DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed February 17th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 17-18 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the application. The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments and arguments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments that the "first elongate portion" and "second elongate portion" have sufficient support within the disclosure, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed below, the disclosure does not clearly define these aspects and even the excerpt from paragraph 22, as pointed to by applicant, does not sufficiently describe any elongate features that extend along the surface of the rotatable member toward the articulating elongate member and therefore the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) is maintained. Moreover, within the remarks, the applicant provided an annotated copy of FIG. 3, which made it clear that the elongate portions do not have reference numbers and are not properly depicted, the examiner has further included a drawings objection.
Furthermore, in response to arguments that Williams (US 20150366435 A1) does not disclose “an elongate first lever arm” and “a portion of a periphery of the first lever arm” the examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed below, the examiner has updated the rejection to provide more clarity and better reject the claims as amended. Moreover, any arguments made regarding the invention within the disclosure of the present application will not be considered until the aspects in question are limited by the invention as claimed, such as the intended structure of the elongate first lever arm, which can be interpreted as any structure having an elongate portion which is capable of carrying out the required functions, as a lever arm can be pretty much anything. Also, a portion of a periphery can be interpreted as a portion of pretty much anything since a periphery just needs to be an outer edge or surface, so any portion of the retention tubes of Williams can be considered a portion of an outer surface.
Therefore, the examiner is maintaining the rejection under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) with Williams (US 20150366435 A1).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "first elongate portion," "second elongate portion," "fulcrum," "groove" must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. "a fulcrum about which the at least one rotatable member is configured to rotate" is not supported within the disclosure, the only paragraph in the PGPUB of this application that discusses the fulcrum is paragraph 20 which simply discloses that the movable member (i.e. elongate lever arm/ guide) is capable of being a fulcrum so that the movable member itself can rotate/ pivot. Never is it mentioned or depicted within the disclosure that the movable member possesses a fulcrum which the rotatable member can rotate about.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 2 recites the limitation "a fulcrum about which the second rotatable member is configured to rotate" which possesses the same issue as above wherein, it is never mentioned or depicted within the disclosure that the movable member possesses a fulcrum which the rotatable member can rotate about. Moreover, claim 2 with its current language requires a second fulcrum which is not described within the disclosure.
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The "first elongate portion" and "second elongate portion" do not have sufficient support within the disclosure to discern what structural feature they are defining. Please clarify what aspects of the inventions these limitations are referring to and limit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams (US 20150366435 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Williams discloses
An articulating medical device (steering mechanism 10, FIG. 1) comprising:
an articulating elongate member (catheter/ endoscope 691, FIG. 6B, par. 55 discloses steerable distal tip);
at least one first rotatable member (spool 20; FIG. 1) operationally coupled with the articulating elongate member (par. 32 discloses steering wires operationally couple spool with catheter),
the at least one first rotatable member including:
an elongate first lever arm (first side 24 + first retaining tube 40 + 50, FIG. 1) extending from a first portion (first retaining tube half 40, FIG. 1) to a second portion (second retaining tube half 50, FIG. 1; par. 35 discloses first retaining tube comprises first half and second half which can be attached to groove of spool on a first side),
the elongate first lever arm coupled to a surface of the at least one first rotatable member (FIGS. 1-3, par. 45 disclose first spool has the first retaining tube attached to its circumferential edge, i.e. surface),
the elongate first lever arm includes:
a portion of a periphery (lumens 46 + 56, FIG. 2) of the first lever arm arranged between an axis of rotation of the at least one first rotatable member and a periphery of the first rotatable member (FIGS. 1-3, par. 35 discloses lumens in tubes, i.e. portion of periphery, capable of extending between an outer surface, i.e. periphery, of the spool and its axis of rotation, as depicted in FIG. 1D);
a fulcrum (first axle 30, FIG. 1A) about which the at least one first rotatable member is configured to rotate (FIGS. 1B, par. 34 disclose first axle passes through center of first and second sides, par. 46 discloses each spool has an axle around which the spool is rotatable);
at least one groove (groove 22, FIG. 1B) extending along the elongate first lever arm from the first portion toward the second portion (FIGS. 1A-1D, 3, par. 34-35 disclose groove runs between first and second side of spool, wherein the groove runs along entirety of the length of the first retaining tube, i.e. both portions, upon attachment on the respective first side); and
a first termination coupling (knobs 80, FIG. 2, 4) located proximate to the second portion (depicted in FIG. 4),
the second portion arranged opposite the fulcrum from the first portion (depicted in FIG. 1A); and
at least one first articulation cable (first drive cable 42 + second drive cable 52, FIGS. 2-3),
coupled to the first termination coupling and extending within the groove and along the portion of the periphery of the elongate first lever arm (FIGS. 2-3, par. 37 disclose drive cables terminate at knobs and extend within groove, i.e. through the lumens of the first retaining tube, i.e. portion of the periphery) and
the at least one first articulation cable is configured to translate in a reciprocal motion to a motion of the elongate first lever arm about the axis of rotation of the at least one first rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 2, Williams discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1, further comprising:
a second rotatable member (second spool 120) including:
an elongate second lever arm (second side 26 + third retaining tube half 60 + fourth retaining tube half 70, FIG. 1B) extending from a second lever arm first portion (third retaining tube half 60, FIG. 1B) to a second lever arm second portion (fourth retaining tube half 70, FIG. 1B),
the elongate second lever arm coupled to a surface of the at least one second rotatable member (FIG. 3, par. 45 disclose second spool has third and fourth tube halves attached along circumferential edge),
the elongate second lever arm including:
a portion of the periphery (lumens 66 + 76, FIG. 5) of the elongate second lever arm arranged between the axis of rotation of the at least one second rotatable member and a periphery of the second rotatable member (FIGS. 1-3, par. 35 discloses lumens in tubes, i.e. portion of periphery, capable of extending between an outer surface, i.e. periphery, of the spool and its axis of rotation, as depicted in FIG. 1D);
a fulcrum (first axle 30 + second axle 32, FIG. 3) about which the second rotatable member is configured to rotate (FIG. 1B, par. 34 disclose first axle passes through center of first and second sides, par. 46 discloses second axle passes through first axle and each spool has a respective axle around which the respective spool is rotatable);
at least one groove (groove 22, FIG. 1B) extending along the second lever arm from the second lever arm first portion toward the second lever arm second portion (FIGS. 1A-1D, 3, par. 34-35 disclose groove runs between first and second side of spool, wherein the groove runs along entirety of the length of the first retaining tube, i.e. both portions, upon attachment on the respective first side); and
a second termination coupling (knobs 80, FIG. 2,4) located proximate to the second lever arm second portion (depicted in FIGS. 4-5),
the second lever arm second portion arranged opposite the fulcrum from the second lever arm first portion (depicted in FIGS. 4-5); and
at least one second articulation cable (third drive cable 62 + fourth drive cable 72),
coupled to the second termination coupling and extending within the groove and along the portion of the periphery of the elongate second lever arm (FIGS. 2-3, 4-5, par. 37 disclose drive cables terminate at knobs and extend within groove, i.e. through the lumens of the first retaining tube, i.e. portion of the periphery) and
the at least one second articulation cable is configured to translate in a reciprocal motion to a motion of the elongate second lever arm about the axis of rotation of the second rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 3, Williams discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 2, wherein the at least one first rotatable member is coaxially stacked with the second rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Williams discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 2, wherein the at least one second articulation cable translates one of horizontal or vertical movement with respect to the articulating elongate member (par. 43-44 disclose separate steering wheels for first and second cables, i.e. at least one first articulation cable, as well as, third and fourth cables, i.e. at least one second articulation cable, steering wheel for first pair of wires permits vertical deflection, steering wheel for second pair of wires permits horizontal deflection).
Regarding Claim 5, Williams discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1, wherein the at least one first articulation cable translates one of horizontal movement or vertical movement with respect to the articulating elongate member (par. 43-44 disclose separate steering wheels for first and second cables, i.e. at least one first articulation cable, as well as, third and fourth cables, i.e. at least one second articulation cable, steering wheel for first pair of wires permits vertical deflection, steering wheel for second pair of wires permits horizontal deflection).
Regarding Claim 6, Williams discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1, wherein the elongate first lever arm further comprises:
a channel (par. 35 discloses lumens in tubes) on opposing sides of the elongate first lever arm (par. 48 discloses tube halves are joined at midpoint, i.e. first tube is 40+50) extending from the first termination coupling towards the articulating elongate member (depicted in FIG. 1D, 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Williams discloses
The articulating medical device of claim 1, wherein the at least one first articulation cable is coupled to the first termination coupling by at least one of threading, heat staking, or welding (par. 33 disclose steering wires are attached via heat bonding, welding, par. 24 discloses body parts of invention formed via heat bonding or other techniques, par. 60 discloses features may be combined with each other).
Regarding Claim 8, Williams discloses
A device for controlling movement of endoscopic components (steering mechanism 10, FIG. 1), the device comprising:
a handle (handle housing 677, FIG. 6B) having at least one external rotatable control mechanism (wheels 690, 692; FIG. 6B);
an articulating elongate member (catheter/ endoscope 691, par. 55 discloses steerable distal tip) extending from the handle (depicted in FIG. 6B);
at least one rotatable member (spool 20/620; FIG. 1) located in a cavity within the handle (depicted in FIG. 6B);
wherein the at least one rotatable member includes:
an elongate guide (first side 24 + first retaining tube 40/640 + 50/650, FIG. 1) projecting from a surface of the at least one rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 3, 6B),
the elongate guide including a fulcrum (first axle 30 + second axle 32, FIGS. 1A, 3) about which the at least one rotatable member is configured to rotate (FIG. 1B, par. 34 disclose first axle passes through center of first and second sides, par. 46 discloses each spool has a respective axle around which the respective spool is rotatable),
the elongate guide includes a first elongate portion (first retaining tube half 40/640, FIG. 1) and a second elongate portion (second retaining tube half 50/650, FIG. 1),
each of the first elongate portion and the second elongate portion extending along the surface laterally away from an axis of rotation of the at least one rotatable member towards the articulating elongate member (depicted in FIG. 6B);
a first channel (lumen 46, FIG. 2) formed within a periphery of the first elongate portion and a second channel (lumen 56, FIG. 2) formed within a periphery the second elongate portion located along opposing sides of the elongate guide (FIG. 2, par. 35 discloses lumens formed in tube halves, par. 48 discloses tube halves are joined at midpoint, as depicted in FIGS. 1D, 6B); and
a termination coupling (knobs 80, FIG. 2,4) projecting from the surface of the at least one rotatable member and located offset from the axis of rotation (depicted in FIG. 4); and
at least one articulation cable (first drive cable 42/642 + second drive cable 52/652; FIG. 2) including a proximal end portion coupled to the termination coupling and extending within at least one of the first channel or the second channel towards the articulating elongate member (FIG. 6B, par. 37 disclose proximal end of drive cables and drive cables terminate at knobs, par. 35 discloses drive cables pass through retaining tube halves, i.e. via lumens);
wherein the elongate guide limits displacement of slack in the at least one articulation cable when the at least one articulation cable is not under tension (par. 35 discloses tubes prevent drive cables from resting on surface and spool which avoids slipping and tangling of cables, therefore, the tubes are capable of limiting displacement of slack when cable is not under tension).
Regarding Claim 9, Williams discloses
The device for controlling movement of endoscopic components of claim 8 further comprising:
a second rotatable member (second spool 120, FIG. 3),
disposed within the cavity (depicted in FIG. 6B),
the second rotatable member including:
an elongate second guide (second side 26 + third retaining tube half 60 + fourth retaining tube half 70, FIGS. 1D, 3) projecting from a surface of the second rotatable member (depicted in FIGS. 3, 6B),
the elongate second guide including the fulcrum (FIG. 1B, par. 34 disclose first axle passes through center of first and second sides, par. 46 discloses second axle passes through first axle and each spool has a respective axle around which the respective spool is rotatable),
the elongate second guide includes a third elongate portion (third retaining tube half 60/660, FIGS. 3, 6B) and a fourth elongate portion (fourth retaining tube half 70/670, FIGS. 3, 6B),
each of the third elongate portion and the fourth elongate portion extending along the surface laterally away from the axis of rotation of the second rotatable member towards the articulating elongate member (depicted in FIG. 6B);
a third channel (lumen 66, FIG. 5) formed within a periphery of the third elongate portion and a fourth channel (lumen 76, FIG. 5) formed within a periphery of the fourth elongate portion and located along opposing sides of the elongate second guide (FIG. 5, par. 35 disclose lumens in tubes, par. 48 discloses tube halves are joined at midpoint, as depicted in FIGS. 1D, 6B); and
a second termination coupling (knobs 80, FIG. 2,4) projecting from the surface of the second rotatable member and located offset from the axis of rotation (depicted in FIG. 4); and
at least one second articulation cable (third drive cable 62/662 + fourth drive cable 72/672; FIG. 3,6B) including a proximal end portion coupled to the second termination coupling at one end and extending within third channel or the fourth channel towards the articulating elongate member (FIG. 6B, par. 37 disclose proximal end of drive cables and drive cables terminate at knobs, par. 35 discloses drive cables pass through retaining tube halves, i.e. via lumens);
wherein the elongate second guide limits displacement of slack in the at least one second articulation cable when the at least one second articulation cable is not under tension (par. 35 discloses tubes prevent drive cables from resting on surface and spool which avoids slipping and tangling of cables, therefore, the tubes are capable of limiting displacement of slack when cable is not under tension).
Regarding Claim 10, Williams discloses
The device for controlling movement of endoscopic components of claim 9, wherein the at least one second articulation cable translates movement to the articulating elongate member in one of horizontal or vertical direction (par. 43-44 disclose separate steering wheels for first and second cables, i.e. at least one first articulation cable, as well as, third and fourth cables, i.e. at least one second articulation cable, steering wheel for first pair of wires permits vertical deflection, steering wheel for second pair of wires permits horizontal deflection).
Regarding Claim 11, Williams discloses
The device for controlling movement of endoscopic components of claim 9, wherein the at least one rotatable member is stacked coaxially with the second rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Williams discloses
The device for controlling movement of endoscopic components of claim 8, wherein the at least one articulation cable translates movement to the articulating elongate member in one of horizontal or vertical direction (par. 43-44 disclose separate steering wheels for first and second cables, i.e. at least one first articulation cable, as well as, third and fourth cables, i.e. at least one second articulation cable, steering wheel for first pair of wires permits vertical deflection, steering wheel for second pair of wires permits horizontal deflection).
Regarding Claim 13, Williams discloses
The device for controlling movement of endoscopic components of claim 8, wherein the termination coupling is offset from the elongate guide on the at least one rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 14, Williams discloses
The device for controlling movement of endoscopic components of claim 8, wherein the elongate guide has an at least partially circular shape (depicted in FIG. 6B).
Regarding Claim 15, Williams discloses
The device for controlling movement of endoscopic components of claim 8, wherein the elongate guide has an at least partially elliptical shape (par. 27 discloses various shape and geometry options available for structural design of device, par. 60 discloses features may be combined and modified).
Regarding Claim 16, Williams discloses
The device for controlling movement of endoscopic components of claim 8, wherein the handle has at least one exterior control knob coupled with the at least one rotatable member (wheels 690, 692; FIG. 6B).
Regarding Claim 17, Williams discloses
An endoscopic device (catheter/ endoscope 691) having an articulation component (steering mechanism 10, FIG. 1; par. 55 discloses steerable distal tip) extending from a handle (handle housing 677, FIG. 6B), the endoscopic device comprising:
a first pulley system (spool 20/620; FIG. 1) within a cavity within the handle (depicted in FIG. 6B);
an elongate movable member (first side 24 + first retaining tube half 40/640 + second retaining tube half 50/650, FIG. 1), coupled to a surface of the first pulley system (depicted in FIG. 3, 6B), including:
a fulcrum (first axle 30 + second axle 32, FIGS. 1A, 3) of the first pulley system about which the first pulley system is configured to rotate (par. 46 discloses each spool has an axle around which the spool is rotatable);
a termination coupling (knobs 80, FIG. 2,4) remote from an axis of rotation of the first pulley system (depicted in FIG. 4); and
a first pair of channels (lumens 46 + 56, FIG. 2) formed within opposing sides of the elongate movable member (FIG. 1D, par. 35 disclose lumens in tubes, par. 48 discloses tube halves are joined at midpoint, i.e. channel in each tube),
the first pair of channels extending along opposing sides of the elongate movable member (depicted in FIG. 1D, 6B),
at least a portion of the first pair of channels extending along the surface of the first pulley system away from the axis of rotation of the first pulley system (depicted in FIG. 6B); and
at least one cable (first drive cable 42/642 + second drive cable 52/652; FIG. 2) coupled to the termination coupling (par. 37 discloses proximal end of drive cables and drive cables terminate at knobs) and extending within one of the first pair of channels towards the articulation component (depicted in FIG. 6B);
wherein the first pair of channels is arranged to limit displacement of the at least one cable (par. 35 discloses tubes prevent drive cables from resting on surface and spool which avoids slipping and tangling of cables, therefore, the tubes are capable of limiting displacement).
Regarding Claim 18, Williams discloses
The endoscopic device of claim 17, further comprising:
a second pulley system (second spool 120) within the cavity within the handle (depicted in FIG. 3, 6F);
an elongate second movable member (second side 26 + third retaining tube half 60 + fourth retaining tube half 70, FIG. 3) coupled to a surface of the second pulley system (depicted in FIG. 6B) including:
the fulcrum of the first pulley system and second pulley system about which the second pulley system is configured to rotate (par. 46 discloses each spool has an axle around which the spool is rotatable);
a second termination coupling (knobs 80, FIG. 2,4) remote from an axis of rotation of the second pulley system (depicted in FIG. 4); and
a second pair of channels (lumens 66 + 76, FIG. 5) formed within opposing sides of the second elongate movable member (FIG. 3, par. 35 disclose lumens in tubes, par. 48 discloses tube halves are joined at midpoint, i.e. channel in each tube),
the second pair of channels extending along opposing sides of the elongate second movable member (depicted in FIG. 1D, 6B),
at least a portion of the second pair of channels extending along the surface of the second pulley system away from the axis of rotation of the second pulley system (depicted in FIG. 6B); and
at least one second cable (third drive cable 62/662 + fourth drive cable 72/672; FIG. 3,6B) coupled to the termination coupling and extending within at least one of the second pair of channels towards the articulation component (FIG. 6B, par. 37 disclose proximal end of drive cables and drive cables terminate at knobs);
wherein the second pair of channels is arranged to limit displacement of slack in the at least one second cable (par. 35 discloses tubes prevent drive cables from resting on surface and spool which avoids slipping and tangling of cables, therefore, the tubes are capable of limiting displacement).
Regarding Claim 19, Williams discloses
The endoscopic device of claim 18, wherein the second pulley system is coaxially stacked with the first pulley system (depicted in FIG. 3);
a rotatable control mechanism (wheels 690, 692; FIG. 6B) on an exterior surface of the handle (depicted in FIG. 6B) transfers rotation with respect to at least one of the first pulley system and the second pulley system (par. 36 discloses manipulation of wire through wheel causes distal end of endoscope to deflect); and
the at least one cable includes at least one first cable (first drive cable 42/642), configured to translate movement with respect to the articulation component in a horizontal direction and the at least one second cable translates movement with respect to the articulation component in a vertical direction (par. 43-44 disclose separate steering wheels for first and second cables, i.e. at least one first articulation cable, as well as, third and fourth cables, i.e. at least one second articulation cable, steering wheel for first pair of wires permits vertical deflection, steering wheel for second pair of wires permits horizontal deflection; par. 60 discloses features may be combined and modified).
Regarding Claim 20, Williams discloses
The endoscopic device of claim 17, wherein the articulation component includes a substantially arcuate end opposite to the termination coupling (depicted in FIG. 1-4).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okamoto (US 20140121462 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Okamoto discloses
An articulating medical device (endoscope 101, FIG. 72) comprising:
an articulating elongate member (elongated insertion portion 102, FIG. 72);
at least one first rotatable member (rotors 109 + bending drive section 110, FIG. 72) operationally coupled with the articulating elongate member (depicted in FIG. 72),
the at least one first rotatable member including:
an elongate first lever arm (suspension frame 120, FIGS. 72-73) extending from a first portion (lower frame 122, FIG. 73) to a second portion (upper frame 121, FIG. 73),
the elongate first lever arm coupled to a surface of the at least one first rotatable member (FIG. 73, par. 314 disclose suspension frame is operationally coupled to the surface of the rotors, via wires),
the elongate first lever arm includes:
a portion of a periphery (left frame 123 + right frame 124, FIG. 73) of the first lever arm arranged between an axis of rotation of the at least one first rotatable member and a periphery of the first rotatable member (depicted in FIG. 73);
a fulcrum (operation unit 105, FIGS. 72-73) about which the at least one first rotatable member is configured to rotate (par. 333-34 disclose operation of operation unit causes rotation of rotors and pulley, thereby causing bending of insertion portion);
at least one groove (guide rollers 115, FIG. 73) extending along the elongate first lever arm from the first portion toward the second portion (depicted in FIG. 73); and
a first termination coupling (downward wire attaching portion 122a, FIG. 73) located proximate to the second portion (depicted in FIG. 73),
the second portion arranged opposite the fulcrum from the first portion (depicted in FIG. 73); and
at least one first articulation cable (bending wire 108d, FIG. 73),
coupled to the first termination coupling and extending within the groove and along the portion of the periphery of the elongate first lever arm (depicted in FIG. 73) and
the at least one first articulation cable is configured to translate in a reciprocal motion to a motion of the elongate first lever arm about the axis of rotation of the at least one first rotatable member (par. 333-34 disclose operation of operation unit causes rotation of rotors and pulley, via reciprocal motion of the suspender frame).
Conclusion
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795