DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, an optical sensor system in the reply filed on 28 October 2025, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 30-42, 44, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wickersheim et al (US # 4,789,992) in view of Kleinerman (US # 4,708,494) and Marinet et al (US # 6,997,606). The Wickersheim reference discloses an optical sensor system (Col. 1, ll. 14-17) comprising:
a temperature probe (17) comprising a sensing element (13); and
a converter (Fig. 1) to generate a temperature signal,
wherein the converter (Fig. 1) comprises:
a light source (41) configured to generate a pulsed excitation signal to be sent to the sensing element (Col. 6, ll. 50-54; Col. 7. ll. 14-44) that is configured to generate a return signal in response to the pulsed excitation signal, wherein the return signal varies according to temperature (Col. 7, line 62 to col. 8, line 33);
a detection element (33) configured to detect the return signal from the sensing element (13) and generate a readout (39) representative of the return signal (Col. 7, ll. 45-56); and
a calculation element (37) configured to generate the temperature signal, based on the readout from the detection element (Col. 7, ll. 4-14).
It is not clear that the readout of the display (39) is an “analog” readout, but it most likely is, as shown by Figure 1 of Kleinerman which shows the output of the detection elements (24,28) being fed into an “analog divider 30” before being presented to a “readout 32” which is obviously intended to be an analog readout. Even if the display 39 of Wickersheim is assumed to be a digital display, it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to substitute an analog display for a digital display motivated by its art recognized functional equivalence.
The Wickersheim reference does not state that it generates a “safety” signal, but the temperature reading could have been used for anything that the user wanted, including detecting overheating, as suggested by the Marinet reference (Abs.). It would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to use the temperature reading in display 39 as an indication of “safety” depending on the intended use of the temperature sensor.
With respect to claims 30 & 31, the signal (38) of Wickersheim is a temperature signal.
With respect to claims 32 & 33, the Marinet reference discloses signaling a user when a temperature threshold has been exceeded (Col. 1, ll. 13-18), and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to modify the temperature sensor of Wickersheim to do the same to protect a circuit or device from overload.
With respect to claim 34, see Figure 5 of Wickersheim.
With respect to claim 35, the Marinet reference discloses signaling a user when a temperature threshold has been exceeded (Col. 1, ll. 13-18), and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to modify the temperature sensor of Wickersheim to do the same to protect a circuit or device from overload.
With respect to claim 36, see Figure 5 of Wickersheim.
With respect to claim 37, the Marinet reference discloses signaling a user when a temperature threshold has been exceeded (Col. 1, ll. 13-18), and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to modify the temperature sensor of Wickersheim to do the same to protect a circuit or device from overload.
With respect to claim 38, see Figure 5 of Wickersheim.
With respect to claim 39, the sensing element (13) is a phosphor sensing element (Col. 6, ll. 50-54).
With respect to claim 40, see column 8, lines 1-14 of Wichersheim.
With respect to claim 41, the Marinet reference discloses signaling a user when a temperature threshold has been exceeded (Col. 1, ll. 13-18), and it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to modify the temperature sensor of Wickersheim to do the same to protect a circuit or device from overload.
With respect to claim 42, it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to use a safety signal from the Wichersheim temperature sensor system to trip a circuit-breaking relay that would automatically cut off power to an overloading circuit in order to protect it from damage from overheating (as that is what circuit breakers are designed for).
With respect to claim 44, see Figure 5 of Wickersheim.
With respect to claim 52, it would have been obvious to the ordinary practioner to modify the system of Wickersheim to meet the standards of any governing body of the territory that the device was intended to be used in.
Conclusion
Claims 43 and 45-51 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The other references cited but not applied show the general state of the art.
RANDY W. GIBSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2856
/RANDY W GIBSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855