DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Huang or Blanke does not teach “the coupling coil comprises a plurality of conductive loops that are electrically insulated from each other” as amended claim 1. Applicant asserts that the closed-loop conductive winding 310 is disposed around coils 330 and 340 but does not disclose a plurality of conductive loops electrically insulated from each other. In addition, Blanke only discloses coupling coil 3 is disposed in two layers 31 and 32 but does not teach the two layers 31 and 32 are electrically insulated from each other. It’s alleged that Blanke only describes the coupling coil is surrounded by an insulating layer (para. [0032]). Accordingly, applicant concludes that Blanke in view of Huang fails to teach the amended claim 1, which was originally claimed in claim 13.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is found not persuasive, respectfully. Paragraph [0032] of Blanke expressly teach “The coupling winding [3] may be disposed in two layer planes 31, 32 and is surrounded on all sides by an insulating layer…[and the] layer planes are separated from each other by an insulating layer. This clearly indicates the coupling coil 3 made in two layer planes 31 and 32 are electrically insulated from each other. In addition, the coupling coil 3 formed in two layers planes 31 and 32 are embedded in “conductive substrate 6” (para. [0032]). However, the “conductor substrate 6” is “manufactured as an electronic circuit board” (para. [0049]). Therefore, the “conductor substrate 6” is actually made of insulating or dielectric material, as would be clear to a person with ordinary skill in the art. As seen in Fig. 2 and 9 of Blanke, the two layer planes 31 and 32 of the coupling coil 3 is further separated with insulating material of conductive substrate 6. Accordingly, the two layer planes 31 and 32 is insulated each other by “the “insulating layer” as well as the insulating material of the conductive substrate 6. Therefore, the examiner maintains Blanke teaches “the coupling coil comprises a plurality of conductive loops that are electrically insulated from each other” as amended claim 1 and similar limitations in claim 11.
Similarly, the newly cited Mao reference also teaches a coupling coil 820 comprises “shorted windings” (para. [0032]) embedded in circuit board 860 (para. [0031]). These shorted windings comprises shorted sub-windings magnetically coupled to one another. This magnetically coupled sub-windings meets the claimed “a plurality of conductive loops” limitation. The shorted sub-windings would need to be isolated from one another (i.e., different layers/planes) in the circuit board 860 to be able to magnetically couple one another, this implies the shorted sub-windings are electrically insulated from one another. Accordingly, Mao also teaches “the coupling coils comprises a plurality of conductive loops that are electrically insulated from each other” as amended claim 1 and similar limitations in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanke (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2015/0332838 A1) in view of Huang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2010/0066474 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
With respect to claim 1, Blanke teaches a power transformer (Figs. 1 and 2, or Figs. 11 and 12 provided below for convenience) comprising:
a primary winding 1 and a secondary winding 2;
a primary magnetic core 4 wound by the primary winding;
a secondary magnetic core 5 wound by the secondary winding; and
a coupling coil 3 wound around the primary and secondary magnetic cores,
wherein the coupling coils comprises a plurality of conductive loops 31 and 32 that are electrically insulated from each other (paras. [0030], [0032], [0044] and [0046]).
Blanke does not expressly teach a coupling coil wound around the primary and secondary magnetic cores as a whole.
Huang teaches a power transformer 300 (FIG. 3), comprising:
a coupling coil 310 wound around the primary and secondary magnetic cores 300a and 300b (annotated FIG. 3 above) as a whole (para. [0026]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the coupling coil surrounding the primary and secondary cores as a whole as taught by Huang to the power transformer of Blanke to reduce core size while controlling leakage inductance so that devices receiving power from the electrical conversion circuits will be supplied with a consistent voltage supply (para. [0003]).
With respect to claim 2, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the power transformer of claim 1, wherein the primary winding comprises a first top coil 11 (Figs. 1 and 2) and a first bottom coil 14 electrically connected to the first top coil, and wherein the secondary winding comprises a second top coil 21 and a bottom coil 24 electrically connected to the second top coil (Blanke, paras. [0030] and [0031]).
With respect to claim 3, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the power transformer of claim 2, wherein the coupling coil is a closed loop disposed between the first and second top coils and the first and second bottom coils (Blanke, [para. [0032]).
With respect to claim 4, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the power transformer of claim 2, further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) 6 having a first hole 61 and or 62 and a second hole 63 and or 64, wherein the first top coil of the primary winding and the second top coil of the secondary winding are disposed on a top surface of the PCB, wherein the first bottom coil of the primary winding and the second bottom coil of the secondary winding are disposed on a bottom surface of the PCB, and wherein the coupling coil is embedded in a central layer of the PCB (Blanke, paras. [0030] and [0032]).
With respect to claim 5, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the power transformer of claim 4, wherein the primary magnetic core is inserted in the first hole, and the secondary magnetic core is inserted in the second hole (Blanke, para. [0030]).
With respect to claim 6, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the power transformer of claim 1, further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) 6 (Figs. 11 and 12) having a first hole 61 and or 62 and a second hole 63 and or 64, wherein the primary and secondary windings are embedded in a central layer of the PCB, and wherein the coupling coil is disposed on a surface (upper or lower surface) of the PCB (Blanke, para. [0046]).
With respect to claim 7, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the power transformer of claim 1, wherein the coupling coil comprises a first closed loop 31 and a second closed loop 32 (Blanke, paras. [0032 and [0046]).
With respect to claim 8, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the power transformer of claim 7, wherein the primary and secondary windings are disposed between the first and second closed loops of the coupling coil (Blanke, paras. [0032 and [0046]).
With respect to claim 9, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the power transformer of claim 8, further comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) 6 (Figs. 11 and 12) having a first hole 61 and or 62 and a second hole 63 and or 64, wherein the primary and secondary windings are embedded in a central layer of the PCB, wherein the first closed loop of the coupling coil is disposed on a top surface of the PCB, and wherein the second closed loop of the coupling coil is disposed on a bottom surface of the PCB (Blanke, paras. [0032 and [0046]).
With respect to claim 10, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the power transformer of claim 9, wherein the primary magnetic core is inserted in the first hole, and the secondary magnetic core is inserted in the second hole (Blanke, para. [0030]).
With respect to claim 11, Blanke teaches a printed circuit board (PCB) 6 (Figs. 8-9 provided below for convenience), comprising:
a primary winding 1 wound about a first hole 61 of the PCB;
a secondary winding 2 wound about a second hole 62 of the PCB; and
a coupling coil 3 forming a closed loop that surrounds the first and second holes of the PCB,
wherein the first hole is configured to receive a primary magnetic core 4, the second hole is configured to receive a secondary magnetic core 5,
wherein the coupling coils comprises a plurality of conductive loops 31 and 32 that are electrically insulated from each other (para. [0044]).
Blanke does not expressly teach the coupling coil is configured to e wound around the primary and secondary magnetic cores as a whole.
Huang teaches a power transformer 300 (FIG. 3),
Wherein the coupling coil 310 is configured to be wound around the primary and secondary magnetic cores 300a and 300b (annotated FIG. 3 above) as a whole (para. [0026]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the coupling coil wound around the primary and secondary cores as a whole as taught by Huang to the power transformer of Blanke to reduce core size while controlling leakage inductance so that devices receiving power from the electrical conversion circuits will be supplied with a consistent voltage supply (para. [0003]).
With respect to claim 12, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the PCB of claim 11, wherein the coupling coil is embedded in a central layer of the PCB (Blanke, para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 14, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the PCB of claim 11, wherein the primary winding comprises a top layer 11 on a top surface of the PCB and a bottom layer 14 on a bottom surface of the PCB, the top and bottom layers of the primary winding being electrically connected (Blanke, para. [0031]).
With respect to claim 15, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the PCB of claim 11, wherein the secondary winding comprises a top layer 21 on a top surface of the PCB and a bottom layer 24 on a bottom surface of the PCB, the top and bottom layers of the secondary winding being electrically connected (Blanke, para. [0031]).
With respect to claim 16, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the PCB of claim 11. Blanke in view of Huang does not teach, in the embodiment of Figs. 8 and 9 of Blanke, wherein the primary and secondary windings are embedded in a central layer of the PCB.
wherein the primary and secondary windings are embedded in a central layer of the PCB.
Blanke teaches, in the embodiment of Figs. 11 and 12, a PCB 6, wherein the primary and secondary windings 1 and 2 are embedded in a central layer of the PCB (para. [0046]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the primary and secondary windings embedded in the PCB as taught by Figs. 11 and 12 of Blanke to the PCB of Figs. 8 and 9 of Blanke in view of Huang to protect the windings from foreign objects.
With respect to claim 17, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the PCB of claim 11. Blanke in view of Huang does not teach, in the embodiment of Figs. 8 and 9 of Blanke, wherein the coupling coil is disposed on a top surface of the PCB.
Blanke teaches, in the embodiment of Figs. 11 and 12, a PCB 6, wherein the coupling coil is 3 disposed on a top surface (upper surface) of the PCB (para. [0046]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the coupling coil on the top surface of the PCB as taught by Figs. 11 and 12 of Blanke to the PCB of Figs. 8 and 9 of Blanke in view of Huang improve ease of forming the coupling coil.
With respect to claim 18, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the PCB of claim 11. Blanke in view of Huang does not teach, in the embodiment of Figs. 8 and 9 of Blanke, wherein the coupling coil comprises a first coupling coil and a second coupling coil, wherein the first coupling coil is disposed on a top surface of the PCB and the second coupling coil is disposed on a bottom surface of the PCB.
Blanke teaches, in the embodiment of Figs. 11 and 12, a PCB 6, wherein the coupling coil 3 comprises a first coupling coil 31 and a second coupling coil 32, wherein the first coupling coil is disposed on a top surface (upper surface) of the PCB and the second coupling coil is disposed on a bottom surface (lower surface) of the PCB (para. [0046]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the coupling coil on the top surface of the PCB as taught by Figs. 11 and 12 of Blanke to the PCB of Figs. 8 and 9 of Blanke in view of Huang improve ease of forming the first and second coupling coils.
With respect to claim 19, Blanke in view of Huang teaches the PCB of claim 11, further comprising primary terminals (ends) to receive an input voltage (not expressly shown) applied to the primary winding (Blanke, para. [0044]).
With respect to claim 20, Blanke in view of Huang in view of teaches the PCB of claim 11, further comprising secondary terminals (ends) to provide an output voltage (not expressly shown) induced by the secondary winding (Blanke, para. [0044]).
Claim 1 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Mao (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0131055 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Haung teaches a power transformer 300 (FIG. 3), comprising:
a primary winding 130 or 330 and a secondary winding 340;
a primary magnetic core 300a (annotated FIG. 3) wound by the primary winding;
a secondary magnetic core 300b wound by the secondary winding; and
a coupling coil 310 wound around the primary and secondary magnetic cores as a whole (para. [0026]). Huang does not expressly teach
the coupling coil comprises a plurality of conductive loops that are electrically insulated from each other even though the embodiment of FIG. 4 discloses a plurality of conductive loops (para. [0030]).
Mao teaches a power transformer 800 (Fig. 3)
wherein the coupling coil 820 comprises a plurality of conductive loops (“The N shorted sub-windings are magnetically coupled” para. [0033]) that are electrically insulated from each other (insulated by substrate 860) (paras. [0031] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the plurality of conductive loops coupling coil as taught by Mao to the power transformer of Haung to further reduce inter-turn capacitance and suppress common mode interference (para. [0032]).
Conclusion
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837