DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claims 1-4 & 7-13 are rejected.
Claims 5-6 are objected to.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 2-3, filed May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 of Claim 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 2-4, filed May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 of Claims 8-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 3-4, filed May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 of Claims 1-4 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Shainwald does not teach a control pad carried by the handle and configured to rotate about an axis of the handle, Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Applicant has included Figs. 6A and 6B from Applicant’s specification to show the axis of rotation 245 (i.e., a longitudinal axis of the handle 200) about which the control pad 215 rotates, the axis as claimed, however, is not limited to a longitudinal axis of the handle and can be any axis of the handle. As such, Shainwald teaches a control pad configured to rotate about a transverse axis of the handle. Finally, Applicant is reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 4-6, filed May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 of Claims 5-6 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 of Claims 5-6 have been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is:
"a first positioning component for sensing a rotational orientation of the endoscope" in Claim 7, as described in Para. [0037] of Applicant’s specification (i.e., accelerometer 265).
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 7, from which it depends, recites the limitation “a first positioning component for sensing a rotational orientation of the endoscope [emphasis added]” on Lines 2-3. Claim 8 further recites “the first positioning component carried by the coupler assembly [emphasis added]” on Line 5. There is no written description for this limitation in Applicant’s specification.
Specifically, Applicant’s specification discloses two separate positioning components:
an accelerometer 255 carried in the handle component 200 and configured to indicate the rotational orientation of the handle component 200 ([0036]); and
an accelerometer 265 carried in a light source connector 264 and configured to indicate the rotational orientation of the connector 265 and the endoscope 55 ([0037]).
Applicant’s specification, however, does not disclose a positioning component carried in the handle component and configured to indicate the rotational orientation of the endoscope 55, given the accelerometer 255 is carried in the handle component 200 but is not configured to indicate the rotational orientation of the endoscope and accelerometer 265 is configured to indicate the rotational orientation of the endoscope 55 but is not carried in the handle component 200.
While Para. [0039] discloses that “signals from… the first accelerometer 255… can provide rotational orientation data of the components”, Applicant has continually argued that a positioning device configured to only determine an orientation of a handle is not configured to/capable of determine an orientation of an endoscope from said just handle orientation data (see Pages 1-2 of Applicant’s Arguments —filed June 29, 2025 & Pages 2-3 of Applicant’s Arguments after Notice of Appeal —filed May 6, 2026). As such, Examiner has determined, in part from the prosecution history, Para. [0039] does not provide adequate support for the accelerometer 255 to indicate the rotational orientation of the endoscope 55. Therefore, Applicant’s disclosure does not provide sufficient written description to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed limitation.
Regarding Claims 9-13, Claims 9-13 are rejected as being dependent upon claims previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Graves et al. (hereinafter "Graves") (US 2014/0066710).
Regarding Claim 7, Graves discloses a connector (a housing; [0027]) adapted for coupling to an endoscope lens (a viewing portal; [0026]) on an endoscope (a rigid endoscope; [0025]), the connector comprises a first positioning component (a position sensor; [0035]) for sensing a rotational orientation of the endoscope ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 8, Graves discloses the connector of Claim 7. Graves further discloses a handle (see Fig. 1) with a coupler assembly (see Fig. 1) comprising a rotatable C-mount coupler (coupling brackets; [0034]) for coupling to the endoscope lens ([0034]);
an image sensor (a camera; [0030]) carried by the coupler assembly ([0030]);
the first positioning component carried by the coupler assembly ([0009] & Claim 4); and
a control pad (Fig. 4, a rotary encoder; [0031]) rotatably carried by the handle ([0031]), wherein the control pad is operably connected to a controller (Fig. 6, control circuitry/ a microprocessor; [0032] – [0033]) for controlling an operation of the endoscope ([0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang et al. (hereinafter "Pang") (US 2021/0127948) in view of Shainwald (US 2021/0100431).
Regarding Claim 1, Pang discloses an endoscopic system (Fig. 7, 10; [0150]) for use with a video display (Fig. 7, 29; [0151]), the endoscopic system comprising:
a handle (Figs. 1B & 7, a body of 13 wherein 13 is 108; [0085] & [0150]) with a coupler assembly (Figs. 1B & 7, 13 wherein 13 is 108; [0085] & [0150]) comprising a rotatable C-mount coupler (Figs. 1B & 7, 14 wherein 14 is 111B; [0085], [0147] & [0150]) for coupling to a lens ([0086]) of an endoscope (Figs. 1B & 7, 12 wherein 12 is 110; [0085] & [0150]);
an image sensor carried by the coupler assembly (Fig. 1B, 106; [0084]);
a first positioning component carried by the coupler assembly (Fig. 1B, 124A; [0095]); and
a control pad (Fig. 7, 20; [0151]) carried by the handle ([0151]), wherein the control pad is operably connected to a controller for controlling an operation of the endoscopic system (Figs. 1B & 7, 17 wherein 17 is 104; [0084] & [0150]).
Pang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the control pad is configured to rotate about an axis of the handle.
However, Shainwald teaches an endoscopic system (Fig. 2, 200; [0033]) comprising:
a handle (Fig. 2, 205; [0033]) with a rotatable C-mount coupler (Fig. 2, 250; [0036]) for coupling to an endoscope (Fig. 2, 245; [0033]);
and a control pad (Fig. 2, 210; [0033]) carried by the handle ([0033]) and configured to rotate about an axis of the handle (Fig. 2, 210 rotates about an axis of 205 that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of 205; [0033]).
The advantage of the rotary control pad is to permit operation of the control pad with only a single finger (Shainwald; [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the control pad as disclosed by Pang, to be the rotary control pad taught by Shainwald, to permit operation of the control pad with only a single finger (Shainwald; [0034]).
Regarding Claim 2, Pang, as previously modified by Shainwald, teaches the endoscopic system of Claim 1. Pang further discloses wherein the handle carries the first positioning component (Fig. 1B, 124A is disposed in the body of 108; [0095]) that is configured to send a first signal to the controller indicating a rotational orientation of the handle ([0094]).
Regarding Claim 3, Pang, as previously modified by Shainwald, teaches the endoscopic system of Claim 2. Pang further discloses where the first positioning component is carried in an interior non-rotating portion of the handle (Fig. 1B, the body of 108 does not internally rotate; [0092] & [0093]).
Regarding Claim 4, Pang, as previously modified by Shainwald, teaches the endoscopic system of Claim 1. Pang further discloses where the first positioning component comprises at least one of a gyroscope and an accelerometer ([0092]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 5, Pang, as previously modified by Shainwald, teaches the endoscopic system of Claim 1. Pang further discloses a light source (Fig. 7, 15; [0150]) and a cable (Figs. 1B & 7, 18 wherein 18 is 116; [0086] & [0150]), where the light source comprises a light source connector (a light port; see Fig. 7).
Pang, as previously modified by Shainwald, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light source comprises a second position component carried in the light source connector and configured to provide a second positioning component signal to the controller indicating rotational orientation of the light source connector and the endoscope to allow control algorithms of the controller to stabilize a video image in an upright position on the video display.
Irion et al. (US 2010/0022829) teaches an endoscopic system a light source (Fig. 1, 14; [0083]) and a cable (Fig. 1, 20; [0084]),
where the light source comprises a positioning component (Fig. 1, 34; [0088]) carried in a connector (Fig. 1, 16; [0084]);
wherein the position component is configured to provide a positioning component signal to a controller (a controller; [0104]) indicating rotational orientation of the connector ([0113]).
Irion et al. fails to explicitly disclose, teach or suggest wherein the position component is configured to indicate a rotational orientation of the endoscope to allow control algorithms of the controller to stabilize a video image in an upright position on the video display.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795