DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkhe US20160111315 and Kawase US20220181183 further in view of Yoshikawa US11521885B2.
Regarding claim 1, Parkhe discloses a member (Parkhe; 505; fig 5) for semiconductor manufacturing apparatus comprising: a ceramic plate (Parkhe; 515; fig 5; section [0058]) that has an upper surface including a wafer placement surface (Parkhe; topmost face of 515; fig 5); and a porous plug (Parkhe; 534; fig 5; section [0078]) that has an upper surface that is exposed from the wafer placement surface, that is press-fitted and secured in a plug insertion hole that extends through the ceramic plate in an up-down direction, and that allows gas to flow (Parkhe; 534 below gas channel 532; fig 5; section [0078]) and wherein the ceramic plate (Parkhe; 515; fig 5; section [0058]) has a conductive base on a lower surface (Parkhe; 550; fig 5; sections [0074]-[0076]).
Parkhe does not explicitly disclose the porous plug including resin though this is a common method for manufacturing such plugs.
Kawase teaches a porous plug made with resin (Kawase; 21 and 22; figs 3A-4B; sections [0065]-[0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the porous plug of Parkhe to include a resin such as that present in Kawase. As explained in the disclosure of Kawase “…because these resins exhibit high water-repellency performance…” and “… therefore the efficiency of removing contamination adhered inside the porous composite can be increased…” given these reasons one skilled in the art could make this modification as required by the particular application.
Parkhe does not explicitly disclose a plug press-fitted from the upper surface of the ceramic plate wherein the resin porous plug is partially embedded within the conductive base.
Yoshikawa teaches a plug (Yoshikawa; 63; fig 6B) press-fitted from the upper surface of the ceramic plate (Yoshikawa; 31; fig 6B) wherein the resin porous plug is partially embedded within the conductive base (Yoshikawa; 10; fig 6B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Parkhe to include the plug configuration of Yoshikawa which Yoshikawa states is “easily replaceable” and allows for an extended serviceable life of the substrate fixing device over the conventional structures.
Regarding claim 6, Parkhe discloses the member for semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the wafer placement surface has a large number of small projections (Parkhe; upper surface of 515; fig 5) that support a wafer, and wherein the upper surface of the resin porous plug is lower than upper surfaces of the small projections (Parkhe; 534 depicted lower than top surface of 515; fig 5).
Regarding claim 7, Parkhe discloses the member for semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to Claim 6, wherein the upper surface of the resin porous plug is flush with a reference surface of the wafer placement surface on which the small projections are not formed or is lower than the reference surface by 0.5 mm or less (Parkhe; 534 depicted lower than top surface of 515; fig 5).
Parkhe is silent as to the distances in relation to the plug and the surface of the ceramic plate though does list several different thicknesses of the various components (sections [0049] and [0059])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified that the distances in relation to the plug and the “reference surface” of the ceramic member are a result effective variable and would have been a matter of routine optimization to arrive at the claimed distances prior to the effective filing date absent any evidence of unexpected results obtained by applicant. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007).
Regarding claim 8, Parkhe discloses the member for semiconductor manufacturing apparatus according to Claim 1.
Parkhe does not explicitly disclose the resin porous plug comprising a resin porous material selected from the group consisting of PTFE, PPS, PEEK and PEKK.
Kawase teaches a resin porous plug comprising a resin porous material selected from the group consisting of PTFE, PPS, PEEK and PEKK (Kawase; plugs 21 and 22 may be made with PTFE; figs 3A and 4A; section [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the porous plug of Parkhe to include a resin such as that present in Kawase. As explained in the disclosure of Kawase “…because these resins exhibit high water-repellency performance…” and “… therefore the efficiency of removing contamination adhered inside the porous composite can be increased…” given these reasons one skilled in the art could make this modification as required by the particular application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 6-7 have been considered but are moot due to a new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3722
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722