DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Patent No. 6,798,659) in view of Chang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0118718).
Regarding claim 1. A data processing system, comprising:
Chen discloses Fig. 2:
a hardware component (CPU, see col. 2, lines 18-25, Device cools CPU);
a fan(10) adapted to generate a flow of gas to cool the hardware component(abstract, 10 cools the CPU, see , see Col. 1, line 61-col. 2 lines 45); and
a heatsink (20)positioned with the hardware component(20 positioned with CPU, col. 2, lines 18-25), the heatsink comprising:
a base(23) adapted to establish a thermal condition path with the hardware component(23 allows conduction from CPU to 20);
a heating assembly(40) and adapted to selectively warm the hardware component(40 selectively heats/cools CPU) substantially through conduction heating via the base(21), the plates(50),
Chen does not disclose:
That heating assembly(40) is positioned on the interconnected surface and the edge connector.
plates in thermal communication with the base, adapted to exchange heat with the flow of the gas to cool the hardware component;
an edge connector that bridges a gap between a first edge of a first plate of the plate and a second edge of a second plate of the plates, the edge connector defining a portion of an interconnected surface that interconnects a portion of the plates; and
In related art Chan discloses:
Plates(200 fins being plates) in thermal communication with the base(200 in communication with 100), adapted to exchange heat with the flow of the gas to cool the hardware component(200 being adapted to exchange heat with a flow of gas among the 100 to the 200 to the gas);
an edge connector(101) that bridges a gap between a first edge(edge of each fin 200) of a first plate of the plate and a second edge of a second plate of the plates(edge of second fin 200), the edge connector defining a portion of an interconnected surface that interconnects a portion of the plates(Edge 101 connecting each plate 200); and
Chan discloses that the recited features provides the benefit of allowing a heat pipe to be used to be used to transfer heat while allowing a heat sink to be remote from the heat source. That heating assembly(40) of Chen would be placed under the 101 of Chan to interface with the heat conduction positioned on the interconnected surface and the edge connector to facilitated heating and cooling of the CPU through the bars 20 of Chan. As such, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Chen in view of the teachings of Chan for the obvious benefit of allowing the heat sink to be remote from the CPU to allow the device to be fitted into a desired application. As such, the features of claim 1 would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 2.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Chen does not disclose:
The data processing system of claim 1, wherein the heat sink further comprises: a heat pipe that places the base in thermal communication with the plates, wherein the plates are arranged in a stack and the plates do not directly contact the base.
In related art, Chan discloses:
a heat pipe(20) that places the base in thermal communication with the plates(Places base 100 in thermal communication with 200 fins),
wherein the plates are arranged in a stack and the plates do not directly contact the base. The recited features are mere change in shape of the device of Chan, which would rotate the fins of Chan from facing up to facing sideways. This is a mere change in shape of the parts of Chang, which would have no effect on the performance of the device as it would still dissipate the heat from the fan of Chen. See MPEP 2144.04.(IV)(B). The change would allow the device to fit into a desired application. Thus, the features of claim 2 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Chen does not disclose:
The data processing system of claim 1, wherein the heat sink further comprises: edge connectors comprising the edge connector, the edge connectors being positioned to maintain predetermined distances between edges of the plates.
However, the claim merely recites that the heat sink includes multiple connectors at the sides of the fins 200 on the heat sink of Chan. This feature is a mere duplication of the edge of the heat sink 101, which would provide the benefit of increasing the surface area for heat dissipation. The duplication of parts has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Here the duplication of the edge of the fins would provide the benefit of enhanced heat sinking, with the fan of Chen, as such, there are no new and unexpected results, and the features would have bene obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 4.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Chen does not disclose:
The data processing system of claim 3, wherein the edge connectors are positioned to maintain the predetermine distances on two sides of the plates.
In related art, Chan discloses:
The data processing system of claim 3, wherein the edge connectors are positioned to maintain the predetermine distances on two sides of the plates. (101 maintaining a predetermined distance on the two sides of 200)
Chan discloses that the heat sink fins positioned as shown provide the benefit of good heat sinking with the fins 200. As such, it would have been obvious to provide the fins of Chan to the device of Chen for the obvious benefit of providing enhanced heat dispensation. Thus, the features of claim 4 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 5.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Chen does not disclose:
The data processing system of claim 4, wherein the edge connectors further define a portion of a second interconnected surface that interconnects the portion of the plates, the interconnected surface being on a first of the two sides of the plates and the second interconnected surface being on a second side of the two sides of the plates.
In related art, Chan discloses:
the edge connectors(101) further define a portion of a second interconnected surface (space between each fin 200)that interconnects the portion of the plates(portion of 101 between each 200 connects each Fin 200), the interconnected surface being on a first of the two sides(first side being bottom) of the plates
While Chan does not disclose:
and the second interconnected surface being on a second side of the two sides of the plates, the features is a mere duplication of 101. The duplication has no patentable significance because it would not produce a new or unexpected result, it would just provide connections of each Fin 200 at the top of each fin would provide additional heat dispensation of the heat sink. Thus, the features of claim 5 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 6.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 1.
Chen does not disclose:
The data processing system of claim 5, wherein the heatsink further comprises: a second heating assembly positioned on the second interconnected surface and adapted to selectively warm the hardware component substantially through conduction heating via the base, the plates, and the edge connector.
However, the features are a mere duplication of the parts of Chen, which discloses a heating assembly 40, which is provided with 40 which provides the benefit of enhanced heating and cooling. As such, it would have been obvious to duplicate the features 40 on each side of the heat sink for the obvious benefit of providing enhanced heat sinking performance with no unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 7.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 6
Chen does not disclose:
The data processing system of claim 6, wherein the heat sink further comprises: gas flow channels through which gases may flow to cool the plates, the gas flow channels being delimited on four sides by the plates and the edge connectors.
However, Chan discloses:
The data processing system of claim 6, wherein the heat sink further comprises: gas flow channels through which gases may flow to cool the plates, the gas flow channels being delimited on four sides by the plates and the edge connectors. (air paths between each 200 delimited by 101,) and an additional 101 would be a mere duplication of parts, and as such see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Here the duplication of parts would have no unexpected results. The flow paths would be limited by the edges 101 and the fins 200. Thus, the features of claim 7 would have been obvious for the obvious benefit of providing enhanced heat sinking for the device of Chen, and the features of claim 7 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 8.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 7
Chen does not disclose:
The data processing system of claim 7, wherein lengths of the gas flow channels are aligned with a direction of the flow of gas generated by the fan.
However, it would have been obvious to provide the length of the fin in the direction of the flow of air from the fan for the obvious benefit of maximizing the heat transfer from the fins. Thus, the features of claim 9 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 9.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 3.
Chen does not disclose
The data processing system of claim 3, wherein the edge connectors are positioned to maintain the predetermine distances on a first side of the plates.
In related art, Chan discloses:
wherein the edge connectors(101 connecting each 200 each portion of 101 between each 200 is an edge connector) are positioned to maintain the predetermine distances on a first side of the plates. (each portion of 101 positioned to maintain a predetermined distance at the edge of each 200 from the next 200 fin.)
Chan discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing a heat pipe to be used to be used to transfer heat while allowing a heat sink to be remote from the heat source. As such, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Chen in view of the teachings of Chan for the obvious benefit of allowing the heat sink to be remote from the CPU to allow the device to be fitted into a desired application. As such, the features of claim 9 would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 10.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 3.
Chen does not disclose
The data processing system of claim 9, wherein a second side of each of the plates is directly connected to the base.
In related art Chan discloses:
The data processing system of claim 9, wherein a second side of each of the plates is directly connected to the base. (See Fig. 1, each fin extending from 101 to 100 to touch base plate 100) Though the Fins do not touch the base, 100, the recited features is a mere change in shape of the working part which would require the 101 to be thinned between each fin and the fins are interpreted to correspond to the claimed plates. As such, the recited features are a mere change in shape of the working parts, which has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), because here the claimed device would not perform differently than the prior art device. The claimed device would merely allow air to flow between the fins deeper to the base plate. As such, the features of claim 10 are a mere change in shape of the working parts, and would have bene obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 11. A heat sink for a hardware component, comprising:
Chen discloses Fig. 2:
a base(21) adapted to establish a thermal condition path with the hardware component(CPU col. 1, lines 60-col. 2 lines 36);
a heating assembly(40) positioned on the interconnected surface(21) and adapted to selectively warm the hardware component substantially through conduction heating via the base, the plates, and the edge connector(See Col. 1, line 60-col. 2, line 35).
Chen does not disclose:
plates in thermal communication with the base, adapted to exchange heat with gases in an ambient environment;
an edge connector that bridges a gap between a first edge of a first plate of the plate and a second edge of a second plate of the plates, the edge connector defining a portion of an interconnected surface that interconnects a portion of the plates; and
In related art, Chan discloses:
Plates(200) in thermal communication with the base(100), adapted to exchange heat with gases in an ambient environment(200 exchanging with ambient air);
an edge connector(101) that bridges a gap between a first edge(bottom of 200) of a first plate of the plate and a second edge of a second plate(edge of adjacent 200) of the plates, the edge connector defining a portion of an interconnected surface that interconnects a portion of the plates(101 defining the connection of the plates 200); and
Chan discloses that the recited features provides the benefit of allowing a heat pipe to be used to be used to transfer heat while allowing a heat sink to be remote from the heat source. That heating assembly(40) of Chen would be placed under the 101 of Chan to interface with the heat conduction positioned on the interconnected surface and the edge connector to facilitated heating and cooling of the CPU through the bars 20 of Chan. As such, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Chen in view of the teachings of Chan for the obvious benefit of allowing the heat sink to be remote from the CPU to allow the device to be fitted into a desired application. As such, the features of claim 11 would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 12.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 11.
Chen does not disclose:
The heat sink of claim 11, further comprising: a heat pipe that places the base in thermal communication with the plates, wherein the plates are arranged in a stack and the plates do not directly contact the base.
In related art, Chan discloses:
a heat pipe(20) that places the base in thermal communication with the plates(Places base 100 in thermal communication with 200 fins),
wherein the plates are arranged in a stack and the plates do not directly contact the base. The recited features are mere change in shape of the device of Chan, which would rotate the fins of Chan from facing up to facing sideways. This is a mere change in shape of the parts of Chang, which would have no effect on the performance of the device as it would still dissipate the heat from the fan of Chen. See MPEP 2144.04.(IV)(B). The change would allow the device to fit into a desired application. Thus, the features of claim 12 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 11.
Chen does not disclose:
The heat sink of claim 11, further comprising: edge connectors comprising the edge connector, the edge connectors being positioned to maintain predetermined distances between edges of the plates.
However, the claim merely recites that the heat sink includes multiple connectors at the sides of the fins 200 on the heat sink of Chan. This feature is a mere duplication of the edge of the heat sink 101, which would provide the benefit of increasing the surface area for heat dissipation. The duplication of parts has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Here the duplication of the edge of the fins would provide the benefit of enhanced heat sinking, with the fan of Chen, as such, there are no new and unexpected results, and the features would have bene obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 14.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 13.
Chen does not disclose:
The heat sink of claim 13, wherein the edge connectors are positioned to maintain the predetermine distances on two sides of the plates. In related art, Chan discloses:
The heat sink of claim 13, wherein the edge connectors are positioned to maintain the predetermine distances on two sides of the plates. (101 maintaining a predetermined distance on the two sides of 200)
Chan discloses that the heat sink fins positioned as shown provide the benefit of good heat sinking with the fins 200. As such, it would have been obvious to provide the fins of Chan to the device of Chen for the obvious benefit of providing enhanced heat dispensation. Thus, the features of claim 13 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 15.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 14.
Chen does not disclose:
The heat sink of claim 14, wherein the edge connectors further define a portion of a second interconnected surface that interconnects the portion of the plates, the interconnected surface being on a first of the two sides of the plates and the second interconnected surface being on a second side of the two sides of the plates.
In related art, Chan discloses:
the edge connectors(101) further define a portion of a second interconnected surface (space between each fin 200)that interconnects the portion of the plates(portion of 101 between each 200 connects each Fin 200), the interconnected surface being on a first of the two sides(first side being bottom) of the plates
While Chan does not disclose:
and the second interconnected surface being on a second side of the two sides of the plates, the features is a mere duplication of 101. The duplication has no patentable significance because it would not produce a new or unexpected result, it would just provide connections of each Fin 200 at the top of each fin would provide additional heat dispensation of the heat sink. Thus, the features of claim 15 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 16.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 15.
Chen does not disclose:
The heat sink of claim 15, further comprising: a second heating assembly positioned on the second interconnected surface and adapted to selectively warm the hardware component substantially through conduction heating via the base, the plates, and the edge connector.
However, the features are a mere duplication of the parts of Chen, which discloses a heating assembly 40, which is provided with 40 which provides the benefit of enhanced heating and cooling. As such, it would have been obvious to duplicate the features 40 on each side of the heat sink for the obvious benefit of providing enhanced heat sinking performance with no unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 17.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 16
Chen does not disclose:
The heat sink of claim 16, further comprising: gas flow channels through which gases may flow to cool the plates, the gas flow channels being delimited on four sides by the plates and the edge connectors.
However, Chan discloses:
The data processing system of claim 16, wherein the heat sink further comprises: gas flow channels through which gases may flow to cool the plates, the gas flow channels being delimited on four sides by the plates and the edge connectors. (air paths between each 200 delimited by 101,) and an additional 101 would be a mere duplication of parts, and as such see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Here the duplication of parts would have no unexpected results. The flow paths would be limited by the edges 101 and the fins 200. Thus, the features of claim 17 would have been obvious for the obvious benefit of providing enhanced heat sinking for the device of Chen, and the features of claim 7 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 18.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 13.
Chen does not disclose
The data processing system of claim 13, wherein the edge connectors are positioned to maintain the predetermine distances on a first side of the plates.
In related art, Chan discloses:
wherein the edge connectors(101 connecting each 200 each portion of 101 between each 200 is an edge connector) are positioned to maintain the predetermine distances on a first side of the plates. (each portion of 101 positioned to maintain a predetermined distance at the edge of each 200 from the next 200 fin.)
Chan discloses that the recited features provide the benefit of allowing a heat pipe to be used to be used to transfer heat while allowing a heat sink to be remote from the heat source. As such, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Chen in view of the teachings of Chan for the obvious benefit of allowing the heat sink to be remote from the CPU to allow the device to be fitted into a desired application. As such, the features of claim 18 would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 19.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 18.
Chen does not disclose
The data processing system of claim 18, wherein a second side of each of the plates is directly connected to the base.
In related art Chan discloses:
The data processing system of claim 18, wherein a second side of each of the plates is directly connected to the base. (See Fig. 1, each fin extending from 101 to 100 to touch base plate 100) Though the Fins do not touch the base, 100, the recited features is a mere change in shape of the working part which would require the 101 to be thinned between each fin and the fins are interpreted to correspond to the claimed plates. As such, the recited features are a mere change in shape of the working parts, which has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), because here the claimed device would not perform differently than the prior art device. The claimed device would merely allow air to flow between the fins deeper to the base plate. As such, the features of claim 19 are a mere change in shape of the working parts, and would have bene obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 20.
Chen discloses all of the features of claim 19
Chen does not disclose:
The heat sink of claim 19, further comprising: gas flow channels through which gases may flow to cool the plates, the gas flow channels being delimited on four sides by the plates, the edge connectors, and the base.
However, Chan discloses:
The heat sink of claim 19, further comprising: gas flow channels through which gases may flow to cool the plates, the gas flow channels being delimited on four sides by the plates, the edge connectors, and the base. (air paths between each 200 delimited by 101,) and an additional 101 would be a mere duplication of parts, and as such see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Here the duplication of parts would have no unexpected results. The flow paths would be limited by the edges 101 and the fins 200. Thus, the features of claim 7 would have been obvious for the obvious benefit of providing enhanced heat sinking for the device of Chen, and the features of claim 20 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of this application.
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898