DETAILED ACTION
As previously set forth: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
As previously set forth: Applicant’s election of Group I, surface coating, fluid coke, epoxy, amine, aqueous carrier fluid in the reply filed on 5/22/23 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7, 19, 21, 23-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species/group.
Priority
As previously set forth: The claims have a priority date of the filing of the provisional application: 11/2/21
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant argues there are many species of coke, each capable of having a different particle size, shape, density and/or composition. Applicant argues not all cokes are interchangeable for all uses. Applicant argues Wilberg is drawn to the coke particle as a proppant whereas Wawrzos teaches the particle as a lubricant in drilling fluids. Applicant argues a skilled person would have no reason to combine the reference in the manner below.
The Examiner disagrees. Wawrzos uses the coke lubricant particle in high pressure, high temperature wellbore environments [0002]. Further, the coke particle is tested under high crush strength [0024]. Therein the particles are compressed at 10,000 psi to determine resiliency [0024]. These particles thusly are expected to be useful in any wellbore operation which uses high pressure, high temperatures that crush strengths up to 10,000 psi. Wilberg discloses his proppants to be tested at closure stress of 4000 psi [0122]. Since Wilbergs tested closure strength is much less than the crush strength of which the particles of Wawrzos is tested at, there is found to be a reasonable expectation of success herein. Further, coke is coke. The particle of Wawrzos is a known coke particle known to be suitably used in high pressure environments. Applicant has not shown or argued any unexpected results stemming from its use. Arguments herein are thusly not found persuasive.
Applicant argues the “consisting essentially of” limits the claims to those materials that do not affect the basic and novel characteristics of the invention. Applicant argues the basic and novel characteristics include low density and high crush strength. Applicant argues Willberg does not teach the consisting essentially of language of the claims because polymeric microparticles are part of the coating of the proppant, and, the microspheres are crosslinked. Applicant argues Wawrzos does not cure these deficiencies.
The Examiner disagrees. While “consisting essentially of” does limit the claims to those materials that do not affect the basic and novel characteristics of the invention, Applicant has not disclosed what materials affect such. Further, [0058] of the instant specification discloses crosslinkers may be used, as well as inert solids, particles, ect. It is unclear why crosslinkers could be added if the addition may crosslink the particles. Further, inert solids may be added. Though it doesn’t specify they would be added to the resin coating, like Willberg, they can exist somewhere in the composition without affecting the basic and novel characteristics of the invention. Applicant’s specification does not clearly spell out what elements would affect the basic and novel characteristics, thus, arguments herein are not found persuasive and “consisting essentially of” is treated as “comprising”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Rejection over Claims 25-28 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is overcome by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8, 13-15, 29, 31-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willberg (US 2010/0263865) in view of Wawrzos (US 2009/0075847) as evidenced by US 2014/0353042, US 2019/0048146, US 20120241168.
Elements of Willberg and Wawrzos are as previously set forth, reiterated below in italics. “consisting essentially of” is treated as “comprising” since Applicant has not disclosed what materially affects the basic and novel characteristics of the invention. The “consisting of” language of claim 35 is similarly met by the proppants of Willberg v. Wawrzos of claim 35 since the language of the proppants does not exclude those additional elements used by Willberg.
Willberg discloses proppants and uses thereof (title). Said proppants have a core particle and an outer surface coating that includes microspheres (abstract). The proppant may have a cured resin surface coating thereon [0037]. The core proppant particle may be coke [0033]. The core particle has a size from 100-3500 microns [0035], and may be spherical [0035]. The cured resin coating may be an epoxy resin [0038].
Willberg includes elements as set forth above. Willberg discloses a list of possible core particles, [0033], including coke. Willberg does not disclose the use of fluid coke or the density thereof. Wawrzos discloses spherical carbon based particles for drilling fluids (abstract). The spherical beads may be fluid coke or shot coke particles [0009]. The particle size ranges from -10 mesh to 325 mesh, which converts to 44-2000 microns. Thus, the coke particles of Wawrzos overlap in size and species with that of Willberg. Though used in a drilling fluid, one of ordinary skill can see that these particles are stable and capable of use in a wellbore. One would thusly have a reasonable expectation of success that one could use these are core particles of a proppant, give that coke is disclosed by Willberg as an appropriate core genus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Willberg the use of fluid coke particles, as taught by Wawrzos, since these are recognized suitably known coke particles for used in wellbore fluids. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), wherein the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See also MPEP 2143B, E, since it would be prima facie obvious to use the fluid coke of Wawrzos as a simple substitution of a known element (coke particle) for another and/or obvious to try from a identified predictable solution, with a reasonable expectation of success.
The coke particles of Wawrzos have a true density of 1.45 g/cc-2.2 g/cc [0009]. See US 2014/0353042 [0093], US 20190048146 [0054], US 20120241168 [0039], ‘042 and ‘168 both being in the oil art, as evidence that true density and particle density are the same thing. Thus, the fluid coke particles of Wawrzos meet the core particle and particle density requirements of claim 1. In the event there is a slight difference between true density and particle density, it still seems like the claimed range would be overlapped/embraced rendering the limitation prima facie obvious.
Elements above meet all the requirements of claim 1, wherein the fluid coke particle is a product of heavy hydrocarbons (petroleum) [0014], and/or, such is a product by process limitation, the process of making not being pertinent unless Applicant shows a distinct product is made.
The resin coating would be at least partially on the surface, as required by claims 3. Elements above meet claim 6, 8. The particles of Wawrzos are spherical (abstract). Willberg discloses the particles to have a sphericity of at least 0.6 and roundness of at least 0.6 [0034]. Although Krumbein sphericity/roundness is not disclosed it would seem that the above sphericity/roundness would embrace such, as required by claims 13-14. The particle may comprise fines (table 1 Willberg) and one would expect some agglomeration of coke core particles when coating, e.g. it would be impossible to only coat single particles without some aggregates/clumping, as required by claim 15. Elements above meet claims 25-29, 31-35.
Claim(s) 4, 12, 25-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willberg (US 2010/0263865) in view of Wawrzos (US 2009/0075847) as evidenced by US 2014/0353042, US 2019/0048146, US 20120241168 and Knoer (US 2019/0112520).
Elements of this rejection are as previously set forth, reiterated below in its entirety in italics.
Willberg includes elements as set forth above. Willberg discloses proppants coated with a coating that may be an epoxy. The epoxy coating of Willberg must have a thickness, but Willberg does not disclose the thickness thereof.
Knoer discloses proppants coated with a curable resin (abstract), thusly similar to Willberg. Knoer discloses the resin may be an epoxy resin [0028], the same type of resin as Willberg. Knoer discloses the resin coating may be 0.1-100 microns thick [0068]. Knoer thusly teaches 0.1-100 microns to be a suitably known thickness for epoxy coatings on proppants.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in Willberg the use of a coating thickness from 0.1-100 microns, as taught by Knoer since it is recognized in the art as a suitably known thickness for epoxy coatings on proppants. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), wherein the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See also MPEP 2143A, E wherein combining prior art elements (thickness of a coating) according to known methods (a known useful coating thickness) to yield a predictable result of a coated resin, or, obvious to try an identified predictable solution (known coating thickness) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Elements above meet claims 4, 12, 30, since these compositional elements are met the properties of claim 29 must be embraced by the references.
Claim(s) 9, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willberg in view of Wawros and Knoer in further view of Pisklak (US 2011/0118155).
Elements of this rejection are as previously set forth, reiterated below in its entirety in italics.
Willberg, Wawros and Knoer include elements as set forth above. Willberg discloses coating the particles with epoxy resin, but does not disclose the density of the resin. The epoxy resin must implicitly have a density.
Pisklak discloses lightweight proppants for use in subterranean formations (title, abstract), the same use (proppants) as Willberg. Pisklak discloses coating the proppant, one type of coating being epoxy coatings [0022], thus the same type of coating as Willberg. The epoxy coating is disclosed to have a density of 1.2 g/cc [0028]. Pisklak thusly teaches this epoxy coating to have a known density of 1.2 g/cc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Willberg, Wawros and Knoer the use of epoxy coatings having a density of 1.2 g/cc, as taught by Pisklak, since these are recognized in the art as suitable for the intended use thereof. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), wherein the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.
Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willberg in view of Wawros in further view of Turakhia (US 2010/0179077).
Elements of this rejection are as previously set forth, amended to remove Knoer due to amendment and reiterated below in its entirety in italics.
Willberg and Wawros include elements as set forth above. Willberg discloses coating the particles with cured resin coating [0037] wherein the cured resin coating may be an epoxy resin. Willberg does not disclose how the resin is cured.
Turakhia discloses proppants for use in hydraulic fracturing (title, abstract), the same use as the particles of Willberg. Turakhia discloses various epoxy resins that may be used for coating the proppant [0025]. Curing agents for the epoxy resins include amines [0026]. Turakhia thusly teaches that these curing agents would be appropriate to use to cure the epoxy resin coatings of Willberg.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to include in Willberg and Wawros the use of amine curing agents, as taught by Turakhia in order cure epoxy resin, an outcome desired by Willberg. See MPEP 2143A, E, wherein it is prima facie obvious to try a known identified, predictable solution (known curing agent) to yield the predictable result of curing the epoxy resin of Willberg.
Claim(s) 16, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willberg (US 2010/0263865) in view of Wawrzos (US 2009/0075847) as evidenced by US 2014/0353042, US 2019/0048146, US 20120241168 in further view of Semenov (US 2016/0319185).
Elements of this rejection are as previously set forth, amended to remove Knoer due to amendment and reiterated below in its entirety in italics.
Willberg and Wawrzos include elements as set forth above. Willberg discloses proppants and the use thereof (title). Proppants are used to increase hydrocarbon production in oil wells (abstract) by being injected therein and propping open fractures [0001]. The fracturing fluids are water based [0088]. Willberg does not disclose how much proppant is used in a fracturing fluid.
Semenov discloses fluids used to deliver materials downhole (title). The fluid is used for fracturing wells by adding a proppant agent therein [0003, 0019]. The fluid is aqueous based [0012]. Semenov discloses using proppant laden fluids (akin to Willberg), and, proppant lean fluids, to create pillars and channels in the formation [0027]. The proppant laden fluids comprise from about 0.01-5 vol% particles which embraces the volume ratio of claim 16 (5 vol% = 5vol/100vol = a ratio of 0.05). Semenov thusly teaches this to be a suitably known amount of proppant to use to fracture formations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Willberg and Wawros the use of 0.01-5 vol% particles in the fracturing fluid, as taught by Semenov, since this is recognized in the art to be a suitably known amount of proppant to add to fluids for the purpose of fracturing a well. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), wherein the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See also MPEP 2143A, E.
Elements above meet claims 16, 18. Additional microspheres are used on the Willberg proppant (abstract), as required by claim 20 and alternatively, mixing together two different proppants having different core centers (one center being coke) is prima facie obvious. See In re Kerkhoven wherein mixing together two elements known for the same purpose has been held prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/ALICIA BLAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759