DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed 3/6/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9-13 of the remarks, in regard to the independent claims, the Applicant disagrees with the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. US 20230275685 (hereinafter “Yao”) in view of Sumasu et al. US 20090010211 (hereinafter “Sumasu”) and in further view of Li et al. US 20250167912 (hereinafter “Li”)
Specifically, the Applicant remarks:
Sumasu does not teach "wherein the activated MCS table is activated adaptively based on a match between a measured current signal to noise ratio (SNR) of the apparatus and a corresponding SNR sub-range supported by the selected MCS table from the plurality of MCS tables"
Sumasu does not teach "wherein each of the plurality of MCS tables covers a reduced , non-full operational SNR range that partially overlaps with at least one adjacent MCS table"
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding (1), first, the claim says “the activated MCS table is activated…based on….supported by the selected MCS table”. The applicant uses the term "activated" and "selected" in this limitation and the Examiner interpreted each of these terms differently. The Examiner interpreted the term "activated" as enabling something that has already been “selected” by the system. Sumasu clearly teaches selecting a MCS table from the plurality of MCS tables based on a terminal rank and the already selected table is "activated adaptively" or enabled based on the measured SINR i.e. the system uses the measured SINR to find a matching range in the selected table as further mentioned by Sumasu in [0055] "Scheduling section 151 determines, for each communication terminal apparatus, the MCS level corresponding to the SINR value indicated in channel quality information, using the MCS table selected by MCS table selecting section 109, and compares the MCS levels and designates the communication terminal apparatus to be the destination of data transmission."; therefore, the applicant's argument is not persuasive.
Regarding (2), This argument is not persuasive because FIG.6 clearly shows that the MCS tables partially overlap and Sumasu mentions in [0053] that the "ranges are different from each other". FIG. 6 clearly shows that the relative range of each table is slightly shifted e.g. MCS2 of MCS table 3 is in between MCS1 and MCS2 of MCS table 2.
On page 13 of the remarks, in regard to the dependent claims, the Applicant states that the claims are allowable at least due to the deficiencies of the ground of rejection applied to the independent claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner kindly refer the Applicant to the reasoning pertaining to the independent claims, detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 9-11, 19-20, 22-24 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. US 20230275685 (hereinafter “Yao”) in view of Sumasu et al. US 20090010211 (hereinafter “Sumasu”) and in further view of Li et al. US 20250167912 (hereinafter “Li”)
As to claim 1 and 29 (claim 29 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 1):
Yao discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (“The wireless communications system includes a terminal 11 and a network-side device 12.”, Yao [0032]), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory (“as shown in FIG. 6, an embodiment of this application further provides a communications device 60, including a processor 61, a memory 62”, Yao [0363]) and configured to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) configuration indicating a plurality of Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) tables (“RRC signaling may configure at least two first MCS tables and then selection of one of the at least two first MCS tables is indicated by using a media access control control element (MAC CE) or DCI”, Yao [0051]); receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) activating an MCS table among the plurality of MCS tables,
and communicate data with a base station using an MCS in the activated MCS table.
(“the network-side device such as a base station may determine, based on the first MCS table, the target MCS level corresponding to transmission of the terminal, such as an MCS level corresponding to a channel scheduled for the terminal, and notify the terminal, to instruct the terminal to determine, based on the MCS level, the modulation mode and coding rate to be used for the channel scheduled for the terminal.”, Yao [0184])
Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the activated MCS table is activated adaptively based on a match between a measured current signal to noise ratio (SNR) of the apparatus and a corresponding SNR sub-range supported by the selected MCS table from the plurality of MCS tables, wherein each of the plurality of MCS tables covers a reduced, non-full operational SNR range that partially overlaps with at least one adjacent MCS table;
However, Sumasu further teaches selecting a MCS table based on a match between SINR and corresponding SINR sub-range supported by the selected MCS table from the plurality of MCS tables which includes:
wherein the activated MCS table is activated adaptively based on a match between a measured current signal to noise ratio (wherein each of the plurality of MCS tables covers a reduced, non-full operational that partially overlaps with at least one adjacent MCS table; (“Scheduling section 151 stores a plurality of MCS tables showing the SINR ranges where each MCS level is assigned, determines the MCS level of each communication terminal apparatus based on the MCS table selected by MCS table selecting section 109 and channel quality information, compares the MCS levels of the communication terminal apparatuses, designates the communication terminal apparatus to be the destination of data transmission, and determines the modulation scheme, coding rate and physical resources for use for the data to be transmitted to the designated communication terminal apparatus (i.e. resource allocation). The MCS table selection method according to the present invention will be described in detail later.”, Sumasu [0032]) (“Scheduling section 151 stores a plurality of MCS tables as shown in FIG. 6. The MCS tables indicate the SINR ranges where each MCS level is assigned, and these ranges are different from each other. For example, in MCS table 1, the SINR range where MCS 2 is assigned is equal to or greater than TH11 and less than TH12. In MCS table 2, the SINR range where MCS 2 is assigned is equal to or greater than TH22 and less than TH22, TH21 is .DELTA..sub.11 dB less than TH11 and TH22 is .DELTA..sub.12 dB less than TH12.”, Sumasu [0053]) (“MCS table selecting section 109 selects an MCS table based on the terminal rank information. For example, a method of selecting an MCS table of a lower threshold value for a communication terminal apparatuses of a higher rank may be possible (that is, a method of allocating MCS table 3, 2 and 1 in descending order of rank A, B and C, respectively). When this selection method is used, the MCS level of a lower transmission rate is allocated to a communication terminal apparatus of a lower rank, so that it is possible to decrease error rate. On the other hand, a method of selecting an MCS table of a lower threshold for a communication terminal apparatus of a lower rank is also possible (that is, a method of allocating MCS table 1, 2 and 3 in descending order of rank A, B and C, respectively). When this selection method is used, it is possible to allocate an appropriate MCS level to a communication terminal apparatus for which noise and interference power are measured greater than their true levels.”, Sumasu [0054]) (Examiner’s Note: FIG. 6 shows overlapping SINR range between MCS tables)
Yao and Sumasu are analogous because they pertain to selecting a MCS table based on quality of a radio link.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include selecting a MCS table based on a match between SINR and corresponding SINR sub-range supported by the selected MCS table from the plurality of MCS tables as described in Sumasu into Yao. By modifying the method to include selecting a MCS table based on a match between SINR and corresponding SINR sub-range supported by the selected MCS table from the plurality of MCS tables as taught by Sumasu, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]) and improved selection of MCS table (Sumasu [0054]) are achieved.
As shown above, Yao in view of Sumasu discloses activating a MCS table based on a match between SINR and a corresponding SINR sub-range. Yao in view of Sumasu does not explicitly disclose SNR.
However, Li discloses selecting a MCS table based on SNR range:
(“The network device may indicate, to the terminal device through radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) signaling or physical layer signaling, an MCS table selected by the network device.”, Li [0197]) (“For example, the MCS is selected depending on quality of a radio link. Better link quality indicates a higher index of the selected MCS, and more useful bits that can be carried by one RE. Poorer link quality indicates a lower index of the selected MCS, and fewer useful bits that can be carried by one RE.”, Li [0197])(“FIG. 12 is an SNR-BLER curve chart corresponding to the MCS indexes 14 to 22 shown in Table 6. SNR-BLER curves from left to right correspond to the MCS indexes 14 to 22 sequentially. It can be learned from FIG. 12 that SNR distribution in a BLER 10% is even. That is, when a BLER is 10%, a difference between SRNs corresponding to any two adjacent coding rates is close. This meets a design requirement of an MCS table.”, Li [0305]) (“FIG. 13 is an SNR-BLER curve chart corresponding to the MCS indexes 23 to 29 shown in Table 6. SNR-BLER curves from left to right correspond to the MCS indexes 23 to 29 sequentially. It can be learned from FIG. 13 that SNR distribution in a BLER 10% is also even, and this meets a design requirement of an MCS table. Therefore, the MCS table shown in Table 6 is practical.”, Li [0306]) (“FIG. 14 is an SNR-BLER curve chart corresponding to the MCS indexes 5 to 15 shown in Table 7. SNR-BLER curves from left to right correspond to the MCS indexes 5 to 15 sequentially. It can be learned from FIG. 14 that SNR distribution in a BLER 10% is also even, and this meets a design requirement of an MCS table. Therefore, the MCS table shown in Table 7 is practical.”, Li [0327])
Yao, Sumasu, and Li are analogous because they pertain to selecting a MCS table based on quality of a radio link.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include selecting a MCS table based on SNR range as described in Li into Yao as modified by Sumasu. By modifying the method to include selecting a MCS table based on SNR range as taught by Li, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]) and improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]) are achieved.
As to claim 3:
Yao discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one MCS in different ones of the plurality of MCS tables is associated with a same spectral efficiency range. (Table 1 and Table 2 show MCS indices in different tables within the same spectral efficiency range, Yao [Table 1 and Table 2])
As to claim 4:
Yao discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the MCS table is activated based at least in part on a condition of a channel between the base station and the UE. (“This technology is used to determine a modulation mode and a coding rate based on channel conditions to improve the spectral efficiency of the system.”, Yao [0034])
As to claim 9:
Yao discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of MCS tables respectively comprise a same quantity of MCS options in each MCS table. (Table 1, Table 2, and Table 3 show same number of MCS options, Yao [Table 1, Table 2, and Table 3])
As to claim 10:
Yao discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: communicate data with the base station by transmitting one or more uplink communications or receiving one or more downlink communications based at least in part on corresponding activated MCS tables for uplink and downlink. (“The base station determines a corresponding MCS for the uplink/downlink channel based on the CQI fed back by the terminal and a prediction algorithm.”, Yao [0037])
As to claim 11:
Yao discloses:
The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more uplink communications uses a transmit waveform type based at least in part on the activated MCS table. (“receiving, from a network-side device, indication information used to determine a target MCS level, where the target MCS level is an MCS level in a first MCS table, and the first MCS table includes an MCS level corresponding to 1024QAM”, Yao [0008]) (“A highest modulation order supported by the PDSCH in the existing NR system is 8, and a total of four modulation modes are included: quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16QAM, 64QAM, and 256QAM. The amount of information transmitted by each modulation symbol in each modulation mode is as follows: 2 bits, 4 bits, 6 bits, and 8 bits.”, Yao [0034])
As to claim 19:
Yao discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of MCS tables is associated with different types of constellations, code types, or transmission schemes. (Table 1, Table 2, and Table 3 show MCS table code types, Yao [Table 1, Table 2, and Table 3])
As to claim 20 and 30 (claim 30 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 20):
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the network node.
As to claim 22:
Yao discloses:
The apparatus of claim 20, wherein at least one MCS in different ones of the plurality of MCS tables is associated with a same spectral efficiency range. (Table 1 and Table 2 show MCS indices in different tables within the same spectral efficiency range, Yao [Table 1 and Table 2])
As to claim 23:
Yao discloses:
The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the MCS table is activated based at least in part on a condition of a channel between the base station and the UE. (“This technology is used to determine a modulation mode and a coding rate based on channel conditions to improve the spectral efficiency of the system.”, Yao [0034])
As to claim 24:
The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the RRC configuration is received based at least in part on a capability of the UE to dynamically switch between the plurality of MCS tables. (“if the indicated at least one MCS table is at least two first MCS tables, when indicating the first MCS table corresponding to the transmission of the terminal, RRC signaling may directly indicate selection of one of the at least two first MCS tables, or RRC signaling may configure at least two first MCS tables and then selection of one of the at least two first MCS tables is indicated by using a media access control control element (MAC CE) or DCI, or selection of one of the at least two first MCS tables is indicated by using different radio network temporary identifiers (RNTI) for scrambling DCI”, Yao [0051])
As to claim 27:
Yao discloses:
The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the plurality of MCS tables respectively comprise a same quantity of MCS options in each MCS table. (Table 1, Table 2, and Table 3 show same number of MCS options, Yao [Table 1, Table 2, and Table 3])
As to claim 28:
Yao discloses:
The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: communicate with the UE by receiving one or more uplink communications or transmitting one or more downlink communications based at least in part on corresponding activated MCS tables for uplink and downlink. (“The base station determines a corresponding MCS for the uplink/downlink channel based on the CQI fed back by the terminal and a prediction algorithm.”, Yao [0037])
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Sumasu and Li, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin et al. US 20200413425 (hereinafter “Lin”)
As to claim 6:
The combination of Yao, Sumasu, and Li as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: communicate with the base station using an MCS from a default RRC configured MCS table prior to receiving a first activating MAC-CE.
However, Lin further teaches default MCS table which includes:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: communicate with the base station using an MCS from a default RRC configured MCS table(“the priority of the MAC CE indication for the MCS table may be higher than the signalling from the RRC configuration for the MCS table.”, Lin [0073]) prior to receiving a first activating MAC-CE. (“the UE may use the default MCS table regardless of the status of Activation/Deactivation MAC CE.”, Lin [0060])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Lin are analogous because they both pertain to dynamic usage of MCS table.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include default MCS table as described in Lin into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include default MCS table as taught by Lin, the benefits of improved reliability (Lin [0039]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), and improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]) are achieved.
As to claim 7:
The combination of Li, Sumasu, and Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an initial RRC configuration wherein the initial RRC configuration indicates the default MCS table.
However, Lin further teaches default MCS table which includes:
The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive an initial RRC configuration (“the priority of the MAC CE indication for the MCS table may be higher than the signalling from the RRC configuration for the MCS table.”, Lin [0073]), wherein the initial RRC configuration indicates the default MCS table. (“the UE may use the default MCS table regardless of the status of Activation/Deactivation MAC CE.”, Lin [0060])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Lin are analogous because they both pertain to dynamic usage of MCS table.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include default MCS table as described in Lin into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include default MCS table as taught by Lin, the benefits of improved reliability (Lin [0039]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), and improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
The combination of Li, Sumasu, and Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive downlink control information (DCI) indicating an MCS index and a new data indicator (NDI) wherein the MCS index is associated with the MCS in a currently active MCS table.
However, Lin further teaches NDI and MCS index in active MCS table which includes:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive downlink control information (DCI) indicating an MCS index and a new data indicator (NDI) (“the corresponding DCI is scrambled with a configured scheduling (CS) RNTI (CS-RNTI) and a new data indicator (NDI) field”, Lin [0033]), wherein the MCS index is associated with the MCS in a currently active MCS table. (“It should be noted that the present disclosure does not preclude other possible physical identifications (e.g., a new DCI field, a dedicated search space set, a new DCI format) for dynamically scheduling the MCS table.”, Lin [0033]) (“the UE may use an MCS index (e.g., I.sub.MCS) and the 64QAM table (e.g., Table 5.1.3.1-1 in TS 38.214) to determine a modulation order and a target code rate used in the PDSCH or PUSCH”, Lin [0040])
Yao, Sumasu, Li, and Lin are analogous because they both pertain to dynamic usage of MCS table.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include NDI and MCS index in active MCS table as described in Lin into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include NDI and MCS index in active MCS table as taught by Lin, the benefits of improved reliability (Lin [0039] and Sumasu [0054]) and improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]) are achieved.
As to claim 25:
The combination of Li, Sumasu, and Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: communicate with the UE using an MCS from a default MCS table from the plurality of MCS tables prior to receiving the MAC-CE.
However, Lin further teaches default MCS table which includes:
The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: communicate with the UE using an MCS from a default MCS table from the plurality of MCS tables prior to receiving the MAC-CE. (“the UE may use the default MCS table regardless of the status of Activation/Deactivation MAC CE.”, Lin [0060])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Lin are analogous because they both pertain to dynamic usage of MCS table.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include default MCS table as described in Lin into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include default MCS table as taught by Lin, the benefits of improved reliability (Lin [0039]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), and improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]) are achieved.
As to claim 26:
The combination of Li, Sumasu, and Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an initial RRC configuration indicating a default MCS table.
However, Lin further teaches default MCS table which includes:
The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit an initial RRC configuration (“the priority of the MAC CE indication for the MCS table may be higher than the signalling from the RRC configuration for the MCS table.”, Lin [0073]) indicating a default MCS table. (“the UE may use the default MCS table regardless of the status of Activation/Deactivation MAC CE.”, Lin [0060])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Lin are analogous because they both pertain to dynamic usage of MCS table.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include default MCS table as described in Lin into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include default MCS table as taught by Lin, the benefits of improved reliability (Lin [0039]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), and improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Sumasu and Li, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xi et al. US 20200287654 (hereinafter “Xi”)
As to claim 5:
The combination of Li, Sumasu, and Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the RRC configuration is received based at least in part on a capability of the UE to dynamically switch between the plurality of MCS tables.
However, Xi further teaches dynamically switching MCS table which includes:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the RRC configuration (“A WTRU may be configured with a selection of a first MCS table, for example MCS table 1, which may be configured through RRC signaling to the WTRU”, Xi [0212]) is received based at least in part on a capability of the UE to dynamically switch between the plurality of MCS tables. (“A gNB may decide to dynamically switch the MCS table for its current PDSCH transmission”, Xi [0214])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Xi are analogous because they both pertain to dynamic usage of MCS table.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include dynamically switching MCS table as described in Xi into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include dynamically switching MCS table as taught by Xi, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]) and improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327], Sumasu [0054], and Xi [0003]) are achieved.
As to claim 14:
The combination of Li, Sumasu, and Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of MCS tables includes a first MCS table for which a radio resource control (RRC)-configured pi/2 binary phase shift keying (BPSK) activation parameter has a value of enabled and a second MCS table for which the RRC-configured pi/2 BPSK activation parameter has a value of disabled, wherein the enabled and disabled value of the pi/2 BPSK enabling parameter is fixed per respective MCS table
However, Xi further teaches BPSK for the MCS tables which includes:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of MCS tables includes a first MCS table for which a radio resource control (RRC)-configured pi/2 binary phase shift keying (BPSK) activation parameter has a value of enabled and a second MCS table for which the RRC-configured pi/2 BPSK activation parameter has a value of disabled, wherein the enabled and disabled value of the pi/2 BPSK enabling parameter is fixed per respective MCS table (“MCS tables may be set up based on a coding rate and modulation order. π/2-BPSK modulation may be applied for URLLC data.”, Xi [0159]) (“Transmission bit(s) saved for URLLC (e.g., compared to eMBB) may be used to indicate an MCS table selection, e.g., as described herein, for example MCS table indices. Indices may provide an indication of which MCS table should be used. The indication of which MCS table to use may be configured via RRC signaling. The indication of which MCS table to use may be based on WTRU capability and/or WTRU category.”, Xi [0161]) (“The number of items in a URLLC MCS table may be small (e.g., compared to eMBB cases). The number of items in a URLLC MCS table may depend on data QoS. For different data types, different MCS tables may be used. The total number of items in an eMBB MCS table may be 32 (e.g., which may take 5 bits to indicate). The total number of items in a (e.g., each) URLLC MCS table may be less than 32. If the total number of items in a (e.g., each) URLLC MCS table is less than 16 (or 8), then 4 (or 3) bits may be used to indicate a corresponding MCS level.”, Xi [0160]) (“The saved bit(s) from MCS indices may be used to indicate bit re-ordering information. As mentioned herein, in examples such as high order modulation cases (e.g., where 16QAM may be used), the bits composing a modulation symbol may be (a1, a2, a3, a4) or (a4, a3, a2, a1). An indication of which re-ordering technique to use may be included in the DCI, for example based on saved bits from MCS indices (e.g., MCS indices in DCI).”, Xi [0162])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Xi are analogous because they both pertain to dynamic usage of MCS table.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include BPSK for the MCS tables as described in Xi into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include BPSK for the MCS tables as taught by Xi, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]) and Xi [0003]) and improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 2, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Sumasu and Li, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ye et al. WO 2023212647
As to claim 2:
The combination of Li, Sumasu, and Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of MCS tables is associated with different ranges of signal to noise ratios (SNRs), wherein at least two of the plurality of MCS tables share a partial overlap in ranges of the SNRs.
However, Ye further teaches selecting an overlapping MCS table to improve SNR which includes:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of MCS tables is associated with different ranges of signal to noise ratios (SNRs), wherein at least two of the plurality of MCS tables share a partial overlap in ranges of the SNRs. (“It may accordingly be that the one or more scheduling PDSCHs are received according a predefined MCS value and a pre-defined MCS table. For example, the UE may use MCS = 0 from an MCS Table 1 or an MCS Table 3 in order to cover a low signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) case. Alternatively, one or more of a radio resource control (RRC) configuration and an SIB may provide the UE with a configured MCS value and a configured MCS table to use.”, Ye [0117])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Ye are analogous because they pertain to activating a MCS table
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include selecting an overlapping MCS table to improve SNR as described in Ye into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include selecting an overlapping MCS table to improve SNR as taught by Ye, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), and improved SNR (Ye [0117]) are achieved.
As to claim 16:
The combination of Yao, Sumasu, and Li as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein a subsequent MCS table is determined to be more optimal than a previously active MCS table based on overlapping between MCS indexes of the previously active MCS table and the subsequent MCS table and when the current SNR increases toward a last MCS index of the previously active MCS table or decreases toward a first MCS index of the previously active MCS table.
However, Ye further teaches selecting an overlapping MCS table to improve SNR which includes:
wherein a subsequent MCS table is determined to be more convenient than a previously active MCS table based on overlapping between MCS indexes of the previously active MCS table and the subsequent MCS table and when the current SNR increases toward a last MCS index of the previously active MCS table or decreases toward a first MCS index of the previously active MCS table. (“It may accordingly be that the one or more scheduling PDSCHs are received according a predefined MCS value and a pre-defined MCS table. For example, the UE may use MCS = 0 from an MCS Table 1 or an MCS Table 3 in order to cover a low signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) case. Alternatively, one or more of a radio resource control (RRC) configuration and an SIB may provide the UE with a configured MCS value and a configured MCS table to use.”, Ye [0117])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Ye are analogous because they pertain to activating a MCS table
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include selecting an overlapping MCS table to improve SNR as described in Ye into Yao as modified by Sumasu and Li. By modifying the method to include selecting an overlapping MCS table to improve SNR as taught by Ye, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), and improved SNR (Ye [0117]) are achieved.
As to claim 21:
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2 from the perspective of the network node.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Sumasu and Li, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pelletier et al. US 20210266953 (hereinafter “Pelletier”)
As to claim 12:
The combination of Li, Sumasu, and Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive or transmit an initial data transmission associated with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process using an MCS from a first active MCS table; and wherein, in response to the MAC-CE a second MCS table signaled by the MAC-CE instead of the first active MCS table is activated prior to a termination of the HARQ process at a slot determined by an activation time of the second MCS table, wherein the communication with the base station further comprises receiving or transmitting one or more HARQ retransmission of the initial data transmission based at least in part on the first MCS table that was active during the initial data transmission.
However, Pelletier further teaches transmitting and retransmitting using the same MCS table during an allocated period of time which includes:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive or transmit an initial data transmission associated with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process using an MCS from a first active MCS table; (“if the DCI schedules a HARQ process (e.g., based on the HARQ process identity) that was last scheduled using a different C-RNTI value but the MCS or MCS table of the retransmission is different than the one used when this process was last scheduled for this HARQ process;”, Pelletier [0114])
and wherein, in response to the MAC-CE (“In such cases, the WTRU may include the RNTI value corresponding to the associated MCS table in the C-RNTI MAC CE”, Pelletier [0109]), a second MCS table signaled by the MAC-CE instead of the first active MCS table is activated prior to a termination of the HARQ process at a slot determined by an activation time of the second MCS table, wherein the communication with the base station further comprises receiving or transmitting one or more HARQ retransmission of the initial data transmission based at least in part on the first MCS table that was active during the initial data transmission. (“In some embodiments, the type of and/or triggers for retransmissions or new transmissions with a configured grant may depend on the type of MCS table associated with this configured grant. Such examples, described in the following, enable different levels of reliability for traffic using different types of MCS tables.”, Pelletier [0139]) (“In some embodiments, if a configured grant timer associated with a configured grant is running, the WTRU may perform a retransmission (e.g., a non-adaptive retransmission) using the configured grant if it is associated with a first type of MCS table, and not perform any retransmission if it is associated with a second type of MCS table. In some examples, for a configured grant associated with a first type of MCS table, the WTRU may stop an associated configured grant timer if it receives a certain type of physical layer signaling.”, Pelletier [0140]) (“if the DCI schedules a HARQ process (e.g., based on the HARQ process identity) that was last scheduled using a different C-RNTI value but the MCS or MCS table of the retransmission is different than the one used when this process was last scheduled for this HARQ process;”, Pelletier [0114])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Pelletier are analogous because they pertain to activating a MCS table
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting and retransmitting using the same MCS table during an allocated period of time as described in Pelletier into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include transmitting and retransmitting using the same MCS table during an allocated period of time as taught by Pelletier, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), and uninterrupted transmission (Pelletier [0140]) are achieved.
As to claim 13:
The combination of Li, Sumasu, and Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to : receive or transmit an initial data transmission associated with a HARQ process using an MCS from a first active MCS table wherein the MAC-CE activating a second MCS table instead of the first active MCS table is received prior to a termination of the HARQ process, wherein, in response to the MAC-CE, the HARQ process is aborted at a moment where the second MCS table becomes active, wherein the communication with the base station further comprises receiving or transmitting the initial data transmission in another HARQ process using the second MCS table activated by the MAC-CE.
However, Pelletier further teaches transmitting and retransmitting using a different MCS table during an allocated period of time which includes:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to : receive or transmit an initial data transmission associated with a HARQ process using an MCS from a first active MCS table (“if the DCI schedules a HARQ process (e.g., based on the HARQ process identity) that was last scheduled using a different C-RNTI value but the MCS or MCS table of the retransmission is different than the one used when this process was last scheduled for this HARQ process;”, Pelletier [0114]) ,
wherein the MAC-CE (“In such cases, the WTRU may include the RNTI value corresponding to the associated MCS table in the C-RNTI MAC CE”, Pelletier [0109]) activating a second MCS table instead of the first active MCS table is received prior to a termination of the HARQ process, wherein, in response to the MAC-CE, the HARQ process is aborted at a moment where the second MCS table becomes active, wherein the communication with the base station further comprises receiving or transmitting the initial data transmission in another HARQ process using the second MCS table activated by the MAC-CE. (“In some examples, an existing timer (e.g., drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL) may be started only if a PDCCH indicates a UL transmission indicating a second type of MCS table, or a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant associated with a second type of MCS table. An existing timer (e.g., drx-RetransmissionTimerUL) may be stopped under the same condition.”, Pelletier [0204]) (“In some implementations, preemption may include the WTRU stopping a first ongoing transmission (e.g., corresponding to a first grant) to start a second transmission (e.g., corresponding to a second grant).”, Pelletier [0204])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Pelletier are analogous because they pertain to activating a MCS table
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting and retransmitting using the same MCS table during an allocated period of time as described in Pelletier into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include transmitting and retransmitting using the same MCS table during an allocated period of time as taught by Pelletier, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), and uninterrupted transmission (Pelletier [0140]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Sumasu and Li, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hakola et al. US 20180343043 (hereinafter “Hakola”) and Xia et al. US 20160249244 (hereinafter “Xia”)
As to claim 8:
The combination of Li, Sumasu, and Yao as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to support a Channel State Feedback (CSF) session by: receiving a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a channel state feedback (CSF) report; receiving a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); and transmitting a CSF report based on receiving the CSI-RS while a different MCS table is activated during the CSF session, and wherein the CSF report corresponds to a MCS table which was active on one of: a slot where the CSI-RS is received, on a slot where the DCI is received, or on a channel state information (CSI) reference slot associated with the CSF report.
However, Hakola further teaches receiving and transmitting a channel state report based on the selected MCS table which includes:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to support a Channel State Feedback (CSF) session by: receiving a downlink control information (DCI) (“a predetermined Downlink Control Information (DCI) may be used for indicating the timing relationship (among other parameters) for the transmitted downlink sounding burst(s)”, Hakola [0050]) scheduling a channel state feedback (CSF) report (“initiating the transmission of the downlink sounding burst in response to a channel state information (CSI) procedure (e.g., in response to channel state feedback from the UE) where a user device may send a CSI report/CSI feedback to the AP reporting a state of a wireless channel.”, Hakola [0040]); receiving a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); and transmitting a CSF report based on receiving the CSI-RS while a different MCS table is activated during the CSF session, (“in response to measuring signal quality or signal strength of cell specific reference signals (e.g., CSI-RS signals), a UE may send a CSI (channel state information) report to the AP indicating a rank indication (RI), a precoder matrix indication (PMI), that indicates a preferred precoder to use for downlink transmission, and a channel quality indication (CQI) that represents a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) that can be used for communication with the user device.”, Hakola [0036])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Hakola are analogous because they pertain to activating a MCS table
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include channel state reporting based on CSI-RS for a specific MCS table as described in Hakola into Yao as modified by Li and Sumasu. By modifying the method to include channel state reporting based on CSI-RS for a specific MCS table as taught by Hakola, improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034] and Hakola [0031]) are achieved.
The combination of Yao, Sumasu, Li, and Hakola as described above does not explicitly teach:
and wherein the CSF report corresponds to a MCS table which was active on one of: a slot where the CSI-RS is received, on a slot where the DCI is received, or on a channel state information (CSI) reference slot associated with the CSF report.
However, Xia further teaches MCS table that corresponds to a CSI-RS which includes:
and wherein the CSF report (“A base station notifies a UE of at least two CSI-RSs, and the base station notifies the UE of CQI configuration information respectively corresponding to the at least two CSI-RSs, so that the UE separately obtains, according to the CQI configuration information, a CQI corresponding to at least one CSI-RS of the at least two CSI-RSs, and the UE reports the CQI to the base station.”, Xia [0286]) corresponds to a MCS table which was active on one of: a slot where the CSI-RS is received (“The MCS configuration information corresponding to the CSI-RS A may be used to indicate an MCS table A, such as the second MCS table described above, and the MCS configuration information corresponding to the CSI-RS B may be used to indicate an MCS table B”, Xia [0290]), on a slot where the DCI is received, or on a channel state information (CSI) reference slot associated with the CSF report.
Yao, Li, Sumasu, Hakola, and Xia are analogous because they pertain to activating a MCS table.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include MCS table that corresponds to a CSI-RS as described in Xia into Yao as modified by Hakola, Sumasu, and Li. By modifying the method to include MCS table that corresponds to a CSI-RS as taught by Xia, the benefits of improved reporting (Xia [0319]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), and improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034] and Hakola [0031]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Sumasu, Li, and Ye as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Cheng et al. US 20220239417 (hereinafter “Cheng”)
As to claim 17:
The combination of Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Ye as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the MAC-CE activating the MCS table is received in response to a channel state feedback (CSF) report of the apparatus indicating an index corresponding to the MCS table.
However, Cheng further teaches activating a MCS table based on the channel state report which includes:
The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the MAC-CE activating the MCS table is received in response to a channel state feedback (CSF) report of the apparatus indicating an index corresponding to the MCS table. (“In NR, the AMC procedure includes two major parts: channel quality index (CQI) reporting and modulation and coding scheme (MCS) scheduling. For the CQI reporting, if a channel state information (CSI) report is configured (e.g., CSI parameters and a CQI table are configured), the UE may report a CQI index as an MCS recommendation based on CSI measurement configured by the CSI parameters. For MCS scheduling, the UE may be configured with an MCS table via an RRC message, and dynamic
AMC may be achieved by a dynamic downlink control information (DCI) indication from a serving gNB.”, Cheng [0073])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, Ye, and Cheng are analogous because they pertain to activating a MCS table
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include channel state report that includes MCS index as described in Cheng into Yao as modified by Sumasu, Li, and Ye. By modifying the method to include channel state report that includes MCS index as taught by Cheng, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), improved SNR (Ye [0117]), and improved reliability (Cheng [0079]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of Sumasu, Li, and Ye as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Park et al. US 20230319822 (hereinafter “Park”)
As to claim 18:
The combination of Yao, Li, Sumasu, and Ye as described above does not explicitly teach:
The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the MAC-CE activating the MCS table is received in response to a request indication from the apparatus to switch to a different MCS table.
However, Park further teaches UE requesting for a MCS table which includes:
The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the MAC-CE (“For example, the configuration information may be transmitted through higher layer (e.g., RRC or MAC CE) signaling.”, Park [0325]) activating the MCS table is received in response to a request indication from the apparatus to switch to a different MCS table. (“The UE may make a request (to the gNB) for a conservative MCS or use a table for URLLC (e.g., Table 3 of TS 38.214) as a basic MCS table.”, Park [0265])
Yao, Li, Sumasu, Ye, and Park are analogous because they pertain to activating a MCS table
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include UE requesting for a MCS table as described in Park into Yao as modified by Sumasu, Li, and Ye. By modifying the method to include UE requesting for a MCS table as taught by Park, the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Yao [0034]), improved selection of MCS table (Li [0327] and Sumasu [0054]), improved SNR (Ye [0117]), and improved reliability (Cheng [0263]) are achieved.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471