DETAILED ACTION
As previously set forth: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
As previously set forth: Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, collagen, methacrylic acid, refractive index 1.5, not hydrated, hydroxyethyl methacrylate, 2-(2’-methacryloxy-5’methylphenyl)benzotriazole, ethyeneglycol dimethacrylate in the reply filed on 12/12/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-9, 15-17, 19-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/12/25.
Priority
As previously set forth: The claims have an effective date of the provisional application filed 10/22/21
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Phopase’s Ex 3 describes combining MA-collagen not merely with a single other monomer but with multiple different species. Applicant argues Table 2 of Phopase confirms the combination of MA-collagen with HEMA and PEGDA. Applicant argues because MA-collagen carries multiple methacrylate groups and because there are multiple other reactants the Office has not met the burden of showing which reaction occurs nor showing that the specific bond formation of claim 1 is met.
The Examiner disagrees. Phopase’s examples are directly relatable to Applicant’s invention. See instant figure 1. The instant specification is mixing MA-collagen with additional monomers such as HEMA and EDGMA (different but similar to the PEGDA of Phopase), initiating and forming a crosslinked product. This crosslinked product is Applicant’s invention (see Applicant’s specification and examples). Phospase is creating the same end product, e.g. mixing different monomers with the MA-collagen and crosslinking. Since there are multiple reaction sites on MA-collagen one expects the MA-collagen to react with any and all monomers therein, creating direct bonds with each component. This meets the claimed method of manufacture and is akin to the same end product embraced and desired by Applicant’s claims and invention. Arguments herein are thusly not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sanyal does not meet the instant claims for similar reasons as Phopase, e.g. Sanyal does not disclose that the DTX-GFLG-MA monomer directly bonds to a PEGMEMA unit as opposed to another DTX-GFLG-MA.
The Examiner disagrees. There is no hierarchy in the reaction of Sanyal. There will be reactions between PEGMEMA and DTX-GFLG-MA, as well as reactions between two (or even the same) DTX-GFLG-MA compounds. This is not excluded by the claims, nor is it contrary to what Applicant is doing. Applicant is forming the same type of end crosslinked product. Arguments herein are thusly not persuasive.
Applicant argues the inherency principle applies only when the prior art composition is shown to be substantially identical to the claimed structure and since claim 18 depends from claim 10 which requires direct reaction a refractive index inherency position can not be properly made.
The Examiner disagrees. The claimed structure is met, as set forth above. It is thusly appropriate to find the refractive index of claim 18 to be embraced by the reference. Applicant is welcome to show data to the contrary however without such Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive. As such the rejection stands as previously set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Phopase (EP 6043835).
Elements of this rejection are as previously set forth, reiterated below in its entirety in italics
Phopase discloses transparent hydrogel compositions (title). Reference Example 2 [0061-0063] discloses methacrylation of collagen wherein collagen [meeting the bioactive agent of claim 1] is reacted with methacrylic anhydride [meeting the moiety of claim 1] to form MA-collagen [meeting the bioactive monomer of claim 1]. Reference Example 3 [0066] discloses mixing the MA-collagen with monomers such as the elected hydroxyethyl methacrylate [meeting the other monomers of claim 1] and reacting via exposure to UV to form a polymer gel [meeting the performing a copolymerization, and, the manufacturing of a bioactive polymer]. Elements above meet claim 1. Elements above also meet claim 2 since this polymer is an acrylate (a type of an acrylic polymer). Collagen meets claims 3-5 and hydroxyethyl methacrylate, as above, meets claim 6. The methacrylic anhydride is an alkenyl moiety, thus elements above meet claim 10. Elements above further meet claims 11-14.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sanyal (US 2019/0321479).
Elements of this rejection are as previously set forth, reiterated below in its entirety in italics
Sanyal discloses cleavable polymer drug composites (title). Said composites are exemplified, see Example 2 wherein docetaxel [meeting a bioactive agent] is conjugated to a methacrylate moiety [meeting the moiety] to produce a docetaxel-MA monomer [meeting the bioactive monomer]. Example 3 copolymerizes the docetaxel-MA with polyethylene glycol methyl ether methacrylate PEGMEMA [meeting the other monomer lacking a bioactive agent], the copolymer thereof meets the bioactive polymer of claim 1. The end copolymer is an acrylic polymer, as required by claim 2, and docetaxel is a therapeutic agent, as required by claim 3. Alternatively, proteins may be attached to the monomer [0051]. Choosing one element from a list is still deemed anticipated, thus alternatively anticipating claim 3. The PEGMEMA is a methacrylate compound, as required by claim 6. The methacrylate portion of the Docetaxel-MA of Ex 2 meets the first alkenyl moiety of claim 10, the other elements thereof already discussed above. Elements above further meet claims 11-12. The PEGMEMA is an acrylate ester, as required by claim 13 and is also a methacrylate compound as required by claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Phopase.
Elements of this rejection are as previously set forth, reiterated below in its entirety in italics
Phopase includes elements as set forth above. Phospase exemplifies and embraces the same monomers as instantly claimed (hydroxyethyl methacrylate and MA-collagen), thus the refractive index of the claims is expected to be met or embraced by the reference.
If there is any difference between the product of the reference and the product of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 USC 102 and 103. "There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 USC 103 and for anticipation under 35 USC 102." See MPEP 2112(III) and In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sanyal.
Elements of this rejection are as previously set forth, reiterated below in its entirety in italics
Sanyal includes elements as set forth above. Sanyal exemplifies and embraces monomers of the same genus of that as instantly claimed (various acrylates), thus the refractive index of the claims is expected to be met or embraced by the reference.
If there is any difference between the product of the reference and the product of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 USC 102 and 103. "There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 USC 103 and for anticipation under 35 USC 102." See MPEP 2112(III) and In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA BLAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759