DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "current device password" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansey, JR. et al (US 2016/0284153 A1) in view of Chalise et al (US 2016/0364930 A1) and further in view of Coughlin et al (US 2017/0053099 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tansey teaches
a vending machine system, i.e., fluid filling station (100) for exchanging CO2 gas cylinders, i.e., fluid container (101), as mentioned in paragraphs 3 and 64 and as illustrated in figure 1, for example, the system (100) including a controller, i.e., CPU (116), as mentioned in paragraph 62, in communication with a user interface (117) as mentioned at paragraph 61, a payment system, i.e., credit card processing module (119), as mentioned at paragraph 61, for example, and an array of bin assemblies, i.e., cylinder lockers (160) having cylinder compartment (161), as illustrated in figures 21 and 23 and as mentioned at paragraph 93, for example, wherein each one of the bin assemblies (160) is shaped to at least partially receive an end of a CO₂ gas cylinder (101) and includes a locking system, i.e., tank gripper (135), as mentioned in paragraph 73 and as illustrated in figures 18e-18g and 19, for releasably securing therein a CO2 gas cylinder (101), said system for performing the steps of:
(a) receiving user input through the user interface (117) as mentioned at paragraphs 6-10, 15, 61, 65-74, 77, 89, 107 and 110.
Regarding Claim 1, Tansey does not expressly teach
(b) if the user input represents a desire to conduct maintenance, then the system performs the steps of:
(i) confirming that the user is authorized to conduct maintenance;
(ii) unlocking an empty CO₂ gas cylinder from a respective bin assembly
for removal by the user; and
(iii) receiving a full CO₂ gas cylinder in an emptied bin assembly; and
(iv) securing the full CO₂ gas cylinder received in the emptied bin assembly.
Regarding Claim 1, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Chalise teaches
(b) if the user input represents a desire to conduct maintenance, i.e., step (401) “activates maintenance mode”, i.e., via the kiosk user interface such as GUI (107) as illustrated at figures 1a and 1c or the service station tablet (119) as mentioned at paragraph 86, fifth and thirteenth sentences, then the system (100) performs the steps of:
(i) confirming that the user is authorized to conduct maintenance, i.e., noting use of the system requires authorization in the form of a PIN entered as illustrated in figure 8 at steps (812, 814, 822), as mentioned at paragraphs 110, 111, 113 and 114, for example;
(ii) unlocking an empty CO₂ gas cylinder, i.e., empty/used gas bottle (105) from a respective bin assembly, i.e., container (103)
for removal by the user, as illustrated in figure 4, steps (402, 404, 405, 406); and
(iii) receiving a full CO₂ gas cylinder, i.e., full gas bottle (104), in an emptied bin assembly, i.e., empty container (106), as mentioned at paragraphs 62 and 63 and as illustrated in figures 1a and 1b; and
(iv) securing the full CO₂ gas cylinder (104) received in the emptied bin assembly (106) noting steps (408, 409, 410, 411) in figure 4 concerning the door status being open or closed.
See paragraphs 63-65, 86 and 87, as follows.
[0063] As seen in FIG. 1A, a full gas bottle 104 is available for purchase stored inside of the container 103 behind doors 117 labelled “A”, “B”, and “E”. An empty (or used) gas bottle 105 is shown having been returned to containers labelled “C”, “F”, and “N−1” by a customer who has swapped for a full gas bottle. An empty container 106 in containers labelled “N” and “D” show that a customer has purchased a gas bottle without returning a used bottle.
[0064] FIG. 1B shows a similar system as FIG. 1A, but where the kiosk 102 is replaced by a service station configuration 118 which is operated by a shop keeper 124. In the service station configuration 118, the customer pays the shop keeper 124 who then activates the purchase via an application executing on a tablet computer device 119, which communicates to a container control module (CCM) 120 via a wireless interface 121. The CCM 120 also has 3G capability 122 to communicate the inventory database to the vending retailer. The CCM 120, like the kiosk 102, also includes a controlling processor 170. The CCM 120 interfaces with the LIM 114 and supplies a 14 volt DC power supply 111. Similar to the LIM 114 supplied by the kiosk 102, the supply from the CCM 120 is not limited to 14 VDC, and could be supplied by an AC source, or other voltage levels of DC sources. The CCM 120 also connects to the LIM 114 with an IT interface connector 110. The LIM 114 then connects to vending arrangement 101 as in FIG. 1A.
[0065] FIG. 1C shows a further arrangement, generally similar to FIG. 1A. Here, a kiosk 102, connects to two LIMs 130 and 131, which in turn then connect to corresponding daisy chains 136 and 137 in the dangerous goods area 180.
[0086] FIG. 3A is a schematic flow diagram of a method 300 of a normal operation of the vending system 100 as implemented in software executable by the controlling processor 170 of the kiosk 102 or CCM 120. At step 301, the kiosk 102 or CCM 120 awaits receipt of a manually entered vending instruction, for example from user input to the kiosk 102 or the operator input to the tablet 119, for example after a payment process has been performed. At step 302 instructions to either purchase or replace a gas bottle, is received at the controlling processor 170. The controlling processor 170 then determines at step 303 the appropriate container 103 to open, and then at step 304 sends a CANBUS communications at least to the corresponding CDLC 113. A display on the tablet 119 or the GUI 107 of the kiosk 102 then displays at step 305 to the customer a representation of which container will open. Once the door has opened, a customer may then replace and/or take the gas bottle. At step 306, the controlling processor 170 monitors the door status 306 by requesting the door status from the CDLC via the sensor 209. If after a predetermined time period (e.g. 60 seconds) the door 117 is not shut, step 307 proceeds to cause an alarm to be emitted, essentially requiring the customer to close the door 117. This ensures that the doors are properly closed in order to perform the next vending instruction 301. When the customer manually closes the door of the opened container, step 306 detects the closure, the alarm is deactivated, and the vending system 100 at step 308 updates and sends inventory database information to the retailer via the 3G network connection 122. After the update is sent in step 308, the system returns to step 301 to await the next instructions. FIG. 4 is a schematic flow diagram of a method 400 of a maintenance mode of the vending system 100 and its interactions with a supplier, for example delivering replacement gas bottles to the vending system 100. At step 401, the supplier activates the maintenance mode 401 from either the kiosk 102 or the service station tablet 119. Once maintenance mode is activated, the controlling processor 170 determines at step 402 which container has an empty or a missing bottle. The processor 170 then sends to the determined container CDLC 113 an open command at step 404 resulting in CANBUS communications via the LIM 114. The controlling processor 170 will then ascertain if there is another empty/used bottle within the vending system 405 and repeat step 402 until all empty/used containers are open. The processor 170 will display the opened container(s) to the supplier 406 via the tablet 119 or the GUI 107 of the kiosk 102. The supplier restocks the container(s) while the controlling processor 170 is monitoring the door status of the containers at step 410. If the supplier does not manually shut all doors, an alarm will be generated at step 411 after a predetermined period, until all doors are shut. Once all the open container doors have been shut, the controlling processor 170 will update the inventory database at step 408 and return the vending system to normal operation and exit maintenance mode at step 409.
[0087] The preferred arrangements described above are founded upon specific components for the CDLC and latch actuator having current consumptions of 0.1 mA, 10 mA and 180 mA, in an 8V system, for each of the sleep, standby and active modes. These collectively predicate the nominal maximum number of 24 containers per LIM 114 to remain with the safe operating limit of 8 Vdc at a maximum of 300 mA. It will be appreciated therefore that using alternate components having differing power consumptions, may permit more than one container (lock arrangement) to be placed in the active mode at any one instant, whilst maintaining the intrinsically safe operating power level.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided
(b) if the user input represents a desire to conduct maintenance, then the system performs the steps of:
(i) confirming that the user is authorized to conduct maintenance;
(ii) unlocking an empty CO₂ gas cylinder from a respective bin assembly
for removal by the user; and
(iii) receiving a full CO₂ gas cylinder in an emptied bin assembly; and
(iv) securing the full CO₂ gas cylinder received in the emptied bin assembly,
as taught by Chalise, in Tansey’s C02 cylinder vending machine system for the purpose of enabling a secure replenishment and maintenance routine for restocking of gas cylinders.
Regarding Claim 1, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Coughlin teaches
confirming that the user is authorized to conduct maintenance, as mentioned at paragraphs 62, 99, 128, which states as follows.
[0062] The storage containers 22 are sized fit into the compartments 40 of the storage matrix 18 and may be moved between various ones of the compartments 40 and/or the access drawers 20 via the transport system 24, as later described herein. However, other sizes, shapes, and configurations of storage containers 22 may be used without departing from the scope of the invention. For example, the storage containers 22 may be sized and shaped to allow the prescription batches 11 therein to be stored longitudinally in the storage containers 22. In some embodiments of the invention, multiple different sizes of storage containers 22 may be housed within the storage matrix 18 compartments. For example, there may be two different sizes of storage containers 22 which may differ in height—a large-sized storage container 64 and a small-sized storage container 66 that is approximately half the height of the large-sized storage container 64, as illustrated in FIG. 2. In some embodiments of the invention, only specific technicians or users may be authorized to remove the storage containers 66,64, and may manage the storage container supply by placing the storage containers 22 of appropriate sizes into access drawers 20 or by removing them from the access drawers 20. This may be done to initially load the storage containers 22 into desired configurations, replace defective storage containers 22, and/or optimize a balance between large-sized storage containers 64 and small-sized storage containers 66.
[0099] The method 2600 for securely storing prescription batches for patient pickup may include the steps of receiving a request to load a new prescription into the storage matrix 18, as depicted in block 2602, and authenticating the user making this request, as depicted in block 2604. These steps may be performed by the control system 36 receiving user-entered or user-provided identification information about the prescription 12 and/or about the user. Information about the prescription 12 may include any patient and/or prescription information typically entered in a pharmacy workflow system, such as name, address, contact information, age, sex, doctor, relevant dates, dosing information, prescription name, number of refills, and the like. Proof of identity or other similar inputs used to authorize a user for loading prescriptions into the storage matrix 18 may include scanner data received from a barcode on an identification card belonging to the individual or a particular password typed in or otherwise entered via the user interface 102. For example, a pharmacy staff member may insert a smartcard into a reader on a front of the storage matrix 18 and/or may scan a barcode on an ID badge. Additionally or alternatively, other biometric information may be required during this authentication step, such as a finger or thumb print, a retinal scan, or the like.
[0100] To perform the authenticating step 2604, the control system 36 may also determine if the user is authorized by matching authorized user data stored in the memory storage device 100 with the identity information entered or otherwise provided by the user. If an authorized match is not found, the method 2600 may include a step of indicating authorization failure on the display 104 or via the user interface 102 audibly and/or visually, as depicted in block 2606. However, if an authorized match is found and the user is thus identified to be an authorized user, and the method 2600 may then include a step of indicating on the display 104 an empty access drawer location having an empty storage container 22 therein, as depicted in block 2608, and unlocking this access drawer 20 or associated access door, as depicted in block 2610. Unlocking of the access drawer 20 may include the control system 36 sending an unlock command signal to one of the electronic drawer locks 94 associated with that one of the access drawers 20. This may result in the electronic drawer locks 94 being withdrawn from the access drawer 20 and/or being moved out of a pathway of travel of the access drawer 20. Note that if there is no empty access drawer 20 with an empty storage container 22 therein, the control system 36 may instruct the transport system 24 to retrieve one, using any of the retrieval methods later described herein.
[0128] Either of the methods 2600,2700 described herein may also include a step of opening the storage matrix 18 to access the transport system 24 for service or repair. Specifically, this step may involve pivoting or rotating open the storage matrix 18 as a whole, or pivoting open a half or at least a portion of the outer housing 38 and compartments 40, such as opening of one of the primary doors 44. Then service personnel may access the transport system 24 behind the storage matrix 18 for maintenance, repairs, or updates thereto. The storage matrix 18 opening step may be controlled via the electronic door locks 32 and may require authentication via the control system 36. For example, service personnel may be given special cards and/or codes that they enter via the user interface 102 in order to verify to the control system 36 that they are authorized to access the transport system 24. Additionally or alternatively, access for opening the storage matrix 18 may be provided via a physical key inserted into the manual override lock 34, for use in cases of power failure or other failures in the control system 36, such as erroneous authentication failures. Such access may be recorded and stored via the lock memory device 35 described above.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the step of
confirming that the user is authorized to conduct maintenance as taught by Chalise, in Tansey’s C02 cylinder vending machine system for the purpose of securing access of authorized personnel to thus enable a secure replenishment and maintenance routine for restocking of gas cylinders.
Regarding Claim 2, Tansey does not expressly teach including the step of updating a status of the bin assembly as holding a full CO₂ gas cylinder.
Regarding Claim 2, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Chalise teaches including the step (408) of updating a status of the bin assembly as holding a full CO₂ gas cylinder (104), noting step (408) as illustrated in figure 4 states “updates and sends inventory database to retailer” and noting also the updating inventory step at step (308) as well, illustrated at figure 3 and as mentioned at paragraph 86.
Regarding Claim 3, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the step of unlocking include the step of unlocking a plurality of empty CO₂ gas cylinder from a respective bin assembly for replacement by the user.
Regarding Claim 3, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Chalise teaches wherein the step of unlocking include the step of unlocking a plurality of empty CO₂ gas cylinders (105) from a respective bin assembly (103) for replacement by the user, as mentioned at paragraph 86, and noting figure 4, steps (402, 404, 405, 406), in which opened containers are displayed.
Regarding Claim 4, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein ten empty cylinders are released.
Regarding Claim 4, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Chalise teaches wherein ten empty cylinders (105) are released, noting that paragraph 60, last sentence states that “containers 103 are shown alphabetically labelled, with the final container labelled “N” 126, which indicates that the number of containers 103 in the vending system 100 can vary”. Stated another way, the number of empty cylinders (105) can be located in empty containers/bins (103), which can vary as needed.
Note also that it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have provided 10 or more empty cylinders based upon the volume of customer demand for cylinders required to be met.
Regarding Claim 5, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the step of receiving includes receiving a plurality of full CO₂ gas cylinders in respective emptied bin assemblies.
Regarding Claim 5, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Chalise teaches wherein the step of receiving includes receiving a plurality of full CO₂ gas cylinders (104) in respective emptied bin assemblies (103) as mentioned in paragraphs 63 and 86 and as illustrated in figures 1a and 4.
Regarding Claim 6, Tansey does not expressly teach including the step of updating a status of the bin assemblies as holding a full CO₂ gas cylinders.
Regarding Claim 6, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Chalise teaches including the step of updating a status of the bin assemblies (103) as holding a full CO₂ gas cylinders (104), noting again the updating steps (308, 408) as illustrated in figures 3 and 4, for example.
Regarding Claim 7, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the step of unlocking includes the step of illuminating a light emitting diodes associated with each one of the bin assemblies holding empty CO₂ gas
cylinders.
Regarding Claim 7, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Coughlin teaches wherein the step of unlocking includes the step of illuminating a light emitting diodes associated with each one of the bin assemblies, i.e., access drawers (20), as illustrated in figure 2, holding empty CO₂ gas cylinders, i.e., batches (11), as mentioned at paragraph 86, which states as follows.
[0086] In some embodiments of the invention, the display 104 may include indicator lights (not shown) associated with one or more of the access openings 42 and/or access drawers 20. For example, there may be lights and/or displays, mounted on any portion of the outer housing 38, access drawers 20, or access doors, that are configured for indicating a status and/or displaying text and other information. In some embodiments of the invention, the indicator lights may include multiple colors of lights or individual lights capable of displaying multiple colors, depending on the type of indication to be made. These indicator lights or displays may indicate to users where their retrieved prescription batches 11 are available or where empty storage containers 22 are available for storing new prescription batches 11.
[0105] Once the prescription batch 11 is loaded and the access drawer 20 or access door is closed, the method 2600 may include step of the control system 36 receiving package status signals from sensors 30 of the access drawer 20 and/or access opening 42, as depicted in block 2622. Specifically, the sensors 30 associated with the access drawer 20 or access opening 42 through which the prescription batch 11 was loaded may send updated package status signals to the control system 36 or the processor 98 thereof indicating that a storage container 22 is in the access drawer 20 or compartment 40 thereof, indicating that the storage container 22 therein is not empty, and/or indicating that the storage container 22 therein is or is not overfull or sticking upward or outward therefrom. Each time one of the storage containers 22 are moved by the transport system 24 for storage and/or prescription retrieval, the contents of the storage container 22 may be verified by the sensors 30 in the transport system 24 or trolley 86 and/or in the access drawer 20.
[0106] Note that if the updated package status signals indicate to the control system 36 that there is no storage container 22 in the access drawer 20 when it is closed, the control system 36 may determine if an empty storage container 22 should be moved to the access drawer 20 so that it is ready to accept an item to be stored, or if the access drawer 20 should be left empty so it is ready to receive another storage container 22 with an item for retrieval. If one of the storage containers 22 is to be moved to the access drawer 20, the control system 36 may be configured to determine whether a large-sized storage container 64 or one of the small-sized storage containers 66 should be moved thereto. These determinations may be based on configuration settings and performance metric calculations within the control system 36. The control system 36 may also allow a user to request that one of the storage containers 22 of a specified size be moved to one of the access drawers 20.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 8, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the step of confirming that the user is authorized to conduct maintenance, includes the steps of:
(a) receiving a password;
(b) confirming if the password entered matches a device password.
Regarding Claim 8, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Coughlin teaches wherein the step of confirming that the user is authorized to conduct maintenance, includes the steps of:
(a) receiving a password, i.e, a code/password as mentioned at paragraph 99, third to last sentence;
(b) confirming if the password entered matches a device password, as mentioned at paragraph 99, last three lines.
Regarding Claim 9, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the step of confirming that the user is authorized to conduct maintenance, includes the steps of:
(a) receiving user identification;
(b) sending a password to a user device associated with the user identification;
(c) receiving a password from the user;
(d) confirming if the password entered matches the a current device password.
Regarding Claim 9, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Chalise teaches wherein the step of confirming that the user is authorized to conduct maintenance, includes the steps of:
(a) receiving user identification, as illustrated at figure 8, step (810);
(b) sending a password to a user device (199) associated with the user identification, i.e., as mentioned at paragraph 113, step (812), “customer enters PIN to PIN pad”;
(c) receiving a password from the user, i.e., steps (812) and (814), as mentioned at paragraph 114;
(d) confirming if the password entered matches the a current device password, i.e., noting steps (814) and (816). See paragraphs 110-115, which states as follows.
[0110] FIG. 8 shows a method 800 by which the customer 194 orders and collects a gas bottle using the application 733 installed on their mobile device 199. The method 800 starts at a step 802. At step 802, the customer 194 operates the mobile device 199 to select one of the cages using the application 733 executing on the mobile device. The customer manipulates the mobile device 199 to provide payment details on selecting the cage. The selection includes a product and quantity—for example a number of gas bottles of a particular size.
[0111] The method 800 continues to step 804. The application 733 executes on the device 199 at step 804 to transmit the cage selection and the payment details to the server computer 191. The method 800 then continues to step 806. The server computer 191 operates to process the payment with a financial institution at step 806, in a similar manner to the kiosk 102 of FIG. 1A. The payment transaction may be processed using known methods such as PayPal, for example. The method 800 continues to step 808, at which the server computer 191 operates to determine if the payment was successful. If the payment was successful, (‘Y’ at step 808), the method 800 continues to step 810. Otherwise, the method 800 continues to a step 820. The server computer 191 generates an error message at step 820 and transmits the error message to the mobile device 199 for display on the video display 714 via execution of the application 733.
[0112] At step 810, the server computer 191 operates to generate a unique transaction-specific number, referred to as a PIN. The PIN is typically of numeric form such that the customer can enter the PIN to the PIN pad 198. The PIN is normally generated as random number using known random number generation methods. The server computer 191 executes checks to ensure a previously-issued PIN is not duplicated for another transaction. The server computer 191 associates the PIN with the selected cage and the processed payment. The server computer 191 transmits the PIN to the consumer device 199.
[0113] The method 800 continues to step 812 when the customer 194 attempts to retrieve the selected gas bottle from the selected cage. In order to collect the gas bottle from the selected cage, the customer 194 must be physically present at the self-service arrangement 190. The customer 190 retrieves the PIN from the mobile device 199 and enters the PIN to the PIN pad 198 at step 812.
[0114] The method 800 then continues to a step 814, where the to the self-service arrangement 190 determines if the PIN entered by the customer 194 is valid. The PIN pad 198 transmits the PIN to the CCM 120 at step 814. The CCM 120 transmits the PIN to the server 191 for verification. The server 191 operates to determine if the PIN is “true” or recognised as being associated with a transaction. If the PIN entered by the customer is recognised, the server computer 191 transmits an “open” command and data associated with the PIN pad 198 and the selected cage to the CCM 120. The method 800 continues to step 816 if the PIN is recognised at the step 814. Otherwise, if the PIN is not recognised (‘N at step 814), the method 800 continues to a step 822. At step 822 the server computer 191 transmits information indicating an error to the CCM 120. The CCM 120 transmits information relating to the error to the PIN pad 198. The PIN pad 198 provides an error indicator to the customer 194, for example by displaying an error message, using an indicator light, using sound, or the like.
[0115] At step 816 the server 191 transmits information indicating that the entered PIN is recognised to the CCM 120. The information transmitted to the CCM 120 includes information regarding the selected cage. The method 800 continues to step 818, where the CCM 120 operates to open the selected cage, in the manner described above for the arrangements of FIGS. 1A to 1C.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 10, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the password is sent to the user device via SMS or pushed to the user device.
Regarding Claim 10, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Chalise teaches wherein the password is sent to the user device via SMS or pushed to the user device, as mentioned at paragraph 112, last sentence, i.e., “[t]he server computer 191 transmits the PIN to the consumer device 199” which is construed as pushing the PIN to the device.
Regarding Claim 11, Tansey teaches wherein the password is sent to a user e-mail account accessible from the user device, as mentioned at paragraph 26, which states “some of a user's data that may be collected will include, but not be limited to, a user's name, address, phone, email, password, frequency of usage, special coupons, reminders emails, demographic identifiers and CO.sub.2 usage”.
Regarding Claim 11, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the step of
wherein the password is sent to a user e-mail account accessible from the user device Tansey, and further as taught by Chalise, in Tansey’s C02 cylinder vending machine system for the purpose of providing the PIN/password to a customer via a common communication means such as via email, to their user device, thus securing access of authorized personnel to enable a secure replenishment and maintenance routine for restocking of gas cylinders.
Regarding Claim 12, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the password is received as:
(a) indicia entered by the user;
(b) a voice signal entered by the user; and/or
(c) indicia displayed on a user device scanned by the user interface.
Regarding Claim 12, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Chalise teaches wherein the password is received as:
(a) indicia entered by the user, noting step (812) of figure 8;
(b) a voice signal entered by the user; and/or
(c) indicia displayed on a user device scanned by the user interface.
Regarding Claim 12, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Coughlin teaches wherein the password is received as:
(a) indicia entered by the user;
(b) a voice signal entered by the user, noting the mention of using “interactive voice response” at paragraph 2, last sentence, for example; and/or
(c) indicia displayed on a user device scanned by the user interface, as mentioned at paragraph 114, last sentence, for example.
Regarding Claim 13, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the indicia displayed on the user device is a bar code or a QR code.
Regarding Claim 13, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Coughlin teaches wherein the indicia displayed on the user device is a bar code or a QR code, as mentioned at paragraphs 84 and 85, for example, which states as follows.
[0084] The user interface 102 may be configured to receive information from a user, scanner, sensor, or the like and may be communicably coupled with the processor 98, the memory storage devices 100, the display 104, and/or other components of the prescription storage and retrieval system 10. The user interface 102 may comprise a mouse, keyboard, touch screen, switches, buttons, or various data input ports whereby the user may input data directly into the control system 36 or otherwise exchange information with the control system or its associated components. The user interface 102 may also include scanners and/or sensors, such as those described above, for authentication purposes. For example, the user interface 102 may include a card reader, such as a CAC card reader, a barcode scanner, a QR code scanner, and/or any other sensor or scanner for identifying and authenticating user actions. As illustrated in FIG. 1, these user interface scanners may be mounted anywhere on the outer housing 38 of the storage matrix 18 and may be used by the control system 36 or processor thereof to provide access to one of the doors or access drawers 20 based on valid or authenticated identification being scanned thereby, such as a barcode, QR code, RFID tag, or smart card information of an authenticated user. Additionally or alternatively, the user interface scanners may include identification via biometric readings such as a thumb print or a retina scan. In some embodiments of the invention, the user interface 102 may also include an E-stop or emergency stop button 106, switch, or the like, configured to quickly stop and/or shut down any of the electrically-operated components described herein, such as components of the transport system 24. In some embodiments of the invention, the user interface 102 may also include a power switch 109 for turning on power to the prescription storage and retrieval system 10.
[0085] As illustrated in FIG. 1, the display 104 or display screen of the control system 36 may be configured for providing visual graphics, text instructions, and other information to a user or operator. The display 104 may be communicably coupled with the processor 98 and/or motion control hardware, as later described herein, and may include a plurality of displays. In some embodiments of the invention, the display 104 or displays may be touch screens serving as an integrated display and user interface 102 in one. For example, a user may touch a visual depiction of a button or may touch a provided menu item provided on the display 104 via the processor 98 and/or the memory storage devices 100, and this touch may activate a command by the processor 98 to retrieve a particular prescription 12 from a particular location within the storage matrix 18.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 14, Tansey teaches wherein each bin assembly, i.e., cylinder locker (160), in the array, i.e., cylinder dispenser (163), as illustrated in figures 21, 23 and 24, includes a tubular chassis, i.e., cylinder compartment (161), shaped to receive and seat therein a CO2 gas cylinder (101).
Regarding Claim 23, see the rejection of Claim 1, above.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansey, JR. et al (US 2016/0284153 A1) in view of Chalise et al (US 2016/0364930 A1), further in view of Coughlin et al (US 2017/0053099 A1) and further in view of Cradeur et al (US 6,746,201 B1).
Regarding Claims 15 and 16, Tansey teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 15, Tansey teaches a locking system of each bin assembly, i.e., cylinder locker (160) which is at least implied to have a lock attached to control module, as illustrated in figure 21, for example, in the array (163), as illustrated in figures 23 and 24, for example.
Regarding Claim 15, note also that Chalise expressly teaches a lock and monitoring door status at step (410) as illustrated in figure 4, for example.
Regarding Claim 15, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the locking system of each bin assembly in the array includes a sled that engages the CO2 gas cylinder as it is inserted in to the tubular chassis and translates with respect to the tubular chassis towards a locked position.
Regarding Claim 15, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Cradeur teaches a sled (144), as illustrated in figures 5 and 6, that engages the CO2 gas cylinder, as taught by Tansey, as it is inserted in to the tubular chassis, as taught by Tansey, and translates with respect to the tubular chassis towards a locked position, noting the sled (144) moves via gears (154a, 154b) along chassis, i.e., sled support members (146, 146a, 146b), for example, as mentioned at col. 5, lines 32-64.
Regarding Claim 15, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the locking system of each bin assembly in the array includes a sled that engages the CO2 gas cylinder as it is inserted in to the tubular chassis and translates with respect to the tubular chassis towards a locked position, as taught by Cradeur, in Tansey’s C02 cylinder vending machine system for the purpose of moving heavy cylinders into and out of the bin assembly using common mechanical components.
Regarding Claim 16, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the sled is in the locked position when the CO2 gas cylinder is fully inserted into the tubular chassis.
Regarding Claim 16, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Cradeur teaches wherein the sled (144) is in the locked position when the CO2 gas cylinder is fully inserted into the tubular chassis, noting that when sled (144) is moved by gears (154a, 154b) along support/chassis (146), the cylinder will lock between sled (144) and (106) as illustrated in figures 2 and 4, for example.
Claim(s) 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tansey, JR. et al (US 2016/0284153 A1) in view of Chalise et al (US 2016/0364930 A1), further in view of Coughlin et al (US 2017/0053099 A1), further in view of Cradeur et al (US 6,746,201 B1) and further in view of Sipos (US 2016/0047181 A1).
Regarding Claims 17-22, Tansey teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 17, Tansey does not expressly teach wherein the locking system of each bin assembly in the array includes a rotary latch that is engaged by the sled as it translates towards the locking position, and wherein a latching arm of the rotary latch secures the sled in the locked position.
Regarding Claim 17, Tansey does not expressly teach, but Sipos teaches wherein the locking system of each bin assembly in the array, as taught by Tansey, includes a rotary latch, i.e., first and second jaws (100), as mentioned at paragraph 27 and as illustrated in figure 1-10b, that is engaged by the sled, as taught by Cradeur, as it translates towards the locking position, i.e., the hinged portion (126) of Cradeur, and wherein a latching arm of the rotary latch, i.e., cylinder (128) and piston rod (130) as mentioned in paragraph 24, first sentence, secures the sled, as taught by Cradeur, in the locked position, via Cradeur’s hydraulic cylinder (124) and shaft (134).
Regarding Claim 17, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the locking system of each bin assembly in the array includes a rotary latch that is engaged by the sled as it translates towards the locking position, and wherein a latching arm of the rotary latch secures the sled in the locked position, as taught by Sipos, in Tansey’s C02 cylinder vending machine system for the purpose of moving heavy cylinders into and out of the bin assembly while locking the cylinder in place, using common mechanical components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
December 27, 2025