Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US2022/0344778A1 with foreign priority date of 10/11/2019), and in view of Yasuda et al. (US2020/0395590A1).
As to claim 1, Yoon discloses an electrical connector (busbar plate (220) [0046] fig. 1) configured to connect terminals of battery units in a battery pack [0065], comprising: plurality of bodies (main body portion (221) [0066]) made of an electrically conductive material (the main body portion 221 and the connection terminal 224 may include an electric conductive metal [0067]), each of the bodies comprising at least having a first body part and a second body part (as shown in annotated fig. 4 and exemplified in figure 3 of the instant specification);
(Yoon, annotated figure 4)
and at least one terminal connection part (connection terminal 224 [0066])
wherein the at least one terminal connection part comprises at least one connection component (positive electrode connection terminal 224a and negative electrode connection terminal 224b [0066].)
wherein each of the at least one connection component comprises a contact part (connecting portions (225) [0085]) for contacting the terminal of the battery unit (connecting portions 225 provided to directly contact or be welded respectively to the positive electrode terminal 111 and the negative electrode terminal 112 of the cylindrical battery cell 100. [0085]… The connecting portion 225 may have a branched structure branched in two sides in the horizontal direction [0086] fig. 4).
wherein each of the at least one terminal connection part further comprises at least one stem connecting the contact part to the first body part (as shown in annotated fig. 4 above and exemplified in figure 3 of the instant specification.),
Yoon does not explicitly disclose plurality of bodies are connected to each other by at least one connection part.
In the same field of endeavor Yasuda teaches an electrical connector configured to connect terminals of a battery, busbar module [Abstract], and teaches busbar (25) (plurality of bodies) is connected to portion (24) and chip fuse (50), and portion (24) is connected to second branch portion (23) ([0072], fig. 3), and where the second branch portion (23) is connected to first branch portion (22) which is connected to the main strip (21) ([0048] figs. 5A-C). As shown in fig. 3 the plurality of bodies (busbar (25)) are connected to each other by connection part (branch portion 23) connected to main strip (21).
Yasuda further teaches if the positional relationship between the main strip (21) and busbar (25) are changed, the positional deviations may be absorbed by branch portions (23) thereby absorbing any battery size stacking variations in manufacturing [0061]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Yoon with the connecting portion as taught by Yasuda to achieve manufacturing efficiency by absorbing battery size variations.
Meeting the limitation of wherein each of the at least one connection part (portion (23)) has at least one fusible part (fuse (50) [0072], figs. 5A-C) It is noted in the combination fuse portion (227) of Yoon may be substituted for the fuse (50) of Yasuda as the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Yoon discloses in a different embodiment the at least one fusible part has a smaller cross section than the at least one stem.
With regard to the limitations concerning, "a fusible part has a smaller cross section than the at least one stem”, Yoon does not specifically teach this limitation with regard to figure 4. However, with regard to figure 15, Yoon teaches an embodiment in which " the fuse portion 227A1 of the connection terminal 224 located relatively inside in the horizontal direction may have a larger vertical cross-sectional area than the fuse portion 227B1 of the connection terminal 224 located outside in the horizontal direction. [0131]”. Therefore Yoon teaches that the fusible part with a smaller cross section than the stem.
One skilled in the art would have noted the different embodiments taught by Yoon and would have noted that as a whole, Yoon discloses the claimed invention "a fusible part has a smaller cross section than the at least one stem.” because it discloses known and utilized ways in which connection to a busbar plate can be made. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have chosen from a finite set of embodiments in Yoon, the combination of figure 15 to achieve the desired purpose of connecting to a busbar with "a fusible part having a smaller cross section than the at least one stem” . Thus, because Yoon teaches each, i.e. connection terminal 224(a, b) in figure 4 and connection terminal 224(a, b) in figure 15, as one of a finite set of options, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine them with a reasonable expectation that Yoon will work as intended, i.e. to provide a collection terminal. "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; see MPEP 2143 l.
and
wherein the at least one fusible part is operable as a fuse configured to cut off an excessively high current. [0012].
As to claim 2, modified Yoon discloses the at least one terminal connection part (connection terminal 224 [0130]) comprises a first connection component (224a annotated fig. 15) and a second connection component (224b annotated fig. 15 [0134]) which are spaced apart from each other (as shown in annotated fig. 15) and which are each connected to one of the plurality of bodies via at least one stem (as shown in annotated fig. 15 connection components are connected to at least one stem, and as shown in figure 2 external terminal (228) is part of main body (221), which is connected to connection components 224a and 224b as shown in annotated fig. 15, and may electrically connected to other bus plates (220) [0068], meeting the limitation of plurality of bodies (main body 221 of bus plate 220) are connected to each other by at least one stem.
(Yoon, annotated fig. 15)
As to claim 3, modified Yoon discloses the at least one connection part (bent structure as shown in fig. 15 above) is provided with a locally narrow part as the at least one fusible part (the fuse portion 227A1 of the connection terminal 224 located relatively inside in the horizontal direction may have a larger vertical cross-sectional area than the fuse portion 227B1 of the connection terminal 224 located outside in the horizontal direction. [0131]). Where the smaller cross-sectional area of 227B1 provides a locally narrow part.
As to claim 4, modified Yoon discloses in a different embodiment an opening is provided in the at least one connection part to form the at least one fusible part.
With regard to the limitations concerning, " an opening is provided in the at least one connection part to form the at least one fusible part”, Yoon does not specifically teach this limitation with regard to figure 15. However, with regard to figure 11, Yoon teaches an embodiment in which " a connection terminal 224D of a busbar plate 220D of FIG. 11 may include two or more fuse portions 227a and 227b,…Here, the two or more fuse portions 227a and 227b may be spaced apart from each other at a predetermined interval. [0112] and as shown in figure 11 the bent structure or connection part has an opening”. Therefore Yoon teaches an opening is provided in the at least one connection part to form the at least one fusible part as shown in annotated fig. 11 below.
(Yoon, fig. 11)
One skilled in the art would have noted the different embodiments taught by Yoon and would have noted that as a whole, Yoon discloses the claimed invention " an opening is provided in the at least one connection part to form the at least one fusible part,” because it discloses known and utilized ways in which connection to a busbar plate can be made. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have chosen from a finite set of embodiments in Yoon the combination of figure 11 to achieve the desired purpose of connecting to a busbar with "an opening is provided in the at least one connection part to form the at least one fusible part.” Thus, because, Yoon teaches each, i.e. bent structure in figure 15 and bent structure in figure 11, as one of a finite set of options, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine them with a reasonable expectation that Yoon will work as intended, i.e. to provide a collection terminal. "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; see MPEP 2143 l.
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, modified Yoon discloses the opening is a through-hole. (At least one connection opening H1 perforated in an up-and-down direction may be formed in the main body portion 221 [0069] fig. 11. Where perforation provides a through hole.)
As to claim 6, Yoon discloses the connection part (224) extends along a substantially Z-shaped path, and connects the plurality of bodies in a staggered arrangement (fig. 2)
As to claim 7, modified Yoon discloses an electrical connector (busbar plate (220) [0046] fig. 1) configured to connect terminals of battery units in a battery pack [0065] , comprising: a plurality of bodies (main body portion 221 of a plurality of busbar plates (220) [0046], [0066],fig. 1 ) made of an electrically conductive material (the busbar plate 220 may include a main body portion 221 and a connection terminal 224 [0066]… material (the main body portion 221 and the connection terminal 224 may include an electric conductive metal [0067]),
each body (221) comprising at least a first body part and a second body part (as shown in annotated fig. 4 and exemplified in figure 3 of the instant specification);
(Yoon, annotated fig. 4)
and at least one terminal connection part (connection terminal 224) disposed adjacent the first body part to connect to the terminal of the battery unit (annotated fig. 4, [0066]).
wherein the at least one terminal connection part (224) comprises a first connection component (224a [0066]) and a second connection component (224b [0066]) spaced apart from each other (as shown in annotated figure 4 above and exemplified in fig. 3 of the instant specification.)
wherein each of the first and second connection components comprises a contact part (connecting portions 225 [0085]… The connecting portion 225 may have a branched structure branched in two sides in the horizontal direction [0086]) for contacting the terminal of the battery unit [0085], and a stem connecting the contact part to each body (annotated fig. 4 above)
wherein the stem has a smaller cross section than the contact part (225), (as illustrated in annotated fig. 4 above contact part (225) has a larger cross-section than the stem.)
and wherein the stem is operable as a fuse for configured to cut off an excessively high current. (The fuse portion 227 may be configured to be disconnected when a current of a predetermined level or higher flows from the cylindrical battery cell 100. [0074] providing a fuse and as shown in annotated fig. 4 above fuse 227 may be located in the stem.)
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the contact part (225) of the first connection component and the contact part of the second connection component (225) extend in the same direction or extend in different directions relative to each other (Referring back to FIG. 4, the positive electrode connection terminal 224a and the negative electrode connection terminal 224b may include connecting portions 225 [0085]…The connecting portion 225 may have a branched structure branched in two sides in the horizontal direction [0086] and shown in annotated fig. 4 above).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the contact part (225) of the first connection component (224) is connected to one of the plurality of bodies (main body portion 221 of a plurality of busbar plates (220) [0046], [0066],fig. 1 ) by the stem via a strip (annotated fig. 4).
(Yoon, annotated fig. 4)
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the strip has an outwardly projecting first end connected to one of the plurality of bodies (main body portion 221 of a plurality of busbar plates (220) [0046], [0066],fig. 1 fig. 4 ), and the strip has a second end as a far end, which is connected to the stem (annotated fig. 4 above).
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the strip extends along a partly circular or substantially semicircular path (annotated fig. 4 above).
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the contact part (225) of the first connection component (224a) is arranged adjacent to the contact part (225) of the second connection component (224b) (Referring back to FIG. 4, the positive electrode connection terminal 224a and the negative electrode connection terminal 224b may include connecting portions 225 [0085] As shown in Fig. 4 ab ).
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the contact part (225) of the first connection component (224a) and the contact part (225) of the second connection component (224b) have respective straight edges, which extend together in parallel on two opposite sides of a gap. (The connecting portion 225 may have a branched structure branched in two sides in the horizontal direction. [0086] As shown in Fig. 4 above)
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the contact part (225) of the first connection component and the contact part (225) of the second connection component have shapes that are substantially mirror images of each other (The connecting portion 225 may have a branched structure branched in two sides in the horizontal direction. [0086], as shown in fig. 4 above).
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the contact part of the first connection component and the contact part of the second connection component are configured to form a substantially circular or disk-like combined shape. (As shown in annotated fig. 4 below the contact parts of the connection components form a substantially circular shape.)
(Yoon, annotated fig. 4)
As to claim 16, 17 , and 18, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the angle at which the contact part of the first connection component (224a) and the contact part of the second connection component (224b) extend in different directions relative to each other is in a range of 900 - 2700 , 1700-1900, and 1800.
As shown in annotated fig. 4 below Yoon discloses 224a and 224b which each include contact parts (225) extending in different directions, and the angle between (224a) and (224b) taken relative to each other is 00 to 1800 which overlaps the limitations.
(Yoon, fig. 4)
It should be noted in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim19, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Yoon discloses the respective positions of the stem of the first connection component (224a) and the stem of the second connection component (224b) are radially opposite each other. (the positive electrode connection terminal 224a or the negative electrode connection terminal 224b, may include a fuse portion 227 [0074]… fuse portion 227 may have a bent structure B1 bent at least one time in the horizontal direction [0075], providing stems (bent strcutureB1) on both the first connection component and the second connection component, and as shown in fig. 4 above would be radially opposite each other.
As to claim 21, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Yoon discloses a circuit connection part disposed adjacent the first body part or the second body part, for configured to connect to an operating circuit of the battery pack. (The external terminal 228 may be configured to be electrically connected to a battery management system [0068] and as shown in fig. 4 above external terminal (228) is adjacent to the first body.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1, filed 10/01/2025,, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of claims 16, 17, and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of claims 16, 17, and 18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/01/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 10/01/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yasuda et al. (US2020/0395590A1).
Applicant argues amended claim 7 is not taught by Yoon, as Yoon only describes a singular main body portion 221 but does not describe a plurality of bodies configured to connect terminals of battery units in a battery pack. This office respectfully disagrees Yoon discloses the present disclosure may include a plurality of cylindrical battery cells 100, a module housing 210, and a plurality of busbar plates 220. [0046] and where the busbar plate 220 may include a main body portion 221 [0066]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kataoka et al. (US2018/0166673A1) Conductor with fuse.
Muratsu et al. (US20200176735A) Top plate with terminal connecting parts.
Wang et al. (WO2017-129146A1) Parallel connecting grid with fuses.
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728