DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, and 14-20 were amended.
Claims 6-7, 10, and 13 were cancelled.
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, and 14-20 are pending and examined herein.
Claim 18 has a limitation interpreted under 112(f).
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/26/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection for being directed to non-statutory subject matter have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection for being directed to non-statutory subject matter has been withdrawn. Note, however, that the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection for being directed to a judicial exception has been maintained. See below explanation.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, and 14-20 for being directed to a judicial exception, filed 05/26/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues "None of the limitations of claim 1, including "identifying a false label from among a plurality of predicted labels corresponding to the first plurality of parts of the first training sample, wherein the plurality of predicted labels is generated by the neural network", can practically be performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper, and especially when operating at the scale that is required for determining information that is used for training a neural network." Thus, Applicant argues, the claims do not recite a mental process.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, the amount of data processed by the neural network is not claimed. For example, a neural network may only generate a small number of labels. Secondly, even if the amount of data generated was large, given enough time, the process would be able to be practically performed in the human mind. Thirdly, MPEP 2106.04(a)(III) states "In evaluating whether a claim that requires a computer recites a mental process, examiners should carefully consider the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification. For instance, examiners should review the specification to determine if the claimed invention is described as a concept that is performed in the human mind and applicant is merely claiming that concept performed 1) on a generic computer, or 2) in a computer environment, or 3) is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept. In these situations, the claim is considered to recite a mental process." Thus, even if the claim required the amount of data to be large, the use of a generic computer as a tool to perform the action would still qualify as a mental process. See below 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection for further identification of mental processes in the claims.
Applicant further argues "Claim 1 is amended to recite "computing an influence of each of the second plurality of parts on the false label by computing a gradient of a conditional loss for each of the second plurality of parts". It is respectfully submitted that "computing a gradient of a conditional loss" merely involves or is based on a mathematical concept, but is not directed to a mathematical concept."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.05(a)(2)(I)(C) states "A claim that recites a mathematical calculation, when the claim is given its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, will be considered as falling within the "mathematical concepts" grouping. A mathematical calculation is a mathematical operation (such as multiplication) or an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable or number, e.g., performing an arithmetic operation such as exponentiation. There is no particular word or set of words that indicates a claim recites a mathematical calculation. That is, a claim does not have to recite the word "calculating" in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of "determining" a variable or number using mathematical methods or "performing" a mathematical operation may also be considered mathematical calculations when the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation." The operation of "computing a gradient of a conditional loss" is a mathematical operation of calculating a derivative or partial derivatives of a function. Thus, the claims recite a mathematical calculation, which falls under the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts.
Applicant further argues that "the Specification provides details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement to the accuracy of conventional machine learning technology, namely that the claimed invention provides an efficiently and accurately retrained machine learning model using a training set that is corrected at an intra-sample level. By contrast, conventional machine learning technology is relatively inaccurate because it is trained on training data that is only corrected at the relatively inaccurate sample level." Applicant further argues that claim 1 contains additional elements "which, when evaluated together with the other elements of claim 1, reflect an improved way of training a machine learning model and/or an improvements to a computer component or system performance based upon adjustments to parameters of a machine learning model associated with tasks or workstreams disclosed by the Specification." Thus, Applicant argues, claim 1 integrates the alleged judicial exception into a practical application.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.05(a) states "In computer-related technologies, the examiner should determine whether the claim purports to improve computer capabilities or, instead, invokes computers merely as a tool. Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1336, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 2016). In Enfish, the court evaluated the patent eligibility of claims related to a self-referential database. Id. The court concluded the claims were not directed to an abstract idea, but rather an improvement to computer functionality. Id. It was the specification’s discussion of the prior art and how the invention improved the way the computer stores and retrieves data in memory in combination with the specific data structure recited in the claims that demonstrated eligibility. 822 F.3d at 1339, 118 USPQ2d at 1691. The claim was not simply the addition of general purpose computers added post-hoc to an abstract idea, but a specific implementation of a solution to a problem in the software arts. 822 F.3d at 1339, 118 USPQ2d at 1691." MPEP 2106.05(a) further states "However, it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology. For example, in Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093-94, 2019 USPQ2d 138290 (Fed. Cir. 2019), the court determined that the claimed user interface simply provided a trader with more information to facilitate market trades, which improved the business process of market trading but did not improve computers or technology."
The cited section of the specification [0022]-[0024] describes improvements to data correction, which is an abstract idea, not a technology. The steps listed as providing an improvement in the specification include identifying a false label, computing an influence, identifying a part of the training sample and a corresponding source label. See [0024]-[0025]. [0028] describes the correction of the data set, also a mental process, and states "In some cases, the corrected training set can be used in downstream applications, such as retraining the neural network to increase the predictive accuracy of the neural network." The retraining of the neural network is described generically and post-hoc to the abstract idea of data correction, uses a general purpose computer. This is evident in the specification, which states that the retraining of the neural network is a downstream application.
Applicant argues that the following examples are relevant to the instant application:
xiii. An improved way of training a machine learning model that protected the model's knowledge about previous tasks while allowing it to effectively learn new tasks; Ex Parte Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567 (PTAB September 26, 2025, Appeals Review Panel Decision) (precedential); and
xiv. Improvements to computer component or system performance based upon adjustments to parameters of a machine learning model associated with tasks or workstreams; Ex Parte Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567 (PTAB September 26, 2025, Appeals Review Panel Decision) (precedential)."
Examiner respectfully asserts that the instant claims are different and do not show an improvement to technology. In regards to example xiii, the instant application does not show an improved way of training a machine learning model, rather it shows an improvement to the training data used in the downstream application of training a machine learning model. The way the model itself is trained is unchanged. In regards to claim xiv, the instant application does not show an improvement to computer component or system performance, as the only improvement is to the abstract idea of data correction, not to the machine learning model. Thus, the claims do not show an improvement to technology and therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application nor amounts to significantly more.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Teso and Qin are silent on at least "computing an influence of each of the second plurality of parts on the false label by computing a gradient of a conditional loss for each of the second plurality of parts based on a restricted set of parameters of the neural network, wherein the influence for each part of the second plurality of parts quantifies a degree to which the part causes the restricted set of parameters of the neural network to make the prediction of the false label."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the word “restricted” is a limited number of parameters. When computing a gradient, the number of parameters is limited to the number of parameters in the machine learning model. Therefore, computing a gradient for a set of parameters limited to a specific machine learning model is interpreted as computing a gradient based on a restricted number of parameters.
Qin, page 40 states that the loss calculation is based on the model parameters
θ
^
. Thus, the parameters are restricted to those in the model. Thus, the influence calculation quantifies a degree to which the part causes the restricted parameters (only the parameters in the model) to make the prediction of the label from the test instance. See 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a modification component configured to identify the false label and to modify the training set in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
MPEP § 2109(III) sets out steps for evaluating whether a claim is drawn to patent-eligible subject
matter. The analysis of claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, and 14-20, in accordance with these steps, follows.
Step 1 Analysis:
Step 1 is to determine whether the claim is directed to a statutory category (process, machine,
manufacture, or composition of matter. Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are directed to a process, claims 11-12 and 14-16 are directed to an article of manufacture, and claims 16-20 are directed to a machine. All claims are directed to statutory categories and analysis proceeds.
Step 2A Prong One, Step 2A Prong Two, and Step 2B Analysis:
Step 2A Prong One asks if the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon). If the claim recites a judicial exception, analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. If the claim does not integrate the judicial exception, analysis proceeds to Step 2B, which asks if the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the claim does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
None of the claims represent an improvement to technology.
Regarding claim 1, the following claim elements are abstract ideas:
identifying a false label from among a plurality of predicted labels corresponding to the first plurality of parts of the first training sample, wherein the plurality of predicted labels is generated by the neural network trained based on a training set comprising a plurality of training samples and a plurality of training labels; (Identifying a false label can be practically performed in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
computing an influence of each of the second plurality of parts on the false label by computing a gradient of a conditional loss for each of the second plurality of parts based on a restricted set of parameters of the neural network, wherein the influence for each part of the second plurality of parts quantifies a degree to which the part causes the restricted set of parameters of the neural network to make the prediction of the false label; (Computing an influence by approximating a change in a conditional loss is a mathematical calculation, which is a mathematical concept.)
identifying a part of the second training sample based on the computed influence of the identified part of the second training sample; (Identifying a part of a sample based on the computed influence can be practically performed in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
modifying the training set based on the identified part of the second training sample by modifying a training label of the plurality of training labels corresponding to the identified part of the second training sample to obtain a corrected training set; and (Modifying a training label can be practically performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper. This is a mental process.)
The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
A method for training a neural network, comprising: (This recites generic machine learning processes and components; this amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
training, using a training set including a first training sample and a second training sample, and a plurality of training labels, a neural network to generate a set of labels corresponding to different parts of an input sample, wherein the first training sample includes a first plurality of parts and the second training sample includes a second plurality of parts, wherein each of the first plurality of parts and the second plurality of parts comprises an index indicating a location within the first training sample or the second training sample, and wherein the plurality of training labels respectively corresponds to the second plurality of parts; (This recites the generic training of a neural network at a high level of generality. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
wherein the plurality of predicted labels is generated by the neural network; (This limitation recites generic machine learning processes and components, which amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
retraining the neural network using the corrected training set. (This recites generic machine learning processes and components; this amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
displaying the first training sample and the plurality of predicted labels in a user interface; and (Displaying data is an insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP § 2106.05, ‘Mere Data Gathering’, ex. iii.)
receiving a user input identifying the false label from among the plurality of predicted labels via the user interface. (In the art of computing, receiving a user input is merely receiving data from memory, or alternatively, receiving data over a network, both of which are insignificant extra-solution activities. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), list 1, ex. i and iv.)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
displaying the identified part of the second training sample and the corresponding source label in a user interface; and (Displaying data is an insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP § 2106.05, ‘Mere Data Gathering’, ex. iii.)
receiving a user input corresponding to the identified part of the second training sample, wherein the identified part of the training sample is identified based on the user input. (In the art of computing, receiving a user input is merely receiving data from memory, or alternatively, receiving data over a network, both of which are insignificant extra-solution activities. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), list 1, ex. i and iv.)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
receiving a corrected label via a user interface; and (In the art of computing, receiving a user input is merely receiving data from memory, or alternatively, receiving data over a network, both of which are insignificant extra-solution activities. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), list 1, ex. i and iv.)
labeling the identified part with the corrected label, wherein the corrected training set includes the corrected label. (This limitation recites generic machine learning processes and components, which amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, the following are abstract ideas:
identifying a ground-truth label for the first training sample; (Identifying a ground-truth label for data can be practically performed in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
comparing the false label to the ground-truth label, wherein the false label is identified based on the comparison. (Comparing labels to identify a false label can be practically performed by the human mind. This is a mental process.)
Claim 5 does not recite any additional elements.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Further, the following are abstract ideas:
identifying a plurality of encoder output weights and a plurality of class transition parameters, wherein the influence is approximated based on the plurality of encoder output weights and is independent of the plurality of class transition parameters. (Identifying a plurality of encoder output weights and class transition parameters can be practically performed in the human mind, and is therefore a mental process. Approximating an influence based on the encoder output weights, independent of the class transition parameters can also be practically performed in the human mind, and is therefore also a mental process.
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
the first training sample comprises a text sample and the false label corresponds to a phrase of the text sample. (This limitation merely limits the abstract ideas to the technological environment of text analytics. This is a field of use limitation. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).)
Regarding claim 11, the following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing code for training a neural network, the code comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: (This recites generic computer components and generic computer processes. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
The remainder of claim 11 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 12, 14, and 15 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 5, 2, and 3 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
receiving a corrected label via a user interface; and (In the art of computing, receiving a user input is merely receiving data from memory, or alternatively, receiving data over a network, both of which are insignificant extra-solution activities. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), list 1, ex. i and iv.)
replacing the label with the corrected label, wherein the corrected training set includes the corrected label. (This limitation is writing data to memory based on a result, which is simply storing the result. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 17, the following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
A system for training a machine learning model, the system comprising: (This recites a generic system, this amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
a memory component; and (This recites generic memory, this amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
a processing device coupled to the memory component, the processing device configured to perform operations comprising: (This recites generic computer components and processes; this amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
The remainder of claim 17 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated herein. Further, the following is an abstract idea:
identify the false label and to (Identifying a false label can be practically performed in the human mind. This is a mental process.)
The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
a modification component configured to ... modify the training set (This refers to generic machine learning components and generic computer components, which amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception. Modifying the training set is the generic computer process of writing data, which also amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
a user interface, configured to receive an input identifying the false label. (In the art of computing, receiving a user input is merely receiving data from memory, or alternatively, receiving data over a network, both of which are insignificant extra-solution activities. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), list 1, ex. i and iv. The user interface itself is a generic computing component recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated herein. The following claim elements are additional elements which, taken alone or in combination with the other additional elements, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
the user interface is further configured to receive a corrected label. (Receiving data is a generic/known computer process. This amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 11, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teso (“Interactive Label Cleaning with Example-based Explanations”, 2021) and Qin (“On Sample Based Explanation Methods for Sequence-to-Sequence Applications”, July 2022).
Regarding claim 1, Teso teaches
A method for training a neural network, comprising: (The abstract states "We tackle sequential learning under label noise in applications where a human supervisor can be queried to relabel suspicious examples." Page 3 states “We consider a very general class of probabilistic classifiers
f
:
R
d
→
[
c
]
of the form
f
x
;
θ
≔
argmax
y
∈
c
P
(
y
|
x
;
θ
)
, where the conditional distribution
P
(
Y
|
X
;
θ
)
has been fit on training data by minimizing the cross-entropy loss
l
(
x
,
y
,
θ
=
-
∑
i
∈
c
l
i
=
y
log
P
(
i
|
x
,
θ
)
. In our implementation, we also assume
P
to be a neural network with a softmax activation at the top layer, trained using some variant of SGD and possibly early stopping.”)
training, using a training set including a first training sample and a second training sample, and a plurality of training labels, a neural network to generate a set of labels (Page 3 states “At the beginning of iteration
t
, the machine has acquired a training set
D
t
-
1
=
z
1
,
…
,
z
t
-
1
and trained a model with parameters
θ
t
-
1
on it. At this point, the machine receives a new, possibly mislabeled example
z
~
t
(line 3) and has to decide whether to trust it. Following skeptical learning [5], CINCER does so by computing the margin
μ
z
~
t
,
θ
t
-
1
, i.e., the difference in conditional probability between the model’s prediction
y
^
t
≔
argmax
y
P
y
x
t
,
θ
t
-
1
and the annotation
y
~
t
.” Page 3 states “If
z
~
t
is compatible, it is added to the data set as-is (line 5). Otherwise, CINCER computes a counterexample
z
k
∈
D
t
-
1
that maximally supports the machine’s suspicion.”
z
~
t
is interpreted as the first training sample and
z
k
is interpreted as the second training sample.)
identifying a false label from among a plurality of predicted labels …, wherein the plurality of predicted labels is generated by a neural network trained based on a training set comprising a plurality of training samples and a plurality of training labels; (Page 3 states "The pseudo-code of CINCER is listed in Algorithm 1. At the beginning of iteration
t
, the machine has acquired a training set
D
t
-
1
=
z
1
,
…
,
z
t
-
1
and trained a model with parameters
θ
t
-
1
on it. At this point, the machine receives a new, possibly mislabeled example
z
~
t
(line 3) and has to decide whether to trust it. Following skeptical learning [5], CINCER does so by computing the margin
μ
z
~
t
,
θ
t
-
1
, i.e., the difference in conditional probability between the model’s prediction
y
^
t
≔
argmax
y
P
y
x
t
,
θ
t
-
1
and the annotation
y
~
t
." Page 3 further states "The example
z
~
t
is deemed compatible if the margin is below a given threshold
τ
and suspicious otherwise". The suspicious label is interpreted as the false label. Page 3 states “We consider a very general class of probabilistic classifiers
f
:
R
d
→
[
c
]
of the form
f
x
;
θ
≔
argmax
y
∈
c
P
(
y
|
x
;
θ
)
, where the conditional distribution
P
(
Y
|
X
;
θ
)
has been fit on training data by minimizing the cross-entropy loss
l
(
x
,
y
,
θ
=
-
∑
i
∈
c
l
i
=
y
log
P
(
i
|
x
,
θ
)
. In our implementation, we also assume
P
to be a neural network with a softmax activation at the top layer, trained using some variant of SGD and possibly early stopping.” Page 4 states "Intuitively,
z
k
∈
D
t
-
1
is a contrastive counter-example for a suspicious example
z
~
t
if removing it from the data set and retraining leads to a model with parameters
θ
t
-
1
-
k
that assigns higher probability to the suspicious label
y
~
t
.
The most contrastive counter-example is then the one that maximally affects the change in probability:
argmax
k
∈
t
-
1
{
P
y
~
x
t
;
θ
t
-
1
-
k
-
P
(
y
~
|
x
t
;
θ
t
-
1
)
}
(2)". Therefore, as
P
is a neural network with parameters
θ
t
-
1
, and the conditional distribution
P
(
y
~
|
x
t
;
θ
t
-
1
)
has been fit on training data,
P
(
y
~
|
x
t
;
θ
t
-
1
)
is the probability that the neural network
P
will predict
y
~
, and
y
~
, in the broadest reasonable interpretation, is a predicted label generated by a neural network. As the algorithm is repeated for each training sample,
y
~
is selected from among a plurality of predicted labels.)
computing an influence of each of the second plurality of [labels] on the false label by computing a gradient of a conditional loss for the neural network, … (Page 4 states "Intuitively,
z
k
∈
D
t
-
1
is a contrastive counter-example for a suspicious example
z
~
t
if removing it from the data set and retraining leads to a model with parameters
θ
t
-
1
-
k
that assigns higher probability to the suspicious label
y
~
t
.
" Page 5 states "Contrastive counter-examples are highly influential. Can this algorithm be used for identifying influential counter-examples? It turns out that, as long as the model is obtained by optimizing the cross-entropy loss, the answer is affirmative." Teso provides equations for calculating the influence of the training labels that approximates eq. 2 (page 4) which is
argmax
k
∈
t
-
1
{
P
y
~
x
t
;
θ
t
-
1
-
k
-
P
(
y
~
|
x
t
;
θ
t
-
1
)
}
. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand, as the false label is
y
~
, that the influence would be calculated on the false label. Algorithm 1 (page 4) shows that this calculation happens for each label. Algorithm 1 states that the influence is calculated using Eq. 12 (equivalent to Eq. 2) which is
argmax
k
∈
t
-
1
∇
l
z
~
t
,
θ
t
-
1
⊤
H
θ
t
-
1
-
1
∇
θ
l
(
z
k
,
θ
t
-
1
)
[page 5]. One of ordinary skill would realize that this is an approximation of the change of the loss, which, as one of ordinary skill in the art would realize, is a loss based on a conditional probability as it approximates Eq. 2.")
identifying … the second training sample from among the plurality of training labels based on the computed influence of … the identified second training sample; (Page 6 states "A simple strategy, which we do employ in all of our examples and experiments, is to restrict the search to counter-examples whose label in the training set is the same as the prediction for the suspicious example, i.e.,
y
k
=
y
^
t
.This way, the annotator can interpret the counter-example as being in support of the machine’s suspicion." As the counter-example’s label is searched for, it is identified and selected. As explained above, selecting the counter-example is based on the computed influence of the part of the training sample.)
modifying the training set based on the identified … second training sample by modifying a training label of the plurality of training labels corresponding to the identified … second training sample to obtain a corrected training set; and (Page 3 states "Next, CINCER asks the annotator to double-check the pair (
z
~
t
,
z
k
) and relabel the suspicious example, the counter-example, or both, thus resolving the potential inconsistency. The data set and model are then updated accordingly (line 9) and the loop repeats." As the training set is relabeled, the training label is modified. As the counter-example is presented, the modification is based on the identified part of the training sample and the corresponding source label.)
retraining the neural network using the corrected training set. (Page 3 states "Next, CINCER asks the annotator to double-check the pair (
z
~
t
,
z
k
) and relabel the suspicious example, the counter-example, or both, thus resolving the potential inconsistency. The data set and model are then updated accordingly (line 9) and the loop repeats." Updating the model is interpreted as retraining. Additionally, line 10 of Algorithm 1 on page 4 states "10: fit
θ
t
on
D
t
”. As
D
t
is the updated training set,
θ
, the neural network, is retrained.)
Teso does not appear to explicitly teach
wherein the first training sample includes a first plurality of parts and the second training sample includes a second plurality of parts, and wherein each of the first plurality of parts and the second plurality of parts comprises an index indicating a location within the first training sample or the second training sample;
[labels] corresponding to the first plurality of parts of the first training sample
[computing an influence of] parts, wherein the influence for each part of the second plurality of parts quantifies a degree to which the part causes the neural network to make the prediction of the [label];
a part of the second training sample
However, Qin—directed to analogous art—teaches
[a set of labels] corresponding to different parts of an input sample, wherein the first training sample includes a first plurality of parts and the second training sample includes a second plurality of parts, wherein each of the first plurality of parts and the second plurality of parts comprises an index indicating a location within the first training sample or the second training sample, and wherein the plurality of training labels respectively corresponds to the second plurality of parts;; (Page 40 states "Similar to TracInS, measures how the model loss for a span on test instance 𝑧′ varies with a span in training instance 𝑧." The test instance
z
'
is interpreted as the first training sample and the test instance
z
'
is interpreted as the second training sample. Page 40 states "First, we learn from the use of span in TracIn+. Then, Set training span
z
i
j
=
[
t
i
,
…
,
t
j
]
, where 0 ≤ 𝑖 < 𝑗 ≤ 𝑚." Page 40 states "Generally, we choose a speaker turn as span
z
i
j
Roll out the instance 𝑧 with K rounds from the first speaker turn to get a total of K different instances
z
k
from top-1 to top-K, which can be achieved using the work in Section A.” Therefore,
i
and
j
indicate an index indicating a location within the second training sample and
t
i
,
…
,
t
j
is a part in the K second plurality of parts. Page 40 states "Similarly, combining the above methods, we add any span test data to achieve a more fine-grained unit-based influence score calculation, as (8)." As the test data is also a span, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to conclude, from Eq. 8 that test span
z
k
l
=
[
t
k
,
…
,
t
l
]
, where 0 ≤ k < l ≤ n. " Therefore,
k
and
l
indicate an index indicating a location within the first training sample and
t
k
,
…
,
t
l
is a part of the first plurality of parts, which are the test data.)
[labels] corresponding to the first plurality of parts of the first training sample (Page 40 states "For text generation, each token has a corresponding label whose number N is the vocabulary size." Page 40 states "𝑡 is each token in the instance." Therefore,
t
k
,
…
,
t
l
, which is the first plurality of parts from the first training sample and are tokens, have corresponding labels.)
[computing a gradient of a conditional loss for] each of the second plurality of parts based on a restricted set of parameters of the neural network, wherein the influence for each part of the second plurality of parts quantifies a degree to which the part causes the restricted set of parameters of the neural network to make the prediction of the [label]; (Page 40 "Similar to TracInS, measures how the model loss for a span on test instance 𝑧′ varies with a span in training instance 𝑧. The more important this training span is, the more impact it has on the test instances, and the greater the impact score should be." Page 40 states "Based on the above method, by subtracting the previous gradient vector from the gradient vector of each top-i, we can get the influence score of spans (the first subtraction minus an empty utterance that only contains start and terminator)." One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the impact on the test instances means that the degree to which the part causes the neural network to make the prediction of the label from the test instance. Page 40 states that the loss calculation is based on the model parameters
θ
^
. Thus, the parameters are restricted to those in the model. Thus, the influence calculation quantifies a degree to which the part causes the restricted parameters (only the parameters in the model) to make the prediction of the label from the test instance.)
a part of the second training sample (Page 40 "Similar to TracInS, measures how the model loss for a span on test instance 𝑧′ varies with a span in training instance 𝑧. The more important this training span is, the more impact it has on the test instances, and the greater the impact score should be." The span on the test instance z’ is interpreted as the part of the training sample.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Teso and Qin because, as stated by Qin on page 39, "For sequence-to-sequence applications, long natural language texts are common. For sample-based explanation methods, model decisions may actually depend on specific parts of training instances. Unlike classification tasks, the generation of target sequences in such tasks is a multi-classification problem, and the number of labels is the total number of token categories in the vocabulary. Therefore, how to apply influence functions to multi-label tasks is the core problem."
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Teso teaches
receiving a corrected label via a user interface; and (Page 3 states "Next, asks the annotator to double-check the pair and relabel the suspicious example, CINCER (
z
~
t
,
z
k
) the counter-example, or both, thus resolving the potential inconsistency. The data set and model are then updated accordingly (line 9) and the loop repeats." In order for a human user, such as the annotator, to receive the information a user interface must be used to communicate the information. As the data set and model are updated according to the corrected labels, the corrected labels must have been received.)
labeling the identified part with the corrected label, wherein the corrected training set includes the corrected label. (Page 4, Algorithm 1, lines 7-10 state “find counterexample
z
k
using Eq.12 … present
z
~
t
,
z
k
to user, receive possibly cleaned labels
y
t
'
,
y
k
'
…
D
t
←
(
D
t
-
1
{
z
k
}
)
∪
{
x
t
,
y
t
'
,
(
x
k
,
y
k
'
)
}
… fit
θ
t
on
D
t
”. Therefore, the training set is
D
t
and the parts are identified with the corrected labels and the corrected data set includes the corrected labels.)
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Teso does not appear to explicitly teach
the first sample comprises a text sample and the false label corresponds to a phrase of the text sample.
However, Qin—directed to analogous art—teaches
the input sample comprises a text sample and the false label corresponds to a phrase of the text sample. (Page 39 states "In pursuit of interpretability, we choose the daily dialogue generation task for research, and select the dialogue material Daily Dialog as the original dataset. Daily Dialog consists of multiple turns of daily dialogue. On average there are around 8 speaker turns per dialogue with around 15 tokens per turn." Page 40 states "For text generation, each token has a corresponding label whose number N is the vocabulary size." Page 40 states "𝑡 is each token in the instance." Therefore,
t
k
,
…
,
t
l
, which is the first plurality of parts from the first training sample and are tokens, have corresponding labels. The tokens are interpreted as the phrases which have the labels.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Teso with the teachings of Qin for the reasons given above in regards to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Teso teaches
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing code for training a neural network, the code comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: (Page 6 states "We implemented CINCER using Python and Tensorflow [25] on top of three classifiers and compared different counter-example selection strategies on five data sets. The IF code is adapted from [26]. All experiments were run on a 12-core machine with 16 GiB of RAM and no GPU. The code for all experiments is available at: https://github.com/abonte/cincer." As the code is run and executed, a non-transitory computer readable medium storing the code for the method must be present. Algorithm 1 on page 4, line 1 and line 10 shows that the neural network is trained.) The remainder of claim 11 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. Teso teaches
receiving a corrected label via a user interface; and (Page 3 states "Next, asks the annotator to double-check the pair and relabel the suspicious example, CINCER (
z
~
t
,
z
k
) the counter-example, or both, thus resolving the potential inconsistency. The data set and model are then updated accordingly (line 9) and the loop repeats." In order for a human user, such as the annotator, to receive the information a user interface must be used to communicate the information. As the data set and model are updated according to the corrected labels, the corrected labels must have been received.)
replacing the label with the corrected label, wherein the corrected training set includes the corrected label. (Page 4, Algorithm 1, lines 7-10 state “find counterexample
z
k
using Eq.12 … present
z
~
t
,
z
k
to user, receive possibly cleaned labels
y
t
'
,
y
k
'
…
D
t
←
(
D
t
-
1
{
z
k
}
)
∪
{
x
t
,
y
t
'
,
(
x
k
,
y
k
'
)
}
… fit
θ
t
on
D
t
”. Therefore, the training set is
D
t
and the labels are replaced with the corrected labels and the corrected data set includes the corrected labels.)
Regarding claim 17, Teso teaches
A system for training a machine learning model, the system comprising: (The abstract states "We tackle sequential learning under label noise in applications where a human supervisor can be queried to relabel suspicious examples." Page 3 states “We consider a very general class of probabilistic classifiers
f
:
R
d
→
[
c
]
of the form
f
x
;
θ
≔
argmax
y
∈
c
P
(
y
|
x
;
θ
)
, where the conditional distribution
P
(
Y
|
X
;
θ
)
has been fit on training data by minimizing the cross-entropy loss
l
(
x
,
y
,
θ
=
-
∑
i
∈
c
l
i
=
y
log
P
(
i
|
x
,
θ
)
. In our implementation, we also assume
P
to be a neural network with a softmax activation at the top layer, trained using some variant of SGD and possibly early stopping.” Page 6 states "We implemented CINCER using Python and Tensorflow [25] on top of three classifiers and compared different counter-example selection strategies on five data sets. The IF code is adapted from [26]. All experiments were run on a 12-core machine with 16 GiB of RAM and no GPU." The machine is interpreted as the system.)
a memory component; and (Page 6 states "We implemented CINCER using Python and Tensorflow [25] on top of three classifiers and compared different counter-example selection strategies on five data sets. The IF code is adapted from [26]. All experiments were run on a 12-core machine with 16 GiB of RAM and no GPU." The RAM is interpreted as the memory component.)
a processing device coupled to the memory component, the processing device configured to perform operations comprising: (Page 6 states "We implemented CINCER using Python and Tensorflow [25] on top of three classifiers and compared different counter-example selection strategies on five data sets. The IF code is adapted from [26]. All experiments were run on a 12-core machine with 16 GiB of RAM and no GPU." The cores are interpreted as the processing device, which are coupled to the memory device, RAM.)
The remainder of claim 17 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated herein. Teso teaches
a modification component configured to identify the false label and to modify the training set. (Page 6 states "A simple strategy, which we do employ in all of our examples and experiments, is to restrict the search to counter-examples whose label in the training set is the same as the prediction for the suspicious example, i.e.,
y
k
=
y
^
t
.This way, the annotator can interpret the counter-example as being in support of the machine’s suspicion." As the counter-example’s label is searched for, it is identified and selected. As explained above, selecting the counter-example is based on the computed influence. Page 3 states "Next, CINCER asks the annotator to double-check the pair (
z
~
t
,
z
k
) and relabel the suspicious example, the counter-example, or both, thus resolving the potential inconsistency. The data set and model are then updated accordingly (line 9) and the loop repeats." As the counter-example is presented, the modification is based on the identified part of the training sample and the corresponding source label. The part of the computer used to perform these steps are interpreted as the modification component.)
Claim(s) 2, 3, 14, 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teso (“Interactive Label Cleaning with Example-based Explanations”, 2021) and Qin (“On Sample Based Explanation Methods for Sequence-to-Sequence Applications”, June 2022) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of da Silva (“Improving Named Entity Recognition using Deep Learning with Human in the Loop”, 2019).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Teso does not appear to explicitly teach
displaying the first training sample and the plurality of predicted labels in a user interface; and
receiving a user input identifying the false label from among the plurality of predicted labels via the user interface.
However, da Silva—directed to analogous art—teaches
displaying the first training sample and the plurality of predicted labels in a user interface; and (Page 595 states "Human NERD presents to the user an interactive web-based annotation interface used for adding entity annotations or editing automatic pre-annotations in
O
. As the entities are labeled in
O
, users (as reviewers) then accept or reject these to indicate which ones are true. Each document
t
i
∈
O
is presented to one user. Thus no two users labeled the same document at the same instant of time. This step outputs
O
with its user corrections." The document is interpreted as the input sample. The annotations are interpreted as the plurality of predicted labels, as page 595 states "The deep learning model is initially trained with
D
=
{
x
i
,
Y
i
:
i
=
1
.
.
m
}
, a set of labeled training examples
x
i
, where
Y
i
⊆
L
the set of labels of the i-th example. At this step, the pre-trained model classifies the entity mentions on
T
-
t
i
,
…
,
t
m
using the labels described on
L
and outputs
O
=
t
1
,
Y
i
:
i
=
1
…
m
, where
t
i
∈
T
and
Y
⊆
L
the set of labels of the i-th document.")
receiving a user input identifying the false label from among the plurality of predicted labels via the user interface. (Page 595 states “As the entities are labeled in
O
, users (as reviewers) then accept or reject these to indicate which ones are true. Each document
t
i
∈
O
is presented to one user. Thus no two users labeled the same document at the same instant of time. This step outputs
O
with its user corrections.” Rejecting the labels is interpreted as identifying the false label, as it indicates which ones are true, which also indicates which ones are false. Page 595 further states "Based on the user corrections, the NER model can learn and improve from
O
." As the system uses the user input to updated the NER model, the user input must have been received.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Teso and Qin with the human annotation system of da Silva because, as the abstract states, "Named Entity Recognition (NER) is a challenging problem in Natural Language Processing (NLP). Deep Learning techniques have been extensively applied in NER tasks because they require little feature engineering and are free from language-specific resources, learning important features from word or character embeddings trained on large amounts of data. However, these techniques are data-hungry and require a massive amount of training data. This work proposes Human NERD (stands for Human Named Entity Recognition with Deep learning) which addresses this problem by including humans in the loop."
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Teso teaches
displaying the identified part of the second training sample in a user interface; and (Page 4, Algorithm 1, line 3 states “receive new example
z
~
t
=
(
x
t
,
y
~
t
)
”, meaning that the example includes the sample, in this case,
x
t
and the label, in this case,
y
~
t
. Page 4, Algorithm 1, lines 7 and 8 states “find counterexample
z
k
using Eq.12 … present
z
~
t
,
z
k
to user, receive possibly cleaned labels
y
t
'
,
y
k
'
”. Therefore, the part of the training sample (the counter-example) and the corresponding source label (the original counter-example label) are presented to the user. In order for a human user, such as the annotator, to receive the information, a user interface must be used to display the information.)
Teso does not appear to explicitly teach
receiving a user input corresponding to the part of the training sample, wherein the identified part of the training sample is identified based on the user input
However, da Silva teaches
receiving a user input corresponding to the part of the training sample, wherein the identified part of the training sample is identified based on the user input (Page 596 states "If the reviewer identifies an entity not annotated by the model, he/she can manually label it. In this case, first, he/she should click on the class label (on top of the Figure 2), then the class will appear in evidence. After that, the reviewer selects the sequence of words in the document to annotate." The sequence of words is interpreted as the part of the training sample, as it is a part of the document. Page 595 states "Based on the user corrections, the NER model can learn and improve from O." Therefore, the training sample is identified based on the input.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Teso and Qin with the human annotation system of da Silva for the reasons given above in regards to claim 3.
Claims 14 and 15 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 2 and 3 respectively and are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated herein. Teso does not appear to explicitly teach
a user interface configured to receive an input identifying the false label
However, Da Silva—directed to analogous art—teaches
a user interface configured to receive an input identifying the false label (Page 595 states “As the entities are labeled in
O
, users (as reviewers) then accept or reject these to indicate which ones are true. Each document
t
i
∈
O
is presented to one user. Thus no two users labeled the same document at the same instant of time. This step outputs
O
with its user corrections.” Rejecting the labels is interpreted as identifying the false label, as it indicates which ones are true, which also indicates which ones are false. Page 595 further states "Based on the user corrections, the NER model can learn and improve from
O
." As the system uses the user input to updated the NER model, the user input must have been received.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Teso and Qun with the human annotation system of da Silva because, as the abstract states, "Named Entity Recognition (NER) is a challenging problem in Natural Language Processing (NLP). Deep Learning techniques have been extensively applied in NER tasks because they require little feature engineering and are free from language-specific resources, learning important features from word or character embeddings trained on large amounts of data. However, these techniques are data-hungry and require a massive amount of training data. This work proposes Human NERD (stands for Human Named Entity Recognition with Deep learning) which addresses this problem by including humans in the loop."
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 19 is incorporated herein. Teso does not appear to explicitly teach
wherein: the user interface is further configured to receive a corrected label.
However, Da Silva—directed to analogous art—teaches
wherein: the user interface is further configured to receive a corrected label. (Page 595 states "Human NERD presents to the user an interactive web-based annotation interface used for adding entity annotations or editing automatic pre-annotations in
O
. As the entities are labeled in
O
, users (as reviewers) then accept or reject these to indicate which ones are true. Each document
t
i
∈
O
is presented to one user. Thus no two users labeled the same document at the same instant of time. This step outputs
O
with its user corrections." The document is interpreted as the input sample. The user corrections are interpreted as the corrected label, as they include the labeled entities.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Teso and Qin with the human annotation system of da Silva for the reasons given above in regards to claim 19.
Claim(s) 5, 8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teso (“Interactive Label Cleaning with Example-based Explanations”, 2021) and Qin (“On Sample Based Explanation Methods for Sequence-to-Sequence Applications”, June 2022) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kong (“Resolving Training Biases Via Influence-Based Data Relabeling”, 2022).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Teso does not appear to explicitly teach
identifying a ground-truth label for the first training sample; and
comparing the false label to the ground-truth label, wherein the false label is identified based on the comparison.
However, Kong—directed to analogous art—teaches
identifying a ground-truth label for the first training sample; and (Page 16, Section C.2 states "Specifically, the influence of each training instance is estimated with the validation set using the validation loss and the model’s performance is tested by an additional out-of-sample test set which ensures we do not utilize any information of the test data. When training logistic regression, we randomly pick up 30% samples from the training set as the validation set. For different influence-based approaches, the training/validation/test sets are kept the same for fair comparison." Therefore, the training set corresponds to the training set. Page 4, Eq. 5 states that the influence is calculated using Eq. 2, which uses the change in loss, which is the validation loss according to Section C.2. Page 2 states “Since our relabeling function is dependent to the loss function, we focus on the most effective and versatile loss, i.e., Cross Entropy loss for any classification tasks.” One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the cross-entropy loss requires the ground-truth of the data set. Therefore, as the validation set is used for the validation loss, input samples (the validation data) and the ground-truth labels for the input samples are included.)
comparing the false label to the ground-truth label, wherein the false label is identified based on the comparison. (As in the above limitation, the influence is calculated using the cross-entropy loss, which as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand, compares the false label to the ground-truth label. Page 4 states “We denote
D
_
=
{
z
i
∈
D
|
Φ
θ
z
i
>
0
}
as harmful samples.” Therefore, Eq. 2 (used to compute the influence
Φ
θ
(
.
)
is also used to identify the harmful samples. As the harmful samples are relabeled (see pg. 5-6), the harmful samples labels, interpreted as the false labels, are identified based on the comparison.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Teso and Qin with the validation set usage of Kong because, as Kong states on page 2, "Since out relabeling function is dependent to the loss function, we focus on the most effective and versatile loss, i.e., Cross Entropy loss for any classification tasks." Additionally, page 9 states, “As the number of validation samples increases, RDIA significantly outperforms ERM, achieving up to 90% relative lower in test loss. The reason is that, as the number of validation sets increases, the validation set can gradually reflect the true distribution of test data.”)
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Teso teaches
a plurality of encoder output weights (Page 7 states that they use the data set "20NG [27]: data set of newsgroup posts categorized in twenty topics. The documents were embedded using a pre-trained SentenceBERT model [28] and compressed to 100 features using PCA." Therefore, as SentenceBERT is an encoder, as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand, the encoder output weights must have been identified to make the predictions that are used for the calculation of the influence.)
Teso does not appear to explicitly teach
identifying a plurality of [output weights] and a plurality of class transition parameters, wherein the influence is approximated based on the plurality of [output weights] and is independent of the plurality of class transition parameters.
However, Kong—directed to analogous art—teaches
identifying a plurality of [output weights] and a plurality of class transition parameters, wherein the influence is approximated based on the plurality of [output weights] and is independent of the plurality of class transition parameters. (Page 5 states “Recall that
φ
x
i
,
θ
denotes the model output for
x
i
”. Eq. 8 and Eq. 9, used for calculating the influence uses the model output, therefore using the model output weights. Page 6 states “Consider a training sample
z
i
=
(
x
i
,
y
i
)
belonging to the
m
-th class
(
m
∈
1
,
K
)
i.e.
y
i
,
m
=
1
. Let
R
x
i
,
y
i
=
y
i
'
, we propose the following relabeling function
R
that fulfills the above two principles:
y
i
,
k
'
=
0
,
i
f
k
=
m
log
φk
1
-
m
K
-
1
,
o
t
h
e
r
w
i
s
e
, (12) where
φ
x
i
,
θ
^
=
(
φ
1
,
…
,
φ
K
)
is the probability distribution over
K
classes produced by the model with parameters
θ
^
, i.e.,
φ
i
∈
[
0,1
]
and
∑
i
=
1
K
φ
i
=
1
.” Therefore, the relabeling function describe class transition, and the output of this relabeling function is interpreted as the class transition parameters. As this is repeated for all of the harmful training samples, there is a plurality of class transition parameters. The influence function is calculated before the relabeling step (see page 4) and therefore is independent of the class transition parameters. As the influence function (see page 5, Eq. 8, Eq. 9) includes the loss of the model, the model output weights are used to calculated the influence.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Teso and Qin with the relabeling function of Kong because, as Kong states on page 6, "Theorem 2 shows that using our proposed relabeling
R
can further reduce the test risk than simply discarding or downweighting
D
_
from the training set for any classification tasks."
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. Teso does not appear to explicitly teach
identifying a ground-truth label for the first training sample; and
comparing the false label to the ground-truth label, wherein the false label is identified based on the comparison.
However, Kong—directed to analogous art—teaches
identifying a ground-truth label for the first training sample; and (Page 16, Section C.2 states "Specifically, the influence of each training instance is estimated with the validation set using the validation loss and the model’s performance is tested by an additional out-of-sample test set which ensures we do not utilize any information of the test data. When training logistic regression, we randomly pick up 30% samples from the training set as the validation set. For different influence-based approaches, the training/validation/test sets are kept the same for fair comparison." Therefore, the training set corresponds to the training set. Page 4, Eq. 5 states that the influence is calculated using Eq. 2, which uses the change in loss, which is the validation loss according to Section C.2. Page 2 states “Since our relabeling function is dependent to the loss function, we focus on the most effective and versatile loss, i.e., Cross Entropy loss for any classification tasks.” One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that the cross-entropy loss requires the ground-truth of the data set. Therefore, as the validation set is used for the validation loss, input samples (the validation data) and the ground-truth labels for the input samples are included.)
comparing the false label to the ground-truth label, wherein the false label is identified based on the comparison. (As in the above limitation, the influence is calculated using the cross-entropy loss, which as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand, compares the false label to the ground-truth label. Page 4 states “We denote
D
_
=
{
z
i
∈
D
|
Φ
θ
z
i
>
0
}
as harmful samples.” Therefore, Eq. 2 (used to compute the influence
Φ
θ
(
.
)
is also used to identify the harmful samples. As the harmful samples are relabeled (see pg. 5-6), the harmful samples labels, interpreted as the false labels, are identified based on the comparison.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Teso and Qin with the validation set usage of Kong because, as Kong states on page 2, "Since out relabeling function is dependent to the loss function, we focus on the most effective and versatile loss, i.e., Cross Entropy loss for any classification tasks." Additionally, page 9 states, “As the number of validation samples increases, RDIA significantly outperforms ERM, achieving up to 90% relative lower in test loss. The reason is that, as the number of validation sets increases, the validation set can gradually reflect the true distribution of test data.”)
Conclusion
/J.T.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121