Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species 5, Figure 3A in the reply filed on 10/29/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 1-8 read on the elected Figure 3A and Figures 4A-4B depict similar inductor structure with Figure 3A and method claims is not different invention compare to claims 1-8. This is not found persuasive because inductor structure of Figures 4A-4B is different from the inductor structure of Figure 3A, claims 5-6 do not read on Figure 3A, method claims require further search and/or consideration in other areas, class/subclass. Claims 1-4 and 7-8 will be examined herewith.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of “a current limiting circuit” intended by “a current limiting circuit electrically coupled to the negative inductor and configured to supply an electric current of magnitude within a range, the range defined bey a first local minimum and a second local minimum of current-energy curve of the ferromagnetic material.” It is unclear how the “range” defined. What is/are the local minimum of a current energy curve of the ferromagnetic material? Applicant should clarify. Claims 2-4 inherit the defects of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Uchikoba [US 6,106,893].
Regarding claim 8, Uchikoba discloses an inductor [figures 1-3], comprising: a ferromagnetic material [1]; and a conductive material [3] arranged inside the ferromagnetic material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shogo et al. [JP 2016-225590 A] in view of Uchikoba [US 6,106,893].
Regarding claim 1, Shogo et al. inductor device [figure 1] for a current limiting circuit, comprising:
- an inductor [1] comprising a magnetic material [2] and a conductive [3] material arranged inside the ferromagnetic material; and
- a current limiting circuit electrically coupled to the inductor and configured to supply an electric current of magnitude to the inductor device.
Shogo et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the use of ferromagnetic material and the specific the range defined by a first local minimum and a second local minimum of a current-energy curve of the ferromagnetic material.
Uchikoba discloses an inductor element [figures 1-3] comprising:
- a core [1] formed of a ferromagnetic material; and
- a conductor [2] arranged inside the core.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use ferromagnetic material for the magnetic core of Shogo et al., as suggested by Uchikoba, for the purpose of noise suppression [abstract and summary of the invention].
The inductor structure of Shogo et al. in view of Uchikoba would exhibit/supply the electric current of magnitude within a ranged defined by a first local minimum and a second local minimum of a current-energy curve of the ferromagnetic material.
Regarding claim 2, both Shogo et al. and Uchikoba discloses first and second terminals electrically connected to first and second ends of the conductive material provided for external and/or internal connections [3-4 of figures 1-3 in Uchikoba].
Regarding claim 3, Uchikoba discloses the ferromagnetic material has a first shape, the conductive material has a second shape, and the first shape of the ferromagnetic material encloses the second shape of the conductive material such that a geometrical center of the first shape coincides with a geometrical center of the second shape [figures 1-3].
Regarding claim 4, Shogo et al. discloses different shapes between the first shape and the second shape. Uchikoba discloses each of the first shape and the second shape are symmetrical shapes.
The specific symmetrical shapes would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing and/or assembling.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishino et al. [US 4,146,854] or in view of Uchikoba.
Regarding claim 7, Ishino et al. discloses an inductive device [figure 2] comprising:
- a magnetic core [3]; and
- a conductor [2] partly enclosed in the magnetic core such that opposite ends of the conductor are protruded from the magnetic core [figure 2].
Ishino et al. discloses the ends of the conductor could be used as terminals for external connection of the inductor device.
Ishino et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the use of ferromagnetic material for the magnetic core.
Uchikoba discloses an inductor element [figures 1-3] comprising:
- a core [1] formed of a ferromagnetic material; and
- a conductor [2] arranged inside the core.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use ferromagnetic material for the magnetic core of Shogo et al., as suggested by Uchikoba, for the purpose of noise suppression [abstract and summary of the invention].
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837