DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed 1/8/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims 1-4 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims (pages 4-5) in a reply filed 1/8/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda US 20210258810 (hereinafter “Ueda”) in view of Basedahl et al. US 20220131950 (hereinafter “Basedahl”)
As to claim 1 and 4 (claim 4 is the method claim for the mobile terminal testing system in claim 1):
Ueda discloses:
A mobile terminal testing system comprising: a mobile terminal testing device that tests a mobile terminal by simulating a mobile communication base station; (“In a mobile terminal system that tests a 5G terminal (mobile terminal) using a test device (LTE test device) that simulates an LTE base station and a test device (NR test device) that simulates an NR base station in the non-standalone NR communication environment”, Ueda [0008])
and an external device that executes a test by controlling the mobile terminal testing device, (FIG. 1 shows 50/external device that controls 10 and 30 which are mobile terminal testing device, Ueda)
wherein the external device includes an interface unit that controls a user interface for a predetermined communication standard, (“The control device 50 functions as a control PC that collectively controls the LTE measurement device 10 and the NR measurement device 20 by a computer device such as a personal computer (PC). The control device 50 includes, for example, a control unit 51, an operation unit 52, and a display unit 53, as illustrated in FIG. 2.”, Ueda [0061])
wherein the mobile terminal testing device includes a measurement unit that transmits and receives a signal to and from the mobile terminal according to the predetermined communication standard, (“The control device 50 is connected to the LTE measurement device 10 and the NR measurement device 20 by a network 5, and collectively controls the LTE measurement device 10 and the NR measurement device 20 via the network 5. Here, the LTE and NR communication standards correspond to a first communication standard and a second communication standard according to the present invention, respectively.”, Ueda [0040]) (“The LTE measurement device 10 and the NR measurement device 20 wirelessly transmit and receive signals to and from the mobile terminal 30 via antennae 14 and 24.”, Ueda [0041])
Ueda as described above does not explicitly teach:
and wherein the interface unit: acquires a hardware configuration of the measurement unit converts a parameter that is set in the user interface by the user and that is not suitable for the acquired hardware configuration of the measurement unit into a parameter that is suitable for the acquired hardware configuration of the measurement unit and sets, in the user interface, the converted parameter that is suitable for the acquired hardware configuration of the measurement unit
However, Basedahl further teaches automatically correcting a hardware configuration parameter which includes:
and wherein the interface unit: acquires a hardware configuration of the measurement unit converts a parameter that is set in the user interface by the user and that is not suitable for the acquired hardware configuration of the measurement unit into a parameter that is suitable for the acquired hardware configuration of the measurement unit and sets, in the user interface, the converted parameter that is suitable for the acquired hardware configuration of the measurement unit (“Alternatively or additionally, the verification apparatus or rather the processing module may correct at least one communication parameter of the set of communication parameters input by the user. In other words, the processing module may analyze the set of communication parameters input by the user and may compare the set of communication parameters with a database of 5G New Radio specifications in order to check whether the individual communication parameters are compatible with each other. If one or several of the communication parameters are not compatible with each other, the processing module may automatically correct one or several of the communication parameters.”, Basedahl [0009]) (“The verification apparatus may be configured to adapt operational parameters of a 5G New Radio user device based on the set of communication parameters input by the user, based on the at least one missing communication parameter, and/or based on the at least one corrected communication parameter. In other words, the user device may be set up for 5G communication at least partially automatic.”, Basedahl [0018])
Ueda and Basedahl are analogous because they pertain to a mobile terminal tester.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include automatically correcting a hardware configuration parameter as described in Basedahl into Ueda. By modifying the method to include automatically correcting a hardware configuration parameter as taught by Basedahl, the benefits of improved mobile testing methods (Ueda [0040] and Basedahl [0018]) are achieved.
As to claim 2:
Ueda discloses:
The mobile terminal testing system according to claim 1, wherein the measurement unit includes a signal generation unit that generates a predetermined signal, (“Under the control of the control unit 15, the pseudo base station unit 13 transmits and receives radio signals to and from the mobile terminal 30 via the antenna 14. The pseudo base station unit 13 controls a communication with the mobile terminal 30 based on a command input from the control unit 15. The pseudo base station unit 13 outputs the state and the like of the communication with the mobile terminal 30, to the control unit 15.”, Ueda [0047]) (“Under the control of the control unit 25, the pseudo base station unit 23 transmits and receives radio signals to and from the mobile terminal 30 via the antenna 24. The pseudo base station unit 23 controls a communication with the mobile terminal 30 based on a command input from the control unit 25. The pseudo base station unit 23 outputs the state and the like of the communication with the mobile terminal 30, to the control unit 25.”, Ueda [0056])
Ueda as described above does not explicitly teach:
And the interface unit converts user interface converted parameter suitable for the acquired hardware configuration of the measurement unit, according to a parameter setting method of the signal generation unit.
However, Basedahl further teaches automatically correcting a hardware configuration parameter which includes:
And the interface unit converts user interface converted parameter suitable for the acquired hardware configuration of the measurement unit, according to a parameter setting method of the signal generation unit. (“Alternatively or additionally, the verification apparatus or rather the processing module may correct at least one communication parameter of the set of communication parameters input by the user. In other words, the processing module may analyze the set of communication parameters input by the user and may compare the set of communication parameters with a database of 5G New Radio specifications in order to check whether the individual communication parameters are compatible with each other. If one or several of the communication parameters are not compatible with each other, the processing module may automatically correct one or several of the communication parameters.”, Basedahl [0009]) (“The verification apparatus may be configured to adapt operational parameters of a 5G New Radio user device based on the set of communication parameters input by the user, based on the at least one missing communication parameter, and/or based on the at least one corrected communication parameter. In other words, the user device may be set up for 5G communication at least partially automatic.”, Basedahl [0018]) (“In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 1, the verification module 16 is established as a laptop comprising a processing circuit 18, a display 20, and a memory 21. However, it is to be understood that the verification module 16 may be established as or integrated into any other type of computing device, for example a smart phone, a tablet, or any other type of smart device. The verification module 16 is connected to the user device 12 in a signal transmitting manner Herein, the term “connected in a signal transmitting manner” is understood to denote a cable-based or wireless connection that is configured to transmit signals between the respective devices or components. In a testing environment, the verification module 16 may also be connected to the base station 14.”, Basedahl [0053])
Ueda and Basedahl are analogous because they pertain to a mobile terminal tester.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include automatically correcting a hardware configuration parameter as described in Basedahl into Ueda. By modifying the method to include automatically correcting a hardware configuration parameter as taught by Basedahl, the benefits of improved mobile testing methods (Ueda [0040] and Basedahl [0018]) are achieved.
As to claim 3:
Ueda discloses:
The mobile terminal testing system according to claim 2, wherein the signal generation unit enables generation of a signal for a plurality of frequencies (“The LTE measurement device 10 and the NR measurement device 20 wirelessly transmit and receive signals to and from the mobile terminal 30 via antennae 14 and 24.”, Ueda [0041]) (“In FIG. 7, the communication management information display area 77 includes a UE Report area including an LTE Serving Cell area and a Neighbor Cell/LTE Intra Frequency Cell area. The values of items such as SSB-RSRP/RSRQ/SNR and CSIRS-RSRP/RSRQ/SNR of a base station are displayed in the LTE Serving Cell area in association with identification information (for example, SCC-1, SCC-2, or SCC-3) of the base station (LTE Serving Cell) performing transmission in the LTE area. The values of RSRQ and the like of a base station (Neighbour Cell) adjacent to the LTE Serving Cell or the LTE Intra Frequency Cell are displayed in the Neighbor Cell/LTE Intra Frequency Cell area.”, Ueda [0102]) (“Although it is not visible at the scroll position of FIG. 8, a Neighbor Cell/NR Intra Frequency Cell area which is equivalent to the Neighbor Cell/LTE Intra Frequency Cell area of the UE Report area in the communication management information display area 77 of the LTE operation display screen 70 illustrated in FIG. 7 is provided at the lower portion of the UE Report area. The values of RSRQ and the like of a base station (Neighbour Cell) adjacent to the NR Serving Cell or the NR Intra Frequency Cell are displayed in the Neighbor Cell/NR Intra Frequency Cell area.”, Ueda [0109]),
Ueda as described above does not explicitly teach:
and the parameter set in the user interface is a center frequency of the plurality of frequencies, and the converted parameter suitable for the hardware configuration of the measurement unit is the plurality of frequencies.
However, Basedahl further teaches converted hardware configuration parameter and center frequency parameter for the user which includes:
and the parameter set in the user interface is a center frequency of the plurality of frequencies, (“According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the graphical user interface comprises at least one of a slider or a writable text field, which enables the user to input the set of communication parameters. The slider may have fixed length or an adjustable length. For example, the length of the slider may correspond to the bandwidth of the respective (frequency) communication parameter. A center position of the slider may correspond to a central (frequency) value of the respective communication parameter. Thus, the user may set the central (frequency) value and the bandwidth of the respective communication parameter by adjusting the position and the length of the slider, respectively.”, Basedahl [0025]) and the converted parameter suitable for the hardware configuration of the measurement unit is the plurality of frequencies. (“Alternatively or additionally, the verification apparatus or rather the processing module may correct at least one communication parameter of the set of communication parameters input by the user. In other words, the processing module may analyze the set of communication parameters input by the user and may compare the set of communication parameters with a database of 5G New Radio specifications in order to check whether the individual communication parameters are compatible with each other. If one or several of the communication parameters are not compatible with each other, the processing module may automatically correct one or several of the communication parameters.”, Basedahl [0009]) (“The verification apparatus may be configured to adapt operational parameters of a 5G New Radio user device based on the set of communication parameters input by the user, based on the at least one missing communication parameter, and/or based on the at least one corrected communication parameter. In other words, the user device may be set up for 5G communication at least partially automatic.”, Basedahl [0018]) (“In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 1, the verification module 16 is established as a laptop comprising a processing circuit 18, a display 20, and a memory 21. However, it is to be understood that the verification module 16 may be established as or integrated into any other type of computing device, for example a smart phone, a tablet, or any other type of smart device. The verification module 16 is connected to the user device 12 in a signal transmitting manner Herein, the term “connected in a signal transmitting manner” is understood to denote a cable-based or wireless connection that is configured to transmit signals between the respective devices or components. In a testing environment, the verification module 16 may also be connected to the base station 14.”, Basedahl [0053])
Ueda and Basedahl are analogous because they pertain to a mobile terminal tester.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include converted hardware configuration parameter and center frequency parameter for the user as described in Basedahl into Ueda. By modifying the method to include converted hardware configuration parameter and center frequency parameter for the user as taught by Basedahl, the benefits of improved mobile testing methods (Ueda [0040] and Basedahl [0018]) are achieved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471