Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda (20100060354).
Regarding claim 20, Maeda (Fig. 1) discloses a circuit having an input (IN) and an output (OUT), the circuit comprising: a filter network (FL2) having first and second terminals and a switching network (SW1 and SW2) having an input coupled to the input of the circuit and having an output, the switching network comprising: one or more switches (SW1/SW2) coupled to the filter network and configured such that in a first state (switch (SW1) closes and switch (SW2) opens) provides a first signal path having a first filter configuration between the input of the circuit and the output of the circuit and in a second state (switch (SW1) opens and switch (SW2) cloases) provides a second signal path having a second, different filter configuration between the input of the circuit and the output of the circuit.
Regarding claim 21, wherein the filter network is provided as a pulse shaping network (PSN) configured to filter a modulated power signal provided is considered an intended use of the invention, wherein the reference circuit can be used in a pulse shaping network, which has at least one passive component (inductor/capacitor of Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, wherein the switching network (SW1) is coupled across the filter network (FL2) and configured to selectively short (SW2) the filter network.
Regarding claim 23, wherein the switching network (SW1) is coupled across at least one electronic element (C24/C26) of the filter network (FL2) and configured to alter a transfer function of the filter network by selectively shorting (SW2 closes) the at least one electronic element.
Claim(s) 20, 21, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saragourtz et al. (3,718,873), hereafter called SARAGOURTZ.
Regarding claim 20, SARAGOURTZ (Fig. 7a) discloses a circuit having an input and an output, where switches (82 and 84) are connected, the circuit comprising: a filter network formed by capacitors (70, 72 and 80) and inductors (74, 76 and 78) having first and second terminals, where switches (82 and 84) are connected; and a switching network (82 and 84) having an input coupled to the input of the circuit and having an output, the switching network comprising: one or more switches (82/84) coupled to the filter network and configured such that in a first state (switches (82 and 84) connected to capacitors (70 and 72), respectively, to form a path between input and output), the switching network provides a first signal path having a first filter configuration (high pass filter formed by capacitors (70 and 72) and inductor (74)) between the input of the circuit and the output of the circuit and in a second state (switches (82 and 84) connected to inductors (76 and 78), respectively, to form a path between input and output), the switching network provides a second signal path having a second, different filter configuration (low pass filter formed by inductors (76 and 78) and capacitor (80)) between the input of the circuit and the output of the circuit.
Regarding claim 21, wherein the filter network is provided as a pulse shaping network (PSN) configured to filter a modulated power signal provided is considered an intended use of the invention, wherein the reference circuit can be used in a pulse shaping network, which has at least one passive component (inductor/capacitor of Fig. 7a).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the switching network (82 and 84) is coupled between the input of the circuit and the output of the circuit to electrically connect the input of the circuit from the output of the circuit.
Claim(s) 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ISHIHARA et al. (20190131941), hereafter called ISHIHARA.
Regarding claim 20, ISHIHARA (Figs. 3-5) discloses a circuit (box includes filters (FL1 and FL2)) having an input and an output, the circuit comprising: a filter network (Fl1 and FL2) formed by capacitors (C1-C3) and inductors (L1-L3) having first and second terminals; and a switching network (SW1 and SW2) having an input coupled to the input of the circuit and having an output, the switching network comprising: one or more switches (SW1/Sw2) coupled to the filter network and configured such that in a first state (switch (SW1) closes and switch (SW2) opens) to form a path between input and output, the switching network provides a first signal path having a first filter configuration (low pass filter (FL1)) between the input of the circuit and the output of the circuit and in a second state (switch (SW1) opens and switch (SW2) closes) to form a path between input and output, the switching network provides a second signal path having a second, different filter configuration (high pass filter (FL2)) between the input of the circuit and the output of the circuit.
Regarding claim 21, wherein the filter network is provided as a pulse shaping network (PSN) configured to filter a modulated power signal provided is considered an intended use of the invention, wherein the reference circuit can be used in a pulse shaping network, which has at least one passive component (inductor/capacitor of Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-28 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 25, prior art(s) does not disclose the switching network comprises a plurality of switches and at least a first set of the plurality of switches are located on a first integrated circuit die and at least a second set of the plurality of switches are located on a second, different integrated circuit die.
Regarding claims 26-28 and 30, prior art(s) does not disclose the switching network comprises a plurality of switches, and wherein at least some of the plurality of switches in the switching network are coupled in a T-configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional reference(s) cited in PTO-892 show further analogous prior art circuitry.
/KHANH V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843