DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Remarks pages 12-15, filed 07/30/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shibata US 20120268791.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant states that the reference of Takenaka does not teach of prohibiting a change in the setting value of a particular setting item because a user is not prohibited from registering a personal setting value for display language (Applicants Remarks pages 12-13). Examiner disagrees with Applicant. Takenaka teaches a user having a general user authority allowed to change only the personal setting value of the user himself. Alternatively, the user having the general user authority may be allowed to change the common setting values of some of the items of the common setting information (paragraph 0053). This teaches that a general user is prohibited from changing all of the items of the common setting values of the common setting information.
Applicant states that the reference Mizuno fails to teach assigning a change prohibition attribute to the setting value of a specific setting item (Applicants Remarks pages 13-14). Examiner disagrees with Applicant. Mizuno teaches customization function of enabling the user to freely set the initial setting value (assigned prohibition attribute), for prohibiting the user from changing the setting as the personal setting value while permitting the user to change the setting as the common setting value, for the item prohibited from being customized (changed). As a result, the image forming apparatus 2200 can prevent the general user from changing the setting against the demand from the administrator or the like (paragraph 0300). This would read on when a process is executed using configuration information that includes a configuration item to which a setting value change prohibition attribute is assigned, an attribute that prohibits changing the setting value is assigned to the setting item of the configuration information generated when that process is executed, in particular assigning a change prohibition attribute to the setting value of a specific setting item
Applicant states that neither Takenaka or Mizuno fails to teach the change prohibition attribute is also inherited by the setting item of the history information that is generated when a certain process is executed (Applicants Remarks page 14). Examiner agrees that Takenaka or Mizuno fails to teach the change prohibition attribute is also inherited by the setting item of the history information that is generated when a certain process is executed.
Shibata 20120268791 teaches CPU 101 may store all the created temporary storage information lists 307 as the history to the parameter setting history list 304 in the normal mode 301. If the (in a case) adjustment item (setting item) in the stored temporary storage information list 307 (history) includes the storage inhibition item (attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value), the CPU 101 may prohibit reading of the adjustment item for setting (paragraph 0110). Note: that the CPU 101 prohibits the reading of the adjustment item, which means that the adjustment item is prohibited from being changed to another adjustment item
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 10, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka US 20170235529 in view of Mizuno et al US 20170094121 further in view of Shibata US 20120268791.
Regarding claim 1, Takenaka teaches an information processing apparatus (image forming apparatus 200 (paragraph 0040) comprising:
a processor configured to:
in a case where a process is executed, generate setting information in which a setting value in executing the process is stored for each setting item (setting value storing control unit 403 is a control unit for storing common setting information and personal setting information in a setting DB 430. (paragraph 0047);
display a setting screen including personal setting information usable by only a specific user and shared setting information usable by a plurality of users (user mode control unit 404 displays a setting change screen for changing each of the common setting value and the personal setting value, on the liquid crystal display unit 301. (paragraph 0051);
in a case where the personal setting information is changed to the shared setting information (the setting value storing control unit 403 stores the setting value of the display language setting information, for which the change instruction has been received in step S1501, in the setting DB 430 as the common setting value (setting value reflection processing). At this point, the display operation control unit 401 may display a message and the like, indicating that the common setting value has been changed, on the operation unit 2012 (paragraph 0045 and 0069), and a designation of a setting item for which a change of the setting value is prohibited among setting items included in the setting information is received (The setting value storing control unit 403 reads the common setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of logout, and the common setting value is reflected on each setting information piece of the image forming apparatus 200. Thus, the functions available under the un-logged in state can be used with the common setting value (paragraph 0050) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052), assign an attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to the setting item for which the designation for prohibiting the change of the setting value is received (A common setting value may be used as an initial value of a non-registered personal setting value, in a case where the personal setting value has the same key as that of the common setting value. the personal setting value of the key “display language” is not registered for a target “user C”. Thus, “English” which is the common setting value is used as the setting value of the display language for the user C (paragraph 0049) Note: the “display language” is the attribute, since the display language of the personal setting is not registered and cannot be used by every User. Thereby prohibiting the use of changing to any language other than English)
Takenaka fails to teach in a case where the process is executed using the setting information including the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of setting information generated in a case where the process is executed
Mizuno et al teaches in a case where the process is executed using the setting information including the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, (enabling the user to freely set (assign) the initial setting value, for prohibiting the user from changing the setting as the personal setting value while permitting the user to change the setting as the common setting value, for the item prohibited from being customized. As a result, the image forming apparatus 2200 can prevent the general user from changing the setting against the demand from the administrator or the like. (paragraph 0300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takenaka to include: in a case where the process is executed using the setting information including the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of setting information generated in a case where the process is executed.
The reason for doing so would be to allow for certain functions and processes to be performed by an authorized user.
Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al fails to teach assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of history information generated in a case where the process is executed
Shibata teaches assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of history information generated in a case where the process is executed (CPU 101 may store all the created temporary storage information lists 307 as the history to the parameter setting history list 304 in the normal mode 301. If the (in a case) adjustment item (setting item) in the stored temporary storage information list 307 (history) includes the storage inhibition item (attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value), the CPU 101 may prohibit reading of the adjustment item for setting (paragraph 0110). Note: that the CPU 101 prohibits the reading of the adjustment item, which means that the adjustment item is prohibited from being changed to another adjustment item)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al to include: assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of history information generated in a case where the process is executed.
The reason for doing so would be to allow for certain functions are prohibited from change.
Regarding claim 2, Takenaka in view of Mizuno and further in view of Shibata teaches wherein the processor is configured to: not receive an operation of changing the setting value of the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, on a screen on which a setting content of the setting information is displayed (Takenaka: user mode control unit 404 displays a setting change screen for changing each of the common setting value and the personal setting value, on the liquid crystal display unit 301. FIGS. 8A to 8E are diagrams each illustrating an example of a user mode screen. The user selects a desired screen from an initial screen selection list 811 on the initial screen setting change screen 810, and sets the screen thus selected as the initial screen (paragraph 0051) Note: the user selects the settings to change, therefore, if a setting is not selected then a change operation is not received
Regarding claim 5, Takenaka in view of Mizuno and further in view of Shibata teaches wherein the processor is configured to: in duplicating the shared setting information as the personal setting information, in a case where the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned is included in the shared setting information, duplicate the shared setting information together with the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value (Takenaka: A common setting value may be used as an initial value of a non-registered personal setting value, in a case where the personal setting value has the same key as that of the common setting value. the personal setting value of the key “display language” is not registered for a target “user C”. Thus, “English” which is the common setting value is used as the setting value of the display language for the user C (paragraph 0049) Note: the “display language” is the attribute, since the display language of the personal setting is not registered and cannot be used by every User. Thereby prohibiting the use of changing to any language other than English. The display language is included in the common setting and personal setting, reading on duplicating the shared setting
Regarding claim 6, Takenaka in view of Mizuno and further in view of Shibata teaches wherein the processor is configured to: in duplicating the shared setting information as the personal setting information, in a case where the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned is included in the shared setting information, duplicate the shared setting information together with the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value (Takenaka: A common setting value may be used as an initial value of a non-registered personal setting value, in a case where the personal setting value has the same key as that of the common setting value. the personal setting value of the key “display language” is not registered for a target “user C”. Thus, “English” which is the common setting value is used as the setting value of the display language for the user C (paragraph 0049) Note: the “display language” is the attribute, since the display language of the personal setting is not registered and cannot be used by every User. Thereby prohibiting the use of changing to any language other than English. The display language is included in the common setting and personal setting, reading on duplicating the shared setting.
Regarding claim 9, Takenaka in view of Mizuno and further in view of Shibata teaches wherein the processor is configured to: in a case where the personal setting information is changed to the shared setting information ( Takenaka: The authentication control unit 402 changes the authentication state from the logged in (personal) state to the un-logged in (shared) state upon receiving a logout instruction from the user via the liquid crystal display unit 301. The authentication control unit 402 performs common setting value reflection processing via the setting value storing control unit 403 (paragraph 0045), and the designation for prohibiting the change of the setting value is received, assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to all setting items included in the setting information (Takenaka: The setting value storing control unit 403 reads the common setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of logout, and the common setting value is reflected on each setting information piece of the image forming apparatus 200. Thus, the functions available under the un-logged in state can be used with the common setting value (paragraph 0050) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 10, Takenaka in view of Mizuno and further in view of Shibata teaches wherein the processor is configured to: in a case where the personal setting information is changed to the shared setting information (Takenaka: The authentication control unit 402 changes the authentication state from the logged in (personal) state to the un-logged in (shared) state upon receiving a logout instruction from the user via the liquid crystal display unit 301. The authentication control unit 402 performs common setting value reflection processing via the setting value storing control unit 403 (paragraph 0045), and the designation for prohibiting the change of the setting value is received, assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to all setting items included in the setting information (Takenaka: The setting value storing control unit 403 reads the common setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of logout, and the common setting value is reflected on each setting information piece of the image forming apparatus 200. Thus, the functions available under the un-logged in state can be used with the common setting value (paragraph 0050) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 14, Takenaka in view of Mizuno and further in view of Shibata teaches wherein the processor is configured to: change the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value of the setting item included in the shared setting information by an operation of a user having preset authorization (Takenaka: user mode control unit 404 has a function of registering/changing a setting value of the common setting information and the personal setting information (paragraph 0051). Items changeable in the user mode may include an item that can be set only by a user having a special authority (paragraph 0053) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052)
Regarding claim 15, Takenaka in view of Mizuno and further in view of Shibata teaches wherein the processor is configured to: change the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value of the setting item included in the shared setting information by an operation of a manager user who has executed a preset authentication process (Takenaka: user mode control unit 404 has a function of registering/changing a setting value of the common setting information and the personal setting information (paragraph 0051). Items changeable in the user mode may include an item that can be set only by a user having a special authority (paragraph 0053) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052)
Regarding claim 16, Takenaka in view of Mizuno and further in view of Shibata teaches wherein the processor is configured to: change the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value of the setting item included in the shared setting information by an operation of a user who has registered the shared setting information (Takenaka: user mode control unit 404 has a function of registering/changing a setting value of the common setting information and the personal setting information (paragraph 0051). Items changeable in the user mode may include an item that can be set only by a user having a special authority (paragraph 0053) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052)
Regarding claim 17, Takenaka in view of Mizuno and further in view of Shibata teaches wherein the processor is configured to: delete the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value assigned to the setting item included in the shared setting information by the operation of the user having the preset authorization (Takenaka: authentication control unit 402 provides user information registering, deleting, and updating functions and the like. The authentication control unit 402 stores the user identifier for uniquely identifying the user in the user information DB 420 (paragraph 0046). user mode control unit 404 has a function of registering/changing a setting value of the common setting information and the personal setting information (paragraph 0051). Items changeable in the user mode may include an item that can be set only by a user having a special authority (paragraph 0053) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052)
Regarding claim 18, Takenaka in view of Mizuno and further in view of Shibata teaches wherein the processor is configured to: assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to the setting item included in the shared setting information by the operation of the user having the preset authorization (Takenaka: user mode control unit 404 has a function of registering/changing a setting value of the common setting information and the personal setting information (paragraph 0051). Items changeable in the user mode may include an item that can be set only by a user having a special authority (paragraph 0053) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 19, Takenaka teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program (paragraph 0035) causing a computer to execute a process comprising:
generating, in a case where a process is executed, setting information in which a setting value in executing the process is stored for each setting item (setting value storing control unit 403 is a control unit for storing common setting information and personal setting information in a setting DB 430. (paragraph 0047);
displaying a setting screen including personal setting information that is the setting information in which the setting value in executing the process is stored for each setting item and that is usable by only a specific user, and shared setting information usable by a plurality of users (user mode control unit 404 displays a setting change screen for changing each of the common setting value and the personal setting value, on the liquid crystal display unit 301. (paragraph 0051) setting value storing control unit 403 reads the personal setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of login and setting value storing control unit 403 reads the common setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of logout (paragraph 0050);
assigning, in a case where the personal setting information is changed to the shared setting information (the setting value storing control unit 403 stores the setting value of the display language setting information, for which the change instruction has been received in step S1501, in the setting DB 430 as the common setting value (setting value reflection processing). At this point, the display operation control unit 401 may display a message and the like, indicating that the common setting value has been changed, on the operation unit 2012 (paragraph 0045 and 0069), and a designation of a setting item for which a change of the setting value is prohibited among setting items included in the setting information is received (The setting value storing control unit 403 reads the common setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of logout, and the common setting value is reflected on each setting information piece of the image forming apparatus 200. Thus, the functions available under the un-logged in state can be used with the common setting value (paragraph 0050) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052), an attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to the setting item for which the designation for prohibiting the change of the setting value is received (A common setting value may be used as an initial value of a non-registered personal setting value, in a case where the personal setting value has the same key as that of the common setting value. the personal setting value of the key “display language” is not registered for a target “user C”. Thus, “English” which is the common setting value is used as the setting value of the display language for the user C (paragraph 0049) Note: the “display language” is the attribute, since the display language of the personal setting is not registered and cannot be used by every User. Thereby prohibiting the use of changing to any language other than English); and
Takenaka teaches assigning, in a case where the process is executed using the setting information including the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned,
Mizzuno teaches assigning, in a case where the process is executed using the setting information including the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, (enabling the user to freely set the initial setting value, for prohibiting the user from changing the setting as the personal setting value while permitting the user to change the setting as the common setting value, for the item prohibited from being customized. As a result, the image forming apparatus 2200 can prevent the general user from changing the setting against the demand from the administrator or the like. (paragraph 0300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takenaka to include: the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of history information generated in a case where the process is executed.
The reason for doing so would be to allow for certain functions and processes to be performed by an authorized user.
Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al fails to teach the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of history information generated in a case where the process is executed.
Shibata teaches the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of history information generated in a case where the process is executed. (CPU 101 may store all the created temporary storage information lists 307 as the history to the parameter setting history list 304 in the normal mode 301. If the (in a case) adjustment item (setting item) in the stored temporary storage information list 307 (history) includes the storage inhibition item (attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value), the CPU 101 may prohibit reading of the adjustment item for setting (paragraph 0110). Note: that the CPU 101 prohibits the reading of the adjustment item, which means that the adjustment item is prohibited from being changed to another adjustment item)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al to include: the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of history information generated in a case where the process is executed..
The reason for doing so would be to allow for certain functions are prohibited from change.
Regarding claim 20, Takenaka teaches an information processing method comprising:
generating, in a case where a process is executed, setting information in which a setting value in executing the process is stored for each setting item (setting value storing control unit 403 is a control unit for storing common setting information and personal setting information in a setting DB 430. (paragraph 0047);
displaying a setting screen including personal setting information that is the setting information in which the setting value in executing the process is stored for each setting item and that is usable by only a specific user, and shared setting information usable by a plurality of users (user mode control unit 404 displays a setting change screen for changing each of the common setting value and the personal setting value, on the liquid crystal display unit 301. (paragraph 0051) setting value storing control unit 403 reads the personal setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of login and setting value storing control unit 403 reads the common setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of logout (paragraph 0050);
assigning, in a case where the personal setting information is changed to the shared setting information (the setting value storing control unit 403 stores the setting value of the display language setting information, for which the change instruction has been received in step S1501, in the setting DB 430 as the common setting value (setting value reflection processing). At this point, the display operation control unit 401 may display a message and the like, indicating that the common setting value has been changed, on the operation unit 2012 (paragraph 0045 and 0069), and a designation of a setting item for which a change of the setting value is prohibited among setting items included in the setting information is received (The setting value storing control unit 403 reads the common setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of logout, and the common setting value is reflected on each setting information piece of the image forming apparatus 200. Thus, the functions available under the un-logged in state can be used with the common setting value (paragraph 0050) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052), an attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to the setting item for which the designation for prohibiting the change of the setting value is received (A common setting value may be used as an initial value of a non-registered personal setting value, in a case where the personal setting value has the same key as that of the common setting value. the personal setting value of the key “display language” is not registered for a target “user C”. Thus, “English” which is the common setting value is used as the setting value of the display language for the user C (paragraph 0049) Note: the “display language” is the attribute, since the display language of the personal setting is not registered and cannot be used by every User. Thereby prohibiting the use of changing to any language other than English); and
Takenaka fails to teach assigning, in a case where the process is executed using the setting information including the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of setting information generated in a case where the process is executed..
Mizzuno teaches assigning, in a case where the process is executed using the setting information including the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, (enabling the user to freely set (assign) the initial setting value, for prohibiting the user from changing the setting as the personal setting value while permitting the user to change the setting as the common setting value, for the item prohibited from being customized. As a result, the image forming apparatus 2200 can prevent the general user from changing the setting against the demand from the administrator or the like. (paragraph 0300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takenaka to include: assigning, in a case where the process is executed using the setting information including the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned,
The reason for doing so would be to allow for certain functions and processes to be performed by an authorized user.
Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al fails to teach the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of history information generated in a case where the process is executed.
Shibata teaches the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of history information generated in a case where the process is executed. (CPU 101 may store all the created temporary storage information lists 307 as the history to the parameter setting history list 304 in the normal mode 301. If the (in a case) adjustment item (setting item) in the stored temporary storage information list 307 (history) includes the storage inhibition item (attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value), the CPU 101 may prohibit reading of the adjustment item for setting (paragraph 0110). Note: that the CPU 101 prohibits the reading of the adjustment item, which means that the adjustment item is prohibited from being changed to another adjustment item)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al to include: the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to a setting item corresponding to the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned among setting items of history information generated in a case where the process is executed.
The reason for doing so would be to allow for certain functions are prohibited from change.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, 8, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka US 20170235529 in view of Mizuno et al US 20170094121 further in view of Shibata US 20120268791 further in view of Yamada US 20200296227.
Regarding claim 3, Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al further in view of Shibata teach all of the limitations of claim 1
Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al further in view of Shibata fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to: display an operator for changing the setting value of the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, in an inoperable state on the screen on which the setting content of the setting information is displayed.
Yamada teaches wherein the processor is configured to: display an operator for changing the setting value of the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, in an inoperable state on the screen on which the setting content of the setting information is displayed (CPU 101A displays “ScanToMike” on the display panel 105A as the configuration name based on the setting “DISPLAY NAME: ScanToMike.” Here, the setting information of FIG. 4 described above that corresponds to “DISPLAY NAME: ScanToMike” indicates setting information for settings that the operator can select from pluralities of settings displayed on the display panel 105A. the setting information may be for settings that are fixed for an MFP. “Fixed” denotes that the operator is restricted or prohibited from selecting other settings (paragraph 0059)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takenaka in view of Mizzuno et al further in view of Shibata to include: wherein the processor is configured to: display an operator for changing the setting value of the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, in an inoperable state on the screen on which the setting content of the setting information is displayed.
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to visually and accurately change particular desired settings.
Regarding 4, Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al further in view of Shibata teach all of the limitations of claim 1
Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al further in view of Shibata fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to: not display an operator for changing the setting value of the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, on the screen on which the setting content of the setting information is displayed.
Yamada teaches wherein the processor is configured to: not display an operator for changing the setting value of the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, on the screen on which the setting content of the setting information is displayed (CPU 101A displays “ScanToMike” on the display panel 105A as the configuration name based on the setting “DISPLAY NAME: ScanToMike.” Here, the setting information of FIG. 4 described above that corresponds to “DISPLAY NAME: ScanToMike” indicates setting information for settings that the operator can select from pluralities of settings displayed on the display panel 105A. the setting information may be for settings that are fixed for an MFP. “Fixed” denotes that the operator is restricted or prohibited from selecting other settings (paragraph 0059)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takenaka in view of Mizzuno et al further in view of Shibata to include: wherein the processor is configured to: display an operator for changing the setting value of the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned, in an inoperable state on the screen on which the setting content of the setting information is displayed.
The reason for doing so would be to allow a user to visually and accurately change particular desired settings.
Regarding claim 7, Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al further in view of Shibata further in view of Yamada teaches wherein the processor is configured to: in duplicating the shared setting information as the personal setting information, in a case where the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned is included in the shared setting information, duplicate the shared setting information together with the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value (Tanaka: A common setting value may be used as an initial value of a non-registered personal setting value, in a case where the personal setting value has the same key as that of the common setting value. the personal setting value of the key “display language” is not registered for a target “user C”. Thus, “English” which is the common setting value is used as the setting value of the display language for the user C (paragraph 0049) Note: the “display language” is the attribute, since the display language of the personal setting is not registered and cannot be used by every User. Thereby prohibiting the use of changing to any language other than English. The display language is included in the common setting and personal setting, reading on duplicating the shared setting.
Regarding claim 8, Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al further in view of Shibata further in view of Yamada teaches wherein the processor is configured to: in duplicating the shared setting information as the personal setting information, in a case where the setting item to which the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value is assigned is included in the shared setting information, duplicate the shared setting information together with the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value (Tanaka: A common setting value may be used as an initial value of a non-registered personal setting value, in a case where the personal setting value has the same key as that of the common setting value. the personal setting value of the key “display language” is not registered for a target “user C”. Thus, “English” which is the common setting value is used as the setting value of the display language for the user C (paragraph 0049) Note: the “display language” is the attribute, since the display language of the personal setting is not registered and cannot be used by every User. Thereby prohibiting the use of changing to any language other than English. The display language is included in the common setting and personal setting, reading on duplicating the shared setting.
Regarding claim 11, Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al further in view of Shibata further in view of Yamada teaches wherein the processor is configured to: in a case where the personal setting information is changed to the shared setting information (Tanaka: The authentication control unit 402 changes the authentication state from the logged in (personal) state to the un-logged in (shared) state upon receiving a logout instruction from the user via the liquid crystal display unit 301. The authentication control unit 402 performs common setting value reflection processing via the setting value storing control unit 403 (paragraph 0045), and the designation for prohibiting the change of the setting value is received, assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to all setting items included in the setting information (Tanaka: The setting value storing control unit 403 reads the common setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of logout, and the common setting value is reflected on each setting information piece of the image forming apparatus 200. Thus, the functions available under the un-logged in state can be used with the common setting value (paragraph 0050) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 12, Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al further in view of Shibata further in view of Yamada teaches wherein the processor is configured to: in a case where the personal setting information is changed to the shared setting information (Takenaka: The authentication control unit 402 changes the authentication state from the logged in (personal) state to the un-logged in (shared) state upon receiving a logout instruction from the user via the liquid crystal display unit 301. The authentication control unit 402 performs common setting value reflection processing via the setting value storing control unit 403 (paragraph 0045), and the designation for prohibiting the change of the setting value is received, assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to all setting items included in the setting information (Takenaka: The setting value storing control unit 403 reads the common setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of logout, and the common setting value is reflected on each setting information piece of the image forming apparatus 200. Thus, the functions available under the un-logged in state can be used with the common setting value (paragraph 0050) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 13, Takenaka in view of Mizuno et al further in view of Shibata further in view of Yamada teaches wherein the processor is configured to: in a case where the personal setting information is changed to the shared setting information (Takenaka: The authentication control unit 402 changes the authentication state from the logged in (personal) state to the un-logged in (shared) state upon receiving a logout instruction from the user via the liquid crystal display unit 301. The authentication control unit 402 performs common setting value reflection processing via the setting value storing control unit 403 (paragraph 0045), and the designation for prohibiting the change of the setting value is received, assign the attribute for prohibiting the change of the setting value to all setting items included in the setting information (Takenaka: The setting value storing control unit 403 reads the common setting value in the setting DB 430 at the time of logout, and the common setting value is reflected on each setting information piece of the image forming apparatus 200. Thus, the functions available under the un-logged in state can be used with the common setting value (paragraph 0050) Note: the setting items that are prohibited are the setting values that have not been registered in the common setting value (see paragraph 0049). setting value storing control unit 403 reflects the setting value as the common setting value (paragraph 0052)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2681
Michael Burleson
October 9, 2025
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 10/23/2025