Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a plurality of first subtractors” in claims 1 and 11– The Specification as originally filed does not describe a structure for the subtractor(s).
“a plurality of second subtractors” in claims 1 and 11– The Specification as originally filed does not describe a structure for the subtractor(s).
“an input storage unit” in claims 1 and 11– ¶60 of the originally filed Specification discloses that “storage units” are memory which store a byte, multiple bytes, or bits. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as such or as any equivalent thereof.
“a weight storage unit” in claims 1 and 11– ¶60 of the originally filed Specification discloses that “storage units” are memory which store a byte, multiple bytes, or bits. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as such or as any equivalent thereof.
“a plurality of multipliers” in claims 1 and 11– The Specification as originally filed does not describe a structure for the multiplier(s).
“an adder assembly” in claims 2 and 13-14 – ¶80 of the originally filed specification recites that an adder assembly is a collection of adders. The adder assembly is interpreted as such or any equivalent thereof.
“an additional multiplier” in claims 3 and 14– The Specification as originally filed does not describe a structure for the multiplier(s).
“an accumulator” in claims 4 and 15 – The Specification as originally filed does not describe a structure for the accumulator(s).
“an output storage unit” in claim 5 – ¶60 of the originally filed Specification discloses that “storage units” are memory which store a byte, multiple bytes, or bits. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as such or as any equivalent thereof.
“an additional multiplier” in claims 6 and 16– The Specification as originally filed does not describe a structure for the multiplier(s).
“a first subtractor” in claims 8 and 18 – The Specification as originally filed does not describe a structure for the subtractor(s).
“a second subtractor” in claims 8 and 18 – The Specification as originally filed does not describe a structure for the subtractor(s).
“an additional processing element” in claim 15 – The Specification as originally filed does not describe a structure for the processing element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6, 8, 11, 13-16, and 18 lack written description because the limitations interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) lack corresponding structure in the Specification as originally filed.
Claims 1-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-6, 8, 11, 13-16, and 18 are indefinite because the limitations interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) lack corresponding structure in the Specification as originally filed.
Regarding claim 8, “a first subtractor and a second subtractor” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if these subtractors are a part of the plurality of first and second subtractors of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, “a plurality of processing elements” followed by the recitation of “a processing element comprising” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the recited processing element is one of the plurality and if each of the plurality of processing elements comprises what is comprised in the processing element.
Regarding claim 24, “different quantized activations different quantized weights” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “based on” applies to both activations and weights or only needs to be applied to one.
Claims 2-10 are indefinite by virtue of dependency on claim 1.
Claims 12-20 are indefinite by virtue of dependency on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-16, 18-20, 1-6, 8-10, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vantrease (US20190294413A1).
Regarding claim 11, Vantrease teaches a compute block for deep learning, the compute block comprising:
a buffer configured to store a portion of a quantized input tensor and a portion of a quantized filter (Figure 9, “Each row may also include a subtraction engine 930a, 930b, 930c, . . . , or 930d that takes quantized inputs (e.g., in UNIT8 format) and zero-point integers (e.g., in UNIT8 format) from a memory or a buffer. For example, the inputs to the subtraction engine may include an 8-bit weight W.sub.q 934, an 8-bit input data element X.sub.q 932 (e.g., a pixel of an image or a feature map), an 8-bit zero-point integer W.sub.qz 936 for the weights, and an 8-bit zero-point integer X.sub.qz 938 for the input data elements.”), the quantized input tensor comprising a plurality of quantized activations of a convolution, the quantized filter comprising a plurality of quantized weights of the convolution (“For example, the inputs to the subtraction engine may include an 8-bit weight W.sub.q 934, an 8-bit input data element X.sub.q 932 (e.g., a pixel of an image or a feature map), an 8-bit zero-point integer W.sub.qz 936 for the weights, and an 8-bit zero-point integer X.sub.qz 938 for the input data elements.”) and a processing element array configured to perform multiply-accumulate operations on the portion of the quantized input tensor and the portion of the quantized filter from the buffer (Figure 9), the processing element array comprising a plurality of processing elements (Figure 9: 920a-b with 930a-b), a processing element comprising:
a plurality of first subtractors configured to generate intermediate activations by subtracting a first constant from quantized activations in the portion of the quantized input tensor (Figure 9: 930a-b, “For example, the inputs to the subtraction engine may include an 8-bit weight W.sub.q 934, an 8-bit input data element X.sub.q 932 (e.g., a pixel of an image or a feature map), an 8-bit zero-point integer W.sub.qz 936 for the weights, and an 8-bit zero-point integer X.sub.qz 938 for the input data elements.”), a plurality of second subtractors configured to generate intermediate weights by subtracting a second constant from quantized weights in the portion of the quantized filter (Figure 9: 930a, “For example, the inputs to the subtraction engine may include an 8-bit weight W.sub.q 934, an 8-bit input data element X.sub.q 932 (e.g., a pixel of an image or a feature map), an 8-bit zero-point integer W.sub.qz 936 for the weights, and an 8-bit zero-point integer X.sub.qz 938 for the input data elements.”),
an input storage unit configured to store the intermediate activations generated by the plurality of first subtractors (“Each PE may also include sequential logic circuitries (e.g., registers, latches, state machines, etc.) to store input data, weights, and output data for the adder and multiplier circuitry, and to synchronize the flow of the data into and out of the circuitry.”),
a weight storage unit configured to store the intermediate weights generated by the plurality of second subtractors (“Each PE may also include sequential logic circuitries (e.g., registers, latches, state machines, etc.) to store input data, weights, and output data for the adder and multiplier circuitry, and to synchronize the flow of the data into and out of the circuitry.”), and
a plurality of multipliers configured to perform multiplication operations on the intermediate activations and the intermediate weights, wherein a multiplication operation by a multiplier includes a multiplication of an intermediate activation from the input storage unit and an intermediate weight from the weight storage unit (Figure 9: 922, “For example, a PE may receive an input data element and a weight (e.g., from row input bus 922) and generate, using multiplier 923, a multiplication product to represent a weighted input data element.”, also see ¶108).
Regarding claim 12, Vantrease teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, further comprising:
a memory configured to store the quantized input tensor and the quantized filter, wherein the portion of the quantized input tensor and the portions of the quantized filter are written into the buffer from the memory (¶74, the state buffer receives weights and inputs from memory).
Regarding claim 13, Vantrease teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, wherein
the processing element further comprises: an adder assembly configured to generate an intermediate output of the processing element by accumulating products generated by the plurality of multipliers (Figure 9: 925).
Regarding claim 14, Vantrease teaches all of the limitations of claim 13, wherein
the processing element further comprises: an adder assembly configured to generate an intermediate output of the processing element by accumulating products generated by the plurality of multipliers (“As described above, if X.sub.q and W.sub.q are 8-bit unsigned integers, X.sub.adj and Y.sub.adj may be 9-bit signed integers. Thus, the multiplication may be performed on 9-bit signed integers, and the product of each multiplication may be represented by, for example, an 18-bit integer. The sum Z of the products may be represented by, for example, a 32-bit integer.”); an additional multiplier configured to generate an output of the processing element by multiplying the intermediate output of the processing element with a constant, wherein the intermediate output is an integer, and the output is a floating-point number (“In the third step, the sum Z of the products from the second step may be scaled by a floating point scaling factor S.sub.XS.sub.W to convert the integer sum of products into a floating point number:”).
Regarding claim 15, Vantrease teaches all of the limitations of claim 13, wherein
the processing element array further comprises: an additional processing element configured to generate an additional intermediate output; and an accumulator configured to generate an intermediate partial sum by accumulating the intermediate output and the additional intermediate output (¶110).
Regarding claim 16, Vantrease teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, further comprising:
an additional multiplier configured to generate a partial sum by multiplying the intermediate partial sum with a constant, wherein the intermediate partial sum is an integer, and the partial sum is a floating- point number (“In the third step, the sum Z of the products from the second step may be scaled by a floating point scaling factor S.sub.XS.sub.W to convert the integer sum of products into a floating point number:”).
Regarding claim 18, Vantrease teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, wherein
each multiplier is associated with a first subtractor and a second subtractor and is configured to multiple an intermediate activation generated by the first subtractor with an intermediate weight generated by the second subtractor (Figure 9: 930a to 920a).
Regarding claim 19, Vantrease teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, wherein
the input storage unit comprises a plurality of register files, each of which is configured to store one or more intermediate activations to be used by a different multiplier of the plurality of multipliers (“Each PE may also include sequential logic circuitries (e.g., registers, latches, state machines, etc.) to store input data, weights, and output data for the adder and multiplier circuitry, and to synchronize the flow of the data into and out of the circuitry.”)
Regarding claim 20, Vantrease teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, wherein
the weight storage unit comprises a plurality of register files, each of which is configured to store one or more intermediate activations to be used by a different multiplier of the plurality of multipliers (“Each PE may also include sequential logic circuitries (e.g., registers, latches, state machines, etc.) to store input data, weights, and output data for the adder and multiplier circuitry, and to synchronize the flow of the data into and out of the circuitry.”)
Regarding claim 1, Vantrease according to claim 11 includes the processing element of claim 1 and therefore similarly anticipates claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Vantrease according to claim 13 similarly anticipates claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Vantrease according to claim 14 similarly anticipates claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Vantrease according to claim 15 similarly anticipates claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Vantrease teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, further comprising:
An output storage unit configured to store the intermediate partial sum (¶110).
Regarding claim 6, Vantrease according to claim 16 similarly anticipates claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Vantrease according to claim 18 similarly anticipates claim 8.
Regarding claims 9-10, Vantrease according to claims 19-20 similarly anticipates claims 9-10, respectively.
Regarding claim 21, Vantrease according to claim 11 performs the method of claim 21 under normal operation.
Regarding claim 22, Vantrease according to claim 15 performs the method of claim 22 under normal operation.
Regarding claim 23, Vantrease according to claim 14 performs the method of claim 23 under normal operation.
Regarding claim 24, Vantrease according to claim 16 performs the method of claim 24 under normal operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 17, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vantrease (US20190294413A1) in view of Song (US20210208885A1).
Regarding claim 17, Vantrease teaches all of the limitations of claim 13, but does not teach wherein: the adder assembly comprises a first adder and a second adder, the first adder is configured to generate a first sum by accumulating products generated by two multipliers of the plurality of multipliers, the second adder is configured to generate a second sum by accumulating products generated by two other multipliers of the plurality of multipliers, and the processing element further comprises a first pipeline register configured to store the first sum and a second pipeline register configured to store the second.
Song teaches a first adder and a second adder, the first adder is configured to generate a first sum by accumulating products generated by two multipliers of the plurality of multipliers, the second adder is configured to generate a second sum by accumulating products generated by two other multipliers of the plurality of multipliers, and the processing element further comprises a first pipeline register configured to store the first sum and a second pipeline register configured to store the second (¶74-75, products are generated and added in a tree. Each sum can be considered to be stored in its own register between adding because the values are carried over and therefore are at least temporarily stored).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an adder assembly in Vantrease which comprises a first adder and a second adder, the first adder is configured to generate a first sum by accumulating products generated by two multipliers of the plurality of multipliers, the second adder is configured to generate a second sum by accumulating products generated by two other multipliers of the plurality of multipliers, and the processing element further comprises a first pipeline register configured to store the first sum and a second pipeline register configured to store the second in order to efficiently add products into partial sums.
Regarding claims 7 and 25, Vantrease as modified according to claim 17 performs the method of claim 25 under normal operation and covers the limitations of claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chinya (US20200410327A1) discloses similar PE array structures to the claimed invention.
/SCHYLER S SANKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129