Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to
determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is
requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the
specification.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. These claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As to claim 1,
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed to a method. Therefore, the claim is eligible under Step 1 for being directed to processes.
Step 2A Prong One
Claim 1 recites
accessing one or more antenna elements; (mental process)
identifying one or more parameters for an antenna that is to be formed using the accessed antenna elements; (mental process)
and assembling the antenna elements into an assembled antenna that at least partially complies with the identified parameters. (mental process)
The claimed concept is a method of determining antenna design which complies identified parameters directed to “Mental Process” grouping. These limitations can be performed in a human mind or using pen and paper.
Therefore, claim 1 is an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two
Claim 1 recites “using an artificial intelligence (AI) instance” which amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception in accordance with MPEP 2106.05(f) (1) and (3). For example, the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Therefore, claim 1 is an abstract idea.
Note that, simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim as a whole does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See applicant’s specification Fig 1 [0024] for generic computer description.
Step 2B:
The same analysis of Step 2A Prong Two applies here in 2B. The present claim does not recite any limitation that would integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
In particular, the claim limitations do not recite a combination of additional elements that tie or “integrate the invention into a practical application”.
Thus, claim 1 is not patent eligible. Same conclusion for dependent claims of claim 1. See below.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the AI instance assembles the antenna elements into the assembled antenna without knowledge of other antenna architectures. (mental process)
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising accessing one or more antenna architectures and, wherein the AI instance uses the accessed antenna architectures as background knowledge when assembling the antenna elements into the assembled antenna. (mental process)
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising decomposing one or more antenna architectures to identify the one or more antenna elements. (mental process)
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein a same antenna architecture is decomposed into a plurality of different antenna elements. (mental process)
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a same set of antenna elements are assembled into a plurality of different assembled antennas. (mental process)
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the plurality of different assembled antennas are of one or more different antenna types. (mental process)
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the parameters specify a layout size constraint for the assembled antenna. (mental process)
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the parameters specify one or more minimum performance characteristics for the assembled antenna. (mental process)
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising optimizing the assembled antenna to improve one or more operational characteristics. (mental process)
11. The computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein the AI instance accesses an indication of which operational characteristics are most significant and optimizes the assembled antenna for at least one of the indicated operational characteristics. (mental process)
Same conclusion for independent claims 12 and 20 and dependent claims. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In particular, the claim limitations do not recite a combination of additional elements that tie or “integrate the invention into a practical application”.
Thus, claims 1-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao et al (Multiparameter Modeling With ANN for Antenna Design, 2018), hereinafter Xiao.
1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
Xiao discloses accessing one or more antenna elements; identifying one or more parameters for an antenna that is to be formed using the accessed antenna elements; and
Xiao (page 3718-3719)
Examiner considers “obtain” as “accessing” and “extract” as “identifying”.
Xiao discloses assembling the antenna elements, using an artificial intelligence (AI) instance, into an assembled antenna that at least partially complies with the identified parameters.
Xiao (page 3720 “Application Example)
Examiner considers “assembling antenna elements” as defined in the applicant’s specification para [0051] which is taught in figures 5 and 6 of Xiao. Also, “using AI instance” is considered as “training and testing” (also see abstract for additional details).
Regarding Claim 12, the same ground of rejection is made as discussed above for substantially similar rationale.
In addition, Claim 12 recites “at least one physical processor; and physical memory comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the physical processor”.
Xiao discloses at least one physical processor; and physical memory comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the physical processor (page 3720)
Regarding Claim 20, the same ground of rejection is made as discussed above for substantially similar rationale.
In addition, Claim 20 recites “non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing device”
Xiao discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing device (page 3720)
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, Xiao discloses wherein the AI instance assembles the antenna elements into the assembled antenna without knowledge of other antenna architectures.
Xiao (page 3720 “Application Example”)
Examiner consider the ANN training as “AI instance” and it is focusing in the design of FP resonator antenna.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising accessing one or more antenna architectures and, wherein the AI instance uses the accessed antenna architectures as background knowledge when assembling the antenna elements into the assembled antenna.
Xiao (page 3719 “B. Training Process of Branch 1”)
Examiner considers “initial fitting vector” correspond to the AI instance uses the accessed antenna architectures as background knowledge.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising decomposing one or more antenna architectures to identify the one or more antenna elements.
Xiao (page 3719)
Examiner considers “classify” as “decompose”.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein a same antenna architecture is decomposed into a plurality of different antenna elements.
Xiao (page 3719)
Examiner considers “classify” as “decompose”.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a same set of antenna elements are assembled into a plurality of different assembled antennas.
Xiao (page 3720 “Application Example”)
Examiner considers case 1 and 2 correspond to a plurality of different assembled antennas.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the plurality of different assembled antennas are of one or more different antenna types.
Xiao (page 3720 “Application Example)
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the parameters specify a layout size constraint for the assembled antenna.
Xiao (page 3720 “Application Example)
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the parameters specify one or more minimum performance characteristics for the assembled antenna.
Xiao (page 3720 “Application Example”) See Table 1.
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising optimizing the assembled antenna to improve one or more operational characteristics.
Xiao (page 3722 “E. Application of Optimization”)
11. The computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein the AI instance accesses an indication of which operational characteristics are most significant and optimizes the assembled antenna for at least one of the indicated operational characteristics.
Xiao (page 3722 “E. Application of Optimization”)
14. The system of claim 12, wherein the identified parameters limit a width and/or a height for at least one of the antenna elements and/or for the assembled antenna.
Xiao (page 3720 “Application Example)
18. The system of claim 12, wherein the assembled antenna is provided to a simulation model for a performance simulation.
Xiao (page 3721-3722) “D. Comprehensive Test”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al (Multiparameter Modeling With ANN for Antenna Design, 2018), hereinafter Xiao, in view of Koziel et al (NPL: Accurate Modeling of Antenna Structures by Means of Domain Confinement and Pyramidal Deep Neural Networks, March 2022), hereinafter Koziel.
13. The system of claim 12, Xiao does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the identified parameters limit which locations one or more of the antenna elements is placeable within an electronic device.
However, Koziel disclose wherein the identified parameters limit which locations one or more of the antenna elements is placeable within an electronic device on (page 2174) “Introduction”.
Xiao and Koziel are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” antenna design.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xiao and Koziel before him or her, to modify the method of Xiao to include the surrogate model feature of Koziel because this combination improves the performance of the model.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Koziel (page 2175).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xiao and Koziel to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
15. The system of claim 12, Xiao does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the assembled antenna is analyzed by a surrogate model to identify one or more operational characteristics of the assembled antenna.
However, Koziel disclose wherein the assembled antenna is analyzed by a surrogate model to identify one or more operational characteristics of the assembled antenna on (page 2178-2179) “C. PDRN Architecture Search via BO”
Xiao and Koziel are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” antenna design.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xiao and Koziel before him or her, to modify the method of Xiao to include the surrogate model feature of Koziel because this combination improves the performance of the model.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Koziel (page 2175)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xiao and Koziel to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
16. The system of claim 15, wherein the surrogate model filters one or more assembled antennas whose performance characteristics are below a minimum performance threshold value.
Koziel (page 2179)
Examiner considers the step of searching optimal correspond to filtering step.
17. The system of claim 16, wherein the surrogate model implements a knowledge database when determining which assembled antennas to filter out.
Koziel (page 2179)
19. The system of claim 18, Xiao does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein performance results from the simulation are provided to a surrogate model to inform future analyses by the surrogate model.
However, Koziel disclose wherein performance results from the simulation are provided to a surrogate model to inform future analyses by the surrogate model
on (page 2178-2179) “C. PDRN Architecture Search via BO”
Xiao and Koziel are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” antenna design.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Xiao and Koziel before him or her, to modify the method of Xiao to include the surrogate model feature of Koziel because this combination improves the performance of the model.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Koziel (page 2175)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xiao and Koziel to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Examiner Recommendation
Examiner made proposed amendment “wherein the identified parameters limit which locations one or more of the antenna elements is placeable within an electronic device to improve the performance of the antenna; wherein the limit of the identified parameter includes allowable distance between antenna elements and other component of the electronic device;” to resolve 101 rejection and clarify potential allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/CHUEN-MEEI GAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2189