DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 10/3/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15 - 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and Group III, the method of applying an electrode material and the control apparatus, respectively, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/13/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20120034380 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a system to manufacture an electrode (para. 0007, [vacuum chamber system of a coating apparatus]) (para. 0015, [the coating apparatus may be used when an active material slurry is coated on a metal base material]), comprising: a slot die coating system (para. 0038, [of a coating apparatus such as a slot die]) to apply an electrode material (para. 0015, [the coating apparatus may be used when an active material slurry is coated]) to a current collector material (para. 0015, [metal base material of a secondary battery]) at a coating opening (para. 0042, [the opening/closing of the coating solution outlet [32]]); and a vacuum device (Kim, abstract, [vacuum chamber]) to apply a vacuum pressure at the coating opening (abstract, [a vacuum chamber connected to a coating solution outlet … a sound pressure generating unit is connected to one region of the vacuum chamber to generate sound pressure]), the vacuum pressure to control application of the electrode material to the current collector material (para. 0043, [the sound pressure operated in the vacuum chamber prevents the intermittent valve from attracting the coating solution]) Examiner notes that the vacuum chamber pressure controls the intermittent coating process, and thereby controls the application of the material to the metal base material/collector.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the system of claim 1, comprising: the current collector material to move in a first direction relative to the slot die coating system, the vacuum device to apply the vacuum pressure to pull the electrode material in a vacuum direction that is different from the first direction (Refer to Fig. 2B which depicts the metal base material/collector material [item 10] moving in a first direction and the electrode material [item 100] applied in a direction that is different from the first direction) (Fig. 4 also shows that that the application of [item 100] is in a different direction from the movement of item [10]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the system of claim 1, comprising: the vacuum device including a vacuum chamber (Kim, abstract, [vacuum chamber]) , a valve (para. 0042, [intermittent valve]) , and a pump (abstract, [sound pressure generating unit]), the pump configured to create the vacuum pressure within the vacuum chamber with the valve in an open position (para. 0058, [the sound pressure can be formed in the vacuum chamber when the coating portion is formed]) (Claim 7) Examiner notes that the coating portion is formed when the valve is in an open position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20120034380 A1) and further in view of Kang (US 20220158158 A1) and Chang (Chang, H.-M., et al. “The effect of bead vacuum on slot die coating.” International Polymer Processing, vol. 24, no. 2, 1 May 2009, pp. 157–165.).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the system of claim 1.
Kim is silent regarding a sensor device within the system.
Kang, in the same field of endeavor, slot-die coating for batteries, teaches a slot-die coating system (Kang, abstract, coating system includes a supply tank connected to a slot-die) comprising a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor device in Kim’s system, as taught by Kang, in order to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals, as taught by Kang (Kang, para. 0024).
Chang, in the same field of endeavor, slot die coating, teaches a sensor ([pg. 159, column 1, end of first paragraph, [flow meter]). Based on pg. 159, column 1, first paragraph, the amount of air being sucked into the vacuum slot (vacuum) was monitored by a sensor [flow-meter] [the amount of air being sucked into the vacuum slot was monitored by a flow-meter]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor or monitor that measures the airflow connected to the vacuum in Kim’s vacuum chamber, as taught by Chang, in order to produce a stable and uniform coating, as taught by Chang (pg. 159, column 1, first paragraph, [a uniform and stable coating was established first, then the flow rate was gradually reduced until a critical thickness was reached, below which stable and uniform coating was no longer possible]).
Therefore, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024) to provide a signal representative of a parameter regarding the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors… configured to collect status data … a monitoring module to analyze the status data to detect the process condition change event according to at least one property change of viscosity, temperature, and a flow rate of the slurry]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the system of claim 1.
Kim is silent regarding a sensor device within the system.
Kang, in the same field of endeavor, slot-die coating for batteries, teaches a slot-die coating system (Kang, abstract, coating system includes a supply tank connected to a slot-die) comprising a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor device in Kim’s system, as taught by Kang, in order to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals, as taught by Kang (Kang, para. 0024).
Chang, in the same field of endeavor, slot die coating, teaches a sensor ([pg. 159, column 1, end of first paragraph, [flow meter]). Based on pg. 159, column 1, first paragraph, the amount of air being sucked into the vacuum slot (vacuum) was monitored by a sensor [flow-meter] [the amount of air being sucked into the vacuum slot was monitored by a flow-meter]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor or monitor that measures the airflow connected to the vacuum in Kim’s vacuum chamber, as taught by Chang, in order to produce a stable and uniform coating, as taught by Chang (pg. 159, column 1, first paragraph, [a uniform and stable coating was established first, then the flow rate was gradually reduced until a critical thickness was reached, below which stable and uniform coating was no longer possible]).
Therefore, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a sensor device to provide a signal representative of a thickness of the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [various sensors … configured to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals … to detect the process condition change event … of viscosity]); and the vacuum device to apply the vacuum pressure (Kim, abstract, [the control unit controls air to be selectively inhaled or blocked from the vacuum chamber and the sound pressure generating unit]) based on the signal (Modified Kim includes the incorporation of the sensor that collects and transmits signal. The modification would communicably couple the sensor to the vacuum chamber and control device).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the system of claim 1.
Kim is silent regarding a sensor device within the system.
Kang, in the same field of endeavor, slot-die coating for batteries, teaches a slot-die coating system (Kang, abstract, coating system includes a supply tank connected to a slot-die) comprising a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor device in Kim’s system, as taught by Kang, in order to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals, as taught by Kang (Kang, para. 0024).
Chang, in the same field of endeavor, slot die coating, teaches a sensor ([pg. 159, column 1, end of first paragraph, [flow meter]). Based on pg. 159, column 1, first paragraph, the amount of air being sucked into the vacuum slot (vacuum) was monitored by a sensor [flow-meter] [the amount of air being sucked into the vacuum slot was monitored by a flow-meter]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor or monitor that measures the airflow connected to the vacuum in Kim’s vacuum chamber, as taught by Chang, in order to produce a stable and uniform coating, as taught by Chang (pg. 159, column 1, first paragraph, [a uniform and stable coating was established first, then the flow rate was gradually reduced until a critical thickness was reached, below which stable and uniform coating was no longer possible]).
Therefore, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a sensor device to provide a signal representative of a thickness of the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [various sensors … configured to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals … to detect the process condition change event … of viscosity]); and the vacuum device to apply the vacuum pressure (Kim, abstract, [the control unit controls air to be selectively inhaled or blocked from the vacuum chamber and the sound pressure generating unit]) based on a comparison of the signal with a threshold value (Kang, Fig. 10, Case 1 and 2, show that the coating flow rate has an upper limit and a lower limit – and a process condition adjustment takes affect based on the limits), (para. 0024 teaches that flow rate is one of the process conditions measured by the sensors), and (para. 0030, teaches that controlling the flow rate is controlled … based on current status data [via info from sensors] and adjusting the process condition adaptively to the process condition change event by applying a feedback control based on reference data matching the cause of change]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the system of claim 1.
Kim is silent regarding a sensor device within the system.
Kang, in the same field of endeavor, slot-die coating for batteries, teaches a slot-die coating system (Kang, abstract, coating system includes a supply tank connected to a slot-die) comprising a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor device in Kim’s system, as taught by Kang, in order to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals, as taught by Kang (Kang, para. 0024).
Chang, in the same field of endeavor, slot die coating, teaches a sensor ([pg. 159, column 1, end of first paragraph, [flow meter]). Based on pg. 159, column 1, first paragraph, the amount of air being sucked into the vacuum slot (vacuum) was monitored by a sensor [flow-meter] [the amount of air being sucked into the vacuum slot was monitored by a flow-meter]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor or monitor that measures the airflow connected to the vacuum in Kim’s vacuum chamber, as taught by Chang, in order to produce a stable and uniform coating, as taught by Chang (pg. 159, column 1, first paragraph, [a uniform and stable coating was established first, then the flow rate was gradually reduced until a critical thickness was reached, below which stable and uniform coating was no longer possible]).
Therefore, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a sensor device to provide a signal representative of a parameter regarding the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [various sensors … configured to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals … to detect the process condition change event … according to at least one property change of viscosity, temperature, and a flow rate of the slurry]); a control device (Kim, [first and second control units 90a and 90b]) communicably coupled with the sensor device and the vacuum device, the control device to determine, based on the signal, to operate the vacuum device (Modified Kim includes the incorporation of the sensor that collects and transmits signal. The modification would communicably couple the sensor to the vacuum chamber and control device.); and the vacuum device to apply the vacuum pressure based on a command from the control device (Kim, abstract, [the control unit controls air to be selectively inhaled or blocked from the vacuum chamber and the sound pressure generating unit]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20120034380 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: the vacuum device (abstract, [vacuum chamber system of a coating apparatus]) and a pump (abstract, [sound pressure generating unit]), and the pump configured to create the vacuum pressure within the vacuum chamber with the corresponding one valve in an open position (para. 0058, [the sound pressure can be formed in the vacuum chamber when the coating portion is formed]) (Claim 7) Examiner notes that the coating portion is formed when the valve is in an open position).
Kim does not teach including a plurality of vacuum chambers and a plurality of valves, each of the plurality of vacuum chambers corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, the pump configured to create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding one or more valves in an open position.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a plurality of vacuum chambers within in the vacuum chamber system, corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, in order to coat a plurality of electrode layers to improve electrode production efficiency.
Claims 8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20120034380 A1) and further in view of Kang (US 20220158158 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a control device (Kim, [first and second control units 90a and 90b]) communicably coupled with the sensor device and the vacuum device (Modified Kim includes the incorporation of the sensor that collects and transmits signal. The modification would communicably couple the sensor to the vacuum chamber and control device.), the control device to determine, based on the signal, to operate the vacuum device (Kim, abstract, [the control unit controls air to be selectively inhaled or blocked from the vacuum chamber and the sound pressure generating unit]); and the vacuum device including a vacuum chamber (Kim, abstract, [vacuum chamber]), a valve (para. 0042, [intermittent valve]), and a pump (abstract, [sound pressure generating unit]), the pump configured to create the vacuum pressure within the vacuum chamber with the valve in an open position (para. 0058, [the sound pressure can be formed in the vacuum chamber when the coating portion is formed]) (Claim 7) Examiner notes that the coating portion is formed when the valve is in an open position.), the valve to move from a closed position to the open position (para. 0042, [the opening/closing of the coating solution outlet is controlled using an intermittent valve for performing the intermittent coating]) based on a command from the control device (Modified Kim incorporates the sensor device that communicates with the control unit).
Kim is silent regarding a sensor device within the system.
Kang, in the same field of endeavor, slot-die coating for batteries, teaches a slot-die coating system (Kang, abstract, coating system includes a supply tank connected to a slot-die) comprising a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor device in Kim’s system, as taught by Kang, in order to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals that is connected to a coating controller, as taught by Kang (Kang, para. 0024 [various sensors … configured to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals] and [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the system of claim 1.
Kim is silent regarding a sensor device within the system.
Kang, in the same field of endeavor, slot-die coating for batteries, teaches a slot-die coating system (Kang, abstract, coating system includes a supply tank connected to a slot-die) comprising a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor device in Kim’s system, as taught by Kang, in order to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals, as taught by Kang (Kang, para. 0024).
Kim does not teach including a plurality of vacuum chambers and a plurality of valves, each of the plurality of vacuum chambers corresponding associated with one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material and corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, one of the plurality of valves, the pump configured to create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding one or more valves in an open position.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a plurality of vacuum chambers within the vacuum chamber system, corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, in order to coat a plurality of electrode layers to improve electrode production efficiency.
Therefore, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]) including a plurality of sensors (Kang, para. 0024, [various sensors]), each sensor associated with one of a plurality of portions of the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [various sensors … to detect the process condition … for forming normal coating bead of the slot-die correlated to the status data]), the sensor device to provide at least one signal representative of a parameter regarding the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, parameters such as [viscosity, temperature, and flow rate]); the vacuum device including a plurality of vacuum chambers (Modified Kim, abstract, [vacuum chamber system of a coating apparatus]), a plurality of valves (Modified Kim, para. 0042, [intermittent valve]), and a pump (Kim, [abstract, [sound pressure generating unit]), each of the plurality of vacuum chambers associated with one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material and corresponding to one of the plurality of valves (Modified Kim, para. 0042, [intermittent valve]), the pump configured create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding one or more valves in an open position (Modified Kim, [(para. 0058, [the sound pressure can be formed in the vacuum chamber when the coating portion is formed]) (Claim 7) Examiner notes that the coating portion is formed when the valve is in an open position); and a control device communicably coupled with the sensor device and the vacuum device (Kim, [first and second control units 90a and 90b]), the control device to determine, based on the at least one signal, to operate the vacuum device (Modified Kim includes the incorporation of the sensor that collects and transmits signal. The modification would communicably couple the sensor to the vacuum chamber and control device) to apply the vacuum pressure via at least one vacuum chamber to one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material (para. 0043, [the sound pressure operated in the vacuum chamber prevents the intermittent valve from attracting the coating solution] Examiner notes that the vacuum chamber pressure controls the intermittent coating process, and thereby controls the application of the material to the metal base material/collector.)
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1.
Kim is silent regarding a sensor device within the system.
Kang, in the same field of endeavor, slot-die coating for batteries, teaches a slot-die coating system (Kang, abstract, coating system includes a supply tank connected to a slot-die) comprising a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor device in Kim’s system, as taught by Kang, in order to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals, as taught by Kang (Kang, para. 0024).
Kim does not teach including a plurality of vacuum chambers and a plurality of valves, each of the plurality of vacuum chambers corresponding associated with one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material and corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, one of the plurality of valves, the pump configured to create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding one or more valves in an open position.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a plurality of vacuum chambers within the vacuum chamber system, corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, in order to coat a plurality of electrode layers to improve electrode production efficiency.
Therefore, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a sensor device including a plurality of sensors (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include various sensors]) each sensor configured to measure a material thickness of one of a plurality of portions of the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [sensors … configured to collect measured status data … status data to detect … change of viscosity]), the sensor device to provide at least one signal representative of a parameter regarding the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [various sensors … configured to collect measured status data … status data to detect temperature and flow rate of the slurry]); the vacuum device including a plurality of vacuum chambers (Modified Kim teaches a plurality of vacuum chambers as discussed above), a plurality of valves (Modified Kim, para. 0042, [intermittent valve]), and a pump (Kim, abstract, [sound pressure generating unit]), each of the plurality of vacuum chambers associated with one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material and corresponding to one of the plurality of valves (Modified Kim teaches a plurality of vacuum chambers and valves as discussed above), the pump configured create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding one or more valves in an open position (Modified Kim, [(para. 0058, [the sound pressure can be formed in the vacuum chamber when the coating portion is formed]) (Claim 7) Examiner notes that the coating portion is formed when the valve is in an open position); and a control device communicably coupled with the sensor device and the vacuum device (Kim, [first and second control units 90a and 90b]), the control device to determine, based on the at least one signal, to operate the vacuum device (Modified Kim includes the incorporation of the sensor that collects and transmits signal. The modification would communicably couple the sensor to the vacuum chamber and control device) to apply the vacuum pressure via at least one vacuum chamber to one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material (para. 0043, [the sound pressure operated in the vacuum chamber prevents the intermittent valve from attracting the coating solution] Examiner notes that the vacuum chamber pressure controls the intermittent coating process, and thereby controls the application of the material to the metal base material/collector).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1.
Kim is silent regarding a sensor device within the system.
Kang, in the same field of endeavor, slot-die coating for batteries, teaches a slot-die coating system (Kang, abstract, coating system includes a supply tank connected to a slot-die) comprising a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor device in Kim’s system, as taught by Kang, in order to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals, as taught by Kang (Kang, para. 0024).
Kim does not teach including a plurality of vacuum chambers and a plurality of valves, each of the plurality of vacuum chambers corresponding associated with one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material and corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, one of the plurality of valves, the pump configured to create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding one or more valves in an open position.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a plurality of vacuum chambers within the vacuum chamber system, corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, in order to coat a plurality of electrode layers to improve electrode production efficiency.
Therefore, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a sensor device including a plurality of sensors (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include various sensors]) each sensor configured to measure a material thickness of one of a plurality of portions of the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [sensors … configured to collect measured status data … status data to detect … change of viscosity]), the sensor device to provide at least one signal representative of a parameter regarding the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [various sensors … configured to collect measured status data … status data to detect temperature and flow rate of the slurry]); the vacuum device including a plurality of vacuum chambers (Modified Kim teaches a plurality of vacuum chambers as discussed above), a plurality of valves (Modified Kim, para. 0042, [intermittent valve]), and a pump (Kim, abstract, [sound pressure generating unit]), each of the plurality of vacuum chambers associated with one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material and corresponding to one of the plurality of valves (Modified Kim teaches a plurality of vacuum chambers and valves as discussed above), the pump configured create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding one or more valves in an open position (Modified Kim, [(para. 0058, [the sound pressure can be formed in the vacuum chamber when the coating portion is formed]) (Claim 7) Examiner notes that the coating portion is formed when the valve is in an open position); and a control device communicably coupled with the sensor device and the vacuum device (Kim, [first and second control units 90a and 90b]), the control device to operate, based on the at least one signal, the vacuum device to apply the vacuum pressure via at least one vacuum chamber to at least one portion of the electrode material (Kim, para. 0043, [the sound pressure operated in the vacuum chamber prevents the intermittent valve from attracting the coating solution] Examiner notes that the vacuum chamber pressure controls the intermittent coating process, and thereby controls the application of the material to the metal base material/collector), wherein the vacuum pressure applied via the at least one vacuum chamber causes the material thickness of the at least one portion of the electrode material to decrease (Kim, para. 0042, when the coating solution outlet is controlled using an intermittent valve , a coating portion 100a and a non-coating portion 100b are alternately formed, and therefore, the material thickness of the electrode material decreases from 100a to 100b).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1.
Kim is silent regarding a sensor device within the system.
Kang, in the same field of endeavor, slot-die coating for batteries, teaches a slot-die coating system (Kang, abstract, coating system includes a supply tank connected to a slot-die) comprising a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor device in Kim’s system, as taught by Kang, in order to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals, as taught by Kang (Kang, para. 0024).
Kim does not teach including a plurality of vacuum chambers and a plurality of valves, each of the plurality of vacuum chambers corresponding associated with one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material and corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, one of the plurality of valves, the pump configured to create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding one or more valves in an open position.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a plurality of vacuum chambers within the vacuum chamber system, corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, in order to coat a plurality of electrode layers to improve electrode production efficiency.
Therefore, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a sensor device including a plurality of sensors (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include various sensors]) each sensor configured to measure a material thickness of one of a plurality of portions of the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [sensors … configured to collect measured status data … status data to detect … change of viscosity]), the sensor device to provide at least one signal representative of a parameter regarding the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [various sensors … configured to collect measured status data … status data to detect temperature and flow rate of the slurry]); the vacuum device including a plurality of vacuum chambers (Modified Kim teaches a plurality of vacuum chambers as discussed above), a plurality of valves (Modified Kim, para. 0042, [intermittent valve]), and a pump (Kim, abstract, [sound pressure generating unit]), each of the plurality of vacuum chambers associated with one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material and corresponding to one of the plurality of valves (Modified Kim teaches a plurality of vacuum chambers and valves as discussed above), the pump configured create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding one or more valves in an open position (Modified Kim, [(para. 0058, [the sound pressure can be formed in the vacuum chamber when the coating portion is formed]) (Claim 7) Examiner notes that the coating portion is formed when the valve is in an open position); and a control device communicably coupled with the sensor device and the vacuum device (Kim, [first and second control units 90a and 90b]), the control device to operate, based on the at least one signal (Kang teaches a sensor device that transmits signals and Kim teaches [first and second control units 90a and 90b]), the vacuum device to apply the vacuum pressure to one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material via at least one vacuum chamber (Modified Kim includes the incorporation of the sensor that collects and transmits signal. The modification would communicably couple the sensor to the vacuum chamber and control device), the control device to operate the vacuum device less than one second after receiving the at least one signal (Kim, para. 0052, [the control units 90a and 90b may be formed as 3-way switching valves … the 3-way switching valve may be operated manually or automatically. Examiner notes that automatically implies that an action can be programmed to occur less than one second after receiving at least one signal); wherein the vacuum pressure applied via the at least one vacuum chamber causes the material thickness of the at least one portion of the electrode material to decrease (Kim, para. 0042, when the coating solution outlet is controlled using an intermittent valve, a coating portion 100a and a non-coating portion 100b are alternately formed; and therefore, the material thickness of the electrode material decreases from 100a to 100b).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1.
Kim is silent regarding a sensor device within the system.
Kang, in the same field of endeavor, slot-die coating for batteries, teaches a slot-die coating system (Kang, abstract, coating system includes a supply tank connected to a slot-die) comprising a sensor device (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include an interface module connected to various sensors and devices configured in the coating system for a secondary battery]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated a sensor device in Kim’s system, as taught by Kang, in order to collect measured status data and transfer corresponding signals, as taught by Kang (Kang, para. 0024).
Kim does not teach including a plurality of vacuum chambers and a plurality of valves, each of the plurality of vacuum chambers corresponding associated with one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material and corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, one of the plurality of valves, the pump configured to create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding one or more valves in an open position.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added a plurality of vacuum chambers within the vacuum chamber system, corresponding to one of the plurality of valves, in order to coat a plurality of electrode layers to improve electrode production efficiency.
Therefore, modified Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a sensor device including a plurality of sensors (Kang, para. 0024, [the coating controller may include various sensors]) each sensor configured to measure a material thickness of one of a plurality of portions of the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [sensors … configured to collect measured status data … status data to detect … change of viscosity]), the sensor device to provide at least one signal representative of a parameter regarding the electrode material applied to the current collector material (Kang, para. 0024, [various sensors … configured to collect measured status data … status data to detect temperature and flow rate of the slurry]); the vacuum device including a plurality of vacuum chambers (Modified Kim teaches a plurality of vacuum chambers as discussed above), a plurality of valves (Modified Kim, para. 0042, [intermittent valve]), and a pump (Kim, abstract, [sound pressure generating unit]), each of the plurality of vacuum chambers associated with one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material and corresponding to one of the plurality of valves (Modified Kim teaches a plurality of vacuum chambers and valves as discussed above), the pump configured create the vacuum pressure within one or more of the plurality of vacuum chambers with the corresponding valve of the plurality of valves (Kim, [(para. 0058, [the sound pressure can be formed in the vacuum chamber when the coating portion is formed]) in an operating position between a closed position and a fully open position (Kim, para. 0056 teaches that the control unit 90a may open valve A and valve B and close valve C, while the coating portion is formed – therefore, Kim teaches an operating position between a closed position (valve C) and a fully open position (valves A and B) ), wherein the vacuum pressure can vary according to the operating position (Kim, para. 0050, the buffer tank may be a pressure or shock-absorbing tank that temporarily absorbs pressure generated in the operation of the control units 90a and 90b … unstable sound pressure can be stabilized to supply the stabilized sound pressure to the vacuum – thereby showing that the pressure can vary due to the buffer tank during the operation of the control units); and a control device communicably coupled with the sensor device and the vacuum device (Modified Kim includes the incorporation of the sensor that collects and transmits signal. The modification would communicably couple the sensor to the vacuum chamber and control device), the control device to operate, based on the at least one signal ((Kang teaches a sensor device that transmits signals and Kim teaches [first and second control units 90a and 90b]), the vacuum device to apply the vacuum pressure to one of the plurality of portions of the electrode material via at least one vacuum chamber by causing the corresponding valve of the plurality of valves to be in the operating position (Modified Kim, [(para. 0058, [the sound pressure can be formed in the vacuum chamber when the coating portion is formed]) (Claim 7) Examiner notes that the coating portion is formed when the valve is in an open position, which is the operating position); wherein the vacuum pressure applied via the at least one vacuum chamber causes the material thickness of the at least one portion of the electrode material to decrease (Kim, para. 0042, when the coating solution outlet is controlled using an intermittent valve, a coating portion 100a and a non-coating portion 100b are alternately formed; and therefore, the material thickness of the electrode material decreases from 100a to 100b).
Conclusion
/V.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721