DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10, 12-26, and 28-30 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 16 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) The cited prior art does not teach or suggest "receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for multiplexing a plurality of reference signals in a Doppler domain," where "the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports," let alone "multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration," where "the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals," as recited in amended independent claim 10, [Remarks, pages 13-15].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Chae discloses receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain [paragraphs 0113, 0140, 0146, 0156, 0159, 0162, 0171, receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS); RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread)]; and multiplexing the plurality of reference signals using the indicated plurality of phase codes [paragraphs 0113, 0140, 0146, 0156, 0159, 0162, 0171, multiplexing the plurality of reference signals using the indicated plurality of phase codes (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS); RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread)]. Chae does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports; multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports [paragraphs 0063, 0065, 0084, wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports (the phase setting of an array of antennas)]; multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration [paragraphs 0084, 0129, 0131, 0140, 0144, multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration (configuring SRS resources with frequency domain staggering across consecutive OFDM symbols; the number of SRS symbols can be equal to the comb-type with a deterministic sequence of shifts)], wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals [fig. 9, 11, 19, paragraphs 0016, 0063, 0084, 0120, 0121, 0144, 0147, 0149, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals (multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned resources SRS and non-SRS communication; transmit a first plurality of OFDM symbols with at least one SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency; SRS can be used at the gNB to obtain detailed amplitude and phase estimates as a function of frequency, time and space)].
Regarding receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain, Chae discloses in paragraphs 0145, 0146, 0157, 0159, 0161, 0162, 0164, 0171 and 0211.
[0145] The PBCH may use a QPSK modulation and may use forward error correction (FEC). The FEC may use polar coding. One or more symbols spanned by the PBCH may carry one or more DMRSs for demodulation of the PBCH. The PBCH may include an indication of a current system frame number (SFN) of the cell and/or a SS/PBCH block timing index. These parameters may facilitate time synchronization of the UE to the base station. …. The UE may use one or more parameters of the MIB to monitor PDCCH, which may be used to schedule PDSCH. The PDSCH may include the SIB1. The SIB1 may be decoded using parameters provided in the MIB. The PBCH may indicate an absence of SIB1. Based on the PBCH indicating the absence of SIB1, the UE may be pointed to a frequency. The UE may search for an SS/PBCH block at the frequency to which the UE is pointed.
[0146] The UE may assume that one or more SS/PBCH blocks transmitted with a same SS/PBCH block index are quasi co-located (QCLed) (e.g., having the same/similar Doppler spread, Doppler shift, average gain, average delay, and/or spatial Rx parameters). The UE may not assume QCL for SS/PBCH block transmissions having different SS/PBCH block indices.
[0157] …. The uplink DM-RS may span a range of frequencies that is similar to a range of frequencies associated with the corresponding physical channel. The base station may configure the UE with one or more uplink DMRS configurations. At least one DMRS configuration may support a front-loaded DMRS pattern. The front-loaded DMRS may be mapped over one or more OFDM symbols (e.g., one or two adjacent OFDM symbols). One or more uplink DMRSs may be configured to transmit at one or more symbols of a PUSCH and/or a PUCCH. The base station may semi-statically configure the UE with a number (e.g. maximum number) of front-loaded DMRS symbols for the PUSCH and/or the PUCCH, which the UE may use to schedule a single-symbol DMRS and/or a double-symbol DMRS. An NR network may support (e.g., for cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM)) a common DMRS structure for downlink and uplink, wherein a DMRS location, a DMRS pattern, and/or a scrambling sequence for the DMRS may be the same or different.
[0159] Uplink PT-RS (which may be used by a base station for phase tracking and/or phase-noise compensation) may or may not be present depending on an RRC configuration of the UE. The presence and/or pattern of uplink PT-RS may be configured on a UE-specific basis by a combination of RRC signaling and/or one or more parameters employed for other purposes (e.g., Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS)), which may be indicated by DCI. When configured, a dynamic presence of uplink PT-RS may be associated with one or more DCI parameters comprising at least MCS. A radio network may support a plurality of uplink PT-RS densities defined in time/frequency domain. When present, a frequency domain density may be associated with at least one configuration of a scheduled bandwidth. The UE may assume a same precoding for a DMRS port and a PT-RS port. A number of PT-RS ports may be fewer than a number of DMRS ports in a scheduled resource. For example, uplink PT-RS may be confined in the scheduled time/frequency duration for the UE.
[0161] The base station may semi-statically configure the UE with one or more SRS configuration parameters indicating at least one of following: a SRS resource configuration identifier; a number of SRS ports; time domain behavior of an SRS resource configuration (e.g., an indication of periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic SRS); slot, mini-slot, and/or subframe level periodicity; offset for a periodic and/or an aperiodic SRS resource; a number of OFDM symbols in an SRS resource; a starting OFDM symbol of an SRS resource; an SRS bandwidth; a frequency hopping bandwidth; a cyclic shift; and/or an SRS sequence ID.
[0162] …. A first antenna port and a second antenna port may be referred to as quasi co-located (QCLed) if one or more large-scale properties of the channel over which a first symbol on the first antenna port is conveyed may be inferred from the channel over which a second symbol on a second antenna port is conveyed. The one or more large-scale properties may comprise at least one of: a delay spread; a Doppler spread; a Doppler shift; an average gain; an average delay; and/or spatial Receiving (Rx) parameters.
[0164] …. A base station may transmit one or more RRC messages comprising CSI-RS resource configuration parameters indicating one or more CSI-RSs. One or more of the following parameters may be configured by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC and/or MAC signaling) for a CSI-RS resource configuration: a CSI-RS resource configuration identity, a number of CSI-RS ports, a CSI-RS configuration (e.g., symbol and resource element (RE) locations in a subframe), a CSI-RS subframe configuration (e.g., subframe location, offset, and periodicity in a radio frame), a CSI-RS power parameter, a CSI-RS sequence parameter, a code division multiplexing (CDM) type parameter, a frequency density, a transmission comb, quasi co-location (QCL) parameters (e.g., QCL-scramblingidentity, crs-portscount, mbsfn-subframeconfiglist, csi-rs-configZPid, qcl-csi-rs-configNZPid), and/or other radio resource parameters.
[0171] …. The base station may indicate that an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel (e.g., a control channel, a shared data channel, and/or the like). The RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, spatial Rx parameter, fading, and/or the like) from a transmission via the RS resource to the UE are similar or the same as the channel characteristics from a transmission via the channel to the UE.
[0211] As shown in FIG. 15, a wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504 may include multiple antennas. The multiple antennas may be used to perform one or more MIMO or multi-antenna techniques, such as spatial multiplexing (e.g., single-user MIMO or multi-user MIMO), transmit/receive diversity, and/or beamforming ….
In other words, Chae discloses receiving, from the base station, a plurality of configuration parameters (RRC configuration of the UE) for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain (e.g., channel coding (e.g., polar coding), rate matching, scrambling and/or QPSK modulation, Doppler spread; a Doppler shift; an average gain; an average delay; and/or spatial parameters).
Regarding wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals, Manolakos discloses in paragraphs 0099 and 0100
[0009] Another aspect is directed to a method of wireless communication performed by a base station (BS), comprising transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration that indicates, for each of a plurality of frequency hops associated with the same comb-type, a sequence of resource element offsets that is based on a number of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols used in the respective frequency hop, and receiving, from the UE in each of the plurality of frequency hops, a plurality of consecutive OFDM symbols with at least one SRS in accordance with the sequence of resource element offsets indicated by the SRS configuration for the respective frequency hop.
[0063] …. To change the directionality of the RF signal when transmitting, a network node can control the phase and relative amplitude of the RF signal at each of the one or more transmitters that are broadcasting the RF signal. For example, a network node may use an array of antennas (referred to as a “phased array” or an “antenna array”) that creates a beam of RF waves that can be “steered” to point in different directions, without actually moving the antennas. Specifically, the RF current from the transmitter is fed to the individual antennas with the correct phase relationship so that the radio waves from the separate antennas add together to increase the radiation in a desired direction, while cancelling to suppress radiation in undesired directions.
[0065] In receive beamforming, the receiver uses a receive beam to amplify RF signals detected on a given channel. For example, the receiver can increase the gain setting and/or adjust the phase setting of an array of antennas in a particular direction to amplify (e.g., to increase the gain level of) the RF signals received from that direction. Thus, when a receiver is said to beamform in a certain direction, it means the beam gain in that direction is high relative to the beam gain along other directions, or the beam gain in that direction is the highest compared to the beam gain in that direction of all other receive beams available to the receiver. This results in a stronger received signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), etc.) of the RF signals received from that direction.
[0084] The transmitter 316 and the receiver 318 may implement Layer-1 functionality associated with various signal processing functions. Layer-1, which includes a physical (PHY) layer, may include error detection on the transport channels, forward error correction (FEC) coding/decoding of the transport channels, interleaving, rate matching, mapping onto physical channels, modulation/demodulation of physical channels, and MIMO antenna processing. The transmitter 316 handles mapping to signal constellations based on various modulation schemes (e.g., binary phase-shift keying (BPSK), quadrature phase-shift keying (QPSK), M-phase-shift keying (M-PSK), M-quadrature amplitude modulation (M-QAM)). …. Channel estimates from a channel estimator may be used to determine the coding and modulation scheme, as well as for spatial processing. The channel estimate may be derived from a reference signal and/or channel condition feedback transmitted by the UE 302. Each spatial stream may then be provided to one or more different antennas. The transmitter 316 may modulate an RF carrier with a respective spatial stream for transmission.
[0121] The SRS can be configured using various options. The time/frequency mapping of an SRS resource is defined by the following characteristics.
[0125] Transmission comb spacing K.sub.TC and comb offset k.sub.TC—An SRS resource may occupy resource elements (REs) of a frequency domain comb structure, where the comb spacing is either 2 or 4 REs like in LTE. Such a structure allows frequency domain multiplexing of different SRS resources of the same or different users on different combs, where the different combs are offset from each other by an integer number of REs. The comb offset is defined with respect to a PRB boundary, and can take values in the range 0, 1, . . . , K.sub.TC−1 REs. Thus, for comb spacing K.sub.TC=2, there are 2 different combs available for multiplexing if needed, and for comb spacing K.sub.TC=4, there are 4 different available combs.
[0129] … . As illustrated in FIG. 8, in some aspects, the SRS transmissions for positioning can be adjust the phase setting of an array of antennas in a particular direction to amplify (e.g., to increase the gain level of) the RF signals received from that direction for at least some symbols) in a single SRS resource. For example, a staggering pattern for a comb-8 (e.g., N=8) is illustrated in chart 810. In this example, the frequency offset shift may be determined relative to the sequence of 0, 4, 2, 6, 1, 5, 3, 7. In another example, a staggering pattern for a comb-4 (e.g., N=4) is illustrated in chart 820. In this example, the frequency offset shift may be determined relative to the sequence of 0, 2, 1, 3.
In other words, Manolakos discloses adjusting phase setting of an array of antennas in a particular direction to amplify the RF signals; configure the SRS transmissions with staggered patterns (e.g., a collection of SRS symbols from the same antenna port with different offsets/phase codes for at least some symbols).
Therefore, given that Chae discloses receiving, from the base station, a plurality of configuration parameters (RRC configuration of the UE) for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain, and Manolakos discloses configuring/adjusting phase setting of an array of antennas in a particular direction to amplify the RF signals, then the combination of Chae and Manolakos discloses multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals.
Regarding the rejection of claims 10, 16, and 26, claims 10, 16, and 26 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 10, 16, and 26, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-9, 12-15, 17-25, and 28-30, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 14, 15, 26, 28, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al., (hereinafter Chae), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0105055, in view of Manolakos et al., (hereinafter Manolakos), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0105040.
As per claim 10, Chae discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [fig. 1A, 15, paragraphs 0047, 0160, 0206, a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (a mobile communication network 100; a wireless device 1502 in communication with a base station 1504 in accordance with embodiments)], comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for multiplexing a plurality of reference signals in a Doppler domain [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0258, receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for multiplexing a plurality of reference signals in a Doppler domain (one or more SRS configuration parameters; a UE-specific configuration; base station may indicate that an RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread); the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
receiving, from the network entity, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the plurality of reference signals [paragraphs 0136, 0160, 0161, 0165, 0190, 0198, 0201, 0258, receiving, from the network entity, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the sounding reference signal (configure the UE with one or more SRS resource sets; RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
multiplexing the plurality of reference signals across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the plurality of reference signals across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)]; and
transmitting, to the network entity, the multiplexed plurality of reference signals [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0157, 0160, 0164, 0165, 0171, 0190, 0249, transmitting, to the network entity, the multiplexed plurality of reference signals (UE may transmit one or more SRS resources in SRS resource sets; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)].
Chae discloses receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain [paragraphs 0113, 0140, 0146, 0156, 0159, 0162, 0171, receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS); RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread)]; and multiplexing the plurality of reference signals using the indicated plurality of phase codes [paragraphs 0113, 0140, 0146, 0156, 0159, 0162, 0171, multiplexing the plurality of reference signals using the indicated plurality of phase codes (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS); RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread)].
Chae does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports; multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports [paragraphs 0063, 0065, 0084, wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports (the phase setting of an array of antennas)]; multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration [paragraphs 0084, 0129, 0131, 0140, 0144, multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration (configuring SRS resources with frequency domain staggering across consecutive OFDM symbols; the number of SRS symbols can be equal to the comb-type with a deterministic sequence of shifts)], wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals [fig. 9, 11, 19, paragraphs 0016, 0063, 0084, 0120, 0121, 0144, 0147, 0149, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals (multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned resources SRS and non-SRS communication; transmit a first plurality of OFDM symbols with at least one SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency; SRS can be used at the gNB to obtain detailed amplitude and phase estimates as a function of frequency, time and space)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Chae by including indicating a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports as taught by Manolakos because it would provide the Chae’s method with the enhanced capability of providing a robust channel estimation [Manolakos, paragraphs 0120, 0131].
As per claim 14, Chae discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of reference signals are transmitted to the network entity for:
estimating, at the network entity, a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity, sensing, at the network entity, an environment associated with the UE, or identifying, at the network entity, a position of the UE [paragraphs 0109, 0122, 0157, 0160, 0251, estimating, at the network entity, a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity; or identifying, at the network entity, a position of the UE (SRS may be transmitted by a UE to a base station for channel state estimation; search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information)].
As per claim 15, Chae discloses the method of claim 10,
wherein the plurality of reference signals comprise sounding reference signals, positioning reference signals, or sensing reference signals [paragraphs 0079, 0100, 0140, wherein the plurality of reference signals comprise sounding reference signals, positioning reference signals, or sensing reference signals (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS)].
As per claim 26, Chae discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity [fig. 1A, 15, paragraphs 0047, 0160, 0206, a method for wireless communication at a network entity (a mobile communication network 100; a wireless device 1502 in communication with a base station 1504 in accordance with embodiments)], comprising:
outputting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for multiplexing a plurality of reference signals in a Doppler domain [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0258, outputting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for multiplexing a plurality of reference signals in a Doppler domain (one or more SRS configuration parameters; a UE-specific configuration; base station may indicate that an RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics (e.g., Doppler shift, Doppler spread); the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
outputting, to the UE, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the plurality of reference signals [paragraphs 0136, 0160, 0161, 0165, 0190, 0198, 0201, 0258, outputting, to the UE, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the plurality of reference signals (configure the UE with one or more SRS resource sets; RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)]; and
obtaining, from the UE, the plurality of reference signals, wherein the obtained plurality of reference signals are multiplexed across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the output configuration [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, obtaining, from the UE, the plurality of reference signals, wherein the obtained plurality of reference signals are multiplexed across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the output configuration (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM; UE may transmit one or more SRS resources in SRS resource sets; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)].
Chae discloses outputting, to the UE, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals, wherein each obtained reference signal of the obtained plurality of reference signals is multiplexed using a respective phase code of the indicated plurality of phase codes [paragraphs 0113, 0140, 0146, 0156, 0159, 0162, 0171, outputting, to the UE, an indication of a plurality of phase codes for multiplexing the plurality of reference signals, wherein each obtained reference signal of the obtained plurality of reference signals is multiplexed using a respective phase code of the indicated plurality of phase codes (UE may assume a same precoding for a DMRS port and a PT-RS port; the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS); RS resource and the one or more DMRSs of the channel may be QCLed when the channel characteristics)].
Chae does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports; multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports [paragraphs 0063, 0065, 0084, wherein the configuration indicates a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports (the phase setting of an array of antennas)]; multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration [paragraphs 0084, 0129, 0131, 0140, 0144, multiplexing the plurality of reference signals in the Doppler domain across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration (configuring SRS resources with frequency domain staggering across consecutive OFDM symbols; the number of SRS symbols can be equal to the comb-type with a deterministic sequence of shifts)], wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals [fig. 9, 11, 19, paragraphs 0016, 0063, 0084, 0120, 0121, 0144, 0147, 0149, wherein the plurality of reference signals are multiplexed in accordance with a corresponding phase code of an antenna port of each of the plurality of reference signals (multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned resources SRS and non-SRS communication; transmit a first plurality of OFDM symbols with at least one SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency; SRS can be used at the gNB to obtain detailed amplitude and phase estimates as a function of frequency, time and space)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Chae by including indicating a plurality of phase codes for a plurality of antenna ports as taught by Manolakos because it would provide the Chae’s method with the enhanced capability of providing a robust channel estimation [Manolakos, paragraphs 0120, 0131].
As per claim 28, Chae discloses the method of claim 26,
wherein each phase code of the plurality of phase codes corresponds to a respective antenna port of plurality of antenna ports at the UE and a respective symbol within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [paragraphs 0156, 0159, wherein each phase code of the plurality of phase codes corresponds to a respective antenna port of plurality of antenna ports at the UE and a respective symbol within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (UE may assume a same precoding for a DMRS port and a PT-RS port)].
As per claim 29, Chae discloses the method of claim 26, further comprising:
estimating a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity based at least in part on the obtained plurality of reference signals; identifying a position of the UE based at least in part on the obtained plurality of reference signals; or sensing an environment associated with the UE based at least in part on the obtained plurality of reference signals [paragraphs 0109, 0122, 0157, 0160, 0251, estimating a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity based at least in part on the obtained plurality of reference signals; identifying a position of the UE based at least in part on the obtained plurality of reference signals (SRS may be transmitted by a UE to a base station for channel state estimation; search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information)].
As per claim 30, Chae discloses the method of claim 26,
wherein the plurality of reference signals comprise sounding reference signals, positioning reference signals, or sensing reference signals [paragraphs 0079, 0100, 0140, wherein the plurality of reference signals comprise sounding reference signals, positioning reference signals, or sensing reference signals (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station (e.g., DMRS, PT-RS, and/or SRS)].
Claim(s) 1-9 and 16-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al., (hereinafter Chae), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0105055, in view of Manolakos et al., (hereinafter Manolakos), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0105040, and in further view of Yang et al., (hereinafter Yang), U.S. Publication No. 2019/0380123.
As per claim 1, Chae discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [fig. 1A, 15, paragraphs 0047, 0160, 0206, a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (a mobile communication network 100; a wireless device 1502 in communication with a base station 1504 in accordance with embodiments)], comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for multiplexing a sounding reference signal with a data signal in time and in frequency [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0258, receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for multiplexing a sounding reference signal with a data signal in time and in frequency (one or more SRS configuration parameters; a UE-specific configuration; base station may indicate that an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
receiving, from the network entity, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0136, 0160, 0161, 0165, 0190, 0198, 0201, 0258, receiving, from the network entity, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the sounding reference signal (configure the UE with one or more SRS resource sets; RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the received configuration (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)]; and
transmitting, to the network entity, the multiplexed sounding reference signal [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0157, 0160, 0164, 0165, 0171, 0190, 0249, transmitting, to the network entity, the multiplexed sounding reference signal (UE may transmit one or more SRS resources in SRS resource sets; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)].
Chae discloses wherein the UE may be configured to transmit PUSCH and SRS in a same slot (a slot in the time and frequency domain) [paragraphs 0135, 0140, 0160, 0161, 0171].
Chae does not explicitly disclose wherein the sounding reference signal and the data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources, wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the sounding reference signal and the data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 9, 11, 19, paragraphs 0016, 0084, 0121, 0144, 0147, 0149, wherein the sounding reference signal and the data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned resources SRS and non-SRS communication; transmit a first plurality of OFDM symbols with at least one SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency)], wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources [fig. 9, 11, 13, 19, Abstract, paragraphs 0129, 0139, 0144, wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources (configuring SRS resources with frequency domain staggering across consecutive OFDM symbols; OFDM symbols with SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency hop)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Chae by including multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources as taught by Manolakos because it would provide the Chae’s method with the enhanced capability of providing a robust channel estimation [Manolakos, paragraphs 0120, 0131].
Chae does not explicitly disclose time-frequency resources based at least in part on rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal in a frequency domain.
However, Yang teaches wherein the sounding reference signal and the data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources based at least in part on rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal in a frequency domain [fig. 8, Abstract, paragraphs 0018, 0027, 0072, 0121, 0140, 0141, wherein the sounding reference signal and the data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources based at least in part on rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal in a frequency domain (the UE may rate match the SRS around the PUCCH; time and frequency resources includes determining a comb pattern for the SRS same as a comb pattern used for the DMRS; transmitting the spatially multiplexed PUSCH and the SRS after the mapping)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Chae by including rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal as taught by Yang because it would provide the Chae’s method with the enhanced capability of improving communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [Yang, paragraphs 0005, 0007].
As per claim 2, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal comprises:
receiving, from the network entity, an indication to rate-match the data signal around the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0191, 0197, 0201, 0209, 0248, receiving, from the network entity, an indication to rate-match the data signal around the sounding reference signal (the base station may process the DCI with channel coding (e.g., polar coding), rate matching)];
rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal in response to receiving the indication [paragraphs 0191, 0197, 0201, 0209, 0248, rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal in response to receiving the indication (UE may process information contained in the DCI; UE may perform rate matching)]; and
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the rate-matched data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the rate-matched data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)].
As per claim 3, Chae discloses the method of claim 2, wherein rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal comprises:
receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a comb pattern that identifies resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0161, 0164, 0165, 0199, 0201, receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a comb pattern that identifies resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (one or more SRS configuration parameters indicating at least one of following: a SRS resource configuration identifier; mapped in the time and frequency domains; a transmission comb, quasi co-location (QCL) parameters; UE-specific configuration/search spaces)]; and
rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the indicated comb pattern [paragraphs 0161, 0164, 0165, 0199, 0201, 0209, 0248, rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the indicated comb pattern (UE may perform rate matching; a transmission comb, quasi co-location (QCL) parameters; UE-specific configuration/search spaces)].
As per claim 4, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal comprises:
receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a comb pattern and a frequency offset associated with the comb pattern that identify resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0164, 0244, 0250, 0254, 0258, 0259, 0264, receiving, from the network entity, an indication of a comb pattern and a frequency offset associated with the comb pattern that identify resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (a Tx UE may configure, to a Rx UE, a plurality of candidate sidelink CSI reporting slot information which may be indicated by a bitmap or a plurality of offset values; a base station may configure CSI reporting slot offset per resource pool to sidelink UE via a physical layer (e.g. DCI) or a higher layer (e.g. SIB or RRC))]; and
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the indicated comb pattern and frequency offset [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0164, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0244, 0250, 0254, 0258, 0259, 0264, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the indicated comb pattern and frequency offset (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM; a Tx UE may configure, to a Rx UE, a plurality of candidate sidelink CSI reporting slot information which may be indicated by a bitmap or a plurality of offset values; a base station may configure CSI reporting slot offset per resource pool to sidelink UE via a physical layer (e.g. DCI) or a higher layer (e.g. SIB or RRC))].
As per claim 5, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal comprises:
encoding the sounding reference signal using a first cover code [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0113, 0153, 0157, 0197, 0198, 0201, 0203, 0217, encoding the sounding reference signal using a first cover code (PUCCH resource includes an orthogonal cover code; mapped onto orthogonal frequency divisional multiplexing (OFDM) symbols)];
encoding the data signal using a second cover code that is orthogonal to the first cover code [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0113, 0153, 0157, 0197, 0198, 0201, 0203, 0217, encoding the data signal using a second cover code that is orthogonal to the first cover code (PUCCH resource includes an orthogonal cover code; mapped onto orthogonal frequency divisional multiplexing (OFDM) symbols)]; and
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)].
As per claim 6, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal comprises:
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal and at least one demodulation reference signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0153, 0157, 0160, 0171, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal and at least one demodulation reference signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)].
As per claim 7, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal comprises:
receiving, from the network entity, an indication of resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0191, 0197, 0201, 0209, 0248, receiving, from the network entity, an indication of resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (the base station may process the DCI with channel coding (e.g., polar coding), rate matching)]; and
multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the indicated resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0153, 0157, 0160, 0171, 0190, 0202, 0258, multiplexing the sounding reference signal with the data signal across the indicated resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)], wherein the sounding reference signal occupies a first portion of indicated resource blocks and the data signal occupies a second portion of the indicated resource blocks [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0153, 0157, 0160, 0171, 0190, 0202, 0258, wherein the sounding reference signal occupies a first portion of indicated resource blocks and the data signal occupies a second portion of the indicated resource blocks (multiplex control-plane and user-plane data into the same transport block; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel (e.g., a control channel, a shared data channel, and/or the like))].
As per claim 8, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sounding reference signal is used at the network entity for:
estimating, at the network entity, a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity, sensing, at the network entity; an environment associated with the UE, or identifying, at the network entity, a position of the UE [paragraphs 0109, 0122, 0157, 0160, 0251, estimating, at the network entity, a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity; or identifying, at the network entity, a position of the UE (SRS may be transmitted by a UE to a base station for channel state estimation; search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information)].
As per claim 9, Chae discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data signal comprises
a physical uplink control channel signal or a physical uplink shared channel signal [paragraphs 0157, 0160, 0190, 0202, a physical uplink control channel signal or a physical uplink shared channel signal (assign one or more resource blocks for an uplink PUSCH transmission)].
As per claim 16, Chae discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity [fig. 1A, 15, paragraphs 0047, 0160, 0206, a method for wireless communication at a network entity (a mobile communication network 100; a wireless device 1502 in communication with a base station 1504 in accordance with embodiments)], comprising:
outputting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for multiplexing a sounding reference signal with a data signal in time and in frequency [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0258, outputting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for multiplexing a sounding reference signal with a data signal in time and in frequency (one or more SRS configuration parameters; a UE-specific configuration; base station may indicate that an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)];
outputting, to the UE, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0136, 0160, 0161, 0165, 0190, 0198, 0201, 0258, outputting, to the UE, an assignment of a plurality of time-frequency resources for transmission of the sounding reference signal (configure the UE with one or more SRS resource sets; RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel; the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS)]; and
obtaining, from the UE, the sounding reference signal and the data signal, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is multiplexed with the obtained data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the output configuration [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, obtaining, from the UE, the sounding reference signal and the data signal, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is multiplexed with the obtained data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources in accordance with the output configuration (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)].
Chae discloses wherein the UE may be configured to transmit PUSCH and SRS in a same slot (a slot in the time and frequency domain) [paragraphs 0135, 0140, 0160, 0161, 0171].
Chae does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtained sounding reference signal and the obtained data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources, wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the obtained sounding reference signal and the obtained data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources [fig. 9, 11, 19, paragraphs 0016, 0084, 0121, 0144, 0147, 0149, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal and the obtained data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources (multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned resources SRS and non-SRS communication; transmit a first plurality of OFDM symbols with at least one SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency)], wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources [fig. 9, 11, 13, 19, Abstract, paragraphs 0129, 0139, 0144, wherein the plurality of time-frequency resources are staggered in the frequency domain across multiple time domain resources (configuring SRS resources with frequency domain staggering across consecutive OFDM symbols; OFDM symbols with SRS across all subcarriers of a first sounding bandwidth associated with the first frequency hop)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Chae by including multiplexing across a plurality of frequency domain resources as taught by Manolakos because it would provide the Chae’s method with the enhanced capability of providing a robust channel estimation [Manolakos, paragraphs 0120, 0131].
Chae does not explicitly disclose time-frequency resources based at least in part on the data signal being rate-matched around the sounding reference signal in a frequency domain.
However, Yang teaches wherein the sounding reference signal and the data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources based at least in part on rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal in a frequency domain [fig. 8, Abstract, paragraphs 0018, 0027, 0072, 0121, 0140, 0141, wherein the sounding reference signal and the data signal are multiplexed across a plurality of frequency domain resources of the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources based at least in part on rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal in a frequency domain (the UE may rate match the SRS around the PUCCH; time and frequency resources includes determining a comb pattern for the SRS same as a comb pattern used for the DMRS; transmitting the spatially multiplexed PUSCH and the SRS after the mapping)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Chae by including rate-matching the data signal around the sounding reference signal as taught by Yang because it would provide the Chae’s method with the enhanced capability of improving communications between access points and stations in a wireless network [Yang, paragraphs 0005, 0007].
As per claim 17, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, wherein outputting the configuration comprises:
outputting, to the UE, an indication of a comb pattern that identifies resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0161, 0164, 0165, 0199, 0201, outputting, to the UE, an indication of a comb pattern that identifies resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (one or more SRS configuration parameters indicating at least one of following: a SRS resource configuration identifier; mapped in the time and frequency domains; a transmission comb, quasi co-location (QCL) parameters; UE-specific configuration/search spaces)], wherein the obtained data signal is rate-matched around the sounding reference signal in accordance with the indicated comb pattern [paragraphs 0161, 0164, 0165, 0199, 0201, 0209, 0248, wherein the obtained data signal is rate-matched around the sounding reference signal in accordance with the indicated comb pattern (UE may perform rate matching; a transmission comb, quasi co-location (QCL) parameters; UE-specific configuration/search spaces)].
As per claim 18, Chae discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising:
outputting, to the UE, an indication to rate-match the data signal around the sounding reference signal in accordance with the indicated comb pattern, wherein obtaining the data signal is based at least in part on the output indication [paragraphs 0164, 0244, 0250, 0254, 0258, 0259, 0264, outputting, to the UE, an indication to rate-match the data signal around the sounding reference signal in accordance with the indicated comb pattern, wherein obtaining the data signal is based at least in part on the output indication (a Tx UE may configure, to a Rx UE, a plurality of candidate sidelink CSI reporting slot information which may be indicated by a bitmap or a plurality of offset values; a base station may configure CSI reporting slot offset per resource pool to sidelink UE via a physical layer (e.g. DCI) or a higher layer (e.g. SIB or RRC))].
As per claim 19, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, wherein outputting the configuration comprises:
outputting, to the UE, an indication of a comb pattern and frequency offset that identify resources blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0164, 0244, 0250, 0254, 0258, 0259, 0264, outputting, to the UE, an indication of a comb pattern and frequency offset that identify resources blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (a Tx UE may configure, to a Rx UE, a plurality of candidate sidelink CSI reporting slot information which may be indicated by a bitmap or a plurality of offset values; a base station may configure CSI reporting slot offset per resource pool to sidelink UE via a physical layer (e.g. DCI) or a higher layer (e.g. SIB or RRC))], wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is multiplexed in accordance with the indicated comb pattern and frequency offset [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0164, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0244, 0250, 0254, 0258, 0259, 0264, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is multiplexed in accordance with the indicated comb pattern and frequency offset (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM; a Tx UE may configure, to a Rx UE, a plurality of candidate sidelink CSI reporting slot information which may be indicated by a bitmap or a plurality of offset values; a base station may configure CSI reporting slot offset per resource pool to sidelink UE via a physical layer (e.g. DCI) or a higher layer (e.g. SIB or RRC))].
As per claim 20, Chae discloses the method of claim 16,
wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is encoded using a first cover code and the obtained data signal is encoded using a second cover code that is orthogonal to the first cover code [fig. 11B, paragraphs 0113, 0153, 0157, 0197, 0198, 0201, 0203, 0217, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal is encoded using a first cover code and the obtained data signal is encoded using a second cover code that is orthogonal to the first cover code (PUCCH resource includes an orthogonal cover code; mapped onto orthogonal frequency divisional multiplexing (OFDM) symbols)].
As per claim 21, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
obtaining, from the UE, a demodulation reference signal, wherein the obtained demodulation reference signal is multiplexed with the obtained sounding reference signal and the obtained data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resource [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0157, 0160, 0165, 0190, 0202, 0258, obtaining, from the UE, a demodulation reference signal, wherein the obtained demodulation reference signal is multiplexed with the obtained sounding reference signal and the obtained data signal across the assigned plurality of time-frequency resource (a time-frequency resource for transmission of the transport block (e.g., a PUSCH) may be multiplexed using FDM, TDM, and/or CDM)].
As per claim 22, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, wherein outputting the configuration comprises:
outputting, to the UE, an indication of resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0153, 0157, 0160, 0171, 0190, 0202, 0258, outputting, to the UE, an indication of resource blocks within the assigned plurality of time-frequency resources to be used at the UE for transmission of the sounding reference signal (the UE may be configured to transmit SRS after a transmission of a PUSCH and a corresponding uplink DMRS; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel)], wherein the obtained sounding reference signal occupies a first portion of indicated resource blocks and the obtained data signal occupies a second portion of the indicated resource blocks [fig. 11B, 13C, paragraphs 0103, 0152, 0153, 0157, 0160, 0171, 0190, 0202, 0258, wherein the obtained sounding reference signal occupies a first portion of indicated resource blocks and the obtained data signal occupies a second portion of the indicated resource blocks (multiplex control-plane and user-plane data into the same transport block; an RS resource is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more DM-RSs of a channel (e.g., a control channel, a shared data channel, and/or the like))].
As per claim 23, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising:
estimating a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity based at least in part on the obtained sounding reference signal; identifying a position of the UE based at least in part on the sounding reference signal; or sensing an environment associated with the UE based at least in part on the obtained sounding reference signal [paragraphs 0109, 0122, 0157, 0160, 0251, estimating a channel for wireless communications between the UE and the network entity based at least in part on the obtained sounding reference signal (SRS may be transmitted by a UE to a base station for channel state estimation; search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information)].
As per claim 24, Chae discloses the method of claim 23, wherein sensing the environment associated with the UE comprises:
sensing the environment associated with the UE using multiple input and multiple output radar [paragraphs 0153, 0209-0211, 0256, sensing the environment associated with the UE using multiple input and multiple output radar (MIMO transmission scheme (e.g. between space time frequency coding (SFBC) and/or precoder cycling and/or multi-rank transmission); multiuser-MIMO)].
As per claim 25, Chae discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the data signal comprises
a physical uplink control channel signal or a physical uplink shared channel signal [paragraphs 0157, 0160, 0190, 0202, a physical uplink control channel signal or a physical uplink shared channel signal (assign one or more resource blocks for an uplink PUSCH transmission)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al., U.S. Publication No. 2020/0213161 discloses cell-specific SRS parameters are configured for rate matching of the PUCCH/PUSCH.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469