DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 10/30/2025.
Claims 1, 8, 17, 19, and 28 have been amended.
Claims 4 and 30-34 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 8 filed on 10/30/2025 have been considered and are persuasive. However, after updating the search, based on the Applicant’s amendment, newly identified prior arts have been cited.
Regarding amended claim 1, Applicant asserted that, in page 9 of the Arguments,
Kim, however, fails to disclose or suggest at least "wherein the group-based DCI and the previous group-based DCI have a same aggregation level," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Kim does not specifically teach about "wherein the group-based DCI and the previous group-based DCI have a same aggregation level".
It, however, had been known in the art at the time of instant application as shown by Islam et al.(U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200037396, hereinafter “Islam”). Islam discloses that: in para [0169] of Islam, DCI format may be assigned to same … In one example, a selected set of aggregation level AL may be supported for the DCI format carrying WUS and/or GTS, for e.g., only AL 8 or 16 may be supported to ensure robustness (interpreted as “have a same aggregation level”).
Thus, as discussed above, Islam discloses the "wherein the group-based DCI and the previous group-based DCI have a same aggregation level".
Regarding amended claim 8, Applicant asserted that, in pages 9-10 of the Arguments dated 10/30/2025,
Independent claim 8 recites, in part, "wherein the wake-up signal indicates a time and frequency resource allocation for a go to sleep (GTS) signal that is different than a time and frequency resource allocation for the WUS." Kim fails to disclose or suggest at least these aspects of independent claim 8 as well.
The Office Action cites to the paragraph [0224] of Kim in alleged support of disclosing "CORESETs configured for monitoring the WUS 810 and the GTS 820 may be equal or different." The CORESETs being the same, however, is not indicative of the wake-up signal indicating the time and frequency resource allocation of the GTS, as generally recited in amended independent claim 8.
Kim discloses the claimed feature “a time and frequency resource allocation for a go to sleep (GTS) signal that is different than a time and frequency resource allocation for the WUS” (para [0224]: CORESETs configured for monitoring the WUS 810 and the GTS 820 may be equal or different (interpreted as “… a time and frequency resource allocation for a go to sleep (GTS) signal that is different than a time and frequency resource allocation for the WUS”)). Kim further discloses, in para [0397], that the UE may be configured or indicated, by the BS, whether to perform monitoring or not to perform monitoring on a GTS within T duration via higher layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE signaling) or L1 signaling (DCI or WUS).
Kim does not specifically teach about "wherein the wake-up signal indicates a time and frequency resource allocation for a go to sleep (GTS) signal".
It, however, had been known in the art at the time of instant application as shown by Seo (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230247620, hereinafter “Seo”). Seo discloses that:
para [0115] of Seo: The UE monitors the PDCCH candidate set at a monitoring occasion configured in one or more CORESETs configured according to a corresponding search space configuration. CORESET consists of a set of PRBs having a time interval of 1 to 3 OFDM symbols. (interpreted as “a time and frequency resource allocation”).
para [0174] of Seo: The terminal may perform the power saving operation based on the DCI (S1620). Here, when the terminal performs the power saving operation based on the DCI, it may mean that the terminal performs the DRX operation according to the WUS operation based on the DCI.
para [0189] of Seo: 2. WUS Indication
para [0193] of Seo: The bit length of the WUS message within the WUS DCI (interpreted as “a wake-up signal in a previous group-based downlink control information (DCI)”) may be defined as log_2 (the number of states) or indicated by the network, each state can be predefined or indicated by the network, and each state may be defined by a combination of predefined and network configuration. The state that can be indicated by the network may consider the following operations.
para [0206] of Seo: Alt 5) Partial PDCCH Monitoring (Partial Wakeup)
para [0207] of Seo: PDCCH monitoring-related operations may be relaxed (relaxation) through the WUS message of the WUS DCI. For example, the monitoring period of the search space sets linked in the WUS message may be adjusted. (e.g., applying X multiple of the monitoring period set in normal mode) Alternatively, the UE receiving alt 5 may only monitor the search space set(s) defined in advance or configured by the network. (e.g., monitoring only a set of search spaces (interpreted as “a time and frequency resource allocation”) associated with a specific RNTI(s), monitoring only a set of search spaces of a specific type (e.g., CSS/USS), (for alt 5) monitoring only the search space set(s) indicated by the network (interpreted as “wherein the wake-up signal indicates a time and frequency resource allocation for a go to sleep (GTS) signal …”)
para [0208] of Seo: For example, a state that can be indicated in the WUS field in the WUS DCI is defined as “Alt 1, Alt 2, Alt 3 (and/or Alt 4)” by predefined definition or by the (upper layer signaling) indication of the network, and the length of the corresponding field may be defined as 2 bit(s). In this case, the network may indicate wake-up or operation in GTS through the corresponding field (interpreted as “for a go to sleep (GTS) signal”).).
Thus, as discussed above, Seo discloses the "wherein the wake-up signal indicates a time and frequency resource allocation for a go to sleep (GTS) signal …".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9-17, and 19-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230131118, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Islam et al.(U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200037396, hereinafter “Islam”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Kim unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims 1, 17, and 28:
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches An apparatus (Fig. 34 and para [0731]; a UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 34 and para [0731]; a processor 3403);
one or more memories (Fig. 34 and para [07371]; a memory 3402) coupled with the one or more processors and storing instructions (Fig. 32 and para [0564]; operations of the UE), wherein the instructions are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to:
receive, before a discontinuous receive (DRX) active time, a wake-up signal in a previous group-based downlink control information (DCI) indicating to exit a sleep mode at the apparatus for the DRX active time (Fig. 8 and para [0190]: the UE may detect 1st-type DCI 810 (interpreted as “a wake-up signal in a previous group-based downlink control information (DCI) indicating to exit a sleep mode”, see para [0220]: WUS 810) in inActive time (interpreted as “before a discontinuous receive (DRX) active time”)) (Fig. 20 and para [0425]; Referring to FIG. 20 , the UE may receive a WUS (interpreted as “a wake-up signal in a previous group-based DCI”, see WUS occasion 4810 in Fig. 20) via a PDCCH in time duration configured for the UE to monitor a PDCCH after waking up in every DRX occasion, i.e., particular time duration before Active time 4605 (interpreted as “before a discontinuous receive (DRX) active time”)). Examiner’s note: the group-based DCI is disclosed in Table 9 of Kim) ;
receive, during the DRX active time, a go to sleep (GTS) signal in a group-based DCI indicating to enter the sleep mode at the apparatus (Fig. 8 and para [0190]: may detect 2nd-type DCI 820 (interpreted as “a go to sleep (GTS) signal in a group-based DCI indicating to enter the sleep mode”, see para [0220]: GTS 820) in Active time 870 (interpreted as “during the DRX active time”)), wherein the group-based DCI and the previous group-based DCI have a same time and frequency resource allocation within respective time periods (Fig. 10 and para [0216]: the CORESET 1000 for transmitting the WUS 810 and the CORESET 1000 for transmitting the GTS 820 may be equal or different.) (Fig. 10 and para [0220]: the search space 1002 for transmitting the WUS 810 and the GTS 820 may be same.),
(The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Islam.)
enter, based on receiving the GTS signal, the sleep mode during at least a period of a remaining portion of the DRX active time (para [0280]; when the UE receives the GTS, the UE may stop (or inactivate) a drx-On duration timer and may terminate On duration (interpreted as “enter, based on receiving the GTS signal, the sleep mode during at least a period of a remaining portion of the DRX active time”). Also, the GTS may stop (or inactivate) a drx-inactivity timer and may terminate On duration. However, the disclosure is not limited to the above example, and termination of On duration may include switching to an inactive time or an operation in a sleep mode.).
Kim does not specifically teach about "wherein the group-based DCI and the previous group-based DCI have a same aggregation level".
It, however, had been known in the art at the time of instant application as shown by Islam.
Islam, in analogous art, discloses, in para [0169] of Islam, that a selected set of aggregation level AL may be supported for the DCI format carrying WUS (interpreted as “the previous group-based DCI”) and/or GTS (interpreted as “the group-based DCI”), for e.g., only AL 8 or 16 may be supported to ensure robustness (interpreted as “have a same aggregation level”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kim's method by using the features of Islam in order to have more effective method such that the UE may detect a WUS DCI in inactive time (before DRX active), and may detect GTS DCI in Active time (DRX active), on only selected aggregation level to ensure robustness.
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches An apparatus (Fig. 35 and para [0737]; a BS) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 35 and para [0738]; a processor 3503);
one or more memories (Fig. 35 and para [0738]; a memory 3502) coupled with the one or more processors and storing instructions (Fig. 33 and para [0580]; operations of the BS), wherein the instructions are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, for a user equipment (UE) and before a discontinuous receive (DRX) active time, a wake-up signal in a previous group-based downlink control information (DCI) indicating to exit a sleep mode at the UE for the DRX active time (Fig. 8 and para [0190]: the UE may detect 1st-type DCI 810 (interpreted as “a wake-up signal in a previous group-based downlink control information (DCI) indicating to exit a sleep mode”, see para [0220]: WUS 810) in inActive time (interpreted as “before a discontinuous receive (DRX) active time”)) (Fig. 20 and para [0425]; Referring to FIG. 20 , the UE may receive a WUS (interpreted as “a wake-up signal in a previous group-based DCI”, see WUS occasion 4810 in Fig. 20) via a PDCCH in time duration configured for the UE to monitor a PDCCH after waking up in every DRX occasion, i.e., particular time duration before Active time 4605 (interpreted as “before a discontinuous receive (DRX) active time”)). Examiner’s note: the group-based DCI is disclosed in Table 9 of Kim);
configure the UE to communicate in the DRX active time (para [0170]; drx-onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, ra-ContentionResolutionTimer, or the like are timers whose values are configured by the BS, and have a function allowing the UE to monitor a PDCCH in a situation where a preset condition is satisfied); and
transmit, during the DRX active time, a go to sleep (GTS) signal in a group-based DCI indicating to enter the sleep mode at the UE (Fig. 8 and para [0190]: may detect 2nd-type DCI 820 (interpreted as “a go to sleep (GTS) signal in a group-based DCI indicating to enter the sleep mode”, see para [0220]: GTS 820) in Active time 870 (interpreted as “during the DRX active time”)), wherein the group-based DCI and the previous group-based DCI at least one of have a same time and frequency resource allocation within respective time periods (Fig. 10 and para [0216]: the CORESET 1000 for transmitting the WUS 810 and the CORESET 1000 for transmitting the GTS 820 may be equal or different.) (Fig. 10 and para [0220]: the search space 1002 for transmitting the WUS 810 and the GTS 820 may be same.), and
Kim does not specifically teach about "wherein the group-based DCI and the previous group-based DCI have a same aggregation level".
It, however, had been known in the art at the time of instant application as shown by Islam.
Islam, in analogous art, discloses, in para [0169] of Islam, that a selected set of aggregation level AL may be supported for the DCI format carrying WUS (interpreted as “the previous group-based DCI”) and/or GTS (interpreted as “the group-based DCI”), for e.g., only AL 8 or 16 may be supported to ensure robustness (interpreted as “have a same aggregation level”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kim's method by using the features of Islam in order to have more effective method such that the UE may detect a WUS DCI in inactive time (before DRX active), and may detect GTS DCI in Active time (DRX active), on only selected aggregation level to ensure robustness.
Regarding claim 28, it is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the group-based DCI and the previous group-based DCI are in a same search space set (para [0220]: the search space 1002 for transmitting the WUS 810 and the GTS 820 may be same.) and are scrambled with a same radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (para [0221]; when different DCI formats have a same size and/or RNTI.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to derive at least one of a search space for the group-based DCI or a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) for the group-based DCI based on at least one of a previous search space for the previous group-based DCI or a previous RNTI for the previous group-based DCI (para [0218]; the BS may configure a search space for transmitting the WUS 810 (interpreted as “a previous group-based DCI”) and the GTS 820 (interpreted as “the group-based DCI”) as a common search space (CSS), a group common search space (GCSS), a UE-specific search space (USS), or at least one of the CSS, the GCSS, and the USS. The UE may monitor the WUS 810 and the GTS 820 in a configured search space.)(para [0219]; a group-common RNTI…)(Examiner’s note; The Specification of the instant application discloses that when the same search space is used, the search space and RNTI for the GTS signal can be derived based on the previous search space or RNTI for WUS. See para [0086] of the Specification; the group-based DCI for the GTS signal can have a same search space and RNTI as the WUS DCI format 2_6, and configuration processing component 352 can determine the search space and RNTI for the GTS signal based on those configured for the WUS DCI format 2_6.).
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the GTS signal is of a same format as the wake-up signal and includes an indicator that the GTS signal is for indicating to enter the sleep mode (para [0224]; formats of the WUS 810 and the GTS 820 may be equal…)(para [0222]; the WUS 810 and the GTS 820 may each include ID information 1110 for identifying a DCI format. The ID information 1110 of FIG. 10 for identifying a DCI format may be information for identifying whether it is the WUS 810 or the GTS 820).
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the wake-up signal indicates a minimum time offset between the wake-up signal and the GTS signal (para [0421]; configuration of a GTS may correspond to at least some of configuration of a WUS. For example, configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the GTS may correspond to configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the WUS.).
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to receive a configuration indicating a minimum time offset between the wake-up signal and the GTS signal (para [0421]; configuration of a GTS may correspond to at least some of configuration of a WUS. For example, configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the GTS may correspond to configuration (interpreted as “a configuration indicating a minimum time offset between the wake-up signal and the GTS signal”) about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the WUS.).
Regarding claim 11, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the wake-up signal indicates one or more configuration parameters for the group-based DCI, wherein the one or more configuration parameters include one or more of a search space, a time and frequency resource location, a radio network temporary identifier, a payload size, or a time offset for monitoring the group-based DCI (para [0421]; configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the GTS (interpreted as “one or more configuration parameters for the group-based DCI”)(para [0247]; the uni-POSS may include at least one parameter or a combination of one or more parameters as in [Table 15])(para [0252]; According to an embodiment of the disclosure, contents of the uni-POSS 1210 transmitted in Active time 1270 may correspond to contents of GTS (interpreted as “group-based DCI”)).
Regarding claim 12, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to receive a configuration that indicates one or more configuration parameters for the group-based DCI, wherein the one or moreconfiguration parameters include one or more of a search space, a time and frequency resource location, a radio network temporary identifier, a payload size, or a time offset for monitoring the group-based DCI. (para [0421]; configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the GTS (interpreted as “one or more configuration parameters for the group-based DCI”))(para [0247]; the uni-POSS may include at least one parameter or a combination of one or more parameters as in [Table 15])(para [0252]; According to an embodiment of the disclosure, contents of the uni-POSS 1210 transmitted in Active time 1270 may correspond to contents of GTS (interpreted as “group-based DCI”)). Table15 is reproduced herein below;
(Table 15 of Kim)
Regarding claim 13, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 12, Kim further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to receive the configuration in one or more of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC- CE), a different DCI or layer 1 (L1) indication (para [0397]; the BS may configure or indicate the UE whether to perform monitoring or not to perform monitoring on a GTS within Tduration via higher layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE signaling) or L1 signaling (DCI or POSS). The UE may be configured or indicated, by the BS, whether to perform monitoring or not to perform monitoring on a GTS within Tduration via higher layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE signaling) or L1 signaling (DCI or WUS), and may determine whether to monitor a GTS, depending on indication from the BS.).
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to receive a configuration indicating which bits of the group-based DCI correspond to the GTS signal for the apparatus (para [0418]; a GTS may include PDCCH monitoring configuration information about a plurality of UEs)(para [0419]; when PDCCH monitoring configuration information about a plurality of UEs is included in one GTS 1810, the UE may identify a UE to which PDCCH monitoring configuration information is mapped, according to a bit location in the GTS 1810 (interpreted as “a configuration indicating which bits of the group-based DCI correspond to the GTS signal for the apparatus”).).
Regarding claim 15, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 14, Kim further teaches wherein the configuration indicates the bits for one or more of a time offset, a time and frequency resource allocation, control resource set (CORESET) information, or an aggregation level for the GTS signal (paragraphs [0283-0290] of Kim; a GTS may be used with a new format or a legacy format. A DCI format used as the GTS may consist of fields below. … Carrier indicator; BWP indicator; CSI request indicator; PDCCH monitoring-related configuration indicator (interpreted as “configuration indicates the bits for one or more of … ”) (PDCCH monitoring occasion 1603 or configuration related thereto, the number of times blind decoding is performed or configuration related thereto, AL, a monitoring occasion, an indicator indicating whether to perform PDCCH monitoring, etc.); At least one or combination of one or more parameters related to transmission and reception which exist in [Table 15]; ). (Examiner’s note: Table15 is reproduced herein below;
(Table 15 of Kim)
Regarding claim 16, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 14, Kim further teaches wherein the configuration includes a first branch indicating which bits of the group-based DCI correspond to the GTS signal for the apparatus, and a second branch indicating which bits of a second group-based DCI received outside of the DRX active time correspond to a wake-up signal for the apparatus (Fig. 13 and para [0253] of Kim; The BS may determine whether the uni-POSS 1210 (interpreted as “the configuration”) is transmitted to be monitored and detected by the UE in Active time 1270 or is transmitted to be monitored and detected by the UE in inActive time, and then may transmit, to the UE, the contents of the first table 1310 (interpreted as “a first branch”) or the second table 1320 (interpreted as “a second branch”) by using a combined DCI format.)(para [0254]; contents of the uni-POSS 1210 may always include contents included in both a GTS and a WUS.). (Examiner’s note: Fig. 13 is reproduced herein below;
(Fig. 13 of Kim)
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 17, Kim further teaches wherein the group-based DCI and the previous group-based DCI are scrambled with a same radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (para [0220]: the search space 1002 for transmitting the WUS 810 and the GTS 820 may be same.) (para [0221]; when different DCI formats have a same size and/or RNTI...).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 7, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 7.
Regarding claim 21, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 17, Kim further teaches wherein the wake-up signal indicates at least one of a time and frequency resource allocation for the GTS signal, or a minimum time offset between the wake-up signal and the GTS signal (para [0421]; configuration of a GTS may correspond to at least some of configuration of a WUS. For example, configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the GTS may correspond to configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the WUS.).
Regarding claim 22, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 17, Kim further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to transmit a configuration indicating a minimum time offset between the wake-up signal and the GTS signal (para [0421]; configuration of a GTS may correspond to at least some of configuration of a WUS. For example, configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the GTS may correspond to configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the WUS.).
Regarding claim 23, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 17, Kim further teaches wherein the wake-up signal indicates one or more configuration parameters for the group-based DCI, wherein the one or more configuration parameters include one or more of a search space, a time and frequency resource location, a radio network temporary identifier, a payload size, or a time offset for monitoring the group-based DCI (para [0421]; configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the GTS (interpreted as “one or more configuration parameters for the group-based DCI”)(para [0247]; the uni-POSS may include at least one parameter or a combination of one or more parameters as in [Table 15])(para [0252]; According to an embodiment of the disclosure, contents of the uni-POSS 1210 transmitted in Active time 1270 may correspond to contents of GTS (interpreted as “group-based DCI”))(Examiner’s note: the group-based DCI is disclosed in Table 9 of Kim) .
Regarding claim 24, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 17, Kim further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to transmit a configuration that indicates one or more configuration parameters for the group-based DCI, wherein the one or more configuration parameters include one or more of a search space, a time and frequency resource location, a radio network temporary identifier, a payload size, or a time offset for monitoring the group-based DCI (para [0421]; configuration about a DCI format, RNTI, a cycle, offset, and the like of the GTS (interpreted as “one or more configuration parameters for the group-based DCI”)(para [0247]; the uni-POSS may include at least one parameter or a combination of one or more parameters as in [Table 15])(para [0252]; According to an embodiment of the disclosure, contents of the uni-POSS 1210 transmitted in Active time 1270 may correspond to contents of GTS (interpreted as “group-based DCI”)), and wherein transmitting the configuration is in one or more of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC-CE), a different DCI or layer 1 (L1) indication (para [0397]; the BS may configure or indicate the UE whether to perform monitoring or not to perform monitoring on a GTS within Tduration via higher layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE signaling) or L1 signaling (DCI or POSS). The UE may be configured or indicated, by the BS, whether to perform monitoring or not to perform monitoring on a GTS within Tduration via higher layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE signaling) or L1 signaling (DCI or WUS), and may determine whether to monitor a GTS, depending on indication from the BS.).
Regarding claim 25, Kim and Islam teach The apparatus of claim 17, Kim further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to transmit a configuration indicating which bits of the group-based DCI correspond to the GTS signal for the UE (para [0418]; a GTS may include PDCCH monitoring configuration information about a plurality of UEs)(para [0419]; when PDCCH monitoring configuration information about a plurality of UEs is included in one GTS 1810, the UE may identify a UE to which PDCCH monitoring configuration information is mapped, according to a bit location in the GTS 1810 (interpreted as “a configuration indicating which bits of the group-based DCI correspond to the GTS signal for the UE”).).
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 15, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 15.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 16, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 16.
Claim(s) 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Seo et al.(U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230247620, hereinafter “Seo”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches An apparatus (Fig. 34 and para [0731]; a UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 34 and para [0731]; a processor 3403);
one or more memories (Fig. 34 and para [07371]; a memory 3402) coupled with the one or more processors and storing instructions (Fig. 32 and para [0564]; operations of the UE), wherein the instructions are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to:
receive, before a discontinuous receive (DRX) active time, a wake-up signal (WUS) in a previous group-based downlink control information (DCI) indicating to exit a sleep mode at the apparatus for the DRX active time (Fig. 8 and para [0190]: the UE may detect 1st-type DCI 810 (interpreted as “a wake-up signal in a previous group-based downlink control information (DCI) indicating to exit a sleep mode”, see para [0220]: WUS 810) in inActive time (interpreted as “before a discontinuous receive (DRX) active time”)) (Fig. 20 and para [0425]; Referring to FIG. 20 , the UE may receive a WUS (interpreted as “a wake-up signal in a previous group-based DCI”, see WUS occasion 4810 in Fig. 20) via a PDCCH in time duration configured for the UE to monitor a PDCCH after waking up in every DRX occasion, i.e., particular time duration before Active time 4605 (interpreted as “before a discontinuous receive (DRX) active time”)(Examiner’s note: the group-based DCI is disclosed in Table 9 of Kim)), (para [0224]: CORESETs configured for monitoring the WUS 810 and the GTS 820 may be equal or different (interpreted as “… a time and frequency resource allocation for a go to sleep (GTS) signal that is different than a time and frequency resource allocation for the WUS”)); (The missing/crossed out limitations will be discussed in view of Seo.)
receive, during the DRX active time and (Fig. 8 and para [0190]: may detect 2nd-type DCI 820 (interpreted as “a go to sleep (GTS) signal in a group-based DCI indicating to enter the sleep mode”, see para [0220]: GTS 820) in Active time 870 (interpreted as “during the DRX active time”)); and
enter, based on receiving the GTS signal, the sleep mode during at least a period of a remaining portion of the DRX active time (para [0280]; when the UE receives the GTS, the UE may stop (or inactivate) a drx-On duration timer and may terminate On duration (interpreted as “enter, based on receiving the GTS signal, the sleep mode during at least a period of a remaining portion of the DRX active time”). Also, the GTS may stop (or inactivate) a drx-inactivity timer and may terminate On duration. However, the disclosure is not limited to the above example, and termination of On duration may include switching to an inactive time or an operation in a sleep mode.).
Kim does not specifically teach about "wherein the wake-up signal indicates a time and frequency resource allocation for a go to sleep (GTS) signal …" and “receive, based on the time and frequency resource allocation, the GTS signal”.
It, however, had been known in the art at the time of instant application as shown by Seo (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230247620, hereinafter “Seo”). Seo discloses that:
para [0115] of Seo: The UE monitors the PDCCH candidate set at a monitoring occasion configured in one or more CORESETs configured according to a corresponding search space configuration. CORESET consists of a set of PRBs having a time interval of 1 to 3 OFDM symbols. (interpreted as “a time and frequency resource allocation”).
para [0174] of Seo: The terminal may perform the power saving operation based on the DCI (S1620). Here, when the terminal performs the power saving operation based on the DCI, it may mean that the terminal performs the DRX operation according to the WUS operation based on the DCI.
para [0189] of Seo: 2. WUS Indication
para [0193] of Seo: The bit length of the WUS message within the WUS DCI (interpreted as “a wake-up signal in a previous group-based downlink control information (DCI)”) may be defined as log_2 (the number of states) or indicated by the network, each state can be predefined or indicated by the network, and each state may be defined by a combination of predefined and network configuration. The state that can be indicated by the network may consider the following operations.
para [0206] of Seo: Alt 5) Partial PDCCH Monitoring (Partial Wakeup)
para [0207] of Seo: PDCCH monitoring-related operations may be relaxed (relaxation) through the WUS message of the WUS DCI. For example, the monitoring period of the search space sets linked in the WUS message may be adjusted. (e.g., applying X multiple of the monitoring period set in normal mode) Alternatively, the UE receiving alt 5 may only monitor the search space set(s) defined in advance or configured by the network. (e.g., monitoring only a set of search spaces (interpreted as “a time and frequency resource allocation”) associated with a specific RNTI(s), monitoring only a set of search spaces of a specific type (e.g., CSS/USS), (for alt 5) monitoring only the search space set(s) indicated by the network (interpreted as “wherein the wake-up signal indicates a time and frequency resource allocation for a go to sleep (GTS) signal …”)
para [0208] of Seo: For example, a state that can be indicated in the WUS field in the WUS DCI is defined as “Alt 1, Alt 2, Alt 3 (and/or Alt 4)” by predefined definition or by the (upper layer signaling) indication of the network, and the length of the corresponding field may be defined as 2 bit(s). In this case, the network may indicate wake-up or operation in GTS through the corresponding field (interpreted as “for a go to sleep (GTS) signal” and “receive, based on the time and frequency resource allocation, the GTS signal”).).
As discussed above, Seo discloses the "wherein the wake-up signal indicates a time and frequency resource allocation for a go to sleep (GTS) signal …" and “receive, based on the time and frequency resource allocation, the GTS signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Kim's method by using the features (“WUS message indicating the search space set(s) for a GTS”) of Seo in order to have more effective method such that the UE may detect a GTS in the indicated search space set.
Conclusion
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411