CTNF 18/049,897 CTNF 99679 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 04/16/2026 has been entered. Response to Amendment Applicant’s Amendments filed on 04/16/2026 has been entered and made of record. Currently pending Claim(s): Independent Claim(s): Amended Claim(s): Cancelled Claim(s): 1–7, 9–19, 21–29 and 31–32 1, 13 and 25 1, 13, 23 and 25 8, 20 and 30 Response to Applicant’s Arguments This office action is responsive to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment received on 04/16/2026. Applicant’s reply (April 16, 2026) includes substantive amendments to the claims. This Office action has been updated with a new ground of rejection addressing those amendments. Further Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks with respect to independent claims 1, 13 and 25 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection and the arguments are now rejected by newly cited art Tussy (US 20190213316 A1) as explained in body of the rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1–2, 4, 9–10, 13–14, 16, 21–22, 25–26, 28 and 31–32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang et al. (US 2023/0377095 A1, hereafter, “Xiang”) in view of Xie et al. (CN 112669207 A, hereafter, “Xie”) further in view of Ma et al. (See NPL attached, “Deep Face Super-Resolution with Iterative Collaboration between Attentive Recovery and Landmark Estimation”, hereafter, “Ma”) and further in view of Tussy (US 20190213316 A1, hereafter, “Tussy”) . Regarding claim 1 , Xiang teaches a method of processing one or more images ( See Xiang, ¶ [0015], the method 100 may be performed to produce an enhanced image or images ), comprising: determining a first region of interest (ROI) in an image, wherein the first ROI is associated with a first object ( See Xiang, ¶ [0017], Some examples of object detection may correlate patches of the image with an object template (e.g., face, text, vehicle, other object image) or templates to determine a matching object region or regions (e.g., region(s) of interest (ROI) and/or bounding box(es)) where the object(s) are located in the image ); [ determining a sharpness of the first ROI at a distance from the first ROI to a focal point; ] detecting a second ROI in the image ( See Xiang, ¶ [0010], In some examples of the techniques described herein, a region or regions that include an object or objects (e.g., faces, vehicles, and/or text, etc.) may be detected. Note: The examiner is interpreting the multiple regions as having a second ROI ); [ determining a sharpness of the second ROI at a distance from the second ROI to the focal point; adjusting the focal point of a lens of an image sensor to increase the sharpness of the first ROI and decrease a sharpness of the second ROI for an additional image; obtaining the additional image based on adjusting the focal point of the lens; detecting keypoints associated with the first ROI of the additional image, wherein the first ROI comprises a face of a person; transforming a portion of image data to align with the detected keypoints associated with the first ROI; determining to perform an upsampling process on the transformed portion of the image data in the first ROI based on the sharpness of the first ROI; and upsampling the transformed portion of the image data ]. However, Xiang fail(s) to teach determining a sharpness of the first ROI at a distance from the first ROI to a focal point; determining a sharpness of the second ROI at a distance from the second ROI to the focal point; adjusting the focal point of a lens of an image sensor to increase the sharpness of the first ROI and decrease a sharpness of the second ROI for an additional image; obtaining the additional image based on adjusting the focal point of the lens; detecting keypoints associated with the first ROI of the additional image, wherein the first ROI comprises a face of a person; transforming a portion of image data to align with the detected keypoints associated with the first ROI; determining to perform an upsampling process on the transformed portion of the image data in the first ROI based on the sharpness of the first ROI; and upsampling the transformed portion of the image data. Xie, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: based on the sharpness of the first ROI; and upsampling the transformed portion of the image data ( See Xie, ¶ [0022], Step4, the human face image quality evaluation; using Tencel gradient method to evaluate the detected human face; Tender d gradient method uses Sobel operator respectively calculate gradient in horizontal and vertical direction, gradient value is higher, image is clear. defining the human face image of the gradient value (g is less than 10.0) as the image to be processed needing the resolution enhancement processing. See Xie, ¶ [0023], Step5 super-resolution enhancement processing; the fuzzy image in Step4 as the input of the super resolution network, through network reasoning, combining the difference image with the low resolution image, generating the high resolution image satisfying the requirement. Note: the super-resolution is being interpreted as up sampling and Xie determines a distance threshold and sharpness threshold before doing image super-resolution ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference based on the sharpness of the first ROI; and upsampling the transformed portion of the image data based on the method of Xie’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to efficiently enhance blurry and distant faces for facial recognition ( See Xie, ¶ [0002–0003 and 0016] ). However, Xiang and Xie fail(s) to teach determining a sharpness of the first ROI at a distance from the first ROI to a focal point; determining a sharpness of the second ROI at a distance from the second ROI to the focal point; adjusting the focal point of a lens of an image sensor to increase the sharpness of the first ROI and decrease a sharpness of the second ROI for an additional image; obtaining the additional image based on adjusting the focal point of the lens; detecting keypoints associated with the first ROI of the additional image, wherein the first ROI comprises a face of a person; transforming a portion of image data to align with the detected keypoints associated with the first ROI; determining to perform an upsampling process on the transformed portion of the image data in the first ROI. Ma, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: detecting keypoints associated with the first ROI, wherein the first ROI comprises a face of a person ( See Ma, [3.1. Deep Iterative Collaboration], Similarly, the face alignment branch utilizes the recurrent features from the previous step f n - 1 A R and the SR features extracted by A 1 from the SR images I n S R as the guidance for estimating landmarks more accurately ); transforming a portion of image data to align with the detected keypoints associated with the first ROI ( See Ma, [3.1. Deep Iterative Collaboration], Similarly, the face alignment branch utilizes the recurrent features from the previous step f n - 1 A R and the SR features extracted by A 1 from the SR images I n S R as the guidance for estimating landmarks more accurately. See also [Figure 2], Note: Examiner is interpreting the facial alignment module as aligning the keypoints. Ma processes a low resolution image and processes it using super resolution then iteratively uses that SR image to align the facial landmarks of the low resolution image for a better super resolution in the next step ); determining to perform an upsampling process on the transformed portion of the image data in the first ROI ( See Ma, [3.1. Deep Iterative Collaboration], Given an LR (e.g., low resolution) face image I L R , facial landmarks are important for the recovery procedure, …, Similar to the SR branch, the recurrent alignment branch includes a pre-processing block A 1 , a recursive hourglass block A R and a post-processing block A 2 . For the n th step where n = 1 , . . . , N , the SR branch recovers SR images I n S R by using the alignment results and the feedback information from the previous step n - 1 , denoted as L n - 1 and f n - 1 G R , respectively. Besides, LR inputs are also important in each step. Hence LR features extracted by G1 are also fed into the recursive block. Therefore, the face SR process can be formulated by: PNG media_image1.png 58 338 media_image1.png Greyscale where U denotes an upsampling operation. Note: the examiner is interpreting the previous super resolution landmarks and features as the transformed portion. Ma processes a low resolution image and processes it using super resolution then iteratively uses that SR image to align the facial landmarks of the low resolution image for a better super resolution in the next step ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference to detecting keypoints associated with the first ROI, wherein the first ROI comprises a face of a person; transforming a portion of image data to align with the detected keypoints associated with the first ROI; determining to perform an upsampling process on the transformed portion of the image data in the first ROI based on the method of Ma’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to more accurately align the face using fewer parameters ( See Ma, [Study of Iterative Learning] ). However, Xiang, Xie and Ma fail(s) to teach determining a sharpness of the first ROI at a distance from the first ROI to a focal point; determining a sharpness of the second ROI at a distance from the second ROI to the focal point; adjusting the focal point of a lens of an image sensor to increase the sharpness of the first ROI and decrease a sharpness of the second ROI for an additional image; obtaining the additional image based on adjusting the focal point of the lens. Tussy, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: determining a sharpness of the first ROI at a distance from the first ROI to a focal point ( See Tussy, ¶ [0186], In another embodiment, the system may control the autofocus so that the camera focuses on a first location or distance to check for sharpness (in focus) of a portion of the image containing a face ); determining a sharpness of the second ROI at a distance from the second ROI to the focal point ( See Tussy, ¶ [0186], The system then controls the camera to focus at a second location or distance where the presence of a face is not detected and check for sharpness (in focus) of a portion of the image ); adjusting a focus of a lens of an image sensor to increase the sharpness of the first ROI and decrease a sharpness of the second ROI for an additional image ( See Tussy, ¶ [0186], If a three dimensional person in a real environment is being imaged, it is expected that the focal length settings should be different at the first and second locations, which suggests a real person is presently being imaged. Note: Different focal lengths means adjusting the focal point and that one object is in focus and the other is out of focus ); obtaining the additional image based on adjusting the focus of the lens ( See Tussy, ¶ [0186], If a three dimensional person in a real environment is being imaged, it is expected that the focal length settings should be different at the first and second locations, which suggests a real person is presently being imaged. Note: That the autofocusing is used to take an image of the person to be imaged ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference determining a sharpness of the first ROI at a distance from the first ROI to a focal point; determining a sharpness of the second ROI at a distance from the second ROI to the focal point; adjusting the focal point of a lens of an image sensor to increase the sharpness of the first ROI and decrease a sharpness of the second ROI for an additional image; obtaining the additional image based on adjusting the focal point of the lens based on the method of Tussy’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to include a subject in the depth of field to focus more on the subject focus less on another subject ( See Tussy, ¶ [0186] ). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xie, Ma and Tussy with Xiang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1. Regarding claim 2 , Xiang in view of Xie further in view of Ma and further in view of Tussy teaches the method of claim 1, [ wherein determining to perform the upsampling process on the image data in the first ROI based on the sharpness being greater than a sharpness threshold ]. However, Xiang fail(s) to teach wherein determining to perform the upsampling process on the image data in the first ROI based on the sharpness being greater than a sharpness threshold. Xie, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: wherein determining to perform the upsampling process on the image data in the first ROI based on the sharpness being greater than a sharpness threshold ( See Xie, ¶ [0019], Step1 to judge other face resolution enhancement mode; in the picture of the presence of human face, when the illumination intensity of the ambient light (lx < 50) or the distance (l <280cm) from the face to the camera head, opening the face resolution enhancement mode. ¶ [0022], Step4, the human face image quality evaluation; using Tencel gradient method to evaluate the detected human face; Tender d gradient method uses Sobel operator respectively calculate gradient in horizontal and vertical direction, gradient value is higher, image is clear. defining the human face image of the gradient value (g is less than 10.0) as the image to be processed needing the resolution enhancement processing. Note: Examiner is interpreting g as the sharpness. Note that the higher the gradient the more clear an image is ); and Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference wherein determining to perform the upsampling process on the image data in the first ROI based on the sharpness being greater than a sharpness threshold based on the method of Xie’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to efficiently enhance blurry and distant faces for facial recognition ( See Xie, ¶ [0002–0003 and 0016] ). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xie with Xiang, Ma and Tussy to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2. Regarding claim 4 , Xiang in view of Xie further in view of Ma and further in view of Tussy teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: [ determining the distance of the first ROI from the focal point is greater than a threshold distance; and determining to perform the upsampling process on the image data in the first ROI based on the distance of the first ROI from the focal point being greater than the threshold distance ]. However, Xiang fail(s) to teach determining the distance of the first ROI from the focal point is greater than a threshold distance; and determining to perform the upsampling process on the image data in the first ROI based on the distance of the first ROI from the focal point being greater than the threshold distance. Xie, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: determining the distance of the first ROI from the focal point is greater than a threshold distance ( See Xie, ¶ [0019], Step1 to judge other face resolution enhancement mode; in the picture of the presence of human face, when the illumination intensity of the ambient light (lx < 50) or the distance (l <280cm) from the face to the camera head, opening the face resolution enhancement mode ); and determining to perform the upsampling process on the image data in the first ROI based on the distance of the first ROI from the focal point being greater than the threshold distance ( See Xie, ¶ [0023], Step5 super-resolution enhancement processing; the fuzzy image in Step4 as the input of the super resolution network, through network reasoning, combining the difference image with the low resolution image, generating the high resolution image satisfying the requirement. Note: the super-resolution is being interpreted as up sampling and Xie determines a distance threshold and sharpness threshold before doing image super-resolution ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference to determining the distance of the first ROI from the focal point is greater than a threshold distance; and determining to perform the upsampling process on the image data in the first ROI based on the distance of the first ROI from the focal point being greater than the threshold distance based on the method of Xie’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to efficiently enhance blurry and distant faces for facial recognition ( See Xie, ¶ [0002–0003 and 0016] ). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xie with Xiang, Ma and Tussy to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4. Regarding claim 9 , Xiang in view of Xie further in view of Ma and further in view of Tussy teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: [ based on transforming the portion of the image, obtaining an output image from a machine learning (ML) model trained to increase a resolution and enhance the face at least in part by inputting the first ROI ]. However, Xiang and Xie fail(s) to teach based on transforming the portion of the image, obtaining an output image from a machine learning (ML) model trained to increase a resolution and enhance the face at least in part by inputting the first ROI. Ma, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: based on transforming the portion of the image, obtaining an output image from a machine learning (ML) model trained to increase a resolution and enhance the face at least in part by inputting the first ROI ( See Ma, [3.1. Deep Iterative Collaboration], Given an LR (e.g., low resolution) face image I L R , facial landmarks are important for the recovery procedure, …, Similar to the SR branch, the recurrent alignment branch includes a pre-processing block A 1 , a recursive hourglass block A R and a post-processing block A 2 . For the n th step where n = 1 , . . . , N , the SR branch recovers SR images I n S R by using the alignment results and the feedback information from the previous step n - 1 , denoted as L n - 1 and f n - 1 G R , respectively. Besides, LR inputs are also important in each step. Hence LR features extracted by G1 are also fed into the recursive block. Therefore, the face SR process can be formulated by: PNG media_image1.png 58 338 media_image1.png Greyscale where U denotes an upsampling operation. Note: the examiner is interpreting the previous super resolution landmarks and features as the transformed portion. Ma processes a low resolution image and processes it using super resolution then iteratively uses that SR image to align the facial landmarks of the low resolution image for a better super resolution in the next step ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference based on transforming the portion of the image, obtaining an output image from a machine learning (ML) model trained to increase a resolution and enhance the face at least in part by inputting the first ROI based on the method of Ma’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to more accurately align the face using fewer parameters ( See Ma, [Study of Iterative Learning] ). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ma with Xiang, Xie and Tussy to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9. Regarding claim 10 , Xiang teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: superimposing the output image on an upsampled version of the image ( See Xiang, ¶ [0013], Some examples of the techniques described herein may utilize a machine learning model or models (e.g., deep learning) to increase image resolution and/or quality. For instance, some techniques may be utilized to generate super-resolution images with increased object (e.g., face) rendering quality. ¶ [0042], In some examples, the apparatus may blend the enhanced object region(s) with the enhanced background region(s) ). Regarding claim 13 , claim 13 is rejected the same as claim 1 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to the claim 13, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 1 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Furthermore, Xiang teaches an apparatus for processing one or more images, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to ( See Xiang, ¶ [0015], the method 100 may be performed to produce an enhanced image or images. [FIG. 3], 328 Processor, 326 Memory, 324 Apparatus ). Regarding claim 14 , claim 14 is rejected the same as claim 2 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 2 are equally applicable to the claim 14, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 2 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 16 , claim 16 is rejected the same as claim 4 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 4 are equally applicable to the claim 16, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 4 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 21 , claim 21 is rejected the same as claim 9 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 9 are equally applicable to the claim 21, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 9 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 22 , claim 22 is rejected the same as claim 10 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 10 are equally applicable to the claim 22, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 10 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 25 , claim 25 is rejected the same as claim 1 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to the claim 25, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 1 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Furthermore, Xiang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to ( See Xiang, ¶ [0054], In some examples, the memory 326 may be a non-transitory tangible machine-readable storage medium. [FIG. 3], 328 Processor, 326 Memory, 324 Apparatus ). Regarding claim 26 , claim 26 is rejected the same as claim 2 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 2 are equally applicable to the claim 26, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 2 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 28 , claim 28 is rejected the same as claim 4 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 4 are equally applicable to the claim 28, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 4 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 31 , claim 31 is rejected the same as claim 9 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 9 are equally applicable to the claim 31, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 9 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 32 , claim 32 is rejected the same as claim 10 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 10 are equally applicable to the claim 32, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 10 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 15, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang et al. (US 2023/0377095 A1, hereafter, “Xiang”) in view of Xie et al. (CN 112669207 A, hereafter, “Xie”) further in view of Ma et al. (See NPL attached, “Deep Face Super-Resolution with Iterative Collaboration between Attentive Recovery and Landmark Estimation”, hereafter, “Ma”) further in view of Tussy (US 20190213316 A1, hereafter, “Tussy”) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0320352 A1, hereafter, “Zhang”) . Regarding claim 3 , Xiang in view of Xie further in view of Ma and further in view of Tussy teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: [ determining a size of the second ROI is less than a size threshold; and determining to perform an upsampling process on image data in the second ROI based on the size of the second ROI being less than the size threshold ]. However, Xiang, Xie, Ma and Tussy fail(s) to teach determining a size of the second ROI is less than a size threshold; and determining to perform an upsampling process on image data in the second ROI based on the size of the second ROI being less than the size threshold. Zhang, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: determining a size of the second ROI is less than a size threshold ( See Zhang, ¶ [0107], wherein the potential recognition region includes a region with a designated content and a size no greater than a preset threshold ); and determining to perform an upsampling process on image data in the second ROI based on the size of the second ROI being less than the size threshold ( See Zhang, ¶ [0107], wherein the potential recognition region includes a region with a designated content and a size no greater than a preset threshold; determine an up-sampled potential recognition region by up-sampling the potential recognition region ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference to determining a size of the second ROI is less than a size threshold; and determining to perform an upsampling process on image data in the second ROI based on the size of the second ROI being less than the size threshold based on the method of Zhang’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve success rate of recognition of small objects ( See Zhang, ¶ [0065] ). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang with Xiang, Xie, Ma and Tussy to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3. Regarding claim 15 , claim 15 is rejected the same as claim 3 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 3 are equally applicable to the claim 15, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 3 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 27 , claim 27 is rejected the same as claim 3 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 3 are equally applicable to the claim 27, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 3 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5–7, 16–19, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang et al. (US 2023/0377095 A1, hereafter, “Xiang”) in view of Xie et al. (CN 112669207 A, hereafter, “Xie”) further in view of Ma et al. (See NPL attached, “Deep Face Super-Resolution with Iterative Collaboration between Attentive Recovery and Landmark Estimation”, hereafter, “Ma”) further in view of Tussy (US 20190213316 A1, hereafter, “Tussy”) and further in view of Stephan et al. (US 2009/0060273, hereafter, “Stephan”) . Regarding claim 5 , Xiang in view of Xie further in view of Ma and further in view of Tussy teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining one or more image characteristics of the second ROI ( See Xiang, ¶ [0025], An identity feature is a value or values (e.g., vector(s)) that relate to an object identity (e.g., object type, object instance, and/or identifying facial characteristics of a person, etc.) ); and [ determining not to perform the upsampling process on image data in the second ROI based on the one or more image characteristics of the second ROI ]. However, Xiang, Xie, Ma and Tussy fail(s) to teach determining not to perform the upsampling process on image data in the second ROI based on the one or more image characteristics of the second ROI. Stephan, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: determining not to perform the upsampling process on image data in the second ROI based on the one or more image characteristics of the second ROI ( See Stephan, ¶ [0070], At step 912, the distance d retrieved from the objectlist is compared to the reference distance 𝒅𝒅𝒆𝒇 , If d is less than or equal to 𝒅𝒅𝒆𝒇 , at step 914, the portion of the image data is upsampled by an upsampling factor 𝒔𝒇𝒖𝒑 that may be determined, e.g., as explained with reference to Equation (1) above. If d is larger than 𝒅𝒅𝒆𝒇 , at step 916, the portion of the image data is downsampled by a downsampling factor sf down that may be determined, e.g., as explained with reference to Equation (2) above ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference to determining not to perform the upsampling process on image data in the second ROI based on the one or more image characteristics of the second ROI based on the method of Stephan’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide results that are less prone to errors caused by variation in distance of objects ( See Stephan, ¶ [0007] ). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Stephan with Xiang, Xie, Ma and Tussy to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5. Regarding claim 6 , Xiang teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the first ROI and the second ROI are associated with a common object type ( See Xiang, ¶ [0017], one examples of object detection may correlate patches of the image with an object template (e.g., face, text, vehicle, other object image) or templates to determine a matching object region or regions (e.g., region(s) of interest (ROI) and/or bounding box(es)) where the object(s) are located in the image ). Regarding claim 7 , Xiang teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the common object type comprises a face region of a person ( See Xiang, ¶ [0017], one examples of object detection may correlate patches of the image with an object template (e.g., face, text, vehicle, other object image) or templates to determine a matching object region or regions (e.g., region(s) of interest (ROI) and/or bounding box(es)) where the object(s) are located in the image ). Regarding claim 17 , claim 17 is rejected the same as claim 5 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 5 are equally applicable to the claim 17, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 5 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 18 , claim 18 is rejected the same as claim 6 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 6 are equally applicable to the claim 18, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 6 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 19 , claim 19 is rejected the same as claim 7 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 7 are equally applicable to the claim 19, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 7 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference. Regarding claim 29 , claim 29 is rejected the same as claim 5 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 5 are equally applicable to the claim 29, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 5 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang et al. (US 2023/0377095 A1, hereafter, “Xiang”) in view of Xie et al. (CN 112669207 A, hereafter, “Xie”) further in view of Ma et al. (See NPL attached, “Deep Face Super-Resolution with Iterative Collaboration between Attentive Recovery and Landmark Estimation”, hereafter, “Ma”) further in view of Tussy (US 20190213316 A1, hereafter, “Tussy”) and further in view of Chu et al. (US 2022/0256116 A1, hereafter, “Chu”) . Regarding claim 11 , Xiang in view of Xie further in view of Ma and further in view of Tussy teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: [ determining a sharpness differential between the first ROI and the second ROI ]. However, Xiang, Xie, Ma and Tussy fail(s) to teach determining a sharpness differential between the first ROI and the second ROI. Chu, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: determining a sharpness differential between the first ROI and the second ROI ( See Chu, ¶ [0064], The difference in sharpness of edges of objects in the first region 301 and the blurred edges of the defocused objects in the second region 303 enables the background differentiation methods disclosed herein ); Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference to determining a sharpness differential between the first ROI and the second ROI based on the method of Chu’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to include a subject in the depth of field to focus more on the subject focus less on another subject and decrease the computational consumption ( See Chu, ¶ [0065 and 0006] ). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chu with Xiang, Xie, Ma and Tussy to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11. Regarding claim 23 , Xiang in view of Xie further in view of Ma and further in view of Tussy teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: detect a second ROI in the image ( See Xiang, ¶ [0010], In some examples of the techniques described herein, a region or regions that include an object or objects (e.g., faces, vehicles, and/or text, etc.) may be detected. Note: The examiner is interpreting the multiple regions as having a second ROI ); [ determine a sharpness differential between the first ROI and the second ROI; adjust a focal point of a lens of an image sensor to increase the sharpness of the first ROI and decrease a sharpness of the second ROI for an additional image; and obtain the additional image based on adjusting the focal point of the lens ]. However, Xiang, Xie and Ma fail(s) to teach determine a sharpness differential between the first ROI and the second ROI; adjust a focal point of a lens of an image sensor to increase the sharpness of the first ROI and decrease a sharpness of the second ROI for an additional image; and obtain the additional image based on adjusting the focal point of the lens. Tussy, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: adjust a focal point of a lens of an image sensor to increase the sharpness of the first ROI and decrease a sharpness of the second ROI for an additional image ( See Tussy, ¶ [0186], If a three dimensional person in a real environment is being imaged, it is expected that the focal length settings should be different at the first and second locations, which suggests a real person is presently being imaged. Note: Different focal lengths means adjusting the focal point and that one object is in focus and the other is out of focus ); obtain the additional image based on adjusting the focal point of the lens ( See Tussy, ¶ [0186], If a three dimensional person in a real environment is being imaged, it is expected that the focal length settings should be different at the first and second locations, which suggests a real person is presently being imaged. Note: That the autofocusing is used to take an image of the person to be imaged ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference determine a sharpness differential between the first ROI and the second ROI; adjust a focal point of a lens of an image sensor to increase the sharpness of the first ROI and decrease a sharpness of the second ROI for an additional image; and obtain the additional image based on adjusting the focal point of the lens based on the method of Tussy’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to include a subject in the depth of field to focus more on the subject focus less on another subject ( See Tussy, ¶ [0186] ). However, Xiang, Xie, Ma and Tussy fail(s) to teach determine a sharpness differential between the first ROI and the second ROI. Chu, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: determine a sharpness differential between the first ROI and the second ROI ( See Chu, ¶ [0064], The difference in sharpness of edges of objects in the first region 301 and the blurred edges of the defocused objects in the second region 303 enables the background differentiation methods disclosed herein ); Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference to determine a sharpness differential between the first ROI and the second ROI based on the method of Chu’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to include a subject in the depth of field to focus more on the subject focus less on another subject and decrease the computational consumption ( See Chu, ¶ [0065 and 0006] ). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tussy and Chu with Xiang, Xie and Ma to obtain the invention as specified in claim 23 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang et al. (US 2023/0377095 A1, hereafter, “Xiang”) in view of Xie et al. (CN 112669207 A, hereafter, “Xie”) further in view of Ma et al. (See NPL attached, “Deep Face Super-Resolution with Iterative Collaboration between Attentive Recovery and Landmark Estimation”, hereafter, “Ma”) further in view of Tussy (US 20190213316 A1, hereafter, “Tussy”) and further in view of Corcoran et al. (US 2009/0303342 A1, hereafter, “Corcoran”) . Regarding claim 12 , Xiang in view of Xie further in view of Ma and further in view of Tussy teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: [ resizing a bounding box associated with the first ROI; determining that the resized bounding box crops skin information based on a border region of the resized bounding box; and modifying the resized bounding box to include a region outside of the resized bounding box that corresponds to the skin information ]. However, Xiang, Xie, Ma and Tussy fail(s) to teach resizing a bounding box associated with the first ROI; determining that the resized bounding box crops skin information based on a border region of the resized bounding box; and modifying the resized bounding box to include a region outside of the resized bounding box that corresponds to the skin information. Corcoran, working in the same field of endeavor, teaches: resizing a bounding box associated with the first ROI ( See Corcoran, ¶ [0138], the tracking algorithm after inspecting the history record for this face region may first employ the next largest size of face detector, then the current size ); determining that the resized bounding box crops skin information based on a border region of the resized bounding box ( See Corcoran, ¶ [0138], If the face is still not confirmed then additional filters such as a skin pixel filter will try to determine if the face has turned to an angle, or has perhaps grown more than one size, or moved more than was expected and is thus outside the original bounding box which can then be enlarged ); and modifying the resized bounding box to include a region outside of the resized bounding box that corresponds to the skin information ( See Corcoran, ¶ [0138], If the face is still not confirmed then additional filters such as a skin pixel filter will try to determine if the face has turned to an angle, or has perhaps grown more than one size, or moved more than was expected and is thus outside the original bounding box which can then be enlarged ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xiang’s reference to resizing a bounding box associated with the first ROI; determining that the resized bounding box crops skin information based on a border region of the resized bounding box; and modifying the resized bounding box to include a region outside of the resized bounding box that corresponds to the skin information based on the method of Corcoran’s reference. The suggestion/motivation would have been to track face region that are known to a high degree of accuracy at the beginning of each preview image frame and account for movement of tracked faces ( See Corcoran, ¶ [0126 and 0139] ). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known method with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Corcoran with Xiang, Xie, Ma and Tussy to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12. Regarding claim 24 , claim 24 is rejected the same as claim 12 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 12 are equally applicable to the claim 24, and all of the other limitations similar to claim 12 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Molgaard et al. (US 20180070007 A1) teaches techniques are described for automated analysis and filtering of image data. Image data is analyzed to identify regions of interest (ROIs) within the image content. The image data also may have depth estimates applied to content therein. One or more of the ROIs may be designated to possess a base depth, representing a depth of image content against which depths of other content may be compared. Moreover, the depth of the image content within a spatial area of an ROI may be set to be a consistent value, regardless of depth estimates that may have been assigned from other sources. Thereafter, other elements of image content may be assigned content adjustment values in gradients based on their relative depth in image content as compared to the base depth and, optionally, based on their spatial distance from the designated ROI. Image content may be adjusted based on the content adjustment values. Feng et al. (US 20230012219 A1) teaches The present disclosure provides systems, apparatus, methods, and computer-readable media that support multi-frame depth-of-field (MF-DOF) for deblurring background regions of interest (ROIs), such as background faces, that may be blurred due to a large aperture size or other characteristics of the camera used to capture the image frame. The processing may include the use of two image frames obtained at two different focus points corresponding to the multiple ROIs in the image frame. The corrected image frame may be determined by deblurring one or more ROIs of the first image frame using an AI-based model and/or local gradient information. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DION J SATCHER whose telephone number is (703)756-5849. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 5:30 am - 2:30 pm, Friday 5:30 am - 9:30 am PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Henok Shiferaw can be reached at (571) 272-4637. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DION J SATCHER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676 /SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 2 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 3 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 4 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 5 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 6 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 7 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 8 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 9 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 10 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 11 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 12 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 13 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 14 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 15 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 16 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 17 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 18 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 19 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 20 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 21 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 22 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 23 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 24 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 25 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 26 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 27 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 28 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 29 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 30 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 31 Art Unit: 2676 Application/Control Number: 18/049,897 Page 32 Art Unit: 2676