DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments that secondary reference KISHIYAMA does not disclose the amended recitations “derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re-allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle based on a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle”, it is first noted that the claim does not define or describe “a tolerable SOC reduction”, allowing for a broad interpretation. KISHIYAMA discloses the vehicle charging includes SOC target values (¶ 0023, 0025, 0029), and also discloses providing slower charging/delaying departure in order to accommodate other vehicles needs for higher charge rates (¶ 0022, 0029-0030). The disclosure of slower charging/delaying departure implies “an electric power reduction amount”, wherein the slower charging/delayed departure would at least temporarily result in a SOC reduction when compared to the previous charging rate. The temporary SOC reduction is a “tolerable SOC reduction” if the desired SOC target is still met or the delayed departure is agreeable to the “SOC reduction target vehicle”. Therefore, it is submitted that KISHIYAMA teaches the amended recitations within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. It is noted that newly found reference REYNOLDS is relied upon as the primary reference, as REYNOLDS discloses a plurality of “SOC reduction target vehicles” for a single “vehicle that requests an early start of charging”. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the “electric power reduction amount”, “tolerable SOC reduction”, and “compensation/reward” as disclosed in KISHIYAMA for each of the “SOC reduction target vehicles” of REYNOLDS as described in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REYNOLDS (US Pub. No. 2018/0065496) in view of KISHIYAMA (US Pub. No. 2013/0307475; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, REYNOLDS discloses a charging system (¶ 0045: FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing selected elements of a multivehicle charging system 100 in an embodiment according to the present invention), comprising:
one or a plurality of charging stations (2100 and 610-614 in Figure 24 are connected to a dedicated circuit 131 and can be interpreted as a “charging station”; ¶ 0045: voltage comes from an electrical panel (main alternating current [AC] power source 130) and is delivered over a dedicated circuit 131 to a charging station or a group of charging stations; ¶ 0139: In the FIG. 24 embodiment, the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106… when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611); and
a host unit (2000, Fig. 24) configured to hold communication to and from the one or the plurality of charging stations (¶ 0047: a controller may manage EV charging at multiple charging stations, or a controller may manage EV charging at a single charging station; ¶ 0062: the controller 106 is in the charging station 110. In another embodiment, the controller 106 is not in the charging station 110, but is in communication with the charging station; ¶ 0082: the charging station 110 or the controller 106 (FIG. 4) can determine what type of EV is connected to the charging system and can then deliver the correct amperage; ¶ 0129: controller 2000 can perform other functions, in particular the same functions as the controller 106 (as described above in conjunction with the discussion of FIG. 4)),
wherein each of the one or the plurality of charging stations includes:
a plurality of chargers configured to charge batteries mounted to vehicles (¶ 0045: Each charging station includes power electronics (not shown) such as wires, capacitors, transformers, and other electronic components; ¶ 0050: Level 2 or Level 3 charging stations; ¶ 0101: Each charging station, output connection, and/or head can be monitored and controlled (programmed) over a network; ¶ 0124: communication interface 1918 can include, for example, a receiver and a transmitter that can be used to receive and transmit information (wired or wirelessly), such as information from and to the charging stations in a multivehicle charging system or network); and
a charging control module configured to control charging by the plurality of chargers (¶ 0045, 0050, 0101, 0124: a control module is implied for each charging station) in accordance with a charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable),
wherein the vehicles include at least (i) a vehicle that requests an early start of charging (¶ 0007: if an electrical load is present on the priority channel, then the power to the second controller is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel, then power to the second controller can be switched on; ¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel; ¶ 0066: the controller 106 can detect whether an electrical load (e.g., an EV) is connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel. In an embodiment, the controller 106 can also detect a charge signature for an EV connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel; if the charge signature indicates that the EV does not require further charging (e.g., it is fully charged), then the charging current is not provided to the channel) and (ii) state of charge (SOC) reduction target vehicles (¶ 0059: an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount);
wherein the host unit includes a schedule management module configured to create the charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable) and creating the charging schedule comprises re-allocating at least part of future electric power charge amounts from the SOC reduction target vehicles to the vehicle that requests the early start of charging (¶ 0139: the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106. In an embodiment, the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100. In an embodiment, if the second controller 106 receives power from the first controller 2000, then the second controller 106 directs a charging current to the second controller's channels 1-4 one channel at a time. However, when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611), and
wherein the schedule management module is further configured to:
demand the vehicle that requests the early start of charging to pay a price required to benefit from the early start of charging (¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel. Thus, for example, a user can pay to have his or her EV charged at the first charging station for a certain amount of time or for a certain amount or level of charge. Once the paid-for charge is delivered, the priority channel can be turned off and power can be delivered to the second controller to charge EVs at the second charging station and at other charging stations connected to the second controller).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re- allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle based on a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle; for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle; and for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SPC reduction target vehicle the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
KISHIYAMA discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0025: Preferably station control 125 takes into account how much charge energy is currently stored in electric vehicle 115 and understands other charging parameters of enhanced charging system 100 to be able to estimate charge times and expected SOC levels accurately in order to meet the primary needs of user 120; ¶ 0029: desired SOC), derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re-allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0014: The present invention is applicable to any charging station 105, whether it uses a constant power, constant current, constant voltage, algorithmic charging curve, or other charging profile providing a range of charge rates and irrespective of the nature of power source 110; ¶ 0028: Charging station 105 would be able to dynamically allocate different charging rates to different electric vehicles based upon an aggregation of priority and optimization questions of several users at one time. In some cases charging station 105 would not be able to provide all users with full fast charging at the same time and enhanced charging system 100 would dynamically apportion charging energy transfer rates among the several electric vehicles; ¶ 0029: Enhanced charging system 100 offers additional options to the users of the several electric vehicles and to the owner/operator of charging station 105. A simple priority system would have a first electric vehicle (vehicle A) arriving at charging station 105 first receive priority over a second electric vehicle (vehicle B) arriving later. However based upon optimization questions, it may be that vehicle B has need of a full fast charge and vehicle A could use a medium charge and still meet desired SOC and departure targets for both users. Enhanced charging system 100 is able to reallocate resources of charging station 105 to meet both user needs; the slower charge rate is interpreted as a “power reduction amount” which is sufficient to accommodate the other vehicle) based on a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0029: the “tolerable SOC reduction” comprises at least a temporary SOC reduction which would still allow the “SOC reduction target vehicle” to meet a “desired SOC and departure target”);
for each SOC reduction target vehicle, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0030: In the case that all needs of all concurrent users of charging station 105 cannot be met, station control 125 may issue offers to first-in-time higher priority users requesting changes to their travel plans (e.g., delay departure by some predetermined time) in exchange for appropriate compensation. Station control 125 is able to intelligently make offers as it understands all current charging expectations and scheduled charge completion times. For example, user A may be offered a discount on her charging costs if she agrees to delay her departure 15 minutes to accommodate user B's need for a maximum fast charge. When agreed to, the users are notified of the new charging schedules, with both users satisfied of the outcome. In some implementations, concurrent users of charging station 105 may participate in a real-time auction for charging rate in cases where demand exceeds capacity); and
for each SOC reduction target vehicle, present the SPC reduction target vehicle the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0030: see above). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the “electric power reduction amount”, “tolerable SOC reduction”, and “compensation/reward” as disclosed in KISHIYAMA, “for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles” of REYNOLDS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the electric power reduction amount and compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount of KISHIYAMA into the charging system of REYNOLDS to produce an expected result of a charging system including an electric power reduction amount and a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased flexibility in meeting user requests for early charging.
Regarding claim 2, REYNOLDS discloses a charging station (2100 and 610-614 in Figure 24 are connected to a dedicated circuit 131 and can be interpreted as a “charging station”; ¶ 0045: voltage comes from an electrical panel (main alternating current [AC] power source 130) and is delivered over a dedicated circuit 131 to a charging station or a group of charging stations; ¶ 0139: In the FIG. 24 embodiment, the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106… when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611), comprising:
a plurality of chargers configured to charge batteries mounted to vehicles (¶ 0045: Each charging station includes power electronics (not shown) such as wires, capacitors, transformers, and other electronic components; ¶ 0050: Level 2 or Level 3 charging stations; ¶ 0101: Each charging station, output connection, and/or head can be monitored and controlled (programmed) over a network; ¶ 0124: communication interface 1918 can include, for example, a receiver and a transmitter that can be used to receive and transmit information (wired or wirelessly), such as information from and to the charging stations in a multivehicle charging system or network), wherein the vehicles include at least (i) a vehicle that requests an early start of charging (¶ 0007: if an electrical load is present on the priority channel, then the power to the second controller is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel, then power to the second controller can be switched on; ¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel; ¶ 0066: the controller 106 can detect whether an electrical load (e.g., an EV) is connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel. In an embodiment, the controller 106 can also detect a charge signature for an EV connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel; if the charge signature indicates that the EV does not require further charging (e.g., it is fully charged), then the charging current is not provided to the channel) and (ii) state of charge (SOC) reduction target vehicles (¶ 0059: an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount);
a charging control module configured to control charging by the plurality of chargers (¶ 0045, 0050, 0101, 0124: a control module is implied for each charging station) in accordance with a charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable); and
a schedule management module configured to create the charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable), and creating the charging schedule comprises re-allocating at least part of future electric power charge amounts from the SOC reduction target vehicles to the vehicle that requests the early start of charging (¶ 0139: the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106. In an embodiment, the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100. In an embodiment, if the second controller 106 receives power from the first controller 2000, then the second controller 106 directs a charging current to the second controller's channels 1-4 one channel at a time. However, when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611),
wherein the schedule management module is configured to:
demand the vehicle that requests the early start of charging to pay a price required to benefit from the early start of charging (¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel. Thus, for example, a user can pay to have his or her EV charged at the first charging station for a certain amount of time or for a certain amount or level of charge. Once the paid-for charge is delivered, the priority channel can be turned off and power can be delivered to the second controller to charge EVs at the second charging station and at other charging stations connected to the second controller).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re- allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle based on a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle; for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle; and for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
KISHIYAMA discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0025: Preferably station control 125 takes into account how much charge energy is currently stored in electric vehicle 115 and understands other charging parameters of enhanced charging system 100 to be able to estimate charge times and expected SOC levels accurately in order to meet the primary needs of user 120; ¶ 0029: desired SOC), derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re- allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0014: The present invention is applicable to any charging station 105, whether it uses a constant power, constant current, constant voltage, algorithmic charging curve, or other charging profile providing a range of charge rates and irrespective of the nature of power source 110; ¶ 0028: Charging station 105 would be able to dynamically allocate different charging rates to different electric vehicles based upon an aggregation of priority and optimization questions of several users at one time. In some cases charging station 105 would not be able to provide all users with full fast charging at the same time and enhanced charging system 100 would dynamically apportion charging energy transfer rates among the several electric vehicles; ¶ 0029: Enhanced charging system 100 offers additional options to the users of the several electric vehicles and to the owner/operator of charging station 105. A simple priority system would have a first electric vehicle (vehicle A) arriving at charging station 105 first receive priority over a second electric vehicle (vehicle B) arriving later. However based upon optimization questions, it may be that vehicle B has need of a full fast charge and vehicle A could use a medium charge and still meet desired SOC and departure targets for both users. Enhanced charging system 100 is able to reallocate resources of charging station 105 to meet both user needs; the slower charge rate is interpreted as a “power reduction amount” which is sufficient to accommodate the other vehicle) based on a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0029: the “tolerable SOC reduction” comprises at least a temporary SOC reduction which would still allow the “SOC reduction target vehicle” to meet a “desired SOC and departure target”);
for each SOC reduction target vehicle, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0030: In the case that all needs of all concurrent users of charging station 105 cannot be met, station control 125 may issue offers to first-in-time higher priority users requesting changes to their travel plans (e.g., delay departure by some predetermined time) in exchange for appropriate compensation. Station control 125 is able to intelligently make offers as it understands all current charging expectations and scheduled charge completion times. For example, user A may be offered a discount on her charging costs if she agrees to delay her departure 15 minutes to accommodate user B's need for a maximum fast charge. When agreed to, the users are notified of the new charging schedules, with both users satisfied of the outcome. In some implementations, concurrent users of charging station 105 may participate in a real-time auction for charging rate in cases where demand exceeds capacity); and
for each SOC reduction target vehicle, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0030: see above). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the “electric power reduction amount”, “tolerable SOC reduction”, and “compensation/reward” as disclosed in KISHIYAMA, “for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles” of REYNOLDS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the electric power reduction amount and compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount of KISHIYAMA into the charging station of REYNOLDS to produce an expected result of a charging station including an electric power reduction amount and a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased flexibility in meeting user requests for early charging.
Regarding claim 3, REYNOLDS discloses a charging system (¶ 0045: FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing selected elements of a multivehicle charging system 100 in an embodiment according to the present invention), comprising:
one or a plurality of charging stations (2100 and 610-614 in Figure 24 are connected to a dedicated circuit 131 and can be interpreted as a “charging station”; ¶ 0045: voltage comes from an electrical panel (main alternating current [AC] power source 130) and is delivered over a dedicated circuit 131 to a charging station or a group of charging stations; ¶ 0139: In the FIG. 24 embodiment, the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106… when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611); and
a host unit (2000, Fig. 24) configured to hold communication to and from the one or the plurality of charging stations (¶ 0047: a controller may manage EV charging at multiple charging stations, or a controller may manage EV charging at a single charging station; ¶ 0062: the controller 106 is in the charging station 110. In another embodiment, the controller 106 is not in the charging station 110, but is in communication with the charging station; ¶ 0082: the charging station 110 or the controller 106 (FIG. 4) can determine what type of EV is connected to the charging system and can then deliver the correct amperage; ¶ 0129: controller 2000 can perform other functions, in particular the same functions as the controller 106 (as described above in conjunction with the discussion of FIG. 4)),
wherein each of the one or the plurality of charging stations includes:
a plurality of chargers configured to charge batteries mounted to vehicles (¶ 0045: Each charging station includes power electronics (not shown) such as wires, capacitors, transformers, and other electronic components; ¶ 0050: Level 2 or Level 3 charging stations; ¶ 0101: Each charging station, output connection, and/or head can be monitored and controlled (programmed) over a network; ¶ 0124: communication interface 1918 can include, for example, a receiver and a transmitter that can be used to receive and transmit information (wired or wirelessly), such as information from and to the charging stations in a multivehicle charging system or network); and
a charging control module configured to control charging by the plurality of chargers (¶ 0045, 0050, 0101, 0124: a control module is implied for each charging station) in accordance with a charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable),
wherein the vehicles include at least (i) a vehicle that requests an early finish of charging (¶ 0007: if an electrical load is present on the priority channel, then the power to the second controller is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel, then power to the second controller can be switched on; ¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel; ¶ 0066: the controller 106 can detect whether an electrical load (e.g., an EV) is connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel. In an embodiment, the controller 106 can also detect a charge signature for an EV connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel; if the charge signature indicates that the EV does not require further charging (e.g., it is fully charged), then the charging current is not provided to the channel) and (ii) state of charge (SOC) reduction target vehicles (¶ 0059: an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount),
wherein the host unit includes a schedule management module configured to create the charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable), and creating the charging schedule comprises re-allocating at least part of future electric power charge amounts from the SOC reduction target vehicles to the vehicle that requests the early finish of charging (¶ 0139: the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106. In an embodiment, the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100. In an embodiment, if the second controller 106 receives power from the first controller 2000, then the second controller 106 directs a charging current to the second controller's channels 1-4 one channel at a time. However, when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611), and
wherein the schedule management module is further configured to:
demand the vehicle that requests the early finish of charging to pay a price required to benefit from the early finish of charging (¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel. Thus, for example, a user can pay to have his or her EV charged at the first charging station for a certain amount of time or for a certain amount or level of charge. Once the paid-for charge is delivered, the priority channel can be turned off and power can be delivered to the second controller to charge EVs at the second charging station and at other charging stations connected to the second controller).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re- allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle based on a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle; for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle; and for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
KISHIYAMA discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0025: Preferably station control 125 takes into account how much charge energy is currently stored in electric vehicle 115 and understands other charging parameters of enhanced charging system 100 to be able to estimate charge times and expected SOC levels accurately in order to meet the primary needs of user 120; ¶ 0029: desired SOC), derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re- allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0014: The present invention is applicable to any charging station 105, whether it uses a constant power, constant current, constant voltage, algorithmic charging curve, or other charging profile providing a range of charge rates and irrespective of the nature of power source 110; ¶ 0028: Charging station 105 would be able to dynamically allocate different charging rates to different electric vehicles based upon an aggregation of priority and optimization questions of several users at one time. In some cases charging station 105 would not be able to provide all users with full fast charging at the same time and enhanced charging system 100 would dynamically apportion charging energy transfer rates among the several electric vehicles; ¶ 0029: Enhanced charging system 100 offers additional options to the users of the several electric vehicles and to the owner/operator of charging station 105. A simple priority system would have a first electric vehicle (vehicle A) arriving at charging station 105 first receive priority over a second electric vehicle (vehicle B) arriving later. However based upon optimization questions, it may be that vehicle B has need of a full fast charge and vehicle A could use a medium charge and still meet desired SOC and departure targets for both users. Enhanced charging system 100 is able to reallocate resources of charging station 105 to meet both user needs; the slower charge rate is interpreted as a “power reduction amount” which is sufficient to accommodate the other vehicle) based on a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0029: the “tolerable SOC reduction” comprises at least a temporary SOC reduction which would still allow the “SOC reduction target vehicle” to meet a “desired SOC and departure target”);
for each SOC reduction target vehicle, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0030: In the case that all needs of all concurrent users of charging station 105 cannot be met, station control 125 may issue offers to first-in-time higher priority users requesting changes to their travel plans (e.g., delay departure by some predetermined time) in exchange for appropriate compensation. Station control 125 is able to intelligently make offers as it understands all current charging expectations and scheduled charge completion times. For example, user A may be offered a discount on her charging costs if she agrees to delay her departure 15 minutes to accommodate user B's need for a maximum fast charge. When agreed to, the users are notified of the new charging schedules, with both users satisfied of the outcome. In some implementations, concurrent users of charging station 105 may participate in a real-time auction for charging rate in cases where demand exceeds capacity); and
for each SOC reduction target vehicle, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0030: see above). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the “electric power reduction amount”, “tolerable SOC reduction”, and “compensation/reward” as disclosed in KISHIYAMA, “for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles” of REYNOLDS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the electric power reduction amount and compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount of KISHIYAMA into the charging system of REYNOLDS to produce an expected result of a charging system including an electric power reduction amount and a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased flexibility in meeting user requests for early charging.
Regarding claim 4, REYNOLDS discloses a charging station (2100 and 610-614 in Figure 24 are connected to a dedicated circuit 131 and can be interpreted as a “charging station”; ¶ 0045: voltage comes from an electrical panel (main alternating current [AC] power source 130) and is delivered over a dedicated circuit 131 to a charging station or a group of charging stations; ¶ 0139: In the FIG. 24 embodiment, the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106… when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611), comprising:
a plurality of chargers configured to charge batteries mounted to vehicles (¶ 0045: Each charging station includes power electronics (not shown) such as wires, capacitors, transformers, and other electronic components; ¶ 0050: Level 2 or Level 3 charging stations; ¶ 0101: Each charging station, output connection, and/or head can be monitored and controlled (programmed) over a network; ¶ 0124: communication interface 1918 can include, for example, a receiver and a transmitter that can be used to receive and transmit information (wired or wirelessly), such as information from and to the charging stations in a multivehicle charging system or network), wherein the vehicles include at least (i) a vehicle that requests an early finish of charging (¶ 0007: if an electrical load is present on the priority channel, then the power to the second controller is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel, then power to the second controller can be switched on; ¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel; ¶ 0066: the controller 106 can detect whether an electrical load (e.g., an EV) is connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel. In an embodiment, the controller 106 can also detect a charge signature for an EV connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel; if the charge signature indicates that the EV does not require further charging (e.g., it is fully charged), then the charging current is not provided to the channel) and (ii) state of charge (SOC) reduction target vehicles (¶ 0059: an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount);
a charging control module configured to control charging by the plurality of chargers (¶ 0045, 0050, 0101, 0124: a control module is implied for each charging station) in accordance with a charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable); and
a schedule management module configured to create the charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable), and creating the charging schedule comprises re-allocating at least part of future electric power charge amounts from the SOC reduction target vehicles to the vehicle that requests the early finish of charging (¶ 0139: the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106. In an embodiment, the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100. In an embodiment, if the second controller 106 receives power from the first controller 2000, then the second controller 106 directs a charging current to the second controller's channels 1-4 one channel at a time. However, when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611),
wherein the schedule management module is further configured to:
demand the vehicle that requests the early finish of charging to pay a price required to benefit from the early finish of charging (¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel. Thus, for example, a user can pay to have his or her EV charged at the first charging station for a certain amount of time or for a certain amount or level of charge. Once the paid-for charge is delivered, the priority channel can be turned off and power can be delivered to the second controller to charge EVs at the second charging station and at other charging stations connected to the second controller).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re- allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle based on a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle; for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle; and for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
KISHIYAMA discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0025: Preferably station control 125 takes into account how much charge energy is currently stored in electric vehicle 115 and understands other charging parameters of enhanced charging system 100 to be able to estimate charge times and expected SOC levels accurately in order to meet the primary needs of user 120; ¶ 0029: desired SOC), derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re- allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0014: The present invention is applicable to any charging station 105, whether it uses a constant power, constant current, constant voltage, algorithmic charging curve, or other charging profile providing a range of charge rates and irrespective of the nature of power source 110; ¶ 0028: Charging station 105 would be able to dynamically allocate different charging rates to different electric vehicles based upon an aggregation of priority and optimization questions of several users at one time. In some cases charging station 105 would not be able to provide all users with full fast charging at the same time and enhanced charging system 100 would dynamically apportion charging energy transfer rates among the several electric vehicles; ¶ 0029: Enhanced charging system 100 offers additional options to the users of the several electric vehicles and to the owner/operator of charging station 105. A simple priority system would have a first electric vehicle (vehicle A) arriving at charging station 105 first receive priority over a second electric vehicle (vehicle B) arriving later. However based upon optimization questions, it may be that vehicle B has need of a full fast charge and vehicle A could use a medium charge and still meet desired SOC and departure targets for both users. Enhanced charging system 100 is able to reallocate resources of charging station 105 to meet both user needs; the slower charge rate is interpreted as a “power reduction amount” which is sufficient to accommodate the other vehicle) based on a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0029: the “tolerable SOC reduction” comprises at least a temporary SOC reduction which would still allow the “SOC reduction target vehicle” to meet a “desired SOC and departure target”);
for each SOC reduction target vehicle, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0030: In the case that all needs of all concurrent users of charging station 105 cannot be met, station control 125 may issue offers to first-in-time higher priority users requesting changes to their travel plans (e.g., delay departure by some predetermined time) in exchange for appropriate compensation. Station control 125 is able to intelligently make offers as it understands all current charging expectations and scheduled charge completion times. For example, user A may be offered a discount on her charging costs if she agrees to delay her departure 15 minutes to accommodate user B's need for a maximum fast charge. When agreed to, the users are notified of the new charging schedules, with both users satisfied of the outcome. In some implementations, concurrent users of charging station 105 may participate in a real-time auction for charging rate in cases where demand exceeds capacity); and
for each SOC reduction target vehicle, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0030: see above). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply the “electric power reduction amount”, “tolerable SOC reduction”, and “compensation/reward” as disclosed in KISHIYAMA, “for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles” of REYNOLDS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the electric power reduction amount and compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount of KISHIYAMA into the charging station of REYNOLDS to produce an expected result of a charging station including an electric power reduction amount and a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased flexibility in meeting user requests for early charging.
Conclusion
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 4/3/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859