DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 and 9 are currently pending. Claim 1 is currently amened. Claims 8 and 10 are cancelled. No new subject matter is added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fangrow et al. (WO 2018071717 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Fangrow”.
Regarding Claim 1, Fangrow teaches a resealing cap for an intravenous (IV) bag spike port (a sanitizing cap that can be used to disinfect and/or protect medical connectors. A cap may be used with intravascular connectors associated with a resealable fluid line connector, such as an IV line, see Paragraph [0066]), the resealing cap comprising:
a monolithic housing (single piece housing of cap 82, see Figure 2) comprising:
at least one first sidewall (one side of wall 83, see below) having an interior surface (interior surface 87),
a first end of the housing (see annotated Figure 2),
an opening at a second end of the housing (see annotated Figure 2),
a tab (outer flange 725; embodiments may be combined, see Paragraph [0065]; Figure 7B) extending radially outward from the at least one first sidewall (extending radially from the sidewall, see Figure 7A-B) at the second end of the resealing cap (at the proximal end 702) along a part of a perimeter of the at least one first sidewall (see Figure 7B), wherein the tab is configured to aid in placing or removing the resealing cap on the IV bag spike port (facilitates storage or transfer of medical fluid or connection of medical fluid lines (e.g., any open or resealable IV bag), see Paragraph [0066]; the flange 725 can be gripped by the user to remove/place the cap), and
wherein the interior surface defines a passageway extending between the first end and the opening (interior surface 87 creates chamber from the first end to opening, see Figure 2); and
wherein the housing further comprises a second sidewall at the first end (see annotated Figure 2), the second sidewall having a thickness substantially equal to a thickness of the at least one first sidewall (the sidewalls are equally thick, see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Fangrow further teaches wherein the housing comprises a medical grade material (the antiseptic cap 82 can comprise any suitable material including a thermoplastic elastomer for medical connectors, see Paragraph [0071]).
Regarding Claim 3, Fangrow further teaches wherein the housing comprises an elastic material (the antiseptic cap 82 can comprise any suitable material including a thermoplastic elastomer, see Paragraph [0071]).
Regarding Claim 4, Fangrow further teaches wherein the housing further comprises a removable seal (lid 450 may be configured to attach to one or more portions of the antiseptic cap 82, see Paragraph [0144]) reversibly located on the second end and covering the opening (placed on end 408, see Figures 13A-B; Paragraph [0144]-[0147]; any feature, structure, material, step, or component of any embodiment described and/or illustrated in this specification can be used by itself, or with or instead of any other feature, structure, material, step, or component of any other embodiment described and/or illustrated in this specification, see Paragraph [0065]).
Regarding Claim 5, Fangrow further teaches wherein the housing is cylindrical (cap 82 is cylindrical, see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Fangrow further teaches a plurality of internal threads on the interior surface of the housing (threads 200 may extend along about one half of the length of the interior surface 87 of the antiseptic cap 82, see Paragraph [0085]; Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Fangrow further teaches an extension tube (a medical connector, see Paragraph [0069]), wherein the extension tube is configured to be inserted into the passageway of the housing through the opening (the chamber 84 can be configured to be removably attached to a medical connector, see Paragraph [0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fangrow (WO 2018071717 A1) in view of Birch (US 20130092274 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Fangrow teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Fangrow does not explicitly disclose further comprising knurling on an exterior surface of the housing.
Birch teaches a resealing cap for an intravenous (IV) port (a cover device 100, see Figure 1; Paragraph [0027]) comprising knurling on an exterior surface of the housing (a gripping surface 210 may be on a portion of the outer surface 110 of the cover device 100, see Figure 1; Paragraph [0036]).
Fangrow and Birch are analogous art because both teach a sealing cap for an intravenous port.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the resealable cap of Fangrow and further include knurling on an exterior surface of the housing, as taught by Birch. Birch teaches a knurling surface increases a coefficient of friction between a grasping member (e.g., finger(s)) of a user and the at least one arm to allow hands or fingers to get a better grip on the knurled object than would be provided by the originally smooth surface, see Paragraph [0036]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically applicant argues in Claim 1 that the outer flange (125) of Fangrow fails to teach the newly amended limitation “tab extending radially outward from the at least one first sidewall at the second end of the resealing cap along a part of a perimeter of the at least one first sidewall”. The examiner agrees with the applicant that the outer flange (125) does not radially extend along at a second end of the resealing cap along a perimeter of the first sidewall. Accordingly, Claim 1 is now interpreted to have the tab as outer flange (725) which extends from the second end the resealing cap along a perimeter of the first sidewall (see below). Therefore, Claim 1 and its dependents remain rejected in view of Fangrow.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art of Solomon have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ERIC RASSAVONG/ (4/3/2026)Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JESSICA ARBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781