DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 18/048,731
This Office Action is responsive to the arguments and amendments received 17 March 2026.
Claims 51, 54-57, and 59-70 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of: Group I, claims 51-64, in the reply filed on 10 November 2023 is acknowledged.
Applicant has also elected the following species:
A species of formula (I) of claim 51, being compound AMC-3-033, shown below:
The elected group and species have been determined to read on claims 51, 54-57, 59-60, and 63-64.
Claims 61-62 and 65-70 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
A search for Applicant’s elected species did not retrieve applicable prior art. Therefore, the search was expanded only as needed to reach the rejections presented below. See MPEP 803.02; Ex parte Ohsaka, 2 USPQ2d 1460, 1461 (Bd. Pat. App. lnt. 1987).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed U.S. provisional patent application 63/270,437 (filed 21 October 2021) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Response to Amendments
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections to the claims, present in the previous office action, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments. New rejections under 35 USC 103 are presented herein.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner has herein withdrawn the previous rejections of the instant claims under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103. Please see the new rejections presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51, 54-57, 59-60, and 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
ZHOU (Previously Cited by Examiner, Zhou, Y.; Liu, X.; Xue, J.; et al. “Discovery of Peptide Boronate Derivatives as Histone Deacetylase and Proteasome Dual Inhibitors for Overcoming Bortezomib Resistance of Multiple Myeloma” J. Med. Chem. 2020, 63, 4701−4715.)
in view of:
MATTESON (Matteson, D.S.; Ray, R. “Directed Chiral Synthesis with Pinanediol Boronic Esters” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1980, 102, 7590-7591.).
ZHOU teaches a series of compounds that were each designed with a boronate moiety to increase their proteasome binding ability, and the compounds were based upon the structure of bortezomib (abstract). These compounds were intended to treat multiple myeloma (abstract). ZHOU teaches compound ZY-8 in Table 1 on page 4704 therein, as shown below.
Compound ZY-8 of ZHOU is drawn therein having a (+)-pinanediol boronic ester moiety.
Compound AMC-3-017 is instantly claimed within claim 63, as shown below. Compound 1001 of instant claim 60 is identical to compound AMC-3-017 of instant claim 63. These instantly claimed compounds differ from compound ZY-8 of ZHOU only because the pinanediol stereochemistry.
MATTESON teaches the use of chiral pinanediol boronic esters in directed chiral syntheses (Pg. 7590, 1st paragraph). MATTESON teaches that both the (+)- and (-)-pinanediol boronic esters can be added onto a compound through esterification (Scheme I and Pg. 7591, 2nd-3rd paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date, to see the pinanediol boronic ester moieties of ZHOU, such as ZY-8, and to have immediately envisaged synthesizing the pinanediol boronic ester moiety with the opposite stereochemistry ((-)-pinanediol), as was shown to be well known within the art by MATTESON, for the purpose of tuning the proteasome binding of the compounds of ZHOU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected success with this modification of the compounds of ZHOU, because Figure 1 of ZHOU teaches that a wide variety of boronate derivatives have been utilized within FDA approved proteasome inhibitors , and MATTESON teaches that synthesizing derivatives with both pinanediol enantiomers was known in the literature for a long time.
Regarding claim 64: ZHOU teaches, within the paragraph labeled “Chemistry” on page 4710, that all target molecules therein were subjected to an HPLC method wherein these molecules were dissolved in a mixture of acetonitrile and water. Water is a physiologically compatible carrier medium, and so the solution of compound ZY-8 taught by ZHOU anticipates instant claim 64.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowable.
/JDMc/Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625