DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/28/2026 has been entered. 1-5 and 7-22 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, as a “compression ring within the bore” is now a modification to both previous primary references that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as by doing so would provide a level of resistance to enable a more controlled manual operation of the plunger, as well as would prevent the plunger from inadvertent movement when the surgeon manipulates device during the surgical procedure as taught by Springer et al. (see column 5, lines 38-53). The functional limitation explanation that was argued against, being “the plunger would have increased compression as it is inserted into the bore” has been removed as Springer et al. has a tapered bore that applies compression on the implant and plunger as it advances through the bore (see new rejection below for details).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170135811 A1 (hereafter --Springer--), in view of US 20190224002 A1 (hereafter --Springer et al.--).
Regarding Claim 1, Springer discloses an apparatus for eye surgery, the apparatus comprising (see apparatus 100 and all of its annotated components in Figure 7 below): a nozzle (204) having a delivery lumen (see paragraph [0040] denoting that the IOL can be loaded into the nozzle); an implant bay (202) coupled to the nozzle (204) (see paragraphs [0038] and [0041]); an implant (300) disposed in the implant bay (202) (see paragraph [0038]): and an actuator (102) coupled to the implant bay (202), the actuator (102) comprising: a housing (110) having a first end proximate to the implant bay and a second end distal to the implant bay (see annotated first and second ends of the housing in Figure 7 below), a bore (111) through the housing (110) from the first end of the housing to the second end of the housing (see annotated bore in Figure 7 below), a plunger disposed within the bore (see annotated plunger ends in Figure 7 below), , wherein the plunger is configured to advance within the bore toward the first end of the housing (see paragraphs [0035] and [0041]), thereby advancing the implant from the implant bay through the delivery lumen (see paragraph [0041]), a compression ring (134) disposed within the bore and between the plunger and the housing, thereby advancing the compression ring within the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing (see paragraphs [0031] and [0037], see also annotated compression ring 134 in Figure 7 below).
Springer fails to disclose wherein the bore is configured to increase compression on the compression ring as the compression ring advances within the bore.
Springer et al. discloses an apparatus for eye surgery (170) comprising a nozzle having a delivery lumen; an implant bay (210) coupled to the nozzle; a housing having a first end proximate to the implant bay and a second end distal to the implant bay, a bore (520) through the housing from the first end of the housing to the second end of the housing, and a plunger disposed within the bore (see annotated plunger, bore, housing, housing ends, and nozzle in Figures 2B and 7C below), a compression ring (930) disposed within the bore and between the plunger and the housing, thereby advancing the compression ring within the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing (see paragraph [0073]). Springer et al. teaches wherein the bore is configured to increase compression on the compression ring as the compression ring advances within the bore (see paragraph [0049] and [0073]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the bore be tapered, wherein it would be configured to increase compression on the compression ring as the compression ring advances within the bore, as taught by Springer, as by doing so would the compression ring from taking a set shape while the device is in storage, and would cause the plunger to move smoothly inside the bore while also preventing backup of the plunger towards the proximal end of the device, as taught by Springer et al. (see paragraph [0073]).
Regarding Claim 2, Springer as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the bore is tapered, to increase compression on the compression ring as the plunger advances the compression ring through the bore (see paragraph [0049] and [0073]).
Regarding Claim 5, Springer as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the compression ring is disposed between the first end and the second end of the plunger (see also paragraphs [0031] and [0034] denoting that the sealing element 130 is between the proximal and distal end of the plunger, and that the element 134 is connected to the sealing element 130).
Regarding Claim 7, Springer as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plunger comprises a tip (114) configured to engage the implant (see paragraph [0041]).
Regarding Claim 8, Springer as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the tip extends into the implant bay (see paragraph [0041] denoting that the tip 114 engages with the bore 118 of the implant bay 202).
Claims 1-4, 7-8 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180200046 A1 (hereafter --Brown--) in view of US 20190224002 A1 (hereafter --Springer et al.--).
Regarding Claim 1, Brown discloses an apparatus for eye surgery (see Abstract), the apparatus comprising: a nozzle (120) having a delivery lumen (64) (see annotated nozzle 120 in Figure 2 below, see also paragraph [0043]); an implant bay coupled to the nozzle (see annotated implant bay 80 in Figure 2 below, see also paragraph [0043] denoting that implant bay 80 and distal opening of nozzle 120 form a delivery passage); an implant disposed in the implant bay (see paragraph [0049] denoting that an IOL 70 is received into the implant bay); and an actuator coupled to the implant bay (see annotated actuator in Figure 2 below), the actuator comprising: a housing having a first end proximate to the implant bay and a second end distal to the implant bay (see annotated first and second ends in Figure 2 below), a bore through the housing from the first end of the housing to the second end of the housing (see annotated bore in Figure 2 below), a plunger (see annotated plunger and first and second ends in Figure 2 below), within the bore (see annotated first end location in the bore in Figure 2 below); thereby advancing the implant from the implant bay through the delivery lumen (see paragraph [0120]).
Brown fails to disclose a compression ring disposed within the bore and between the plunger and the housing, thereby advancing the compression ring within the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing, and wherein the bore is configured to increase compression on the compression ring as the compression ring advances within the bore.
Springer et al. discloses an apparatus for eye surgery (170) comprising a nozzle having a delivery lumen; an implant bay (210) coupled to the nozzle; a housing having a first end proximate to the implant bay and a second end distal to the implant bay, a bore (520) through the housing from the first end of the housing to the second end of the housing, and a plunger disposed within the bore (see annotated plunger, bore, housing, housing ends, and nozzle in Figures 2B and 7C below), a compression ring (930) disposed within the bore and between the plunger and the housing, thereby advancing the compression ring within the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing (see paragraph [0073]). Springer et al. teaches a compression ring (930) disposed within the bore (520) and between the plunger (510) and the housing (170), thereby advancing the compression ring within the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing, and wherein the bore is configured to increase compression on the compression ring as the compression ring advances within the bore (see paragraph [0049] and [0073]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a compression ring disposed within the bore and between the plunger and the housing, thereby advancing the compression ring within the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing, and wherein the bore is configured to increase compression on the compression ring as the compression ring advances within the bore, as taught by Springer, as by doing so would the compression ring from taking a set shape while the device is in storage, and would cause the plunger to move smoothly inside the bore while also preventing backup of the plunger towards the proximal end of the device, as taught by Springer et al. (see paragraph [0073]).
Regarding Claim 2, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the bore is tapered, to increase compression on the compression ring as the plunger advances the compression ring through the bore (see paragraph [0049] and [0073]).
Regarding Claim 3, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the bore has a first width adjacent to the first end of the housing; the bore has a second width adjacent to the second end of the housing; and the first width is less than the second width (see annotated tapered portion at the first end of the housing having a width that is smaller than the width of the second end of the housing in Figure 2 above, see also paragraph [0046]).
Regarding Claim 4, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the bore has a first width adjacent to the first end of the housing (see width of tapered portion in Figure 2 above); the bore has a second width adjacent to the second end of the housing (see width at the second end of the housing in Figure 2 above); the bore comprises a first region and a second region (see annotated first and second regions in Figure 2 above); the first region has a width that decreases from the second width adjacent to the second region to the first width adjacent to the first end of the housing (see width of tapered portion, or “first region” being less than the width of the annotated second region); and the second region has a width that is substantially constant and equal to the second width (see annotated second region in Figure 2 above, being next to the second end of the housing, as the entire bore has a constant diameter except for the diameter in the tapered region).
Regarding Claim 7, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plunger comprises a tip configured to engage the implant (see paragraph [0050] describing the plunger tip 220, see also paragraph [0056] denoting that the plunger tip engages the IOL).
Regarding Claim 8, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the tip extends into the implant bay (see paragraph [0075] denoting that the plunger tip can extend into the implant bay 80).
Regarding Claim 13, Brown discloses an apparatus (10) for delivering an implant to an eye (see Abstract), the apparatus comprising: a housing configured to be coupled to an implant bay (see annotated housing and implant bay in Figure 2 below), the housing having a first end and a second end (see annotated first and second housing ends in Figure 2 below); a bore passing longitudinally through the housing from the first end of the housing to the second end of the housing and having a tapered portion adjacent to the first end of the housing (see annotated bore and tapered portion in Figure 2 below, see also paragraph [0046]); a plunger disposed within the bore (see annotated plunger and first and second ends in Figure 2 below); wherein the plunger is configured to advance within the bore toward the first end of the housing (see Figure 2 below, see also paragraph [0057]).
Brown fails to disclose a compression ring coupled to the plunger and disposed within the bore between the plunger and the housing and wherein the plunger is configured to advance the compression ring within the bore toward the first end of the housing and the bore having a tapered portion that is configured to compress the compression ring as the plunger compression ring advances within the bore.
Springer et al. discloses an apparatus for eye surgery (170) comprising a nozzle having a delivery lumen; an implant bay (210) coupled to the nozzle; a housing having a first end proximate to the implant bay and a second end distal to the implant bay, a bore (520) through the housing from the first end of the housing to the second end of the housing, and a plunger disposed within the bore (see annotated plunger, bore, housing, housing ends, and nozzle in Figures 2B and 7C below), a compression ring (930) disposed within the bore and between the plunger and the housing, thereby advancing the compression ring within the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing (see paragraph [0073]). Springer et al. teaches a compression ring (930) disposed within the bore (520) and between the plunger (510) and the housing (170), and wherein the plunger is configured to advance the compression ring within the bore toward the first end of the housing and the bore having a tapered portion that is configured to compress the compression ring as the plunger compression ring advances within the bore. (see paragraph [0049] and [0073]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a compression ring coupled to the plunger and disposed within the bore between the plunger and the housing and wherein the plunger is configured to advance the compression ring within the bore toward the first end of the housing and the bore having a tapered portion that is configured to compress the compression ring as the plunger compression ring advances within the bore, as taught by Springer, as by doing so would the compression ring from taking a set shape while the device is in storage, and would cause the plunger to move smoothly inside the bore while also preventing backup of the plunger towards the proximal end of the device, as taught by Springer et al. (see paragraph [0073]).
Regarding Claim 14, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the tapered portion reduces a width of the bore from the second end of the housing to the first end of the housing (see tapered portion and bore in Figure 2 above, see also paragraph [0046]).
Regarding Claim 15, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein: the bore has a first width adjacent to the first end of the housing; the bore has a second width adjacent to the second end of the housing; and the first width is less than the second width (see annotated tapered portion at the first end of the housing having a width that is smaller than the width of the second end of the housing in Figure 2 above, see also paragraph [0046]).
Regarding Claim 16, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the bore has a fixed width between the tapered portion and the second end of the housing (see bore in Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the plunger comprises a tip configured to engage the implant (see paragraph [0050] describing the plunger tip 220, see also paragraph [0056] denoting that the plunger tip engages the IOL).
Regarding Claim 18, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the tip extends into the implant bay (see paragraph [0075] denoting that the plunger tip can extend into the implant bay 80).
Claims 9-12 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180200046 A1 (hereafter --Brown--), in view of US 20190224002 A1 (hereafter --Springer et al.--), as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of US 20080147081 A1 (hereafter --Pynson--).
Regarding Claim 9, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Brown as modified by Springer et al. fails to disclose wherein the compression ring comprises or consists essentially of an elastomeric material.
Pynson discloses apparatus (100) for delivering an implant to an eye (see Abstract), the apparatus comprising: a housing configured to be coupled to an implant bay (see annotated housing and implant bay in Figure 1 below), and a plunger having a compression ring (see paragraph [0026] denoting that the plunger can have a tip that can be convex/concave, flat, or shaped, the outside of the tip being the compression ring in the convex embodiment) coupled to the plunger within the bore between the plunger and the housing (see annotated plunger and bore in Figure 1 below). Pynson teaches wherein the compression ring comprises or consists essentially of silicone, which is an elastomeric material (see paragraph [0026] denoting the plunger tip can be made of silicone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the compression ring material consist of silicone, which is an elastomeric material, as taught by Pynson since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Lashing, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 10, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Brown as modified by Springer et al. fails to disclose wherein the compression ring comprises or consists essentially of silicone, perfluoroelastomer (FFKM), nitrile rubber, fluorocarbon type A, chloroprene, polyurethane, or polytetrafluoroethylene.
Pynson teaches wherein the compression ring comprises or consists essentially of silicone (see paragraph [0026] denoting the plunger tip can be made of silicone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the compression ring material consist of silicone, as taught by Pynson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 11, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Brown as modified by Springer et al. fails to disclose wherein the housing comprises or consists essentially of polypropylene, polycarbonate, acrylonitrile-butadlene-styrene, or polyoxymethylene.
Pynson teaches wherein the housing comprises or consists essentially of polypropylene (see paragraph [0037] denoting the injector components can be made of polypropylene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the housing material consist of polypropylene, as taught by Pynson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 12, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Brown as modified by Springer et al. fails to disclose wherein the housing comprises polypropylene and the compression ring comprises silicone.
Pynson teaches wherein the housing comprises polypropylene (see paragraph [0037] denoting the injector components can be made of polypropylene) and the compression ring comprises silicone (see paragraph [0026] denoting the plunger tip can be made of silicone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to have the housing material consist of polypropylene and the compression ring material consist of silicone, as taught by Pynson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 19, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 13.
Brown as modified by Springer et al. fails to disclose wherein the compression ring comprises or consists essentially of silicone, perfluoroelastomer (FFKM), nitrile rubber, fluorocarbon type A, chloroprene, polyurethane, or poly tetrafluoroethylene.
Pynson teaches wherein the compression ring comprises or consists essentially of silicone (see paragraph [0026] denoting the plunger tip can be made of silicone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the compression ring material consist of silicone, as taught by Pynson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 20, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 13.
Brown as modified by Springer et al. fails to disclose wherein the housing comprises or consists essentially of polypropylene or polyoxymethylene.
Pynson teaches wherein the housing comprises or consists essentially of polypropylene (see paragraph [0037] denoting the injector components can be made of polypropylene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the housing material consist of polypropylene, as taught by Pynson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 21, Brown as modified by Springer et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 13.
Brown as modified by Springer et al. fails to disclose wherein the housing comprises polypropylene and the compression ring comprises silicone.
Pynson teaches wherein the housing comprises polypropylene (see paragraph [0037] denoting the injector components can be made of polypropylene) and the compression ring comprises silicone (see paragraph [0026] denoting the plunger tip can be made of silicone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the housing material consist of polypropylene and the compression ring material consist of silicone, as taught by Pynson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 22, Brown. discloses apparatus for eye surgery (see Abstract), the apparatus comprising: a nozzle (120) having a delivery lumen (64) (see annotated nozzle 120 in Figure 2 below, see also paragraph [0043]); an implant bay coupled to the nozzle (see annotated implant bay 80 in Figure 2 below, see also paragraph [0043] denoting that implant bay 80 and distal opening of nozzle 120 form a delivery passage); an implant disposed in the implant bay (see paragraph [0049] denoting that an IOL 70 is received into the implant bay); and an actuator coupled to the implant bay (see annotated actuator in Figure 2 below), the actuator comprising: a housing having a first end proximate to the implant bay and a second end distal to the implant bay (see annotated first and second ends in Figure 2 below), a bore through the housing, the bore having a tapered portion adjacent to the first end of the housing (see annotated bore and tapered portion in Figure 2 below), and a fixed width between the tapered portion and the second end of the housing (see bore in Figure 2 below having a fixed width), the tapered portion reducing a width of the bore from the second end of the housing to the first end of the housing (see annotated tapered portion in Figure 2 below, see also paragraph [0046]), a plunger having a tip and a head disposed within a bore (see annotated plunger 30, tip, and head in Figure 2 below), wherein the first end of the plunger is configured to advance within the bore toward the first end of the housing (see Figure 2 below, see also paragraph [0057]), thereby advancing the implant from the implant bay through the delivery lumen (see paragraph [0120]).
Brown fails to disclose a compression ring within the bore and coupled to the plunger adjacent to the head, the compression ring consisting essentially of silicone, thereby advancing the compression ring through the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing, the bore having a tapered portion that is configured to compress the compression ring as the compression ring advances through the tapered portion, as well as fails to disclose the housing consisting essentially of polypropylene.
Springer et al. discloses an apparatus for eye surgery (170) comprising a nozzle having a delivery lumen; an implant bay (210) coupled to the nozzle; a housing having a first end proximate to the implant bay and a second end distal to the implant bay, a bore (520) through the housing from the first end of the housing to the second end of the housing, and a plunger disposed within the bore (see annotated plunger, bore, housing, housing ends, and nozzle in Figures 2B and 7C below), a compression ring (930) disposed within the bore and between the plunger and the housing, thereby advancing the compression ring within the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing (see paragraph [0073]). Springer et al. teaches a compression ring (930) disposed within the bore (520) and coupled to the plunger (510) adjacent to the head, thereby advancing the compression ring through the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing, the bore having a tapered portion that is configured to compress the compression ring as the compression ring advances through the tapered portion (730) (see paragraph [0049] and [0073]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a compression ring within the bore and coupled to the plunger adjacent to the head, thereby advancing the compression ring through the bore as the plunger is advanced toward the first end of the housing, the bore having a tapered portion that is configured to compress the compression ring as the compression ring advances through the tapered portion, as taught by Springer, as by doing so would the compression ring from taking a set shape while the device is in storage, and would cause the plunger to move smoothly inside the bore while also preventing backup of the plunger towards the proximal end of the device, as taught by Springer et al. (see paragraph [0073]).
Brown as modified by Springer et al. further fails to disclose the housing consisting essentially of polypropylene and the compression ring consisting essentially of silicone.
Pynson teaches wherein the housing comprises polypropylene (see paragraph [0037] denoting the injector components can be made of polypropylene) and the compression ring comprises silicone (see paragraph [0026] denoting the plunger tip can be made of silicone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the housing consist essentially of polypropylene and the compression ring consist essentially of silicone, as taught by Pynson, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774