DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Examiner have withdrawn all previous 112 and 102 rejections.
The Examiner extended the Markush search to
wherein
, R2
; R0 is
(cyclopropyl); R3 is CH3; and R1 is
Examiner interprets this prodrug or metabolite of genus formula I of instant claims 1, 6, 12 and 14, which retrieved prior art. Therefore, per Markush search practice, the Markush search will not be extended unnecessarily to additional species of prodrugs or metabolites of genus formula I of instant claims 1, 6, 12 and 14.
New double patenting and 102 rejections are made due to Markush search extension.
Claim 1-6 and 8-23 are examined in this office action.
Current Status of 18/046,879
This Office Action is in response to the amended claims of 03/04/2026.
Claims 10, and 16-17 are original; 1-6, 8-9,12-15 and 18 are currently amended; and claims 11 and 18-23 were previously presented.
Claims 1-6 and 8-23 are examined in this office action.
Priority
Effective filing date is 04/16/2021, claims find support on PCT/CN2021/087912.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 03/04/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges the receipt of applicant’s claim amendment and remarks 03/04/2026. Examiner have reviewed these remarks and amendments.
Regarding 112 rejections, applicant amended claim 1 to specify the definition of R1, thus overcoming 112 rejection. Therefore 112 rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding 102 rejection, applicant amended claim 1 to include the proviso R1- is not cyclopentyl, thus overcoming the rejection. Thus the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “prodrug” is not defined by claims 1-6 and 8-23. The specification does not provide definition of the term “prodrug”. One of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the scope of the term “prodrug” (see Zawilska et.al. Pharmacological Reports, 2013, 65, Page 1-14). As drafted “prodrug” in claim 1-6 and 8-23 renders the metes and bounds of claims 1-6 and 8-23 indefinite.
The term “metabolite” is not defined by claims 1-6 and 8-23. The specification does not provide definition of the term “metabolite”. One of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the scope of the term “metabolite” (see Goodman et.al. The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics May 19th 1992)). As drafted “metabolite” in claim 1-6 and 8-23 renders the metes and bounds of claims 1-6 and 8-23 indefinite.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BORCHARDT ALLEN J (WO-2007015877-A2).
Borchardt et.al discloses the compound
(claims 18-19) and therapeutical acceptable salt (page 17 lines 20-30) corresponds to compound of formula (I) (instant claim 1) and formula (I’) (claim 12) formula (I”) (claim 14) wherein
R2 is -C(=O)NR2aR2b wherein R2a is H and R2b is
(3 membered cycloalkyl); R0 is cyclopropyl; and R1 is
. Compound
is interpreted as prodrug and/or metabolite (using BRI) of compound of formula I because the core structure, as shown with the circle
is same as formula I. Furthermore, the specification do not define the terms prodrug and metabolite, thus anticipating claims 1-5 and 11. Borchardt further discloses composition with additional therapeutic agent (claim 21) anticipating claim 10.
Compound
is interpreted as prodrug and metabolite (using BRI) of compound of formula IV
because the core structure, as shown with the circle
is same as formula IV, thus anticipating claims 6 and 8.
Compound
(claims 18-19) and therapeutical acceptable salt (page 17 lines 20-30) is interpreted as prodrug and metabolite (using BRI) of compound of formula (I’)
because the core structure, as shown with the circle
is same as formula (I’), and the specification do not define the terms prodrug and metabolite, thus anticipating claims 12-13.
Compound
(claims 18-19) and therapeutical acceptable salt (page 17 lines 20-30) is interpreted as prodrug and metabolite(using BRI) of compound of formula (I’)
because the core structure, as shown with the circle
is same as formula (I’) and the specification do not define the terms prodrug and metabolites, . Borchardt further discloses composition with additional therapeutic agent (claim 21) anticipating claims 14-15 and 17-18.
Compound
(claims 18-19) and therapeutical acceptable salt (page 17 lines 20-30) is interpreted as prodrug and metabolite (using BRI) of all the compounds in claims 9, 16, and 18-23 because the core structure, as shown with the circle
is same. The specification do not define the term prodrug and metabolite, thus anticipating claims 9, 16, and 18-23.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 19 and 21 provisionally rejected on the ground of anticipatory-nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1 and 14-16 of copending Application No18/694,646 (reference application). Instant claims of 03/04/2026 was used for this rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because reference claims 1 discloses compound
sames as claims 9, 19 and 21, wherein
, R2 is CO2NH2 and F; R0 is CH2CH3; and R1 is
same as claims 1-6 and 8-9. Reference claims 14 recites pharmaceutical composition comprising of crystalline form and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient same as instant claim 10 which recites pharmaceutical composition of the compound, thus anticipating claim 10. Reference claim 15-16 discloses method of treating cancer with the compound same as instant claim 11.
Claims 1-6 and 8-23 provisionally rejected on the ground of anticipatory-nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 13-32 of copending Application No18/996,486 (reference application). Instant claims of 03/04/2026 was used for this rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because underlining compounds in reference claims 13-20 and 22 discloses compound
same as claims 9, 19 and 21, wherein
, R2 is CO2NH2 and F; R0 is CH2CH3; and R1 is
same as instant claims 1-6 and 8-9. Reference claims 13-20 and 25 disclose the compound
same as instant claims 19 and 13. Reference claims 13-20 and 20 discloses the compound
same as instant claim 22. Reference claims 13-20 and 23 teaches the compound
same as instant claims 1-6, 8-9 and 19-20. Reference 13 discloses compound
where C in
is pyrimidine thus same as claims 1-6, 8-9 and 12-16. Reference claims 13-15 discloses compound
of instant claims 1-6, 8-9 and 23.
Reference claims 13-32 discloses pharmaceutical composition with compound of formula I same as instant claim 10 and 17. Reference claims 13-32 discloses method of treating cancer with compound of formula I same as instant claims 11 and 18.
Claims 1-6 and 8-23 provisionally rejected on the ground of anticipatory-nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1-6 and 8-20 of copending Application No18/993,376 (reference application). Instant claims of 03/04/2026 was used for this rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because underlining compounds in reference claims 1-6, 8-9 and 12 discloses compound
same as claims 9, 19 and 21, wherein
, R2 is CO2NH2 and F; R0 is CH2CH3; and R1 is
same as claims 1-6 and 8-9. Reference claims 1-6, 8-9 and 15 disclose the compound
same as instant claims 19 and 13. Reference claims 1-6, 8-9 discloses the compound
same as instant claims 22. Reference claims 1-6, 8-9 teaches the compound
same as instant claims 9 and 19-20. Reference claims 1-6 and 8-9 teaches compound
where C in
is pyridyl group, same as instant claims 1-6 8-9, 12-16. Reference claims 1-6, 8-9 and 20 discloses compound
of instant claim 23.
Reference claims 1-6 and 8-20 discloses pharmaceutical composition with compound of formula I same as instant claims 10 and 17. Reference claims 1-6 and 8-20 discloses method of treating cancer with compound of formula I same as instant claims 11 and 18.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No claims are allowable as written.
Applicants are encouraged to strike metabolite and prodrug from the claims to advance prosecution.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/NOBLE E JARRELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699