DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10, 12-26, and 28-30 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 12, 13, 16, 28, and 28 are amended.
Claims 11 and 27 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al., (hereinafter Chae), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0105055, in view of Manolakos et al., (hereinafter Manolakos), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0105040.
As per claim 1, Chae discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [fig. 1A, 15, paragraphs 0047, 0160, 0206, a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (a mobile communication network 100; a wireless device 1502 in communication with a base station 1504 in accordance with embodiments)], comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for multiplexing a sounding reference signal with a data signal in time and in frequency [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0258, receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for multiplexing a sounding reference signal with a data signal in time and in frequency (one or more SRS configuration parameters; a UE-specific configuration; base station may indicate that an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
receiving, from the network entity, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0136, 0160, 0161, 0165, 0190, 0198, 0201, 0258, receiving, from the network entity, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the sounding reference signal (configure the UE with one or more SRS resource sets; RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)]; and
transmitting, to the network entity, the multiplexed sounding reference signal [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0157, 0160, 0164, 0165, 0171, 0190, 0249, transmitting, to the network entity, the multiplexed sounding reference signal (UE may transmit one or more SRS resources in SRS resource sets; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)].
Chae discloses wherein the UE may be configured to transmit PUSCH and SRS in a same slot (a slot in the time and frequency domain) [paragraphs 0135, 0140, 0160, 0161, 0171].
Chae does not explicitly disclose wherein the sounding reference signal and the data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources, wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the sounding reference signal and the data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 9, 11, 19, paragraphs 0016, 0084, 0121, 0144, 0147, 0149, wherein the sounding reference signal and the data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned resources SRS and non-SRS communication; transmit a first plurality of OFDM symbols with at least one SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency)], wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources [fig. 9, 11, 13, 19, Abstract, paragraphs 0129, 0139, 0144, wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources (configuring SRS resources with frequency domain staggering across consecutive OFDM symbols; OFDM symbols with SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency hop)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Chae by including multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources as taught by Manolakos because it would provide the Chae’s method with the enhanced capability of providing a robust channel estimation [Manolakos, paragraphs 0120, 0131].
As per claim 2, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal comprises:
receiving, from the network entity, an indication to rate-match the data signal around the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0191, 0197, 0201, 0209, 0248, receiving, from the network entity, an indication to rate-match the data signal around the sounding reference signal (the base station may process the DCI with channel coding (e.g., polar coding), rate matching)];
rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal in response to receiving the indication [paragraphs 0191, 0197, 0201, 0209, 0248, rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal in response to receiving the indication (UE may process information contained in the DCI; UE may perform rate matching)]; and
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the rate-matched data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the rate-matched data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)].
As per claim 3, Chae discloses the method of claim 2, wherein rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal comprises:
receiving, from the network entity, an indication of the comb pattern that identifies resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0161, 0164, 0165, 0199, 0201, receiving, from the network entity, an indication of the comb pattern that identifies resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (one or more SRS configuration parameters indicating at least one of following: a SRS resource configuration identifier; mapped in the time and frequency domains; a transmission comb, quasi co-location (QCL) parameters; UE-specific configuration/search spaces)]; and
rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the indicated comb pattern [paragraphs 0161, 0164, 0165, 0199, 0201, 0209, 0248, rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the indicated comb pattern (UE may perform rate matching; a transmission comb, quasi co-location (QCL) parameters; UE-specific configuration/search spaces)].
As per claim 4, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal comprises:
receiving, from the network entity, an indication of the comb pattern and a frequency offset associated with the comb pattern that identify resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0164, 0244, 0250, 0254, 0258, 0259, 0264, receiving, from the network entity, an indication of the comb pattern and a frequency offset associated with the comb pattern that identify resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (a Tx UE may configure, to a Rx UE, a plurality of candidate sidelink CSI reporting slot information which may be indicated by a bitmap or a plurality of offset values; a base station may configure CSI reporting slot offset per resource pool to sidelink UE via a physical layer (e.g. DCI) or a higher layer (e.g. SIB or RRC))]; and
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the indicated comb pattern and frequency offset [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0164, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0244, 0250, 0254, 0258, 0259, 0264, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the indicated comb pattern and frequency offset (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM; a Tx UE may configure, to a Rx UE, a plurality of candidate sidelink CSI reporting slot information which may be indicated by a bitmap or a plurality of offset values; a base station may configure CSI reporting slot offset per resource pool to sidelink UE via a physical layer (e.g. DCI) or a higher layer (e.g. SIB or RRC))].
As per claim 5, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal comprises:
encoding the sounding reference signal using a first cover code [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0113, 0153, 0157, 0197, 0198, 0201, 0203, 0217, encoding the sounding reference signal using a first cover code (PUCCH resource includes an orthogonal cover code; mapped onto orthogonal frequency divisional multiplexing (OFDM) symbols)];
encoding the data signal using a second cover code that is orthogonal to the first cover code [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0113, 0153, 0157, 0197, 0198, 0201, 0203, 0217, encoding the data signal using a second cover code that is orthogonal to the first cover code (PUCCH resource includes an orthogonal cover code; mapped onto orthogonal frequency divisional multiplexing (OFDM) symbols)]; and
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)].
As per claim 6, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal comprises:
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal and at least one demodulation reference signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0153, 0157, 0160, 0171, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal and at least one demodulation reference signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)].
As per claim 7, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal comprises:
receiving, from the network entity, an indication of resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0191, 0197, 0201, 0209, 0248, receiving, from the network entity, an indication of resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (the base station may process the DCI with channel coding (e.g., polar coding), rate matching)]; and
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the indicated resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0153, 0157, 0160, 0171, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the indicated resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)], wherein the sounding reference signal occupies a first portion of indicated resource blocks and the data signal occupies a second portion of the indicated resource blocks [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0153, 0157, 0160, 0171, 0190, 0202, 0258, wherein the sounding reference signal occupies a first portion of indicated resource blocks and the data signal occupies a second portion of the indicated resource blocks (multiplex control-plane and user-plane data into the same transport block; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel (e.g., a control channel, a shared data channel, and/or the like))].
As per claim 8, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sounding reference signal is used at the network entity for:
estimating, at the network entity, a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity, sensing, at the network entity; an environment associated with the UE, or identifying, at the network entity, a position of the UE [paragraphs 0109, 0122, 0157, 0160, 0251, estimating, at the network entity, a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity; or identifying, at the network entity, a position of the UE (SRS may be transmitted by a UE to a base station for channel state estimation; search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information)].
As per claim 9, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data signal comprises
a physical uplink control channel signal or a physical uplink shared channel signal [paragraphs 0157, 0160, 0190, 0202, a physical uplink control channel signal or a physical uplink shared channel signal (assign one or more resource blocks for an uplink PUSCH transmission)].
As per claim 10, Chae discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [fig. 1A, 15, paragraphs 0047, 0160, 0206, a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (a mobile communication network 100; a wireless device 1502 in communication with a base station 1504 in accordance with embodiments)], comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for multiplexing a plurality of reference signals in a Doppler domain [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0258, receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for multiplexing a plurality of reference signals in a Doppler domain (one or more SRS configuration parameters; a UE-specific configuration; base station may indicate that an RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread); the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
receiving, from the network entity, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the plurality of reference signals [paragraphs 0136, 0160, 0161, 0165, 0190, 0198, 0201, 0258, receiving, from the network entity, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the sounding reference signal (configure the UE with one or more SRS resource sets; RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
multiplexing the plurality of reference signals across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the plurality of reference signals across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)]; and
transmitting, to the network entity, the multiplexed plurality of reference signals [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0157, 0160, 0164, 0165, 0171, 0190, 0249, transmitting, to the network entity, the multiplexed plurality of reference signals (UE may transmit one or more SRS resources in SRS resource sets; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)].
Chae discloses receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain [paragraphs 0113, 0140, 0146, 0156, 0159, 0162, 0171, receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS); RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread)]; and multiplexing the plurality of reference signals using the indicated plurality of phase codes [paragraphs 0113, 0140, 0146, 0156, 0159, 0162, 0171, multiplexing the plurality of reference signals using the indicated plurality of phase codes (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS); RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread)].
Chae does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports; multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports [paragraphs 0063, 0065, 0084, wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports (the phase setting of an array of antennas)]; multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration [paragraphs 0084, 0129, 0131, 0140, 0144, multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration (configuring SRS resources with frequency domain staggering across consecutive OFDM symbols; the number of SRS symbols can be equal to the comb-type with a deterministic sequence of shifts)], wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals [fig. 9, 11, 19, paragraphs 0016, 0063, 0084, 0120, 0121, 0144, 0147, 0149, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals (multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned resources SRS and non-SRS communication; transmit a first plurality of OFDM symbols with at least one SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency; SRS can be used at the gNB to obtain detailed amplitude and phase estimates as a function of frequency, time and space)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Chae by including indicating a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports as taught by Manolakos because it would provide the Chae’s method with the enhanced capability of providing a robust channel estimation [Manolakos, paragraphs 0120, 0131].
As per claim 12, Chae discloses the method of claim 10, wherein multiplexing the plurality of reference signals using the indicated plurality of phase codes comprises:
multiplying each reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with a respective phase code of the indicated plurality of phase codes [paragraphs 0113, 0140, 0146, 0156, 0159, 0162, 0171, multiplying each reference signal of the plurality of reference signals with a respective phase code of the indicated plurality of phase codes (UE may assume a same precoding for a DMRS port and a PT-RS port; the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS); RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics)].
As per claim 13, Chae discloses the method of claim 12,
wherein each respective phase code is based at least in part on a respective antenna port of the plurality of antenna ports at the UE and a respective symbol within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [paragraphs 0156, 0159, wherein each respective phase code is based at least in part on a respective antenna port of the plurality of antenna ports at the UE and a respective symbol within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (UE may assume a same precoding for a DMRS port and a PT-RS port)].
As per claim 14, Chae discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of reference signals are transmitted to the network entity for:
estimating, at the network entity, a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity, sensing, at the network entity, an environment associated with the UE, or identifying, at the network entity, a position of the UE [paragraphs 0109, 0122, 0157, 0160, 0251, estimating, at the network entity, a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity; or identifying, at the network entity, a position of the UE (SRS may be transmitted by a UE to a base station for channel state estimation; search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information)].
As per claim 15, Chae discloses the method of claim 10,
wherein the plurality of reference signals comprise sounding reference signals, positioning reference signals, or sensing reference signals [paragraphs 0079, 0100, 0140, wherein the plurality of reference signals comprise sounding reference signals, positioning reference signals, or sensing reference signals (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS)].
As per claim 16, Chae discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity [fig. 1A, 15, paragraphs 0047, 0160, 0206, a method for wireless communication at a network entity (a mobile communication network 100; a wireless device 1502 in communication with a base station 1504 in accordance with embodiments)], comprising:
outputting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for multiplexing a sounding reference signal with a data signal in time and in frequency [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0258, outputting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for multiplexing a sounding reference signal with a data signal in time and in frequency (one or more SRS configuration parameters; a UE-specific configuration; base station may indicate that an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
outputting, to the UE, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0136, 0160, 0161, 0165, 0190, 0198, 0201, 0258, outputting, to the UE, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the sounding reference signal (configure the UE with one or more SRS resource sets; RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)]; and
obtaining, from the UE, the sounding reference signal and the data signal, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is multiplexed with the obtained data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the output configuration [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, obtaining, from the UE, the sounding reference signal and the data signal, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is multiplexed with the obtained data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the output configuration (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)].
Chae discloses wherein the UE may be configured to transmit PUSCH and SRS in a same slot (a slot in the time and frequency domain) [paragraphs 0135, 0140, 0160, 0161, 0171].
Chae does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtained sounding reference signal and the obtained data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources, wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the obtained sounding reference signal and the obtained data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 9, 11, 19, paragraphs 0016, 0084, 0121, 0144, 0147, 0149, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal and the obtained data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned resources SRS and non-SRS communication; transmit a first plurality of OFDM symbols with at least one SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency)], wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources [fig. 9, 11, 13, 19, Abstract, paragraphs 0129, 0139, 0144, wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources (configuring SRS resources with frequency domain staggering across consecutive OFDM symbols; OFDM symbols with SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency hop)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Chae by including multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources as taught by Manolakos because it would provide the Chae’s method with the enhanced capability of providing a robust channel estimation [Manolakos, paragraphs 0120, 0131].
As per claim 17, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, wherein outputting the configuration comprises:
outputting, to the UE, an indication of a comb pattern that identifies resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0161, 0164, 0165, 0199, 0201, outputting, to the UE, an indication of a comb pattern that identifies resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (one or more SRS configuration parameters indicating at least one of following: a SRS resource configuration identifier; mapped in the time and frequency domains; a transmission comb, quasi co-location (QCL) parameters; UE-specific configuration/search spaces)], wherein the obtained data signal is rate-matched around the sounding reference signal in accordance with the indicated comb pattern [paragraphs 0161, 0164, 0165, 0199, 0201, 0209, 0248, wherein the obtained data signal is rate-matched around the sounding reference signal in accordance with the indicated comb pattern (UE may perform rate matching; a transmission comb, quasi co-location (QCL) parameters; UE-specific configuration/search spaces)].
As per claim 18, Chae discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising:
outputting, to the UE, an indication to rate-match the data signal around the sounding reference signal in accordance with the indicated comb pattern, wherein obtaining the data signal is based at least in part on the output indication [paragraphs 0164, 0244, 0250, 0254, 0258, 0259, 0264, outputting, to the UE, an indication to rate-match the data signal around the sounding reference signal in accordance with the indicated comb pattern, wherein obtaining the data signal is based at least in part on the output indication (a Tx UE may configure, to a Rx UE, a plurality of candidate sidelink CSI reporting slot information which may be indicated by a bitmap or a plurality of offset values; a base station may configure CSI reporting slot offset per resource pool to sidelink UE via a physical layer (e.g. DCI) or a higher layer (e.g. SIB or RRC))].
As per claim 19, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, wherein outputting the configuration comprises:
outputting, to the UE, an indication of a comb pattern and frequency offset that identify resources blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0164, 0244, 0250, 0254, 0258, 0259, 0264, outputting, to the UE, an indication of a comb pattern and frequency offset that identify resources blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (a Tx UE may configure, to a Rx UE, a plurality of candidate sidelink CSI reporting slot information which may be indicated by a bitmap or a plurality of offset values; a base station may configure CSI reporting slot offset per resource pool to sidelink UE via a physical layer (e.g. DCI) or a higher layer (e.g. SIB or RRC))], wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is multiplexed in accordance with the indicated comb pattern and frequency offset [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0164, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0244, 0250, 0254, 0258, 0259, 0264, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is multiplexed in accordance with the indicated comb pattern and frequency offset (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM; a Tx UE may configure, to a Rx UE, a plurality of candidate sidelink CSI reporting slot information which may be indicated by a bitmap or a plurality of offset values; a base station may configure CSI reporting slot offset per resource pool to sidelink UE via a physical layer (e.g. DCI) or a higher layer (e.g. SIB or RRC))].
As per claim 20, Chae discloses the method of claim 16,
wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is encoded using a first cover code and the obtained data signal is encoded using a second cover code that is orthogonal to the first cover code [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0113, 0153, 0157, 0197, 0198, 0201, 0203, 0217, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is encoded using a first cover code and the obtained data signal is encoded using a second cover code that is orthogonal to the first cover code (PUCCH resource includes an orthogonal cover code; mapped onto orthogonal frequency divisional multiplexing (OFDM) symbols)].
As per claim 21, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
obtaining, from the UE, a demodulation reference signal, wherein the obtained demodulation reference signal is multiplexed with the obtained sounding reference signal and the obtained data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resource [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, obtaining, from the UE, a demodulation reference signal, wherein the obtained demodulation reference signal is multiplexed with the obtained sounding reference signal and the obtained data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resource (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)].
As per claim 22, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, wherein outputting the configuration comprises:
outputting, to the UE, an indication of resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0153, 0157, 0160, 0171, 0190, 0202, 0258, outputting, to the UE, an indication of resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)], wherein the obtained sounding reference signal occupies a first portion of indicated resource blocks and the obtained data signal occupies a second portion of the indicated resource blocks [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0153, 0157, 0160, 0171, 0190, 0202, 0258, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal occupies a first portion of indicated resource blocks and the obtained data signal occupies a second portion of the indicated resource blocks (multiplex control-plane and user-plane data into the same transport block; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel (e.g., a control channel, a shared data channel, and/or the like))].
As per claim 23, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
estimating a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity based at least in part on the obtained sounding reference signal; identifying a position of the UE based at least in part on the sounding reference signal; or sensing an environment associated with the UE based at least in part on the obtained sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0109, 0122, 0157, 0160, 0251, estimating a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity based at least in part on the obtained sounding reference signal (SRS may be transmitted by a UE to a base station for channel state estimation; search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information)].
As per claim 24, Chae discloses the method of claim 23, wherein sensing the environment associated with the UE comprises:
sensing the environment associated with the UE using multiple input and multiple output radar [paragraphs 0153, 0209-0211, 0256, sensing the environment associated with the UE using multiple input and multiple output radar (MIMO transmission scheme (e.g. between space time frequency coding (SFBC) and/or precoder cycling and/or multi-rank transmission); multiuser-MIMO)].
As per claim 25, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the data signal comprises
a physical uplink control channel signal or a physical uplink shared channel signal [paragraphs 0157, 0160, 0190, 0202, a physical uplink control channel signal or a physical uplink shared channel signal (assign one or more resource blocks for an uplink PUSCH transmission)].
As per claim 26, Chae discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity [fig. 1A, 15, paragraphs 0047, 0160, 0206, a method for wireless communication at a network entity (a mobile communication network 100; a wireless device 1502 in communication with a base station 1504 in accordance with embodiments)], comprising:
outputting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for multiplexing a plurality of reference signals in a Doppler domain [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0258, outputting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for multiplexing a plurality of reference signals in a Doppler domain (one or more SRS configuration parameters; a UE-specific configuration; base station may indicate that an RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread); the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
outputting, to the UE, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the plurality of reference signals [paragraphs 0136, 0160, 0161, 0165, 0190, 0198, 0201, 0258, outputting, to the UE, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the plurality of reference signals (configure the UE with one or more SRS resource sets; RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)]; and
obtaining, from the UE, the plurality of reference signals, wherein the obtained plurality of reference signals are multiplexed across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the output configuration [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, obtaining, from the UE, the plurality of reference signals, wherein the obtained plurality of reference signals are multiplexed across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the output configuration (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM; UE may transmit one or more SRS resources in SRS resource sets; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)].
Chae discloses outputting, to the UE, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals, wherein each obtained reference signal of the obtained plurality of reference signals is multiplexed using a respective phase code of the indicated plurality of phase codes [paragraphs 0113, 0140, 0146, 0156, 0159, 0162, 0171, outputting, to the UE, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals, wherein each obtained reference signal of the obtained plurality of reference signals is multiplexed using a respective phase code of the indicated plurality of phase codes (UE may assume a same precoding for a DMRS port and a PT-RS port; the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS); RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics)].
Chae does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports; multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports [paragraphs 0063, 0065, 0084, wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports (the phase setting of an array of antennas)]; multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration [paragraphs 0084, 0129, 0131, 0140, 0144, multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration (configuring SRS resources with frequency domain staggering across consecutive OFDM symbols; the number of SRS symbols can be equal to the comb-type with a deterministic sequence of shifts)], wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals [fig. 9, 11, 19, paragraphs 0016, 0063, 0084, 0120, 0121, 0144, 0147, 0149, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals (multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned resources SRS and non-SRS communication; transmit a first plurality of OFDM symbols with at least one SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency; SRS can be used at the gNB to obtain detailed amplitude and phase estimates as a function of frequency, time and space)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Chae by including indicating a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports as taught by Manolakos because it would provide the Chae’s method with the enhanced capability of providing a robust channel estimation [Manolakos, paragraphs 0120, 0131].
As per claim 28, Chae discloses the method of claim 26,
wherein each phase code of the plurality of phase codes corresponds to a respective antenna port of plurality of antenna ports at the UE and a respective symbol within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [paragraphs 0156, 0159, wherein each phase code of the plurality of phase codes corresponds to a respective antenna port of plurality of antenna ports at the UE and a respective symbol within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (UE may assume a same precoding for a DMRS port and a PT-RS port)].
As per claim 29, Chae discloses the method of claim 26, further comprising:
estimating a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity based at least in part on the obtained plurality of reference signals; identifying a position of the UE based at least in part on the obtained plurality of reference signals; or sensing an environment associated with the UE based at least in part on the obtained plurality of reference signals [paragraphs 0109, 0122, 0157, 0160, 0251, estimating a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity based at least in part on the obtained plurality of reference signals; identifying a position of the UE based at least in part on the obtained plurality of reference signals (SRS may be transmitted by a UE to a base station for channel state estimation; search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information)].
As per claim 30, Chae discloses the method of claim 26,
wherein the plurality of reference signals comprise sounding reference signals, positioning reference signals, or sensing reference signals [paragraphs 0079, 0100, 0140, wherein the plurality of reference signals comprise sounding reference signals, positioning reference signals, or sensing reference signals (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al., U.S. Publication No. 2020/0313932 discloses staggering sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions in frequency across multiple orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469