DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species 5, Figure 3A in the reply filed on 10/29/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 1-8 read on the elected Figure 3A and Figures 4A-4B depict similar inductor structure with Figure 3A and method claims is not different invention compare to claims 1-8. This is not found persuasive because inductor structure of Figures 4A-4B is different from the inductor structure of Figure 3A, claims 5-6 do not read on Figure 3A, method claims require further search and/or consideration in other areas, class/subclass. Claims 1-4 and 7-8 will be examined herewith.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of “a current limiting circuit” intended by “a current limiting circuit electrically coupled to the negative inductor and configured to supply an electric current of magnitude within a range, the range defined bey a first local minimum and a second local minimum of current-energy curve of the ferromagnetic material.” It is unclear how the “range” defined. What is/are the local minimum of a current energy curve of the ferromagnetic material? Applicant should clarify. Claims 2-4 inherit the defects of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shogo et al. [JP 2016-225590 A] in view of Uchikoba [US 6,106,893].
Regarding claim 1, Shogo et al. inductor device [figure 1] for a current limiting circuit, comprising:
- an inductor [1] comprising a magnetic material [2] and a conductive [3] material arranged inside the ferromagnetic material; and
- a current limiting circuit electrically coupled to the inductor and configured to supply an electric current of magnitude to the inductor device.
Shogo et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the use of ferromagnetic material and the specific the range defined by a first local minimum and a second local minimum of a current-energy curve of the ferromagnetic material.
Uchikoba discloses an inductor element [figures 1-3] comprising:
- a core [1] formed of a ferromagnetic material; and
- a conductor [2] arranged inside the core.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use ferromagnetic material for the magnetic core of Shogo et al., as suggested by Uchikoba, for the purpose of noise suppression [abstract and summary of the invention].
The inductor structure of Shogo et al. in view of Uchikoba would exhibit/supply the electric current of magnitude within a ranged defined by a first local minimum and a second local minimum of a current-energy curve of the ferromagnetic material.
Regarding claim 2, both Shogo et al. and Uchikoba discloses first and second terminals electrically connected to first and second ends of the conductive material provided for external and/or internal connections [3-4 of figures 1-3 in Uchikoba].
Regarding claim 3, Uchikoba discloses the ferromagnetic material has a first shape, the conductive material has a second shape, and the first shape of the ferromagnetic material encloses the second shape of the conductive material such that a geometrical center of the first shape coincides with a geometrical center of the second shape [figures 1-3].
Regarding claim 4, Shogo et al. discloses different shapes between the first shape and the second shape. Uchikoba discloses each of the first shape and the second shape are symmetrical shapes.
The specific symmetrical shapes would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or assembling.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishino et al. [US 4,146,854] or in view of Uchikoba.
Regarding claim 7, Ishino et al. discloses an inductive device [figure 2] comprising:
- a magnetic core [3]; and
- a conductor [2] partly enclosed in the magnetic core such that opposite ends of the conductor are protruded from the magnetic core [figure 2].
Ishino et al. discloses the ends of the conductor could be used as terminals for external connection of the inductor device.
Ishino et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the use of ferromagnetic material for the magnetic core.
Uchikoba discloses an inductor element [figures 1-3] comprising:
- a core [1] formed of a ferromagnetic material; and
- a conductor [2] arranged inside the core.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use ferromagnetic material for the magnetic core of Shogo et al., as suggested by Uchikoba, for the purpose of noise suppression [abstract and summary of the invention].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that:
[1] The claimed “range” and “local minima” are defined in the specification that “a ferromagnetic material exhibits a current energy relationship having a W-shaped profile with two local minima and an intermediate region” thereby providing a clear physical meaning to the “current-energy curve” as an energy function of the ferromagnetic material with respect to current. Applicant also argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that current is a sign quantity represent direction of flow and that the two local minima correspond to distinct current values (typically associated with opposite current directions or magnetization states) thereby defining a bounded and identifiable interval on the current axis.
[2] Shogo does not disclose or suggest any energy-versus-current relationship or any energy-based characterization of the ferromagnetic material. The prior art of record do not disclose or suggest any local minima of such a relationship of a first and second local minimum defining a range. Shogo in view of Uchikoba fail to disclose a current limiting circuit configured to supply an electric current of magnitude within a range, the ranged defined by a first local minimum and a second local minimum of a current-energy curve of the ferromagnetic material; and
[3] Claim 7 require “a conductive material party enclosed in the ferromagnetic material and Ishino discloses a conductor passed through ferrite bead but does not form a discrete ferromagnetic body that partially encloses the conductor with defined protruding terminal portions.
The Examiner disagrees.
Regarding [1], applicant has not clearly define and/or clarify the structure and/or arrangement of a current limiting circuit intended by “a current limiting circuit electrically coupled to the negative inductor and configured to supply an electric current of magnitude within a range, the ranged defined by a first local minimum and a second local minimum of a current-energy curve of the ferromagnetic material.”
Regarding [2], applicant acknowledged that when current flow through the conductor [or coil] of an inductor arranged within a ferromagnetic material (typically associated with opposite current directions) the current-energy curve as an energy function of the ferromagnetic material with respect to current. Shogo discloses an inductor [1] for use a current limiting circuit having a magnetic core [2] form any soft magnetic material. Shogo does not specifically mention the use of ferromagnetic material for the magnetic core. Uchikoba discloses the use of ferromagnetic material for an inductor having a conductor [2] arranged inside the magnetic material. A skilled artisan would motivate to seek ferromagnetic material from Uchikoba for the code of Shogo for the purpose of improving performance and noise suppression. A current go through the inductor of Shogo in view of Uchikoba would exhibit current energy relationship, as acknowledge by applicant. Applicant has not claimed any specific material for the ferromagnetic material and/or any current direction [same and/or opposite directions]. The structure of Shogo in view of Uchikoba would exhibit the current-energy curve when the current go through the inductor structure from input to output of the coil/conductor.
Regarding [3], Ishino discloses a conductor [2] partly enclose in ferrite beads [11-1n] and magnetic core [3]. Applicant had not claimed, nor had examiner considered, a discrete ferromagnetic body that partially encloses the conductor. Applicant merely claims a ferromagnetic material and a conductive material partly enclosed in the ferromagnetic material.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837