Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims filed on 6/30/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 7-8 and 12-13 are canceled. Claims 1-6, 9-11, and 23-24 are under examination.
Claims 14-22 remain withdrawn due to a restriction requirement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 06/30/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues the combination of Kaminsky and Nevison does not teach or suggest the advantages discussed in [0049] of instant specification (see page 8, 1st and 2nd paragraphs). This argument is not persuasive because the combination of Kaminsky and Nevison discloses the claimed invention and, therefore, the purported advantages would necessarily flow.
Second, Applicant argues Nevison “does not appear to show a nitrogen stream sequentially passing through a liquefier and two coolers to provide cooling across all three components” as recited in claim 1 (see page 8, last paragraph, bridging page 9). It is agreed that Nevison does not disclose the system as called for in the amended claim 1. Kaminsky discloses the system as claimed and, more specifically, discloses “a single refrigerant circuit employs a second coolant 202 to cool, in order, the second scraped heat exchange 104, first scraped heat exchanger 128, and second non-freezing heat exchanger 120.” See Fig. 2 and [0021]. Nevison was relied upon for teaching the use of nitrogen passing through a liquefier heat exchanger 496 as a refrigerant in the method of cooling a natural gas stream. This teaching is still relevant and Applicant has not made any argument why one could not utilize nitrogen in the manner as taught by Nevison in the process of Kaminsky.
In conclusion, the rejection of claimed invention over the disclosure of Kaminsky and Nevison is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-13, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0158426) to Kaminsky et al. (hereinafter “Kaminsky”) in view of US 20180142949 to Nevison et al. (hereinafter “Nevison”)
With respect to claims 1-3, 9-13, and 23-24, Kaminsky discloses a system for removing contaminants, such as water and/or carbon dioxide, from a natural gas stream (Abstract), said system comprising (see Fig. 2 and its corresponding description in [0019] through [0021]):
A heat exchanger 120 (equivalent to claimed water condenser) receives a feed gas and cools the feed gas with a coolant 202 forming a cooled gas and removes liquid water;
A first scraped heat exchanger 128 (equivalent to claimed first cooler) receives the cooled gas and additionally cools the cooled gas with the coolant 202 and removes frozen water (equivalent to claimed first contaminants);
A second scraped heat exchanger 104 (equivalent to claimed second cooler) receives the further cooled gas from the first scraped heat exchanger 128 and is cooled with the coolant 202 to a temperature sufficient for contaminants CO2, water, and other contaminants to solidify and is removed; and
An expander (equivalent to claimed liquefier) receives the cooled gas from the second scraped heat exchanger 104 and liquefies the cold treated fluid. See [0019] through [0021].
Scraped heat exchanger type includes heat exchangers with scraped surface using simple mechanical scrapers and/or using dynamic mechanical scrapers. See [0018].
Kaminsky specifically discloses the second coolant 202 cools, in order, the second scraped heat exchanger 104, the first scraped heat exchanger 128, and a heat exchanger 120 (see [0021]). The second coolant 202 is a non-ambient temperature coolant, i.e., not ambient air or ambient water. See [0021]. Kaminsky further discloses a coolant used to cool the gas stream in second scraped heat exchanger 104 may be primarily nitrogen (see[0019, lines 20-27]).
Kaminsky fails to disclose the expander (claimed liquefier) includes a liquefier warming passage configured to receive the nitrogen stream, warm the nitrogen stream so that the purified cooled gas stream is liquified and direct the warmed nitrogen stream through a liquefier nitrogen outlet.
Nevison discloses a method for cooling natural gas using cryogenic nitrogen as a cooling medium (see Abstract). Nevison discloses a liquefier heat exchanger 496 (claimed liquefier) having a cooling passage to liquify the natural gas production stream (claimed purified cooled gas stream), further including a warming passage that receives the nitrogen refrigerant stream and warms it in order to cool the natural gas production stream and releases a nitrogen vapor stream. See Fig. 4 and [0052].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kaminsky and include a liquefier warming passage configured to receive the nitrogen stream as disclosed by Nevison because Nevison discloses nitrogen exhibits desired temperature and thermodynamic properties to effectively cool all components of a natural gas stream to meet the desire purposes including production of LNG. See [0023].
With respect to claim 2, Kaminsky discloses heat exchanger 120 (equivalent to claimed water condenser) receives the nitrogen vapor stream from the scraped heat exchange 128 (claimed first cooler) but does not disclose venting the warmed vapor. It is known to those skilled in the art, the nitrogen used to cool the system of Kaminsky would be contaminated to some degree. To prevent a contaminant buildup, it would be beneficial to vent at least a portion of the warmed vapor.
With respect to claim 3, Kaminsky disclose a compressor 112 for increasing the pressure of the feed gas prior to entering the heat exchanger 120 (see Fig. 2 and [0020, lines 6-13]).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminsky in view Nevison as applied to claims 1, 3, and 7-13 above, and further in view of EP 3719426 to Air Liquide (hereinafter “Air Liquide”).
The teachings of Kaminsky and Nevison are as discussed above.
Kaminsky does not disclose a contaminant separate configured to receive the first contaminants stream from the first cooler and the second contaminants stream from the second cooler.
Air Liquide is directed to a production of liquid methane from a gaseous supply stream. Air Liquide discloses a crystallization system 5 (equivalent to claimed contaminant separator) having a first outlet 7 and a second outlet 11 (see Fig. 1, [0016]) is configured to receive a gas stream 4 (equivalent to claimed first contaminants stream and second contaminants stream) from heat exchangers 3a (equivalent to claimed first cooler) and 3b (equivalent to claimed second cooler) and produce a first separate contaminant product 7 and a second separate contaminant product 11. See Fig. 1, [0012], [0014], and [0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a contaminant separator because it would separate and entrain solid CO2 at the bottom of the crystallization system as taught by Air Liquide (see [0010, lines 132-140]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminsky, Nevison, and Air Liquide as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of US 20200284507 to McCool et al. (hereinafter “McCool”).
The teachings of Kaminsky, Nevison, and Air Liquide are as discussed above.
Kaminsky, Nevison, and Air Liquide do not disclose wherein the first cooler is further configured to receive at least a portion of the second contaminants stream from the second cooler.
McCool is directed to a method for providing refrigeration in natural gas liquid recovery plants. McCool discloses the main heat exchanger 2 (equivalent to claimed first cooler) is configured to receive a portion of the residue gas stream (equivalent to claimed second contaminants stream) from the overheat heat exchanger 10 (equivalent to claimed second cooler). See Fig. 2, [0119]. The residue gas stream is sent back to the first cooler to be used as a cooling medium.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Kaminsky to include a stream from the second cooler to the first cooler because it would act as a cooling medium as disclosed by McCool ([0119].
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772