DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 12/23/2025. Claims 1, 2, 7, 11, 14-17, 22, 24, 25, 29 and 30 were amended.
Response to Arguments
As a result of the amendments two new references Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, and Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter in combination with existing references are now use to teach the claims.
Claim Objection
Claims 1 and 16 are objected to for the use of HARQ without spelling out what the acronym stands for at first use in each claim branch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Han2 teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor; and (fig. 6)
a memory coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to perform operations including: (paragraph 0027 - ... at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer executable instructions stored therein; at least one receiver; at least one transmitter; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, the at least one receiver and the at least one transmitter. The computer executable instructions are programmed to implement the above method with the at least one receiver, the at least one transmitter and the at least one processor.)
transmitting a sidelink transmission to another UE; (paragraph 0043 and 0044 discloses sidelink tranmission and reception to and from another UE)
starting monitoring for a feedback response for the sidelink transmission from the another UE at a feedback occasion of a plurality of feedback occasions; (paragaphs 0120 and 0121 discloses sidelink monitoring - [0120] In step 302, the UE monitors PSCCH continuously when the UE is in the active time or the wake-up time. [0121] … may include the time after transmitting a request for requesting information until receiving the requested information. In an embodiment of the present application, in a sidelink-channel state information (SL-CSI) procedure, the requested information is SL-CSI.)
in response to receiving the ACK message or the NACK message associated with the feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions: starting a sidelink HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer in accordance with a sidelink control information (SCI) transmission and (paragraphs 0140 and 0142 discloses using result of feedback in starting RTT timer - [0140] ... For example, sl-drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer is only started by the Rx UE after the last reserved resource indicated by frequency resource assignment and time resource assignment field in the SCI ends, and if HARQ feedback is enabled as indicated in the SCI. ... [0142] Furthermore, if a MAC PDU is received by the Rx UE from a Tx UE in the stored sidelink grant for a new transmission, the Rx UE starts the HARQ RTT timer and stops the HARQ retransmission timer for a corresponding HARQ process. For example, the Tx UE may start the sl-drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the PSSCH transmission for the MAC PDU, and stop the sl-drx-RetransmissionTimer for the corresponding HARQ process.)
stopping monitoring for the feedback response (paragraph 0142 - Furthermore, if a MAC PDU is received by the Rx UE from a Tx UE in the stored sidelink grant for a new transmission, the Rx UE starts the HARQ RTT timer and stops the HARQ retransmission timer for a corresponding HARQ process. For example, the Tx UE may start the sl-drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the PSSCH transmission for the MAC PDU, and stop the sl-drx-RetransmissionTimer for the corresponding HARQ process.)
Yet, Han2 does not expressly teach receiving via a listen-before-talk (LBT) transmission a positive acknowledgement (ACK) message or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) message associated with the feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly discloses receiving via a listen-before-talk (LBT) transmission a positive acknowledgement (ACK) message or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) message associated with the feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions; (paragraphs 0061, 0080 and 0183 discloses receiving of LBT ACK or NACK feedback - [0061]...The receiver may monitor a mini-slot collision and transmit an A/N in a mini-slot PSFCH. ... The receiver may transmit an A/N based at least in part on the interference level. ... [0080] ... A receiver may detect an SCI collision in a same mini-slot and control subchannel of the control resource pool and report a NACK via a PSFCH to gate (or control) the PSSCH transmission and the LBT, ... [0183] ... wherein the two or more SCIs are associated with a same mini-slot or slot; transmitting, to a transmitter of the two or more transmitters and based at least in part on the two or more SCIs, an acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (A/N) feedback ... mini-slot carrying a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) or sidelink feedback information (SLFI) with SCI, wherein the A/N feedback is transmitted before a listen-before-talk (LBT) and physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Liu's feedback of LBT ACK or NACK to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Di Girolamo et al, (U.S. PGPub 2022/0191962), Girolamo1. Hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, Han2 in view of Liu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Han2 in view of Liu does not expressly teach wherein the operations of the starting monitoring for the feedback response for the sidelink transmission from the another UE includes determining a configuration of the plurality of feedback occasions based on one or more of: a configuration based on one or more of quality of service (QoS) for sidelink communication or sidelink conditions, the configuration defining the plurality of feedback occasions covered by a sidelink feedback window for monitoring for the feedback response;
However, in the analogous art, Girolamo1 explicitly discloses wherein the operations of the starting monitoring for the feedback response for the sidelink transmission from the another UE includes determining a configuration of the plurality of feedback occasions based on one or more of: (paragraph 0220 - A set of peer UEs may be configured by their gNB, or eNB, or Controlling Entity with the necessary information to transmit/receive the RLM-AI. For example, through RRC signaling or PC5 RRC signaling. Alternatively, if the UEs are out-of-coverage, they may use pre-configuration to determine the necessary information to transmit/receive the RLM-AI. In both cases (configuration and pre-configuration), the transmitting UE may follow the configuration information to send the RLM-AI. Furthermore, the Receiving UE may also use the configuration information to configure itself to receive the RLM-AI. In cases where a UE has multiple sidelinks to the same destination, it may be configured with one or more active RLM-AI Configuration). RLM-AI stands for Radio link monitoring assistance information.
a configuration based on one or more of quality of service (QoS) for sidelink communication or sidelink conditions, the configuration defining the plurality of feedback occasions covered by a sidelink feedback window for monitoring for the feedback response; (paragraph 0190 - SL radio link monitoring (SL-RLM) refers to the process whereby a UE, controlling entity 100, or scheduling entity monitors/measures metrics to gauge the quality of a radio link. As a result of this monitoring, the UE, controlling entity 100 or scheduling entity may determine that there may be a problem with the radio link.)
an activation of the plurality of feedback occasions covered by the sidelink feedback window for monitoring for the feedback response based on the one or more of QoS for sidelink communication or sidelink conditions; (Alternative)
or a dynamic signaling indicating the plurality of feedback occasions covered by the sidelink feedback window, wherein the dynamic signaling is based on one or more of QoS for a transmission block (TB) associated with the sidelink transmission or sidelink conditions. (Alternative)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Girolamo1's feedback of LBT ACK or NACK to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Regarding Claim 3, Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 teaches claim 2.
Girolam1 further teaches wherein the activation of the plurality of feedback occasions covered by the sidelink feedback window includes indicating the plurality of feedback occasions for the another UE via an activation indication transmitted from the UE to the another UE, the activation indication including a medium access control (MAC)-control element (CE) (paragraph 0241 - In this alternative, the Controlling entity may tell a UE to start transmitting the RLM-AI, or to start receiving RLM-AI. The indication may be provided by means of RRC signaling, MAC CEs, DCI, SCI, or combination of RRC, MAC CE, DCI, and SCI. The Controlling entity may provide one or more RLM-AI configuration details. In response, the UE may activate RLM-AI ...). RLM-AI stands for Radio link monitoring Assistance information, which is a feedback.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Di Girolamo et al, (U.S. PGPub 2022/0191962), Girolamo1 hereinafter and further in view of Karaki et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0075556), Karaki hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 4, Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 teaches claim 2.
Yet, Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 does not expressly teach wherein the operations of the dynamic signaling indicating the plurality of feedback occasions includes: determining the plurality of feedback occasions covered by the sidelink feedback window based on the one or more of QoS for the TB associated with the sidelink transmission or sidelink conditions, the sidelink conditions based, at least in part, on sidelink measurements; selecting a resource pool including multiple feedback occasions meeting the one or more of QoS for the TB associated with the sidelink transmission or sidelink conditions; selecting the plurality of feedback occasions covered by the sidelink feedback window from the selected resource pool; and transmitting, to the another UE, an indication including one or more of: a number of feedback occasions in the plurality of feedback occasions covered by the sidelink feedback window or a duration of time covering the plurality of feedback occasions, wherein the indication is transmitted in sidelink control information concurrently transmitted with the sidelink transmission to the another UE.
However, in the analogous art, Karaki explicitly discloses wherein the operations of the dynamic signaling indicating the plurality of feedback occasions includes: determining the plurality of feedback occasions covered by the sidelink feedback window based on the one or more of QoS for the TB associated with the sidelink transmission or sidelink conditions, the sidelink conditions based, at least in part, on sidelink measurements; (paragraphs 0048 and 0145 - … One or more secondary opportunities for feedback transmission may be provided in case the UE fails to transmit in the predefined time resources indicated by the reporting timing, e.g. the PDSCH-to-HARQ ACK timing, … Feedback signaling may in particular comprise and/or represent acknowledgement signaling and/or acknowledgement information and/or measurement reporting.)
selecting a resource pool including multiple feedback occasions meeting the one or more of QoS for the TB associated with the sidelink transmission or sidelink conditions; (paragraphs 0048 and 0145 - … One or more secondary opportunities for feedback transmission may be provided in case the UE fails to transmit in the predefined time resources indicated by the reporting timing, e.g. the PDSCH-to-HARQ ACK timing, … Feedback signaling may in particular comprise and/or represent acknowledgement signaling and/or acknowledgement information and/or measurement reporting.)
selecting the plurality of feedback occasions covered by the sidelink feedback window from the selected resource pool; and (fig. 6 and paragraphs 0048 and 0049 - … One or more secondary opportunities for feedback transmission may be provided in case the UE fails to transmit in the predefined time resources indicated by the reporting timing, e.g. the PDSCH-to-HARQ ACK timing, … the feedback may be included in a, e.g. the immediate next, scheduled transmission opportunity, e.g. for UCI (on PUCCH or PUSCH), e.g. on scheduled and/or configured resources. ...)
transmitting, to the another UE, an indication including one or more of: a number of feedback occasions in the plurality of feedback occasions covered by the sidelink feedback window or a duration of time covering the plurality of feedback occasions, wherein the indication is transmitted in sidelink control information concurrently transmitted with the sidelink transmission to the another UE. (fig. 6 - feedback corresponding to PDSCH at (T, T+1, T+3, T+4, T+5))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Karaki's secondary opportunity for feedback transmission to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Di Girolamo et al, (U.S. PGPub 2022/0191962), Girolamo1 hereinafter and further in view of Freda et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0150730), Freda hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 teaches claim 2.
Yet, Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 does not expressly teach wherein the QoS for the TB associated with the sidelink transmission includes at least one QoS profile or direct interface (PC5) QoS indicator (5QI) that includes one or more of: priority level of the sidelink transmission; a reliability requirement for the sidelink transmission; a data volume; a maximum data rate; or a packet delay budget (PDB) or remaining PDB.
However, in the analogous art, Freda explicitly discloses wherein the QoS for the TB associated with the sidelink transmission includes at least one QoS profile or direct interface (PC5) QoS indicator (5QI) that includes one or more of: priority level of the sidelink transmission;
a reliability requirement for the sidelink transmission; (paragraph 0204 - The 5QI may then be used in the similar manner as that of the PPPP/PPPR, i.e., to be tagged with each of the packet. 5QI is able to represent all the characteristics needed for the PC5 broadcast operation, e.g., in terms of latency, priority, reliability, etc. A group of V2X broadcast specific 5QIs (i.e. VQIs' for V2X 5QIs) could be defined for PC5 use.)
a data volume; (Alternative)
a maximum data rate; or (Alternative)
a packet delay budget (PDB) or remaining PDB (Alternative).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Freda's 5QI priority, reliability, CBR and RSRP measurement to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Regarding Claim 6, Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 teaches claim 2.
Yet, Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 does not expressly teach wherein the sidelink conditions are based, at least in part, on sidelink measurements including one or more of: a channel busy rate (CBR); a sidelink reference signal received power (RSRP); or a listen-before-talk (LBT) success rate.
However, in the analogous art, Freda explicitly discloses wherein the sidelink conditions are based, at least in part, on sidelink measurements including one or more of: a channel busy rate (CBR); (paragraph 0946 shows CBR)
a sidelink reference signal received power (RSRP); or (paragraph 0947 shows RSRP)
a listen-before-talk (LBT) success rate (Alternative).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 5 is also applied to claim 6.
Claims 11 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Di Girolamo et al, (U.S. PGPub 2022/0191962), Girolamo1 hereinafter and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0298350), Alfarhan hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 11, Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 teaches claim 2.
Yet, Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 does not expressly teach wherein the operations of a triggering condition associated with the feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions includes one or more of:
receiving the feedback response at the feedback occasion associated with the triggering condition; or
reaching an end of the sidelink feedback window without receiving the feedback response from the another UE based, at least in part, on a type of the feedback response.
However, in the analogous art, Alfarhan explicitly discloses wherein the operations of a triggering condition associated with the feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions includes one or more of: (paragraph 0105 - A WTRU may maintain different counters for SL transmission(s) and for SL feedback. A WTRU may maintain different timers for SL transmission(s) and for SL feedback. In examples, the WTRU may maintain a first counter and/or timer for SL transmission(s) to a peer WTRU. The WTRU may maintain a second counter and/or timer for SL reception of feedback from the peer WTRU or for SL transmission(s) of feedback to the peer WTRU. Upon the expiry of a timer (e.g., the first timer or the second timer as described herein), a tx WTRU may determine a HARQ feedback value, and, for example, the tx WTRU may assume the HARQ feedback value to be a certain value (e.g., NACK) if a feedback or SCI has not been received from the peer WTRU. The peer WTRU (e.g., a rx WTRU) may monitor (e.g., attempt to decode) for an SCI reception, for example, at preconfigured or predetermined time(s) in relation to the timing of the LBT procedure (e.g., LBT occasions) and/or the start of the reception resource. The peer WTRU may switch to another RB set, for example, if a transmission (e.g., SCI or data) has not been received from the tx WTRU (e.g., no transmission has been received) and/or the timer has expired.)
receiving the feedback response at the feedback occasion associated with the triggering condition; or (Alternative)
reaching an end of the sidelink feedback window without receiving the feedback response from the another UE based, at least in part, on a type of the feedback response (paragraph 0105 - ... Upon the expiry of a timer (e.g., the first timer or the second timer as described herein), a tx WTRU may determine a HARQ feedback value, and, for example, the tx WTRU may assume the HARQ feedback value to be a certain value (e.g., NACK) if a feedback or SCI has not been received from the peer WTRU. ...). Not receiving feedback within the time window.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include AlfarHan2’s feedback, HARQ and timer to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Regarding Claim 12, , Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 and further in view of Alfarhan teaches claim 11.
Alfarhan further teaches wherein the feedback occasion associated with the triggering condition at which the feedback response is received by the UE includes a feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions with a successful LBT procedure by the another UE (paragraphs 0105 and 0204 - ... The peer WTRU (e.g., a rx WTRU) may monitor (e.g., attempt to decode) for an SCI reception, for example, at preconfigured or predetermined time(s) in relation to the timing of the LBT procedure (e.g., LBT occasions) and/or the start of the reception resource. ... [0204] The third WTRU (e.g., a relay WTRU) may provide feedback to a transmitting WTRU that the destination WTRU is reachable (e.g., an LBT procedure is successful towards the destination WTRU) and/or that a confirmation that the data is forwarded.).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 11 is also applied to claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13, Han2 in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo1 and further in view of Alfarhan teaches claim 11.
Alfarhan further teaches further comprising the operations of: retransmitting the sidelink transmission to the another UE in response to reaching the end of the sidelink feedback window without receiving the feedback response from the another UE (paragraph 0201 - … In response to expiry of the prohibit timer, the WTRU may consider SL data and/or control resource(s) on the associated LBT bandwidth, BWP, and/or carrier, e.g., for retransmission of the data or control information that failed LBT.).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 11 is also applied to claim 13.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0298350), Alfarhan hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 15, Han2 in view of Liu teaches claim 1.
Yet, Han2 in view of Liu does not expressly teach further comprising the operations of: retransmitting the sidelink transmission to the another UE when the feedback response received from the another UE includes the NACK message for the sidelink transmission; and foregoing retransmitting the sidelink transmission to the another UE when the feedback response received from the another UE includes the ACK message for the sidelink transmission.
However, in the analogous art, Alfarhan explicitly discloses further comprising the operations of: retransmitting the sidelink transmission to the another UE when the feedback response received from the another UE includes the NACK message for the sidelink transmission; and (paragraph 0199 - ... The tx WTRU may transmit the RB set switch MAC CE or SCI, for example, according to one or more of the following: after the expiry of a timer (e.g., a HARQ retransmission timer); after a number of retransmissions; after a number of NACKs; and/or after a number of LBT failures (e.g., as a function of the CSLF counter). The tx WTRU may retransmit a TB, following the expiry of a retransmission timer (e.g., only following the expiry of a retransmission timer), and/or after the reception of an SCI from the rx WTRU indicating one or more of the chosen RB set was occupied, an alternative idle RB set, a NACK, and/or an RB set switch (e.g., only after the reception of an SCI from the rx WTRU indicating one or more of the chosen RB set was occupied, an alternative idle RB set, a NACK, and/or an RB set switch).
and foregoing retransmitting the sidelink transmission to the another UE when the feedback response received from the another UE includes the ACK message for the sidelink transmission (paragraph 0199 - ...The tx WTRU may retransmit the TB that was unacknowledged (or the TB that failed LBT operation(s)) or transmit a TB (e.g., a new TB) on the different/indicated RB set or resource pool after receiving feedback, acknowledgment, or an SCI from the peer WTRU, in response to the RB set switch.). New TB was transmitted after receiving acknowledgement.
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 11 is also applied to claim 15.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2024/0098782), Han hereinafter, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 16, Han2 teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled with the at least one processor (fig. 6)
and storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to perform operations including: (paragraph 0027 - ... at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer executable instructions stored therein; at least one receiver; at least one transmitter; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, the at least one receiver and the at least one transmitter. The computer executable instructions are programmed to implement the above method with the at least one receiver, the at least one transmitter and the at least one processor.)
receiving a sidelink transmission from another UE; (paragraph 0043 and 0044 discloses sidelink tranmission and reception to and from another UE)
in response to detecting the triggering condition associated with the feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions: starting a sidelink HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer in accordance with a sidelink control information (SCI) transmission; (paragraphs 0140 and 0142 discloses using result of feedback in starting RTT timer - [0140] ... For example, sl-drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer is only started by the Rx UE after the last reserved resource indicated by frequency resource assignment and time resource assignment field in the SCI ends, and if HARQ feedback is enabled as indicated in the SCI. ... [0142] Furthermore, if a MAC PDU is received by the Rx UE from a Tx UE in the stored sidelink grant for a new transmission, the Rx UE starts the HARQ RTT timer and stops the HARQ retransmission timer for a corresponding HARQ process. For example, the Tx UE may start the sl-drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the PSSCH transmission for the MAC PDU, and stop the sl-drx-RetransmissionTimer for the corresponding HARQ process.)
and stopping monitoring for the feedback response (paragraph 0142 - Furthermore, if a MAC PDU is received by the Rx UE from a Tx UE in the stored sidelink grant for a new transmission, the Rx UE starts the HARQ RTT timer and stops the HARQ retransmission timer for a corresponding HARQ process. For example, the Tx UE may start the sl-drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the PSSCH transmission for the MAC PDU, and stop the sl-drx-RetransmissionTimer for the corresponding HARQ process.).
Yet, Han2 does not expressly teach monitoring for a feedback response, via a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure sequentially at a plurality of feedback occasions.
However, in the analogous art, Han explicitly discloses monitoring for a feedback response, via a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure sequentially at a plurality of feedback occasions (paragraph 0048 discloses monitoring for feedback in LBT procedure - [0048] In the sidelink, the TX sidelink UE 110-1 can perform a data transmission on the first resource, i.e. the resource 302 after a successful LBT. If the data transmission is acknowledged with NACK from the RX sidelink UE 110-2 via a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH), the TX sidelink UE 110-1 can perform the data transmission on the second resource, i.e. the resource 303 after LBT success. If the data transmission is still acknowledged with NACK from the RX sidelink UE 110-2 via a PSFCH, the TX sidelink UE 110-1 can initiate the data transmission on the third resource, i.e. the resource 304. If the TX sidelink UE 110-1 determines that a LBT failure on the resource 304 is detected, the TX sidelink UE 110-1 can determine that the sidelink transmission procedure has failed. Then the TX sidelink UE 110-1 can be triggered to signal the indication “NACK” 305 on PUCCH to gNB 120, to indicate an unsuccessful data transmission.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Han's LBT and sidelink feedback acknowledgement to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han does not expressly teach detecting a triggering condition associated with a feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions, the triggering condition includes a positive (ACK) message or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) message.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly discloses detecting a triggering condition associated with a feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions, the triggering condition includes a positive (ACK) message or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) message; and (paragraphs 0061, 0080 and 0183 discloses reporting of LBT ACK or NACK feedback after detecting a trigger condition - [0061]...The receiver may monitor a mini-slot collision and transmit an A/N in a mini-slot PSFCH. ... The receiver may transmit an A/N based at least in part on the interference level. ... [0080] ... A receiver may detect an SCI collision in a same mini-slot and control subchannel of the control resource pool and report a NACK via a PSFCH to gate (or control) the PSSCH transmission and the LBT, ... [0183] ... wherein the two or more SCIs are associated with a same mini-slot or slot; transmitting, to a transmitter of the two or more transmitters and based at least in part on the two or more SCIs, an acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (A/N) feedback ... mini-slot carrying a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) or sidelink feedback information (SLFI) with SCI, wherein the A/N feedback is transmitted before a listen-before-talk (LBT) and physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Liu's feedback of LBT ACK or NACK to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Claims 17 – 19 and 26 - 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2024/0098782), Han hereinafter, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Girolamo et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0038807), Girolamo2 hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 17, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu teaches claim 16.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu does not expressly teach wherein the operations of the monitoring for the feedback response includes determining a configuration of the plurality of feedback occasions based on one or more of: a configuration based on one or more of quality of service (QoS) for sidelink communication or sidelink conditions, the configuration defining the plurality of feedback occasions for monitoring for the feedback response; an activation of the plurality of feedback occasions for transmitting the feedback response based on the one or more of QoS for sidelink communication or sidelink conditions; or a dynamic signaling indicating the configuration of the plurality of feedback occasions, wherein the dynamic signaling is based on one or more of QoS for a transmission block (TB) associated with the sidelink transmission or sidelink conditions.
However, in the analogous art, Girolamo2 explicitly discloses wherein the operations of the monitoring for the feedback response includes determining a configuration of the plurality of feedback occasions based on one or more of: a configuration based on one or more of quality of service (QoS) for sidelink communication or sidelink conditions, the configuration defining the plurality of feedback occasions for monitoring for the feedback response; (paragraph 0184 - The WTRU may monitor the LBT events and make certain decisions regarding LBT state (busy, free, etc.). For example, the WTRU may monitor the state of a channel. If the channel is found to be busy (for example energy detection suggests another user is using the channel) the WTRU may indicate that the LBT state is BUSY. Alternatively, if the channel is found to be free (for example energy detection suggests no other user is using the channel) the WTRU may indicate that the LBT state is FREE. Alternatively, if the WTRU is not able to assess if the channel is busy or free (for example if not enough measurements are available) the WTRU may indicate that the LBT state is PENDING. [0219] If consecutive LBT Failure Count is greater than a configured consecutive LBT Failure Count within a LBTR Monitoring Period, an LBTR is triggered.[0250] ... If a consistent LBT failure is determined for a specific unlicensed band, the WTRU may switch to another unlicensed band. In order to continue the sidelink communication, the peer WTRU would also need to move to the new unlicensed band. ...). Switching to start on another as a result of feedback of LBT failures.
an activation of the plurality of feedback occasions for transmitting the feedback response based on the one or more of QoS for sidelink communication or sidelink conditions; (Alternative)
or a dynamic signaling indicating the configuration of the plurality of feedback occasions, wherein the dynamic signaling is based on one or more of QoS for a transmission block (TB) associated with the sidelink transmission or sidelink conditions (Alternative)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Girolamo2's method and apparatus for radio sidelink operation over shared spectrum.
Regarding Claim 18, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 teaches claim 17.
Girolamo2 further teaches wherein the activation of the plurality of feedback occasions includes receiving an indication of the plurality of feedback occasions from the another UE via an activation indication, the activation indication including a medium access control (MAC)-control element (CE) (paragraph 0266 - The RX WTRU may send this indication for each LBT failure. The indication may be sent over PHY layer control signaling (SCI), over a MAC CE, over dedicated RRC signaling, or piggybacked on a user plane message between the RX WTRU and the TX WTRU.).
Regarding Claim 19, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 teaches claim 17.
Girolamo2 further teaches wherein the operations of the dynamic signaling indicating the plurality of feedback occasions includes: receiving, from the another UE, an indication of the plurality of feedback occasions, wherein the indication is received in sidelink control information concurrently transmitted with the sidelink transmission, wherein the plurality of feedback occasions is determined by the another UE based on one or more of QoS for a transmission block (TB) associated with the sidelink transmission or sidelink conditions, the indication of the plurality of feedback occasions including one or more of: a number of feedback occasions in the plurality of feedback occasions or a duration of time covering the plurality of feedback occasions, and wherein the plurality of feedback occasions is selected from a resource pool determined by the another UE to include multiple feedback occasions meeting the one or more of the QoS of the TB or the sidelink conditions, based, at least in part, on sidelink measurements (paragraph 0267 - The RX WTRU may send this indication periodically. The RX WTRU may be configured with a reporting timer. At expiry of this timer, the RX WTRU may send a summary of the LBT failures since the last periodic report. The RX WTRU may send this periodic indication over PHY layer control signaling (SCI), over a MAC CE, over dedicated RRC signaling, or piggybacked on a user plane message between the RX WTRU and the TX WTRU.). SCI is sidelink control information.
Regarding Claim 26, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu teaches claim 16.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu does not expressly teach wherein the triggering condition associated with the feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions includes the operations of one or more of: transmitting the feedback response in the feedback occasion associated with the triggering condition; or reaching a last feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions without an LBT success based, at least in part, on a type of the feedback response.
However, in the analogous art, Girolamo2 explicitly discloses wherein the triggering condition associated with the feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions includes the operations of one or more of: transmitting the feedback response in the feedback occasion associated with the triggering condition; (paragraph 0268 - The RX WTRU may be configured to send this indication when a configured trigger condition occurs. The RX WTRU may be configured with a threshold and an observation window time. The RX WTRU may monitor the number of LBT failures for HARQ transmissions and if this number exceeds the threshold during the observation window, the RX WTRU notifies the TX WTRU. The RX WTRU may send this triggered indication over PHY layer control signaling (SCI), over a MAC CE, over dedicated RRC signaling, or piggybacked on a user plane message between the RX WTRU and the TX WTRU.). Feedback was given when trigger condition occurs.
or reaching a last feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions without an LBT success based, at least in part, on a type of the feedback response (Alternative).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 17 is also applied to claim 26.
Regarding Claim 27, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 teaches claim 26.
Girolamo2 further teaches wherein the operations of the transmitting the feedback response in the feedback occasion associated with the triggering condition includes: obtaining LBT success for the feedback occasion associated with the triggering condition; (paragraphs 0335 to 0337 shows LBT success feedback associated with triggering condition)
and transmitting the feedback response in the feedback occasion associated with the triggering condition in response to the LBT success for the feedback occasion associated with the triggering condition (paragraphs 0335 to 0337 shows LBT success feedback associated with triggering condition).
Regarding Claim 28, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 teaches claim 26.
Girolamo2 further teaches further comprising the operations of: receiving a retransmission of the sidelink transmission from the another UE, the retransmission transmitted by the another UE in response to the another UE reaching the last feedback occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions without receiving the feedback response from the UE based, at least in part, a type of the feedback response (fig. 7B and paragraphs 0333 to 0334 shows retransmission as a result of NACK or timer expirty).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2024/0098782), Han hereinafter, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Girolamo et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0038807), Girolamo2 hereinafter and further in view of Freda et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0150730), Freda hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 20, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 teaches claim 17.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 does not expressly teach wherein the QoS for sidelink communication includes at least one QoS profile or direct interface (PC5) QoS indicator (5QI) that includes one or more of: a priority level of the sidelink transmission; a reliability requirement for the sidelink transmission; a data volume; a maximum data rate; or a packet delay budget (PDB) or remaining PDB.
However, in the analogous art, Freda explicitly discloses wherein the QoS for sidelink communication includes at least one QoS profile or direct interface (PC5) QoS indicator (5QI) that includes one or more of:
a priority level of the sidelink transmission; (paragraph 0204 - The 5QI may then be used in the similar manner as that of the PPPP/PPPR, i.e., to be tagged with each of the packet. 5QI is able to represent all the characteristics needed for the PC5 broadcast operation, e.g., in terms of latency, priority, reliability, etc. A group of V2X broadcast specific 5QIs (i.e. VQIs' for V2X 5QIs) could be defined for PC5 use.)
a reliability requirement for the sidelink transmission; (Alternative)
a data volume; (Alternative)
a maximum data rate; or (Alternative)
a packet delay budget (PDB) or remaining PDB (Alternative).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Freda's 5QI priority, reliability, CBR and RSRP measurement to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Regarding Claim 21, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 teaches claim 17.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 does not expressly teach wherein the sidelink conditions are based, at least in part, on sidelink measurements including one or more of: a channel busy rate (CBR); a sidelink reference signal received power (RSRP); or a listen-before-talk (LBT) success rate.
However, in the analogous art, Freda explicitly discloses wherein the sidelink conditions are based, at least in part, on sidelink measurements including one or more of: a channel busy rate (CBR); (paragraph 0946 shows CBR)
a sidelink reference signal received power (RSRP); (paragraph 0947 shows RSRP)
or a listen-before-talk (LBT) success rate (Alternative).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 21 is also applied to claim 22.
Claims 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2024/0098782), Han hereinafter, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Girolamo et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0038807), Girolamo2 hereinafter and further in view of Ko (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0389045), Ko hereinafter, and further in view of Terry (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0039016), Terry hereinafter, and further in view of Zhang (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0330306), Zhang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 22, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu teaches claim 16.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu does not expressly teach wherein the operations of the monitoring for the feedback response includes: determining a configuration of the plurality of feedback occasions including a number of feedback occasions in the plurality of feedback occasions.
However, in the analogous art, Girolamo2 explicitly discloses wherein the operations of the monitoring for the feedback response includes: determining a configuration of the plurality of feedback occasions including a number of feedback occasions in the plurality of feedback occasions; (paragraphs 0258 and 0275 - ... a LBT operation 420, 421 occurs when the TX WTRU 401 transmits 410 the transport block to the RX WTRU 402 over the PSSCH, and when the RX WTRU 402 transmits 411 the HARQ feedback to the TX WTRU 401 over the PSFCH channel. ... )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Girolamo2's method and apparatus for radio sidelink operation over shared spectrum.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 does not expressly teach extending an inactivity timer associated with receiving the sidelink transmission from the another UE to a duration covering the plurality of feedback occasions.
However, in the analogous art, Ko explicitly discloses extending an inactivity timer associated with receiving the sidelink transmission from the another UE to a duration covering the plurality of feedback occasions; (paragraph 0138 - Based on an embodiment, if an inactivity timer of the RX UE is expected to expire before a retransmission end time related to a specific TB of the TX UE, the TX UE may perform the operation of extending the active time described above by transmitting the WIS to the RX UE. For example, the RX UE may transmit information related to the end time of the currently configured active time to the TX UE through HARQ feedback, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Ko's feedback and inactivity timer is running to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 and further in view of Ko does not expressly teach starting performing the LBT procedure sequentially at each occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions over the number of feedback occasions in the plurality of feedback occasions while the inactivity timer is running.
However, in the analogous art, Terry explicitly discloses starting performing the LBT procedure sequentially at each occasion of the plurality of feedback occasions over the number of feedback occasions in the plurality of feedback occasions while the inactivity timer is running; and (paragraph 0062 - It has been discussed that a DL LBT Success indication may be signaled from the NB to the UEs during the UEs' DRX On Duration to effect DRX cycles. This should be extended to include the period the DRX Inactivity Timer is running, and potentially all periods that comprise DRX Active Time. For example, when a Random Access or Scheduling Request procedure is initiated while the UE is not within the DRX On Duration, knowledge of LBT failures may be necessary for proper operation and performance similar to operation when LBT is not required.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Terry's feedback while inactivity timer is running to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt .
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 and further in view of Ko and further in view of Terry does not expressly teach starting a sidelink feedback timer after transmitting a feedback response, wherein starting the sidelink feedback timer causes the UE to stop the inactivity timer.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses starting a sidelink feedback timer after transmitting a feedback response, wherein starting the sidelink feedback timer causes the UE to stop the inactivity timer (paragraph 0051 - In an aspect, when DRX cycle is configured for UE 104, there is a duration for “ON” followed by a duration for “OFF”. The DRX ON duration corresponds to the duration of “ON”. For example, an inactivity timer is initiated when UE 104 receives an PDCCH for initial transmission (e.g., on either DL or UL). UE 104 is configured with DRX cycle. When the ON duration starts, UE 104 starts to monitor PDCCH. If UE 104 receives a PDCCH for initial transmission, UE 104 starts the inactivity timer. After UE 104 transmits a feedback signal, UE 104 starts the RTT timer. When the RTT timer expires, UE 104 starts the retransmission timer. UE 104 is required to monitor PDCCH as long as one of the conditions is satisfied (i.e., active mode): UE 104 is still in the ON duration period, inactivity timer is still running, or retransmission timer is still running. UE 104 may initiate an inactive mode upon expiration of the durations of the inactivity timer, RTT timer, and retransmission timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Zhang's inactivity timer to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Claims 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2024/0098782), Han hereinafter, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Girolamo et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0038807), Girolamo2 hereinafter and further in view of Ko (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0389045), Ko hereinafter, and further in view of Terry (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0039016), Terry hereinafter, and further in view of Zhang (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0330306), Zhang hereinafter, and further in view of Park (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0397292), Park hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 23, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu teaches claim 16.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 and further in view of Ko and further in view of Terry and further in view of Zhang does not expressly teach 23. The UE of claim 22, wherein the operations of the extending the inactivity timer includes starting the inactivity timer in response to receiving the sidelink transmission from the another UE.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses 23. The UE of claim 22, wherein the operations of the extending the inactivity timer includes starting the inactivity timer in response to receiving the sidelink transmission from the another UE (paragraph 0135 - SL DRX inactivity timer: the duration extending the SL DRX onduration duration, which is the duration in which the UE performing the SL DRX operation should basically operate in the active time in order to receive the PSCCH/PSSCH from other UE(s). That is, the SL DRX onduration timer may be extended by the SL DRX inactivity timer duration. In addition, if the UE receives a new packet (e.g., new PSSCH transmission) from other UE(s), the UE may extend the SL DRX onduration timer by starting the SL DRX inactivity timer.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Park's HARQ timer and inactivity timer to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2024/0098782), Han hereinafter, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Girolamo et al. (U.S. PGPub 2025/0038807), Girolamo2 hereinafter and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0397292), Park hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 29, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 teaches claim 28.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu and further in view of Girolamo2 does not expressly teach wherein the operations of the receiving the retransmission of the sidelink transmission from the another UE includes: starting a sidelink retransmission timer upon expiration of a sidelink feedback timer; and receiving the retransmission of the sidelink transmission from the another UE while the sidelink retransmission timer is running.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses teach wherein the operations of the receiving the retransmission of the sidelink transmission from the another UE includes: starting a sidelink retransmission timer upon expiration of a sidelink feedback timer; (paragraph 0171 - shows use of retransmission timer after HARQ (RTT) timer. HARQ (RTT) timer is a form of feedback timer.)
and receiving the retransmission of the sidelink transmission from the another UE while the sidelink retransmission timer is running (paragraph 0139 - … e.g., a timer operated by the RX UE to receive sidelink retransmission data retransmitted by the TX UE … )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include Park's HARQ timer and inactivity timer to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2023/0209644), Han2 hereinafter, in view of Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2024/0098782), Han hereinafter, and further in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0171774), Liu hereinafter and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (U.S. PGPub 20240298350), Alfarhan hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 30, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu teaches claim 16.
Yet, Han2 in view of Han and further in view of Liu does not expressly teach further comprising the operations of: receiving a retransmission of the sidelink transmission from the another UE when the feedback response transmitted to the another UE includes the NACK message for the sidelink transmission; and foregoing receiving a retransmission of the sidelink transmission from the another UE when the feedback response transmitted to the another UE includes the ACK message for the sidelink transmission.
However, in the analogous art, Alfarhan explicitly discloses further comprising the operations of: receiving a retransmission of the sidelink transmission from the another UE when the feedback response transmitted to the another UE includes the NACK message for the sidelink transmission; and (paragraph 0199 - A peer WTRU may transmit HARQ feedback (e.g., on PSFCH) in response to received SL data, transmit an acknowledgement, or transmit an SCI after the reception of the MAC CE or SCI transmitted by a tx WTRU (e.g., a successful reception). The peer WTRU may transmit one or more of the HARQ feedback, the acknowledgement, or the SCI, on the RB set that is indicated by the tx WTRU as idle. The tx WTRU may retransmit the TB that was unacknowledged (or the TB that failed LBT operation(s)) or transmit a TB (e.g., a new TB) on the different/indicated RB set or resource pool after receiving feedback, acknowledgment, or an SCI from the peer WTRU, in response to the RB set switch. The tx WTRU may transmit the RB set switch MAC CE or SCI, for example, according to one or more of the following: after the expiry of a timer (e.g., a HARQ retransmission timer); after a number of retransmissions; after a number of NACKs; and/or after a number of LBT failures (e.g., as a function of the CSLF counter). The tx WTRU may retransmit a TB, following the expiry of a retransmission timer (e.g., only following the expiry of a retransmission timer), and/or after the reception of an SCI from the rx WTRU indicating one or more of the chosen RB set was occupied, an alternative idle RB set, a NACK, and/or an RB set switch (e.g., only after the reception of an SCI from the rx WTRU indicating one or more of the chosen RB set was occupied, an alternative idle RB set, a NACK, and/or an RB set switch).
foregoing receiving a retransmission of the sidelink transmission from the another UE when the feedback response transmitted to the another UE includes the ACK message for the sidelink transmission (paragraph 0199 - A peer WTRU may transmit HARQ feedback (e.g., on PSFCH) in response to received SL data, transmit an acknowledgement, …). This indicates the possibility of foregoing a retransmission or doing a retransmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han2’s Method and apparatus for sidelink DRX operation to include AlfarHan2’s feedback, HARQ and timer to achieve improved reliability as a result of using feedback to adapt.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 9, 10, 14, 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472