DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 11 and 13 – 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims 1, 10, 19, and 25 recite the limitations of generating a data flow model associated with a network entity of a multi-domain network, obtaining the set of flow rates that are calculated based at least in part on the data flow model, and then selectively updating the flow model based at least in part on the accuracy of the data flow model, with accuracy determined based at least in part on measured and expected flow rates. The claims recite these limitations, as drafted, as a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic network computer components. That is, other than reciting “by the network entity/non-transitory computer-readable medium/apparatus,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, for the “by the network entity/non-transitory computer-readable medium/apparatus” language, the claims may encompass a user simply comparing measured and expected flow rates for their accuracy to a predetermined threshold (e.g., a known expected rate) in their mind, and then updating the network model using the given flow values according to an algorithm. Obtaining measured and expected flow rates amounts to no more than mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) . The mere nominal recitation of network components does not take the claim limitations out of the abstract idea grouping of mental processes. As per the interpretation of claim 25 under 35 USC § 112(f), the specification includes the performance of the claimed functions using a general purpose computer and an algorithm, which does not overcome this analysis.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. In essence, the claims are performed at a high level of generality, and amount to generic computer network components performing analysis at a high level. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not impose any meaningful limits on performing the abstract idea. In other words, the functions performed by generic computer components amount to well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)).
In addition, the claims recite an abstract idea without significantly more than the abstract idea itself. As noted with the abstract idea analysis, the claims amount to the mental processes of generating a data model, obtaining measured and expected flow rates, and updating the model based on the accuracy of the determined flow rates. But for generic computer components, nothing is recited in the claims to transform the abstract idea into a practical application or beyond what is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(a), 2106.05(d)
Claims 2 and 11 additionally recites the feature of performing data flow management based on the data flow model. The limitation itself is recited at a high level of generality, without specific detail outlining the data flow management that would preclude instruction from the human mind to perform the flow management. In addition, the limitation fails to go beyond the principle of merely applying an application and does not recite a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Claims 4, 13, 20, and 26 additionally recites the feature of generating an updated data flow model based at least in part on iteratively updating the data flow model. The limitation itself is recited at a high level of generality, without specific detail outlining the particulars of improving the model itself on an iterative basis. In addition, the limitation fails to go beyond the principle of merely applying an application and does not recite a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I). As per the interpretation of claim 26 under 35 USC § 112(f), the specification includes the performance of the claimed functions using a general purpose computer and an algorithm, which does not overcome this analysis.
Claims 5, 14, 21, and 27 additionally recites iteratively updating the flow model until a condition (i.e., an accuracy threshold based on the difference of measured and expected flow rates) is satisfied. Adding a mere conditional constraint based on the difference between two variables compared to a threshold does not limit the claim outside of the abstract idea category of mental processes. In addition, the limitation fails to go beyond the principle of merely applying an application and does not recite a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I). As per the interpretation of claim 27 under 35 USC § 112(f), the specification includes the performance of the claimed functions using a general purpose computer and an algorithm, which does not overcome this analysis.
Claims 6, 15, 22, and 28 additionally recites iteratively updating the flow model based on the presence of a bottleneck link outside of the domain. Updating the model based on the detection of the well understood idea of a network bottleneck does not limit the claim outside of the abstract idea category of mental processes. In addition, the limitation fails to go beyond the principle of merely applying an application and does not recite a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Claims 7 and 16 additionally recites iteratively using the data model to indicated the presence of bottleneck and non-bottleneck links. Using a high level network model to identify a network bottleneck links does not limit the claim outside of the abstract idea category of mental processes. In addition, the limitation fails to go beyond the principle of merely applying an application and does not recite a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Claims 8, 17, 23, and 29 additionally recites calculating expected and measured flow rates using capacity of links and observed transmission rate through the links. Calculating measured and expected flow rates through the use of standard network statistics does not limit the claim outside of the abstract idea category of mental processes. In addition, the limitation fails to go beyond the principle of merely applying an application and does not recite a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Claims 9, 18, 24, and 30 additionally recites identifying a data flow path with an expected flow rate greater than the measured flow rate and adding a virtual link associated with the data flow path to the model. Comparing expected flow rates to measured flow rates and adding virtual links to alleviate congestion does not limit the claim outside of the abstract idea category of mental processes. In addition, the limitation fails to go beyond the principle of merely applying an application and does not recite a practical application or amount to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I). As per the interpretation of claim 25 under 35 USC § 112(f), the specification includes the performance of the claimed functions using a general purpose computer and an algorithm, which does not overcome this analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 23, 25, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liron et al (US 5598532 A) hereinafter “Liron”, in view of Yadav et al. (US 20180359172 A1) hereinafter “Yadav”, in view of Ganesh et al. (US 20170288991 A1) hereinafter “Ganesh”.
Regarding claim 1, Liron teaches a method performed by a network entity, comprising:
generating a data flow model for a domain associated with the network entity ([Column 4, Lines 47-62] "Next, optimization method 100 builds 103 an overall network model 27 from local data collected by segment collectors 17, using consolidator 25. In the preferred embodiment, the input to consolidator 25 comes either directly from segment collectors 17 or indirectly from segment collectors 17 via network management console 23. In either case consolidator 25 produces a network model 27 of the portions of network 11 for which data was collected, including its network topology, the clients 15, switching devices 19, links 41, LAN segments 13, the network protocols employed, and the traffic flows. Alternatively, network model 27 can be based on data acquired from both segment collectors 27 and network management console 23. In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory." FIG. 2 step 103 states a network model is made according to collected network data, that includes traffic flows.),
obtaining a set of measured flow rates and a set of expected flow rates that are calculated based at least in part on the data flow model ([Column 4, Lines 36-46] "Referring to FIG. 2, optimization method 100 collects 101 data describing network 11, including its topology and traffic flow patterns. Data collection is accomplished in the preferred embodiment using segment collectors 17 on the LAN segments 13 of interest; information about other LAN segments 13 can be ignored if desired. These segment collectors 17 collect data local to their attached LAN segment 13. Some conventional networks 11 use segment collectors 17 (e.g. SNMP, RMON, network analyzers, etc.) which may relay the collected information to a network management console 23." The collection of data describing a network includes collecting traffic flow patterns.
[Column 6, Lines 12-22] "Optimization process 200 determines 209 the amount of network traffic known to flow between the given clients 15 and R over a given time t. These traffic flow amounts are stored in TRAFFIC. TRAFFIC has C elements, C being the number of clients 15 in CLIENTS. The j-th entry in TRAFFIC comprises TRAFFIC[j, client.sub.-- r] for the unidirectional traffic flow (for example in bytes) from CLIENT[j] to R, and TRAFFIC[j, r.sub.-- client] for the traffic from R to CLIENT[j]. TRAFFIC is formed from network model 27 using actual measurements, or through estimation, for example, using simulation by simulator 37.” Known flow is interpreted by the examiner as expected flow.
[Column 11, Lines 11-24] "which assigns a score dependent on the values of the traffic variables A, B, C. For example, Eq. (9) can define a function for scoring hub(p) based on the delays incurred when going through a switching element 19 between the partitions on LAN segment 13 at hub(p). The delays in and between partitions PA(p) and PB(p) are themselves functions of the traffic values A, B, and C. The scoring function can assign a score which is equal to the average byte delay depending on which of PA(p), PB(p) or the switching element 19 participate in transmitting the byte from its source node 16 to the destination node 16. The functions can be based on either actual network traffic and delay data acquired by segment collectors 17, or thorough simulation by simulator 39." Actual network data is interpreted by the examiner as the measured flow rates.).
However, Liron does not teach selectively updating the data flow model based at least in part on an accuracy of the data flow model, with the accuracy determined based at least in part on the set of measured flow rates and the set of expected flow rates, nor that the domain in which the model is representing is part of a multi-domain network.
Yadav, in the same field of endeavor, teaches updating the data flow model based at least in part on an accuracy of the data flow model, with the accuracy determined based at least in part on the set of measured flow rates and the set of expected flow rates ([0004] "A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, the instructions comprising one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network administration device, cause the one or more processors to receive first operational information regarding a first set of network devices; receive first flow information relating to a first set of traffic flows associated with the first set of network devices; generate a model, based on a machine learning technique, to identify predicted performance of the first set of network devices with regard to the first set of traffic flows; receive or obtain second operational information and/or second flow information regarding the first set of network devices or a second set of network devices; determine path information for the first set of traffic flows or a second set of traffic flows using the model and based on the second operational information and/or the second flow information; configure the first set of network devices or the second set of network devices to implement the path information; and/or update the model based on a machine learning technique and based on observations after the path information is implemented." Yadav teaches a method and device that receives information relating to the traffic flow between devices, and then generates a model using a machine learning technique. The examiner interprets this model based on traffic flow to be a network data flow model.
[0018] "FIGS. 1A-1D are diagrams of an overview of example implementations 100 described herein. As shown in FIG. 1A, and by reference number 102, a network administration device (shown as NAD) may receive a training set of flow information, network topology information, and operational information regarding a plurality of network devices of a network. The network administration device may receive the flow information, the network topology information, and the operational information to generate a model for determining traffic flow paths in the network or another network." Paragraph 0018 further solidifies the examiner’s interpretation that the model is one representative of a network topology and the data flows within, i.e. a network data flow model.
[0034] "As shown by reference number 138, the network administration device may compare the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information outputted by the path selection model. As shown by reference number 140, the network administration device may update the path selection model using machine learning and based on the comparison of the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information. For example, machine learning may provide a mechanism for dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model. When observed results deviate from predicted results, the network administration device may adjust the path selection model using a machine learning algorithm to improve accuracy of the predicted results to better match the observed results."
[0035] "In this way, the network administration device generates a predictive model using machine learning to determine updated path information for a network of network devices, which permits dynamic improvement and updating of the predictive model, and which may be simpler to implement than a complicated and/or static routing protocol. Furthermore, using a machine learning technique may generate a more efficient routing protocol than using a human-based technique. Further, the network administration device may avoid or limit traffic drops due to black-holing of traffic by misconfigured or malfunctioning network devices. This may be particularly advantageous for failure modes that are not detected by traditional routing protocols, such as network device degradation, black-holing, and/or the like. Also, the network administration device may continuously gather useful telemetry and/or performance information over time, which may permit analysis of network information over time" Yadav teaches that it can then update the generated model based on dynamically changing traffic information. The machine learning technique can iteratively update the model to improve the accuracy of the model and the data it represents.)
However, Yadav does not teach that the domain in which the model is representing is part of a multi-domain network.
Ganesh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the domain being part of a multi-domain network ([0019] "It is another object of the present invention to provide system and method for monitoring multi-domain network, which generates visualization of different domains in a telecommunication network across layers and identifies the exact root cause of network element using the layered approach based on configuration, performance and alarm data collected across multiple domains.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron, with a method to generate a data flow model of a network/domain, and obtain the measured flow rates and expected flow rates pertaining to the connections of said generated model, with the teaching of Yadav to further update the model according to the rates obtained to be sure the model is accurate, and further with the teachings of Ganesh wherein the method is applied to a domain being part of a multi-domain network. One of ordinary skill in the art need only apply the model generation method taught by Liron, with the updating of a traffic model from Yadav, and further to apply it to a multidomain environment as taught by Ganesh to further increase the accuracy of the generated data flow model, even if given domain does not have an oracle view of other neighboring domains. All so one can generate an accurate representation of a network data flow model that may more efficiently show where bottlenecks occur.
Regarding claim 2, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the method of claim 1 (discussed above). Liron further teaches performing data flow management based at least in part on the data flow model ([Column 4, Lines 47-62] "Next, optimization method 100 builds 103 an overall network model 27 from local data collected by segment collectors 17, using consolidator 25. In the preferred embodiment, the input to consolidator 25 comes either directly from segment collectors 17 or indirectly from segment collectors 17 via network management console 23. In either case consolidator 25 produces a network model 27 of the portions of network 11 for which data was collected, including its network topology, the clients 15, switching devices 19, links 41, LAN segments 13, the network protocols employed, and the traffic flows. Alternatively, network model 27 can be based on data acquired from both segment collectors 27 and network management console 23. In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory." The data collected for the optimization of the model includes traffic flows, and is therefore interpreted by the examiner as a form of data flow management based on the generated model taught by Liron and showcased in FIG. 2.).
Regarding claim 3, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the method of claim 2 (discussed above). Liron further teaches wherein performing data flow management comprises performing network modeling ([Column 4, Lines 47-62] "Next, optimization method 100 builds 103 an overall network model 27 from local data collected by segment collectors 17, using consolidator 25. In the preferred embodiment, the input to consolidator 25 comes either directly from segment collectors 17 or indirectly from segment collectors 17 via network management console 23. In either case consolidator 25 produces a network model 27 of the portions of network 11 for which data was collected, including its network topology, the clients 15, switching devices 19, links 41, LAN segments 13, the network protocols employed, and the traffic flows. Alternatively, network model 27 can be based on data acquired from both segment collectors 27 and network management console 23. In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory." The optimization and adjustments made to the network model based on those optimizations are interpreted by the examiner as a form of network modeling.).
Regarding claim 4, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the method of claim 1 (discussed above). However, Liron does not explicitly teach generating an updated data flow model based at least in part on iteratively updating the data flow model.
Yadav, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generating an updated data flow model based at least in part on iteratively updating the data flow model ( [0015] "Furthermore, some implementations described herein may update the model using the machine learning technique and based on observations regarding efficacy of the configuration of the path information. In this way, the model may adapt to changing network conditions and topology (e.g., in real time as the network conditions and/or the topology change), which may require human intervention for a predefined routing policy. Thus, network throughput, reliability, and conformance with SLAs is improved. Further, some implementations described herein may use a rigorous, well-defined approach to path selection, which may reduce uncertainty, subjectivity, and inefficiency that may be introduced by a human actor attempting to define a routing policy based on observations regarding network performance."
[0016] "Also, some implementations described herein may identify the best paths for traffic associated with different SLAs. Since these best paths may iteratively change based on traffic load and node behavior/faults, the machine learning component of implementations described herein may regularly reprogram the paths for particular traffic flows across the network domain. This reprogramming may be based on dynamic prediction of the traffic flows, traffic drops and delays. Thus, implementations described herein may improve adaptability and versatility of path computation for the network domain in comparison to a rigidly defined routing protocol."
[0034] "As shown by reference number 138, the network administration device may compare the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information outputted by the path selection model. As shown by reference number 140, the network administration device may update the path selection model using machine learning and based on the comparison of the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information. For example, machine learning may provide a mechanism for dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model. When observed results deviate from predicted results, the network administration device may adjust the path selection model using a machine learning algorithm to improve accuracy of the predicted results to better match the observed results"
Based on the above, Yadav teaches that flow information changes, and is therefore dynamic. The best paths in the model may “iteratively change” and the machine learning component can update the model based on this “updated flow information”. In order to keep the current model accurate, Yadav may then “dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model”. The examiner interprets this as generating an updated flow model based on iteratively updating the flow model. ).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the combination teachings of Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh, with the further teaching of Yadav wherein the model is iteratively updated. The motivation to do so would be to ensure an accurate data flow model is available. Data flows can be dynamic in which bottlenecks may occur slowing the flow. Having an updated model that reflects these changes would allow one to better allocate flow within a network/domain.
Regarding claim 7, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the method of claim 1 (discussed above). Liron further teaches wherein the data flow model indicates one or more of bottleneck links or non-bottleneck links of one or more data flows or paths within the domain ([Column 4, Lines 47-62] "Next, optimization method 100 builds 103 an overall network model 27 from local data collected by segment collectors 17, using consolidator 25. In the preferred embodiment, the input to consolidator 25 comes either directly from segment collectors 17 or indirectly from segment collectors 17 via network management console 23. In either case consolidator 25 produces a network model 27 of the portions of network 11 for which data was collected, including its network topology, the clients 15, switching devices 19, links 41, LAN segments 13, the network protocols employed, and the traffic flows. Alternatively, network model 27 can be based on data acquired from both segment collectors 27 and network management console 23. In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory." The generated network model taught in Liron includes topology, traffic flows, links, etc. The examiner interprets these links to include "non-bottleneck links".).
Regarding claim 8, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the method of claim 1 (discussed above). Liron further teaches wherein the set of expected flow rates is based at least in part on calculated capacities of links traversed by data flows or paths within the domain ([Column 13, Lines 27-43] "Tables 1 and 2 below illustrate the results of a hub tree optimization process 500 applied to an actual LAN segment 13 called "<134.177.120.9>" whose traffic flow is shown in FIG. 6. The optimization goal 31 was set to "minimize the maximum load". The LAN segment 13 started off with a load of 61 %. Optimization process 500 resulted in two segments partitioned at a hub 402 called "<134.177.120.9_hub9>." The resulting partitions now operate at 21 % and 42% of maximum segment capacity. That the sum of the two loads is above the original LAN segment load of 61 % indicates that some (very little) traffic is crossing between the two new segments. Decreasing a segment load from 61 % to 42% typically reduces the delay by a factor of about 10 because at a load of 61 % the segment operates much above the "knee" of the non-linear delay vs. load curve." Liron’s FIG. 6 showcases the bidirectional traffic flow from node to node in a network. Liron teaches that there is an expected flowrate between these nodes, further represented in node tables 1 and 2 that collects the flow information, and organizes the nodes by an expected capacity (Table 1 with an expected load of 21%, and table 2 with nodes that have an expected load of 42%).), and
wherein the set of measured flow rates is based at least in part on an observed transmission rate of data flow through the links ([Column 6, Line 12-22] " Optimization process 200 determines 209 the amount of network traffic known to flow between the given clients 15 and R over a given time t. These traffic flow amounts are stored in TRAFFIC. TRAFFIC has C elements, C being the number of clients 15 in CLIENTS. The j-th entry in TRAFFIC comprises TRAFFIC[j, client_r] for the unidirectional traffic flow (for example in bytes) from CLIENTU] to R, and TRAFFIC[j, r_client] for the traffic from R to CLIENT[j]. TRAFFIC is formed from network model 27 using actual measurements, or through estimation, for example, using simulation by simulator 37." The "actual measurements" as taught by Liron is interpreted by the examiner as a measured flow rate of the observed traffic/transmission rates between nodes in the generated network model. This information is then stored in a list labeled as TRAFFIC and used to generate the network model.).
Regarding claim 10, Liron teaches a network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (FIG. 1 label #43); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory ([Column 4, Lines 60-62] “In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory.”), configured to: generate a data flow model for a domain associated with the network entity, ([Column 4, Lines 47-62] "Next, optimization method 100 builds 103 an overall network model 27 from local data collected by segment collectors 17, using consolidator 25. In the preferred embodiment, the input to consolidator 25 comes either directly from segment collectors 17 or indirectly from segment collectors 17 via network management console 23. In either case consolidator 25 produces a network model 27 of the portions of network 11 for which data was collected, including its network topology, the clients 15, switching devices 19, links 41, LAN segments 13, the network protocols employed, and the traffic flows. Alternatively, network model 27 can be based on data acquired from both segment collectors 27 and network management console 23. In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory." FIG. 2 step 103 states a network model is made according to collected network data, that includes traffic flows.),
obtaining a set of measured flow rates and a set of expected flow rates that are calculated based at least in part on the data flow model ([Column 4, Line 36] "Referring to FIG. 2, optimization method 100 collects 101 data describing network 11, including its topology and traffic flow patterns. Data collection is accomplished in the preferred embodiment using segment collectors 17 on the LAN segments 13 of interest; information about other LAN segments 13 can be ignored if desired. These segment collectors 17 collect data local to their attached LAN segment 13. Some conventional networks 11 use segment collectors 17 (e.g. SNMP, RMON, network analyzers, etc.) which may relay the collected information to a network management console 23." The collection of data describing a network includes collecting traffic flow patterns.
[Column 6, Lines 12-22] "Optimization process 200 determines 209 the amount of network traffic known to flow between the given clients 15 and R over a given time t. These traffic flow amounts are stored in TRAFFIC. TRAFFIC has C elements, C being the number of clients 15 in CLIENTS. The j-th entry in TRAFFIC comprises TRAFFIC[j, client.sub.-- r] for the unidirectional traffic flow (for example in bytes) from CLIENT[j] to R, and TRAFFIC[j, r.sub.-- client] for the traffic from R to CLIENT[j]. TRAFFIC is formed from network model 27 using actual measurements, or through estimation, for example, using simulation by simulator 37.” Known flow is interpreted by the examiner as expected flow.
[Column 11, Lines 11-24] "which assigns a score dependent on the values of the traffic variables A, B, C. For example, Eq. (9) can define a function for scoring hub(p) based on the delays incurred when going through a switching element 19 between the partitions on LAN segment 13 at hub(p). The delays in and between partitions PA(p) and PB(p) are themselves functions of the traffic values A, B, and C. The scoring function can assign a score which is equal to the average byte delay depending on which of PA(p), PB(p) or the switching element 19 participate in transmitting the byte from its source node 16 to the destination node 16. The functions can be based on either actual network traffic and delay data acquired by segment collectors 17, or thorough simulation by simulator 39." Actual network data is interpreted by the examiner as the measured flow rates.); and
However, Liron does not teach selectively updating the data flow model based at least in part on an accuracy of the data flow model, with the accuracy determined based at least in part on the set of measured flow rates and the set of expected flow rates, nor that the domain in which the model is representing is part of a multi-domain network.
Yadav, in the same field of endeavor, teaches updating the data flow model based at least in part on an accuracy of the data flow model, with the accuracy determined based at least in part on the set of measured flow rates and the set of expected flow rates ([0004] "A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, the instructions comprising one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network administration device, cause the one or more processors to receive first operational information regarding a first set of network devices; receive first flow information relating to a first set of traffic flows associated with the first set of network devices; generate a model, based on a machine learning technique, to identify predicted performance of the first set of network devices with regard to the first set of traffic flows; receive or obtain second operational information and/or second flow information regarding the first set of network devices or a second set of network devices; determine path information for the first set of traffic flows or a second set of traffic flows using the model and based on the second operational information and/or the second flow information; configure the first set of network devices or the second set of network devices to implement the path information; and/or update the model based on a machine learning technique and based on observations after the path information is implemented." Yadav teaches a method and device that receives information relating to the traffic flow between devices, and then generates a model using a machine learning technique. The examiner interprets this model based on traffic flow to be a network data flow model.
[0018] "FIGS. 1A-1D are diagrams of an overview of example implementations 100 described herein. As shown in FIG. 1A, and by reference number 102, a network administration device (shown as NAD) may receive a training set of flow information, network topology information, and operational information regarding a plurality of network devices of a network. The network administration device may receive the flow information, the network topology information, and the operational information to generate a model for determining traffic flow paths in the network or another network." Paragraph 0018 further solidifies the examiner’s interpretation that the model is one representative of a network topology and the data flows within, i.e. a network data flow model.
[0034] "As shown by reference number 138, the network administration device may compare the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information outputted by the path selection model. As shown by reference number 140, the network administration device may update the path selection model using machine learning and based on the comparison of the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information. For example, machine learning may provide a mechanism for dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model. When observed results deviate from predicted results, the network administration device may adjust the path selection model using a machine learning algorithm to improve accuracy of the predicted results to better match the observed results."
[0035] "In this way, the network administration device generates a predictive model using machine learning to determine updated path information for a network of network devices, which permits dynamic improvement and updating of the predictive model, and which may be simpler to implement than a complicated and/or static routing protocol. Furthermore, using a machine learning technique may generate a more efficient routing protocol than using a human-based technique. Further, the network administration device may avoid or limit traffic drops due to black-holing of traffic by misconfigured or malfunctioning network devices. This may be particularly advantageous for failure modes that are not detected by traditional routing protocols, such as network device degradation, black-holing, and/or the like. Also, the network administration device may continuously gather useful telemetry and/or performance information over time, which may permit analysis of network information over time" Yadav teaches that it can then update the generated model based on dynamically changing traffic information. The machine learning technique can iteratively update the model to improve the accuracy of the model and the data it represents.)
However, Yadav does not teach that the domain in which the model is representing is part of a multi-domain network.
Ganesh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the domain being part of a multi-domain network ([0019] "It is another object of the present invention to provide system and method for monitoring multi-domain network, which generates visualization of different domains in a telecommunication network across layers and identifies the exact root cause of network element using the layered approach based on configuration, performance and alarm data collected across multiple domains.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron, with a method to generate a data flow model of a network/domain, and obtain the measured flow rates and expected flow rates pertaining to the connections of said generated model, with the teaching of Yadav to further update the model according to the rates obtained to be sure the model is accurate, and further with the teachings of Ganesh wherein the method is applied to a domain being part of a multi-domain network. One of ordinary skill in the art need only apply the model generation method taught by Liron, with the updating of a traffic model from Yadav, and further to apply it to a multidomain environment as taught by Ganesh to further increase the accuracy of the generated data flow model, even if given domain does not have an oracle view of other neighboring domains. All so one can generate an accurate representation of a network data flow model that may more efficiently show where bottlenecks occur.
Regarding claim 11, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the entity of claim 10 (discussed above). Liron further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: perform data flow management based at least in part on the data flow model ([Column 4, Lines 47-62] "Next, optimization method 100 builds 103 an overall network model 27 from local data collected by segment collectors 17, using consolidator 25. In the preferred embodiment, the input to consolidator 25 comes either directly from segment collectors 17 or indirectly from segment collectors 17 via network management console 23. In either case consolidator 25 produces a network model 27 of the portions of network 11 for which data was collected, including its network topology, the clients 15, switching devices 19, links 41, LAN segments 13, the network protocols employed, and the traffic flows. Alternatively, network model 27 can be based on data acquired from both segment collectors 27 and network management console 23. In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory." The data collected for the optimization of the model includes traffic flows, and is therefore interpreted by the examiner as a form of data flow management based on the generated model taught by Liron and showcased in FIG. 2.).
Regarding claim 12, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the entity of claim 11 (discussed above). Liron further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to perform data flow management, are configured to perform network modeling ([Column 4, Lines 47-62] "Next, optimization method 100 builds 103 an overall network model 27 from local data collected by segment collectors 17, using consolidator 25. In the preferred embodiment, the input to consolidator 25 comes either directly from segment collectors 17 or indirectly from segment collectors 17 via network management console 23. In either case consolidator 25 produces a network model 27 of the portions of network 11 for which data was collected, including its network topology, the clients 15, switching devices 19, links 41, LAN segments 13, the network protocols employed, and the traffic flows. Alternatively, network model 27 can be based on data acquired from both segment collectors 27 and network management console 23. In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory." The optimization and adjustments made to the network model based on those optimizations are interpreted by the examiner as a form of network modeling.).
Regarding claim 13, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the entity of claim 10 (discussed above). However, Liron does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generating an updated data flow model based at least in part on iteratively updating the data flow model.
Yadav, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generating an updated data flow model based at least in part on iteratively updating the data flow model ( [0015] "Furthermore, some implementations described herein may update the model using the machine learning technique and based on observations regarding efficacy of the configuration of the path information. In this way, the model may adapt to changing network conditions and topology (e.g., in real time as the network conditions and/or the topology change), which may require human intervention for a predefined routing policy. Thus, network throughput, reliability, and conformance with SLAs is improved. Further, some implementations described herein may use a rigorous, well-defined approach to path selection, which may reduce uncertainty, subjectivity, and inefficiency that may be introduced by a human actor attempting to define a routing policy based on observations regarding network performance."
[0016] "Also, some implementations described herein may identify the best paths for traffic associated with different SLAs. Since these best paths may iteratively change based on traffic load and node behavior/faults, the machine learning component of implementations described herein may regularly reprogram the paths for particular traffic flows across the network domain. This reprogramming may be based on dynamic prediction of the traffic flows, traffic drops and delays. Thus, implementations described herein may improve adaptability and versatility of path computation for the network domain in comparison to a rigidly defined routing protocol."
[0034] "As shown by reference number 138, the network administration device may compare the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information outputted by the path selection model. As shown by reference number 140, the network administration device may update the path selection model using machine learning and based on the comparison of the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information. For example, machine learning may provide a mechanism for dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model. When observed results deviate from predicted results, the network administration device may adjust the path selection model using a machine learning algorithm to improve accuracy of the predicted results to better match the observed results"
Based on the above, Yadav teaches that flow information changes, and is therefore dynamic. The best paths in the model may “iteratively change” and the machine learning component can update the model based on this “updated flow information”. In order to keep the current model accurate, Yadav may then “dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model”. The examiner interprets this as generating an updated flow model based on iteratively updating the flow model. ).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the combination teachings of Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh, with the further teaching of Yadav wherein the model is iteratively updated. The motivation to do so would be to ensure an accurate data flow model is available. Data flows can be dynamic in which bottlenecks may occur slowing the flow. Having an updated model that reflects these changes would allow one to better allocate flow within a network/domain.
Regarding claim 16, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the entity of claim 10 (discussed above). Liron further teaches wherein the data flow model indicates one or more of bottleneck links or non-bottleneck links of one or more data flows or paths within the domain ([Column 4, Lines 47-62] "Next, optimization method 100 builds 103 an overall network model 27 from local data collected by segment collectors 17, using consolidator 25. In the preferred embodiment, the input to consolidator 25 comes either directly from segment collectors 17 or indirectly from segment collectors 17 via network management console 23. In either case consolidator 25 produces a network model 27 of the portions of network 11 for which data was collected, including its network topology, the clients 15, switching devices 19, links 41, LAN segments 13, the network protocols employed, and the traffic flows. Alternatively, network model 27 can be based on data acquired from both segment collectors 27 and network management console 23. In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory." The generated network model taught in Liron includes topology, traffic flows, links, etc. The examiner interprets these links to include "non-bottleneck links".).
Regarding claim 17, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the entity of claim 10 (discussed above). Liron further teaches wherein the set of expected flow rates is based at least in part on calculated capacities of links traversed by data flows or paths within the domain, ([Column 13, line 27-43] "Tables 1 and 2 below illustrate the results of a hub tree optimization process 500 applied to an actual LAN segment 13 called "<134.177.120.9>" whose traffic flow is shown in FIG. 6. The optimization goal 31 was set to "minimize the maximum load". The LAN segment 13 started off with a load of 61 %. Optimization process 500 resulted in two segments partitioned at a hub 402 called "<134.177.120.9_hub9>." The resulting partitions now operate at 21 % and 42% of maximum segment capacity. That the sum of the two loads is above the original LAN segment load of 61 % indicates that some (very little) traffic is crossing between the two new segments. Decreasing a segment load from 61 % to 42% typically reduces the delay by a factor of about 10 because at a load of 61 % the segment operates much above the "knee" of the non-linear delay vs. load curve." Laron’s FIG. 6 showcases the bidirectional traffic flow from node to node in a network. Liron teaches that there is an expected flowrate between these nodes, further represented in node tables 1 and 2 that collects the flow information, and organizes the nodes by an expected capacity (Table 1 with an expected load of 21%, and table 2 with nodes that have an expected load of 42%).), and
wherein the set of measured flow rates is based at least in part on an observed transmission rate of data flow through the links ([Column 6, Lines 12-22] " Optimization process 200 determines 209 the amount of network traffic known to flow between the given clients 15 and R over a given time t. These traffic flow amounts are stored in TRAFFIC. TRAFFIC has C elements, C being the number of clients 15 in CLIENTS. The j-th entry in TRAFFIC comprises TRAFFIC[j, client_r] for the unidirectional traffic flow (for example in bytes) from CLIENTU] to R, and TRAFFIC[j, r_client] for the traffic from R to CLIENT[j]. TRAFFIC is formed from network model 27 using actual measurements, or through estimation, for example, using simulation by simulator 37." The "actual measurements" as taught by Liron is interpreted by the examiner as a measured flow rate of the observed traffic/transmission rates between nodes in the generated network model. This information is then stored in a list labeled as TRAFFIC and used to generate the network model.).
Regarding claim 19, Liron teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors ([Column 4, Lines 60-62] “In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory.”) of a network entity, cause the network entity to: generate a data flow model for a domain associated with the network entity, ([Column 4, Lines 47-62] "Next, optimization method 100 builds 103 an overall network model 27 from local data collected by segment collectors 17, using consolidator 25. In the preferred embodiment, the input to consolidator 25 comes either directly from segment collectors 17 or indirectly from segment collectors 17 via network management console 23. In either case consolidator 25 produces a network model 27 of the portions of network 11 for which data was collected, including its network topology, the clients 15, switching devices 19, links 41, LAN segments 13, the network protocols employed, and the traffic flows. Alternatively, network model 27 can be based on data acquired from both segment collectors 27 and network management console 23. In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory." FIG. 2 step 103 states a network model is made according to collected network data, that includes traffic flows.),
obtain a set of measured flow rates and a set of expected flow rates that are calculated based at least in part on the data flow model ([Column 4, Line 36] "Referring to FIG. 2, optimization method 100 collects 101 data describing network 11, including its topology and traffic flow patterns. Data collection is accomplished in the preferred embodiment using segment collectors 17 on the LAN segments 13 of interest; information about other LAN segments 13 can be ignored if desired. These segment collectors 17 collect data local to their attached LAN segment 13. Some conventional networks 11 use segment collectors 17 (e.g. SNMP, RMON, network analyzers, etc.) which may relay the collected information to a network management console 23." The collection of data describing a network includes collecting traffic flow patterns.
[Column 6, Line 12-22] "Optimization process 200 determines 209 the amount of network traffic known to flow between the given clients 15 and R over a given time t. These traffic flow amounts are stored in TRAFFIC. TRAFFIC has C elements, C being the number of clients 15 in CLIENTS. The j-th entry in TRAFFIC comprises TRAFFIC[j, client.sub.-- r] for the unidirectional traffic flow (for example in bytes) from CLIENT[j] to R, and TRAFFIC[j, r.sub.-- client] for the traffic from R to CLIENT[j]. TRAFFIC is formed from network model 27 using actual measurements, or through estimation, for example, using simulation by simulator 37.” Known flow is interpreted by the examiner as expected flow.
[Column 11, Lines 11-24] "which assigns a score dependent on the values of the traffic variables A, B, C. For example, Eq. (9) can define a function for scoring hub(p) based on the delays incurred when going through a switching element 19 between the partitions on LAN segment 13 at hub(p). The delays in and between partitions PA(p) and PB(p) are themselves functions of the traffic values A, B, and C. The scoring function can assign a score which is equal to the average byte delay depending on which of PA(p), PB(p) or the switching element 19 participate in transmitting the byte from its source node 16 to the destination node 16. The functions can be based on either actual network traffic and delay data acquired by segment collectors 17, or thorough simulation by simulator 39." Actual network data is interpreted by the examiner as the measured flow rates.).
However, Liron does not teach selectively updating the data flow model based at least in part on an accuracy of the data flow model, with the accuracy determined based at least in part on the set of measured flow rates and the set of expected flow rates, nor that the domain in which the model is representing is part of a multi-domain network.
Yadav, in the same field of endeavor, teaches updating the data flow model based at least in part on an accuracy of the data flow model, with the accuracy determined based at least in part on the set of measured flow rates and the set of expected flow rates ([0004] "A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, the instructions comprising one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network administration device, cause the one or more processors to receive first operational information regarding a first set of network devices; receive first flow information relating to a first set of traffic flows associated with the first set of network devices; generate a model, based on a machine learning technique, to identify predicted performance of the first set of network devices with regard to the first set of traffic flows; receive or obtain second operational information and/or second flow information regarding the first set of network devices or a second set of network devices; determine path information for the first set of traffic flows or a second set of traffic flows using the model and based on the second operational information and/or the second flow information; configure the first set of network devices or the second set of network devices to implement the path information; and/or update the model based on a machine learning technique and based on observations after the path information is implemented." Yadav teaches a method and device that receives information relating to the traffic flow between devices, and then generates a model using a machine learning technique. The examiner interprets this model based on traffic flow to be a network data flow model.
[0018] "FIGS. 1A-1D are diagrams of an overview of example implementations 100 described herein. As shown in FIG. 1A, and by reference number 102, a network administration device (shown as NAD) may receive a training set of flow information, network topology information, and operational information regarding a plurality of network devices of a network. The network administration device may receive the flow information, the network topology information, and the operational information to generate a model for determining traffic flow paths in the network or another network." Paragraph 0018 further solidifies the examiner’s interpretation that the model is one representative of a network topology and the data flows within, i.e. a network data flow model.
[0034] "As shown by reference number 138, the network administration device may compare the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information outputted by the path selection model. As shown by reference number 140, the network administration device may update the path selection model using machine learning and based on the comparison of the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information. For example, machine learning may provide a mechanism for dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model. When observed results deviate from predicted results, the network administration device may adjust the path selection model using a machine learning algorithm to improve accuracy of the predicted results to better match the observed results."
[0035] "In this way, the network administration device generates a predictive model using machine learning to determine updated path information for a network of network devices, which permits dynamic improvement and updating of the predictive model, and which may be simpler to implement than a complicated and/or static routing protocol. Furthermore, using a machine learning technique may generate a more efficient routing protocol than using a human-based technique. Further, the network administration device may avoid or limit traffic drops due to black-holing of traffic by misconfigured or malfunctioning network devices. This may be particularly advantageous for failure modes that are not detected by traditional routing protocols, such as network device degradation, black-holing, and/or the like. Also, the network administration device may continuously gather useful telemetry and/or performance information over time, which may permit analysis of network information over time" Yadav teaches that it can then update the generated model based on dynamically changing traffic information. The machine learning technique can iteratively update the model to improve the accuracy of the model and the data it represents.)
However, Yadav does not teach that the domain in which the model is representing is part of a multi-domain network.
Ganesh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the domain being part of a multi-domain network ([0019] "It is another object of the present invention to provide system and method for monitoring multi-domain network, which generates visualization of different domains in a telecommunication network across layers and identifies the exact root cause of network element using the layered approach based on configuration, performance and alarm data collected across multiple domains.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron, with a method to generate a data flow model of a network/domain, and obtain the measured flow rates and expected flow rates pertaining to the connections of said generated model, with the teaching of Yadav to further update the model according to the rates obtained to be sure the model is accurate, and further with the teachings of Ganesh wherein the method is applied to a domain being part of a multi-domain network. One of ordinary skill in the art need only apply the model generation method taught by Liron, with the updating of a traffic model from Yadav, and further to apply it to a multidomain environment as taught by Ganesh to further increase the accuracy of the generated data flow model, even if given domain does not have an oracle view of other neighboring domains. All so one can generate an accurate representation of a network data flow model that may more efficiently show where bottlenecks occur.
Regarding claim 20, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19 (discussed above). However, Liron does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more instructions further cause the network entity to: generate an updated data flow model based at least in part on iteratively updating the data flow model.
Yadav, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generating an updated data flow model based at least in part on iteratively updating the data flow model ( [0015] "Furthermore, some implementations described herein may update the model using the machine learning technique and based on observations regarding efficacy of the configuration of the path information. In this way, the model may adapt to changing network conditions and topology (e.g., in real time as the network conditions and/or the topology change), which may require human intervention for a predefined routing policy. Thus, network throughput, reliability, and conformance with SLAs is improved. Further, some implementations described herein may use a rigorous, well-defined approach to path selection, which may reduce uncertainty, subjectivity, and inefficiency that may be introduced by a human actor attempting to define a routing policy based on observations regarding network performance."
[0016] "Also, some implementations described herein may identify the best paths for traffic associated with different SLAs. Since these best paths may iteratively change based on traffic load and node behavior/faults, the machine learning component of implementations described herein may regularly reprogram the paths for particular traffic flows across the network domain. This reprogramming may be based on dynamic prediction of the traffic flows, traffic drops and delays. Thus, implementations described herein may improve adaptability and versatility of path computation for the network domain in comparison to a rigidly defined routing protocol."
[0034] "As shown by reference number 138, the network administration device may compare the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information outputted by the path selection model. As shown by reference number 140, the network administration device may update the path selection model using machine learning and based on the comparison of the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information. For example, machine learning may provide a mechanism for dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model. When observed results deviate from predicted results, the network administration device may adjust the path selection model using a machine learning algorithm to improve accuracy of the predicted results to better match the observed results"
Based on the above, Yadav teaches that flow information changes, and is therefore dynamic. The best paths in the model may “iteratively change” and the machine learning component can update the model based on this “updated flow information”. In order to keep the current model accurate, Yadav may then “dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model”. The examiner interprets this as generating an updated flow model based on iteratively updating the flow model. ).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the combination teachings of Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh, with the further teaching of Yadav wherein the model is iteratively updated. The motivation to do so would be to ensure an accurate data flow model is available. Data flows can be dynamic in which bottlenecks may occur slowing the flow. Having an updated model that reflects these changes would allow one to better allocate flow within a network/domain.
Regarding claim 23, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19 (discussed above). Liron further teaches wherein the set of expected flow rates is based at least in part on calculated capacities of links traversed by data flows or paths within the domain ([Column 13, Lines 27-43] "Tables 1 and 2 below illustrate the results of a hub tree optimization process 500 applied to an actual LAN segment 13 called "<134.177.120.9>" whose traffic flow is shown in FIG. 6. The optimization goal 31 was set to "minimize the maximum load". The LAN segment 13 started off with a load of 61 %. Optimization process 500 resulted in two segments partitioned at a hub 402 called "<134.177.120.9_hub9>." The resulting partitions now operate at 21 % and 42% of maximum segment capacity. That the sum of the two loads is above the original LAN segment load of 61 % indicates that some (very little) traffic is crossing between the two new segments. Decreasing a segment load from 61 % to 42% typically reduces the delay by a factor of about 10 because at a load of 61 % the segment operates much above the "knee" of the non-linear delay vs. load curve." Laron’s FIG. 6 showcases the bidirectional traffic flow from node to node in a network. Liron teaches that there is an expected flowrate between these nodes, further represented in node tables 1 and 2 that collects the flow information, and organizes the nodes by an expected capacity (Table 1 with an expected load of 21%, and table 2 with nodes that have an expected load of 42%).), and
wherein the set of measured flow rates is based at least in part on an observed transmission rate of data flow through the links ([Column 6, Line 12-22] " Optimization process 200 determines 209 the amount of network traffic known to flow between the given clients 15 and R over a given time t. These traffic flow amounts are stored in TRAFFIC. TRAFFIC has C elements, C being the number of clients 15 in CLIENTS. The j-th entry in TRAFFIC comprises TRAFFIC[j, client_r] for the unidirectional traffic flow (for example in bytes) from CLIENTU] to R, and TRAFFIC[j, r_client] for the traffic from R to CLIENT[j]. TRAFFIC is formed from network model 27 using actual measurements, or through estimation, for example, using simulation by simulator 37." The "actual measurements" as taught by Liron is interpreted by the examiner as a measured flow rate of the observed traffic/transmission rates between nodes in the generated network model. This information is then stored in a list labeled as TRAFFIC and used to generate the network model.).
Regarding claim 25, Liron teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for generating a data flow model for a domain associated with the apparatus, the domain being part of a multi-domain network ([Column 4, Lines 47-62] "Next, optimization method 100 builds 103 an overall network model 27 from local data collected by segment collectors 17, using consolidator 25. In the preferred embodiment, the input to consolidator 25 comes either directly from segment collectors 17 or indirectly from segment collectors 17 via network management console 23. In either case consolidator 25 produces a network model 27 of the portions of network 11 for which data was collected, including its network topology, the clients 15, switching devices 19, links 41, LAN segments 13, the network protocols employed, and the traffic flows. Alternatively, network model 27 can be based on data acquired from both segment collectors 27 and network management console 23. In the preferred embodiment, consolidator 25 is implemented as a processor executing software routines stored in memory." FIG. 2 step 103 states a network model is made according to collected network data, that includes traffic flows.),
means for obtaining a set of measured flow rates and a set of expected flow rates that are calculated based at least in part on the data flow model ([Column 4, Line 36] "Referring to FIG. 2, optimization method 100 collects 101 data describing network 11, including its topology and traffic flow patterns. Data collection is accomplished in the preferred embodiment using segment collectors 17 on the LAN segments 13 of interest; information about other LAN segments 13 can be ignored if desired. These segment collectors 17 collect data local to their attached LAN segment 13. Some conventional networks 11 use segment collectors 17 (e.g. SNMP, RMON, network analyzers, etc.) which may relay the collected information to a network management console 23." The collection of data describing a network includes collecting traffic flow patterns.
[Column 6, Line 12-22] "Optimization process 200 determines 209 the amount of network traffic known to flow between the given clients 15 and R over a given time t. These traffic flow amounts are stored in TRAFFIC. TRAFFIC has C elements, C being the number of clients 15 in CLIENTS. The j-th entry in TRAFFIC comprises TRAFFIC[j, client.sub.-- r] for the unidirectional traffic flow (for example in bytes) from CLIENT[j] to R, and TRAFFIC[j, r.sub.-- client] for the traffic from R to CLIENT[j]. TRAFFIC is formed from network model 27 using actual measurements, or through estimation, for example, using simulation by simulator 37.” Known flow is interpreted by the examiner as expected flow.
[Column 11, Lines 11-24] "which assigns a score dependent on the values of the traffic variables A, B, C. For example, Eq. (9) can define a function for scoring hub(p) based on the delays incurred when going through a switching element 19 between the partitions on LAN segment 13 at hub(p). The delays in and between partitions PA(p) and PB(p) are themselves functions of the traffic values A, B, and C. The scoring function can assign a score which is equal to the average byte delay depending on which of PA(p), PB(p) or the switching element 19 participate in transmitting the byte from its source node 16 to the destination node 16. The functions can be based on either actual network traffic and delay data acquired by segment collectors 17, or thorough simulation by simulator 39." Actual network data is interpreted by the examiner as the measured flow rates.); and
However, Liron does not teach means for selectively updating the data flow model based at least in part on an accuracy of the data flow model, with the accuracy determined based at least in part on the set of measured flow rates and the set of expected flow rates, nor that the domain in which the model is representing is part of a multi-domain network.
Yadav, in the same field of endeavor, teaches means for updating the data flow model based at least in part on an accuracy of the data flow model, with the accuracy determined based at least in part on the set of measured flow rates and the set of expected flow rates ([0004] "A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, the instructions comprising one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a network administration device, cause the one or more processors to receive first operational information regarding a first set of network devices; receive first flow information relating to a first set of traffic flows associated with the first set of network devices; generate a model, based on a machine learning technique, to identify predicted performance of the first set of network devices with regard to the first set of traffic flows; receive or obtain second operational information and/or second flow information regarding the first set of network devices or a second set of network devices; determine path information for the first set of traffic flows or a second set of traffic flows using the model and based on the second operational information and/or the second flow information; configure the first set of network devices or the second set of network devices to implement the path information; and/or update the model based on a machine learning technique and based on observations after the path information is implemented." Yadav teaches a method and device that receives information relating to the traffic flow between devices, and then generates a model using a machine learning technique. The examiner interprets this model based on traffic flow to be a network data flow model.
[0018] "FIGS. 1A-1D are diagrams of an overview of example implementations 100 described herein. As shown in FIG. 1A, and by reference number 102, a network administration device (shown as NAD) may receive a training set of flow information, network topology information, and operational information regarding a plurality of network devices of a network. The network administration device may receive the flow information, the network topology information, and the operational information to generate a model for determining traffic flow paths in the network or another network." Paragraph 0018 further solidifies the examiner’s interpretation that the model is one representative of a network topology and the data flows within, i.e. a network data flow model.
[0034] "As shown by reference number 138, the network administration device may compare the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information outputted by the path selection model. As shown by reference number 140, the network administration device may update the path selection model using machine learning and based on the comparison of the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information. For example, machine learning may provide a mechanism for dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model. When observed results deviate from predicted results, the network administration device may adjust the path selection model using a machine learning algorithm to improve accuracy of the predicted results to better match the observed results."
[0035] "In this way, the network administration device generates a predictive model using machine learning to determine updated path information for a network of network devices, which permits dynamic improvement and updating of the predictive model, and which may be simpler to implement than a complicated and/or static routing protocol. Furthermore, using a machine learning technique may generate a more efficient routing protocol than using a human-based technique. Further, the network administration device may avoid or limit traffic drops due to black-holing of traffic by misconfigured or malfunctioning network devices. This may be particularly advantageous for failure modes that are not detected by traditional routing protocols, such as network device degradation, black-holing, and/or the like. Also, the network administration device may continuously gather useful telemetry and/or performance information over time, which may permit analysis of network information over time" Yadav teaches that it can then update the generated model based on dynamically changing traffic information. The machine learning technique can iteratively update the model to improve the accuracy of the model and the data it represents.)
However, Yadav does not teach that the domain in which the model is representing is part of a multi-domain network.
Ganesh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the domain being part of a multi-domain network ([0019] "It is another object of the present invention to provide system and method for monitoring multi-domain network, which generates visualization of different domains in a telecommunication network across layers and identifies the exact root cause of network element using the layered approach based on configuration, performance and alarm data collected across multiple domains.").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron, with a method to generate a data flow model of a network/domain, and obtain the measured flow rates and expected flow rates pertaining to the connections of said generated model, with the teaching of Yadav to further update the model according to the rates obtained to be sure the model is accurate, and further with the teachings of Ganesh wherein the method is applied to a domain being part of a multi-domain network. One of ordinary skill in the art need only apply the model generation method taught by Liron, with the updating of a traffic model from Yadav, and further to apply it to a multidomain environment as taught by Ganesh to further increase the accuracy of the generated data flow model, even if given domain does not have an oracle view of other neighboring domains. All so one can generate an accurate representation of a network data flow model that may more efficiently show where bottlenecks occur.
Regarding claim 26, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the apparatus of claim 25 (discussed above). However, Liron does not explicitly teach a means to generate an updated data flow model based at least in part on iteratively updating the data flow model.
Yadav, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generating an updated data flow model based at least in part on iteratively updating the data flow model ( [0015] "Furthermore, some implementations described herein may update the model using the machine learning technique and based on observations regarding efficacy of the configuration of the path information. In this way, the model may adapt to changing network conditions and topology (e.g., in real time as the network conditions and/or the topology change), which may require human intervention for a predefined routing policy. Thus, network throughput, reliability, and conformance with SLAs is improved. Further, some implementations described herein may use a rigorous, well-defined approach to path selection, which may reduce uncertainty, subjectivity, and inefficiency that may be introduced by a human actor attempting to define a routing policy based on observations regarding network performance."
[0016] "Also, some implementations described herein may identify the best paths for traffic associated with different SLAs. Since these best paths may iteratively change based on traffic load and node behavior/faults, the machine learning component of implementations described herein may regularly reprogram the paths for particular traffic flows across the network domain. This reprogramming may be based on dynamic prediction of the traffic flows, traffic drops and delays. Thus, implementations described herein may improve adaptability and versatility of path computation for the network domain in comparison to a rigidly defined routing protocol."
[0034] "As shown by reference number 138, the network administration device may compare the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information outputted by the path selection model. As shown by reference number 140, the network administration device may update the path selection model using machine learning and based on the comparison of the updated operational information and/or the updated flow information to the predicted performance information. For example, machine learning may provide a mechanism for dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model. When observed results deviate from predicted results, the network administration device may adjust the path selection model using a machine learning algorithm to improve accuracy of the predicted results to better match the observed results"
Based on the above, Yadav teaches that flow information changes, and is therefore dynamic. The best paths in the model may “iteratively change” and the machine learning component can update the model based on this “updated flow information”. In order to keep the current model accurate, Yadav may then “dynamically or iteratively improving the path selection model in view of results of using the path selection model”. The examiner interprets this as generating an updated flow model based on iteratively updating the flow model. ).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the combination teachings of Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh, with the further teaching of Yadav wherein the model is iteratively updated. The motivation to do so would be to ensure an accurate data flow model is available. Data flows can be dynamic in which bottlenecks may occur slowing the flow. Having an updated model that reflects these changes would allow one to better allocate flow within a network/domain.
Regarding claim 29, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the apparatus of claim 25 (discussed above). Liron further teaches wherein the set of expected flow rates is based at least in part on calculated capacities of links traversed by data flows or paths within the domain ([Column 13, Lines 27-43] "Tables 1 and 2 below illustrate the results of a hub tree optimization process 500 applied to an actual LAN segment 13 called "<134.177.120.9>" whose traffic flow is shown in FIG. 6. The optimization goal 31 was set to "minimize the maximum load". The LAN segment 13 started off with a load of 61 %. Optimization process 500 resulted in two segments partitioned at a hub 402 called "<134.177.120.9_hub9>." The resulting partitions now operate at 21 % and 42% of maximum segment capacity. That the sum of the two loads is above the original LAN segment load of 61 % indicates that some (very little) traffic is crossing between the two new segments. Decreasing a segment load from 61 % to 42% typically reduces the delay by a factor of about 10 because at a load of 61 % the segment operates much above the "knee" of the non-linear delay vs. load curve." Laron’s FIG. 6 showcases the bidirectional traffic flow from node to node in a network. Liron teaches that there is an expected flowrate between these nodes, further represented in node tables 1 and 2 that collects the flow information, and organizes the nodes by an expected capacity (Table 1 with an expected load of 21%, and table 2 with nodes that have an expected load of 42%).), and
wherein the set of measured flow rates is based at least in part on an observed transmission rate of data flow through the links ([Column 6, Line 12-22] " Optimization process 200 determines 209 the amount of network traffic known to flow between the given clients 15 and R over a given time t. These traffic flow amounts are stored in TRAFFIC. TRAFFIC has C elements, C being the number of clients 15 in CLIENTS. The j-th entry in TRAFFIC comprises TRAFFIC[j, client_r] for the unidirectional traffic flow (for example in bytes) from CLIENTU] to R, and TRAFFIC[j, r_client] for the traffic from R to CLIENT[j]. TRAFFIC is formed from network model 27 using actual measurements, or through estimation, for example, using simulation by simulator 37." The "actual measurements" as taught by Liron is interpreted by the examiner as a measured flow rate of the observed traffic/transmission rates between nodes in the generated network model. This information is then stored in a list labeled as TRAFFIC and used to generate the network model.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 14, 21, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh in view of Dooze et al. ( US 10931537 B2), hereinafter “Dooze”.
Regarding claim 5, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the method of claim 4 (discussed above). However, Liron and Genesh do not teach updating the data flow model until a difference between the set of measured flow rates and a set of updated expected flow rates satisfies an accuracy threshold.
Dooze, in the same field of endeavor, teaches updating the data flow model until a difference between the set of measured flow rates and a set of updated expected flow rates satisfies an accuracy threshold ([Column 1, Lines 63-65] ”The invention aims to improve the situation by way of a method for updating a predictive model of a variable representative of the operation of a mobile terminal” Dooze teaches an updating of a predictive flow model.
[Column 2, Line 54-67] "By virtue of the invention, the predictive model is updated while minimizing data exchanges. Specifically, the feed message used to update the predictive model is sent by the mobile terminal, and the resulting replacement predictive model is received by the terminal only if the contribution made by the data contained in the feed message to improving the predictive model is sufficient. One way of estimating this contribution is for example the difference between the instantaneous bit rate measured by the cellphone and the instantaneous bit rate estimated by the cellphone using the predictive model. If this difference is large, this means that the predictive model is able to be improved and that the measured bit rate value, as well as the values of the predictors, that the cellphone is able to provide may make a useful contribution to improving it." The instantaneous bit rate measured by the cellphone is interpreted by the examiner as a measured rate and the instantaneous bit rate measured from using the predictive model is interpreted as an expected rate. The contribution to the data flow by the cellphone is then calculated by finding the difference between the rate based on the predictive model and the instantaneous rate. Depending of the difference meeting a threshold, an improved model might be possible to achieve. The feed threshold described in the following citation is interpreted by the examiner as the accuracy threshold that must be satisfied by the difference between the two flows;
[Column 2, Lines 10-13] "generating a feed message, comprising at least the measured value and the values of the predictors, if the difference between the measured value and the estimated value is greater than or equal to a determined threshold, called feed threshold,".)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh where their iterative update of the data flow model is limited by a difference between the measured rates and expected rates satisfy some fort of threshold as taught by Dooze. One of ordinary skill in the art need only to apply what is taught in the combination of Liron and Ganesh with the teachings of Dooze to better and more accurately update the data flow model. By setting a limiting threshold one avoids an endless loop of updating the model, creating the opposite effect with an overcalculated and a more-than-likely inaccurate network model.
Regarding claim 14, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the entity of claim 13 (discussed above). However, Liron, Yadav, and Genesh do not teach updating the data flow model until a difference between the set of measured flow rates and a set of updated expected flow rates satisfies an accuracy threshold.
Dooze, in the same field of endeavor, teaches updating the data flow model until a difference between the set of measured flow rates and a set of updated expected flow rates satisfies an accuracy threshold ([Column 1, Lines 63-65] ”The invention aims to improve the situation by way of a method for updating a predictive model of a variable representative of the operation of a mobile terminal” Dooze teaches an updating of a predictive flow model.
[Column 2, Line 54-67] "By virtue of the invention, the predictive model is updated while minimizing data exchanges. Specifically, the feed message used to update the predictive model is sent by the mobile terminal, and the resulting replacement predictive model is received by the terminal only if the contribution made by the data contained in the feed message to improving the predictive model is sufficient. One way of estimating this contribution is for example the difference between the instantaneous bit rate measured by the cellphone and the instantaneous bit rate estimated by the cellphone using the predictive model. If this difference is large, this means that the predictive model is able to be improved and that the measured bit rate value, as well as the values of the predictors, that the cellphone is able to provide may make a useful contribution to improving it." The instantaneous bit rate measured by the cellphone is interpreted by the examiner as a measured rate and the instantaneous bit rate measured from using the predictive model is interpreted as an expected rate. The contribution to the data flow by the cellphone is then calculated by finding the difference between the rate based on the predictive model and the instantaneous rate. Depending of the difference meeting a threshold, an improved model might be possible to achieve. The feed threshold described herein is interpreted by the examiner as the accuracy threshold that must be satisfied by the difference between the two flows [Column 2, Lines 10-13] "generating a feed message, comprising at least the measured value and the values of the predictors, if the difference between the measured value and the estimated value is greater than or equal to a determined threshold, called feed threshold,".)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh where their iterative update of the data flow model is limited by a difference between the measured rates and expected rates satisfy some fort of threshold as taught by Dooze. One of ordinary skill in the art need only to apply what is taught in the combination of Liron and Ganesh with the teachings of Dooze to better and more accurately update the data flow model. By setting a limiting threshold one avoids an endless loop of updating the model, creating the opposite effect with an overcalculated and a more-than-likely inaccurate network model.
Regarding claim 21, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 20 (discussed above). However, Liron, Yadav, and Genesh do not teach updating the data flow model until a difference between the set of measured flow rates and a set of updated expected flow rates satisfies an accuracy threshold.
Dooze, in the same field of endeavor, teaches updating the data flow model until a difference between the set of measured flow rates and a set of updated expected flow rates satisfies an accuracy threshold ([Column 1, Lines 63-65] ”The invention aims to improve the situation by way of a method for updating a predictive model of a variable representative of the operation of a mobile terminal” Dooze teaches an updating of a predictive flow model.
[Column 2, Line 54-67] "By virtue of the invention, the predictive model is updated while minimizing data exchanges. Specifically, the feed message used to update the predictive model is sent by the mobile terminal, and the resulting replacement predictive model is received by the terminal only if the contribution made by the data contained in the feed message to improving the predictive model is sufficient. One way of estimating this contribution is for example the difference between the instantaneous bit rate measured by the cellphone and the instantaneous bit rate estimated by the cellphone using the predictive model. If this difference is large, this means that the predictive model is able to be improved and that the measured bit rate value, as well as the values of the predictors, that the cellphone is able to provide may make a useful contribution to improving it." The instantaneous bit rate measured by the cellphone is interpreted by the examiner as a measured rate and the instantaneous bit rate measured from using the predictive model is interpreted as an expected rate. The contribution to the data flow by the cellphone is then calculated by finding the difference between the rate based on the predictive model and the instantaneous rate. Depending of the difference meeting a threshold, an improved model might be possible to achieve. The feed threshold described herein is interpreted by the examiner as the accuracy threshold that must be satisfied by the difference between the two flows [Column 2, Lines 10-13] "generating a feed message, comprising at least the measured value and the values of the predictors, if the difference between the measured value and the estimated value is greater than or equal to a determined threshold, called feed threshold,".)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh where their iterative update of the data flow model is limited by a difference between the measured rates and expected rates satisfy some fort of threshold as taught by Dooze. One of ordinary skill in the art need only to apply what is taught in the combination of Liron and Ganesh with the teachings of Dooze to better and more accurately update the data flow model. By setting a limiting threshold one avoids an endless loop of updating the model, creating the opposite effect with an overcalculated and a more-than-likely inaccurate network model.
Regarding claim 27, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the apparatus of claim 26 (discussed above). However, Liron, Yadav, and Genesh do not teach updating the data flow model until a difference between the set of measured flow rates and a set of updated expected flow rates satisfies an accuracy threshold.
Dooze, in the same field of endeavor, teaches updating the data flow model until a difference between the set of measured flow rates and a set of updated expected flow rates satisfies an accuracy threshold ([Column 1, Lines 63-65] ”The invention aims to improve the situation by way of a method for updating a predictive model of a variable representative of the operation of a mobile terminal” Dooze teaches an updating of a predictive flow model.
[Column 2, Line 54-67] "By virtue of the invention, the predictive model is updated while minimizing data exchanges. Specifically, the feed message used to update the predictive model is sent by the mobile terminal, and the resulting replacement predictive model is received by the terminal only if the contribution made by the data contained in the feed message to improving the predictive model is sufficient. One way of estimating this contribution is for example the difference between the instantaneous bit rate measured by the cellphone and the instantaneous bit rate estimated by the cellphone using the predictive model. If this difference is large, this means that the predictive model is able to be improved and that the measured bit rate value, as well as the values of the predictors, that the cellphone is able to provide may make a useful contribution to improving it." The instantaneous bit rate measured by the cellphone is interpreted by the examiner as a measured rate and the instantaneous bit rate measured from using the predictive model is interpreted as an expected rate. The contribution to the data flow by the cellphone is then calculated by finding the difference between the rate based on the predictive model and the instantaneous rate. Depending of the difference meeting a threshold, an improved model might be possible to achieve. The feed threshold described herein is interpreted by the examiner as the accuracy threshold that must be satisfied by the difference between the two flows [Column 2, Lines 10-13] "generating a feed message, comprising at least the measured value and the values of the predictors, if the difference between the measured value and the estimated value is greater than or equal to a determined threshold, called feed threshold,".)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh where their iterative update of the data flow model is limited by a difference between the measured rates and expected rates satisfy some fort of threshold as taught by Dooze. One of ordinary skill in the art need only to apply what is taught in the combination of Liron and Ganesh with the teachings of Dooze to better and more accurately update the data flow model. By setting a limiting threshold one avoids an endless loop of updating the model, creating the opposite effect with an overcalculated and a more-than-likely inaccurate network model.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 15, 22, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh in view of Seid et al. ( US 5768271 A), hereinafter “Seid”.
Regarding claim 6, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the method of claim 1 (discussed above). However, they do not teach wherein updating the data flow model is based at least in part on one or more data flows or paths of the domain having a bottleneck link outside of the domain.
Seid, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein updating the data flow model is based at least in part on one or more data flows or paths of the domain having a bottleneck link outside of the domain ([Column 3, Lines 3-14] "Each VP is allocated a positive guaranteed bandwidth (VP-CIR), and each VC on a VP is also allocated a bandwidth (VC-CIR) greater than or equal to zero. Packets of information to be transmitted over a VC are provided with an address field having local significance for identifying the respective VCs and VPs used by the VPN to which the packets of information are associated. Congestion control of the network is provided such that congestion control and management are carried out on a per VPN basis, and congestion outside of a VPN's logical domain does not affect the performance of the VPN." Seid discloses a method of packet switching within a network. It recognizes congestion located outside of a VPN's logical domain. Seid further teaches wherein when congestion occurs on a physical path, only a virtual path using bandwidth greater than the respective positive guaranteed bandwidth is required to reduce submission rate of packets onto the network, thereby providing some basic required level of QOS. The examiner interprets the above as an acknowledgment that a bottleneck may occur outside a given domain.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh wherein their update of the data flow model may be based or influenced by a bottleneck existing outside of the immediate domain as taught by Seid. One of ordinary skill in the art need only to apply what is taught in the combination of Liron and Ganesh with the teachings of Seid to more accurately create a data flow model to represent the correct locations of bottleneck/congested links. Proper and accurate mapping is required to better plan flow distribution to take care of areas where bottlenecks may be an issue, even if said bottleneck is outside of the immediate domain.
Regarding claim 15, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach entity of claim 10 (discussed above). However, they do not teach wherein updating the data flow model is based at least in part on one or more data flows or paths of the domain having a bottleneck link outside of the domain.
Seid, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein updating the data flow model is based at least in part on one or more data flows or paths of the domain having a bottleneck link outside of the domain ([Column 3, Lines 3-14] "Each VP is allocated a positive guaranteed bandwidth (VP-CIR), and each VC on a VP is also allocated a bandwidth (VC-CIR) greater than or equal to zero. Packets of information to be transmitted over a VC are provided with an address field having local significance for identifying the respective VCs and VPs used by the VPN to which the packets of information are associated. Congestion control of the network is provided such that congestion control and management are carried out on a per VPN basis, and congestion outside of a VPN's logical domain does not affect the performance of the VPN." Seid discloses a method of packet switching within a network. It recognizes congestion located outside of a VPN's logical domain. Seid further teaches wherein when congestion occurs on a physical path, only a virtual path using bandwidth greater than the respective positive guaranteed bandwidth is required to reduce submission rate of packets onto the network, thereby providing some basic required level of QOS. The examiner interprets the above as an acknowledgment that a bottleneck may occur outside a given domain.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh wherein their update of the data flow model may be based or influenced by a bottleneck existing outside of the immediate domain as taught by Seid. One of ordinary skill in the art need only to apply what is taught in the combination of Liron and Ganesh with the teachings of Seid to more accurately create a data flow model to represent the correct locations of bottleneck/congested links. Proper and accurate mapping is required to better plan flow distribution to take care of areas where bottlenecks may be an issue, even if said bottleneck is outside of the immediate domain.
Regarding claim 22, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19 (discussed above). However, they do not teach wherein updating the data flow model is based at least in part on one or more data flows or paths of the domain having a bottleneck link outside of the domain.
Seid, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein updating the data flow model is based at least in part on one or more data flows or paths of the domain having a bottleneck link outside of the domain ([Column 3, Lines 3-14] "Each VP is allocated a positive guaranteed bandwidth (VP-CIR), and each VC on a VP is also allocated a bandwidth (VC-CIR) greater than or equal to zero. Packets of information to be transmitted over a VC are provided with an address field having local significance for identifying the respective VCs and VPs used by the VPN to which the packets of information are associated. Congestion control of the network is provided such that congestion control and management are carried out on a per VPN basis, and congestion outside of a VPN's logical domain does not affect the performance of the VPN." Seid discloses a method of packet switching within a network. It recognizes congestion located outside of a VPN's logical domain. Seid further teaches wherein when congestion occurs on a physical path, only a virtual path using bandwidth greater than the respective positive guaranteed bandwidth is required to reduce submission rate of packets onto the network, thereby providing some basic required level of QOS. The examiner interprets the above as an acknowledgment that a bottleneck may occur outside a given domain.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh wherein their update of the data flow model may be based or influenced by a bottleneck existing outside of the immediate domain as taught by Seid. One of ordinary skill in the art need only to apply what is taught in the combination of Liron and Ganesh with the teachings of Seid to more accurately create a data flow model to represent the correct locations of bottleneck/congested links. Proper and accurate mapping is required to better plan flow distribution to take care of areas where bottlenecks may be an issue, even if said bottleneck is outside of the immediate domain.
Regarding claim 28, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the apparatus of claim 25 (discussed above). However, they do not teach wherein updating the data flow model is based at least in part on one or more data flows or paths of the domain having a bottleneck link outside of the domain.
Seid, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein updating the data flow model is based at least in part on one or more data flows or paths of the domain having a bottleneck link outside of the domain ([Column 3, Lines 3-14] "Each VP is allocated a positive guaranteed bandwidth (VP-CIR), and each VC on a VP is also allocated a bandwidth (VC-CIR) greater than or equal to zero. Packets of information to be transmitted over a VC are provided with an address field having local significance for identifying the respective VCs and VPs used by the VPN to which the packets of information are associated. Congestion control of the network is provided such that congestion control and management are carried out on a per VPN basis, and congestion outside of a VPN's logical domain does not affect the performance of the VPN." Seid discloses a method of packet switching within a network. It recognizes congestion located outside of a VPN's logical domain. Seid further teaches wherein when congestion occurs on a physical path, only a virtual path using bandwidth greater than the respective positive guaranteed bandwidth is required to reduce submission rate of packets onto the network, thereby providing some basic required level of QOS. The examiner interprets the above as an acknowledgment that a bottleneck may occur outside a given domain.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh wherein their update of the data flow model may be based or influenced by a bottleneck existing outside of the immediate domain as taught by Seid. One of ordinary skill in the art need only to apply what is taught in the combination of Liron and Ganesh with the teachings of Seid to more accurately create a data flow model to represent the correct locations of bottleneck/congested links. Proper and accurate mapping is required to better plan flow distribution to take care of areas where bottlenecks may be an issue, even if said bottleneck is outside of the immediate domain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 18, 24, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh, in view of Imai et al. (US 20130024561 A1), hereinafter “Imai”, and further in view of Nordenstam et al. (US 6442615 B1), hereinafter “Nordenstam”.
Regarding claim 9, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the method of claim 1 (discussed above). However they do not teach identifying a data flow or a path for which an expected flow rate is greater than a measured flow rate; and adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate.
Imai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying a data flow or a path for which an expected flow rate is greater than a measured flow rate (Examining the following figure from Imai:
Imai introduces a virtual link setter and route determinator that compares existing flow (interpreted as the actual data flow) to a created constraint condition (interpreted as an expected data flow rate). FIG. 5 showcases an example of link cost calculating data in the network management system. It also shows in the columns labeled "Link Traffic Amount" what is interpreted by the examiner as the measured flow rate of the link. When looking at the values of the mentioned columns and compare them to values in the columns labeled "Physical Link Rate" or "Virtual Link rate", it shows the values to be greater. The virtual/physical link rate values is interpreted by the examiner as the expected flow rate.).
However, Imai does not teach adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate.
Nordenstam, in the same field of endeavor, teaches adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate ([Column 11, Lines 1-8] "The network modification unit 24 shown in FIG. 3 is particularly provided to evaluate different system configurations, that is to calculate how the load situation would change in case there is inserted another network element or link. Thus, the network modification unit 24 together with the I/O unit 26 provides functionality to add new nodes and links into both, the virtual network and the real network."
[Column 5, Lines 13-19] " collect data with respect to a real traffic flow in the network, network modelling means to model the network through a virtual network having virtual links without capacity restrictions imposed thereon, and network load evaluation means to map the actual traffic flow onto the virtual network assuming optimal routing and to compare the capacity used for each virtual link with the capacity assigned thereto."
It is taught above by Nordenstam that the unit 24 from figure 3 may add new nodes an links into the network representing a virtual model and the actual network model. To improve traffic data evaluation in a network, the data on the real traffic flow (interpreted as the actual/measured flow) is used to first model the network, and then adds the respective virtual links to map said network. Each link is given a capacity in the virtual model without restriction, and the evaluation maps the actual traffic flow (interpreted as the data flow) on the virtual network. By applying data corresponding to real traffic flow to created virtual links in a network model, Nordenstam can improve the approach to traffic data evaluation.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh to apply the method to generate a data flow model of a network/domain wherein the domain is part of a multi-domain network, obtaining the measured flow rates and expected flow rates pertain to the connections of said generated model, and further update the model according to the rates obtained with the goal to further optimize further optimize said model, with the teachings of Imai wherein a path is identified to have the measured flow rate be less than the expected flow rate. One would further combine this with the teaching of adding a virtual link to the set of obtained links representing the measured flow rate. The motivation to combine Liron, Ganesh, and Imai would be keeping an accurate record of links that are possibly experiencing a bottleneck and therefore have a lower output rate than expected, i.e. measured/actual rate is less than expected rate. Then one of ordinary skill in the art would further apply the teaching of Nordenstam wherein virtual links are added corresponding to measured links to have the virtual model reflect a more accurate representation of actual/measured flow rates.
Regarding claim 18, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the entity of claim 10 (discussed above). However they do not teach identifying a data flow or a path for which an expected flow rate is greater than a measured flow rate; and adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate.
Imai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying a data flow or a path for which an expected flow rate is greater than a measured flow rate (Examining the following figure from Imai:
Imai introduces a virtual link setter and route determinator that compares existing flow (interpreted as the actual data flow) to a created constraint condition (interpreted as an expected data flow rate). FIG. 5 showcases an example of link cost calculating data in the network management system. It also shows in the columns labeled "Link Traffic Amount" what is interpreted by the examiner as the measured flow rate of the link. When looking at the values of the mentioned columns and compare them to values in the columns labeled "Physical Link Rate" or "Virtual Link rate", it shows the values to be greater. The virtual/physical link rate values is interpreted by the examiner as the expected flow rate.).
However, Imai does not teach adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate.
Nordenstam, in the same field of endeavor, teaches adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate ([Column 11, Lines 1-8] "The network modification unit 24 shown in FIG. 3 is particularly provided to evaluate different system configurations, that is to calculate how the load situation would change in case there is inserted another network element or link. Thus, the network modification unit 24 together with the I/O unit 26 provides functionality to add new nodes and links into both, the virtual network and the real network."
[Column 5, Lines 13-19] " collect data with respect to a real traffic flow in the network, network modelling means to model the network through a virtual network having virtual links without capacity restrictions imposed thereon, and network load evaluation means to map the actual traffic flow onto the virtual network assuming optimal routing and to compare the capacity used for each virtual link with the capacity assigned thereto."
It is taught above by Nordenstam that the unit 24 from figure 3 may add new nodes an links into the network representing a virtual model and the actual network model. To improve traffic data evaluation in a network, the data on the real traffic flow (interpreted as the actual/measured flow) is used to first model the network, and then adds the respective virtual links to map said network. Each link is given a capacity in the virtual model without restriction, and the evaluation maps the actual traffic flow (interpreted as the data flow) on the virtual network. By applying data corresponding to real traffic flow to created virtual links in a network model, Nordenstam can improve the approach to traffic data evaluation.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh to apply the method to generate a data flow model of a network/domain wherein the domain is part of a multi-domain network, obtaining the measured flow rates and expected flow rates pertain to the connections of said generated model, and further update the model according to the rates obtained with the goal to further optimize further optimize said model, with the teachings of Imai wherein a path is identified to have the measured flow rate be less than the expected flow rate. One would further combine this with the teaching of adding a virtual link to the set of obtained links representing the measured flow rate. The motivation to combine Liron, Ganesh, and Imai would be keeping an accurate record of links that are possibly experiencing a bottleneck and therefore have a lower output rate than expected, i.e. measured/actual rate is less than expected rate. Then one of ordinary skill in the art would further apply the teaching of Nordenstam wherein virtual links are added corresponding to measured links to have the virtual model reflect a more accurate representation of actual/measured flow rates.
Regarding claim 24, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19 (discussed above). However they do not teach identifying a data flow or a path for which an expected flow rate is greater than a measured flow rate; and adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate.
Imai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying a data flow or a path for which an expected flow rate is greater than a measured flow rate (Examining the following figure from Imai:
Imai introduces a virtual link setter and route determinator that compares existing flow (interpreted as the actual data flow) to a created constraint condition (interpreted as an expected data flow rate). FIG. 5 showcases an example of link cost calculating data in the network management system. It also shows in the columns labeled "Link Traffic Amount" what is interpreted by the examiner as the measured flow rate of the link. When looking at the values of the mentioned columns and compare them to values in the columns labeled "Physical Link Rate" or "Virtual Link rate", it shows the values to be greater. The virtual/physical link rate values is interpreted by the examiner as the expected flow rate.).
However, Imai does not teach adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate.
Nordenstam, in the same field of endeavor, teaches adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate ([Column 11, Lines 1-8] "The network modification unit 24 shown in FIG. 3 is particularly provided to evaluate different system configurations, that is to calculate how the load situation would change in case there is inserted another network element or link. Thus, the network modification unit 24 together with the I/O unit 26 provides functionality to add new nodes and links into both, the virtual network and the real network."
[Column 5, Lines 13-19] " collect data with respect to a real traffic flow in the network, network modelling means to model the network through a virtual network having virtual links without capacity restrictions imposed thereon, and network load evaluation means to map the actual traffic flow onto the virtual network assuming optimal routing and to compare the capacity used for each virtual link with the capacity assigned thereto."
It is taught above by Nordenstam that the unit 24 from figure 3 may add new nodes an links into the network representing a virtual model and the actual network model. To improve traffic data evaluation in a network, the data on the real traffic flow (interpreted as the actual/measured flow) is used to first model the network, and then adds the respective virtual links to map said network. Each link is given a capacity in the virtual model without restriction, and the evaluation maps the actual traffic flow (interpreted as the data flow) on the virtual network. By applying data corresponding to real traffic flow to created virtual links in a network model, Nordenstam can improve the approach to traffic data evaluation.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh to apply the method to generate a data flow model of a network/domain wherein the domain is part of a multi-domain network, obtaining the measured flow rates and expected flow rates pertain to the connections of said generated model, and further update the model according to the rates obtained with the goal to further optimize further optimize said model, with the teachings of Imai wherein a path is identified to have the measured flow rate be less than the expected flow rate. One would further combine this with the teaching of adding a virtual link to the set of obtained links representing the measured flow rate. The motivation to combine Liron, Ganesh, and Imai would be keeping an accurate record of links that are possibly experiencing a bottleneck and therefore have a lower output rate than expected, i.e. measured/actual rate is less than expected rate. Then one of ordinary skill in the art would further apply the teaching of Nordenstam wherein virtual links are added corresponding to measured links to have the virtual model reflect a more accurate representation of actual/measured flow rates.
Regarding claim 30, Liron, Yadav, and Ganesh teach the apparatus of claim 25 (discussed above). However they do not teach identifying a data flow or a path for which an expected flow rate is greater than a measured flow rate; and adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate.
Imai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying a data flow or a path for which an expected flow rate is greater than a measured flow rate (Examining the following figure from Imai:
Imai introduces a virtual link setter and route determinator that compares existing flow (interpreted as the actual data flow) to a created constraint condition (interpreted as an expected data flow rate). FIG. 5 showcases an example of link cost calculating data in the network management system. It also shows in the columns labeled "Link Traffic Amount" what is interpreted by the examiner as the measured flow rate of the link. When looking at the values of the mentioned columns and compare them to values in the columns labeled "Physical Link Rate" or "Virtual Link rate", it shows the values to be greater. The virtual/physical link rate values is interpreted by the examiner as the expected flow rate.).
However, Imai does not teach adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate.
Nordenstam, in the same field of endeavor, teaches adding a virtual link to a set of links modeled via the data flow model, wherein the virtual link is associated with the data flow or the path and the measured flow rate ([Column 11, Lines 1-8] "The network modification unit 24 shown in FIG. 3 is particularly provided to evaluate different system configurations, that is to calculate how the load situation would change in case there is inserted another network element or link. Thus, the network modification unit 24 together with the I/O unit 26 provides functionality to add new nodes and links into both, the virtual network and the real network."
[Column 5, Lines 13-19] " collect data with respect to a real traffic flow in the network, network modelling means to model the network through a virtual network having virtual links without capacity restrictions imposed thereon, and network load evaluation means to map the actual traffic flow onto the virtual network assuming optimal routing and to compare the capacity used for each virtual link with the capacity assigned thereto."
It is taught above by Nordenstam that the unit 24 from figure 3 may add new nodes an links into the network representing a virtual model and the actual network model. To improve traffic data evaluation in a network, the data on the real traffic flow (interpreted as the actual/measured flow) is used to first model the network, and then adds the respective virtual links to map said network. Each link is given a capacity in the virtual model without restriction, and the evaluation maps the actual traffic flow (interpreted as the data flow) on the virtual network. By applying data corresponding to real traffic flow to created virtual links in a network model, Nordenstam can improve the approach to traffic data evaluation.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention to apply the teachings of Liron and Genesh to apply the method to generate a data flow model of a network/domain wherein the domain is part of a multi-domain network, obtaining the measured flow rates and expected flow rates pertain to the connections of said generated model, and further update the model according to the rates obtained with the goal to further optimize further optimize said model, with the teachings of Imai wherein a path is identified to have the measured flow rate be less than the expected flow rate. One would further combine this with the teaching of adding a virtual link to the set of obtained links representing the measured flow rate. The motivation to combine Liron, Ganesh, and Imai would be keeping an accurate record of links that are possibly experiencing a bottleneck and therefore have a lower output rate than expected, i.e. measured/actual rate is less than expected rate. Then one of ordinary skill in the art would further apply the teaching of Nordenstam wherein virtual links are added corresponding to measured links to have the virtual model reflect a more accurate representation of actual/measured flow rates.
Conclusion
/A.D.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465