DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 12, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 6, 12, 16, 22, 24, 27 and 28 are amended.
Claims 1-30 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because new ground of rejection relies on the reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 6, “NAM does not disclose ‘the configuration for applying weighted average indicating that the UE is to average the Li RSRP measurements that are within the predefined quantity of slots of the SSB’” and “even if NAM discloses averaging RSRP measurements that are within a predefined set of time resources from an SS block, NAM does not disclose that such predefined quantity is a ‘predefined quantity of slots’," (Response filed December 12, 2025, Page 17). Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
Nam teaches “K CSI-RS resources are configured (Nam [Para. 0171]) and “CSI-RS and SS blocks may be mapped on the same OFDM symbols. K is pre-configured to be the same as the actual number of transmitted SS blocks; and the time domain locations of the K resources in a radio frame are also pre-configured. In this case, those OFDM symbols to map the SS blocks in each slot may also be used for mapping the K CSI-RS resources” (Name [Para. 0176]) and “a UE is configured with an individual set/setting of CSI-RS resources (or a CSI-RS resource) that corresponds to an SS block of a cell. The UE is configured with an SS block ID as well as a cell ID, and also corresponding resource configurations, slot timing. The slot timing can be configured in terms of a slot offset to the SS block slot occasion/location” (Nam [Para. 0229]). The UE is configured with CSR-RS resources that is on the same time slot as the corresponding SSB.
According to Nam, “A UE may be allowed to derive RSRP with averaging power across antenna ports on a k-th CSI-RS resource, denoted as CSI-RSRP of resource k. The UE also derives SS-block RSRP on a k-th SS block in a SS burst set. In such a case, a k-th beam RSRP can be derived with taking weighted sum of CSI-RSRP of resource k and SS-block RSRP on k-th SS block. A weighted sum (or average) of m strongest beam RSRPs can be used as cell-specific RSRP” (Name [Para. 0177]). Nam provides that the UE derives the weighted average of CSI-RSRPs and SSB-RSRPs that are on the same time slot, within the quantity of zero slot of the SSB. Since the mapping between CSR-RS and SSB is configured, such quantity is predefined quantity.
Furthermore, Nam states that “the beam information that can be acquired with NR-SSS may be limited” (Nam [Para. 0157]), “a method to combine the beam-level RSRPs derived from the additional RS and those from the SSS to derive the cell-level RSRP needs to be devised” (Nam [Para. 0156]) and “additional RS are for the beam related operations, a natural candidate is CSI-RS introduced for beam management” (Nam [Para. 0159]). A configuration of CSI-RS in UE indicates the combination of CSI-RS and SSB to acquire sufficient RSRP measurement. The mapping between CSI-RS and SSB on the same time slot in the configuration indicates that, for the combination of CSI-RS and SSB, the CSI-RS is within the predefined quantity of zero slot of SSB. Moreover, that the UE in the configuration derives weighted average of CSI-RSRPs and SSB-RSRPs and the configuration configures CSI-RS resources on the same time slot with SSB indicates that the configuration indicates the weighted average of RSRPs that are on the same time slot with SSB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10, 12, 14-15, 17, 20, 22-23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al (US20230353326A1, hereinafter Jayasinghe Laddu) in view of Yerramalli et al (US20190364468A1, hereinafter Yerramalli), and further in view of Karjalainen et al (US20200336194A1, hereinafter Karjalainen) and Zhou et al. (US20230284065A1, hereinafter Zhou).
For claim 1, Jayasinghe Laddu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ([FIG. 6] and [Para. 0061], The apparatus comprised in a user equipment, having wireless communication capabilities), comprising: one or more memories (memory ([FIG. 6])); and one or more processors (processor ([FIG. 6]), coupled to the one or more memories ([FIG. 6]), individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to ([Para. 0061], processor 20 configured to provide signals to and receive signals from the transmitter and receiver): receive, from the network node, the plurality of reference signals during the period of time ([Para. 0039], the UE may receive from the network (e.g., gNB) a configuration (or information) for measurement reporting, such as via a CSI reporting configuration, that defines the use of at least two resource groups. [Para. 0040], A first group (e.g., set or subset) of the channel measurement resources within the CSI resource configuration may be defined as the set of measurement resources. The resources may comprise references which can be used for channel measurements, and examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). [Examiner’s Note: The term, measurement resources, may refer to the reference signals that are transmitted over the resources]. [Para. 0052], the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1(channel measurement resources) in a periodic manner), the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements being available as input to a machine learning (ML) model for beam prediction ([Para. 0028], the UE 102 may include the ML model 110. This ML model may be a ML beam prediction model. [0054], At 10-11, the UE 104 may measure the L1-RSRP or other CSI quantities based on the received periodic CSI-RS (or SSBs), and the measurements may be used as an input for the AI/ML model 110).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu does not explicitly disclose receive, from a network node, a configuration for applying weighted averaging to layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements; the plurality of reference signals being quasi-co-located with each other; and obtain weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals based at least in part on the configuration.
Yerramalli is directed to providing multi-pcell design for urllc reliability. More specifically, Yerramalli teaches receive, from a network node, a configuration for applying weighted averaging to layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements ([Para. 0109], the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may measure the received power (e.g., a RSRP or RSSI) of measurement signals (e.g., reference signals). In examples in which the overall received power is a weighted average received power, the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may further be configured to receive a respective weight (e.g., from the PCell) to be applied to each of the first received power and the second received power for use in calculating the weighted average received power. [Para. 0104], the scheduled entity 700 may be a user equipment (UE) as illustrated in any one or more of FIGS. 1 and 2. [Examiner’s Note: 741 is a component of 700 in FIG. 7]), the plurality of reference signals being quasi-co-located with each other ([Para. 0124], the scheduled entity may receive a first measurement signal on a first carrier from the PCell. At block 906, the scheduled entity may receive a second measurement signal on a second carrier from the SCell. [Parra. 0075], SCell 506 d is quasi co-located (QCL) with the PCell 502. [Para. 0080], the UE 510 may measure the received power (e.g., a reference signal received power (RSRP) of measurement signals (e.g., reference signals) transmitted on the respective carriers of each of the PCell 502 and the one or more SCells 506 a-506 d [Examiner’s Note: measurement signals are reference signals]), and obtain weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals based at least in part on the configuration ([Para. 0109], the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may measure the received power (e.g., a RSRP or RSSI) of measurement signals (e.g., reference signals). In examples in which the overall received power is a weighted average received power, the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may further be configured to receive a respective weight (e.g., from the PCell) to be applied to each of the first received power and the second received power for use in calculating the weighted average received power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, so that UE receives configuration to apply weighted average for RSRP measurements, as taught by Yerramalli. This implementation would have allowed enhancements in multi-cell environments to improve the reliability of URLLC transmissions (Yerramalli, [Para. 0004]).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu and Yerramalli do not explicitly disclose receive, from a network node, a configuration for applying weighted averaging to layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements; and indicating a plurality of reference signals for the weighted averaging that are quasi-co-located with each other; and obtain weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals based at least in part on the configuration, the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements being available as input to a machine learning (ML) model for beam prediction.
Karjalainen is directed to providing Joint beam reporting for wireless networks. More specifically, Karjalainen teaches receive, from a network node, a configuration for applying weighted averaging to layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements ([Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. the UE may measure the RSRP of the SSB resource and each CSI-RS resource of the set of resources [Examiner’s Note: The resource refers to the reference signal that is transmitted over the resource, as reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement only applies to reference signals]); and indicating a plurality of reference signals for the weighted averaging that are quasi-co-located with each other ([Para. 0077], A network has configured UE to select the two strongest QCL-SSB-CSI-RS resource pairs according to SSB+CSI-RS option (e.g., selection of two resource pairs may be selected based on strongest aggregate (e.g., average) RSRP computed over SSB resource and set of CSI-RS resources). Based on this reporting configuration, the beam report is computed jointly over joint QCL-SSB-CSI-RS pair 1 and joint QCL-SSB-CSI-RS pair 2. [Para. 0053], Different types of averaging may be performed, a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values [Examiner’s Note: Configuration from network indicates SSB and CSI-RS for weighted averaging]. [Para. 0039], a SSB resource may be spatially quasi-colocated (QCLed) with a set of (one or more) CSI-RSI resources. Two resources are spatially quasi-co-located (QCL). In example implementation, two different signals (e.g., a SSB resource and a CSI-RS) may be transmitted over two resources via two beams that are at least partially spatially overlapping [Examiner’s Note: There can be only one CSI-RS resource in the set of CSI-RS resource]); and obtain weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals based at least in part on the configuration ([Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. the UE may measure the RSRP of the SSB resource and each CSI-RS resource of the set of resources. [Para. 0053], Different types of averaging may be performed, such as a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values), the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements being available as input to a machine learning (ML) model for beam prediction ([Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. the UE may measure the RSRP of the SSB resource and each CSI-RS resource of the set of resources. [Para. 0053], Different types of averaging may be performed, such as a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu and Yerramalli, so that UE obtains L1-RSRP measurements associated with the reference signals that are quasi-co-located with each other, as taught by Karjalainen. This implementation would have applied to various types of user devices or data service types, or user devices that may have multiple applications running thereon that may be of different data service types (Karjalainen, [Para. 0028]).
Zhou further teaches the configuration indicating a period of time for the weighted averaging, and indicating a plurality of reference signals for the weighted averaging that are quasi-co-located with each other, the plurality of reference signals including different reference signals within the period of time.
Zhou is directed to providing measurement Reporting for Energy Saving State. More specifically, Zhou teaches the configuration indicating a period of time for the weighted averaging ([0320], A network may apply/use the following procedures. The following procedures may ensure that the measurement window according to the first SSB-based Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) (e.g., smtc1) configured by the MCG may include the measurement window according to the first SMTC (e.g., smtc1) configured by the SCG [Examiner’s Note: Measurement window is the period of time configured in wireless device by base station based on SMTC]. [Para. 0410], The RRC messages may comprise first configuration parameters of a first measurement object (e.g., MeasObjectNR) and second configuration parameter of a second measurement object. A first SMTC configuration (e.g., SSB-MTC comprising measurement periodicity and offset, as shown in FIG. 36 ) of the first measurement object may be different from a second SMTC configuration of the second measurement object. The wireless device may perform beam/cell measurement based on the first measurement object and the second measurement object. [Para. 0415], A measurement time window may be implemented as described in FIG. 35 and FIG. 36. The new layer 1 cell measurement may be obtained by averaging the number of highest beam measurements of beam measurements obtained in the new measurement time window [Examiner’s Note: The measurements are averaged over the measurement window]), and indicating a plurality of reference signals for the weighted averaging that are quasi-co-located with each other ([Para. 0320], The network may configure the wireless device to report measurement information based on SSB(s). The measurement information based on SSB(s) may comprise measurement results per SSB, measurement results per cell based on SSB(s). The network may configure the wireless device to report measurement information based on CSI-RS resources. The measurement information based on CSI-RS resources may comprise measurement results per CSI-RS resource, measurement results per cell based on CSI-RS resource(s). [Para. 0350], A wireless device may obtain layer 1 measurement within a measurement configuration. For SS-RSRP determination based on DM-RS for PBCH and, if indicated by higher layers, the wireless device may use CSI-RSs in addition to SSSs for SS-RSRP measurement. The wireless device may measure SS-RSRP using DM-RS for PBCH or CSI-RSs by linear averaging over the power contributions of the REs that carry corresponding RSs [Examiner’s Note: Measurements of DM-RS and CSI-RS in addition to SSS are averaged. Being averaged indicates the signals are quasi co-located]. [Para. 0151], The wireless device may assume that one or more SS/PBCH blocks sent/transmitted with a same SS/PBCH block index are quasi co-located (QCLed)), the plurality of reference signals including different reference signals within the period of time ([Para. 0350], For SS-RSRP determination based on DM-RS for PBCH and, if indicated by higher layers, the wireless device may use CSI-RSs in addition to SSSs for SS-RSRP measurement. The wireless device may measure SS-RSRP using DM-RS for PBCH or CSI-RSs by linear averaging over the power contributions of the REs that carry corresponding RSs. [0415], A measurement time window may be implemented as described in FIG. 35 and FIG. 36. The new layer 1 cell measurement may be obtained by averaging the number of highest beam measurements of beam measurements obtained in the new measurement time window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli and Karjalainen, so that the configuration from the network indicates the time period for averaging, and different reference signals are averaged, as taught by Zhou. This implementation would have provided improved accuracy of cell/beam measurements (Zhou [Para. 0004]).
For claim 2, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalaine and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the one or more processors (Karjalaine, [0114], An apparatus comprising at least one processor) are further configured to: transmit, to the network node (Karjalaine, [Para. 0045], sending by the user device, the joint quasi-colocation multiple-resource beam report to a BS or other node), the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements in an LI RSRP beam report via an uplink control channel (Karjalaine, [Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. Karjalaine, [Para. 0053], the UE may select resource pair 2 to be reported via a joint quasi-colocation multiple-resource beam report. Different types of averaging may be performed, such as a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli and Zhou, so that UE transmits to the network node the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements in beam report, as taught by Karjalainen. This implementation would have applied to various types of user devices or data service types, or user devices that may have multiple applications running thereon that may be of different data service types (Karjalainen, [Para. 0028]).
The references further teach the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements in an LI RSRP beam report via an uplink control channel (Yerramalli, [0115], The multi-cell management circuitry 741 may further be configured to transmit uplink control information (e.g., on a PUCCH). The multi-cell management circuitry 741 may then be configured to select one of the PCell or the SCell for transmission of the uplink control information thereto based on the first signal parameter and the second signal parameter. [Para. 0109], the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may measure a first signal parameter (e.g., the RSRP or RSSI) of a first measurement signal (e.g. a reference signal)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that UE the beam report is transmitted via an uplink control channel, as taught by Yerramalli. This implementation would have allowed enhancements in multi-cell environments to improve the reliability of URLLC transmissions (Yerramalli, [Para. 0004]).
For claim 4, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the period of time is standard predefined or configured by the network node (Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0052], the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1(channel measurement resources) in a periodic manner, indicating that the time is configured by the network node), and wherein the ML model for beam prediction is run at the UE or at the network node (Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0028], the UE 102 may include the ML model 110. This ML model may be a ML beam prediction model. [0054], At 10-11, the UE 104 may measure the L1-RSRP or other CSI quantities based on the received periodic CSI-RS (or SSBs), and the measurements may be used as an input for the AI/ML model 110).
For claim 5, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the plurality of reference signals includes one or more of: a periodic synchronization signal block (SSB) (Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0039], the UE may receive from the network (e.g., gNB) a configuration (or information) for measurement reporting, such as via a CSI reporting configuration, that defines the use of at least two resource groups. [Para. 0040], A first group (e.g., set or subset) of the channel measurement resources within the CSI resource configuration may be defined as the set of measurement resources. The resources may comprise references which can be used for channel measurements, and examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). [Examiner’s Note: The term, measurement resources, may refer to the reference signals that are transmitted over the resources]. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0052], the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1(channel measurement resources) in a periodic manner), a periodic channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a semi-persistent CSI-RS, an aperiodic CSI-RS, or an on-demand SSB.
For claim 7, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the configuration indicates one or more weights (Yerramalli, [Para. 0109], the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may measure the received power (e.g., a RSRP or RSSI) of measurement signals (e.g., reference signals). In examples in which the overall received power is a weighted average received power, the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may further be configured to receive a respective weight (e.g., from the PCell) to be applied to each of the first received power and the second received power for use in calculating the weighted average received power. Yerramalli, [Para. 0104], the scheduled entity 700 may be a user equipment (UE) as illustrated in any one or more of FIGS. 1 and 2. [Examiner’s Note: 741 is a component of 700 in FIG. 7]) and one or more parameters associated with the weighted averaging (Yerramalli, [Para. 0109], the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may measure a first signal parameter (e.g., the RSRP or RSSI) of a first measurement signal (e.g. a reference signal) ... received from the PCell ... and a second signal parameter (e.g., the RSRP or RSSI) of a second measurement signal ... received from an SCell. The multi-cell management circuitry 741 may then be configured to calculate an overall received power (e.g., an average, weighted average, or maximum received power) from the first signal parameter (e.g., a first received power) and the second signal parameter (e.g., a second received power). The multi-cell management circuitry 741 may further be configured to receive a respective weight (e.g., from the PCell) to be applied to each of the first received power and the second received power for use in calculating the weighted average received power [Examiner’s Note: First signal parameter (for PCell) and second signal parameter (for SCell) receive their respective weights. Received weights are associated with the types of signals, as given in paragraph 0078 of this application]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that the UE receives weights and parameters associated with weights, as taught by Yerramalli. This implementation would have allowed enhancements in multi-cell environments to improve the reliability of URLLC transmissions (Yerramalli, [Para. 0004]).
For claim 10, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein an input port of the ML model for beam prediction is associated with reference signals (Jayasinghe Laddu, [FIG. 2A] and [Para. 0031], For example, the first neural network (NN) Block 1 202 may receive as inputs certain beam measurements. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0028], the measurement parameters (e.g., CRI and RSRP) for each of the measured beams x1-x3 are provided as an input at 108A to the ML model 110. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0040], the actual measurement resources (e.g., beams x1, x2, and x3 on which the UE performs actual channel measurements) ... examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). [Examiner’s Note: the input ports of the first layer of neural network are associated with the RSRPs of SSB and CSI-RS of beams x(1), …, x(N) respectively]), of the plurality of reference signals (Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0040], the actual measurement resources (e.g., beams x1, x2, and x3 on which the UE performs actual channel measurements) ... examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS)), that are quasi-co-located (Karjalainen, [Para. 0077], FIG. 3 presents an example of joint SSB and CSI-RS resource beam report over multiple QCL-SSB-CSI-RS pairs. Karjalainen, [Para. 0053], Different types of averaging may be performed, such as ... a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values [Examiner’s Note: SSB and CIS-RS in a pair are quasi-co-located and the corresponding weighted averaged RSRP of the corresponding beams in the pair may be in beam report]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli and Zhou, so that UE measures weighted averaged RSRPs of SSB and CSI-RS reference signals that are quasi-co-located for beam report, as taught by Karjalainen. This implementation would have applied to various types of user devices or data service types, or user devices that may have multiple applications running thereon that may be of different data service types (Karjalainen, [Para. 0028]).
The references further teach and wherein the configuration provides a set of weights for weighted averaging over the reference signals (Yerramalli, [0132], In examples in which the overall received power is a weighted average received power, the scheduled entity may further receive a respective weight to be applied to each of the first received power and the second received power for use in calculating the weighted average received power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that UE receives configuration to apply weighted average for RSRP measurements, as taught by Yerramalli. This implementation allows enhancements in multi-cell environments to improve the reliability of URLLC transmissions (Yerramalli, [Para. 0004]).
For claim 12, Jayasinghe Laddu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node ([FIG. 5] and [Para. 0059], the network node may be configured to provide send, to a user equipment, at least a reporting configuration), comprising: one or memories (memory ([FIG. 5])); and one or more processors (processor ([FIG. 5]), coupled to the one or more memories ([FIG. 5]), individually or collectively configured to cause the network node to ([Para. 59], the network node may be configured to provide send, to a user equipment, at least a reporting configuration): transmit, to the UE, the plurality of reference signals during the period of time ([Para. 0039], the UE may receive from the network (e.g., gNB) a configuration (or information) for measurement reporting, such as via a CSI reporting configuration, that defines the use of at least two resource groups. [Para. 0040], A first group (e.g., set or subset) of the channel measurement resources within the CSI resource configuration may be defined as the set of measurement resources. The resources may comprise references which can be used for channel measurements, and examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). [Examiner’s Note: The term, measurement resources, may refer to the reference signals that are transmitted over the resources]. [Para. 0052], the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1(channel measurement resources) in a periodic manner), and the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements being available as input to a machine learning (ML) model for beam prediction ([Para. 0028], the UE 102 may include the ML model 110. This ML model may be a ML beam prediction model. [0054], At 10-11, the UE 104 may measure the L1-RSRP or other CSI quantities based on the received periodic CSI-RS (or SSBs), and the measurements may be used as an input for the AI/ML model 110).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu does not explicitly disclose transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for applying weighted averaging to layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements; the plurality of reference signals being quasi-co-located with each other; and receive, from the UE and via an uplink control channel, an L1 RSRP beam report that indicates weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals, the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements being obtained based at least in part on the configuration.
Yerramalli is directed to providing multi-pcell design for urllc reliability. More specifically, Yerramalli teaches transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for applying weighted averaging to layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements ([Para. 0109], the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may measure the received power (e.g., a RSRP or RSSI) of measurement signals (e.g., reference signals). In examples in which the overall received power is a weighted average received power, the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may further be configured to receive a respective weight (e.g., from the PCell) to be applied to each of the first received power and the second received power for use in calculating the weighted average received power. [Para. 0104], the scheduled entity 700 may be a user equipment (UE) as illustrated in any one or more of FIGS. 1 and 2. [Examiner’s Note: 741 is a component of 700 in FIG. 7]), the plurality of reference signals being quasi-co-located with each other ([Para. 0124], the scheduled entity may receive a first measurement signal on a first carrier from the PCell. At block 906, the scheduled entity may receive a second measurement signal on a second carrier from the SCell. [Parra. 0075], SCell 506 d is quasi co-located (QCL) with the PCell 502. [Para. 0080], the UE 510 may measure the received power (e.g., a reference signal received power (RSRP) of measurement signals (e.g., reference signals) transmitted on the respective carriers of each of the PCell 502 and the one or more SCells 506 a-506 d [Examiner’s Note: measurement signals are reference signals]), and receive, from the UE and via an uplink control channel, an L1 RSRP beam report that indicates weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals ([Para. 0115], The multi-cell management circuitry 741 may further be configured to transmit uplink control information (e.g., on a PUCCH). The multi-cell management circuitry 741 may then be configured to select one of the PCell or the SCell for transmission of the uplink control information thereto based on the first signal parameter and the second signal parameter that are received power. [Para. 0109], the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may measure a first signal parameter (e.g., the RSRP or RSSI) of a first measurement signal (e.g. a reference signal)), the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements being obtained based at least in part on the configuration ([Para. 0109], the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may measure the received power (e.g., a RSRP or RSSI) of measurement signals (e.g., reference signals). In examples in which the overall received power is a weighted average received power, the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may further be configured to receive a respective weight (e.g., from the PCell) to be applied to each of the first received power and the second received power for use in calculating the weighted average received power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, so that UE receives configuration to apply weighted average for RSRP measurements, as taught by Yerramalli. This implementation would have allowed enhancements in multi-cell environments to improve the reliability of URLLC transmissions (Yerramalli, [Para. 0004]).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu and Yerramalli do not explicitly disclose transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for applying weighted averaging to layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements, and indicating a plurality of reference signals for the weighted averaging that are quasi-co-located with each other, and receive, from the UE and via an uplink control channel, an L1 RSRP beam report that indicates weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals, the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements being obtained based at least in part on the configuration, and the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements being available as input to a machine learning (ML) model for beam prediction.
Karjalainen is directed to providing Joint beam reporting for wireless networks. More specifically, Karjalainen teaches transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for applying weighted averaging to layer 1 (L1) reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements ([Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. the UE may measure the RSRP of the SSB resource and each CSI-RS resource of the set of resources [Examiner’s Note: The resource refers to the reference signal that is transmitted over the resource, as reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement only applies to reference signals]); and indicating a plurality of reference signals for the weighted averaging that are quasi-co-located with each other ([Para. 0077], A network has configured UE to select the two strongest QCL-SSB-CSI-RS resource pairs according to SSB+CSI-RS option (e.g., selection of two resource pairs may be selected based on strongest aggregate (e.g., average) RSRP computed over SSB resource and set of CSI-RS resources). Based on this reporting configuration, the beam report is computed jointly over joint QCL-SSB-CSI-RS pair 1 and joint QCL-SSB-CSI-RS pair 2. [Para. 0053], Different types of averaging may be performed, a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values [Examiner’s Note: Configuration from network indicates SSB and CSI-RS for weighted averaging]. [Para. 0039], a SSB resource may be spatially quasi-colocated (QCLed) with a set of (one or more) CSI-RSI resources. Two resources are spatially quasi-co-located (QCL). In example implementation, two different signals (e.g., a SSB resource and a CSI-RS) may be transmitted over two resources via two beams that are at least partially spatially overlapping [Examiner’s Note: There can be only one CSI-RS resource in the set of CSI-RS resource]); and receive, from the UE and via an uplink control channel, an L1 RSRP beam report that indicates weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements associated with the plurality of reference signals ([Para. 0045], creating, by the user device, a joint quasi-colocation multiple-resource beam report, indicating ... a corresponding measured received power (RSRP) for each resource of the selected resource pair. Sending by the user device, the joint quasi-colocation multiple-resource beam report to a BS. [Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. the UE may measure the RSRP of the SSB resource and each CSI-RS resource of the set of resources. [Para. 0053], Different types of averaging may be performed, such as a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values), the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements being obtained based at least in part on the configuration ([Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. the UE may measure the RSRP of the SSB resource and each CSI-RS resource of the set of resources. [Para. 0053], Different types of averaging may be performed, such as a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values), and the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements being available as input to a machine learning (ML) model for beam prediction ([Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. the UE may measure the RSRP of the SSB resource and each CSI-RS resource of the set of resources. [Para. 0053], Different types of averaging may be performed, such as a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu and Yerramalli, so that UE obtains L1-RSRP measurements associated with the reference signals, as taught by Karjalainen. This implementation would have applied to various types of user devices or data service types, or user devices that may have multiple applications running thereon that may be of different data service types (Karjalainen, [Para. 0028]).
Zhou further teaches the configuration indicating a period of time for the weighted averaging, and indicating a plurality of reference signals for the weighted averaging that are quasi-co-located with each other, the plurality of reference signals including different reference signals within the period of time.
Zhou is directed to providing measurement Reporting for Energy Saving State. More specifically, Zhou teaches the configuration indicating a period of time for the weighted averaging ([0320], A network may apply/use the following procedures. The following procedures may ensure that the measurement window according to the first SSB-based Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) (e.g., smtc1) configured by the MCG may include the measurement window according to the first SMTC (e.g., smtc1) configured by the SCG [Examiner’s Note: Measurement window is the period of time configured in wireless device by base station based on SMTC]. [Para. 0410], The RRC messages may comprise first configuration parameters of a first measurement object (e.g., MeasObjectNR) and second configuration parameter of a second measurement object. A first SMTC configuration (e.g., SSB-MTC comprising measurement periodicity and offset, as shown in FIG. 36 ) of the first measurement object may be different from a second SMTC configuration of the second measurement object. The wireless device may perform beam/cell measurement based on the first measurement object and the second measurement object. [Para. 0415], A measurement time window may be implemented as described in FIG. 35 and FIG. 36. The new layer 1 cell measurement may be obtained by averaging the number of highest beam measurements of beam measurements obtained in the new measurement time window [Examiner’s Note: The measurements are averaged over the measurement window]), and indicating a plurality of reference signals for the weighted averaging that are quasi-co-located with each other ([Para. 0320], The network may configure the wireless device to report measurement information based on SSB(s). The measurement information based on SSB(s) may comprise measurement results per SSB, measurement results per cell based on SSB(s). The network may configure the wireless device to report measurement information based on CSI-RS resources. The measurement information based on CSI-RS resources may comprise measurement results per CSI-RS resource, measurement results per cell based on CSI-RS resource(s). [Para. 0350], A wireless device may obtain layer 1 measurement within a measurement configuration. For SS-RSRP determination based on DM-RS for PBCH and, if indicated by higher layers, the wireless device may use CSI-RSs in addition to SSSs for SS-RSRP measurement. The wireless device may measure SS-RSRP using DM-RS for PBCH or CSI-RSs by linear averaging over the power contributions of the REs that carry corresponding RSs [Examiner’s Note: Measurements of DM-RS and CSI-RS in addition to SSS are averaged. Being averaged indicates the signals are quasi co-located]. [Para. 0151], The wireless device may assume that one or more SS/PBCH blocks sent/transmitted with a same SS/PBCH block index are quasi co-located (QCLed)), the plurality of reference signals including different reference signals within the period of time ([Para. 0350], For SS-RSRP determination based on DM-RS for PBCH and, if indicated by higher layers, the wireless device may use CSI-RSs in addition to SSSs for SS-RSRP measurement. The wireless device may measure SS-RSRP using DM-RS for PBCH or CSI-RSs by linear averaging over the power contributions of the REs that carry corresponding RSs. [0415], A measurement time window may be implemented as described in FIG. 35 and FIG. 36. The new layer 1 cell measurement may be obtained by averaging the number of highest beam measurements of beam measurements obtained in the new measurement time window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli and Karjalainen, so that the configuration from the network indicates the time period for averaging, and different reference signals are averaged, as taught by Zhou. This implementation would have provided improved accuracy of cell/beam measurements (Zhou [Para. 0004]).
For claims 14-15, 17, 20 and 23 are directed to an apparatus and method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2, 4-5, 7, and 10. Therefore, claims 14-15, 17, 20, and 23 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2, 4-5, 7, and 10.
For claims 22 and 27 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 1 and 12. Therefore, claims 22 and 27 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 1 and 12.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al (US20230353326A1, hereinafter Jayasinghe Laddu) in view of Yerramalli et al (US20190364468A1, hereinafter Yerramalli), Karjalainen et al (US20200336194A1, hereinafter Karjalainen) and Zhou et al. (US20230284065A1, hereinafter Zhou), and further in view of Marinier et al (US20200145079A1, hereinafter Marinier).
For claim 3, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1. However, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein a reference signal in the plurality of reference signals is associated with a weight, and wherein the weight is based at least in part on an effective isotropic radiated power value configured by the network node.
Marinier is directed to providing systems and methods for beamformed uplink transmission. More specifically, Marinier teaches wherein a reference signal in the plurality of reference signals is associated with a weight ([Para. 0040], The term beam may also refer to ... at least one reference signal transmitted while applying the set of pre-coding weights to the antenna elements), and wherein the weight is based at least in part on an effective isotropic radiated power value configured by the network node ([Para. 0040], The term beam may also refer to ... at least one reference signal transmitted while applying the set of pre-coding weights to the antenna elements. [Para. 0132], the UE 402 may operate to limit the gain of a beam ... considering the antenna configuration. [Para. 0133], The configuration parameters may include for example EIRP. The eNB may configure the parameter using higher layer signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that reference signals are associated with weights that are based on EIRP configured by a network node, as taught by Marinier. This implementation would have allowed a UE to monitor link failure of beam process, handle mobility, and perform beam selection (Marinier, [Para. 0010])
For claim 13 is directed to an apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 3.
Claims 6, 16, 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al (US20230353326A1, hereinafter Jayasinghe Laddu) in view of Yerramalli et al (US20190364468A1, hereinafter Yerramalli), Karjalainen et al (US20200336194A1, hereinafter Karjalainen) and Zhou et al. (US20230284065A1, hereinafter Zhou), and further in view of Nam et al (US20180262313A1, hereinafter Nam).
For claim 6, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the plurality of reference signals includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0040], A first group (e.g., set or subset) of the channel measurement resources within the CSI resource configuration may be defined as the set of measurement resources. The resources may comprise references which can be used for channel measurements, and examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). [Examiner’s Note: The term, measurement resources, may refer to the reference signals that are transmitted over the resources]), wherein the SSB is quasi-co-located with the CSI-RS (Karjalainen, [Para. 0042], measuring a received power (e.g., reference signal received power or RSRP) for each resource of one or more resource pairs, wherein each of the one or more resource pairs includes a resource of a first resource type (e.g., a SSB resource) and a set of resources of a second resource type (e.g., a set of CSI-RS resources), wherein the resource of the first resource type is spatially quasi-colocated with the set of resources of the second resource type).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI- RS for the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements is within a predefined quantity of slots of the SSB, and wherein the configuration for applying weighted average indicating that the UE is to average the L1 RSRP measurements that are within the predefined quantity of slots of the SSB.
Nam is directed to providing method and apparatus for reference signals in wireless apparatus, more specifically, Nam teaches wherein the CSI- RS for the weighted averaged L1 RSRP measurements is within a predefined quantity of slots of the SSB ([Para. 0171], in a resource setting (which corresponds to a CSI-RS set), K CSI-RS resources are configured. [Para. 0176], CSI-RS and SS blocks may be mapped on the same OFDM symbols. K is pre-configured to be the same as the actual number of transmitted SS blocks; and the time domain locations of the K resources in a radio frame are also pre-configured. In this case, those OFDM symbols to map the SS blocks in each slot may also be used for mapping the K CSI-RS resources. [Para. 0177], A UE may be allowed to derive RSRP with averaging power on a k-th CSI-RS resource, denoted as CSI-RSRP of resource k. The UE also derives SS-block RSRP on a k-th SS block. A k-th beam RSRP can be derived with taking weighted sum of CSI-RSRP of resource k and SS-block RSRP on k-th SS block. A weighted sum (or average) of m strongest beam RSRPs can be used as cell-specific RSRP [Examiner’s Note: CSI-RS is configured on the same time slot as SSB. The predefined quantity of slots of the SSB is 0]), and wherein the configuration for applying weighted average indicating that the UE is to average the L1 RSRP measurements that are within the predefined quantity of slots of the SSB ([Para. 0157], the beam information that can be acquired with NR-SSS may be limited. [Para. 0156], a method to combine the beam-level RSRPs derived from the additional RS and those from the SSS to derive the cell-level RSRP needs to be devised. [Para. 0159], additional RS are for the beam related operations, a natural candidate is CSI-RS introduced for beam management. [Para. 0171], in a resource setting (which corresponds to a CSI-RS set), K CSI-RS resources are configured. [Para. 0176], CSI-RS and SS blocks may be mapped on the same OFDM symbols. K is pre-configured to be the same as the actual number of transmitted SS blocks; and the time domain locations of the K resources in a radio frame are also pre-configured. In this case, those OFDM symbols to map the SS blocks in each slot may also be used for mapping the K CSI-RS resources. [Para. 0229], a UE is configured with an individual set/setting of CSI-RS resources (or a CSI-RS resource) that corresponds to an SS block of a cell. The UE is configured with an SS block ID as well as a cell ID, and also corresponding resource configurations, slot timing. The slot timing can be configured in terms of a slot offset to the SS block slot occasion/location. [Para. 0177], A UE may be allowed to derive RSRP with averaging power on a k-th CSI-RS resource, denoted as CSI-RSRP of resource k. The UE also derives SS-block RSRP on a k-th SS block. A k-th beam RSRP can be derived with taking weighted sum of CSI-RSRP of resource k and SS-block RSRP on k-th SS block. A weighted sum (or average) of m strongest beam RSRPs can be used as cell-specific RSRP [Examiner’s Note: That the UE in the configuration derives weighted average of CSI-RSRPs and SSB-RSRPs and the configuration configures CSI-RS resources on the same time slot with SSB indicates that the configuration indicates the weighted average of RSRPs that are on the same time slot with SSB]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that the UE is configured to average CSI-RSRP and SSB-RSRP on the same time slot, as taught by Nam. This implementation would have provided sufficient beam information during handover process (Nam, [Para. 0156]).
For claims 16, 24, and 28, Claims 16, 24, and 28 are directed to an apparatus and method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 6. Therefore, claims 16, 24, and 28 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 6.
Claims 8-9, 18-19, 25-26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al (US20230353326A1, hereinafter Jayasinghe Laddu) in view of Yerramalli et al (US20190364468A1, hereinafter Yerramalli), Karjalainen et al (US20200336194A1, hereinafter Karjalainen) and Zhou et al. (US20230284065A1, hereinafter Zhou), and further in view of Wang et al (US20250071540A1, hereinafter Wang).
For claim 8, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the one or more processors (Jayasinghe Laddu, [FIG. 6]) are further configured to: receive, from the network node, the configuration for applying weighted averaging to L1 RSRP measurements via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0039], the UE may receive from the network (e.g., gNB) a configuration (or information) for measurement reporting, such as via a CSI reporting configuration, that defines the use of at least two resource groups. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0040], a CSI report configuration L (which is provided to the UE 102 via RRC, for example) .... The resources may comprise references which can be used for channel measurements, and examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). Yerramalli, [Para. 0109], the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may measure the received power (e.g., a RSRP or RSSI) of measurement signals (e.g., reference signals). In examples in which the overall received power is a weighted average received power, the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may further be configured to receive a respective weight (e.g., from the PCell) to be applied to each of the first received power and the second received power for use in calculating the weighted average received power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that UE receives configuration to apply weighted average for RSRP measurements, as taught by Yerramalli. This implementation would have allowed enhancements in multi-cell environments to improve the reliability of URLLC transmissions (Yerramalli, [Para. 0004]).
The references further teach are further configured to: receive, from the network node, the configuration for applying weighted averaging to L1 RSRP measurements via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Karjalaine, [Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. Karjalaine, [Para. 0053], the UE may select resource pair 2 to be reported via a joint quasi-colocation multiple-resource beam report. Different types of averaging may be performed, such as a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values. Karjalaine, [Para. 0088], UE may be informed via RRC (radio resource control) message of what resources are QCLed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, and Zhou, so that UE obtains L1-RSRP measurements associated with the reference signals, as taught by Karjalainen. This implementation would have applied to various types of user devices or data service types, or user devices that may have multiple applications running thereon that may be of different data service types (Karjalainen, [Para. 0028]).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou do not explicitly disclose and receive, from the network node, a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) that activates or deactivates the configuration.
Wang is directed to providing methods, devices, and computer readable medium for communication. More specifically, Wang teaches and receive, from the network node, a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) that activates or deactivates the configuration ([Para. 0033], The terminal device receives one or more configurations associated with the AI/ML model from the network device. [Para. 0049], The network device 120 transmits 2030 an indication triggering a report for obtaining information associated with the AI/ML model. Such CSI report can be activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) from the network device 120. [Para. 0135], the actual information comprises at least one of an actual beam determined based on the measurement of a set of reference signals associated with the report or a beam quality corresponding to the actual beam. [Para. 0156], the beam quality comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that a terminal device receives MAC-CE signal from the network node to activate the reference signal measurement, as taught by Wang. This implementation would have provided the AI/ML model to be trained to improve accuracy of the beam management (Wang, [Para. 0033]).
For claim 9, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the one or more processors (Karjalainen, [FIG. 7]) are further configured to: receive, from the network node, an ML model configuration for applying weighted averaging to L1 RSRP measurements (Karjalainen, [Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. the UE may measure the RSRP of the SSB resource and each CSI-RS resource of the set of resources. Karjalainen, [Para. 0053], Different types of averaging may be performed, such as a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network node, an ML model configuration for applying weighted averaging to L1 RSRP measurements.
Wang is directed to providing methods, devices, and computer readable medium for communication. More specifically, Wang teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network node, an ML model configuration for applying weighted averaging to L1 RSRP measurements ([Para. 0129], the one or more capabilities further indicate at least one of: a capability of supporting beam prediction in spatial domain based on AI or ML. [Para. 0033], The terminal device receives one or more configurations associated with the AI/ML model from the network device. The terminal device receives an indication which triggers a report for obtaining information associated with the AI/ML model from the network device. [Para. 0135], the actual information comprises at least one of an actual beam determined based on the measurement of a set of reference signals associated with the report or a beam quality corresponding to the actual beam. [Para. 0156], the beam quality comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP). [Para. 0044], the one or more configuration can comprise a first configuration. In this case, the first configuration can indicate the index of the AI/ML model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that a terminal device receives ML model configuration for applying RSRP measurement on reference signals, as taught by Wang. This implementation would have provided the AI/ML model to be trained to improve accuracy of the beam management (Wang, [Para. 0033]).
For claim 18, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 12. The references further teach wherein the one or more processors (Jayasinghe Laddu, [FIG. 5]) are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, the configuration for applying weighted averaging to L1 RSRP measurements via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0039], the UE may receive from the network (e.g., gNB) a configuration (or information) for measurement reporting, such as via a CSI reporting configuration, that defines the use of at least two resource groups. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0040], a CSI report configuration L (which is provided to the UE 102 via RRC, for example) .... The resources may comprise references which can be used for channel measurements, and examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). Yerramalli, [Para. 0109], the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may measure the received power (e.g., a RSRP or RSSI) of measurement signals (e.g., reference signals). In examples in which the overall received power is a weighted average received power, the multi-cell management circuitry 741 may further be configured to receive a respective weight (e.g., from the PCell) to be applied to each of the first received power and the second received power for use in calculating the weighted average received power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that UE receives configuration to apply weighted average for RSRP measurements, as taught by Yerramalli. This implementation would have allowed enhancements in multi-cell environments to improve the reliability of URLLC transmissions (Yerramalli, [Para. 0004]).
The references further teach are further configured to: receive, from the network node, the configuration for applying weighted averaging to L1 RSRP measurements via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Karjalaine, [Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. Karjalaine, [Para. 0053], the UE may select resource pair 2 to be reported via a joint quasi-colocation multiple-resource beam report. Different types of averaging may be performed, such as a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values. Karjalaine, [Para. 0088], UE may be informed via RRC (radio resource control) message of what resources are QCLed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli and Zhou, so that UE obtains L1-RSRP measurements associated with the reference signals, as taught by Karjalainen. This implementation applies to various types of user devices or data service types, or user devices that may have multiple applications running thereon that may be of different data service types (Karjalainen, [Para. 0028]).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou do not explicitly disclose and transmit, to the UE, a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) that activates or deactivates the configuration.
Wang is directed to providing methods, devices, and computer readable medium for communication. More specifically, Wang teaches and transmit, to the UE, a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) that activates or deactivates the configuration ([Para. 0033], The terminal device receives one or more configurations associated with the AI/ML model from the network device. [Para. 0049], The network device 120 transmits 2030 an indication triggering a report for obtaining information associated with the AI/ML model…. Such CSI report can be activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) from the network device 120. [Para. 0135], the actual information comprises at least one of an actual beam determined based on the measurement of a set of reference signals associated with the report or a beam quality corresponding to the actual beam. [Para. 0156], the beam quality comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that a terminal device receives MAC-CE signal from the network node to activate the reference signal measurement, as taught by Wang. This implementation would have provided the AI/ML model to be trained to improve accuracy of the beam management (Wang, [Para. 0033]).
For claim 19, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 12. The references further teach wherein the one or more processors (Karjalainen, [FIG. 7]) are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, an ML model configuration for applying weighted averaging to L1 RSRP measurements (Karjalainen, [Para. 0047], The UE may measure the received power (e.g., layer 1 or PHY/physical layer RSRP (L1-RSRP)) of each resource of each of the QCL resource pairs. the UE may measure the RSRP of the SSB resource and each CSI-RS resource of the set of resources. Karjalainen, [Para. 0053], Different types of averaging may be performed, such as a weighted average in which the SSB RSRP of a pair is weighted equally as the average of the set of CSI-RS RSRP values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli and Zhou, so that UE obtains L1-RSRP measurements associated with the reference signals, as taught by Karjalainen. This implementation applies to various types of user devices or data service types, or user devices that may have multiple applications running thereon that may be of different data service types (Karjalainen, [Para. 0028]).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, an ML model configuration for applying weighted averaging to L1 RSRP measurements.
Wang is directed to providing methods, devices, and computer readable medium for communication. More specifically, Wang teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, an ML model configuration for applying weighted averaging to L1 RSRP measurements ([Para. 0129], the one or more capabilities further indicate at least one of: a capability of supporting beam prediction in spatial domain based on AI or ML. [Para. 0033], The terminal device receives one or more configurations associated with the AI/ML model from the network device. The terminal device receives an indication which triggers a report for obtaining information associated with the AI/ML model from the network device. [Para. 0135], the actual information comprises at least one of an actual beam determined based on the measurement of a set of reference signals associated with the report or a beam quality corresponding to the actual beam. [Para. 0156], the beam quality comprises at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP). [Para. 0044], the one or more configuration can comprise a first configuration. In this case, the first configuration can indicate the index of the AI/ML model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that a terminal device receives ML model configuration for applying RSRP measurement on reference signals, as taught by Wang. This implementation would have provided the AI/ML model to be trained to improve accuracy of the beam management (Wang, [Para. 0033]).
For claims, 25-26 and are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 8-9. Therefore, claims 25-26 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 8-9.
For claims 29-30 are directed to method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 18-19. Therefore, claims 29-30 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 18-19.
Claims 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasinghe Laddu et al (US20230353326A1, hereinafter Jayasinghe Laddu) in view of Yerramalli et al (US20190364468A1, hereinafter Yerramalli), Karjalainen et al (US20200336194A1, hereinafter Karjalainen) and Zhou et al. (US20230284065A1, hereinafter Zhou), and further in view of Fan et al (US20230268973A1, hereinafter Fan).
For claim 11, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein an input port of the ML model for beam prediction is associated with a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) (Jayasinghe Laddu, [FIG. 2A] and [Para. 0031], For example, the first neural network (NN) Block 1 202 may receive as inputs certain beam measurements. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0028], the measurement parameters (eg. RSRP) for each of the measured beams x1-x3 are provided as an input at 108A to the ML model 110. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0040], the actual measurement resources (e.g., beams x1, x2, and x3 on which the UE performs actual channel measurements) ... examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). [Examiner’s Note: the input ports of the first layer of neural network are associated with the RSRPs of SSB and CSI-RS of beams x(1), …, x(N) respectively]), wherein the configuration indicates the period of time and a periodicity (Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0039], the UE may receive from the network (e.g., gNB) a configuration (or information) for measurement reporting, such as via a CSI reporting configuration, that defines the use of at least two resource groups. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0040], The resources may comprise references which can be used for channel measurements, and examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0052], the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1(channel measurement resources) in a periodic manner), and wherein reference signals, of the plurality of reference signals (Karjalainen, [FIG. 3]), that are quasi-co-located to the TCI are averaged with the period of time based at least in part on the periodicity (Karjalainen, [Para. 0077] and [FIG. 3], after measuring RSRP values for each resource, the UE may determine (e.g., calculate) an aggregate (e.g., average) RSRP over the SSB and QCLed set of CSI-RS resources for each resource pair. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0052], the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1(channel measurement resources) in a periodic manner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli and Zhou, so that quasi-co-located reference signals are averaged within a period, as taught by Karjalainen. This implementation would have applied to various types of user devices or data service types, or user devices that may have multiple applications running thereon that may be of different data service types (Karjalainen, [Para. 0028]).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein an input port of the ML model for beam prediction is associated with a transmission configuration indicator (TCI), and wherein reference signals, of the plurality of reference signals, that are quasi-co-located to the TCI are averaged with the period of time based at least in part on the periodicity.
Fan is directed to providing beam switching method and apparatus. More specifically Fan teaches wherein an input port of the ML model for beam prediction is associated with a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) ([Para. 0074], In the downlink transmission, the network device indicates a TCI-state to the terminal device ... it may be considered that the beam and the TCI-state are equivalent [Examiner’s Note: Since the input ports of the first layer of neural network are associated with the RSRPs of SSB and CSI-RS of beams, as stated above, TCI, equivalent to a beam, is in turn associated with an input port]), and wherein reference signals, of the plurality of reference signals, that are quasi-co-located to the TCI are averaged with the period of time based at least in part on the periodicity ([Para. 0076], The structure of TCI-state is shown in Fig. 3a. The referenceSignal field indicates that a QCL relationship is formed between a resource for a channel that is transmitted by using the TCI-state and a reference signal resource indicated by the referenceSignal field. The QCL relationship means that two reference signal resources have some same spatial parameters [Examiner’s Note: Reference signals are quasi-co-located to the TCI when they are quasi-co-located and one of them is in the beam of the TCI]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that an input port of an ML model for beam prediction is associated with a TCL when considered as a beam and the reference signals of the beams are quasi-co-located to the TCL, as taught by Fan. This implementation would have provided a solution the problem of transmission performance loss during beam switching (Fan, [Para. 0004]).
For claim 21, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou teach the apparatus of claim 12. The references further teach wherein an input port of the ML model for beam prediction is associated with a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) (Jayasinghe Laddu, [FIG. 2A] and [Para. 0031], For example, the first neural network (NN) Block 1 202 may receive as inputs certain beam measurements. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0028], the measurement parameters (eg. RSRP) for each of the measured beams x1-x3 are provided as an input at 108A to the ML model 110. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0040], the actual measurement resources (e.g., beams x1, x2, and x3 on which the UE performs actual channel measurements) ... examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). [Examiner’s Note: the input ports of the first layer of neural network are associated with the RSRPs of SSB and CSI-RS of beams x(1), …, x(N) respectively]), wherein the configuration indicates the period of time and a periodicity (Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0039], the UE may receive from the network (e.g., gNB) a configuration (or information) for measurement reporting, such as via a CSI reporting configuration, that defines the use of at least two resource groups. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0040], The resources may comprise references which can be used for channel measurements, and examples of the resources include Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS). Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0052], the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1(channel measurement resources) in a periodic manner), and wherein reference signals, of the plurality of reference signals (Karjalainen, [FIG. 3]), that are quasi-co-located to the TCI are averaged with the period of time based at least in part on the periodicity (Karjalainen, [Para. 0077] and [FIG. 3], after measuring RSRP values for each resource, the UE may determine (e.g., calculate) an aggregate (e.g., average) RSRP over the SSB and QCLed set of CSI-RS resources for each resource pair. Jayasinghe Laddu, [Para. 0052], the UE may receive CSI-RS transmissions (or SSBs) as in Step 5, corresponding to the CMR1(channel measurement resources) in a periodic manner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli and Zhou, so that quasi-co-located reference signals are averaged within a period, , as taught by Karjalainen. This implementation would have applied to various types of user devices or data service types, or user devices that may have multiple applications running thereon that may be of different data service types (Karjalainen, [Para. 0028]).
However, Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein an input port of the ML model for beam prediction is associated with a transmission configuration indicator (TCI), and wherein reference signals, of the plurality of reference signals, that are quasi-co-located to the TCI are averaged with the period of time based at least in part on the periodicity.
Fan is directed to providing beam switching method and apparatus. More specifically Fan teaches wherein an input port of the ML model for beam prediction is associated with a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) ([Para. 0074], In the downlink transmission, the network device indicates a TCI-state to the terminal device ... it may be considered that the beam and the TCI-state are equivalent [Examiner’s Note: Since the input ports of the first layer of neural network are associated with the RSRPs of SSB and CSI-RS of beams, as stated above, TCI, equivalent to a beam, is in turn associated with an input port]), and wherein reference signals, of the plurality of reference signals, that are quasi-co-located to the TCI are averaged with the period of time based at least in part on the periodicity ([Para. 0076], The structure of TCI-state is shown in Fig. 3a. The referenceSignal field indicates that a QCL relationship is formed between a resource for a channel that is transmitted by using the TCI-state and a reference signal resource indicated by the referenceSignal field. The QCL relationship means that two reference signal resources have some same spatial parameters [Examiner’s Note: Reference signals are quasi-co-located to the TCI when they are quasi-co-located and one of them is in the beam of the TCI]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify the apparatus of Jayasinghe Laddu, Yerramalli, Karjalainen and Zhou, so that an input port of an ML model for beam prediction is associated with a TCL when considered as a beam and the reference signals of the beams are quasi-co-located to the TCL, as taught by Fan. This implementation provides a solution the problem of transmission performance loss during beam switching (Fan, [Para. 0004]).
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417