DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-4 are pending. Claims 1-4 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on pages 10-11 of the remarks that primary reference REYNOLDS does not disclose the amended recitation “the vehicle that requests the early start of charging has newly requested the early start of charging when the batteries of the SOC reduction target vehicles are being charged”, it is submitted that this feature is implied in REYNOLDS, in that when a priority vehicle is connected, any power being provided to other vehicles is routed, as described in paragraphs 0131 and 0133. Applicant has not specifically commented on the relevant portions of REYNOLDS relied upon in the rejection to teach said amended recitation.
In response to arguments on pages 11-13 of the remarks regarding the amended recitation of “a tolerable SOC reduction”, secondary reference KISHIYAMA is no longer relied upon in the rejection, and newly found reference SHINZAKI is relied upon to teach said recitation. Therefore, the arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to arguments on pages 13-14 of the remarks that secondary reference KISHIYAMA switches the instantaneous charge rate and does not teach re-allocation of power planned for future use, it is first noted that KISHIYAMA is no longer relied upon to teach the recitation “derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re-allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle”, as newly found reference DEVARAJ is relied upon to teach said recitation. Secondary reference DEVARAJ implies reallocation of future power charge amounts, as the increased charge amounts disclosed in kWh units, said units being an indication of energy used over time.
In response to arguments on pages 14-15 of the remarks that secondary reference KISHIYAMA does not disclose the amended recitation “the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases”, it is first noted that KISHIYAMA is no longer relied upon to teach said recitation, as newly found reference DEVARAJ is relied upon to teach said recitation. It is submitted that paragraphs 0023-0024, 0037, and 0040 of DEVARAJ discloses increasing the compensation/reward as the power reduction amount increases.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 15-16 with respect to the recitations “for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle, and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. KISHIYAMA is no longer relied upon to teach said recitation, as newly found reference DEVARAJ is relied upon to teach said recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “gradually” in claim 1, line 40 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “compensation/reward” has been rendered indefinite.
The term “gradually” in claim 2, line 36 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “compensation/reward” has been rendered indefinite.
The term “gradually” in claim 3, line 41 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “compensation/reward” has been rendered indefinite.
The term “gradually” in claim 4, line 36 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “compensation/reward” has been rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REYNOLDS (Pub. No.: US 2018/0065496; cited in previous office action) in view of SHINZAKI (Pub. No.: US 2015/0137752 A1) and DEVARAJ (Pub. No.: US 2021/0049712 A1).
Regarding claim 1, REYNOLDS discloses a charging system (¶ 0045: FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing selected elements of a multivehicle charging system 100 in an embodiment according to the present invention), comprising:
one or a plurality of charging stations (2100 and 610-614 in Figure 24 are connected to a dedicated circuit 131 and can be interpreted as a “charging station”; ¶ 0045: voltage comes from an electrical panel (main alternating current [AC] power source 130) and is delivered over a dedicated circuit 131 to a charging station or a group of charging stations; ¶ 0139: In the FIG. 24 embodiment, the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106… when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611); and
a host unit (2000, Fig. 24) configured to hold communication to and from the one or the plurality of charging stations (¶ 0047: a controller may manage EV charging at multiple charging stations, or a controller may manage EV charging at a single charging station; ¶ 0062: the controller 106 is in the charging station 110. In another embodiment, the controller 106 is not in the charging station 110, but is in communication with the charging station; ¶ 0082: the charging station 110 or the controller 106 (FIG. 4) can determine what type of EV is connected to the charging system and can then deliver the correct amperage; ¶ 0129: controller 2000 can perform other functions, in particular the same functions as the controller 106 (as described above in conjunction with the discussion of FIG. 4)),
wherein each of the one or the plurality of charging stations includes:
a plurality of chargers configured to charge batteries mounted to vehicles (¶ 0045: Each charging station includes power electronics (not shown) such as wires, capacitors, transformers, and other electronic components; ¶ 0050: Level 2 or Level 3 charging stations; ¶ 0101: Each charging station, output connection, and/or head can be monitored and controlled (programmed) over a network; ¶ 0124: communication interface 1918 can include, for example, a receiver and a transmitter that can be used to receive and transmit information (wired or wirelessly), such as information from and to the charging stations in a multivehicle charging system or network); and
a charging control module configured to control charging by the plurality of chargers (¶ 0045, 0050, 0101, 0124: a control module is implied for each charging station) in accordance with a charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable),
wherein the vehicles include at least (i) a vehicle that requests an early start of charging (¶ 0007: if an electrical load is present on the priority channel, then the power to the second controller is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel, then power to the second controller can be switched on; ¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel; ¶ 0066: the controller 106 can detect whether an electrical load (e.g., an EV) is connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel. In an embodiment, the controller 106 can also detect a charge signature for an EV connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel; if the charge signature indicates that the EV does not require further charging (e.g., it is fully charged), then the charging current is not provided to the channel) and (ii) state of charge (SOC) reduction target vehicles (¶ 0059: an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount; ¶ 0142: In block 2502 of FIG. 25, electrical power is received at a first controller that has a first (priority) channel and a second (non-priority) channel. The first channel is operable for delivering a first charging current to an EV at a first charging station. The second channel is operable for delivering at least a portion of the electrical power from the first controller to a second controller. The second controller is operable for providing a second charging current to an EV at a second charging station),
wherein the vehicle that requests the early start of charging has newly requested the early start of charging when the batteries of the SOC reduction target vehicles are being charged (¶ 0131: if an electrical load is present on the first (priority) channel A, then the power to the second controller 106 is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel 1, then power to the second controller can be switched on… the first switch S1 is on whenever power is received by the controller 2000 from the electric power supply 130, and the second switch S2 is toggled off when an EV charging load is present on the first channel A and is toggled on to deliver power to the second controller 106 when no EV charging load is present on the first channel A; ¶ 0133: the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the charging station 110 and thus to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the charging station 110 and thus to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100),
wherein the host unit includes a schedule management module configured to create the charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable) and creating the charging schedule comprises re-allocating at least part of future electric power charge amounts from the SOC reduction target vehicles to the vehicle that requests the early start of charging (¶ 0139: the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106. In an embodiment, the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100. In an embodiment, if the second controller 106 receives power from the first controller 2000, then the second controller 106 directs a charging current to the second controller's channels 1-4 one channel at a time. However, when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611),
wherein, for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, a planned SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle at an end of charging is set before a start of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0059: before a charging current is provided to an output connection, the charging system is configured to automatically determine whether or not an EV connected to an output connection requires a charge. For example, an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount (see the discussion of FIG. 4 below)), and
wherein the schedule management module is further configured to:
demand the vehicle that requests the early start of charging to pay a price required to benefit from the early start of charging (¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel. Thus, for example, a user can pay to have his or her EV charged at the first charging station for a certain amount of time or for a certain amount or level of charge. Once the paid-for charge is delivered, the priority channel can be turned off and power can be delivered to the second controller to charge EVs at the second charging station and at other charging stations connected to the second controller).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, obtain from the SOC reduction target vehicle a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the tolerable SOC reduction is indicated by (a) a reduction amount from the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle that would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle or (b) by an SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle that (bl) would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle and (b2) is less than the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
SHINZAKI discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, obtain from the SOC reduction target vehicle a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the tolerable SOC reduction is indicated by (a) a reduction amount from the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle that would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle or (b) by an SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle that (bl) would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle and (b2) is less than the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0028: When the EV is connected to a charger with a charge level 214 of around 95%, the EV can discharge to a minimum level of SOC, for example, by discharging or providing power to the electrical grid it is connected to a minimum level of SOC 202; ¶ 0033-0034: minimum SOC 202 may be set to an amount required to travel in case of certain conditions, for example, if the user has to drive to a hospital for an emergency or to travel to/from local stores. Different minimal SOC levels may be used depending on situations in which the driver would be driving outside their "normal" conditions. The minimum level of the SOC 202 of an EV may be determined by the vehicle, the vehicle user, the aggregator, or a combination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the tolerable SOC reduction in order to ensure the SOC reduction target vehicle has sufficient charge to travel in case of certain conditions (SHINZAKI, ¶ 0033).
REYNOLDS as modified by SHINZAKI fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re-allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle; for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle, and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases; and for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
DEVARAJ discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles (at least a temporary SOC reduction is implied for the target vehicles receiving reduced power rate, as compared to not receiving a reduced power rate), derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount (e.g., in kWh) to be re-allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0004: transmit requests from a first customer to a charging station for an increased rate of charge and first fee, and receive an acceptance from at least one other customer indicating that the at least one other customer will realize a decreased rate of charge and the first customer will realize the increased rate of charge; ¶ 0013: For example, if two vehicles are charging at a station that provides 120 kWh, then each vehicle may charge at a 60 kWh; ¶ 0023: a first customer may plug in their vehicle for a first rate of charge. Each of the other customers also charging at the same charge station may also receive the first rate of charge. The first customer, however, may desire a higher rate of charge. The first customer may provide an offer to the other customers. The offer may include a price per mi/hour rate of charge. In one example, the price may be $1 for each 20 kw/hr. rate of charge. The other customers may decide whether to accept this offer, decline this offer, or counter-offer);
for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle, and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases (¶ 0023-0024: The first customer may provide an offer to the other customers. The offer may include a price per mi/hour rate of charge. In one example, the price may be $1 for each 20 kw/hr. rate of charge. The other customers may decide whether to accept this offer, decline this offer, or counter-offer…In the above example, if two customers accept the first customer's offer, then the first customer may then receive a 140 mi/hour rate of charge and transfer $1 to each of the accepting customers; ¶ 0037: offer may include a desired rate of charge increase, as well as a fee for that increased rate of charge. In one example, the offer may be $1 for each 20 mi/hr. rate of charge; ¶ 0040: All may be charging at a rate of 100 mi/hr. The first customer 205a may desire a higher rate of charge and offer to pay $1 for each 20 mi/hr. increase in rate of charge. The second customer 205b and third customer elect to accept the offer, each receiving an amount of tokens worth at least a portion of $1); and
for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0031: If the first customer 205a has enough funds, the charging station node 230 may then transmit the offer to the second customer 205b; ¶ 0038: the node 230 may transmit the offer to the second customer 205b at 310. The second customer 205b may then decide whether to accept, decline, or counter the offer).
One of ordinary skill would recognize that the electric power reduction amount of DEVARAJ, when included in the charging system of REYNOLDS in view of SHINZAKI, would factor in the “tolerable SOC reduction” as disclosed in SHINZAKI, and therefore, including the electric power reduction amount of DEVARAJ in the charging system of REYNOLDS in view of SHINZAKI would teach the recitation “derive an electric power reduction amount…based on the tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the electric power reduction amount and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases in order to improve the availability, as well as the charging speeds, at charging systems (DEVARAJ, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 2, REYNOLDS discloses a charging station (2100 and 610-614 in Figure 24 are connected to a dedicated circuit 131 and can be interpreted as a “charging station”; ¶ 0045: voltage comes from an electrical panel (main alternating current [AC] power source 130) and is delivered over a dedicated circuit 131 to a charging station or a group of charging stations; ¶ 0139: In the FIG. 24 embodiment, the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106… when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611), comprising:
a plurality of chargers configured to charge batteries mounted to vehicles (¶ 0045: Each charging station includes power electronics (not shown) such as wires, capacitors, transformers, and other electronic components; ¶ 0050: Level 2 or Level 3 charging stations; ¶ 0101: Each charging station, output connection, and/or head can be monitored and controlled (programmed) over a network; ¶ 0124: communication interface 1918 can include, for example, a receiver and a transmitter that can be used to receive and transmit information (wired or wirelessly), such as information from and to the charging stations in a multivehicle charging system or network), wherein the vehicles include at least (i) a vehicle that requests an early start of charging (¶ 0007: if an electrical load is present on the priority channel, then the power to the second controller is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel, then power to the second controller can be switched on; ¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel; ¶ 0066: the controller 106 can detect whether an electrical load (e.g., an EV) is connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel. In an embodiment, the controller 106 can also detect a charge signature for an EV connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel; if the charge signature indicates that the EV does not require further charging (e.g., it is fully charged), then the charging current is not provided to the channel) and (ii) state of charge (SOC) reduction target vehicles (¶ 0059: an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount; ¶ 0142: In block 2502 of FIG. 25, electrical power is received at a first controller that has a first (priority) channel and a second (non-priority) channel. The first channel is operable for delivering a first charging current to an EV at a first charging station. The second channel is operable for delivering at least a portion of the electrical power from the first controller to a second controller. The second controller is operable for providing a second charging current to an EV at a second charging station), wherein the vehicle that requests the early start of charging has newly requested the early start of charging when the batteries of the SOC reduction target vehicles are being charged (¶ 0131: if an electrical load is present on the first (priority) channel A, then the power to the second controller 106 is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel 1, then power to the second controller can be switched on… the first switch S1 is on whenever power is received by the controller 2000 from the electric power supply 130, and the second switch S2 is toggled off when an EV charging load is present on the first channel A and is toggled on to deliver power to the second controller 106 when no EV charging load is present on the first channel A; ¶ 0133: the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the charging station 110 and thus to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the charging station 110 and thus to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100);
a charging control module configured to control charging by the plurality of chargers (¶ 0045, 0050, 0101, 0124: a control module is implied for each charging station) in accordance with a charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable); and
a schedule management module configured to create the charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable), and creating the charging schedule comprises re-allocating at least part of future electric power charge amounts from the SOC reduction target vehicles to the vehicle that requests the early start of charging (¶ 0139: the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106. In an embodiment, the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100. In an embodiment, if the second controller 106 receives power from the first controller 2000, then the second controller 106 directs a charging current to the second controller's channels 1-4 one channel at a time. However, when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611),
wherein, for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, a planned SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle at an end of charging is set before a start of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0059: before a charging current is provided to an output connection, the charging system is configured to automatically determine whether or not an EV connected to an output connection requires a charge. For example, an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount (see the discussion of FIG. 4 below)),
wherein the schedule management module is configured to:
demand the vehicle that requests the early start of charging to pay a price required to benefit from the early start of charging (¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel. Thus, for example, a user can pay to have his or her EV charged at the first charging station for a certain amount of time or for a certain amount or level of charge. Once the paid-for charge is delivered, the priority channel can be turned off and power can be delivered to the second controller to charge EVs at the second charging station and at other charging stations connected to the second controller).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, obtain from the SOC reduction target vehicle a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the tolerable SOC reduction is indicated by (a) a reduction amount from the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle that would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle or (b) by an SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle that (bl) would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle and (b2) is less than the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
SHINZAKI discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, obtain from the SOC reduction target vehicle a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the tolerable SOC reduction is indicated by (a) a reduction amount from the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle that would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle or (b) by an SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle that (bl) would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle and (b2) is less than the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0028: When the EV is connected to a charger with a charge level 214 of around 95%, the EV can discharge to a minimum level of SOC, for example, by discharging or providing power to the electrical grid it is connected to a minimum level of SOC 202; ¶ 0033-0034: minimum SOC 202 may be set to an amount required to travel in case of certain conditions, for example, if the user has to drive to a hospital for an emergency or to travel to/from local stores. Different minimal SOC levels may be used depending on situations in which the driver would be driving outside their "normal" conditions. The minimum level of the SOC 202 of an EV may be determined by the vehicle, the vehicle user, the aggregator, or a combination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the tolerable SOC reduction in order to ensure the SOC reduction target vehicle has sufficient charge to travel in case of certain conditions (SHINZAKI, ¶ 0033).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re-allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle based on the tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle; for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle, and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases; and for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
DEVARAJ discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles (at least a temporary SOC reduction is implied for the target vehicles receiving reduced power rate, as compared to not receiving a reduced power rate), derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount (e.g., in kWh) to be re-allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0004: transmit requests from a first customer to a charging station for an increased rate of charge and first fee, and receive an acceptance from at least one other customer indicating that the at least one other customer will realize a decreased rate of charge and the first customer will realize the increased rate of charge; ¶ 0013: For example, if two vehicles are charging at a station that provides 120 kWh, then each vehicle may charge at a 60 kWh; ¶ 0023: a first customer may plug in their vehicle for a first rate of charge. Each of the other customers also charging at the same charge station may also receive the first rate of charge. The first customer, however, may desire a higher rate of charge. The first customer may provide an offer to the other customers. The offer may include a price per mi/hour rate of charge. In one example, the price may be $1 for each 20 kw/hr. rate of charge. The other customers may decide whether to accept this offer, decline this offer, or counter-offer);
for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle, and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases (¶ 0023-0024: The first customer may provide an offer to the other customers. The offer may include a price per mi/hour rate of charge. In one example, the price may be $1 for each 20 kw/hr. rate of charge. The other customers may decide whether to accept this offer, decline this offer, or counter-offer…In the above example, if two customers accept the first customer's offer, then the first customer may then receive a 140 mi/hour rate of charge and transfer $1 to each of the accepting customers; ¶ 0037: offer may include a desired rate of charge increase, as well as a fee for that increased rate of charge. In one example, the offer may be $1 for each 20 mi/hr. rate of charge; ¶ 0040: All may be charging at a rate of 100 mi/hr. The first customer 205a may desire a higher rate of charge and offer to pay $1 for each 20 mi/hr. increase in rate of charge. The second customer 205b and third customer elect to accept the offer, each receiving an amount of tokens worth at least a portion of $1); and
for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0031: If the first customer 205a has enough funds, the charging station node 230 may then transmit the offer to the second customer 205b; ¶ 0038: the node 230 may transmit the offer to the second customer 205b at 310. The second customer 205b may then decide whether to accept, decline, or counter the offer).
One of ordinary skill would recognize that the electric power reduction amount of DEVARAJ, when included in the charging station of REYNOLDS in view of SHINZAKI, would factor in the “tolerable SOC reduction” as disclosed in SHINZAKI, and therefore, including the electric power reduction amount of DEVARAJ in the charging system of REYNOLDS in view of SHINZAKI would teach the recitation “derive an electric power reduction amount…based on the tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the electric power reduction amount and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases in order to improve the availability, as well as the charging speeds, at charging stations (DEVARAJ, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 3, REYNOLDS discloses a charging system (¶ 0045: FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing selected elements of a multivehicle charging system 100 in an embodiment according to the present invention), comprising:
one or a plurality of charging stations (2100 and 610-614 in Figure 24 are connected to a dedicated circuit 131 and can be interpreted as a “charging station”; ¶ 0045: voltage comes from an electrical panel (main alternating current [AC] power source 130) and is delivered over a dedicated circuit 131 to a charging station or a group of charging stations; ¶ 0139: In the FIG. 24 embodiment, the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106… when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611); and
a host unit (2000, Fig. 24) configured to hold communication to and from the one or the plurality of charging stations (¶ 0047: a controller may manage EV charging at multiple charging stations, or a controller may manage EV charging at a single charging station; ¶ 0062: the controller 106 is in the charging station 110. In another embodiment, the controller 106 is not in the charging station 110, but is in communication with the charging station; ¶ 0082: the charging station 110 or the controller 106 (FIG. 4) can determine what type of EV is connected to the charging system and can then deliver the correct amperage; ¶ 0129: controller 2000 can perform other functions, in particular the same functions as the controller 106 (as described above in conjunction with the discussion of FIG. 4)),
wherein each of the one or the plurality of charging stations includes:
a plurality of chargers configured to charge batteries mounted to vehicles (¶ 0045: Each charging station includes power electronics (not shown) such as wires, capacitors, transformers, and other electronic components; ¶ 0050: Level 2 or Level 3 charging stations; ¶ 0101: Each charging station, output connection, and/or head can be monitored and controlled (programmed) over a network; ¶ 0124: communication interface 1918 can include, for example, a receiver and a transmitter that can be used to receive and transmit information (wired or wirelessly), such as information from and to the charging stations in a multivehicle charging system or network); and
a charging control module configured to control charging by the plurality of chargers (¶ 0045, 0050, 0101, 0124: a control module is implied for each charging station) in accordance with a charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable),
wherein the vehicles include at least (i) a vehicle that requests an early finish of charging (¶ 0007: if an electrical load is present on the priority channel, then the power to the second controller is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel, then power to the second controller can be switched on; ¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel; ¶ 0066: the controller 106 can detect whether an electrical load (e.g., an EV) is connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel. In an embodiment, the controller 106 can also detect a charge signature for an EV connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel; if the charge signature indicates that the EV does not require further charging (e.g., it is fully charged), then the charging current is not provided to the channel) and (ii) state of charge (SOC) reduction target vehicles (¶ 0059: an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount; ¶ 0142: In block 2502 of FIG. 25, electrical power is received at a first controller that has a first (priority) channel and a second (non-priority) channel. The first channel is operable for delivering a first charging current to an EV at a first charging station. The second channel is operable for delivering at least a portion of the electrical power from the first controller to a second controller. The second controller is operable for providing a second charging current to an EV at a second charging station),
wherein the vehicle that requests the early finish of charging has newly requested the early finish of charging when the batteries of the SOC reduction target vehicles are being charged (¶ 0131: if an electrical load is present on the first (priority) channel A, then the power to the second controller 106 is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel 1, then power to the second controller can be switched on… the first switch S1 is on whenever power is received by the controller 2000 from the electric power supply 130, and the second switch S2 is toggled off when an EV charging load is present on the first channel A and is toggled on to deliver power to the second controller 106 when no EV charging load is present on the first channel A; ¶ 0133: the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the charging station 110 and thus to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the charging station 110 and thus to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100),
wherein the host unit includes a schedule management module configured to create the charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable), and creating the charging schedule comprises re-allocating at least part of future electric power charge amounts from the SOC reduction target vehicles to the vehicle that requests the early finish of charging (¶ 0139: the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106. In an embodiment, the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100. In an embodiment, if the second controller 106 receives power from the first controller 2000, then the second controller 106 directs a charging current to the second controller's channels 1-4 one channel at a time. However, when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611),
wherein, for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, a planned SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle at an end of charging is set before a start of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0059: before a charging current is provided to an output connection, the charging system is configured to automatically determine whether or not an EV connected to an output connection requires a charge. For example, an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount (see the discussion of FIG. 4 below)), and
wherein the schedule management module is further configured to:
demand the vehicle that requests the early finish of charging to pay a price required to benefit from the early finish of charging (¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel. Thus, for example, a user can pay to have his or her EV charged at the first charging station for a certain amount of time or for a certain amount or level of charge. Once the paid-for charge is delivered, the priority channel can be turned off and power can be delivered to the second controller to charge EVs at the second charging station and at other charging stations connected to the second controller).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, obtain from the SOC reduction target vehicle a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the tolerable SOC reduction is indicated by (a) a reduction amount from the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle that would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle or (b) by an SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle that (bl) would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle and (b2) is less than the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
SHINZAKI discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, obtain from the SOC reduction target vehicle a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the tolerable SOC reduction is indicated by (a) a reduction amount from the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle that would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle or (b) by an SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle that (bl) would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle and (b2) is less than the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0028: When the EV is connected to a charger with a charge level 214 of around 95%, the EV can discharge to a minimum level of SOC, for example, by discharging or providing power to the electrical grid it is connected to a minimum level of SOC 202; ¶ 0033-0034: minimum SOC 202 may be set to an amount required to travel in case of certain conditions, for example, if the user has to drive to a hospital for an emergency or to travel to/from local stores. Different minimal SOC levels may be used depending on situations in which the driver would be driving outside their "normal" conditions. The minimum level of the SOC 202 of an EV may be determined by the vehicle, the vehicle user, the aggregator, or a combination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the tolerable SOC reduction in order to ensure the SOC reduction target vehicle has sufficient charge to travel in case of certain conditions (SHINZAKI, ¶ 0033).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re-allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle based on the tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle; for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle, and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases; and for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
DEVARAJ discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles (at least a temporary SOC reduction is implied for the target vehicles receiving reduced power rate, as compared to not receiving a reduced power rate), derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount (e.g., in kWh) to be re- allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0004: transmit requests from a first customer to a charging station for an increased rate of charge and first fee, and receive an acceptance from at least one other customer indicating that the at least one other customer will realize a decreased rate of charge and the first customer will realize the increased rate of charge; ¶ 0013: For example, if two vehicles are charging at a station that provides 120 kWh, then each vehicle may charge at a 60 kWh; ¶ 0023: a first customer may plug in their vehicle for a first rate of charge. Each of the other customers also charging at the same charge station may also receive the first rate of charge. The first customer, however, may desire a higher rate of charge. The first customer may provide an offer to the other customers. The offer may include a price per mi/hour rate of charge. In one example, the price may be $1 for each 20 kw/hr. rate of charge. The other customers may decide whether to accept this offer, decline this offer, or counter-offer);
for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle, and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases (¶ 0023-0024: The first customer may provide an offer to the other customers. The offer may include a price per mi/hour rate of charge. In one example, the price may be $1 for each 20 kw/hr. rate of charge. The other customers may decide whether to accept this offer, decline this offer, or counter-offer…In the above example, if two customers accept the first customer's offer, then the first customer may then receive a 140 mi/hour rate of charge and transfer $1 to each of the accepting customers; ¶ 0037: offer may include a desired rate of charge increase, as well as a fee for that increased rate of charge. In one example, the offer may be $1 for each 20 mi/hr. rate of charge; ¶ 0040: All may be charging at a rate of 100 mi/hr. The first customer 205a may desire a higher rate of charge and offer to pay $1 for each 20 mi/hr. increase in rate of charge. The second customer 205b and third customer elect to accept the offer, each receiving an amount of tokens worth at least a portion of $1); and
for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0031: If the first customer 205a has enough funds, the charging station node 230 may then transmit the offer to the second customer 205b; ¶ 0038: the node 230 may transmit the offer to the second customer 205b at 310. The second customer 205b may then decide whether to accept, decline, or counter the offer).
One of ordinary skill would recognize that the electric power reduction amount of DEVARAJ, when included in the charging system of REYNOLDS in view of SHINZAKI, would factor in the “tolerable SOC reduction” as disclosed in SHINZAKI, and therefore, including the electric power reduction amount of DEVARAJ in the charging system of REYNOLDS in view of SHINZAKI would teach the recitation “derive an electric power reduction amount…based on the tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the electric power reduction amount and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases in order to improve the availability, as well as the charging speeds, at charging systems (DEVARAJ, ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 4, REYNOLDS discloses a charging station (2100 and 610-614 in Figure 24 are connected to a dedicated circuit 131 and can be interpreted as a “charging station”; ¶ 0045: voltage comes from an electrical panel (main alternating current [AC] power source 130) and is delivered over a dedicated circuit 131 to a charging station or a group of charging stations; ¶ 0139: In the FIG. 24 embodiment, the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106… when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611), comprising:
a plurality of chargers configured to charge batteries mounted to vehicles (¶ 0045: Each charging station includes power electronics (not shown) such as wires, capacitors, transformers, and other electronic components; ¶ 0050: Level 2 or Level 3 charging stations; ¶ 0101: Each charging station, output connection, and/or head can be monitored and controlled (programmed) over a network; ¶ 0124: communication interface 1918 can include, for example, a receiver and a transmitter that can be used to receive and transmit information (wired or wirelessly), such as information from and to the charging stations in a multivehicle charging system or network), wherein the vehicles include at least (i) a vehicle that requests an early finish of charging (¶ 0007: if an electrical load is present on the priority channel, then the power to the second controller is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel, then power to the second controller can be switched on; ¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel; ¶ 0066: the controller 106 can detect whether an electrical load (e.g., an EV) is connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel. In an embodiment, the controller 106 can also detect a charge signature for an EV connected to a channel before a charging current is provided to the channel; if the charge signature indicates that the EV does not require further charging (e.g., it is fully charged), then the charging current is not provided to the channel) and (ii) state of charge (SOC) reduction target vehicles (¶ 0059: an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount; ¶ 0142: In block 2502 of FIG. 25, electrical power is received at a first controller that has a first (priority) channel and a second (non-priority) channel. The first channel is operable for delivering a first charging current to an EV at a first charging station. The second channel is operable for delivering at least a portion of the electrical power from the first controller to a second controller. The second controller is operable for providing a second charging current to an EV at a second charging station), wherein the vehicle that requests the early finish of charging has newly requested the early finish of charging when the batteries of the SOC reduction target vehicles are being charged (¶ 0131: if an electrical load is present on the first (priority) channel A, then the power to the second controller 106 is switched off until the load is removed; and if there is no load on the priority channel 1, then power to the second controller can be switched on… the first switch S1 is on whenever power is received by the controller 2000 from the electric power supply 130, and the second switch S2 is toggled off when an EV charging load is present on the first channel A and is toggled on to deliver power to the second controller 106 when no EV charging load is present on the first channel A; ¶ 0133: the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the charging station 110 and thus to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the charging station 110 and thus to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100);
a charging control module configured to control charging by the plurality of chargers (¶ 0045, 0050, 0101, 0124: a control module is implied for each charging station) in accordance with a charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable); and
a schedule management module configured to create the charging schedule (¶ 0044: That vehicle is charged for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes), charging of that vehicle is then stopped, and then the next charging station/connector on the single circuit is used to charge another vehicle for a specified period of time (e.g., 30 minutes, or some other length of time), and so on according to a charging sequence or procedure; ¶ 0057: charging procedure or sequence is programmable and is changeable), and creating the charging schedule comprises re-allocating at least part of future electric power charge amounts from the SOC reduction target vehicles to the vehicle that requests the early finish of charging (¶ 0139: the first controller 2000 can deliver a first charging current to the charging station 2100. The first controller 2000 can also deliver power to the second controller 106. In an embodiment, the first controller 2000 turns off the power to the second controller 106 in response to determining that there is an EV that is charging at the charging station 2100, and turns on the power to the second controller 106 only in response to determining that an EV is not charging at the first charging station 2100. In an embodiment, if the second controller 106 receives power from the first controller 2000, then the second controller 106 directs a charging current to the second controller's channels 1-4 one channel at a time. However, when the charging current is directed to channel 1 of the second controller 106, that charging current can be split between the charging stations 610 and 611),
wherein, for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, a planned SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle at an end of charging is set before a start of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0059: before a charging current is provided to an output connection, the charging system is configured to automatically determine whether or not an EV connected to an output connection requires a charge. For example, an EV's charge signature or state of charge (SOC) can be provided by the EV or accessed by the charging system to determine whether the EV's batteries are fully charged or at least charged to a threshold amount (see the discussion of FIG. 4 below)),
wherein the schedule management module is further configured to:
demand the vehicle that requests the early finish of charging to pay a price required to benefit from the early finish of charging (¶ 0009: priority channel can be turned on for a specified period of time, until the charging current on the priority channel decreases to a threshold level or value, and/or until a specified amount of electrical charge is delivered over the priority channel. Thus, for example, a user can pay to have his or her EV charged at the first charging station for a certain amount of time or for a certain amount or level of charge. Once the paid-for charge is delivered, the priority channel can be turned off and power can be delivered to the second controller to charge EVs at the second charging station and at other charging stations connected to the second controller).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, obtain from the SOC reduction target vehicle a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the tolerable SOC reduction is indicated by (a) a reduction amount from the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle that would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle or (b) by an SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle that (bl) would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle and (b2) is less than the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
SHINZAKI discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, obtain from the SOC reduction target vehicle a tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the tolerable SOC reduction is indicated by (a) a reduction amount from the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle that would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle or (b) by an SOC of the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle that (bl) would be tolerable to a driver of the SOC reduction target vehicle at the end of charging the battery of the SOC reduction target vehicle and (b2) is less than the planned SOC for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0028: When the EV is connected to a charger with a charge level 214 of around 95%, the EV can discharge to a minimum level of SOC, for example, by discharging or providing power to the electrical grid it is connected to a minimum level of SOC 202; ¶ 0033-0034: minimum SOC 202 may be set to an amount required to travel in case of certain conditions, for example, if the user has to drive to a hospital for an emergency or to travel to/from local stores. Different minimal SOC levels may be used depending on situations in which the driver would be driving outside their "normal" conditions. The minimum level of the SOC 202 of an EV may be determined by the vehicle, the vehicle user, the aggregator, or a combination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the tolerable SOC reduction in order to ensure the SOC reduction target vehicle has sufficient charge to travel in case of certain conditions (SHINZAKI, ¶ 0033).
REYNOLDS fails to disclose for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount to be re-allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle based on the tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle; for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle, and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases; and for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle.
DEVARAJ discloses for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles (at least a temporary SOC reduction is implied for the target vehicles receiving reduced power rate, as compared to not receiving a reduced power rate), derive an electric power reduction amount which indicates an electric power charge amount (e.g., in kWh) to be re-allocated from the future electric power charge amount planned to be used for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0004: transmit requests from a first customer to a charging station for an increased rate of charge and first fee, and receive an acceptance from at least one other customer indicating that the at least one other customer will realize a decreased rate of charge and the first customer will realize the increased rate of charge; ¶ 0013: For example, if two vehicles are charging at a station that provides 120 kWh, then each vehicle may charge at a 60 kWh; ¶ 0023: a first customer may plug in their vehicle for a first rate of charge. Each of the other customers also charging at the same charge station may also receive the first rate of charge. The first customer, however, may desire a higher rate of charge. The first customer may provide an offer to the other customers. The offer may include a price per mi/hour rate of charge. In one example, the price may be $1 for each 20 kw/hr. rate of charge. The other customers may decide whether to accept this offer, decline this offer, or counter-offer);
for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, derive a compensation/reward based on the electric power reduction amount derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle, wherein the derived compensation/reward is compensation for inconvenience caused by re-allocating the electric power charge amount from the SOC reduction target vehicle, and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases (¶ 0023-0024: The first customer may provide an offer to the other customers. The offer may include a price per mi/hour rate of charge. In one example, the price may be $1 for each 20 kw/hr. rate of charge. The other customers may decide whether to accept this offer, decline this offer, or counter-offer…In the above example, if two customers accept the first customer's offer, then the first customer may then receive a 140 mi/hour rate of charge and transfer $1 to each of the accepting customers; ¶ 0037: offer may include a desired rate of charge increase, as well as a fee for that increased rate of charge. In one example, the offer may be $1 for each 20 mi/hr. rate of charge; ¶ 0040: All may be charging at a rate of 100 mi/hr. The first customer 205a may desire a higher rate of charge and offer to pay $1 for each 20 mi/hr. increase in rate of charge. The second customer 205b and third customer elect to accept the offer, each receiving an amount of tokens worth at least a portion of $1); and
for each SOC reduction target vehicle of the SOC reduction target vehicles, present the SOC reduction target vehicle with the compensation/reward derived for the SOC reduction target vehicle (¶ 0031: If the first customer 205a has enough funds, the charging station node 230 may then transmit the offer to the second customer 205b; ¶ 0038: the node 230 may transmit the offer to the second customer 205b at 310. The second customer 205b may then decide whether to accept, decline, or counter the offer).
One of ordinary skill would recognize that the electric power reduction amount of DEVARAJ, when included in the charging station of REYNOLDS in view of SHINZAKI, would factor in the “tolerable SOC reduction” as disclosed in SHINZAKI, and therefore, including the electric power reduction amount of DEVARAJ in the charging system of REYNOLDS in view of SHINZAKI would teach the recitation “derive an electric power reduction amount…based on the tolerable SOC reduction for the SOC reduction target vehicle”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the electric power reduction amount and the derived compensation/reward gradually increases as the electric power reduction amount increases in order to improve the availability, as well as the charging speeds, at charging stations (DEVARAJ, ¶ 0002).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 9/14/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859