DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claim 1 has been amended, claims 2-3 are canceled, claim 8 is as previously presented. Claims 1 and 8 are presently examined.
Status of objections and rejections
The rejection has been modified as necessitated by the applicant’s claimed range.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant has request that in claim 1 the language “consisting substantially of: Li; M; Al: O; and X” to be interpreted within the full range of the disclose as opposed to being 95% or greater as required by claim 1. The instant specification notes that “substantially” is 90% or more [page 2 line 33- page 3 line 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio (WO 2020070958 A1; English equivalent US 20210098824 A1) and in view of Washida (WO 2019035418 A1; English equivalent US 20210135199 A1) and as evidenced by Electronegativity Cl vs O.
Regarding claim 1, Nishio discloses a solid electrolyte material [0004, Nishio] consisting substantially of: Li, M, Zr, and X [0004, Nishio Li6−(4+a)b(Zr1−aMa)bX6, M= Ta and/or Nb, X = a halogen element,: 0<a<1 and 0<b<1.5.], wherein the M is at least one selected from the group consisting of Ta and Nb [0004, Nishio], the X is at least one selected from the group consisting of Cl [0004, Table 1 (1-27), Nishio], and a ratio of a sum of amounts of substance of the Li, the M, the Zr, and the X to a total of amounts of substance of all elements constituting the solid electrolyte material is 95% or more [0004, Table 1 (1-27), Nishio discloses only using the elements Li, (Ta, Nb), Zr, and (Cl, Br). As such, the ratio of a sum of amounts would be 100%], and a ratio of an amount of substance of the M to an amount of substance of the Li is 60% or more and 90% or less [0004, Nishio].
Nishio discloses a general formula of Li6−(4+a)b(Zr1−aMa)bX6, M= Ta and/or Nb, X = a halogen element,: 0<a<1 and 0<b<1.5. This overlaps with the applicants claimed range when b = 1 and 0.75≤a≤0.9; when a = 0.75 and b = 1 the ratio of M/Li = 0.75/1.25 = 0.6, when a = 0.9 and b = 1 the ratio of M/Li = 0.81.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim (see MPEP 2144.05).
Nishio is silent to 1) The use of aluminum in place of zirconium. 2) The presence of oxygen. 3) A ratio of an amount of substance of the Al to a sum of amounts of substance of the M and the Al is 10% or more and 40% or less. 4) the XRD of the crystalline phase. 5) The ionic conductivity of the solid electrolyte material.
In regard to 1) and 2), Washida discloses a solid electrolyte with a lithium containing composite oxide (LiAO) [0015, Washida]. Where A is one or more of Ti, Zr, Ta, Nb, Zn, W, and Al) [0015, Washida], and a halogen is present on the surface of the lithium containing composite oxide [0015, Washida]. Washida notes that “Nb and Ti, Zr, Ta, Zn, W, and Al are common in that they are valve metals, and it can be considered that the same effect can be obtained.” [0159, Washida].
The works of Nishio and Washida are analogous as both are a lithium composite solid electrolyte material. The material is comprised of lithium, one or more valve metals (i.e. Zr, Nb, Ta, Al, etc.), and an electronegative ion-conducting element (i.e. halide, oxide).
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Nishio such that:
A) Zr is substituted with Al as a matter of art recognized equivalent, see MPEP 2144.06. Washida provides a list of valve metals that are recognized in the art as equivalents as they serve the same purpose and function with a reasonable expectation of similar results.
B) Have both oxygen and a halide be present in the composite. For clarity of the record, the modified solid electrolyte material would have the following general formula Li, Al, (Nb, Ta), X; where X = a halogen element (Cl and/or Br) and oxygen]. As both halide [0025-0030, Nishio]and oxide [0007-0009, Washida] composites have been reported to have high lithium-ion conductivity. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that substituting a less electronegative element with a more electronegative element (Cl, e.n. = 3.16 vs O, e.n. = 3.44, see Electronegativity Cl vs O) will predictably lead to a solid electrolyte material with high lithium-ion conductivity barring evidence to the contrary.
In regards to 3) by substituting Zr with the equivalent valve metal Al the new general formula of modified Nishio is concerning the elements Li, Al, and M where M = Ta and/or Nb is as follows Li6−(4+a)b(Al1−aMa)b, 0<a<1 and 0<b<1.5 (for simplicity the examiner is not considering the presence of the halide and oxygen elements in the general formula) . In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim (see MPEP 2144.05). For example and being consistent with the exemplified values of a and b used previously in the rejection of claim 1. When b = 1 and 0.75≤a≤0.9 then a ratio of Al/(M+Al) is as follows:
when a = 0.75 then (1-0.75)/(0.75+(1-0.75)) = 0.25/(0.75+0.25) = 25%
when a = 0.9 then (1-0.9)/(0.9+(1-0.9)) = 0.1/(0.9+0.1) = 10%.
Therefore the ratio of Al to the sum of Al and M in modified Nishio reads on the applicant’s claimed range.
In regards to 4) Nishio as presently modified above discloses that the solid material may be either crystalline or amorphous [0032, Nishio]. However, they are is explicitly silent to the X-ray diffraction peaks. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the location and presence of these peaks is dependent on the elements present and crystallinity of the material; because modified Nishio teaches the instant claimed elements and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a crystalline phase selecting from the finite (two) options taught as viable by Nishio ([0032]) the peaks claimed are met.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003), see MPEP 2112.II.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999), see MPEP 2112.I.
In regards to 5) the examiner notes that the final product of Nishio as presently modified is the same as that of the instant invention. Specifically, a solid electrolyte material consisting substantially of Li, Ta, Al, O, and Cl. Where the ratio of Al to Ta and Al is 10-40 mol% and the ratio of Ta to Li is 60-90%. As noted by the applicant in the instant specification, when solid electrolyte materials possess these features above an ionic conductivity of greater than 9.2 * 10-1 mS/cm [Table 1, instant spec].
Because of this one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that two materials possessing the same composition will produce the same results. In this case the same results are an Ionic conductivity greater than 9.2 * 10-1 mS/cm.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003), see MPEP 2112.II.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999), see MPEP 2112.I.
Regarding claim 8, Nishio as modified above discloses a battery comprising: a positive electrode [0005, Nishio]; a negative electrode [0005, Nishio]; and an electrolyte layer disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [0005, Nishio], wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the electrolyte layer includes the solid electrolyte material [0005, Nishio].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below for details.
Applicant argues allowability for the following reasons.
First, Applicant alleges that Nishio does not aim to specify any particular crystal structure. To which the examine notes the following. Nishio teaches that the structure may be crystalline. Additionally, applicant does not claim a “particular crystal structure” (e.g. cubic, tetragonal, etc.) Applicant only claims a range of peaks on an XRD. As such the applicants arguments are not persuasive.
Second, applicant argues that the ionic conductivity of Nishio is lower than the claimed invention. However, these arguments are not persuasive as the explicit examples of Nishio are not relied upon. Instead a modified version of Nishio is pointed to by the examiner and as such will have ionic conductivity different from that of what the applicant argues. As such these arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant again argues that replacing Zr with Al is not a simple substitution. Again the examiner and Washida note that Zr and Al are both valve metals and as such possess the same properties in which current passes in only one direction. Because these materials are recognized to possess this shared property the examiner maintains that replacing Zr with Al is a simple substitution. Applicants arguments that this substitution would not produce predictable results is also unpersuasive as they have not explained how replacing one valve metal with a different would produce two different products. The examiner maintains that one can reasonably predict that this simple substitution will predictable still produce a material able to serve as a solid electrolyte material.
Applicant additionally argues that one cannot predict the difference XRD peak location and ionic conductivity of the material in which Zr is replaced by Al. The examiner respectfully notes that the prior art is not required to predict these properties pointed to by the applicant. Rather the examiner has shown that the prior art provides motivation to arrive at the applicant’s claimed invention. Because modified Nishio and the applicant have a product with the same physical features as outlined in claim 1 then these materials will possess the same properties. Such as, an XRD peak ranging from 11.08-15.63 o and a material with an ionic conductivity greater than 9.2 * 10-1 mS/cm.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003), see MPEP 2112.II.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999), see MPEP 2112.I.
Applicant argues that Nishio and Washida do not teach or suggest where the X is Cl and the solid electrolyte has an ionic conductivity greater than 9.2 * 10-1 mS/cm. The examiner notes that Nishio does teach where X is Cl as cited in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally the examiner notes that the arguments in regards to ionic conductivity are address directly above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Chu in claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Chu applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner maintains their rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou (US20230140434A1) teaches of a solid electrolyte material containing valve metals.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724