DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2022 was partially considered by the examiner. The internet references were not considered. Applicant is required to provide screenshots of these references.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 3 recites “attachment means” corresponding to zip ties, cord, wire, carabiners, straps, snaps, rivets, hook and loop fasteners.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lally US 11911668.
Regarding claim 1, Lally discloses a hauling device comprising:
a sheet of flexible material (8) having a front edge (side with 11);
a handle member attached to said front edge of said sheet of flexible material (Fig. 2), said handle member comprising a pair of handle bars (6) wherein one end of each handle bar is attached to a hinge mechanism (7, Fig. 2) so that said handle bars may pivot with respect to one another between an open position (Fig. 1) and a closed position (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Lally further discloses that said sheet of flexible material includes a series of eyelets (9) about a periphery thereof (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Lally further discloses that attachment means (10) are used to connect said handle member to said sheet of flexible material so that said attachment means are disposed through said eyelets (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Lally further discloses that each eyelet includes a grommet (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Lally further discloses that said attachment means are selected from the group consisting of zip ties, cord, wire, carabiners and straps (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Lally further discloses that said hinge mechanism is formed from polyvinyl chloride pipe (col. 3 ln. 25-30).
Regarding claim 8, Lally further discloses that said handle bars are formed from polyvinyl chloride pipe (col. 3 ln. 25-30).
Regarding claim 9, Lally further discloses that said handle bars form an angle of about 180 degrees in said open position (Fig. 1), and are disposed in parallel relation in said closed position (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lally US 11911668 in view of Emmert US 907687.
Regarding claim 6, Lally does not teach that said hinge mechanism is formed from a pair of tee couplings that are rotatably connected to an axis bar.
Emmert teaches a hinge mechanism, wherein the hinge is formed from a pair of tee couplings (d, d’) that are rotatably connected to an axis bar (f). Emmert so teaches in order to allow the legs to rotatably open and close. Because both Lally and Emmert teach a hinge for opening an closing two legs, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to replace the hinge (7) of Lally by simply substituting in the hinge in the form of two tee couplings (d, d’) as taught by Emmert, in order to achieve the predictable result of rotatably opening and closing the legs (6) in Lally. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barry US 4261611 for the truck canopy’s hinge, frame and cover.
Barnard US 4434829 for the hinge, rods and flexible sheet.
Underwood US 4561480 and Ricker US 5451107 for the hinge, rod and flexible sheet.
Noonan US 7984733 for the sheet with V-shaped flexible edge.
BRIAN O. PETERS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745