DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-175688, filed on 10/27/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/26/2022 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 10/26/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 01/30/2023, the claims were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
Claims 17 and 19-21 have been amended.
Claims 1-28 are pending in the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Some of the compounds in the specification are deformed or contain overlapping bonds. See for example the compounds below (pages 90, 94, and 99).
Other compounds are too small to see clearly. See for example the compounds below (page 293).
Please fix these compounds so that all bonds and elemental symbols are easy to see.
Please note that these examples are non-limiting and all structures should be checked for accuracy.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 12-14, the syntax of these claims is so unclear that it brings uncertainty as to what is being claimed. It is unclear which variable is a single bond to *b, *d, or *e, and which variables are hydrogen atoms.
In continuing examination, the limitation of claim 12 is being interpreted as “wherein, in formula (1-b), each of R61 to R68 which is not a single bond to *b, is a hydrogen atom”.
In continuing examination, the limitation of claim 13 is being interpreted as “wherein, in formula (1-d), each of R91 to R100 which is not a single bond to *d, is a hydrogen atom”.
In continuing examination, the limitation of claim 14 is being interpreted as “wherein, in formula (1-e), each of R111 to R118 which is not a single bond to *e, is a hydrogen atom”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 14-16, 18, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (WO 2023/273997 A1, using the provided translation for references).
With respect to claim 1, Huang discloses Compound P14 (paragraph 0070), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant formula (1) when Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl), and Ar2 is a substituted heterocyclic group having 13 ring atoms (carbazolyl), m1 is 0 and R1A to R5A are not present, n1 is 1 and R1B, R2B, R4B, and R5B are hydrogen atoms, R3B represents a single bond to *b1, m2 is 0 and R11A to R15A are not present, n2 is 0 and R11B to R15B are not present, m3 is 0 and R21A to R25A are not present, n3 is 0 and R21B to R25B are not present, and R31 to R35, R36 to R38 R39 to R42, and R43 to R47 are each a hydrogen atom.
With respect to claim 2, Huang teaches the compound of claim 1, and Ar1 is a phenyl group, as discussed above, which is analogous to instant formula (1-a) when R51 to R55 are hydrogen atoms, and Ar2 is a substituted carbazolyl group, as discussed above, which is analogous to instant formula (1-f) when R3 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl), R122 represents a single bond to *f, and R121, and R123 to R128 are hydrogen atoms.
With respect to claim 3, Huang teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound meets the limitations of condition (ii).
With respect to claim 4, Huang teaches the compound of claim 2, and Ar1 is represented by formula (1-a) as discussed above.
With respect to claim 6, Huang teaches the compound of claim 2, and Ar1 is not represented by any of formulae (1-b), (1-d), (1-e), (1-f), (1-g), or formula (1-h).
With respect to claim 7, Huang teaches the compound of claim 2, and Ar2 is not represented by any of formulae (1-b), (1-d), (1-e), (1-f), (1-g), or formula (1-h).
With respect to claim 8, Huang teaches the compound of claim 2, as discussed above.
Huang also teaches compound P15 (paragraph 0070), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant formula (1) when Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl), and Ar2 is a substituted heterocyclic group having 13 ring atoms (dibenzofuran), m1 is 0 and R1A to R5A are not present, n1 is 1 and R1B, R2B, R4B, and R5B are hydrogen atoms, R3B represents a single bond to *b1, m2 is 0 and R11A to R15A are not present, n2 is 0 and R11B to R15B are not present, m3 is 0 and R21A to R25A are not present, n3 is 0 and R21B to R25B are not present, and R31 to R35, R36 to R38 R39 to R42, and R43 to R47 are each a hydrogen atom.
This compound also meets the requirements of parent claim 2 and the instant claim when Ar1 is represented by formula (1-e) and X is oxygen, R116 represents a single bond to *e, and all remaining R characters are hydrogen atoms.
With respect to claim 9, Huang teaches the compound of claim 2, as discussed above.
Huang also teaches compound P16 (paragraph 0070), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant formula (1) when Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl), and Ar2 is a substituted heterocyclic group having 13 ring atoms (dibenzothiophene), m1 is 0 and R1A to R5A are not present, n1 is 1 and R1B, R2B, R4B, and R5B are hydrogen atoms, R3B represents a single bond to *b1, m2 is 0 and R11A to R15A are not present, n2 is 0 and R11B to R15B are not present, m3 is 0 and R21A to R25A are not present, n3 is 0 and R21B to R25B are not present, and R31 to R35, R36 to R38 R39 to R42, and R43 to R47 are each a hydrogen atom.
This compound also meets the requirements of parent claim 2 and the instant claim when Ar1 is represented by formula (1-e) and X is sulfur, R116 represents a single bond to *e, and all remaining R characters are hydrogen atoms.
With respect to claim 10, Huang teaches the compound of claim 1, and R31 to R35, R36 to R38 R39 to R42, and R43 to R47 are each a hydrogen atom, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 11, Huang teaches the compound of claim 2, and R51 to R55 are hydrogen atoms, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 14, Huang teaches the compound of claim 2, as discussed above.
Huang also teaches compound P15 (paragraph 0070), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant formula (1) when Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl), and Ar2 is a substituted heterocyclic group having 13 ring atoms (dibenzofuran), m1 is 0 and R1A to R5A are not present, n1 is 1 and R1B, R2B, R4B, and R5B are hydrogen atoms, R3B represents a single bond to *b1, m2 is 0 and R11A to R15A are not present, n2 is 0 and R11B to R15B are not present, m3 is 0 and R21A to R25A are not present, n3 is 0 and R21B to R25B are not present, and R31 to R35, R36 to R38 R39 to R42, and R43 to R47 are each a hydrogen atom.
This compound also meets the requirements of parent claim 2 and the instant claim when Ar1 is represented by formula (1-e) and X is oxygen, R116 represents a single bond to *e, and all remaining R characters are hydrogen atoms.
With respect to claim 15, Huang teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound contains at least one protium atom, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 16, Huang teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Huang also teaches Example 5 in Table 2 (paragraph 0181), which comprises compound P250, which is pictured below, as a material in an organic electroluminescent device (paragraph 0176)
This compound meets the requirements of parent formula (1) when Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl), and Ar2 is a substituted heterocyclic group having 13 ring atoms (carbazolyl), m1 is 0 and R1A to R5A are not present, n1 is 0 and R1B to R5B are not present, m2 is 0 and R11A to R15A are not present, n2 is 0 and R11B to R15B are not present, m3 is 0 and R21A to R25A are not present, n3 is 0 and R21B to R25B are not present, and R31 to R35, R36 to R38 R39 to R42, and R43 to R47 are each a hydrogen atom.
With respect to claim 18, Huang teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Huang also teaches Example 5 in Table 2 (paragraph 0181), which comprises compound P250, which is pictured below, as a material in an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer between the electrodes comprising a light emitting layer and the organic layer also comprises the compound (paragraphs 0176 and 0173-0174)
This compound meets the requirements of parent formula (1) when Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl), and Ar2 is a substituted heterocyclic group having 13 ring atoms (carbazolyl), m1 is 0 and R1A to R5A are not present, n1 is 0 and R1B to R5B are not present, m2 is 0 and R11A to R15A are not present, n2 is 0 and R11B to R15B are not present, m3 is 0 and R21A to R25A are not present, n3 is 0 and R21B to R25B are not present, and R31 to R35, R36 to R38 R39 to R42, and R43 to R47 are each a hydrogen atom.
With respect to claim 25, Huang teaches the device of claim 18 and the light emitting layer is a single layer (paragraphs 0173-0174).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 19-20, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (WO 2023/273997 A1, using the provided translation for references) as applied above.
With respect to claim 17, Huang teaches the material of claim 16, and Huang also teaches that the compound is suitable for use as a hole transporting material (paragraph 0010, lines 2-4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound as a hole transporting material, as taught by Huang.
With respect to claim 19, Huang teaches the device of claim 18, and Huang also teaches that the organic layer includes a hole transporting layer and the compound is suitable for use as a hole transporting material (paragraph 0101).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in a hole transporting layer as a hole transporting material, as taught by Huang.
With respect to claim 20, Huang teaches the device of claim 19, and Huang also teaches that the device may comprise a multilayer structure comprising at least one hole transport layer and the hole transport region may comprise the compound (paragraph 0106).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one hole transport layer and include the compound in the at least one hole transport layer, as taught by Huang.
With respect to claims 26 and 27, Huang teaches the device of claim 18, and Huang also teaches that the light emitting layer may comprise a fluorescent dopant, referred to as BFD, such as BFD-8 (paragraph 0119), which is pictured below. It is examiner’s position that BFD is an obvious abbreviation for “blue fluorescent dopant”.
Examiner is interpreting this compound to meet the requirements of the instant claims through its very close structural similarity to the blue fluorescent dopant BD-1, as given on page 310 of the instant specification. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. When compounds are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
Huang is silent to the emissive wavelength of the blue dopant. However, this is considered to be a property of the composition. Support for this presumption comes from the use of like materials and like processes when BFD-8 is used as a blue dopant in the emissive layer of an electroluminescent device, which would result in the claimed property described in the instant claims. Therefore, the claims are considered to be obvious over Huang, and the burden shifts to applicant to show that there is an unobvious difference between the claimed emissive wavelength range of 500 nm and less and the wavelength of the compound in the prior art, BFD-8. See MPEP 2112 (V). In addition, the presently claimed properties are considered to be present once the work of Huang was first provided. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
With respect to claim 28, Huang teaches the device of claim 18, and Huang also teaches that organic electroluminescent devices can be used in electronic devices such as lighting elements and organic thin-film transistors (paragraph 0097).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed organic electroluminescent device in an electronic device, as taught by Huang.
Claims 1-12 and 14-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0244047 A1), and further in view of Huang et al. (WO 2023/273997 A1, using the provided translation for references).
With respect to claim 1, Lee discloses compound 2-56, which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Lee formula (2) (paragraph 0064), which is pictured below.
Lee also teaches, by way of example, that Ar4 can be a naphthyl group (see for example, Formulae 8 through 10 on page 5, and the examples on page 28) and that Ar6 can be a biphenyl group (see for example, compound 2-11 on page 19). Examiner also notes that Lee is not limiting with respect to the bonding positions of Ar4 through Ar6 on L1 through L3.
Lee includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lee being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a device which avoids deterioration of the interface of the emitting layer, and increases the charge balance of the emitting layer, and achieves high luminous efficiency, low driving voltage, high color purity, and greatly improved life span (paragraph 0015), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
However, Lee does not teach nor fairly suggest that L2 and Ar6 have the structure of instant formula (1).
In analogous art, Huang teaches an organic compound applied to organic electroluminescent device that is particularly suitable as a hole transport material which can improve the luminous efficiency of the device and reduce the driving voltage.
Huang teaches experimental Compound P245 (paragraph 0170 and Table 1) and comparative compound CCP-5, which are pictured below to facilitate discussion.
These two compounds differ structurally by one arylamine substituent, yet differ significantly in their chemical properties, as summarized below.
Experimental compound P245 demonstrates lower driving voltage (V) and higher current efficient (cd/A) while achieving the same brightness as comparative compound CCP-5.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the terphenyl substituent in the compound of Lee with the ortho-substituted quaterphenyl group of Huang in order to achieve the same brightness with a lower voltage and a higher current efficiency, as taught by Huang.
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of instant formula (1) when Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 10 ring carbon atoms (naphthyl), and Ar2 is a unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl), m1 is 0 and R1A to R5A are not present, n1 is 1 and R1B, R2B, R4B, and R5B are hydrogen atoms, R3B represents a single bond to *b1, m2 is 0 and R11A to R15A are not present, n2 is 1 and R11B, R12B, R14B and R15B are hydrogen atoms and R13A represents a single bond to *b2, m3 is 0 and R21A to R25A are not present, n3 is 0 and R21B to R25B are not present, and R31 to R35, R36 to R38 R39 to R42, and R43 to R47 are each a hydrogen atom.
With respect to claim 2, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 1, and Ar1 is represented by formula (1-b) when R61 to R68 are hydrogen atoms and form a naphthyl group, and Ar2 is represented by formula (1-a) when R51 to R55 are hydrogen atoms and form a phenyl group, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 3, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 1 and the compound satisfies condition (iii), as discussed above.
With respect to claims 4 and 6, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 2, and Ar1 is represented by formula (1-b) and m1 is 0 and n1 is 1, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 5, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 2, and Ar2 is represented by formula (1-a), as discussed above.
With respect to claim 7, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 2, and Ar2 is not represented by formulae (1-b), (1-d), (1-e), (1-f), (1-g), or formula (1-h).
With respect to claim 8, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 2, as discussed above.
Lee also, by way of example, teaches that Ar4 can be a dibenzofuranyl group (see for example, compounds 2-7 and 2-8 on page 18).
Such a compound meets the requirements of the instant claim when Ar1 is represented by formula (1-e) and X is an oxygen atom.
Lee includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lee being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a device which avoids deterioration of the interface of the emitting layer, and increases the charge balance of the emitting layer, and achieves high luminous efficiency, low driving voltage, high color purity, and greatly improved life span (paragraph 0015), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 9, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 2, as discussed above.
Lee also, by way of example, teaches that Ar4 can be a dibenzothiophenyl group (see for example, compounds 2-7 and 2-8 on page 18).
Such a compound meets the requirements of the instant claim when Ar1 is represented by formula (1-e) and X is an sulfur atom.
Lee includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lee being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a device which avoids deterioration of the interface of the emitting layer, and increases the charge balance of the emitting layer, and achieves high luminous efficiency, low driving voltage, high color purity, and greatly improved life span (paragraph 0015), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 10, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 1, and R31 to R35, R36 to R38 R39 to R42, and R43 to R47 are each a hydrogen atom, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 11, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 2, and R51 to R55 in formula (1-a) are all hydrogen atoms, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 12, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 2, and in formula (1-b), all of R61 to R68 which are not a single bond are hydrogen atoms.
With respect to claim 14, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 2, as discussed above.
Lee also, by way of example, teaches that Ar4 can be a dibenzofuranyl group (see for example, compounds 2-7 and 2-8 on page 18).
Such a compound meets the requirements of the instant claim when Ar1 is represented by formula (1-e) and R91 to R100 are all hydrogen atoms.
With respect to claim 15, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 1, and the compound comprises at least one protium atom.
With respect to claim 16, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 1, and Lee also teaches the compound is a material for an electroluminescent device (an organic electronic element, paragraph 0070).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in an organic electroluminescent device, as taught by Lee.
With respect to claim 17, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 1, and Lee also teaches the compound is suitable for use in a hole transport layer (an emitting auxiliary layer with hole mobility, paragraphs 0010 and 0047).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in a hole transporting layer, such as an emitting auxiliary layer, as taught by Lee.
With respect to claims 18 and 19, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 1, and Lee also teaches an anode (ITO), a cathode (Al, paragraph 0138), and an organic layer between the electrodes which includes a light emitting layer and the organic layer also includes a hole transporting zone (an emitting auxiliary layer with hole mobility, paragraphs 0010 and 0047) comprising the compound (paragraph 0137).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in the hole transport zone of a device with the claimed device structure, as taught by Lee.
With respect to claims 20 and 21, Lee and Huang teach the device of claim 19, and Lee also teaches that the hole transport zone includes a first hole transporting layer on the anode side (a hole transport layer) and a second hole transporting layer on the cathode side (an emitting auxiliary layer), and the second hole transporting layer (the emitting auxiliary layer) comprises the compound (compound of formula 2) (paragraph 0070).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the compound into a device with two hole transport layers and apply the compound to the hole transport layer closest to the emitting layer, as taught by Lee.
With respect to claim 22, Lee and Huang teach the device of claim 20, and Lee also teaches that the emitting auxiliary layer is in direct contact with the emitting layer (paragraphs 0070 and 0138).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the second hole transport layer (the emitting auxiliary layer) in direct contact with the emitting layer, as taught by Lee.
With respect to claim 23, Lee and Huang teach the device of claim 20, and Lee also teaches the first hole transport layer (the hole transporting layer) has a thickness of 60 nm, and the second hole transport layer (the emitting auxiliary layer) has a thickness of 20 nm, for a total thickness of 80 nm (paragraph 0137).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a hole transport zone of 80 nm thickness, as taught by Lee.
With respect to claim 24, Lee and Huang teach the device of claim 20, and Lee also teaches that the first hole transporting layer may comprise compound 1-31 (page 11) which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant formula (21) when LA1 through LC1 are each an unsubstituted arylene group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenylene), A1 is a substituted heterocyclic group having 13 ring atoms (carbazolyl), and B1 and C1 are an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl).
Lee teaches that the combination of the emitting auxiliary layer and hole transport layer according to the claimed invention prevents deterioration of the interface of the emitting layer and increases the charge balance of the emitting layer, thereby achieving high luminous efficiency, low driving voltage, high color purity, and improved life span (paragraph 0015).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a hole transport layer with a compound such as 1-31 in order to prevent deterioration of the interface of the emitting layer and increase the charge balance of the emitting layer, thereby achieving high luminous efficiency, low driving voltage, high color purity, and improved life span, as taught by Lee.
With respect to claim 25, Lee and Huang teach the device of claim 18, and Lee teaches that the light emitting layer is a single layer (paragraph 0133).
With respect to claims 26 and 27, Lee and Huang teach the device of claim 18, as outlined above.
However, while Lee teaches that the emissive layer may be doped (paragraph 0138), Lee does not teach a device comprising a blue fluorescent dopant in the light-emitting layer.
Huang teaches that the light emitting layer may comprise a fluorescent dopant, referred to as BFD, such as BFD-8 (paragraph 0119), which is pictured below. It is examiner’s position that BFD is an obvious abbreviation for “blue fluorescent dopant”.
Examiner is interpreting this compound to meet the requirements of the instant claims through its very close structural similarity to the blue fluorescent dopant BD-1, as given on page 310 of the instant specification. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. When compounds are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
Huang is silent to the emissive wavelength of the blue dopant. However, this is considered to be a property of the composition. Support for this presumption comes from the use of like materials and like processes when BFD-8 is used as a blue dopant in the emissive layer of an electroluminescent device, which would result in the claimed property described in the instant claims. Therefore, the claims are considered to be obvious over Huang, and the burden shifts to applicant to show that there is an unobvious difference between the claimed emissive wavelength range of 500 nm and less and the wavelength of the compound in the prior art, BFD-8. See MPEP 2112 (V). In addition, the presently claimed properties are considered to be present once the work of Huang was first provided. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the blue fluorescent dopant of Huang as a blue fluorescent dopant in the emissive layer of Lee, as Huang teaches this was a known blue fluorescent dopant which was suitable for use in a device in combination with a monoamine of the claimed invention which was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 28, Lee and Huang teach the device of claim 18, and Lee teaches that the device may be an electronic device such as a display apparatus (paragraph 0070).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the device in an electronic device, such as a display apparatus, as taught by Lee.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0244047 A1), and further in view of Huang et al. (WO 2023/273997 A1, using the provided translation for references) as applied above, and further in view of Ha et al. (US 2020/0365814 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Lee and Huang teach the compound of claim 2, as discussed above.
However, while Lee teaches that any of Ar4 to Ar6 can be a C12 aromatic group (paragraph 0048), neither Lee nor Huang specifically teach a phenanthryl group at a position analogous to instant Ar1 or Ar2.
In analogous art, Ha teaches a monoamine compound for use in the hole transporting layer adjacent to the light emitting layer (Compound 1 of paragraph 0251) which comprises at least one phenanthryl group (Formula 1, paragraph 0006).
Ha teaches that an organic light emitting device using the compound of the invention can implement a low driving voltage, high light emitting efficiency, or a long service life (paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any of Ar4 to Ar6 to be a phenanthryl group in the compound of Lee, in order to obtain an organic light emitting device with low driving voltage, high light emitting efficiency, or a long service life, as taught by Ha.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haldi et al. (US 2018/0323395 A1) – teaches relevant blue fluorescent dopants
Lee et al. (US 2017/0317289 A1) – teaches relevant arylamines
Ha et al (US 2020/0194673 A1) – teaches relevant arylamines with phenanthrene
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786