Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 9, and 13 have been amended. New Limitation have been added to independent claims 1, 9, and 13. Claims 1-15 remains pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laurel (US 9352908) in view of Baroun (JP 5431180).
Regarding claim-1, Laurel discloses a chain conveyor (10, Fig.1-3) comprising:
a frame (Fig.1);
at least one chain (links Fig.1) configured to move on the frame, the at least one chain including a plurality of links (Fig.1, 3) and at least some of the plurality of links supporting a plurality of bearings (22, Fig.2-4) that are configured to rotate relative to the links; and
a dynamic traction control system (Fig.2) including:
But Laurel lacks flexible bladder but instead teaches flexible member/segment.
a flexible bladder (adjustable member/segment in up and down direction32, Fig.2-3) provided to the frame adjacent to but not touching a surface of the plurality of bearings (as can be seen in Fig.2: Segment not touching the Right-side roller 22);
a control body (controllable bearing surface segment 32; Col.2 line44-46) provided to the flexible bladder;
a pressure device (40) in fluid connection with the control body such that the pressure device is configured to selectively expand (up direction) the flexible bladder such that the flexible bladder makes direct contact with the surface of the plurality of bearings when additional traction is required (Fig.2; Col.3 line1-16 and controllable bearing surface segment 32; Col.2 line44-46); and
a controller (58, Fig.6) in electronic communication with the pressure device (40) to expand the flexible bladder to provide adjustable traction control when needed (Fig.2) and contract the flexible bladder when adjustable traction control is not needed (Fig.2) (Check Col.3 line50 to Col.4 line43).
Baroun teaches a chain conveyor system with dynamic traction control system (Fig.1-3) similar to Laurel and also, teaches a flexible bladder (7) to expand and contract for traction control of rollers (1), and a control body (15) provided to the flexible bladder (7) and to adjust the said flexible bladder.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to alternatively provide/replace Laurel flexible member with flexible bladder and controller as taught by Baroun for purpose of controlling the speed and traction of rollers/bearing.
Regarding claim-2, Laurel as modified wherein the flexible bladder (7 as taught by Baroun) has an elongated shape along the direction of the chain (Fig.3 of Baroun).
Regarding claim-3, Laurel as modified wherein the control body (15 as taught by Baroun) is at one end of the flexible bladder (7 as taught by Baroun) and a stopper body (3 as taught by Baroun) is provided at another end of the flexible bladder and the stopper body is configured to seal the flexible bladder and hold the flexible bladder in place on the frame (Fig.1B, of Baroun)
Regarding claim-4, Laurel as modified does not teaches wherein the flexible bladder (7 as taught by Baroun) is cylindrical instead teaches a rectangular shape. However, it is just a mere of straightforward design and constructional detail of an apparatus in which skilled person in the art can easily construed to select the shape i.e., cylindrical based on required specification of an apparatus.
Regarding claim-5, Laurel as modified wherein the flexible bladder (7 as taught by Baroun) comprises an internal inflatable bladder (7) and an external covering (6) for the internal inflatable bladder (Fig.1A-1B as taught by Baroun).
Regarding claim-6, Laurel as modified wherein the pressure device comprises a pneumatic or hydraulic system (18, Fig.1B as taught by Baroun).
Regarding claim-7, Laurel as modified wherein the at least one chain (2a, 2b as taught by Baroun) comprises chain bearings (4, Fig.1A-1B as taught by Baroun) that move on the frame along at least one rail provided to the frame, wherein the rail has a circular profile (Fig.3 as taught by Baroun).
Regarding claim-8, Laurel as modified wherein the controller (58) is configured to expand or contract the flexible bladder (7 as taught by Baroun) using a plurality of levels (Fig.3).
Regarding claim-9, Laurel as modified a method for dynamic traction control in a chain conveyor, the chain conveyor including a chain (2a, 2b as taught by Baroun) provided with a plurality of bearings (22) for carrying pallets (38), the method comprising:
providing a flexible bladder (7, as taught by Baroun) adjacent to the bearings; and
selectively expanding the flexible bladder (7 as taught by Baroun) such that the flexible bladder makes direct contact with a surface of the bearings when adjustable additional traction is required (Fig.2).
Regarding claim-10, Laurel as modified wherein the selectively expanding the flexible bladder (7 as taught by Baroun) is based on parameters related to the pallet and chain conveyor (Fig.3 and also Fig.3 of Baroun)
Regarding claim-11, Laurel as modified wherein the selectively expanding comprises selecting a level of expansion (Fig.3 and also Fig.1A-B, 3 of Baroun)
Regarding claim-12, Laurel as modified wherein the selectively expanding comprises contracting the flexible bladder when additional traction is not required (Fig.3 and also Fig.1A-B, 3 of Baroun)
Regarding claim-13, Laurel discloses a kit to retrofit a chain conveyor (10) to provide dynamic traction control (Fig.2-3), the chain conveyor comprising a frame (Fig.1), at least one chain (links) configured to move on the frame, the at least one chain including a plurality of links (Fig.1) supporting a plurality of bearings (22) configured to rotate freely relative to the links, the kit comprising:
a flexible bladder (7 as taught by Baroun) provided to the frame adjacent to but not touching a surface of the plurality of bearings;
a control body (15 as taught by Baroun) provided to the flexible bladder;
a pressure device (40) in fluid connection with the control body such that the pressure device is configured to selectively expand the flexible member such that the flexible bladder makes direct contact with the surface of the plurality of bearings when adjustable additional traction is required (Check Col.3 line50 to Col.4 line43).); and
a controller (58) in electronic communication with the pressure device (40) to expand the flexible bladder to provide adjustable traction control when needed and contract the flexible bladder when adjustable traction control is not needed (Fig.2) (Check Col.3 line50 to Col.4 line43).
Regarding claim-14, Laurel as modified wherein the flexible member (7 as taught by Baroun) has an elongated cylindrical shape with a circular cross-section instead teaches an elongated rectangular shape with rectangular cross-section. However, it is just a mere of straightforward design and constructional detail of an apparatus in which skilled person in the art can easily construed to select the shape i.e., cylindrical based on required specification of an apparatus.
Regarding claim-15, Laurel as modified wherein the flexible member (7 as taught by Baroun) comprises an internal inflatable bladder (7) and an external covering (6) for the internal inflatable bladder (Fig.1A-1B).
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laurel (US 9352908) in view of Mark (US 20060249355).
Regarding claim-1, Laurel discloses a chain conveyor (10, Fig.1-3) comprising:
a frame (Fig.1);
at least one chain (links Fig.1) configured to move on the frame, the at least one chain including a plurality of links (Fig.1, 3) and at least some of the plurality of links supporting a plurality of bearings (22, Fig.2-4) that are configured to rotate relative to the links; and
a dynamic traction control system (Fig.2) including:
But Laurel lacks flexible bladder but instead teaches flexible member/segment.
a flexible bladder (adjustable member/segment in up and down direction32, Fig.2-3) provided to the frame adjacent to but not touching a surface of the plurality of bearings (as can be seen in Fig.2: Segment not touching the Right-side roller 22);
a control body (controllable bearing surface segment 32; Col.2 line44-46) provided to the flexible bladder;
a pressure device (40) in fluid connection with the control body such that the pressure device is configured to selectively expand (up direction) the flexible bladder such that the flexible bladder makes direct contact with the surface of the plurality of bearings when additional traction is required (Fig.2; Col.3 line1-16 and controllable bearing surface segment 32; Col.2 line44-46); and
a controller (58, Fig.6) in electronic communication with the pressure device (40) to expand the flexible bladder to provide adjustable traction control when needed (Fig.2) and contract the flexible bladder when adjustable traction control is not needed (Fig.2) (Check Col.3 line50 to Col.4 line43).
Mark teaches a chain conveyor system with dynamic traction control system (Fig.1-4) similar to Laurel and also, teaches a flexible bladder (68) to expand and contract for traction control of rollers (24), and a control body (76) provided to the flexible bladder (Fig.3-4, [0023-0024]) and to adjust the said flexible bladder.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to alternatively provide/replace Laurel flexible member with flexible bladder and controller as taught by Mark for purpose of controlling the speed and traction of rollers/bearing.
Regarding claim-2, Laurel as modified wherein the flexible bladder (68 as taught by Mark) has an elongated shape along the direction of the chain (Fig.3 with 4 of Mark).
Regarding claim-3, Laurel as modified wherein the control body (76 as taught by Mark) is at one end of the flexible bladder (68 as taught by Mark) and a stopper body (58 as taught by Mark) is provided at another end of the flexible bladder and the stopper body is configured to seal the flexible bladder and hold the flexible bladder in place on the frame (Fig.3 of Mark)
Regarding claim-4, Laurel as modified teaches wherein the flexible bladder (68 as taught by Mark) is cylindrical (Fig.3 of Mark).
Regarding claim-5, Laurel as modified wherein the flexible bladder (68 as taught by Mark) comprises an internal inflatable bladder (68) and an external covering (66) for the internal inflatable bladder (Fig.3 of Mark).
Regarding claim-6, Laurel as modified wherein the pressure device comprises a pneumatic or hydraulic system (74 as taught by Mark).
Regarding claim-7, Laurel as modified wherein the at least one chain (Fig.1B, 5B as taught by Mark) comprises chain bearings (Fig.1B, 5B as taught by Mark) that move on the frame along at least one rail provided to the frame, wherein the rail has a circular profile (Fig.1B, 5B as taught by Mark)
Regarding claim-8, Laurel as modified wherein the controller (76) is configured to expand or contract the flexible bladder (68 as taught by Mark) using a plurality of levels (78 Fig.3 of Mark).
Regarding claim-9, Laurel as modified a method for dynamic traction control in a chain conveyor, the chain conveyor including a chain (Fig.1B, 5B as taught by Mark) provided with a plurality of bearings (22) for carrying pallets (38), the method comprising:
providing a flexible bladder (68 as taught by Mark) adjacent to the bearings; and
selectively expanding the flexible bladder (68 as taught by Mark) such that the flexible bladder makes direct contact with a surface of the bearings when adjustable additional traction is required (Fig.2).
Regarding claim-10, Laurel as modified wherein the selectively expanding the flexible bladder (68 as taught by Mark) is based on parameters related to the pallet and chain conveyor (levels 78, Fig.3 Mark)
Regarding claim-11, Laurel as modified wherein the selectively expanding comprises selecting a level of expansion (levels 78, Fig.3 of Mark)
Regarding claim-12, Laurel as modified wherein the selectively expanding comprises contracting the flexible bladder when additional traction is not required (levels 78, Fig.3 Mark)
Regarding claim-13, Laurel discloses a kit to retrofit a chain conveyor (10) to provide dynamic traction control (Fig.2-3), the chain conveyor comprising a frame (Fig.1), at least one chain (links) configured to move on the frame, the at least one chain including a plurality of links (Fig.1) supporting a plurality of bearings (22) configured to rotate freely relative to the links, the kit comprising:
a flexible bladder (68 as taught by Mark) provided to the frame adjacent to but not touching a surface of the plurality of bearings;
a control body (76 as taught by Mark) provided to the flexible bladder;
a pressure device (40) in fluid connection with the control body such that the pressure device is configured to selectively expand the flexible member such that the flexible bladder makes direct contact with the surface of the plurality of bearings when adjustable additional traction is required (Check Col.3 line50 to Col.4 line43); and
a controller (58) in electronic communication with the pressure device (40) to expand the flexible bladder to provide adjustable traction control when needed and contract the flexible bladder when adjustable traction control is not needed (Fig.2) (Check Col.3 line50 to Col.4 line43).
Regarding claim-14, Laurel as modified wherein the flexible member (68 as taught by Mark) has an elongated cylindrical shape with a circular cross-section (Fig.3 of Mark).
Regarding claim-15, Laurel as modified wherein the flexible member (68) as taught by Mark comprises an internal inflatable bladder (68) and an external covering (66) for the internal inflatable bladder (Fig.3 of Mark).
Conclusion
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651