DETAILED ACTION
This office action addresses pending claims 1-4, 6, 8-14, 16, and 18-20. Claims 1 and 11 were amended, and claims 5, 7, 15, and 17 were cancelled in the response filed 12/28/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo (KR 100911562, see machine translation) in view of Takabayashi (JP H02-168572, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Yeo discloses an apparatus and method for removing fuel cell stack OCV (abstract). The system comprises a fuel cell stack 31 connected via a third relay 37 [DC input breaker connected between an input terminal of the power converter and the fuel cell] to a DC/DC converter 38 [power converter], which is connected to a radiator 39 [load] (Fig 3). A control unit/controller 40 is controls the relay 37 and the converter 38 (page 4).
When the fuel cell is started, third relay 37 is closed, thereby connecting the stack 31 and the DC/DC converter 38 (step S404) so that the OCV of the stack 31 is removed using the radiator 39 as a load [linking current to the system or load to reduce an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the fuel cell before power generation of the fuel cell is started, after the fuel cell is started] (page 4, Fig 4).
With regards to the limitation of “before power generation of the fuel cell is started”, it is interpreted that for the power generation to occur that both the oxygen and hydrogen fuel need to be supplied. Yeo teaches, in conventional methods, that when the fuel cell is started up, OCV is present and oxygen is present at the anode which depletes carbon at the cathode (page 3), while the oxygen supply valve CV620 is closed and the hydrogen supply valve is opened [that is, not during power generation because one of the reactants is not provided] (page 3). Then when the OCV drops, the oxygen supply CV620 is opened (page 3). Therefore, because Yeo is concerned with lowering the OCV by connecting a fuel cell to a load through a converter at the start up, and Yeo teaches the prior art steps of closing or opening the supply valves such that the control is performed before power generation of the fuel cell, Yeo teaches performing the lowering the OCV by connecting a fuel cell through a converter to a load at the start up before the power generation is started.
However, if it is taken that Yeo does not disclose connecting a fuel cell through a converter to load at the start up before the power generation based upon Yeo’s description of the conventional methods of lowering OCV before power generation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the connecting of a fuel cell via a converter to a load at the start up before the power generation in order to lower the OCV of the fuel cell before power generation, as Yeo describes lowering OCV at the start before power generation in the prior art.
However, Yeo does not explicitly disclose a first initial charge circuit connected in parallel between an output terminal of the fuel cell and an input terminal of the power converter and configured to cut off an inrush current from the fuel cell.
Takabayashi discloses a fuel cell system with control method comprising a fuel cell FC 1 connected to an inverter 2 (abstract, Fig 1). A resistance 10 is connected in parallel with the fuel cell FC1 and inverter 2 with a switch [first initial charge circuit] (abstract, Fig 1). A main circuit switch SWM 9 is located between the fuel cell and the inverter 2 (Fig 1, page 10). The AC power output from inverter 2 is filtered via filter FL 5 having capacitors therein [second initial charge circuit connected in series] (page 3, Fig 1). The filter FL 5 is further connected to a transformer 6, output switch SW AC, and an AC load 3 and other systems 4 (page 3, Fig 1). The resistance 10 lowers the terminal voltage of the fuel cell at the startup (page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the resistance connected in parallel between the fuel cell and the power converter of Takabayashi with the system of Yeo for the purpose of lowering the terminal voltage of the fuel cell at the startup, which is an initial type of connection, and cuts off an inrush current from the fuel cell.
With regards to the limitation the controller configured to “connect the input terminal of the power converter and the fuel cell by turning-on the DC input breaker before forming a current path from the fuel cell to the system or load”, Takabayashi does not explicitly disclose this limitation. However, Takabayashi further discloses the AC power output from inverter 2 is filtered via filter FL 5 having capacitors therein [second initial charge circuit connected in series] (page 3, Fig 1). The filter FL 5 is further connected to a transformer 6, output switch SW AC 7 [a switching element], and an AC load 3 and other systems 4 (page 3, Fig 1). Takabayashi additionally teaches that the output switch SW AC 7 provides power to loads when the output switch SW AC 7 is on (page 3). Therefore, Takabayashi reasonably suggests the output switch SW AC 7 is not always on, and it would be obvious to not have the output switch SW AC 7 connect when the connection is not needed (i.e., the converter is not providing power to the load).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the output switch connected to the output of the power converter of Takabayashi with the system of Yeo for the purpose of controlling the connection. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to close the output switch [turning-on the DC input breaker] once the converter is needed, which is after the electrical connection between the fuel cell and converter has been established [i.e., after third relay 37 is closed/turned-on].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, modified Yeo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Yeo discloses that the output voltage OCV of the fuel cell stack is compared with a first reference value (pages 4-5). Therefore, Yeo teaches that the OCV is monitored because the OCV is compared. Further, Yeo teaches that when the OCV is lower than a first reference value, a subsequent action is performed (page 5); therefore, the current linked to the system or load such that the OCV of the fuel cell is less than a reference voltage.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, modified Yeo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takabayashi teaches an output switch SW AC 7 connected to the output of the converter and the input of the system/load (Fig 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, modified Yeo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Yeo does not explicitly disclose the apparatus further comprising: a second initial charge circuit connected in series between an output terminal of the power converter and the system or load and configured to cut off an inrush current to the system or load.
Takabayashi discloses a fuel cell system with control method comprising a fuel cell FC 1 connected to an inverter 2 (abstract, Fig 1). A resistance 10 is connected in parallel with the fuel cell FC1 and inverter 2 with a switch [first initial charge circuit] (abstract, Fig 1). A main circuit switch SWM 9 is located between the fuel cell and the inverter 2 (Fig 1, page 10). The AC power output from inverter 2 is filtered via filter FL 5 having capacitors therein [second initial charge circuit connected in series] (page 3, Fig 1). The filter FL 5 is further connected to a transformer 6, output switch SW AC, and an AC load 3 and other systems 4 (page 3, Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the filter with capacitors connected to the output of the power converter of Takabayashi with the system of Yeo for the controlling the output terminal of the power converter.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 18-19, modified Yeo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Yeo does not explicitly disclose (claims 8 and 18) wherein the power converter includes: a direct current/alternating current (DC/AC) inverter configured to convert DC power generated by the fuel cell into AC power; or (claims 9 and 19) further comprising: a filter device connected with an output terminal of the power converter and configured to remove a noise of power output from the power converter.
Takabayashi discloses a fuel cell system with control method comprising a fuel cell FC 1 connected to an inverter 2 [DC/AC inverter] (abstract, Fig 1). A resistance 10 is connected in parallel with the fuel cell FC1 and inverter 2 with a switch [first initial charge circuit] (abstract, Fig 1). A main circuit switch SWM 9 is located between the fuel cell and the inverter 2 (Fig 1, page 10). The AC power output from inverter 2 is filtered via filter FL 5 having capacitors therein [second initial charge circuit connected in series] (page 3, Fig 1). The filter FL 5 is further connected to a transformer 6, output switch SW AC, and an AC load 3 and other systems 4 (page 3, Fig 1). The resistance 10 lowers the terminal voltage of the fuel cell at the startup (page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an inverter as the converter and also combine the filter connected to the filter as taught by Takabayashi with the converter of Yeo for the purpose of connecting the fuel cell to power loads that require AC.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo (KR 100911562, see machine translation) in view of Takabayashi (JP H02-168572, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1 or 11 above, and further in view of Manery (US 2003/0022031).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, modified Yeo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Yeo does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller checks a state of the system or load, before linking the current to the system or load and links the current to the system or load, when it is determined that there is no abnormality in the system or load.
Manery discloses a fuel cell system including a fuel cell stack 12, a battery, and a control system 14 (abstract). The fuel cell system includes a microcontroller 40, at least one sensor, at least one actuator, and a power supply switch ([0011]). The microcontroller 40 is programed or configured to carry out fuel cell system operations ([0042]). The microcontroller 40 is coupled to receive input from sensors 44 and to provide output ([0043]). The microcontroller 40 is selectively couplable between the fuel cell stack 12 and battery 47 of switching power during fuel cell system operation and/or to recharge battery 47 during fuel cell operation ([0043]). In a starting state, the microcontroller 40 initializes itself, places all actuators and control devices in their proper initial states, enables a serial interface, starts a watchdog time, and performs a series of checks to ensure that all systems and components are operational ([0068]). If the outcomes of the checks are satisfactory, microcontroller 40 causes the external load to be connected and enters a running state, otherwise fuel cell system 10 enters a failure state ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the function of the microcontroller that performs a series of checks to ensure that all systems and components are operational as taught by Manery with the fuel cell system of Yeo for the purpose of ensuring that all systems (including the system and load) are functioning properly and are operational before connecting the fuel cell.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo (KR 100911562, see machine translation) in view of Takabayashi (JP H02-168572, see machine translation), as applied to claims 4 or 14 above, and further in view of Teichmann et al. (US 2019/0214663).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, modified Yeo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Yeo discloses a relay 39 and Takabayashi discloses switches (Fig 1), modified Yeo does not explicitly disclose wherein the switching element includes a magnetic contactor (MC).
Teichmann discloses a fuel cell based power generation system including a fuel cell assembly 102, an assembly switching element 104, a converter 110, a connector 116, and a grid 114 (abstract, Fig 1). The fuel cell can be coupled to other external power sources ([0019]). The assembly switching element 104 includes a diode and a switch, where the switch may include a fuse, a relay, a manually operated switch, mechanically operated switch, an electromechanically operated switch, a magnetically operated switch (magnetic connector), or the like ([0020]). Therefore, Teichmann recognizes the equivalency of a magnetically operated switch (magnetic connector) with different connectors (a relay, manually operated switch, mechanically operated switch, an electromechanically operated switch).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a magnetically operated switch (magnetic connector) as taught by Teichmann as the switch of modified Yeo because the modification amounts to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, and as Teichmann teaches that the elements are suitable for a switch.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yeo and Takabayashi do not disclose the amended limitations of claims 1 or 11.
This is not considered persuasive. Yeo discloses a fuel cell stack 31 connected via a third relay 37 [DC input breaker connected between an input terminal of the power converter and the fuel cell] to a DC/DC converter 38 [power converter] (Fig 3). Therefore, Yeo discloses the DC input breaker as claimed.
With regards to the limitation the controller configured to “connect the input terminal of the power converter and the fuel cell by turning-on the DC input breaker before forming a current path from the fuel cell to the system or load”, Takabayashi does not explicitly disclose this limitation. However, Takabayashi further discloses the AC power output from inverter 2 is filtered via filter FL 5 having capacitors therein [second initial charge circuit connected in series] (page 3, Fig 1). The filter FL 5 is further connected to a transformer 6, output switch SW AC 7 [a switching element], and an AC load 3 and other systems 4 (page 3, Fig 1). Takabayashi additionally teaches that the output switch SW AC 7 provides power to loads when the output switch SW AC 7 is on (page 3). Therefore, Takabayashi reasonably suggests the output switch SW AC 7 is not always on, and it would be obvious to not have the output switch SW AC 7 connect when the connection is not needed (i.e., the converter is not providing power to the load).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the output switch connected to the output of the power converter of Takabayashi with the system of Yeo for the purpose of controlling the connection. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to close the output switch once the converter is needed, which is after the electrical connection between the fuel cell and converter has been established [i.e., after third relay 37 is closed/turned-on].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725