DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 6/11/26, amended claim(s) 9, 17, 21, and 23 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “direction of the first axis is indicated on the PCB,” as recited in claim 5; the “direction of the second axis is indicated on the PCB,” as recited in claim 6; the “direction of the third axis is indicated on the PCB,” as recited in claim 8; “direction of the first axis is indicated on the PCB,” as recited in claim 13; “direction of the second axis is indicated on the PCB,” as recited in claim 13; and “direction of the third axis is indicated on the PCB,” as recited in claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The amendment filed 8/12/25 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: newly amended Fig. 22A with markings on the printed circuit board.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 9, the claim term “the first accelerator” lacks antecedent basis. The claim is examined as finding antecedence the “first accelerometer” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0212612 to Hohl et al. (hereinafter “Hohl”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,216,537 to Henschel et al. (hereinafter “Henschel”).
For claim 1, Hohl discloses a medical device (Abstract) comprising:
a housing (103) (Fig. 1) (para [0043]), comprising a first end (first end of 103) and a second end (second end of 103), wherein the first end and the second end of the housing are opposite ends of the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 1);
a printed circuit board (PCB) (“printed circuit board (PCB),” para [0053]) (also see para [0055], [0085]-[0086] and [0088]), housed in the housing (see “connector 336” in Fig. 3 and para [0088]) and extending in a direction that is from the first end to the second end of the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3), comprising a planar surface (unlabeled, but as can be seen in Figs. 10B-D);
a processor (304) (Fig. 3) (para [0052]), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]), wherein the processor is coupled to the planar surface of the PCB (as can be seen in Fig. 3) (para [0053]) (also see para [0085]-[0086]);
a memory (312/315) (Fig. 3) (para [0052]), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]), wherein the memory is coupled to the planar surface of the PCB and is coupled to the processor (as can be seen in Fig. 3) (para [0053]) (also see para [0085]-[0086]);
a display (307) (Fig. 3) (para [0052]), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]), wherein the display is coupled to the processor (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]), is visible from an exterior of the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 7) and is located at the first end of the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]);
a sensor head (338) (Fig. 7) (para [0054]), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 7), wherein the sensor head is located at the second end of the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 7); and
a first accelerometer (“one or more accelerometers,” para [0064]) (as can be seen in Fig. 3, the accelerometer being part of element 319), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]), wherein the first accelerometer is coupled to the processor (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]),
the first accelerometer comprises a first axis about which a first detection of a first acceleration direction is detectable (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) with respect to a direction for an acceleration of gravity vector (para [0065]) (Examiner’s Note: this is going to depend on the orientation of the device relative to gravity) (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]), such that the first accelerometer can (Examiner’s Note: i.e., capable of) detect rotation of the first and second ends of the housing with respect to the direction of the acceleration-of-gravity vector when the first axis is at non-zero angle with respect to the direction of the acceleration-of-gravity vector (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]).
Hohl does not expressly disclose wherein the first accelerometer is coupled to the planar surface of the PCB and that the first axis is perpendicular to the planar surface of the PCB that the first accelerometer is coupled to.
However, Henschel teaches wherein a first accelerometer is coupled to a planar surface of a PCB (as can be seen in Fig. 3) and that a first axis is perpendicular to the planar surface of the PCB that the first accelerometer is coupled to (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein the first accelerometer is coupled to the planar surface of the PCB and that the first axis is perpendicular to the planar surface of the PCB that the first accelerometer is coupled to, in view of the teachings of Henschel, for the obvious advantage of fixing the accelerometer and PCB together so that movement of the accelerometer can be calibrated to movement of the PCB, so that no transforms need to be performed to get an accurate determination of movements/gestures by the user, which is what Hohl wants to do (see para [0065]-[0067] of Hohl).
For claim 2, Hohl further discloses wherein the first accelerometer comprises a second axis about which a second detection of a second acceleration direction is detectable (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) with respect to a direction for the acceleration of gravity (para [0065]), and the second axis extends through the first end and the second end of the housing (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]).
For claim 3, Hohl further discloses wherein the second axis extends through the first end and the second end of the housing, such that (Examiner’s Note: intended use, i.e., capable of) the first accelerometer can detect rotation of the first and second ends of the housing with respect to the direction of the acceleration-of-gravity vector when the second axis is at non-zero angle with respect to the direction (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]).
For claim 4, Hohl, as modified, further discloses wherein the second axis is parallel to the planar surface of the PCB that the first accelerometer is coupled to (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]).
For claim 7, Hohl, as modified, further discloses wherein the first accelerometer comprises a third axis for a third detection of a third acceleration direction (para [0065]), and the third axis extends parallel to the planar surface of the PCB that the first accelerometer is coupled to (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]).
For claim 9, Hohl further discloses wherein the first accelerometers is not located at a center of the PCB (para [0064], the accelerometer being part of element 319, which may include element 307, which is shown at one side of the housing in Fig. 7).
For claim 10, Hohl further discloses wherein the first accelerometer is located closer to a side of the housing than to a center of the housing (para [0064], the accelerometer being part of element 319, which may include element 307, which is shown at one side of the housing in Fig. 7).
For claim 11, Hohl further discloses wherein the first accelerometer is located closer to the display than to the sensor head (para [0064]).
For claim 12, Hohl, as modified, further discloses a second accelerometer (332) (Fig. 3) (para [0070]), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (para [0052]), wherein the second accelerometer is coupled to the planar surface of the PCB and is coupled to the processor (as can be seen in Fig. 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]), the second accelerometer comprises a second axis for (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) a second detection of a second acceleration direction with respect to a direction for the acceleration of gravity (para [0065]), and the second axis is parallel to the planar surface of the PCB that the second accelerometer is coupled to (Examiner’s Note: this is going to depend on the orientation of the device relative to gravity) (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]), such that the second accelerometer can (Examiner’s Note: i.e., capable of) detect rotation of the first and second ends of the housing with respect to the direction of the acceleration-of-gravity vector when the second axis is at non-zero angle with respect to the direction (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]).
Claim(s) 5-6, 8, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohl in view of Henschel, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0214051 to Larson et al. (hereinafter “Larson”).
For claim 5, Hohl does not expressly disclose wherein a direction of the first axis is indicated on the PCB.
However, Larson teaches that “to aid in orienting the sensor with respect to the patient, in some embodiments the sensor can have indicia to allow for proper placement on the patient. In particular, the housing unit, which houses the accelerometer, can provide a surface for the desired indicia which can be as a mark, arrow, or icon indicating proper orientation” (para [0148]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein a direction of the first axis is indicated on the PCB, in view of the teachings of Larson, for the obvious advantage of providing a proper orientation of the accelerometer relative to the patient.
For claim 6, Hohl does not expressly disclose wherein a direction of the second axis is indicated on the PCB.
However, Larson teaches that “to aid in orienting the sensor with respect to the patient, in some embodiments the sensor can have indicia to allow for proper placement on the patient. In particular, the housing unit, which houses the accelerometer, can provide a surface for the desired indicia which can be as a mark, arrow, or icon indicating proper orientation” (para [0148]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein a direction of the second axis is indicated on the PCB, in view of the teachings of Larson, for the obvious advantage of providing a proper orientation of the accelerometer relative to the patient.
For claim 8, Hohl does not expressly disclose wherein a direction of the third axis is indicated on the PCB.
However, Larson teaches that “to aid in orienting the sensor with respect to the patient, in some embodiments the sensor can have indicia to allow for proper placement on the patient. In particular, the housing unit, which houses the accelerometer, can provide a surface for the desired indicia which can be as a mark, arrow, or icon indicating proper orientation” (para [0148]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein a direction of the third axis is indicated on the PCB, in view of the teachings of Larson, for the obvious advantage of providing a proper orientation of the accelerometer relative to the patient.
For claim 13, Hohl discloses a medical device (Abstract) comprising:
a housing (103) (Fig. 1) (para [0043]), comprising a first end (first end of 103) and a second end (second end of 103), wherein the first end and the second end of the housing are opposite ends of the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 1);
a printed circuit board (PCB) (“printed circuit board (PCB),” para [0053]) (also see para [0055], [0085]-[0086] and [0088]), housed in the housing (see “connector 336” in Fig. 3 and para [0088]) and extending in a direction that is from the first end to the second end of the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3), comprising a planar surface (unlabeled, but as can be seen in Figs. 10B-D);
a processor (304) (Fig. 3) (para [0052]), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]), wherein the processor is coupled to the planar surface of the PCB (as can be seen in Fig. 3) (para [0053]) (also see para [0085]-[0086]);
a memory (312/315) (Fig. 3) (para [0052]), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]), wherein the memory is coupled to the planar surface of the PCB and is coupled to the processor (as can be seen in Fig. 3) (para [0053]) (also see para [0085]-[0086]);
a display (307) (Fig. 3) (para [0052]), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]), wherein the display is coupled to the processor (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]), is visible from an exterior of the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 7) and is located at the first end of the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]);
a sensor head (338) (Fig. 7) (para [0054]), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 7), wherein the sensor head is located at the second end of the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 7); and
an accelerometer (“one or more accelerometers,” para [0064]) (as can be seen in Fig. 3, the accelerometer being part of element 319), housed in the housing (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]) closer to a side of the housing than to a center of the housing (para [0064], the accelerometer being part of element 319, which may include element 307, which is shown at one side of the housing in Fig. 7) and located closer to the display than to the sensor head (para [0064]), wherein the accelerometer is located on the PCB and is coupled to the processor (as can be seen in Figs. 1 and 3) (also see para [0053] and [0085]-[0086]),
the accelerometer comprises a first axis about which a first detection of a first acceleration direction is detectable (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) with respect to a direction for the acceleration of gravity (para [0065]),
the first axis is perpendicular to a surface of the PCB that the accelerometer is located on (Examiner’s Note: this is going to depend on the orientation of the device relative to gravity) (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]), such that the accelerometer can (Examiner’s Note: i.e., capable of) detect rotation of the first and second ends of the housing with respect to the direction of an acceleration-of-gravity vector when the first axis is at non-zero angle with respect to the direction of the acceleration-of-gravity vector (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]), and
the accelerometer comprises a second axis for (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) a second detection of a second acceleration direction with respect to a direction for the acceleration of gravity (para [0065]), and the second axis extends parallel to an axis that extends through the first end and the second end of the housing (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]).
Hohl does not expressly disclose wherein the first accelerometer is coupled to the planar surface of the PCB and that the first axis is perpendicular to the planar surface of the PCB that the first accelerometer is coupled to.
However, Henschel teaches wherein a first accelerometer is coupled to a planar surface of a PCB (as can be seen in Fig. 3) and that a first axis is perpendicular to the planar surface of the PCB that the first accelerometer is coupled to (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein the first accelerometer is coupled to the planar surface of the PCB and that the first axis is perpendicular to the planar surface of the PCB that the first accelerometer is coupled to, in view of the teachings of Henschel, for the obvious advantage of fixing the accelerometer and PCB together so that movement of the accelerometer can be calibrated to movement of the PCB, so that no transforms need to be performed to get an accurate determination of movements/gestures by the user, which is what Hohl wants to do (see para [0065]-[0067] of Hohl).
Hohl and does not expressly disclose a direction of the first axis is indicated on the PCB and a direction of the second axis is indicated on the PCB.
However, Larson teaches that “to aid in orienting the sensor with respect to the patient, in some embodiments the sensor can have indicia to allow for proper placement on the patient. In particular, the housing unit, which houses the accelerometer, can provide a surface for the desired indicia which can be as a mark, arrow, or icon indicating proper orientation” (para [0148]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl such that a direction of the first axis is indicated on the PCB and a direction of the second axis is indicated on the PCB, in view of the teachings of Larson, for the obvious advantage of providing a proper orientation of the accelerometer relative to the patient.
For claim 14, Hohl, as modified, further discloses wherein the second axis is parallel to the planar surface of the PCB that the accelerometer is coupled to (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]).
For claim 15, Hohl, as modified, further discloses wherein the accelerometer comprises a third axis for a third detection of a third acceleration direction (para [0065]), and the third axis extends parallel to the planar surface of the PCB that the accelerometer is coupled to (para [0064]-[0067] and [0069]).
For claim 16, Hohl does not expressly disclose wherein a direction of the third axis is indicated on the PCB.
However, Larson teaches that “to aid in orienting the sensor with respect to the patient, in some embodiments the sensor can have indicia to allow for proper placement on the patient. In particular, the housing unit, which houses the accelerometer, can provide a surface for the desired indicia which can be as a mark, arrow, or icon indicating proper orientation” (para [0148]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein a direction of the third axis is indicated on the PCB, in view of the teachings of Larson, for the obvious advantage of providing a proper orientation of the accelerometer relative to the patient.
Claim(s) 17-19 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohl in view of Henschel and Larson, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0347899 to Bhushan et al. (hereinafter “Bhushan”).
For claim 17, Hohl, Henschel, and Larson do not expressly disclose wherein the accelerometer is not located at a center of the PCB.
However, Bhushan teaches wherein the accelerometer is not located at a center of the PCB (as can be seen in Fig. 2) (also see para [0099]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein the accelerometer is not located at a center of the PCB, in view of the teachings of Bhushan, because such an arrangement of parts is a suitable arrangement of the different components that would lead to the predictable result of being able to sense the acceleration of the PCB.
For claim 18, Hohl, Henschel, and Larson do not expressly disclose wherein the accelerometer is located closer to a side of the housing than to a center of the housing.
However, Bhushan teaches wherein the accelerometer is located closer to a side of the housing than to a center of the housing (as can be seen in Fig. 2) (also see para [0099]) (also see “casing” in para [0027]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein the accelerometer is located closer to a side of the housing than to a center of the housing, in view of the teachings of Bhushan, because such an arrangement of parts is a suitable arrangement of the different components that would lead to the predictable result of being able to sense the acceleration of the PCB.
For claim 19, Hohl further discloses wherein the accelerometer is located closer to the display than to the sensor head (para [0064]).
For claim 22, Hohl, Henschel, and Larson do not expressly disclose wherein the accelerometer is not located at a center of the PCB.
However, Bhushan teaches wherein the accelerometer is not located at a center of the PCB (as can be seen in Fig. 2) (also see para [0099]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein the accelerometer is not located at a center of the PCB, in view of the teachings of Bhushan, because such an arrangement of parts is a suitable arrangement of the different components that would lead to the predictable result of being able to sense the acceleration of the PCB.
For claim 23, Hohl, Henschel, and Larson do not expressly disclose wherein the accelerometer is coupled to the PCB nearer to a side of the PCB than a center of the PCB.
However, Bhushan teaches wherein the accelerometer is coupled to the PCB nearer to a side of the PCB than a center of the PCB (as can be seen in Fig. 2) (also see para [0099]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein the accelerometer is coupled to the PCB nearer to a side of the PCB than a center of the PCB, in view of the teachings of Bhushan, because such an arrangement of parts is a suitable arrangement of the different components that would lead to the predictable result of being able to sense the acceleration of the PCB.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohl in view of Henschel, and further in view of Bhushan.
For claim 20, Hohl and Henschel do not expressly disclose wherein the accelerometer is not located at a center of the PCB.
However, Bhushan teaches wherein the accelerometer is not located at a center of the PCB (as can be seen in Fig. 2) (also see para [0099]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein the accelerometer is not located at a center of the PCB, in view of the teachings of Bhushan, because such an arrangement of parts is a suitable arrangement of the different components that would lead to the predictable result of being able to sense the acceleration of the PCB.
For claim 21, Hohl and Henschel do not expressly disclose wherein the accelerometer is coupled to the PCB nearer to a side of the PCB than a center of the PCB.
However, Bhushan teaches wherein the accelerometer is coupled to the PCB nearer to a side of the PCB than a center of the PCB (as can be seen in Fig. 2) (also see para [0099]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Hohl wherein the accelerometer is coupled to the PCB nearer to a side of the PCB than a center of the PCB, in view of the teachings of Bhushan, because such an arrangement of parts is a suitable arrangement of the different components that would lead to the predictable result of being able to sense the acceleration of the PCB.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/26 have been fully considered. They will be treated in the order presented in the response.
With respect to the objection to the drawings, the examiner cannot tell whether the newly amended drawings are introducing a new marking on the PCB or whether the amendment is supposed to be imaginary giving a reference for a coordinate frame for the drawing. The examiner has issued an objection to the drawings and an objection to the specification to cover either scenario.
With respect to the objection to the specification, originally-filed claims 5-6, 8, 13, and 16 do not provide full support for newly amended Fig. 22A. For example, without limitation, none of originally-filed claims 5-6, 8, 13, and 16 where the indication is located on the PCB, but Fig. 22A depicts exactly where the directions of the different axes are indicated on the PCB.
With respect to the 103 rejections, the first argument is directed towards the intended use of the device (i.e., the response argues “[t]he accelerometer in the present invention is not intended to measure the motion of the patient” (emphasis added), see page 8 of the response). However, claims 1 and 13 are apparatus-type claims as evidenced by a “medical device” recited in the preamble of the claims and apparatus-type claims are defined by structure instead of function/intended use. A functional limitation is construed as having the full breath of its ordinary meaning such that if the prior art is capable of performing the function, then prior art reads on the functional limitation. Innova/Pure Water Inc. v. Safari Water Filtration Sys. Inc., 381 F.3d 1111, 1117-20, 72 USPQ2d 1001, 1020 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Here, Henschel’s accelerometer is capable of performing the claimed function/intended use. With respect to the second argument, a skilled artisan would look at Henschel because both Hohl and Henschel are in the field of medical devices. If a skilled artisan were to consider the medical device of Hohl, naturally the skilled artisan would consider other medical devices. Whether the sensor moves with the patient or relative to the patient based on the user’s hand movement is just a function and/or intended use of the accelerometer, both which are structurally capable by Henschel’s accelerometer. With respect to the third argument, so is Applicant’s saying placing an accelerometer on a PCB is a “basic industry practice” (see page 9 of the response)? If so, then Applicant’s admission can be used to modify Hohl to place the accelerometer on the PCB. Additionally, there is no hindsight because the motivation for the 103 rejection is “for the obvious advantage of fixing the accelerometer and PCB together so that movement of the accelerometer can be calibrated to movement of the PCB, so that no transforms need to be performed to get an accurate determination of movements/gestures by the user, which is what Hohl wants to do.” Nowhere in Applicant’s specification is that advantage recognized. So the motivation is pulled from a source exterior to the four corners of Applicant’s specification, making the motivation not gleaned from Applicant’s disclosure. With respect to the fourth argument, Henschel is not being modified, so there I no principle of operation that is frustrated. The MPEP explicitly states “If the proposed modification or combination of the prior art would change the principle of operation of the prior art invention being modified…” (emphasis added) (see MPEP 2143.01). Henschel is not being modified. With respect to the fifth argument, Hohl qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(1) because it has a prior public availability date, so none of the 102(b)(2) exceptions apply. Hohl was published on 7/15/21, which is prior to 10/18/21 (the EFD of the instant claim set). With respect to the sixth argument, Larson is not being modified and therefore Larson’s purposes can’t be frustrated (see the explanation with respect to the fourth argument above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791