Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Fraser reduces the average size of tissue pieces by enzymatic digestion and not mechanical processing and thus there is no teaching that the device of Fraser can perform the mechanical processing to reduce the average size of tissue pieces. Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the device of Fraser indeed has a step of washing, the claim limitations recite “said lipoaspirate processing unit configured, when activated to mechanically process lipoaspirate inside the liposuction filter canister functionally- associated with the liposuction device reduce the average size of the adipose tissue pieces in the lipoaspirate without rupturing the lipocytes”. This mechanically processing of the lipoaspirate only needs to reduce the average size of the adipose tissue pieces in the lipoaspirate without rupturing the lipocytes which is already taught in [0102] wherein the vibration of the filter would indeed result in the movement of material through the pores of the filter and thus reduces the average size through natural filtration. The examiner position is not that the mechanical processing involves the enzyme digestion but merely the movement of the adipose tissues through the actual filter would result in reducing the average size due to filtration. Thus, Applicant’s arguments while are correct with regard to the enzymes, Fraser still meets the limitations of the claim as the vibrating filter would result in reducing the average size of tissue. The rejection below is supplemented to further clarify the rejection and does not change the grounds of rejection.
Claims 1-8, 10, 24-26 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: lipoaspirate processing unit in claim 1, liposuction vacuum module in claim 2, vibration unit in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fraser (US 2005/0048033).
Regarding claim 1, Fraser discloses a liposuction device (10) configured for performing liposuction by drawing in vivo adipose tissue from a body as a lipoaspirate through a cannula ([0071]) and transferring at least some the harvested adipose tissue into a liposuction filter canister (30, [0075], figure 3 and 6) functionally associated with the liposuction device, the device comprising: a lipoaspirate processing unit (30 and 36), said lipoaspirate processing unit configured, when activated to mechanically process lipoaspirate ([0124], vibrating member coupled to the filter) contained inside the liposuction filter canister (30) functionally- associated with the liposuction device, said mechanically processing reduces the average size of the adipose tissue pieces in lipoaspirate without substantially rupturing lipocytes ([0102], figure 6, said mechanically processing reducing the average size).
Regarding claim 2, Fraser discloses the liposuction device comprising a liposuction vacuum module (26 34, [0118], [0093], figures 1-3) attachable to the liposuction filter canister functionally-associated with the liposuction device through a vacuum port (figure 2, vacuum attached to the canister through 12g) thereof, said liposuction vacuum module configured, when attached to a liposuction filter canister and activated, to effect liposuction through said liposuction filter canister and through a liposuction probe functionally associated therewith, thereby allowing trapping of harvested adipose tissue in a filter liner of the attached filter canister ([0122-0124]).
Regarding claim 3, Fraser discloses the liposuction device configured to allow activation of said lipoaspirate processing unit to mechanically process the contents of a liposuction filter canister functionally associated with the liposuction device while the liposuction filter canister is attached to said liposuction vacuum module ([0118], [0122-0124]).
Regarding claim 4, Fraser discloses said liposuction vacuum module further configured to remove liquids from a container of liposuction filter canister functionally-associated with the liposuction device (34, [0093], figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Fraser discloses said liposuction filter canister includes functionally associated with the liposuction device through a drainage port configured to allow removal of liquids from the filter canister ([0122-0124]).
Regarding claim 6, Fraser discloses further comprising a liposuction probe ([0081]) having a distal end attachable to a liposuction cannula ([0081, standard cannula part of a probe) and a proximal end (end of the line 12a) attachable to the liposuction filter canister (30) functionally-associated with the liposuction device through an aspirate inlet (inlet at the end of 12a) thereof, said liposuction probe configured to direct liposuction aspirate harvested via an attached liposuction cannula into a container (container of 30) of the attached liposuction filter canister ([0081]).
Regarding claim 7, Fraser discloses further comprising the liposuction filter canister includes an access port (31c) configured to allow an amount of liquid to be added to said liposuction filter canister ([0122]).
Regarding claim 8, Fraser discloses a controller ([0144]) configured to automatically process lipoaspirate contained in the liposuction filter canister that is functionally associated with the liposuction device ([0144-0145]), said automatic processing comprising activation of said lipoaspirate processing unit, said fluid drainage module and said washing module in a desired order for a desired duration ([0145]).
Regarding claim 10, Fraser discloses wherein said lipoaspirate processing unit comprises a vibration unit ([0124]), said vibration unit configured when activated to produce and apply vibration to lipoaspirate contained inside a liposuction filter canister functionally-associated with the liposuction device, said vibration effective to mechanically process said lipoaspirate ([0124], vibrating member coupled to the filter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (US 2005/0048033).
Regarding claim 24, Fraser does not disclose wherein said vibrations have a frequency of less than 20kHz.
Fraser discloses that the vibrating member may be coupled to the filter 36b (e.g., the small pore filter). Vibrating can reduce an incidence of cells becoming trapped in the filters. The vibration frequency is a result effective variable in that changing vibration would reduce incidence of cells trapped in the filter. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Fraser device to have a vibration frequency within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the settings of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Fraser by making the vibration of less than 20kHz as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (US 2005/0048033) in view of Kamikawa (US 2003/0084929).
Regarding claim 25, Fraser does not disclose wherein said vibration unit comprises at least one sonic transmitter probe configured to be positioned in a volume enclosed by a filter liner of the liposuction filter canister functionally associated with the liposuction device.
Kamikawa discloses a processing system relatively pertinent to problem posed by Applicant of filtering material. Kamikawa teaches vibrating unit (sonic vibrator, [0121]) comprises at least one sonic transmitter probe configured to be positioned on the filter and thus inside the interior volume ([0121]). The combined device would have the transmitter on the filter inside the liner.
Kamikawa provides the sonic vibrations on the filter in order to release undesired material on the filter ([0120]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Fraser by putting the sonic transmitter on the filter in order to release unreleased material since Fraser already teaches the use of a vibrator but doesn’t specify the location.
Regarding claim 26, Fraser discloses the vibration unit coupled to the filter liner (36b, [0124]) and causes the filter to vibrate when activated ([0124]), but Fraser does not disclose said vibration unit comprises a sonic transmitter, said sonic transmitter causes a physically-associated said filter liner to vibrate.
Kamikawa discloses a processing system relatively pertinent to problem posed by Applicant of filtering material. Kamikawa teaches vibrating unit comprises at least one sonic transmitter probe (sonic vibrator, [0121]) configured to be positioned on the filter and vibrate the filter ([0120-0121]).
Kamikawa provides the sonic vibrations on the filter in order to release undesired material on the filter ([0120]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Fraser by putting the sonic transmitter on the filter in order to release unreleased material since Fraser already teaches the use of a vibrator but doesn’t specify the location.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KAI H. WENG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781