DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The previous 112 rejection and objections has been overcome by the amendment supported by the original disclosure.
The previous restriction and 103 rejections have been maintained and repeated.
Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the structures on page 11 are illegible. . Correction is recommended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
claims 5-8 and 13-19 is (are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN109912784, Wu1) in view of Wu et al. (CN109942798, Wu2)
As to claims 5-8 and 13-19, Wu1 (abs., examples, claims, ) discloses a process of producing a copolymer for FET:
, wherein Ar embraces a thiophene comonomer moiety. The copolymer is produced via a commoner embraces species (meets the claimed M2)
comprising semifluoroalkyl side chains; the exemplary polymerization synthetic parameters (Stille/Suzuki coupling polymerization mechanism, monomer functional terminals, catalyst, polymerization temperature/time, monomers and/or catalyst ratio, inert gas, etc. that meet the claimed ones except the claimed siloxane dovetail side chain substituted diketopyrrolopyrrole:
Wu1 is silent on the claimed siloxane dovetail side chain substituted diketopyrrolopyrrole.
In the same area of endeavor of producing a DPP based copolymer for FET application, Wu2 (abs., examples, claims, schemes) discloses a process of producing a copolymer for FET:
, wherein Ar embraces a thiophene comonomer moiety. The copolymer is produced via a
comprising tail side siloxane side chains via a commoner embraces species that meets the claimed M1; the exemplary polymerization synthetic parameters (Stille/Suzuki coupling polymerization mechanism, monomer functional terminals, catalyst, polymerization temperature/time, monomer and/or catalyst ratio, inert gas, etc.) meet the claimed ones:
The siloxane side chains improve solubility, steric hinderance issue, mobility of TFT devices, transistor performance, etc.
Therefore, as to claims 5-8 and 13-19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the copolymer disclosed by Wu1 and added the siloxane dovetail side chain substituted diketopyrrolopyrrole comonomer in view of Wu2 with the discloses comonomer, and/or catalyst ratio, because the resultant terpolymer would yield improved solubility, steric hinderance issue, mobility of TFT devices, transistor performance, etc. The resultant copolymer would inherently meet the claimed copolymer, and the process would inherently meet the claimed polymerization synthetic parameters. It has been found that where claimed ranges overlap ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists - see MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
The argument for allowance of amended claims has been fully considered but not persuasive.
The examiner disagrees with applicant’s argument (15:2-16:1) of Wu1 and Wu2 have different purpose of invention and fundamentally opposed, in particular regarding “molecular stacking” and “steric hindrance”, so they cannot be combined to meet the claim. Wu2 does not purse steric hindrance, as obviously recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art, because tail side siloxane side chains of Wu2 are bulky and would actually reduce the steric hindrance of the polymer backbone and reduce inter chain hindrance, as taught by Wu2. Citing Mei, etc. (2:1 of the machine translation), Wu2 teaches the insulating and bulky properties of long-chain branched alkyl chains (Wu2’s case) hinder intermolecular charge transport, affecting device performance. Wu2 further teaches although moving the branch point away from the main chain can reduce the steric hindrance, the solubility-promoting effect will also be weakened. Siloxane chains can simultaneously address the solubility and steric hindrance issues. With siloxane as the terminal functional group, solubility can be maintained even when the terminal functional group is far from the mainchain. Thus, Wu1 and Wu2 do not teach away from each other and this application.
Applicant's argument of unexpected results (16:2-4) is unpersuasive and insufficient. Evidence of unexpected results must be factually supported by an appropriate affidavit of declaration. See MPEP § 716.01(c). Unexpected results must, in actuality, be unexpected. Unexpected results must be compared with the closest art, in this particular case, Wu1. Unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claims. The applicant must show unexpected results over the entire claimed range to support unexpected results for the entire range and generic structures. Therefore, Applicant should compare several compositions containing claimed components of A, B, and C in amounts at several data points over the claimed range to several compositions containing the same claimed components of A, B, and C in amounts at several data points outside of the claimed range, including data points close to and far from the claimed range.
The applicant argued (17:2) non-trivial design decision to modify Wu1 with Wu2. The examiner disagrees. Wu1 and Wu2 teaches the same Stille/Suzuki coupling polymerization method for producing donor-acceptor copolymers used or FETs. The 2 references are of the same field of endeavor and deal with the same/similar comonomers, catalysts, polymerization parameters. Hence, one skilled in the art would in fact have a reasonable expectation of success of simply controlling the polymerization parameters of the reactants in a similar system. Such a process is considered widely routine and with an expected result. Wu2 teaches the motivation of improving solubility, steric hinderance issue, mobility of TFT devices, transistor performance. Wu1 and Wu2 teaches the comonomers species that meet the claimed one for producing the claimed copolymer. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the copolymer disclosed by Wu1 and added the siloxane dovetail side chain substituted diketopyrrolopyrrole comonomer in view of Wu2 with the discloses comonomer, and/or catalyst ratio.
Therefore, as to claims 5-8 and 13-19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the copolymer disclosed by Wu1 and added the siloxane dovetail side chain substituted diketopyrrolopyrrole comonomer in view of Wu2 with the discloses comonomer, and/or catalyst ratio, because the resultant terpolymer would yield improved solubility, steric hinderance issue, mobility of TFT devices, transistor performance, etc. The resultant copolymer would inherently meet the claimed copolymer, and the process would inherently meet the claimed polymerization synthetic parameters. It has been found that where claimed ranges overlap ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists - see MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, the previous restriction and 103 rejections have been maintained and repeated.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/SHANE FANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766