DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species I-2a (Claims 1-4, 10-12 and 14-18) in the reply filed on January 20, 2026, is acknowledged.
3. Claims 5-9 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 20, 2026.
Priority
4. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. Information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted January 22, 2026, has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-4, 10-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yadav et al. (US 2021/0280899 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Yadav et al. disclose an energy storage device, called a battery (100), comprising: at least one electrode, called a cathode compartment (1), configured such that electrochemical oxidation and reduction of one or more redox-active oxyanions occurs during charging and/or discharging of the energy storage device (paragraphs 0017, 0025).
The recitation, “configured such that electrochemical oxidation and reduction of one or more redox-active oxyanions occurs during charging and/or discharging of the energy storage device”, is functional language which imparts intended use to the structural features of the product. Therefore, while the claim language has been considered with regard to structure, the intended use language it is not given patentable weight because it is directed to a process and not directed to the structural features of the product. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113.
With regard to Claim 2, Yadav et al. disclose wherein at least one of the one or more redox-active oxyanions comprise nitrate (NO ² ), nitrite (NO ² ), or sulfate (SO4² ) (paragraph 0025).
With regard to Claim 3, Yadav et al. disclose wherein the energy storage device is configured such that electrochemical conversions between nitrate and/or nitrite occur during charging and/or discharging of the energy storage device (paragraph 0025).
The recitation, “configured such that electrochemical conversions between nitrate, nitrite, and/or ammonia occur during charging and/or discharging of the energy storage device”, is functional language which imparts intended use to the structural features of the product. Therefore, while the claim language has been considered with regard to structure, the intended use language it is not given patentable weight because it is directed to a process and not directed to the structural features of the product. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113.
With regard to Claim 4, Yadav et al. disclose wherein the electrode comprises an aqueous solution of lithium nitrate, lithium nitrite, or mixtures thereof (paragraph 0025).
With regard to Claim 10, Yadav et al. disclose wherein the electrode comprises a bifunctional air electrode configured to perform oxygen reduction reactions and oxygen evolution reactions (paragraph 0025).
The recitation, “configured to perform oxygen reduction reactions and oxygen evolution reactions”, is functional language which imparts intended use to the structural features of the product. Therefore, while the claim language has been considered with regard to structure, the intended use language it is not given patentable weight because it is directed to a process and not directed to the structural features of the product. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113.
With regard to Claim 11, Yadav et al. disclose wherein the electrode comprises a dual electrode configuration comprising: an oxygen reduction reaction (ORR) electrode; and an oxygen evolution reaction (OER) electrode separate from the ORR electrode (paragraphs 0025-0027).
With regard to Claim 12, Yadav et al. disclose wherein the electrode is a cathode that comprises a cathode active material selected from manganese (II) oxide/manganese (II) hydroxide (paragraph 0025).
With regard to Claim 18, Yadav et al. disclose wherein the energy storage device is a flow battery (paragraph 0021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav et al. (US 2021/0280899 A1), as applied to Claims 1-4, 10-12 and 18 above, and in further view of Levine et al. (US 2009/0311559 A1).
With regard to Claims 14-17, Yadav et al. disclose the energy storage device in paragraph 8 above, but do not specifically disclose one or more biomolecules, one or more enzymes, and/or one or more microorganisms disposed within the energy storage device, wherein the one or more biomolecules, the one or more enzymes, and/or the one or more microorganisms aid in oxidation and/or reduction of the one or more redox-active oxyanions during charging and/or discharging of the energy storage device; wherein the one or more biomolecules, the one or more enzymes, and/or the one or more microorganisms disposed within the energy storage device are at least one microorganism; wherein the at least one microorganism is a bacteria; and, wherein the bacteria is a sulphate-reducing bacteria.
Levine et al. disclose an electrochemical power generation system including an anode, a cathode, an electrical conductor connecting the anode and the cathode, and a housing for containing an aqueous electrolyte medium in contact with at least a portion of the anode and the cathode (paragraph 0027). Levine et al. disclose the system further including a reactor configured to regenerate non-carbon constituents of a fossil fuel, such as pyrite, chemically (paragraph 0027). Levine et al. disclose wherein the reactor contains a regeneration medium including at least one species of microorganism, wherein the microorganism can be a sulfate reducing bacteria, a sulfur reducing bacteria, an iron reducing bacteria, or combinations thereof (paragraph 0027). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the energy storage device of Yadav et al. to include one or more biomolecules, one or more enzymes, and/or one or more microorganisms disposed within the energy storage device, wherein the one or more biomolecules, the one or more enzymes, and/or the one or more microorganisms aid in oxidation and/or reduction of the one or more redox-active oxyanions during charging and/or discharging of the energy storage device; wherein the one or more biomolecules, the one or more enzymes, and/or the one or more microorganisms disposed within the energy storage device are at least one microorganism; wherein the at least one microorganism is a bacteria; and, wherein the bacteria is a sulphate-reducing bacteria, because Levine et al. teach that these materials help electrochemical systems to generate electricity electrochemically without also generating unwanted byproducts associated with combustion, while providing relatively higher energy efficiency (paragraph 0008).
The recitation, “aid in oxidation and/or reduction of the one or more redox-active oxyanions during charging and/or discharging of the energy storage device”, is functional language which imparts intended use to the structural features of the product. Therefore, while the claim language has been considered with regard to structure, the intended use language it is not given patentable weight because it is directed to a process and not directed to the structural features of the product. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP 2114. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113.
Conclusion
/KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725