DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 20th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in
the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously cited in the Non-Final rejection mailed June 18th, 2025. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 1-2, filed October 20th, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 10 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made in view of Takami et al. (US Patent No. 10,443,913).
Applicant's arguments filed October 20th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pg. 2 of the response, “Claims 7-8 and 16-17 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, as allegedly unpatentable over Kido, in view of WO2013157212 to Nagoshi et al. (hereinafter "Nagoshi"). Regarding dependent claim 7, the Examiner asserts that while Kido fails to disclose a condensate drainage passage, such is allegedly disclosed by Nagoshi. Applicant has amended claim 7, however, to require that the condensate drainage passage is "disposed between adjacent power electronics devices". Such a placement of the condensate drainage passage is not disclosed by Kido, which fails to disclose any such passage. The addition of the disclosure of Nagoshi fails to cure this deficiency. As such, Applicant respectfully submits that amended claim 7 is patentable over the cited references and requests withdrawal of the rejections thereof.” However, this argument is not persuasive as the recitation, “disposed between adjacent power electronics devices” was not a previously recited limitation of claim 7. See the rejection of claim 7 below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Claim 1, line 2: “power electronics devices” draws corresponding structure to the following recitations of the specification; “Power electronics devices such as motor drives generate waste heat during operation of the device,” “In some embodiments, the power electronics devices 12 include a variable frequency drive,” or equivalents.
Claim 1, line 12: “power electronics devices” draws corresponding structure to the following recitations of the specification; “Power electronics devices such as motor drives generate waste heat during operation of the device,” “In some embodiments, the power electronics devices 12 include a variable frequency drive,” or equivalents.
Claim 10, line 1: “power electronics devices” draws corresponding structure to the following recitations of the specification; “Power electronics devices such as motor drives generate waste heat during operation of the device,” “In some embodiments, the power electronics devices 12 include a variable frequency drive,” or equivalents.
Claim 10, line 10: “power electronics devices” draws corresponding structure to the following recitations of the specification; “Power electronics devices such as motor drives generate waste heat during operation of the device,” “In some embodiments, the power electronics devices 12 include a variable frequency drive,” or equivalents.
Claim 13, line 2: “power electronics devices” draws corresponding structure to the following recitations of the specification; “Power electronics devices such as motor drives generate waste heat during operation of the device,” “In some embodiments, the power electronics devices 12 include a variable frequency drive,” or equivalents.
Claim 13, line 4: “power electronics devices” draws corresponding structure to the following recitations of the specification; “Power electronics devices such as motor drives generate waste heat during operation of the device,” “In some embodiments, the power electronics devices 12 include a variable frequency drive,” or equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido et al. (JP 2014129905), hereinafter Kido in view of Takami et al. (US Patent No. 10,443,913), hereinafter Takami.
Regarding claim 1, Kido discloses a power electronics assembly (Fig. 1, cooler 30, electronic component package 16 and 17), comprising:
one or more power electronics devices (Fig. 6, electronic component package 16 and 17); and
a heat exchanger to which the one or more power electronics devices are mounted (Fig. 6 depicts electronic component package 16 and 17 to be mounted on cooler 30), the heat exchanger comprising:
one or more fluid pathways extending through the heat exchanger to transfer thermal energy from the one or more power electronics devices into a flow of fluid passing through the one or more fluid pathways (Fig. 5, refrigerant pipe 23, refrigerant pipe 25, flow path 37; Pg. 5, paragraph 29, With this configuration, the space between the fins (34) facing each other serves as a flow path (37) through which the refrigerant flows);
wherein the flow of fluid is a flow of liquid refrigerant diverted from a condenser of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (Fig. 1, condenser 3, air conditioner 1, expansion valve 4; Pg. 6, paragraph 33, When the compressor (2) is operated, a part of the refrigerant after passing through the condenser (3) bypasses the expansion valve (4), and the refrigerant cooling expansion valve (22) and cooler (30) And then flows into the evaporator (5) via the capillary (28)).
wherein the fluid flow exiting the one or more fluid pathways is directed through an evaporator of the HVAC system prior to flowing through a compressor of the HVAC system (Fig 1, evaporator 5, compressor 2, Pg. 6, paragraph 33, When the compressor (2) is operated, a part of the refrigerant after passing through the condenser (3) bypasses the expansion valve (4), and the refrigerant cooling expansion valve (22) and cooler (30) And then flows into the evaporator (5) via the capillary (28));
wherein the one or more power electronics devices includes at least one power electronics device located on each opposing lateral side of the heat exchanger (Fig. 6 depicts electronic component package 16 and 17 to be located on each opposing lateral side of the cooler 30).
However, Kido does not disclose the flow of fluid is directed directly from the heat exchanger through the evaporator; and
wherein the flow of fluid is directed directly through the heat exchanger from the condenser.
Takami teaches the flow of fluid is directed directly from the heat exchanger through the evaporator (Fig. 1, heat release member 7, evaporator 4, first pipe 15, switching valve 5, second pipe 6; Col. 3-4, lines 57-67 and 1-7; switching valve 5 is provided between the condenser 2 and the decompressor 3 (capillary tube). Based on the switching valve 5, the flow direction of the refrigerant can be switched toward the second pipe 6. Based on the switching valve 5, the flow direction of the refrigerant that comes out of the condenser 2 (the flow in the first pipe 15) is switched toward the second pipe 6. Thus, the second pipe 6 forms a flow passage that makes it possible to deliver the refrigerant to the compressor 1. Additionally, a heat-release member 7 is attached onto the surface of the shell of the compressor 1. The second pipe 6 passes through the heat-release member 7, and is connected to an inlet of the evaporator 4. In order to promote diffusion of heat generated through operation of the compressor 1, the heat-release member 7 is formed as a member that has a large surface area and that is located on the surface of the shell of the compressor 1. The heat-release member 7 may be a heat-release fin or the like); and
wherein the flow of fluid is directed directly through the heat exchanger from the condenser (Fig. 1, condenser 2; Col. 3-4, lines 57-67 and 1-7; switching valve 5 is provided between the condenser 2 and the decompressor 3 (capillary tube). Based on the switching valve 5, the flow direction of the refrigerant can be switched toward the second pipe 6. Based on the switching valve 5, the flow direction of the refrigerant that comes out of the condenser 2 (the flow in the first pipe 15) is switched toward the second pipe 6. Thus, the second pipe 6 forms a flow passage that makes it possible to deliver the refrigerant to the compressor 1. Additionally, a heat-release member 7 is attached onto the surface of the shell of the compressor 1. The second pipe 6 passes through the heat-release member 7, and is connected to an inlet of the evaporator 4. In order to promote diffusion of heat generated through operation of the compressor 1, the heat-release member 7 is formed as a member that has a large surface area and that is located on the surface of the shell of the compressor 1. The heat-release member 7 may be a heat-release fin or the like).
Kido fails to teach the flow of fluid is directed directly from the heat exchanger through the evaporator; and wherein the flow of fluid is directed directly through the heat exchanger from the condenser, however Takami teaches that it is a known method in the art of refrigerant flow control in HVAC systems to include the flow of fluid is directed directly from the heat exchanger through the evaporator; and wherein the flow of fluid is directed directly through the heat exchanger from the condenser. This is strong evidence that modifying Kido as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. a reduction in parts to reduce overall system cost and complexity). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kido by Takami and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of a reduction in parts to reduce overall system cost and complexity.
Regarding claim 5, Kido as modified discloses the power electronics assembly of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the one or more fluid pathways include one or more fins extending inwardly from a pathway inner wall (Kido, Fig. 4, fin 34, bottom 32a, lower outer plate 33; Pg. 5, paragraph 29, The fins (34) are arranged in parallel with each other at a predetermined interval between the bottom (32a) of the upper skin (32) and the lower skin (33), and the upper skin (32) (Specifically, it is connected to the bottom (32a)) and the lower outer plate (33). With this configuration, the space between the fins (34) facing each other serves as a flow path (37) through which the refrigerant flows).
Regarding claim 10, Kido discloses a method of cooling one or more power electronics devices (Fig. 1, cooler 30, electronic component package 16 and 17; Abstract, To make it possible to cool an electronic component more effectively in a refrigeration device including a cooler that cools the electronic component), comprising:
securing the one or more power electronics devices to a heat exchanger, the heat exchanger comprising one or more fluid pathways (Fig. 6 depicts electronic component package 16 and 17 to be mounted on cooler 30);
circulating a flow of fluid through one or more fluid pathways to transfer thermal energy from the one or more power electronics to the flow of fluid passing through the one or more fluid pathways (Fig. 5, refrigerant pipe 23, refrigerant pipe 25, flow path 37; Pg. 5, paragraph 29, With this configuration, the space between the fins (34) facing each other serves as a flow path (37) through which the refrigerant flows; Pg. 6, paragraph 33, When the compressor (2) is operated, a part of the refrigerant after passing through the condenser (3) bypasses the expansion valve (4), and the refrigerant cooling expansion valve (22) and cooler (30) And then flows into the evaporator (5) via the capillary (28));
wherein the flow of fluid is a flow of liquid refrigerant diverted from a condenser of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (Fig. 1, condenser 3, air conditioner 1, expansion valve 4; Pg. 6, paragraph 33, When the compressor (2) is operated, a part of the refrigerant after passing through the condenser (3) bypasses the expansion valve (4), and the refrigerant cooling expansion valve (22) and cooler (30) And then flows into the evaporator (5) via the capillary (28));
wherein the fluid flow exiting the one or more fluid pathways is directed through an evaporator of the HVAC system prior to flowing through a compressor of the HVAC system (Fig 1, evaporator 5, compressor 2, Pg. 6, paragraph 33, When the compressor (2) is operated, a part of the refrigerant after passing through the condenser (3) bypasses the expansion valve (4), and the refrigerant cooling expansion valve (22) and cooler (30) And then flows into the evaporator (5) via the capillary (28));
wherein the one or more power electronics devices includes at least one power electronics device located on each opposing lateral side of the heat exchanger (Fig. 6 depicts electronic component package 16 and 17 to be located on each opposing lateral side of the cooler 30).
However, Kido does not disclose the flow of fluid is directed directly from the heat exchanger through the evaporator; and
wherein the flow of fluid is directed directly through the heat exchanger from the condenser.
Takami teaches the flow of fluid is directed directly from the heat exchanger through the evaporator (Fig. 1, heat release member 7, evaporator 4, first pipe 15, switching valve 5, second pipe 6; Col. 3-4, lines 57-67 and 1-7; switching valve 5 is provided between the condenser 2 and the decompressor 3 (capillary tube). Based on the switching valve 5, the flow direction of the refrigerant can be switched toward the second pipe 6. Based on the switching valve 5, the flow direction of the refrigerant that comes out of the condenser 2 (the flow in the first pipe 15) is switched toward the second pipe 6. Thus, the second pipe 6 forms a flow passage that makes it possible to deliver the refrigerant to the compressor 1. Additionally, a heat-release member 7 is attached onto the surface of the shell of the compressor 1. The second pipe 6 passes through the heat-release member 7, and is connected to an inlet of the evaporator 4. In order to promote diffusion of heat generated through operation of the compressor 1, the heat-release member 7 is formed as a member that has a large surface area and that is located on the surface of the shell of the compressor 1. The heat-release member 7 may be a heat-release fin or the like); and
wherein the flow of fluid is directed directly through the heat exchanger from the condenser (Fig. 1, condenser 2; Col. 3-4, lines 57-67 and 1-7; switching valve 5 is provided between the condenser 2 and the decompressor 3 (capillary tube). Based on the switching valve 5, the flow direction of the refrigerant can be switched toward the second pipe 6. Based on the switching valve 5, the flow direction of the refrigerant that comes out of the condenser 2 (the flow in the first pipe 15) is switched toward the second pipe 6. Thus, the second pipe 6 forms a flow passage that makes it possible to deliver the refrigerant to the compressor 1. Additionally, a heat-release member 7 is attached onto the surface of the shell of the compressor 1. The second pipe 6 passes through the heat-release member 7, and is connected to an inlet of the evaporator 4. In order to promote diffusion of heat generated through operation of the compressor 1, the heat-release member 7 is formed as a member that has a large surface area and that is located on the surface of the shell of the compressor 1. The heat-release member 7 may be a heat-release fin or the like).
Kido fails to teach the flow of fluid is directed directly from the heat exchanger through the evaporator; and wherein the flow of fluid is directed directly through the heat exchanger from the condenser, however Takami teaches that it is a known method in the art of refrigerant flow control in HVAC systems to include the flow of fluid is directed directly from the heat exchanger through the evaporator; and wherein the flow of fluid is directed directly through the heat exchanger from the condenser. This is strong evidence that modifying Kido as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. a reduction in parts to reduce overall system cost and complexity). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kido by Takami and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of a reduction in parts to reduce overall system cost and complexity.
Regarding claim 14, Kido as modified discloses the method of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the one or more fluid pathways include one or more fins extending inwardly from a pathway inner wall (Kido, Fig. 4, fin 34, bottom 32a, lower outer plate 33; Pg. 5, paragraph 29, The fins (34) are arranged in parallel with each other at a predetermined interval between the bottom (32a) of the upper skin (32) and the lower skin (33), and the upper skin (32) ( Specifically, it is connected to the bottom (32a)) and the lower outer plate (33). With this configuration, the space between the fins (34) facing each other serves as a flow path (37) through which the refrigerant flows).
Claims 2-4, 6, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido as modified by Takami as applied to claims 2 and 10 above, respectively, and further in view of Moreno et al. (US 20160123637), hereinafter Moreno.
Regarding claim 2, Kido as modified discloses the power electronics assembly of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Kido as modified does not disclose wherein the heat exchanger includes multiple columns of the fluid pathways arranged between the opposing lateral sides of the heat exchanger.
Moreno teaches wherein the heat exchanger includes multiple columns of the fluid pathways arranged between the opposing lateral sides of the heat exchanger (Pg. 8, paragraph 117, FIG. 6 illustrates two substantially parallel passages, 310a and 310b, aligned along the z-axis direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchanger of the power electronics assembly of Kido as modified to include multiple columns of the fluid pathways arranged between the opposing lateral sides of the heat exchanger as taught by Moreno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for dual-sided Cooling of the heat source (e.g. one or more power modules) utilizing an indirect two-phase cooling scheme for increased heat dissipation (Moreno, Pg. 9, paragraph 118).
Regarding claim 3, Kido as modified discloses the power electronics assembly of claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein each column of the multiple columns of fluid pathways defines an independent fluid circuit (Fig. 6 of Moreno depicts the passages 310a and 310b to independently provide fluid to the heat sources 130). Further, the limitations of claim 3 are a result of the modification of the references used in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, Kido as modified discloses the power electronics assembly of claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein each of the multiple columns of fluid pathways is configured to cool the at least one power electronics device at the lateral side of the heat exchanger nearest each column (the passages 310a and 310b of Kido as modified have the same structure as the claimed columns of fluid pathways and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed). Further, the limitations of claim 4 are a result of the modification of the references used in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 6, Kido as modified discloses the power electronics assembly of claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above).
However, Kido as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein each fin of the one or more fins has a fin height in the range of 0.2 millimeters to 0.5 millimeters.
Moreno teaches fins of the flow path to be variable in size (Pg. 5, paragraph 101, For example, the height to width ratio of a surface area extender 230 may be about 0.1 to about 10. In other examples, the height to width ratio of a surface area extender 230 may be about 0.5 to about 5. In other examples, a surface area extender 230 may take a different shape. For example, a surface area extender 230 may have a rounded surface at its apex (see FIG. 3a) versus the sharp-corned, squared apex as shown in FIG. 2b. Or a surface area extender 230 may be positioned parallel to a different axis, for example, parallel to the x-axis (the shorter axis) instead of the y-axis (the longer axis) as shown in FIG. 2b. In yet other cases, a plurality of surface area extenders may be provided that are aligned along two or more axes such that the surface area extenders intersect each other; e.g. in a cross-hatch pattern. In still other cases, a surface area extender 230 may be substantially the same dimension in all or most directions in the XZ-plane. For example, instead of being longer in the z-axis direction and relatively short in the x-axis direction (e.g. rectangular strips) as shown in FIG. 2b, a surface area extender 230 may be in a shape that is substantially equal in length in the x-axis direction, the z-axis direction, and all or most other directions in the XZ-plane. Examples of such an embodiment include a surface area extender 230 in the shape of a bump, wedge, pyramid, knob, cylinder, cone, and/or any other suitable 3-dimensional shape extending from the internal surface of the first wall 220 into the main channel 210 of the housing 200 of the evaporator 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fins of the heat exchanger of Kido as modified to have a fin height in the range of 0.2 millimeters to 0.5 millimeters as taught by Moreno as it has been held in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, Section I). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the heat-transfer rate achievable by the heat exchanger (Moreno, Pg. 5, paragraph 101).
Regarding claim 11, Kido as modified discloses the method of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Kido as modified does not disclose wherein the heat exchanger includes multiple columns of the fluid pathways arranged between the opposing lateral sides of the heat exchanger.
Moreno teaches wherein the heat exchanger includes multiple columns of the fluid pathways arranged between the opposing lateral sides of the heat exchanger (FIG. 6 illustrates two substantially parallel passages, 310a and 310b, aligned along the z-axis direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchanger of the power electronics assembly of Kido as modified to include multiple columns of the fluid pathways arranged between the opposing lateral sides of the heat exchanger as taught by Moreno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for dual-sided Cooling of the heat source (e.g. one or more power modules) utilizing an indirect two-phase cooling scheme for increased heat dissipation (Moreno, Pg. 9, paragraph 118).
Regarding claim 12, Kido as modified discloses the method of claim 11 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 11 above), further comprising:
circulating a first flow of fluid through a first column of fluid pathways (Moreno, Fig. 6; passage 310a); and
circulating a second flow of fluid through a second column of fluid pathways (Moreno, Fig. 6; passage 310b). Further, the limitations of claim 12 are a result of the modification of the references used in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 13, Kido as modified discloses the method of claim 11 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 11 above), further comprising:
cooling a first power electronics device of the one or more power electronics devices (Moreno, Fig. 6, heat source 130) disposed at a first lateral side of the heat exchanger via the first flow of fluid (Moreno, Pg. 8, paragraph 117, FIG. 6 illustrates two substantially parallel passages, 310a and 310b, aligned along the z-axis direction. There are three heat sources 130 positioned within each passage, each separated from its neighbors by gaps); and
cooling a second power electronics device of the one or more power electronics devices (Moreno, Fig. 6, heat source 130) disposed at a second lateral side of the heat exchanger via the second flow of fluid (Moreno, Pg. 8, paragraph 117, FIG. 6 illustrates two substantially parallel passages, 310a and 310b, aligned along the z-axis direction. There are three heat sources 130 positioned within each passage, each separated from its neighbors by gaps). Further, the limitations of claim 13 are a result of the modification of the references used in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 15, Kido as modified discloses the method of claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above).
However, Kido as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein each fin of the one or more fins has a fin height in the range of 0.2 millimeters to 0.5 millimeters.
Moreno teaches fins of the flow path to be variable in size (Pg. 5, paragraph 101, For example, the height to width ratio of a surface area extender 230 may be about 0.1 to about 10. In other examples, the height to width ratio of a surface area extender 230 may be about 0.5 to about 5. In other examples, a surface area extender 230 may take a different shape. For example, a surface area extender 230 may have a rounded surface at its apex (see FIG. 3a) versus the sharp-corned, squared apex as shown in FIG. 2b. Or a surface area extender 230 may be positioned parallel to a different axis, for example, parallel to the x-axis (the shorter axis) instead of the y-axis (the longer axis) as shown in FIG. 2b. In yet other cases, a plurality of surface area extenders may be provided that are aligned along two or more axes such that the surface area extenders intersect each other; e.g. in a cross-hatch pattern. In still other cases, a surface area extender 230 may be substantially the same dimension in all or most directions in the XZ-plane. For example, instead of being longer in the z-axis direction and relatively short in the x-axis direction (e.g. rectangular strips) as shown in FIG. 2b, a surface area extender 230 may be in a shape that is substantially equal in length in the x-axis direction, the z-axis direction, and all or most other directions in the XZ-plane. Examples of such an embodiment include a surface area extender 230 in the shape of a bump, wedge, pyramid, knob, cylinder, cone, and/or any other suitable 3-dimensional shape extending from the internal surface of the first wall 220 into the main channel 210 of the housing 200 of the evaporator 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fins of the heat exchanger of Kido as modified to have a fin height in the range of 0.2 millimeters to 0.5 millimeters as taught by Moreno as it has been held in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, Section I). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the heat-transfer rate achievable by the heat exchanger (Moreno, Pg. 5, paragraph 101).
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido as modified by Takami as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, respectively, and further in view of Nagoshi et al. (WO 2013157212), hereinafter Nagoshi.
Regarding claim 7, Kido as modified discloses the power electronics assembly of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Kido as modified does not disclose further comprising one or more condensate drainage passages formed in an exterior surface of the heat exchanger configured to drain condensate formed on one or more of the one or more power electronics devices or on the heat exchanger.
Nagoshi teaches further comprising one or more condensate drainage passages formed in an exterior surface of the heat exchanger configured to drain condensate formed on the heat exchanger (Fig. 2A, water discharge promotion holes 23; Further, the water discharge promotion holes 23 have the same structure as the claimed one or more condensate drainage passages and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchanger of Kido as modified to include one or more condensate drainage passages formed in an exterior surface of the heat exchanger as taught by Nagoshi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for water to be efficiently removed from the surface of the heat exchanger (Nagoshi, Paragraph 36).
Further, Kido as modified does not explicitly disclose the one or more condensate drainage passages disposed between adjacent power electronics devices.
However, as evidenced by Nagoshi, at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art to provide condensate drainage passage on the exterior of a heat exchanger (Fig. 2A, water discharge promotion holes 23).
It would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, recognizing that there is a need to provide condensate drainage passage on the exterior of a heat exchanger, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try options (potential solutions) regarding placement of the condensate drainage passages, since there are known and finite possible options, in order to discover which option yields greatest success. There are 2 possible options: providing the one or more condensate drainage passages disposed between adjacent power electronics devices or providing the one or more condensate drainage passages disposed not between adjacent power electronics devices. One having ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions, identified in part by Nagoshi, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143 I. E.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the one or more condensate drainage passages disposed between adjacent power electronics devices in order to allow for water to be efficiently removed from the surface of the heat exchanger (Nagoshi, Paragraph 36).
Regarding claim 8, Kido as modified discloses the power electronics assembly of claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above).
However, Kido as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more condensate drainage passages have a T-shaped cross-section.
Nagoshi does disclose the water discharge promotion holes 23 to be arranged in a variety of different shapes (Paragraph 51, The effect of improving the drainage performance of the fins 31 can be obtained by the slits 23 of any shape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one of more condensate drainage passages of the heat exchanger of Kido as modified to have a T-shaped cross-section as taught by Nagoshi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve drainage performance of the heat exchanger (Nagoshi, Paragraph 51). Further, the recitation, “wherein the one or more condensate drainage passages have a T-shaped cross-section” is not a patentably distinct feature of the claims as it has been held that the configuration of the claimed component was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed component was significant (MPEP 2144.04, Section IV, Paragraph B).
Regarding claim 16, Kido discloses the method of claim 10 (see the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Kido as modified discloses further comprising draining condensate formed on one or more of the one or more power electronics devices or on the heat exchanger via one or more condensate drainage passages formed in an exterior surface of the heat exchanger.
Nagoshi teaches further comprising draining condensate formed on the heat exchanger via one or more condensate drainage passages formed in an exterior surface of the heat exchanger (Fig. 2A, water discharge promotion holes 23; Further, the water discharge promotion holes 23 have the same structure as the claimed one or more condensate drainage passages and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchanger of Kido as modified to include one or more condensate drainage passages formed in an exterior surface of the heat exchanger as taught by Nagoshi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for water to be efficiently removed from the surface of the heat exchanger (Nagoshi, Paragraph 36).
Regarding claim 17, Kido as modified discloses the method of claim 16 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 16 above).
However, Kido as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more condensate drainage passages have a T-shaped cross-section.
Nagoshi does disclose the water discharge promotion holes 23 to be arranged in a variety of different shapes (Paragraph 51, The effect of improving the drainage performance of the fins 31 can be obtained by the slits 23 of any shape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one of more condensate drainage passages of the heat exchanger of Kido as modified to have a T-shaped cross-section as taught by Nagoshi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve drainage performance of the heat exchanger (Nagoshi, Paragraph 51). Further, the recitation, “wherein the one or more condensate drainage passages have a T-shaped cross-section” is not a patentably distinct feature of the claims as it has been held that the configuration of the claimed component was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed component was significant (MPEP 2144.04, Section IV, Paragraph B).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kido as modified by Takami as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, respectively, and further in view of Gohara et al. (US 20130058041), hereinafter Gohara.
Regarding claim 9, Kido as modified discloses the power electronics assembly of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Kido as modified does not disclose wherein the one or more fluid pathways extend off of horizontal along a fluid pathway length.
Gohara teaches wherein the one or more fluid pathways extend off of horizontal along a fluid pathway length (Fig. 9, S1, Pg. 6, paragraph 101, This guide part 21So has a different shape from the guide part 21So in FIG. 6 and configures a guide wall S1 inclined uniformly in the entire range in which the refrigerant introducing passage 21 faces the cooling passage 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more fluid pathways of the heat exchanger of Kido as modified to extend off of horizontal along a fluid pathway length as taught by Gohara. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve a refrigerant flow velocity in the system (Gohara, Pg. 1, paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 18, Kido as modified discloses the method of claim 10 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Kido as modified does not disclose wherein the one or more fluid pathways extend off of horizontal along a fluid pathway length.
Gohara teaches wherein the one or more fluid pathways extend off of horizontal along a fluid pathway length (Fig. 9, S1, Pg. 6, paragraph 101, This guide part 21So has a different shape from the guide part 21So in FIG. 6 and configures a guide wall S1 inclined uniformly in the entire range in which the refrigerant introducing passage 21 faces the cooling passage 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more fluid pathways of the heat exchanger of Kido as modified to extend off of horizontal along a fluid pathway length as taught by Gohara. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve a refrigerant flow velocity in the system (Gohara, Pg. 1, paragraph 11).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 November 03rd, 2025
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763