DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schledjewski et al. (US 6,524,712) in view of Osanai et al. (JPH 09221640), Meltzer et al. (US 8,273,845) and Xia et al. (CN 204712422).
Regarding claim 1, Schledjewski teaches multilayer films, which may be formed by coextrusion methods, comprising at least one first layer of thermoplastic polyurethane (“a first thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) glue layer”), at least one second layer of a thermoplastic elastomer, and optionally a third layer of thermoplastic polyurethane which may be the same as the first layer (“a third TPU glue layer”) (Col. 2, Lines 17-25; Col. 5, Lines 29-37). The first and the third films are further taught to have a Shore A hardness of 70 to 95 (Col. 2, Line 55). Additionally, the films are desirably used in closed-filled articles which are formed from art-recognized thermoforming processes yielding multilayer sheets including co-extrusion methods (Col. 5, Lines 42-58; Col. 5, Lines 29-37).
Schledjewski is silent with respect to the second layer having a shore hardness of from 40A to 70A. However, Schledjewski teaches the combination of a softer thermoplastic elastomer with a thermoplastic polyurethane provides the films with desired flexibility and mechanical strength (Col. 1, Lines 5-15; Col. 4, Lines 26-32).
Meltzer teaches soft, hydrophobic, semi-crystalline, thermoplastic polyurethane compositions which have a shore A hardness of 40 to 70 (Col. 1, Lines 11-15). The compositions provide a softer feel to users and when provided with a harder substrate further provides a strength necessary for the articles such as protective coatings (Col. 1, Lines 26-38; Col. 2, Lines 3-34). The compositions are further taught to have melting points of at least 90°C (Col. 3, Lines 29-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the second thermoplastic elastomer layer of Schledjewski, which is taught to be softer than the first thermoplastic polyurethane layer, such that the second layer is formed from the soft polyurethane compositions with a shore hardness from 40A to 70A and a melting point of at least 90°C such that including this softer layer combined with the harder layer provides a softer feel in combination with desired strength as taught by Meltzer. Furthermore, the lower limit of the resulting second TPU layer is lower than the lower limits of the first and third TPU layers rendering the limitation of “a lower limit of the hardness of the second TPU glue layer is less than a lower limit of the hardness of the first TPU glue layer and a lower limit of the hardness of the third TPU glue layer” as obvious.
Schledjewski is silent with respect to the melting point of the second thermoplastic elastomer layer being higher than the first and third TPU layers.
Osanai teaches a hot melt adhesive obtained by hot molding a thermoplastic polyurethane resin which has low temperature flexibility and adhesive strength (Paragraph [0001]). The hardness of the adhesives is between 65 and 90 in order to provide sufficient film formation and flexibility (Paragraph [0013]). The initial flow temperature of the adhesives is between 80 and 150°C for sufficient film formation and desirable adhesiveness (Paragraph [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the first and third layers to have an initial flow temperature of between 80 and 150°C for sufficient film formation and desirable adhesiveness as taught by Osanai. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the range of 80 and 150°C includes values from 80 to 89°C which is lower than the melting point of the second TPU layer of 90°C or greater as taught by Meltzer rendering the limitation of “a melting point of the second TPU glue layer is higher than a melting point of the first TPU glue layer and a melting point of the third TPU glue layer” as obvious.
Schledjewski is silent with respect to the first, second and third layers being formed such that the water content is less than 300 ppm.
Xia teaches methods of improving TPU raw materials (Paragraph [0002]). The formation of TPU is preferably done to have a water content of less than 500 ppm in order to prevent the water content from having a significant impact on product performance (Paragraph [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the first, second and third layers, formed from thermoplastic polyurethane, to have water contents of less than 500 ppm in order to prevent impact on product performance utilizing TPU as taught by Xia.
Regarding claim 2, Schledjewski teaches the multilayer films as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Schledjewski is silent with respect to the multilayer films having a processing temperature of 100-150°C.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that identical structures formed from identical methods would have identical properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
As discussed above, the combination of Schledjewski, Osanai and Meltzer teaches the final structure of the elastic hot glue of claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above, Schledjewski teaches the formation of the multilayer films through co-extrusion methods and the instant specification teaches the same (See Embodiment 1).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical materials/methods of the combination of Schledjewski, Osanai, and Meltzer and applicant’s invention would result in identical properties, including having a processing temperature of 100-150°C.
Regarding claim 3, Schledjewski teaches the multilayer films as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Schledjewski is silent with respect to the multilayer films having a hardness of 40-80 A.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that identical structures formed from identical methods would have identical properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
As discussed above, the combination of Schledjewski, Osanai and Meltzer teaches the final structure of the elastic hot glue of claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above, Schledjewski teaches the formation of the multilayer films through co-extrusion methods and the instant specification teaches the same (See Embodiment 1).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical materials/methods of the combination of Schledjewski, Osanai, and Meltzer and applicant’s invention would result in identical properties, including having a hardness of 40-80 A.
Regarding claim 4, Schledjewski teaches the multilayer films as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Schledjewski is silent with respect to the multilayer films having a tensile strength of 40 to 180 kgf/cm2.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that identical structures formed from identical methods would have identical properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
As discussed above, the combination of Schledjewski, Osanai and Meltzer teaches the final structure of the elastic hot glue of claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above, Schledjewski teaches the formation of the multilayer films through co-extrusion methods and the instant specification teaches the same (See Embodiment 1).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical materials/methods of the combination of Schledjewski, Osanai, and Meltzer and applicant’s invention would result in identical properties, including having a tensile strength of 40 to 180 kgf/cm2.
Regarding claim 5, Schledjewski teaches the multilayer films as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Schledjewski is silent with respect to the multilayer films having an elongation of 800 to 1200%.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that identical structures formed from identical methods would have identical properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
As discussed above, the combination of Schledjewski, Osanai and Meltzer teaches the final structure of the elastic hot glue of claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above, Schledjewski teaches the formation of the multilayer films through co-extrusion methods and the instant specification teaches the same (See Embodiment 1).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical materials/methods of the combination of Schledjewski, Osanai, and Meltzer and applicant’s invention would result in identical properties, including having an elongation of 800 to 1200%.
Regarding claim 6, Schledjewski teaches the multilayer films as discussed above with respect to claim 1. The films have a thickness of 50 to 600 microns (0.05 to 0.6 mm) (Col. 5, Lines 22-28).
Regarding claim 7, Schledjewski teaches the multilayer films as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Schledjewski is silent with respect to the multilayer films having a peeling strength between 3000 cN and 6000 cN after 25 cycles of washing and drying at 60°C.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that identical structures formed from identical methods would have identical properties. MPEP 2112.01: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
As discussed above, the combination of Schledjewski, Osanai and Meltzer teaches the final structure of the elastic hot glue of claim 1. Furthermore, as discussed above, Schledjewski teaches the formation of the multilayer films through co-extrusion methods and the instant specification teaches the same (See Embodiment 1).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the identical materials/methods of the combination of Schledjewski, Osanai, and Meltzer and applicant’s invention would result in identical properties, including having a peeling strength between 3000 cN and 6000 cN after 25 cycles of washing and drying at 60°C.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed 01/07/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
On pages 5-8, applicant argues that none of the cited references teaches each of the first, second and third TPU glue layers having a water content of less than 300 ppm.
The examiner concedes in that none of the references of Schledjewski, Osanai and Meltzer teach this amendment to the claim. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Xia which teaches the formulation of thermoplastic polyurethanes with less than 500 ppm, overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783