for the plurality of candidate target PSCells, wherein information on the plurality of candidate target PSCells and the information on the measurement results are provided from the MN to the target SN (an MN sends an SN addition request to a T-SN, whereby said SN addition request includes information for candidate PSCells and a CG-Config inter-node RRC container that includes measurement results, according to [0204], whereby the T-SN selects a set of candidate cells out of the candidate cells provided in the SN Addition Request using the CG-Config information, according to [0032], [0205]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Purkayastha with Da Silva such that the target PSCell is selected by the target SN from a plurality of candidate target PSCells suggested by the MN, based on information on measurement results for the plurality of candidate target PSCells, wherein information on the plurality of candidate target PSCells and the information on the measurement results are provided from the MN to the target SN.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate measurement gap coordination between a UE, MN, and SN (Da Silva: [0160]-[0162]).
Neither Purkayastha nor Da Silva expressly discloses receiving, from a master node (MN), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration information for a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) change (CPC) from a current PSCell to a target PSCell of a target secondary node (SN) and measurement configuration information, wherein the conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC includes information for CPC execution condition, the information for CPC execution condition being indicated as a measurement identifier (ID), wherein the measurement configuration information includes information on a measurement object and information on a report configuration, the information on the measurement object and the information on the report configuration corresponding to the measurement ID, wherein the information on the report configuration includes event information corresponding to the CPC execution condition, and wherein the event information includes an event indicating that a measurement result for the target PSCell is greater than a threshold; performing a measurement for the target PSCell to determine whether the CPC execution condition is satisfied, based on the RRC reconfiguration message.
Kim discloses receiving, from a master node (MN), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration information for a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) change (CPC) from a current PSCell to a target PSCell of a target secondary node (SN) and measurement configuration information (the UE receives, from a source cell, a conditional reconfiguration as part of an RRC reconfiguration, comprising configuration information for performing measurements, as part of a conditional PSCell change procedure, according to [172]-[173], [182]),
wherein the conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC includes information for CPC execution condition, the information for CPC execution condition being indicated as a measurement identifier (ID) (the conditional reconfiguration comprises a mobility condition, that in turn comprises a measurement ID, according to [172]-[173]),
wherein the measurement configuration information includes information on a measurement object and information on a report configuration, the information on the measurement object and the information on the report configuration corresponding to the measurement ID (the configuration information comprises information on a measurement objection and information on a report configuration that are associated with the measurement ID, according to [173]),
wherein the information on the report configuration includes event information corresponding to the CPC execution condition (the report configuration comprises a condition for a measurement result on a measurement object to satisfy, according to [173]), and
wherein the event information includes an event indicating that a measurement result for the target PSCell is greater than a threshold (a measurement result for a cell must be better than a threshold in order for a report condition associated with an event to be satisfied, according to [155], [158], [163]);
performing a measurement for the target PSCell to determine whether the CPC execution condition is satisfied, based on the RRC reconfiguration message (the UE determines whether the mobility condition, specified in the conditional reconfiguration, for the target cell is satisfied, based on the measurement result on the measurement object, according to [173]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Purkayastha as modified by Da Silva with Kim by receiving, from a master node (MN), a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including conditional reconfiguration information for a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) change (CPC) from a current PSCell to a target PSCell and measurement configuration information, wherein the conditional reconfiguration information for the CPC includes information for CPC execution condition, the information for CPC execution condition being indicated as a measurement identifier (ID), wherein the measurement configuration information includes information on a measurement object and information on a report configuration, the information on the measurement object and the information on the report configuration corresponding to the measurement ID, wherein the information on the report configuration includes event information corresponding to the CPC execution condition, and wherein the event information includes an event indicating that a measurement result for the target PSCell is greater than a threshold;
performing a measurement for the target PSCell to determine whether the CPC execution condition is satisfied, based on the RRC reconfiguration message.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve measurement handling efficiency when performing conditional PSCell additions and changes (Kim: [0017]).
Claim 10 recites the MN, comprising a transceiver and a processor coupled to the transceiver (disclosed is a base station that comprises a transceiver and a processor coupled to the transceiver, according to [0193]-[0195], Fig. 13 [elements 1300, 1304, and 1310]), that performs the method recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 14 recites the UE, comprising a transceiver and a processor coupled to the transceiver (the UE necessarily comprises a transceiver and a processor coupled to the transceiver), that performs the method recited in claim 6, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Purkayastha, Da Silva, and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Purkayastha discloses receiving, from a source SN, information on a current PSCell (the MN receives, from the source SN, an SN change required message for a CPC from one PSCell to another PSCell, according to [0034]).
Neither Purkayastha nor Da Silva expressly discloses that the measurement configuration information is associated with a master cell group (MCG) of the MN, wherein the CPC execution condition is associated with the current PSCell and the target PSCell, wherein the event information further includes at least one of: a first event indicating that a measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a measurement result of the current PSCell by at least an offset value, or a second event indicating that the measurement result of the current PSCell is less than a first threshold and the measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a second threshold, and
wherein the measurement configuration information further includes one bit indicating that the CPC execution condition is associated with a measurement result of the current PSCell and the target PSCell.
Kim discloses that the measurement configuration information is associated with a master cell group (MCG) of the MN (the measurement configuration relates to an MCG, according to [185]),
wherein the CPC execution condition is associated with the current PSCell and the target PSCell (the mobility execution condition for a CPC is associated with a source PSCell and a target PSCell, according to [47]-[48], [247]),
wherein the event information further includes at least one of: a first event indicating that a measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a measurement result of the current PSCell by at least an offset value, or a second event indicating that the measurement result of the current PSCell is less than a first threshold and the measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a second threshold (the entering condition for event A5 is satisfied if the signal quality for the source cell is lower than a given threshold and the signal quality for a target cell is better than another threshold, according to [48]), and
wherein the measurement configuration information further includes one bit indicating that the CPC execution condition is associated with a measurement result of the current PSCell and the target PSCell (the measurement configuration comprises measObject (which necessarily comprises a bit), which specifies the serving cell and neighbor cells that are associated with the conditional mobility condition, according to [160]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Purkayastha as modified by Da Silva as modified by Kim with Kim such that the measurement configuration information is associated with a master cell group (MCG) of the MN, wherein the CPC execution condition is associated with the current PSCell and the target PSCell, wherein the event information further includes at least one of: a first event indicating that a measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a measurement result of the current PSCell by at least an offset value, or a second event indicating that the measurement result of the current PSCell is less than a first threshold and the measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a second threshold, and wherein the measurement configuration information further includes one bit indicating that the CPC execution condition is associated with a measurement result of the current PSCell and the target PSCell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve measurement handling efficiency when performing conditional PSCell additions and changes (Kim: [0017]).
Claims 7 and 11 do not differ substantively from claim 2, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
6. Claims 3, 8, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purkayastha in view of Da Silva in view of Kim as applied to claims 1, 6, 10, and 14 above, further in view of Li et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0201563 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Purkayastha, Da Silva, and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Neither Purkayastha, Da Silva, nor Kim expressly discloses that the information on the measurement object indicates a first frequency band to which the target PSCell belongs and a second frequency band to which the current PSCell belongs.
Li discloses that the information on the measurement object indicates a first frequency band to which the target PSCell belongs and a second frequency band to which the current PSCell belongs (a handover indicator indicates the combination of frequency bands used by a source cell and a target cell in a dual connectivity handover, according to [0009], [0018], [0053]-[0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Purkayastha as modified by Da Silva as modified by Kim with Li such that the information on the measurement object indicates a first frequency band to which the target PSCell belongs and a second frequency band to which the current PSCell belongs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate inter-cell interference coordination (Li: [0076]).
Claims 8 and 12 do not differ substantively from claim 3, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Purkayastha, Da Silva, and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 14.
Neither Purkayastha nor Da Silva expressly discloses that the measurement configuration information is associated with a master cell group (MCG) of the MN, wherein the CPC execution condition is associated with the current PSCell and the target PSCell, wherein the event information further includes at least one of: a first event indicating that a measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a measurement result of the current PSCell by at least an offset value, or a second event indicating that the measurement result of the current PSCell is less than a first threshold and the measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a second threshold, wherein the measurement configuration information further includes one bit indicating that the CPC execution condition is associated with a measurement result of the current PSCell and the target PSCell, and wherein the information on the measurement object indicates a first frequency band to which the target PSCell belongs and a second frequency band to which the current PSCell belongs.
Kim discloses that the measurement configuration information is associated with a master cell group (MCG) of the MN (the measurement configuration relates to an MCG, according to [185]),
wherein the CPC execution condition is associated with the current PSCell and the target PSCell (the mobility execution condition for a CPC is associated with a source PSCell and a target PSCell, according to [47]-[48], [247]),
wherein the event information further includes at least one of: a first event indicating that a measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a measurement result of the current PSCell by at least an offset value, or a second event indicating that the measurement result of the current PSCell is less than a first threshold and the measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a second threshold (the entering condition for event A5 is satisfied if the signal quality for the source cell is lower than a given threshold and the signal quality for a target cell is better than another threshold, according to [48]),
wherein the measurement configuration information further includes one bit indicating that the CPC execution condition is associated with a measurement result of the current PSCell and the target PSCell (the measurement configuration comprises measObject (which necessarily comprises a bit), which specifies the serving cell and neighbor cells that are associated with the conditional mobility condition, according to [160]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Purkayastha as modified by Da Silva as modified by Kim with Kim such that the measurement configuration information is associated with a master cell group (MCG) of the MN, wherein the CPC execution condition is associated with the current PSCell and the target PSCell, wherein the event information further includes at least one of: a first event indicating that a measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a measurement result of the current PSCell by at least an offset value, or a second event indicating that the measurement result of the current PSCell is less than a first threshold and the measurement result of the target PSCell is greater than a second threshold, wherein the measurement configuration information further includes one bit indicating that the CPC execution condition is associated with a measurement result of the current PSCell and the target PSCell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve measurement handling efficiency when performing conditional PSCell additions and changes (Kim: [0017]).
Neither Purkayastha, Da Silva, nor Kim expressly discloses that the information on the measurement object indicates a first frequency band to which the target PSCell belongs and a second frequency band to which the current PSCell belongs.
Li discloses that the information on the measurement object indicates a first frequency band to which the target PSCell belongs and a second frequency band to which the current PSCell belongs (a handover indicator indicates the combination of frequency bands used by a source cell and a target cell in a dual connectivity handover, according to [0009], [0018], [0053]-[0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Purkayastha as modified by Da Silva as modified by Kim with Li such that the information on the measurement object indicates a first frequency band to which the target PSCell belongs and a second frequency band to which the current PSCell belongs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate inter-cell interference coordination (Li: [0076]).
7. Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purkayastha in view of Da Silva in view of Kim as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, further in view of Yamada, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0145889 (hereinafter Yamada).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Purkayastha, Da Silva, and Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Neither Purkayastha, Da Silva, nor Kim expressly discloses that the information on the current PSCell includes at least one of a physical cell identity (PCI), a cell global identifier (CGI), or an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN).
Yamada discloses that the information on the current PSCell includes at least one of a physical cell identity (PCI), a cell global identifier (CGI), or an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) (a UE communicates, in an RRC message, the physical cell identity of a source PSCell, according to [0131], [0160]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Purkayastha as modified by Da Silva as modified by Kim with Yamada such that the information on the current PSCell includes at least one of a physical cell identity (PCI), a cell global identifier (CGI), or an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to minimize interruption time and measurement overhead (Yamada: [0131]).
Claim 13 does not differ substantively from claim 4, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645