Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 11/19/2025 has been entered. Independent Claims 1, 8, 14, and 19 have been amended. Dependent claims 7, 11, 13, 24, and 26 have been amended. Claims 5, 12, 15-17 and 20-23 have been cancelled. Claims 28-36 are new ad have been entered. Claims 1-2, 4, 7- 9, 11, 13-14, 19, and 24-36 are still pending in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, under 35 USC § 103, have been considered have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specified challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-9, 14, 19, 29-31, and 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senarath (Pub. No.: US 20160352645 A1, hereafter “Senarath”) in view of Gormley (Pub. No.: US 8543685 B1, hereafter “Gormley”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 8, Claim 14, and Claim 19
Senarath teaches a Method and System Comprising
obtaining (Senarath ¶0037: monitors), by a policy control network element (Senarath Fig. 4: 410, Traffic Monitoring function), an actual data rate (Senarath ¶0037: monitors a traffic level (e.g. net bandwidth used)) in a target network slice (Senarath ¶0037: traffic levels are indicative of traffic within a slice 400, examiner’s note: traffic levels can also be seen compared to a larger context, see congested areas in ¶0038), wherein the actual data rate indicates a sum of data rates (Senarath ¶0037: uplink and downlink data flows, e.g. sessions) occupied by all sessions that have accessed the target network slice (Senarath ¶0037: slice 400), wherein the target network slice is accessed by a plurality of sessions (Senarath ¶0037: traffic associated with Slice 400 associated with multiple devices, for example UEs 160, 170; Senarath teaches a traffic monitoring function monitoring a traffic level within a slice’s uplink and downlink data flows that’s associated with multiple UEs);
Senarath does not explicitly teach
rejecting, by the policy control network element, access of a first session to the target network slice when the actual data rate is greater than or equal to an upper data rate limit of the target network slice.
However, Gormley teaches
rejecting by the policy control network element (Gormley Fig. 8: 132), access of a first session (Gormley Fig. 8: 122, service flow) to the target network slice (Gormley Fig. 8: 122) when the actual data rate (Gormley Fig. 8: 126) is greater than or equal to an upper data rate limit (Gormley Fig. 8: 126) of the target network slice (Gormley Fig. 8: 122, service flow; Gormley teaches reducing the threshold for data rate when the data rate threshold is higher than a usage threshold, examiner’s note, the data rate may be zero).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath with Gormley to include an element that teaches reducing the threshold for data rate when the data rate threshold is higher than a usage threshold, as taught by Gormley in Fig. 8, to reduce loss of multiplexing gain and increase frequency diversity.
Claim 8 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art
At least one processor (Senarath Fig. 3: 57); and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that is executable by the processor (Senarath Fig. 3: 59; Senarath teaches computer readable storage that can be executed by a processor)
Claim 14 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art
sending, by a data analytics network element to a policy control network element (Gormley Fig. 1: 22; Gormley teaches the network element sending data analytics)
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath with Gormley to include an element that teaches the network element sending data analytics, as taught by Gormley in Fig. 1, to reduce loss of multiplexing gain and increase frequency diversity.
Regarding Claim 2 and Claim 9
Senarath in view of Gormley teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 1. Gormley further discloses
comprises at least one of the following: a guaranteed bit rate service (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a non-guaranteed bit rate service (Gormley Fig. 7: 94, col. 7 line 32-34; Gormley teaches a non-guaranteed bit rate service).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath with Gormley to include an element that teaches a non-guaranteed bit rate service, as taught by Gormley in Fig. 7, to reduce loss of multiplexing gain and increase frequency diversity.
Regarding Claim 29 and Claim 33
Senarath in view of Gormley teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 1. Gormley further discloses
receiving (Gormley Fig. 8: 122), by the policy control network element (Gormley Fig. 8: 120), the upper data rate limit from a unified data repository network element (Gormley Fig. 8: 126; Gormley teaches the network element using a usage threshold policy from its memory).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath with Gormley to include an element that teaches the network element using a usage threshold policy from its memory, as taught by Gormley in Fig. 8, to reduce loss of multiplexing gain and increase frequency diversity.
Regarding Claim 30 and Claim 34
Senarath in view of Gormley teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 1. Senarath teaches
wherein the actual data rate (Senarath ¶0037: data flows) comprises an uplink actual data rate (Senarath ¶0037: uplink) and a downlink actual data rate (Senarath ¶0037: downlink ratio),
Senarath does not explicitly teach
and wherein rejecting access of the first session comprises rejecting the access when the uplink actual data rate is greater than or equal to an uplink upper data rate limit or when the downlink actual data rate is greater than or equal to a downlink upper data rate limit.
However, Gormley teaches
and wherein rejecting access of the first session (Gormley Fig. 8: 132) comprises rejecting the access when the uplink actual data rate is greater than or equal to an uplink upper data rate limit (Gormley Fig. 8: 126) or when the downlink actual data rate is greater than or equal to a downlink upper data rate limit (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Gormley teaches reducing access when the data rate exceeds a threshold).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath with Gormley to include an element that teaches reducing access when the data rate exceeds a threshold, as taught by Gormley in Fig. 8, to reduce loss of multiplexing gain and increase frequency diversity.
Regarding Claim 31 and Claim 35
Senarath in view of Gormley teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 19. Senarath teaches
wherein the policy control network element (Senarath Fig. 4: 410, Traffic Monitoring function) manages (Senarath ¶0037: monitors) a plurality of network slices (Senarath ¶0037: inter-function traffic) including the target network slice (Senarath ¶0037: carried within slice 400; Senarath teaches the traffic monitoring function monitoring multiple network slices within a slice),
Senarath does not explicitly teach
wherein each of the plurality of network slices has a respective upper data rate limit, and wherein the policy control network element is configured to independently control access to each of the plurality of network slices based on the respective upper data rate limit for that network slice.
However, Gormley teaches
wherein each of the plurality of network slices has a respective upper data rate limit (Gormley Fig. 8: 126, usage threshold), and wherein the policy control network element is configured to independently control access (Gormley Fig. 8: 140) to each of the plurality of network slices based on the respective upper data rate limit for that network slice (Gormley Fig. 8: 126, usage threshold; Gormley teaches a usage threshold for the policy control function to reduce functionality based on an upper limit).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath with Gormley to include an element that teaches a usage threshold for the policy control function to reduce functionality based on an upper limit, as taught by Gormley in Fig. 8, to reduce loss of multiplexing gain and increase frequency diversity.
Claim(s) 7, 13, 28, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senarath (Pub. No.: US 20160352645 A1, hereafter “Senarath”) in view of Gormley (Pub. No.: US 8543685 B1, hereafter “Gormley”), further in view of Samdanis (Pub. No.: US 20190174498 A1, hereafter “Samdanis”).
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 13
Senarath in view of Gormley teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 1. Senarath in view of Gormley does not explicitly teach
wherein the target network area is an entire coverage area, and the target network slice is a network slice that the first session requests to access
However, Samdanis teaches
wherein the target network area is an entire coverage area (Samdanis Fig. 1: 1), and the target network slice (Samdanis Fig. 7: S701) is a network slice that the first session requests to access (Samdanis Fig. 7: S705l; Samdanis teaches the network coverage area and the first network slice is a request for access).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath in view of Gormley, with Samdanis to have the network coverage area, and the first network slice request access for said network area, as taught by Samdanis in Fig. 1 and Fig. 7, to reduce loss of multiplexing gain and increase frequency diversity.
Regarding Claim 28 and Claim 32
Senarath in view of Gormley teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 1. Samdanis teaches
wherein the first session (Samdanis ¶0040: admission control) has not yet accessed the target network slice (Samdanis ¶0040: traffic prediction), and wherein rejecting access of the first session (Samdanis ¶0039: to be set up) comprises performing admission control to prevent the first session from establishing a connection to the target network slice (Samdanis ¶0040: admission control; Samdanis teaches admission control for a to be set up network connection with traffic prediction).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath in view of Gormley, with Samdanis to have an element that teaches admission control for a to be set up network connection with traffic prediction, as taught by Samdanis in ¶0039-¶0040, to reduce loss of multiplexing gain and increase frequency diversity.
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senarath (Pub. No.: US 20160352645 A1, hereafter “Senarath”) in view of Gormley (Pub. No.: US 8543685 B1, hereafter “Gormley”), and even further in view of Bor-Yaliniz (Pub. No.: US 20200044943 A1, hereafter “Bor-Yaliniz”).
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 11
Senarath in view of Gormley teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 1. Senarath in view of Gormley does not teach
wherein the actual data rate is determined based on actual traffic on an N6 interface in the target network area wherein the N6 interfaces are egress interfaces from user plane functions in the target network slice to a data network, and wherein determining the actual data rate comprises summarizing uplink actual data rates and downlink actual data rates of all of the N6 interfaces in the target network area.
However, Bor-Yaliniz discloses
wherein the actual data rate (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: end-to-end data rate) is determined based on actual traffic on an N6 interface in the target network splice (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: average end-to-end) wherein the N6 interfaces are egress interfaces (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: ingress-egress points) from user plane functions in the target network slice (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: network slices) to a data network (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: network slice utilization percentage), and wherein determining the actual data rate (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: end-to-end data rates) comprises summarizing uplink actual data rates (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: KOIs ad QoS requirements) and downlink actual data rates of all of the N6 interfaces (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: monitored ingress-egress points) in the target network slice (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: determining network segment(s)/slice(s); Bor-Yaliniz teaches end-to-end data rates being determined by an average for monitored ingress-egress points for network slices being generated with KOI and QoS requirements).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gormley with Samdanis, and further with Bor-Yaliniz to teach end-to-end data rates being determined by an average for monitored ingress-egress points for network slices being generated with KOI and QoS requirements, as taught by Bor-Yaliniz in ¶0233, to ensure adequate network service, the communication network should be able to provide enough communication and related resources to support all of its traffic, to improve network operations, accurate and appropriate allocation of the network resources.
Claim 11 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art
wherein the actual data rate (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: end-to-end data rate) is received from the data analytics network element (Bor-Yaliniz ¶0233: CMS/SON; Bor-Yaliniz teaches the end-to-end data rate information is received from a data analytics network element)
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath in view of Gormley, and further with Bor-Yaliniz to teach the end-to-end data rate information is received from a data analytics network element, as taught by Bor-Yaliniz in ¶0233, to ensure adequate network service, the communication network should be able to provide enough communication and related resources to support all of its traffic, to improve network operations, accurate and appropriate allocation of the network resources.
Claim(s) 24-27 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senarath (Pub. No.: US 20160352645 A1, hereafter “Senarath”) in view of Gormley (Pub. No.: US 8543685 B1, hereafter “Gormley”), and even further in view of Cooblall (Pub. No.: US 20200344140 A1, hereafter “Cooblall”).
Regarding Claim 24 and Claim 26
Senarath in view of Gormley teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 1. Senarath in view of Gormley does not explicitly teach
wherein the upper data rate limit is a maximum of a sum of data rates can be used by a guaranteed bit rate service and a non-guaranteed bit rate service that access the target network slice in the target network area.
However, Cooblall teaches
wherein the upper data rate (Cooblall ¶0018: data rate) limit (Cooblall ¶0018: threshold) is a maximum of a sum of data rates (Cooblall ¶0018: data rate capacity over an area) that can be used by a guaranteed bit rate service (Cooblall ¶0018: high data rate performance) and a non-guaranteed bit rate service (Cooblall ¶0018: minimum data rate policy) that access the target network slice (Cooblall ¶0018: set of network slice policies) in the target network area (Cooblall ¶0018: network level; Cooblall teaches a data rate threshold over an area with a maximum and a minimum data rate policy on a network level).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath in view of Gormley, and further with Cooblall to teach a data rate threshold over an area with a maximum and a minimum data rate policy on a network level, as taught by Cooblall in ¶0018, to have one or more control plane nodes establish a positive and negative threshold associated with 5G.
Regarding Claim 25 and Claim 27
Senarath in view of Gormley teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 1. Cooblall teaches
wherein a partial area of the target network slice (Cooblall ¶0018: network slice policies) is at least one of the following: a tracking area (Cooblall ¶0018: data rate capacity over an area), a tracking area list (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a cell (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a cell list (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Cooblall teaches the network slice policy includes data rate capacity over an area).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath in view of Gormley, and further with Cooblall to teach the network slice policy includes data rate capacity over an area, as taught by Cooblall in ¶0018, to have one or more control plane nodes establish a positive and negative threshold associated with 5G.
Regarding Claim 36
Senarath in view of Gormley teaches the method and the system as explained above in Claim 1. Cooblall teaches
wherein the plurality of sessions is a plurality of PDU sessions (Cooblall ¶0012: PDUs for the communication session).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Senarath in view of Gormley, and further with Cooblall to teach PDUs for the communication session, as taught by Cooblall in ¶0012, to have one or more control plane nodes establish a positive and negative threshold associated with 5G.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415