DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended limitations of claim(s) 1, and 12, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments regarding the combination of references in the rejections of Claims 1 and 12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues, that Berleue does not teach a supporting layer that contacts and electronic ink layer, and that one of ordinary skill would not be motivated to combine Berleue with Murari because Murari, “would have no motivation to look to a prior art regarding gap-fillers used for connecting shattered glass or external adhesive for assembling.” Thus Berleue teaches away from the Claimed invention.
The Examiner disagrees. The deficiency of Murari being remedied by Berleue is, wherein the lower supporting layer has a storage modulus in a range from 9 MPa to 11 MPa in 0ºC to 70ºC, and the storage modulus of the upper supporting layer is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer. Berleue explicitly teaches, the lower supporting layer (polymer 254) to have a storage modulus in a range from 9 MPa to 11 MPa in 0ºC to 70ºC (Berleue presents a large number of embodiments where the storage modulus is 1 MPa or more and 10 MPa, at 23ºC) [Par 483-485], and the storage modulus of the upper supporting layer ( adhesive 207, -20ºC to 60 ºC, storage modulus can be, “about 1 MPa or more”) [Par 9 and 428-429] is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer (lower storage modulus range of adhesive 207 is higher than storage modulus range of polymer 254). In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (Berleue supporting the electric ink layer), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Second in response to Applicant’s argument that Berleue teaches aways from Murari, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Therefore, the rejections of Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 10-15 are restated in light of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murari (TW 202141150 A, see attached machine translation) in view of Berleue (US 20210108077 A1), and Kim (US 20210193743 A1).
Re Claim 1, Murari discloses, on Fig. 1, an electronic paper display device comprising: an upper supporting layer (film 112); a lower supporting layer (electrode 105) opposite to the upper supporting layer, wherein the upper supporting layer has a thickness in a range from 1 μm to 50 μm (Adhesive 104 and electrode 102, comprising film 112 are 5 -25 µm, and <1 µm respectively) [Page 10, Par 3] and has a storage modulus in a range from 1 kPa to 100 kPa in 0° C. to 70° C. (adhesive 104 can be 30 kPa at 70ºC, or 50 kPa at 70 ºC, the storage modulus of an adhesive decreases as temperature increases, thus at a temperature less than 70ºC, the storage modulus would be between 1 kPa and 100 kPa) [Page 10, Par 2]; and an electronic ink ( electro-optical layer 106 contains microcapsules) [Page 10, Par 2] located between the upper supporting layer and the lower supporting layer, wherein the upper supporting layer (layer 112) and the lower supporting layer (layer 105) is in direct contact with the electronic ink layer (electrooptical layer 106, layers 112 and 105 are in direct contact with layer 106 see Fig. 1)
But Murari does not explicitly disclose, wherein the lower supporting layer has a storage modulus in a range from 9 MPa to 11 MPa in 0ºC to 70ºC, and the storage modulus of the upper supporting layer is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer, and wherein the electronic paper display device is configured to bend for forming a compressed side and a tensioned side, such that the upper supporting layer is disposed at the compressed side, and the lower supporting layer is disposed at the tensioned side.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Berleue teaches, on Fig. 3, that it is desirable in folded substrate for the lower supporting layer (polymer 254) to have a storage modulus in a range from 9 MPa to 11 MPa in 0ºC to 70ºC (Berleue presents a large number of embodiments where the storage modulus is 1 MPa or more and 10 MPa, at 23ºC) [Par 483-485] , and the storage modulus of the upper supporting layer ( adhesive 207, -20ºC to 60 ºC, storage modulus can be, “about 1 MPa or more”) [Par 9 and 428-429] is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer (lower storage modulus range of adhesive 207 is higher than storage modulus range of polymer 254).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Murari with Berleue in order to provide, improved folding performance, as taught by Berleue [Par 10].
But Murari in view of Berlue does not explicitly disclose, and wherein the electronic paper display device is configured to bend for forming a compressed side and a tensioned side, such that the upper supporting layer is disposed at the compressed side, and the lower supporting layer is disposed at the tensioned side.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches, on Fig. 2E-2G and 3, that it is desirable in displays to include, wherein the electronic paper display device (Fig. 2E-2G : Display device 1000) is configured to bend for forming a compressed side and a tensioned side (Fig. 2E-2G show that any side of the display can be the compressed or tensioned side, both top and bottom) [Par 44], such that the upper supporting layer (Adhesive layer AL) is disposed at the compressed side (Fig. 2E where the top is compressed) [Par 44], and the lower supporting layer (Fig. 3: flexible glass substrate SUB) is disposed at the tensioned side (Fig. 2E: where the bottom is tensioned) [Par 44].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Murari in view of Berlue with Kim in order to provide, improved reliability and flexibility, as taught by Kim [Par 005].
Re Claim 2, Murari in view of Berleue and Kim obviates, the electronic paper display device of claim 1, and Kim further teaches, on Fig. 3 that it is desirable in electro-optical adhesive for at least one of the upper supporting layer and the lower supporting layer has the storage modulus in a range from 50 kPa to 300 kPa in −25° C. to 0° C (adhesive layer AL has storage modulus of 200 kPa at -20ºC) [Par 19].
The motivation to combine Kim with Murari and Berleue is the same as that cited in Claim 2 above.
Re Claim 4, Murari in view of Berlueue and Kim obviates, the electronic paper display device of claim 1, and Murari further discloses, wherein the upper supporting layer (conductive film 112) is an electrode layer (film 112 includes electrode 102).
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bzowej (CN 113004854 A, see attached machine translation) in view of Berleue, and Kim.
Re Claim 1, Bzowej discloses, on Fig. 1c-1d and 12, an electronic paper display device comprising: an upper supporting layer (adhesive 142, which can comprise the same composition as binder 160) [Page 23, Par 4]; a lower supporting layer (back plate electrode 110 and adhesive 140) opposite to the upper supporting layer, wherein the upper supporting layer has a thickness in a range from 1 μm to 50 μm (Adhesive layer can be about 25 µm) [Page 22, Par 2-4] and has a storage modulus in a range from 1 kPa to 100 kPa in 0° C. to 70° C. (See storage modulus, G’, of adhesive in Fig. 12); and an electronic ink layer (electro-optic layer 125) located between the upper supporting layer and the lower supporting layer, wherein each the upper supporting layer and the lower supporting layer is in direct contact with the optical clear resin (adhesive 142 and 140 in Fig. 1D-1E is in direct contact with resin 160).
But Bzowej does not explicitly disclose, wherein the lower supporting layer has a storage modulus in a range from 9 MPa to 11 MPa in 0ºC to 70ºC, and the storage modulus of the upper supporting layer is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer, wherein the electronic paper display device is configured to bend for forming a compressed side and a tensioned side, such that the upper supporting layer is disposed at the compressed side, and the lower supporting layer is disposed at the tensioned side.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Berleue teaches, on Fig. 3, that it is desirable in folded substrate for the lower supporting layer (polymer 254) to have a storage modulus in a range from 9 MPa to 11 MPa in 0ºC to 70ºC (Berleue presents a large number of embodiments where the storage modulus is 1 MPa or more and 10 MPa, at 23ºC) [Par 483-485] , and the storage modulus of the upper supporting layer ( adhesive 207, -20ºC to 60 ºC, storage modulus can be, “about 1 MPa or more”) [Par 9 and 428-429] is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer (lower storage modulus range of adhesive 207 is higher than storage modulus range of polymer 254).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Murari with Berleue in order to provide, improved folding performance, as taught by Berleue [Par 10]. Re Claim 5, Bzowej discloses, the electronic paper display device of claim 1, and further discloses on Fig. 1, wherein the lower supporting layer (Electrode 110 and adhesive 140) is a thin film transistor layer (back plate electrode can be a thin film transistor) [Page 23, Par 2].
But Bzowej in view of Berleue does not explicitly disclose, wherein the electronic paper display device is configured to bend for forming a compressed side and a tensioned side, such that the upper supporting layer is disposed at the compressed side, and the lower supporting layer is disposed at the tensioned side.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches, on Fig. 2E-2G and 3, that it is desirable in displays to include, wherein the electronic paper display device (Fig. 2E-2G : Display device 1000) is configured to bend for forming a compressed side and a tensioned side (Fig. 2E-2G show that any side of the display can be the compressed or tensioned side, both top and bottom) [Par 44], such that the upper supporting layer (Adhesive layer AL) is disposed at the compressed side (Fig. 2E where the top is compressed) [Par 44], and the lower supporting layer (Fig. 3: flexible glass substrate SUB) is disposed at the tensioned side (Fig. 2E: where the bottom is tensioned) [Par 44].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bzowej in view of Berlue with Kim in order to provide, improved reliability and flexibility, as taught by Kim [Par 005].
Re claim 6, Bzowej in view of Berleue and Kim obviates, the electronic paper display device of claim 1, and Bzowej further discloses on Fig. 1, wherein the electronic ink layer (electro-optic layer 125) comprises a microcapsule or a microcup (electro-optic layer comprises microcapsules) [Page 23, Par 4].
Re Claim 7, Bzowej in view of Berleue and Kim obviates, the electronic paper display device of claim 6, and Bzowej further discloses on Fig. 1, wherein the microcapsule or the microcup contacts the upper supporting layer (electro-optic layer 125 contacts binder 160, which contact adhesive 140).
Re Claim 8, Bzowej in view of Berleue and Kim obviates, the electronic paper display device of claim 6, and Bzowej further discloses on Fig. 1, wherein the microcapsule or the microcup contacts the upper supporting layer (electro-optic layer 125 contacts binder 160, which contacts adhesive 142, and electrode 110).
Re claim 10, Bzowej in view of Berleue and Kim obviates, the electronic paper display device of claim 1, and Bzowej further discloses on Fig. 1c-1d and 12, wherein the upper supporting layer is an optically clear adhesive or a pressure sensitive adhesive (adhesive 142 has storage modulus values shown in Fig. 12a, and is thus pressure sensitive) [Page 23, Par 4].
Re Claim 11, Bzowej in view of Berleue and Kim obviates, the electronic paper display device of claim 1, Bzowej further discloses, wherein the lower supporting layer is an optically clear adhesive or a pressure sensitive adhesive (adhesive 142 has storage modulus values shown in Fig. 12a, and is thus pressure sensitive) [Page 23, Par 4].
Claim(s) 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bzowej (CN 113004854 A, see attached machine translation) in view of Murari, Berleue, and Kim.
Re claim 12, Bzowej discloses, on Fig. 1a-1d and 12, an electronic paper display device comprising: an upper supporting layer (electrode 130), a lower supporting layer ( electrode 110), an optical clear resin (binder 160 is a clear polyurethane resin) [Page 33, Par 2] disposed between the upper supporting layer and the lower supporting layer (Fig. 1D: binder 160 is between electrodes 130 and 110) and a plurality of microcapsules (Capsules 150) [Page 23, Par 4] located in the optical clear resin and surrounded by the optical clear resin (Fig. 1D: capsules 150 are surrounded by binder 160), wherein the optical clear resin has a thickness in a range from 20 μm to 100 μm (1-100 microns, but preferably 1-50 microns) [Page 22, Par 1] and has a storage modulus in a range from 1 kPa to 100 kPa in 0° C. to 70° C (see G’, in Fig. 12) [Page 38, Par 5-6], the lower supporting layer is in direct contact with the optical clear resin (adhesive 142 in Fig. 1E is in direct contact with resin 160).
But Bzowej does not explicitly disclose, an upper supporting layer having a storage modulus in a range from 1 kPa to 100 kPa in 0C to 70°C, wherein the lower supporting layer has a storage modulus in a range from 9 MPa to 11 MPa in 0ºC to 70ºC, the storage modulus of the optical clear resin is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer, wherein the electronic paper display device is configured to bend for forming a compressed side and a tensioned side, such that the upper supporting layer is disposed at the compressed side, and the lower supporting layer is disposed at the tensioned side.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Murari teaches, on Fig. 1, that it is desirable in displays to include, an upper supporting layer having a storage modulus in a range from 1 kPa to 100 kPa in 0C to 70°C (adhesive 104 can be 30 kPa at 70ºC, or 50 kPa at 70 ºC, the storage modulus of an adhesive decreases as temperature increases, thus at a temperature less than 70ºC, the storage modulus would be between 1 kPa and 100 kPa) [Page 10, Par 2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bzowej with Murari in order to provide improved electro-optical performance, as taught by Murari [Page 2, Par 2].
But Bzowej in view of Murari does not explicitly disclose, wherein the lower supporting layer has a storage modulus in a range from 9 MPa to 11 MPa in 0ºC to 70ºC, the storage modulus of the optical clear resin is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer, wherein the electronic paper display device is configured to bend for forming a compressed side and a tensioned side, such that the upper supporting layer is disposed at the compressed side, and the lower supporting layer is disposed at the tensioned side.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Berleue teaches, on Fig. 3, that it is desirable in folded substrate for the lower supporting layer (adhesive 207) to have a storage modulus in a range from 9 MPa to 11 MPa in 0ºC to 70ºC ( in -20ºC to 60 ºC, storage modulus can be, “about 5 MPa to about 11 MPa, or any range or subrange therebetween”) [Par 9 and 428-429].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bzowej in view of Murari with Berleue in order to provide, improved folding performance, as taught by Berleue [Par 10].
But Bzowej in view of Murari and Berlue does not explicitly disclose, wherein the electronic paper display device is configured to bend for forming a compressed side and a tensioned side, such that the upper supporting layer is disposed at the compressed side, and the lower supporting layer is disposed at the tensioned side, and the storage modulus of the optical clear resin is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches, on Fig. 2E-2G and 3, that it is desirable in displays to include, wherein the electronic paper display device (Fig. 2E-2G : Display device 1000) is configured to bend for forming a compressed side and a tensioned side (Fig. 2E-2G show that any side of the display can be the compressed or tensioned side, both top and bottom) [Par 44], such that the upper supporting layer (Adhesive layer AL) is disposed at the compressed side (Fig. 2E where the top is compressed) [Par 44], and the lower supporting layer (Fig. 3: flexible glass substrate SUB) is disposed at the tensioned side (Fig. 2E: where the bottom is tensioned) [Par 44].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bzowej in view of Murari and Berlue with Kim in order to provide, improved reliability and flexibility, as taught by Kim [Par 005].
But Bzowej in view of Murari, Berleue, and Kim does not teach wherein, the storage modulus of the optical clear resin is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer.
However, Bzowej teaches wherein the clear resin has storage modulus of 1 kPa to 100 kPa in 0° C. to 70° C (see G’, in Fig. 12) [Page 38, Par 5-6] and Berleue teaches a lower supporting layer (adhesive 207) to have a storage modulus in a range from 9 MPa to 11 MPa in 0ºC to 70ºC ( in -20ºC to 60 ºC, storage modulus can be, “about 5 MPa to about 11 MPa, or any range or subrange therebetween”) [Par 9 and 428-429].
In combination, at least Bzowej and Berleu would thus inherently teach, wherein the storage modulus of the optical clear resin is smaller than the storage modulus of the lower supporting layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to further modify the system of Bzowej, in view of Murari, and Kim, with Berleue in order to provide, improved folding performance, as taught by Berleue [Par 10].
Re claim 13, Bzowej in view of Murari, Berleue, and Kim obviates, the electronic paper display device of claim 12, and Bzowej further discloses on Fig. 12, wherein the storage modulus of the optical clear resin is in a range from 50 kPa to 300 kPa in −25° C. to 0° C (Fig. 12: storage modulus G’, at 0° C and lower starts at 100kPA and increases).
Re Claim 14, Bzowej in view of Murari, Berleue and Kim obviates, the electronic paper display device of claim 12, and Bzowej further discloses on Fig. 1d, wherein the optical clear resin is a UV-curable adhesive (binder 160 is UV curable) [Page 21, Par 2].
Re Claim 15, Bzowej in view of Murari, Berleue and Kim obviates, the electronic paper display device of claim 12, and Bzowej further discloses on Fig. 1, wherein the lower supporting layer is a thin film transistor layer (electrode 110 can be a thin film transistor) [Page 23, Par 2], and the optical clear resin surrounding the microcapsules is coated on the thin film transistor layer (binder 160 is on electrode 110).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bu (US 20200058899 A1) discloses a sealant tape for a display panel and a method for manufacturing the same.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872