DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to RCE filed on 12/11/2025.
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7 and 8 are amended.
Claims 10 – 13 are added.
Claims 1, 3 – 5 and 7 – 13 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7 – 9 and 11 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 20150189116), in view of Sato (US 20200364018), and further in view of Grohs et al (US 20190146722, hereinafter Grohs).
As per claim 1, Ito discloses: One or more non-transitory computer readable media storing a management program and a sub-management program to be used in a management system that manages a plurality of terminal devices, wherein the management system includes: a storage device;
a management device configured to manage the terminal devices and communicate with the storage device; and a communication terminal device that is one of the terminal devices and configured to communicate with the storage device, wherein the management device is configured to store, in the storage device, task request data for requesting one of the terminal devices to execute a task, (Ito figure 1: management server 100 is mapped to the claimed management device, multifunctional device 120 is mapped to the claimed terminal device; and [0053]: “Firstly, in step S901, the CPU 203 receives the various requests from the multifunction device 120”. Examiner notes that requests received have to be stored in storage.)
and wherein the management program is configured to cause a first controller included in the management device to execute a process including: storing, in the storage device, the task request data for requesting, as the task, creation of a setting value file which includes setting values of the one of the terminal devices corresponding to given setting items; (Ito [0052] – [0054]: “FIG. 9 is a flowchart illustrating an example of a processing performed when the management server 110 receives various requests form the multifunction device 120… Firstly, in step S901, the CPU 203 receives the various requests from the multifunction device 120. Next, in step S902, the CPU 203 determines whether or not the request received in step S901 is the UPDATE request”.)
acquiring the setting value file from the storage device; and extracting one of the setting values corresponding to one of the given setting items from the setting value file acquired by the acquiring of the setting value file. (Ito [0054]: “In step S903, the CPU 203 rewrites the value based on the received value after changing setting value stored in the shared setting value DB 411 among the setting values of the UPDATE target. Then, in step S904, with respect to setting value stored in the individual setting value DB 413 among the setting values of the UPDATE target, the CPU 203 rewrites the value based on the transmitted value after being changed from the multifunction device 120”.)
Ito did not explicitly disclose:
a sub-management device configured to communicate with the storage device, where the storage device is one of a cloud storage and a memory external to the management device, the sub-management device and the communication terminal device;
and a connection terminal device that is one of the terminal devices and configured to communicate with the sub-management device,
wherein the communication terminal device is configured to, when a communication terminal acquisition timing arrives, acquire, from the storage device without communicating with the management device, the task request data whose request target is the communication terminal device, and then execute the task based on the acquired task request data,
wherein the sub-management program is configured to cause a second controller included in the sub-management device to execute a second process including, when a sub-management acquisition timing arrives, acquiring, from the storage device, task request data whose request target is the connection terminal device, and then executing the task based on the acquired task request data.
However, Sato teaches:
a sub-management device configured to communicate with the storage device; (Sato [0041]: “A cloud print job acquisition control unit 502 controls a process of transferring the print data 134 received from the cloud printing service 102 to a job control unit 510 together with a print job execution instruction. The job control unit 510 controls job execution in accordance with instructions from other control units. A cloud print event control unit 508 controls event transmission and event reception processing between the printing apparatus 101 and the cloud printing service 102”.)
and a connection terminal device that is one of the terminal devices and configured to communicate with the sub-management device, (Sato figure 1, terminal 100.)
wherein the communication terminal device is configured to, when a communication terminal acquisition timing arrives, acquire, from the storage device, the task request data whose request target is the communication terminal device, and then execute the task based on the acquired task request data, (Sato [0010])
wherein the sub-management program is configured to cause a second controller included in the sub-management device to execute a second process including, when a sub-management acquisition timing arrives, acquiring, from the storage device, task request data whose request target is the connection terminal device, and then executing the task based on the acquired task request data. (Sato [0010]: “there is provided an image forming apparatus operable to acquire an event notification indicating an occurrence of a print job from a server and to acquire and execute the print job in accordance with content of the event notification”.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sato into that of Ito in order to have a sub-management device configured to communicate with the storage device; and a connection terminal device that is one of the terminal devices and configured to communicate with the sub-management device, wherein the communication terminal device is configured to, when a communication terminal acquisition timing arrives, acquire, from the storage device without communicating with the management device, the task request data whose request target is the communication terminal device, and then execute the task based on the acquired task request data, wherein the sub-management program is configured to cause a second controller included in the sub-management device to execute a second process including, when a sub-management acquisition timing arrives, acquiring, from the storage device, task request data whose request target is the connection terminal device, and then executing the task based on the acquired task request data. Sato has shown that the claimed limitations are merely commonly known functions of a networked MFP executing a networked print job, applicants have merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Grohs teaches:
where the storage device is one of a cloud storage and a memory external to the management device, the sub-management device and the communication terminal device; (Grohs figure 2, cloud-based storage 132 in cloud environment 106; [0032]: “The cloud-based resource 114 may similarly include a cloud-based storage 132 and a cloud-based processor 134 which perform functions similar to the on-premise storage 122 and the on-premise processor 130, but at the cloud environment 106 in an off-premise location 136.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Grohs into that of Ito and Sato in order to have the storage device is one of a cloud storage and a memory external to the management device, the sub-management device and the communication terminal device. Ito figures 2 and 3 show that each of the management server and multifunction device comprises its own local storage to be used for printing. Grohs [0032] teaches that alternatively, cloud storage can be used as equivalent substitute for the local storage as is commonly known in the art, using cloud storage instead of onboard memory is merely an obvious substitution of parts and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
As per claim 3, the combination of Ito, Sato and Grohs further teach:
The one or more non-transitory computer readable media according to claim 1, wherein the process further includes: determining whether a request target device, which is one of the terminal devices serving as a request target of creating the setting value file, is connected to the management device via the storage device; in a case where the first controller determines that the request target device is not connected to the management device via the storage device, transmitting, to the request target device, an acquisition target designation file which includes the one of the given setting items; and receiving, from the request target device, an acquisition target described file which includes the setting value corresponding to the one of the given setting items in the acquisition target designation file, and wherein the storing of the task request data in the storage device, the acquiring of the setting value file from the storage device, and the extracting of the one of the setting values from the setting value file are executed in a case where the program determines that the request target device is connected to the management device via the storage device. (Ito figure 7 and [0049] – [0051]: CREATE route.)
As per claim 5, the combination of Ito, Sato and Grohs further teach:
The one or more non-transitory computer readable media according to claim 1, wherein the process further includes deleting the setting value file from the storage device in a case where the setting value file is acquired from the storage device. (Ito figure 7 and [0049] – [0051] and [0056]: DELETE route.)
As per claim 7, it is the method variant of claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the rationale.
As per claim 8, it claims substantially similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the rationale.
As per claim 9, the combination of Ito, Sato and Grohs further teach:
The management system according to claim 8, wherein the communication terminal device is configured to execute the creating of the setting value file in a case where the setting value of at least one of the plurality of setting items changes, and then uploading the created setting value file to the storage device. (Ito figure 7 and [0051] – [0054]: UPDATE route.)
As per claim 11, the combination of Ito, Sato and Grohs further teach:
The one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 1, wherein the sub-management device relays information from the connection terminal device to the management device via the storage device. (Sato [0041] and Grohs figure 2.)
As per claim 12, the combination of Ito, Sato and Grohs further teach:
The one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 1, wherein the task request data causes the sub-management device to update information in the storage device associated with the connection terminal. (Sato [0045])
As per claim 13, the combination of Ito, Sato and Grohs further teach:
The one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 12, wherein the information is either log data or status data. (Sato [0045])
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito, Sato and Grohs, and further in view of Nakata (US 20200249883).
As per claim 4, the combination of Ito, Sato and Grohs did not teach:
The one or more non-transitory computer readable media according to claim 1, wherein the process further includes deleting the setting value file from the storage device when a given deletion time elapses after the acquiring of the setting value file from the storage device.
However, Nakata teaches:
The one or more non-transitory computer readable media according to claim 1, wherein the process further includes deleting the setting value file from the storage device when a given deletion time elapses after the acquiring of the setting value file from the storage device. (Nakata [0175] – [0176].)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Nakata into that of Ito, Sato and Grohs in order to includes delete the setting value file from the storage device when a given deletion time elapses after the acquiring of the setting value file from the storage device. Nakata [0167] teaches the claimed limitation is merely commonly known and used methods in a public networked printing environment to ensure public user’s setting does not interfere with the next user of the printer system. Thus, applicants have merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito, Sato and Grohs, and further in view of Cho et al (US 20170048416, hereinafter Cho).
As per claim 10, the combination of Ito, Sato and Grohs did not teach:
The one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 1, wherein in a case where the connection terminal device is not registered in the storage device, the task request data is to register the connection terminal device in the storage device, and the second process includes the sub-management device registering the connection terminal in the storage device.
However, Cho teaches:
The one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 1, wherein in a case where the connection terminal device is not registered in the storage device, the task request data is to register the connection terminal device in the storage device, and the second process includes the sub-management device registering the connection terminal in the storage device. (Cho [0158] – [0159].)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Cho into that of Ito, Sato and Grohs in order to in a case where the connection terminal device is not registered in the storage device, the task request data is to register the connection terminal device in the storage device, and the second process includes the sub-management device registering the connection terminal in the storage device. Cho [0158] – [0159] has shown that it is commonly known in the field to register new devices to the network prior to be allowed to be used within the network, applicants have merely claimed the commonly known parts in the field to achieve predictable results of enabling devices to participate in cloud printing and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3 – 5 and 7 – 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHARLES M SWIFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196